Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: John Washington (Mark Strong) is a detective with the unique ability to enter people’s minds and memories (presumably to help people recall event details pertinent to solving cases). Washington takes on the case of a troubled teenage girl named Anna (Taissa Farmiga), who is accused of an attempted triple homicide. To uncover the mystery surrounding Anna and her story, Washington will enter her mind and try to find out the truth: is Anna capable of killing, or is there something hidden in her memories that shows otherwise? Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Jun 5, 2014
    60
    A likable if overly familiar psychological thriller.
  2. Jun 3, 2014
    60
    Taissa Farmiga (sister of Vera) is a marvel in the title role.
  3. Reviewed by: Christopher Schobert
    Jun 3, 2014
    58
    Mark Strong and an underused Brian Cox are fine, and Taissa Farmiga demonstrates why she is acknowledged as one of America’s most promising young talents. But she deserves a better role, everyone involved deserves a stronger script.
  4. 50
    The younger sister of the formidable Vera Farmiga gives flat, rushed and unconvincing line readings, especially in her paragraph-long, exposition-packed monologues. Is that by design? Is this a clever teen “acting” to manipulate her memory detective? The actress should be better at masking that, if that’s the case. And if it isn’t, she should be just…better.
  5. Reviewed by: Susan Wloszczyna
    Jun 6, 2014
    50
    It's as messy as a teen’s bedroom and packed with all manner of distracting clutter that needlessly burdens a plot.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    May 13, 2014
    30
    Its suspense is so nonexistent, and its supposed concerns—about the reliability of memory and the nature of truth—are handled so facilely, the film sells its own conceit short.
  7. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    Jun 5, 2014
    30
    First-time Spanish director Jorge Dorado aims for Hitchcock and misses by a mile with Anna.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Jun 6, 2014
    8
    Consensus: Beautifully filmed, nicely acted, entertaining and with some narrative twists, "Anna" is an impressive thriller with a likable cast. (B+) 83/100

    A man with the ability to enter peoples' memories takes on the case of a brilliant, troubled sixteen-year-old girl to determine whether she is a sociopath or a victim of trauma. I watched some trailers of this film and they're very boring. The film itself it's good despite some flaws, for some people was predictible but not for me. I don't know if this is a horror film, it's more like a psychological-thriller.

    I really enjoyed it, the entire cast is so damn talented and likable, Taissa Farmiga (from my favorite TV show American Horror Story) , plus Mark Strong (Kick-Ass) make a good couple. The concept is awesome and original, the script has its flaws but is generally good and i think that a big premise like this one needs a very good script and well execution to succeed. Anna doesn't have all of this, it's not a memorable film but it's an enjoyable one.

    Anna cares about its characters, the film has very good character development. You will know all of these characters and the reason of why are they in all these awkward situations. I felt sorry for Anna, she is a very disturbed girl, Taissa Farmiga does a remarkable role in her role, all the visions that we can see during the film are very disturbing and enjoyable.

    The film is entertaining and has sense, this director (Jorge Dorado) knows how to make a film, Anna has quality and it's worth it, the camera direction and the art design is stunning, Anna offers a well execution, entertainment, pain, likable cast and some twists. Despite its flaws, (some people will say that i'm crazy) but this is probably one of the best horror/thiller films i've seen this year so far. Visit my blog: www.memobosque.blogspot.mx Twitter: @MemoBosque
    Collapse
  2. Jun 7, 2014
    5
    Yeah, no.

    If you're a Mark Strong fan waiting to see him in a decent lead role for once, this isn't it. The hackneyed plot is full of
    holes, the atmosphere is syrupy with clichés, and the overused Freudian shtick is embarrassing. Strong has enough presence to make this 98 minute film an adequate way to pass the commute if you're watching on an iphone, but otherwise I wouldn't bother. It's a wannabe 'Inception' with no substance. The characters aren't sympathetic or compelling. They don't even relate to one another in a coherent or believable manner, and it leaves them all looking a little like cardboard cutouts. The plot resolution is a cheat rather than a twist, and some elements of the story are still pretty opaque. The movies was filmed in Spain with mostly British actors. It seemed totally unnecessary to set the story in a nameless American Gotham and force everyone to adopt unconvincing American accents, just to accommodate the least experienced actress on set, neophyte Taissa Farmiga. All they had to do was give her an American father or something. In conclusion, "Anna" is an elegant flop, and Mark Strong needs a new agent. Expand
  3. Sep 22, 2014
    2
    We've all seen this sort of plot line play out whether it be in the written form (novels) or watchable form (movies, TV), which makes "Anna" kind of predicable and a waste of time. Expand

Trailers