Another Earth

Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Aug 6, 2011
    40
    Shaky science fiction shacks up with a corny redemption tale.
  2. Reviewed by: S.T. Vanairsdale
    Jul 21, 2011
    55
    Ultimately just another less-accomplished entry in the booming cinema of catharsis, your average gorgeous-teen-astrophysicist-meets-schlubby-bereft-composer-whose-family-she-wiped-out-in-a-drunk-driving-accident-on-the-night-they-discovered-another-planet tale.
  3. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jul 22, 2011
    50
    Even with a clever final twist straight out of "The Twilight Zone," this crummy-looking two-hander is a tough sit.
  4. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Jul 28, 2011
    50
    In its most touching moments, the film achieves a kind of sad and waltzing rhythm all its own. In its least, it's precious and plodding; the metaphoric link between grief and housework drags like a mop on a bathroom floor.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Aug 12, 2011
    50
    This is another one of those phony movies in which a character burrows into someone else's life without telling them she's an axe murderer, a man or a vampire. Not only that, we're supposed to hope that they get it on. I was hoping that everyone involved would get hit by an asteroid.
  6. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jul 21, 2011
    60
    A coming-of-adulthood story that improbably blends a plaintive drama with romantic longing and far-out science fiction.
  7. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jul 31, 2011
    60
    Marling is the star, and the core of the film's concern. She also co-wrote it with the director, Mike Cahill, yet the result comes across not as a vanity project but as a sobering study of the thoroughly dazed and confused, with a mind-ripping final shot.
  8. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Jul 19, 2011
    40
    Unable to organically incorporate their Big Ideas into the narrative, the filmmakers lazily lay them on top, leaving the exposition of Another Earth's structuring fantasy to a blanket of background voiceover.
  9. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Aug 4, 2011
    50
    As large as Earth Two looms - literally - in the frames of Mike Cahill's film, so do its implications. It's one big, honking metaphor, as much as a special effect. As a symbol of second chances, it's as intriguing as it is frustratingly obvious.
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 176 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    Another Earth is one of the most thought provoking movies I've seen in a long time. My initial thoughts were that this was another "what if"Another Earth is one of the most thought provoking movies I've seen in a long time. My initial thoughts were that this was another "what if" sci-fi scenario movie, but there are surprisingly few flaws in the story line. I thoroughly enjoyed the 5 minutes I spent sitting in a daydream after the final scene, trying to process what I just saw. Full Review »
  2. Jan 3, 2013
    0
    This was an absolute mess. The plot didn't make any sense, the characters are dull, and there was absolutely no explanation to what the ****This was an absolute mess. The plot didn't make any sense, the characters are dull, and there was absolutely no explanation to what the **** is going on with that other earth. I mean seriously, who the **** gives a **** about this random depressed lady when there is ANOTHER ****ING EARTH SITTING RIGHT THERE IN THE SKY WITH NO EXPLANATION??? Just another example of Hollywood thinking they know exactly what they are talking about when in reality, they don't. Full Review »
  3. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    Another Earth contains both an outward looking expansionist grand vision and an inward focused deep introspection. First, the external andAnother Earth contains both an outward looking expansionist grand vision and an inward focused deep introspection. First, the external and gargantuan stimulus is that another planet appears in the sky. At first, itâ Full Review »