Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: January 27, 2006
4.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 39 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
14
Mixed:
9
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
Tss5078Feb 23, 2013
Even thou he was in several things before Annapolis, I consider this to be James Franco's breakthrough role. Just the training and studying alone, must have been as intense as the film itself. Franco plays Jake Huard, a first year student atEven thou he was in several things before Annapolis, I consider this to be James Franco's breakthrough role. Just the training and studying alone, must have been as intense as the film itself. Franco plays Jake Huard, a first year student at the Naval academy. The story takes you inside one the hardest and most secretive schools in America, showing you just what it takes to even make it past your first year. The story itself is very inspirational and the acting is top notch. This isn't just a good film, it's one that you know took a lot out of everyone involved. I was entertained, excited, and inspired by an underdog who just wouldn't give up. This is a tremendous film that fell under the radar, because of a then, unknown cast, but it really is a must see for fans of inspirational, military and sports dramas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
The film plays like the actors, director, and writers all communicated through text messages that weren't quite perceived the way they ought to have been.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ZackL.Aug 22, 2006
This movie is utterly pathetic. The direction isn't bad, but everything else is. The dialogue and screenplay are horrible and the characters all seem dull and charmless. Annapolis tries too hard to be too many things, and fails miserably.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarineCorpsAug 8, 2006
Good boxing flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahJul 26, 2006
i thought it was ana excelent movie, there was no unnessassery sex scene.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Jul 22, 2006
A must see for anyone preparing for lifes challenges. Jordana Brewster plays a perfect girfriend and is a rising star.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
StephanieJun 30, 2006
I'm giving this movie a 1 for one reason: Muscles. This movies seems awkwardly geared towards women. I had high hopes for a movie about the prestigious U.S. Naval Academy. I was sorely let down. However, if you're a woman who wants I'm giving this movie a 1 for one reason: Muscles. This movies seems awkwardly geared towards women. I had high hopes for a movie about the prestigious U.S. Naval Academy. I was sorely let down. However, if you're a woman who wants to see some nice abs, by all means, rent this movie. Men? Boxing in this movie was mediocre at best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DaveR.Jun 27, 2006
This is a very average movie. Not great but not terrible. It does borrow things from other movies, but yet it still has its own good moments. It is worth a $3.50 rental for the hour and a half of entertainment. I am glad that I didn't This is a very average movie. Not great but not terrible. It does borrow things from other movies, but yet it still has its own good moments. It is worth a $3.50 rental for the hour and a half of entertainment. I am glad that I didn't put down $20 + to see this movie in the theatre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AaronJan 31, 2006
Susan not as bad as everyone is saying? You are correct. It's even worse than that. Awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SusanM.Jan 30, 2006
Not as bad as everyone is saying! Cheesy? Yes. Truly original? No. But overall it was a decent flick and you've gotta give it points just because James Franco and Tyrese Gibson appear topless in many scenes - that alone is worth the Not as bad as everyone is saying! Cheesy? Yes. Truly original? No. But overall it was a decent flick and you've gotta give it points just because James Franco and Tyrese Gibson appear topless in many scenes - that alone is worth the price of admission, trust me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GrantN.Jan 27, 2006
Have you ever seen a moive before? If so than you have already seen Annapolos. A movie that attempts to rip-off movies like "An Officer and A Gentlemen" and "Rocky" but with little to no success. It's not that Annapolis is THAT bad its Have you ever seen a moive before? If so than you have already seen Annapolos. A movie that attempts to rip-off movies like "An Officer and A Gentlemen" and "Rocky" but with little to no success. It's not that Annapolis is THAT bad its just that it brings absolutly nothing new to the table. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful