User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 400 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 400
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MattF
    Dec 29, 2004
    9
    My rating for this movie is very simple. If you like Will Ferrel, you will love this movie. If you don't, then I would avoid it.
  2. NickR.
    Aug 19, 2004
    7
    Even though this movie had a horrible plot, it was hilarious. It started off slow, but then sped up a lot.
  3. HarrisonB.
    Aug 8, 2004
    7
    I thought Anchorman was going to be real funny. It was. Yet, there were a few stupid parts in it. Will Ferrel was very good, and I thought Steven Carell was the most hilarious. Okay, but it needs less crude humor.
  4. Willferrellover
    Aug 6, 2004
    10
    AMAZING. The jokes were hilarious i think this movie was as good as pokemon heroes!
  5. YanaS.
    Aug 5, 2004
    0
    Horrible!!! After so much hype about this movie i can say that none of it was true. Will Ferrell was stupid and everyone else in the cast was no better. I kept thinking it would get better, but unfortunetly it never did. Like others said: Painfully boring!!! and overall stupid the laughs just arent there.
  6. MikeN.
    Aug 5, 2004
    1
    Dull, disappointing, and just plain not funny. Did any thought go into the making of this piece of crap? Do yourself a favor and go see something else.
  7. AlanL.
    Aug 2, 2004
    1
    Bad. Really, really bad. The only reason it didn't get a 0 from me is because the outtake reel is really funny. However, the rest of the film is tedious to the point of being painful. I don't know who in Hollywood decided Will Farrell is funny, but I strongly disagree. He wasn't funny on SNL, and isn't funny in movies. About the only thing I took from this movie is a Bad. Really, really bad. The only reason it didn't get a 0 from me is because the outtake reel is really funny. However, the rest of the film is tedious to the point of being painful. I don't know who in Hollywood decided Will Farrell is funny, but I strongly disagree. He wasn't funny on SNL, and isn't funny in movies. About the only thing I took from this movie is a sense of disappointment that some truly talented comedic actors (Applegate, Carell, and Willard) made the bad choice to appear in this dud. Expand
  8. LebnY.
    Jul 31, 2004
    7
    This movie had funny moments, but it lacked humor in some parts. Will Ferrell is funny, but he could have been hilarious.
  9. DaveH.
    Jul 30, 2004
    0
    This movie was painfully boring. i may have cracked a smile once but other than that it was an hour and a half of wondering why i paid $9.50 to be bored. im not sure who would find this movie funny if i, a fifteen year old boy, found the humor stupid, crude, and immature.
  10. Brian
    Jul 27, 2004
    7
    I found it hilarious. Of course, I am 26 years old and the target demographic for this type of comedy, so take that into consideration. It really has no plot and probably no socially redeeming qualities. So? I laughed so hard I cried a couple times. It is so absurd you have to laugh, and if you don't, well I actually feel sorry for you, because there is nothing serious in this movie. I found it hilarious. Of course, I am 26 years old and the target demographic for this type of comedy, so take that into consideration. It really has no plot and probably no socially redeeming qualities. So? I laughed so hard I cried a couple times. It is so absurd you have to laugh, and if you don't, well I actually feel sorry for you, because there is nothing serious in this movie. I would say the jokes themselves could stand alone without the paper thin story and the whole experience would not have suffered. And it was a very entertaining experience. Go Will Ferrell!! Keep making stupid comedies that people think they are too good for!! I love em! Expand
  11. Kristin
    Jul 27, 2004
    0
    Mr. Ferrell, what happened here? I thought this movie was going to be laugh-out-loud-hilarious, not flat and boring. I just stared at a screen with nothing but a blank screen with people on it. I did not laugh at all. I just slept. Honestly, depressed Earnest Hemingway could have written a more comedic script. Deeply disappointing, Will Ferrell.
  12. MediaMaverick
    Jul 24, 2004
    2
    I was really looking forward to going to a funny movie and 'laughing like an idiot', as one reviewer noted. I was sooooo disappointed. I really wanted to like this one but it just didn't hit any marks.
  13. AustinG.
    Jul 23, 2004
    6
    Definitely entertaining, but I felt that it fell short of even my low expectations. Some funny parts, but not up to par for the hilarious Will Ferrell.
  14. EricY.
    Jul 23, 2004
    5
    There were some funny parts, but you had to force yourself to stay awake just to get to them. I love Will Ferrell's work, but I expected more than this.
  15. SeanB
    Jul 22, 2004
    6
    Critics are pretty clueless when it comes to comedies. This movie is VERY stupid and most of the time makes no sense. I was expecting a lot more, but still good for a few laughs.
  16. PatG.
    Jul 21, 2004
    0
    I can't believe this movie had a 61 average from the critics!!! It is so lame--groaningly lame--that we walked out and asked for our money back after 30 minutes. Maybe 10-year-old boys will enjoy this movie. It's not just silly, it's dumb and flat. My cat could write a better script. What a waste of film!
  17. LiamS.
    Jul 20, 2004
    5
    This movie was disappointing but not a total waste. Nowhere near as clever as "Old School", the movie plods from scene to scene without any clear direction, and without many laughs. The characters are largely lifeless, with some rare exceptions (the weather guy is hilarious.) The beginning and end of the film are terrible...so terrible that I felt my IQ levels dropping by the second that This movie was disappointing but not a total waste. Nowhere near as clever as "Old School", the movie plods from scene to scene without any clear direction, and without many laughs. The characters are largely lifeless, with some rare exceptions (the weather guy is hilarious.) The beginning and end of the film are terrible...so terrible that I felt my IQ levels dropping by the second that I was watching this film. The middle of the movie, however, is somewhat clever. One line in particular "Do like the Romans..." made me laugh so hard I nearly peed my pants. Hence the rating of "5" for this movie. Some good things, some bad. Not up to usual Wil Ferrell standards. Expand
  18. CurfuffleN.
    Jul 19, 2004
    7
    This movie was fairly good, although it seemed to slow in spots and I often became bored. One of the highlights is the Jack Black cameo, and of course the Ben stiller cameo, other than that there didn't seem to be anything all that special about the film. The ending was weak, a scene which seemed promising was ruined by a dog, I'm sure they could have thought up something better This movie was fairly good, although it seemed to slow in spots and I often became bored. One of the highlights is the Jack Black cameo, and of course the Ben stiller cameo, other than that there didn't seem to be anything all that special about the film. The ending was weak, a scene which seemed promising was ruined by a dog, I'm sure they could have thought up something better than what they did. We need a new OldSchool, and Ferral has to be the main character. Expand
  19. DrizztD.
    Jul 18, 2004
    10
    I laughed so hard! I almost threw up! We need more movies with erection scenes! People..bears are noble creatures and a proud race, and without Anchorman, I'd never know that.... Go see this to laugh your ass off!
  20. BR
    Jul 18, 2004
    9
    Intentionally cheesy & funny as hell. Ferrell had me in tears. The cameos were a nice touch too. Stay for the out-takes as well!
  21. LoriS.
    Jul 17, 2004
    1
    Where have all the comedy writers gone? There was nothing clever or funny about this movie. Juvenile antics at best. A total waste of time.
  22. ChuckY.
    Jul 17, 2004
    5
    It certainly had a few fiendishly funny scenes, but a lot of it actually bored me a little. It could have been better.
  23. BradA
    Jul 17, 2004
    10
    The best comedy I have seen since Dumb and Dumber! Much better than Dodgeball, and by far the best Will Farrell movie ever!
  24. ManynyC.
    Jul 16, 2004
    10
    On the beard of Zeus, people, Anchorman is brilliant. Will Ferrell gives his best, most spirited film performance yet as Ron Burgundy the classic chauvinistic man's man. I LOVE this movie, but heed warning many people will not like this movie. If you know and love Will Ferrell you will have a blast. If hes too out there for you then there is nothing for you in this film. The On the beard of Zeus, people, Anchorman is brilliant. Will Ferrell gives his best, most spirited film performance yet as Ron Burgundy the classic chauvinistic man's man. I LOVE this movie, but heed warning many people will not like this movie. If you know and love Will Ferrell you will have a blast. If hes too out there for you then there is nothing for you in this film. The characters know they're characters, ok, no seriousness going on here. If you dont much like Ferrell and dont watch SNL then go see Napoleon Dynamite again, and realize that your laughing at crap and missing out. Expand
  25. MichaelJ.
    Jul 16, 2004
    10
    Will Ferrell is hilarious as Ron Burgundy in this often crude comedy. But the crude humour is the kind which will keep the laughs going. One of the true comedic gems of this year. Don't miss it.
  26. BenZ.
    Jul 16, 2004
    9
    Best comedy of the year, no question. While alot of the jokes are of the "so stupid its funny" calibur, there is alot of genuinly funny material here as well. This film was almost non-stop with its humor which was a wise choice.
  27. MikeC.
    Jul 15, 2004
    10
    I've never been a fan of any movie that Will Ferrel was the main character in. Oddly enough though I loved Ferrel, just the chemistry wasnt right between his character and the storyline. The first time I loved a movie with him being the star was Elf. I was so happy a character just fit him so perfectly. It happened again in this movie. When I looked at Ron Burgundy I didnt see Will I've never been a fan of any movie that Will Ferrel was the main character in. Oddly enough though I loved Ferrel, just the chemistry wasnt right between his character and the storyline. The first time I loved a movie with him being the star was Elf. I was so happy a character just fit him so perfectly. It happened again in this movie. When I looked at Ron Burgundy I didnt see Will Ferrel. I saw Ron Burgundy. I went into this movie with expecations that I would laugh every couple minutes. But for the full 90 I was in tears. Great movie. Expand
  28. JamesandtheGiantPeach
    Jul 15, 2004
    10
    Ok, so it may be stupid. But you know what? ITS FUNNY! Honestly we need more movies like this one. Movies to brighten up our day. Vince Vaghn was in it and even though I can't really stand him, he was ok in this since I really only had to see him a couple of times. Will Ferrell though, he did great. Its like being back in the good old days when he was the star of SNL. I really sugest Ok, so it may be stupid. But you know what? ITS FUNNY! Honestly we need more movies like this one. Movies to brighten up our day. Vince Vaghn was in it and even though I can't really stand him, he was ok in this since I really only had to see him a couple of times. Will Ferrell though, he did great. Its like being back in the good old days when he was the star of SNL. I really sugest this movie to anyone who has not seen it. Expand
  29. RobG.
    Jul 14, 2004
    9
    A comedy that doesn't forget it's a comedy. Too many SNL alums make movies that 'go Sandler' as my friends and I say; that is, they go soft and sentimental and there's no jokes in the last half hour. This one doesn't let off for a second.
  30. KatieP.
    Jul 14, 2004
    10
    The first 10 minutes suck. But after that, the movie gets great. Don't see this film if you expect anything more than a poor plot and mediocre acting. It's meant to be a comedy like an SNL skit, and that's exactly what it is. Hilarious.
  31. MichaelM.
    Jul 12, 2004
    9
    Really funny... but the movie is what it i...a light comedy not a work of art. Very amusing ferrel is hilarious!
  32. MarkB.
    Jul 12, 2004
    6
    Another summer comedy goulash, which like Dodgeball, is a sometimes hilarious but often disconcerting, spaghetti-on-the-wall farrago of undeveloped comic ideas, left-field riffs that belong in another movie (or none at all) and just plain sloppy writing. Will Farrell's anything-goes performance is part of the problem; I suspect that since he and the director wrote the script, Another summer comedy goulash, which like Dodgeball, is a sometimes hilarious but often disconcerting, spaghetti-on-the-wall farrago of undeveloped comic ideas, left-field riffs that belong in another movie (or none at all) and just plain sloppy writing. Will Farrell's anything-goes performance is part of the problem; I suspect that since he and the director wrote the script, everyone involved thought that everything in it was pure comic gold that didn't have to be edited or rewritten. Wrong! At its best, Anchorman's satire (mostly early on) comes close to the truth; the old-boy network of local news broadcasting in the 1970s; the emphasis on "happy news" as real news, etc; but by the time we get to the street brawl between 5 different news anchor teams (which admittedly I DID giggle at) all sense of comic cohesion is clearly in danger, and by the time the panda gives birth all is hopelessly lost. Worst of all is the immediate romance between sexist boob Burgundy and a smart, capable newswoman; it could've worked if allowed to happen GRADUALLY, but the fact that she falls for and sleeps with him overnight (especially after being understandably repulsed by his and his buddies' crude come-ons) cheapens her character. Perhaps this is why the usually capable Christina Applegate gives such an ineffective, frozen-in-the-headlights performance; she simply has no clue HOW to play this woman. All in all, as goofy 1970s TV newsmen go, Ted Knight as The Mary Tyler Moore Show's Ted Baxter (whom this movie's writers are at least classy enough to pay tribute to) is still king: six months from now, I'll still be smiling over his on-air improvisation of a Ty-D-Bowl commercial, or his asking Walter Cronkite what words he has trouble pronouncing, or his sticking his foot out to trip a rival newsman as he steps forward to receive an award, long after Ron Burgundy's Legend has mostly been forgotten. Expand
  33. KellyM.
    Jul 12, 2004
    1
    Andrew L. gives good advice. I didn't find the opening credits to be funny at all (I didn't hear anyone else laughing either), and it didn't get any better after that. It was the kind of comedy you watch and try to laugh because you know it's supposed to be funny, but it just isn't. Without Steve Carrell I would rate it -10. And I think I've seen more than Andrew L. gives good advice. I didn't find the opening credits to be funny at all (I didn't hear anyone else laughing either), and it didn't get any better after that. It was the kind of comedy you watch and try to laugh because you know it's supposed to be funny, but it just isn't. Without Steve Carrell I would rate it -10. And I think I've seen more than enough newscasters who read whatever is on the teleprompter jokes. Enough with that already. Expand
  34. JeffL.
    Jul 12, 2004
    7
    As long as this film sticks to its main points of satire - local TV news, the male chauvanism, and those wacky Seventies - it is often genuinely riotous gold. Will Ferrell is tremendously funny and oddly likeable as the casually sexist Burgundy, Christina Applegate is sweet and lively as a reporter who wants to break through the boundaries to become the nation's first female anchor, As long as this film sticks to its main points of satire - local TV news, the male chauvanism, and those wacky Seventies - it is often genuinely riotous gold. Will Ferrell is tremendously funny and oddly likeable as the casually sexist Burgundy, Christina Applegate is sweet and lively as a reporter who wants to break through the boundaries to become the nation's first female anchor, and the guys in the newsroom are hilarious (even the usually dull Paul Rudd is great.) In the final third, though, the film turns into Airplane-style free-for-all silliness, much to its detriment. And it doesn't help that Ferrell seems to want to stuff in cameos by every actor he's ever worked with (Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn, etc.) Still, the good stuff outweighs the bad, and the performances are really worth checking out. Expand
  35. K.H.
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    I went in expecting Will Ferrell to make me laugh a few times. I was laughing non-stop throughout the entire movie. It was ridiculous. But I must admit, it was one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. Will Ferrell is a god among men.
  36. JohnnyT.
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    Farrell's embrace of the absurd non-sequitor is at it's best here. I was in tears at least twice. This will go down as a classic of its genre.
  37. BrianK.
    Jul 12, 2004
    9
    This movie is easily one of the funniest movies i've seen EVER!!! Will Ferrell is the funniest i've ever seen him!!
  38. S.Smyles
    Jul 12, 2004
    7
    If you can laugh at Saturday Night Live than you will like this movie. It is just plain dumb laughter. I have always enjoyed Will Ferrell so I enjoyed this flick. The second best thing about this movie is the cameo's that pop up in it. Which is is really cool if you weren't told before hand who they are. Lastly, the entire theater was laughing so it seems that stupid humor is If you can laugh at Saturday Night Live than you will like this movie. It is just plain dumb laughter. I have always enjoyed Will Ferrell so I enjoyed this flick. The second best thing about this movie is the cameo's that pop up in it. Which is is really cool if you weren't told before hand who they are. Lastly, the entire theater was laughing so it seems that stupid humor is what people need right now. So, if you need a break from reality then by all means hand over the $$, and you will come out of the theater with a smile on your face. Expand
  39. GregA
    Jul 12, 2004
    1
    I can't believe that some people liked this movie - it was just terrible. I love Will Ferrell, but a bunch of monkies could have written a better script. This was a total dissapointment.
  40. JohnQ.
    Jul 11, 2004
    3
    Pretty much a big waste of talent.
  41. DavidC.
    Jul 11, 2004
    7
    Very silly and stupid. But I laughed a lot.
  42. AndrewL.
    Jul 11, 2004
    0
    If you don't like this movie by the time the opening credits are over, then do yourself a favor and leave.
  43. Robert
    Jul 11, 2004
    8
    I was laughing so hard I cried through much of this movie. I agree that there are a few less funny scenes, that this movie certainly isn't for those looking to see something serious, and that some scenes were a bit over the top (battle of the new teams?) The vast majority of the movie was hilarious, however, and I would strongly recommend it to anyone who doesn't dislike I was laughing so hard I cried through much of this movie. I agree that there are a few less funny scenes, that this movie certainly isn't for those looking to see something serious, and that some scenes were a bit over the top (battle of the new teams?) The vast majority of the movie was hilarious, however, and I would strongly recommend it to anyone who doesn't dislike slapstick too much. Expand
  44. AlansitoP.
    Jul 11, 2004
    10
    It was a very entertaining and funny movie. kids will love it!!
  45. PaulA.
    Jul 10, 2004
    9
    Since I have two advanced degrees I think I am qualified to make the following assessment: people who took the time to criticize this movie for being dumb are highly insecure, dumb, or both. Though not exactly brimming with Oscar Wilde repartee, Will Ferrell does have this habit of skewering the braggadocious-- something that our self-centered culture could use in regular doses. And if Since I have two advanced degrees I think I am qualified to make the following assessment: people who took the time to criticize this movie for being dumb are highly insecure, dumb, or both. Though not exactly brimming with Oscar Wilde repartee, Will Ferrell does have this habit of skewering the braggadocious-- something that our self-centered culture could use in regular doses. And if that's not redeeming value enough for you, you undoubtedly didn't stick around after the credits for the sing-along which explicitly spells out all the life lessons the principal characters learned. I hear all the comedies have them these days. Expand
  46. MandyL
    Jul 10, 2004
    4
    Sexist uninspired trollip, this movie was overall funny in many places but not-too-great story.
  47. CameronS.
    Jul 10, 2004
    9
    HILARIOUS MOVIE! Great acting by all the cast, Very stupid but hilarious movie.
  48. SteveW
    Jul 10, 2004
    1
    This movie was terrible. It had no definition. What, exactly was Ferrell supposed to be...dumb, arrogant, suave? Applegate was horrible, some of the worst acting ever. She could not have been worse. And save the lame "it's supposed to be stupid." My problem isn't that jokes are stupid, its that they are dumb. They wasted Carell, really badly too. A travesty on all counts.
  49. Matt
    Jul 10, 2004
    8
    I laughed almost continuously throughout this movie, and was still laughing afterwards. A few dull moments and unfunny jokes, but the hits, imo, heavily outweighed the misses. If you keep in mind the sheer idiocy of the thing, I think you'll have an ok time . . .
  50. PatrickM.
    Jul 10, 2004
    7
    At its best, this film is one of the funniest movies in a long time. The guys from the Daily Show are great. Don't even need to mention Ferrell, who is almost funny standing in one place doing nothing. Unfortunately, at it's worst, it's not very awe-inspiring, especially the ending which seemed like a huge force. And please tell me why Chris Parnell has work. He has to be At its best, this film is one of the funniest movies in a long time. The guys from the Daily Show are great. Don't even need to mention Ferrell, who is almost funny standing in one place doing nothing. Unfortunately, at it's worst, it's not very awe-inspiring, especially the ending which seemed like a huge force. And please tell me why Chris Parnell has work. He has to be the worst SNL guy. He's so unfunny and lame. Don't get me wrong, though. It's very funny from beginning to before end. KNIGHTS OF COLUMBUS. Expand
  51. JayW.
    Jul 10, 2004
    0
    Raunchy, stupid, no redeeming value. An embarrassment to all involved and particularly to the critics, who must have seen a different movie of the same name.
  52. HeathD.
    Jul 9, 2004
    6
    This was more like a will farrell comedy exhibition than a movie.
  53. IfferS.
    Jul 9, 2004
    1
    The only more effective sedative than Ron Burgundy is Nyquil. Do not bother with this film. It is stunningly horrible. Don't get snookered by the hype. Nothing to see here. Move along.
  54. DannyM.
    Jul 8, 2004
    8
    Will Ferrell has done it again and is great in this movie. His bizarre over the edge comedy that we all know and love is in every turn of this movie. Steven Carell and David Koechner are awsome as well.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Wonderfully silly all the time.
  2. Ferrell, of course, has his moments. But he doesn't have an engaging "center" as a comedian.
  3. I can't help but feel that a funny movie was waiting to be unearthed amid all this self-congratulation and juvenile prankishness.