User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 97
  2. Negative: 6 out of 97

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    I love this movie. So thought provoking, such beautiful acting and very original. Love It, love it, love it!!! Goes into my top 20 all time favourite movies.
  2. Jan 3, 2013
    9
    This was the film that first led me to the discovery of actress Brit Marling. It's an emotional, sometimes depressing movie, but it does not come across as pretentious or trying too hard.
  3. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Spoiler Alert:


    Brilliant. One of the best sci fi films I've ever seen, even if the science fiction part was relatively small, it was important. Gave almost a Bradbury type feeling with the Earth 2 hanging up there in the sky, symbolizing...we don't know what until later. One of the most effective devices was the technology, or rather, the lack of technology; Earth 2 might be hanging
    up there in the sky for all to see, but for all but a very lucky (or very wealthy) few, there is no way to get there! Even if it were possible to communicate with E2, almost no one would be able to afford the Apollo V replica necessary to make the journey. Which sets up the ending beautifully. John's family is dead on both Earths, but he wouldn't have known that until he landed. But once he's landed, he'd never have the resources to go back. And now that both Rhodas are on on E1, John can neither take revenge, nor forgive and attempt to form a new life with her (as weird as that would feel at first). It's pretty much Book of Job as far as John's concerned. Wow. Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    I first watched this film in January 2012 on a flight from Hong Kong to Detroit, and I thought it might be a masterpiece. It's now October 2012, I've watched it twice more (at sea level), and I still think it might be a masterpiece.
  5. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    I saw this film at the Locarno film festival and really didn't know what to expect. But Another Earth captured me from the first frame and held my attention till the end. While Earth 2 remains in the background and only serves as a metaphor for another (better?) life, the Inception-like conclusion is worth watching it.
  6. Dec 26, 2011
    9
    really great alternative sci-fy film, very interesting plot. both main actors were great. the only thing was that it was a little bit too slow. great ending.
  7. Dec 15, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved this film and whilst it has it's flaws, i believe those flaws add to the film, in the sense that we can make our own minds up, rather than having every possible meaning of the film rammed down our throats,Michael Bay style. I know the other Earth is there in the film and the characters talk about it, so it's not supposed to be just in her mind, but maybe it is. Maybe it is all just a metaphor for another chance and the references to the other earth are in her psyche to help her deal with the grief. The odds of her getting a trip to another earth as a convicted felon are maybe a bit far fetched. That's just one way that i like to think of this film which allows many translations for me. This would also explain away the flawed scientific possibilities, or we can take it at face value and ignore the scientific angle, just as we should do, after all it's not a documentary. Expand
  8. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    Another Earth is one of the most thought provoking movies I've seen in a long time. My initial thoughts were that this was another "what if" sci-fi scenario movie, but there are surprisingly few flaws in the story line. I thoroughly enjoyed the 5 minutes I spent sitting in a daydream after the final scene, trying to process what I just saw.
  9. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Is vehicular manslaughter murder, like a stabbing, or pulling the trigger aimed at somebody's chest? Filmically, the answer varies. If you asked the defense attorney in "A Time to Kill", the question as to whether drunk driving is a punishable crime or not, the equivalent or subordinate of first-degree murder, he would state that it largely depends on the person behind the wheel. After all, "the eyes of the law are human eyes," argues Jack Tyler Brigance, whose observance is made in a racial context from a southern courtroom where he calls attention to the region's biases that often perverts the system of the law. The victory he scores for the client, plaintiff Carl Lee Haley, a paper mill worker, who, from the town's perspective, has the nerve to bring charges against some "good 'ol boys" for the vicious rape and attempted hanging of his daughter, seems to hail from another Mississippi, another earth, because in real life, a stirring closing argument wouldn't change people's fundamental principles overnight. Rhoda Williams lives on our earth, not the diegetical blue planet where the case particulars of "To Kill a Mockingbird" unfolds in a way at all favorable to Tom Robinson chances for an acquittal. In both "A Time to Kill" and the classic film(adapted from the Harper Lee novel), the courtroom is presented as a legal utopia, which for the ethnically disadvantaged facing charges of some sort, misrepresents their reality to a great degree. The filmmaker rigs the protagonist's outcome, reflecting, day in and day out, our legal mores. To celebrate her MIT acceptance, the aspiring astrophysicist, after a hard night of partying, gets into her car and doesn't see the idling sedan at the stoplight, killing the family inside, save for the driver, who for all intents and purposes, died along with his wife, pregnant with their second child, and young son, on that fated road. Instead of college, Rhoda spends her matriculating years locked up in a state penitentiary. Upon her release, having served a four-year(!) sentence, the ex-felon staves off our contempt by looking appropriately sad and withdrawn. To boot, she has the decency to overextend her prison sentence(a mental one) by doing penance in a high school, where she works as an angst-ridden janitor. The filmmaker wants us to see a remorseful young woman, not a murderer. She did her time, so now it's a time to heal, but shouldn't we hold off on absolving Rhoda of her terrible mistake until the widower, John Burroughs, the man who lost everything, absolves her first? From his perspective, he's like the parents from "Last House on the Left", in the sense that the accomplished composer and music professor unwittingly invites the murderer into his house. Posing as a door-to-door representative for a maid service company, little does the Yale-ite know that her specialty is crime scene cleanup(ala Amy Adams and Emily Blunt in "Sunshine Cleaning), so while the impostor can't make the blood disappear, she can hide the bodies, metaphorically speaking, when the killer washes away the smell from his client's wife's sweater, causing the husband to mourn a smaller yet equally devastating death in its own right. Although Rhoda isn't consciously trying to replace Maya(arguably), this incident of spousal erasure serves as a turning point to just such an unseemly perception, exacerbated by their age difference, which corresponds to that of a professor and his comely grad student. In another earth, they'd be carrying on some torrid off-campus affair. Now here's the argument. Just prior to her laundry faux pas, Rhoda shares with John the story of a Russian cosmonaut who's confronted by a tapping sound in space that nearly drives him mad. For his own sanity, she explains, the spaceman learns to love the constant ticking. As Rhoda taps the kitchen table with a tuning fork, the noise may remind some of a heartbeat, like in the Poe short story "The Tell-Tale Heart", but in Rhoda's version(subtextually compartmentalized), the dead person lying underneath the floorboards is a wife. Does Rhoda identify with the cosmonaut, who no longer hears the ticking, but only music, "and spends the rest of his time in total bliss and peace," which would suggest that she has forgiven herself, whereas the narrator(in Poe's tale), wracked with guilt, confesses to the crime. In "Last House on the Left", the dead girl's father avenges his daughter's systematic slaying by driving a chainsaw through her killer's chest. "Another Earth", on the other hand, doesn't perceive Rhoda in those terms, a murderer, as evidenced by the saw that John performs with(not kills with), when he executes an avant-garde piece for Rhoda in an empty concert hall. To the actors' credit, they portray their damaged characters so persuasively, you forget that they can't be together. "Another Earth" makes us love Rhoda. "Now imagine if she's...," to paraphrase the lawyer. Expand
  10. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    Another Earth contains both an outward looking expansionist grand vision and an inward focused deep introspection. First, the external and gargantuan stimulus is that another planet appears in the sky. At first, itâ
  11. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    This film was truly fantastic. It brilliantly takes you painfully deep into these characters' lives and keeps you invested all the way through. So deep. So touching. Brit Marling is perfect in this film and the acting from the whole cast is spot on. The framing device could so easily have been f*cked up and potentially ruined to story for its "science fictionyness" but in fact ends up being one of the most intriguing and thought provoking aspects. LOVE this film.... Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Freer
    Dec 5, 2011
    80
    A small, personal indie with a huge cinematic and intellectual appetite. It may be too lo-fi for some tastes but it sparks the brain and moves the heart. It also introduces Marling as a bright new star - singular.
  2. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Aug 18, 2011
    75
    The deliberate editing and quirky cinematography (both done by Cahill) sometimes seem at odds with each other but never get in the way of the story's honesty.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Aug 17, 2011
    83
    Another Earth is stealthily effective, with silences often counting more than words.