Columbia Pictures | Release Date: October 28, 2011
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 70 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
38
Mixed:
21
Negative:
11
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
cabritaNov 10, 2011
You can't go in to this movie expecting historical fact it must be taken a simply a story and a good exciting story it is. the movie has an exceptional screenplay and stylistic and appropriate direction from Roland Emmerich.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AkkharFeb 11, 2012
Anonymous a good drama thriller . The Shakespeare , Edward , Ben Jonson and those play in the theater part was freaking amazing and awesome . I myself don't believe that concept of Shakespeare being a fraud but the story was good . NowAnonymous a good drama thriller . The Shakespeare , Edward , Ben Jonson and those play in the theater part was freaking amazing and awesome . I myself don't believe that concept of Shakespeare being a fraud but the story was good . Now come the other side of the movie that Queen , Edward and all those royal drama was nothing but a crap . without those time jumping parts and Queen parts this movie could be A Great film but Roland Emmerich & John Orloff just ruined it . Shakespeare , Edward , Ben Jonson's acting was amazing and others were just as dull as their character . I gave it 7 out of ten 10 all because of those parts in theater and Shakespeare , Edward , Ben Jonson's part was so amazing and I loved it so freaking much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CitizenCharlieOct 31, 2011
Audiences may sometimes divide themselves when it comes to historical fiction. There is the faction who appreciates a fictional story assigned to a true historical figure to create an engrossing book or movie. Conversely, there arises aAudiences may sometimes divide themselves when it comes to historical fiction. There is the faction who appreciates a fictional story assigned to a true historical figure to create an engrossing book or movie. Conversely, there arises a vocal minority who deride the story as an affront to what actually happened in history; they worry the uninformed masses will be swayed by the fiction and falsely believe the fiction to be true. Such is the case with Anonymous.

In this story, which furthers the case of a scholarly minority who do not believe William Shakespeare (Rafe Spall) authored all of those plays, Edward de Vere, the Earl of Oxford (Rhys Ifans), was the true genius behind the words. As an Earl, his station was superior to writing and associating with the rabble in a place such as the Globe Theatre. However, his gift required an outlet. He heard the voices of his characters and felt the physical need to commit those voices to paper. Left at this level, the film would have been more scholarly and actually about the canon itself, but director Roland Emmerich (Independence Day, 2012) appears to have desired a more suspenseful thriller. In this era, Queen Elizabeth 1 (Vanessa Redgrave) is at the end of her Golden Age and the issue of royal succession is on the English courtâ
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Feb 18, 2016
It may be one of the signs of the apocalypse, but thanks to a well-written screenplay, spot-on performances, and a fantastic production design, Emmerich has finally made a great film.

Watch here for free
It may be one of the signs of the apocalypse, but thanks to a well-written screenplay, spot-on performances, and a fantastic production design, Emmerich has finally made a great film.

Watch here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-26087d-Anonymous-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
movieboyJan 26, 2012
Such venom, such wailing and gnashing of teeth, the cheek of the director spinning a yarn about the Bard. You might have thought he suggested Jesus was an alien. Good grief, it's entertainment folks. It's actually a wonderful film, pulsingSuch venom, such wailing and gnashing of teeth, the cheek of the director spinning a yarn about the Bard. You might have thought he suggested Jesus was an alien. Good grief, it's entertainment folks. It's actually a wonderful film, pulsing with Elizabethan life. Great acting, funny, wild, compelling and gripping. So it's not exactly true. It's NOT a documentary. One of my favorites of 2011. I'm appalled so many critics slammed it. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
Sir_BrandonOct 30, 2011
The writings by William Shakespeare are celebrated all over the world. He has been called a genius of his craft and considered by many to be the best playwright in history. However, there are theories out there that insists Shakespeare didThe writings by William Shakespeare are celebrated all over the world. He has been called a genius of his craft and considered by many to be the best playwright in history. However, there are theories out there that insists Shakespeare did not write one single thing. The thought of Shakespeare never creating Romeo & Juliet, Hamlet, or Julius Caesar seems preposterous. Yet there are conspiracy theorists out there who believe just that and I would assume director Roland Emmerich may be one of them. He uses Anonymous to present a scenario that explores the idea of who the â Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
iSniperNov 12, 2011
A wonderful watch for those who have read, heard, or seen any of Shakespeare's works. But for those who have not, please be wary, this may not be for you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sssfdgDec 24, 2012
This is a film that has stayed within my personal top ten since its release. Watching again tonight for what is likely the fifth time... I lost count. Still love it as if it were the first time. NOTE: this is tale of a theory for anThis is a film that has stayed within my personal top ten since its release. Watching again tonight for what is likely the fifth time... I lost count. Still love it as if it were the first time. NOTE: this is tale of a theory for an alternate history of Shakespeare himself. If your not willing to consider the theory as possible then you will not enjoy it as much. Keep an open mind and you will lose yourself in this wonderful tale. Oh and see how many Shakespearean references you can find in the protagonists life! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews