Focus Features | Release Date: November 16, 2012
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 135 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
74
Mixed:
45
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
MalificusFeb 3, 2013
I am russian. I read 'Anna Karenina'. And you know what this film left mixed impression. Everything is according to Tolstoy, the actors are brilliant, however the director afforded himself to add a thing of his own to the film every sceneI am russian. I read 'Anna Karenina'. And you know what this film left mixed impression. Everything is according to Tolstoy, the actors are brilliant, however the director afforded himself to add a thing of his own to the film every scene of the film was a scene in a theatre! That is nonsense, Tolstoy didn't write that... And only this director-made 'feature' made of the film almost a total bull***t. Whithout that 'feature' the film would be great. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
oblique15Sep 3, 2013
This was just unwatchable for me. Took me 15 minutes before giving up on this play/movie.Not many movies I don`t finish, but this one is added to the list. It`s was all over the place. Maybe they wanted an award for most ridicules movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
Anthony_BrahimNov 24, 2012
A Beautiful Beast.

I'm referring to the film, not to its Anna. Knightly's portrayal isn't worthy of such strong descriptive words. Admittedly, she wan't bad...until she opened her mouth. In truth, the film would've been much richer had it
A Beautiful Beast.

I'm referring to the film, not to its Anna. Knightly's portrayal isn't worthy of such strong descriptive words. Admittedly, she wan't bad...until she opened her mouth. In truth, the film would've been much richer had it been a silent one. Wright never fails visually. There is no doubting that this adaptation is ambitious and imaginative, but, in the physical world, one's ambitions are nearly always unmet. I found myself cringing during dialogue. Tom Stoppard is an extraordinary writer, but neither him nor Wright were good conductors of Tolstoy's ideas. The script seemed unaware of the vision, and the vision of the words. I felt as if I was listening to a high school literature teacher, finger on the fast-forward button, struggle to hit all the major plot points of a book-on-tape. The dialogue only served to make the story feel rushed and the viewer spoon-fed. Setting it in a theatre was brilliant, but the too-literalness of this literary classic was not.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
swingNov 25, 2012
Really difficult to sit through. Plodding and wandering. Took awhile to figure out the supporting characters. Keira Knightly is lovely to look at but there is no chemistry or passion or anything to grab onto with her lover. The story isReally difficult to sit through. Plodding and wandering. Took awhile to figure out the supporting characters. Keira Knightly is lovely to look at but there is no chemistry or passion or anything to grab onto with her lover. The story is so convoluted that I was tempted to walk out after 30 min., but i stuck it out. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
GininhaFeb 4, 2013
Im very sorry for not only the screenplay but also and specially for keira's performance. It was over done sometimes and on the rest it was flat, just like her chemistry with her lover. A train rack!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
DheardziminFeb 12, 2013
Over stylized the story is lost in a vain directors journey into his own egotistical journey. Art for arts sake, Tolstoy would turn in his grave. There is no chemistry between the actors, Kiera knightly is much better than this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
arterifellAug 20, 2014
Leo Tolstoy would be quite sick if he saw this boring version of his masterpiece, which many critics believe could be one of the greatest novels ever written. If ever there was a case-book example of how to completely miss the boat in makingLeo Tolstoy would be quite sick if he saw this boring version of his masterpiece, which many critics believe could be one of the greatest novels ever written. If ever there was a case-book example of how to completely miss the boat in making a film out of novel, this would be it. It is regrettable that so much effort in overly lavish scenery and costumes was made around such an eccentric, off-key, virtually incomprehensible version of Tolstoy's marvelous novel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews