Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: In another earth, Rhoda Williams, a bright young woman accepted into MIT's astrophysics program, aspires to explore the cosmos. A brilliant composer, John Burroughs, has just reached the pinnacle of his profession and is about to have a second child. On the eve of the discovery of aIn another earth, Rhoda Williams, a bright young woman accepted into MIT's astrophysics program, aspires to explore the cosmos. A brilliant composer, John Burroughs, has just reached the pinnacle of his profession and is about to have a second child. On the eve of the discovery of a duplicate earth, tragedy strikes and the lives of these strangers become irrevocably intertwined. (Fox Searchlight) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Ray Greene
    Jul 20, 2011
    100
    What I can say is if you're flesh and blood, and have ever suffered a substantial loss, you will be moved by Another Earth. And also renewed.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jul 29, 2011
    88
    What's impressive is how well this film joins its parts into a whole.
  3. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Aug 6, 2011
    80
    Shot in verite style with handheld cameras and rule-breaking quick cuts, Cahill's film moves slowly between moments of heartache and quiet beauty.
  4. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jul 28, 2011
    75
    Another Earth has heft - emotionally, intellectually.
  5. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jul 2, 2011
    70
    Out there, to say the least, but rescued from risibility by its well-matched lead performances and crazy low-budget ambition.
  6. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jul 21, 2011
    60
    A coming-of-adulthood story that improbably blends a plaintive drama with romantic longing and far-out science fiction.
  7. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jul 20, 2011
    25
    It's one of those stultifying aftermath-of-
a-car-crash movies.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    Another Earth is one of the most thought provoking movies I've seen in a long time. My initial thoughts were that this was another "what if"Another Earth is one of the most thought provoking movies I've seen in a long time. My initial thoughts were that this was another "what if" sci-fi scenario movie, but there are surprisingly few flaws in the story line. I thoroughly enjoyed the 5 minutes I spent sitting in a daydream after the final scene, trying to process what I just saw. Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2011
    9
    really great alternative sci-fy film, very interesting plot. both main actors were great. the only thing was that it was a little bit tooreally great alternative sci-fy film, very interesting plot. both main actors were great. the only thing was that it was a little bit too slow. great ending. Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    Another Earth contains both an outward looking expansionist grand vision and an inward focused deep introspection. First, the external andAnother Earth contains both an outward looking expansionist grand vision and an inward focused deep introspection. First, the external and gargantuan stimulus is that another planet appears in the sky. At first, itâ Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2013
    8
    Another Earth is a beautiful film. Despite some missteps it is a work that stands well in its chosen territory between indie drama andAnother Earth is a beautiful film. Despite some missteps it is a work that stands well in its chosen territory between indie drama and science fiction. Brit Marling is a pleasant discovery, both as an actress and as a screenwriter. Hope to see more of her. Collapse
  5. Jul 22, 2013
    7
    Like all good sci-fi movie, "Another Earth" knows that the story is about the people, not the event or action. This is a thought-provokingLike all good sci-fi movie, "Another Earth" knows that the story is about the people, not the event or action. This is a thought-provoking film about redemption. Expand
  6. Aug 2, 2011
    5
    Nice acting, but not much of a story. I really enjoyed the restrained style of this film, but the story never really amounted to much moreNice acting, but not much of a story. I really enjoyed the restrained style of this film, but the story never really amounted to much more than a typical after-school special. (And the sage, self-blinded Indian janitor was just completely ridiculous and a bit offensive.) Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2013
    0
    This was an absolute mess. The plot didn't make any sense, the characters are dull, and there was absolutely no explanation to what the ****This was an absolute mess. The plot didn't make any sense, the characters are dull, and there was absolutely no explanation to what the **** is going on with that other earth. I mean seriously, who the **** gives a **** about this random depressed lady when there is ANOTHER ****ING EARTH SITTING RIGHT THERE IN THE SKY WITH NO EXPLANATION??? Just another example of Hollywood thinking they know exactly what they are talking about when in reality, they don't. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Trailers