Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: In another earth, Rhoda Williams, a bright young woman accepted into MIT's astrophysics program, aspires to explore the cosmos. A brilliant composer, John Burroughs, has just reached the pinnacle of his profession and is about to have a second child. On the eve of the discovery of a duplicate earth, tragedy strikes and the lives of these strangers become irrevocably intertwined. (Fox Searchlight) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Ray Greene
    Jul 20, 2011
    100
    What I can say is if you're flesh and blood, and have ever suffered a substantial loss, you will be moved by Another Earth. And also renewed.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jul 29, 2011
    88
    What's impressive is how well this film joins its parts into a whole.
  3. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Aug 6, 2011
    80
    Shot in verite style with handheld cameras and rule-breaking quick cuts, Cahill's film moves slowly between moments of heartache and quiet beauty.
  4. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jul 28, 2011
    75
    Another Earth has heft - emotionally, intellectually.
  5. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jul 2, 2011
    70
    Out there, to say the least, but rescued from risibility by its well-matched lead performances and crazy low-budget ambition.
  6. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jul 21, 2011
    60
    A coming-of-adulthood story that improbably blends a plaintive drama with romantic longing and far-out science fiction.
  7. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jul 20, 2011
    25
    It's one of those stultifying aftermath-of-
a-car-crash movies.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    Another Earth is one of the most thought provoking movies I've seen in a long time. My initial thoughts were that this was another "what if" sci-fi scenario movie, but there are surprisingly few flaws in the story line. I thoroughly enjoyed the 5 minutes I spent sitting in a daydream after the final scene, trying to process what I just saw. Collapse
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Spoiler Alert:


    Brilliant. One of the best sci fi films I've ever seen, even if the science fiction part was relatively small, it was
    important. Gave almost a Bradbury type feeling with the Earth 2 hanging up there in the sky, symbolizing...we don't know what until later. One of the most effective devices was the technology, or rather, the lack of technology; Earth 2 might be hanging up there in the sky for all to see, but for all but a very lucky (or very wealthy) few, there is no way to get there! Even if it were possible to communicate with E2, almost no one would be able to afford the Apollo V replica necessary to make the journey. Which sets up the ending beautifully. John's family is dead on both Earths, but he wouldn't have known that until he landed. But once he's landed, he'd never have the resources to go back. And now that both Rhodas are on on E1, John can neither take revenge, nor forgive and attempt to form a new life with her (as weird as that would feel at first). It's pretty much Book of Job as far as John's concerned. Wow. Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    I first watched this film in January 2012 on a flight from Hong Kong to Detroit, and I thought it might be a masterpiece. It's now October 2012, I've watched it twice more (at sea level), and I still think it might be a masterpiece. Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2013
    8
    Another Earth is a beautiful film. Despite some missteps it is a work that stands well in its chosen territory between indie drama and science fiction. Brit Marling is a pleasant discovery, both as an actress and as a screenwriter. Hope to see more of her. Expand
  5. Jul 24, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like the stripped-down look of the movie, and the theme is interesting (no matter how preposterous it is - and how much better it was fleshed our in Fringe and tens of other sci-fi franchises). As a post-crash story, it's fairly conventional, but both lead actors are terrific. I had no idea that Brit Marling also wrote the story - good for her. The way the movie ends is a big no-no in many circles. Again, I've tried it in my own writing and have gotten bludgeoned for doing it. But I appreciate the questions it raises. If this were a mini-series or full TV season that were to end on that note, you'd probably have many more angry viewers, but for a 2-hour movie, I suppose it's an acceptable tactic. Expand
  6. Feb 14, 2012
    7
    The existance of another identical earth with identical people leaving parallel lives, could lead to a number of intersting scenarios. A Sundance festival favourite, this is a film with a lot of good ideas, but lacks in depth in execution. There is plenty of food for thought with the closing scene possibly being the highest point of the film. Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2013
    0
    This was an absolute mess. The plot didn't make any sense, the characters are dull, and there was absolutely no explanation to what the **** is going on with that other earth. I mean seriously, who the **** gives a **** about this random depressed lady when there is ANOTHER ****ING EARTH SITTING RIGHT THERE IN THE SKY WITH NO EXPLANATION??? Just another example of Hollywood thinking they know exactly what they are talking about when in reality, they don't. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Trailers