Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Nov 23, 2012
    83
    Whatever the interpretation, Stoppard and Wright have demonstrated that Anna's saga has lost none of its power.
  2. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Nov 15, 2012
    100
    While Wright's self-conscious theatricality and dollhouse aesthetic conjure comparisons to Baz Luhrmann and Wes Anderson, he outstrips both those filmmakers in moral seriousness and maturity.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Nov 15, 2012
    88
    The story has been filmed many times, but never with this kind of erotic charge. Knightley is glorious, her eyes blazing with a carnal yearning that can turn vindictive at any perceived slight.
  4. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Nov 15, 2012
    100
    Mr. Wright's Anna Karenina is different. It is risky and ambitious enough to count as an act of artistic hubris, and confident enough to triumph on its own slightly - wonderfully - crazy terms.
  5. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Nov 15, 2012
    83
    Wright's extraordinary long takes draw you into the universe of Anna Karenina with a seamless approach that a straightforward literary adaptation could never accomplish.
  6. Reviewed by: David Ehrlich
    Nov 12, 2012
    90
    The result is a masterpiece of moving pieces, a dizzying and obscenely beautiful film that boils down Tolstoy's text to its most basic elements by making literal the theater of high society.
  7. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Sep 3, 2012
    83
    Both fascinatingly theatrical and thrillingly cinematic, a picture that's lingered on our minds more than we expected.
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 34
  2. Negative: 7 out of 34
  1. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    Keira Knightley and Jude Law are extraordinary. Wright's unique and beautifully conceived version of the film, using Tom Stoppard'sKeira Knightley and Jude Law are extraordinary. Wright's unique and beautifully conceived version of the film, using Tom Stoppard's intelligent adaptation, struck me as perfect for rendering the depth and complexity of the story. The "artifice" of the setting, design and art direction are brought forth with sensitivity and satisfying wholeness. Highly, highly recommended for adults who want to participate in the construction of a wonderful film and story. Full Review »
  2. Feb 3, 2013
    3
    I am russian. I read 'Anna Karenina'. And you know what this film left mixed impression. Everything is according to Tolstoy, the actors areI am russian. I read 'Anna Karenina'. And you know what this film left mixed impression. Everything is according to Tolstoy, the actors are brilliant, however the director afforded himself to add a thing of his own to the film every scene of the film was a scene in a theatre! That is nonsense, Tolstoy didn't write that... And only this director-made 'feature' made of the film almost a total bull***t. Whithout that 'feature' the film would be great. Full Review »
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    0
    This was just unwatchable for me. Took me 15 minutes before giving up on this play/movie.Not many movies I don`t finish, but this one is addedThis was just unwatchable for me. Took me 15 minutes before giving up on this play/movie.Not many movies I don`t finish, but this one is added to the list. It`s was all over the place. Maybe they wanted an award for most ridicules movie. Full Review »