Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Aug 17, 2011
    83
    Another Earth is stealthily effective, with silences often counting more than words.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jul 29, 2011
    88
    What's impressive is how well this film joins its parts into a whole.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Jul 23, 2011
    90
    The looming presence of that planet and its possibilities turns Another Earth into a metaphysical treat, with influences that range from Krzysztof Kieslowski's "The Double Life of Veronique and Blue" to Andrei Tarkovsky's "Solaris." It's the most soulful art movie of the summer.
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jul 21, 2011
    88
    Another Earth proves compellingly that science, intellect and emotion can coexist in mesmerizing synchronicity on the big screen.
  5. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Jul 21, 2011
    91
    It's an ambitious premise and a risky approach, but Cahill and his cast execute it beautifully.
  6. Reviewed by: Ray Greene
    Jul 20, 2011
    100
    What I can say is if you're flesh and blood, and have ever suffered a substantial loss, you will be moved by Another Earth. And also renewed.
  7. Reviewed by: Kirk Honeycutt
    Jul 2, 2011
    90
    The best science fiction tells stories about people in extraordinary environments or situations that serve to open up the vast, still largely unexplored terrain of the human heart. Mike Cahill's Another Earth is science fiction at its best.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    Another Earth is one of the most thought provoking movies I've seen in a long time. My initial thoughts were that this was another "what if" sci-fi scenario movie, but there are surprisingly few flaws in the story line. I thoroughly enjoyed the 5 minutes I spent sitting in a daydream after the final scene, trying to process what I just saw. Full Review »
  2. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    This film was truly fantastic. It brilliantly takes you painfully deep into these characters' lives and keeps you invested all the way through. So deep. So touching. Brit Marling is perfect in this film and the acting from the whole cast is spot on. The framing device could so easily have been f*cked up and potentially ruined to story for its "science fictionyness" but in fact ends up being one of the most intriguing and thought provoking aspects. LOVE this film.... Full Review »
  3. Aug 10, 2012
    8
    Engrossing, inventive, intriguing, and eventually emotional and haunting, this film is unlike anything I've seen in quite a while and announces Brit Marling as a tour-de-force writer/actress. Full Review »