Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jan 12, 2011
    100
    Leigh's Another Year is like a long, purifying soak in empathy.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jan 5, 2011
    100
    What it does have is an overwhelming bittersweet melancholy at the passing of life from middle age into…well, you could call it late middle age.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 29, 2010
    88
    Just watch the magnificent Manville, in a raw and riveting award-class performance that exposes a grieving heart under siege. Her last scene is quietly devastating. So is this intimate miracle of a movie.
  4. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jan 14, 2011
    75
    A gutsy movie, in that Leigh says something about life that nobody really wants to believe, and he says it forcefully: There is such a thing as "too late."
  5. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Dec 29, 2010
    80
    The perfect haven from the cheap ironies and cruel indifference we all have to field both in life and, far too often, at the movies.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 30, 2010
    100
    A quintessential Mike Leigh performance. It deepens as it goes along until, in the end, in its final close-up, it overwhelms.
  7. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Dec 29, 2010
    80
    It may sound commonplace, but in the hands of master filmmaker Mike Leigh, the everyday becomes extraordinary.
  8. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 30, 2010
    60
    Mike Leigh's latest film preserves the mystery of why another marriage has flourished over decades. That's not the stated subject of Another Year, but it's at the center of this enjoyable though insistently schematic comedy.
  9. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Jan 20, 2011
    88
    Like "Life Is Sweet," "Secrets & Lies," and yes, 1971's "Bleak Moments," to name but three of Leigh's 10 semi-improvised character studies, Another Year is another frowning comedy.
  10. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 30, 2010
    88
    Love and loneliness are presented, in almost equal parts, with subdued precision in the richly abundant Another Year.
  11. 80
    Another year, another Mike Leigh gem.
  12. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Jan 13, 2011
    80
    A brief but piercing cameo by Imelda Staunton (Vera Drake), as a desolate old woman who fiercely rejects professional counseling for depression, drives home Leigh's greatest insight, that true happiness is not found but realized.
  13. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Dec 29, 2010
    80
    Splendidly rich and wise.
  14. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jan 13, 2011
    75
    For all the warmth emanating from the film's core, thanks to Broadbent and Sheen, I don't know if Leigh has ever made a crueler picture.
  15. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Feb 5, 2011
    88
    You may not realize the imprint it has left until its last season comes to a close.
  16. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Jan 27, 2011
    83
    Very good Leigh -- maybe even, given Manville's heroic work, great Leigh.
  17. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jan 22, 2011
    75
    Another Year allows viewers to occupy both psychic spaces, nesting into the warm comforts of a long-lived-in home and then, on a dime, seeing it through the searching eyes of the marginalized figures that, over the course of 11 films, Leigh has so often championed.
  18. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Jan 14, 2011
    100
    Extracting big drama out of small events is Mike Leigh's forte, and with his latest little masterpiece, Another Year, the English director pushes himself to the extreme.
  19. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Jan 27, 2011
    88
    It all comes down to affirmation vs. denial. Leigh chooses affirmation. And the result is life-affirming.
  20. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Dec 29, 2010
    100
    Getting a small cohort of humanity dead right is an impressive artistic achievement, but Mike Leigh's beautifully modulated English drama Another Year advances even farther.
  21. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jan 26, 2011
    75
    In Mary, Leigh has found the polar opposite of Sally Hawkin's giggle-through-the-pain heroine of "Happy-Go-Lucky."
  22. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Dec 28, 2010
    75
    Another Year is a stacked deck of a movie that draws a harshly unforgiving, sometimes smug line between boomers who've made good and those who've fallen by the wayside.
  23. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 14, 2011
    90
    The acting is uniformly terrific, just a marvel to watch.
  24. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Feb 3, 2011
    88
    This humane movie is an ode to joy, albeit of the mature sort.
  25. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Feb 3, 2011
    88
    A script that deftly fleshes out characters and mimics reality shockingly well.
  26. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Feb 4, 2011
    50
    Many scenes, like Another Year itself, don't actually go anywhere.
  27. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Dec 22, 2010
    100
    These characters are more than what we see on the surface, and it's thanks to Leigh's rigorous yet generous eye that we never just gawk at the drama.
  28. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jan 10, 2011
    50
    I know that we are meant to be drawn into the undergrowth of these ordinary lives, and the long tale is neatly split into four symbolic seasons;...But do they and their fellow-Brits honestly swell the heart, or do they grate, exasperate, and finally grind us down?
  29. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Feb 2, 2011
    75
    I'm not sure there's anything else to take away from this film besides Manville's performance and gratitude that we aren't these people.
  30. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Dec 28, 2010
    91
    The performances are winning, the story is surprising without relying on unlikely twists, and the relationships are the richest and most nuanced since Leigh's "Secrets & Lies."
  31. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Dec 28, 2010
    100
    Measured in pace, yet thoroughly gripping and completely accessible. The title soft-sells the picture, but it's among the best of this or any year. And Manville should clear some shelf space for well-deserved awards.
  32. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Dec 29, 2010
    85
    It's as subversive and penetrating a treatment of the British character as we get on the big screen, and it's why I don't mind that Leigh keeps them coming 'round with the reliability of the cocktail hour.
  33. Reviewed by: Ray Bennett
    Dec 28, 2010
    50
    Acutely observed but gloomy and lacking narrative, it tells of 12 months in the life of a decent but dull suburban couple and their friends, most of whom you would go out of your way to avoid at a party.
  34. Reviewed by: Richard Mowe
    Dec 28, 2010
    80
    Mike Leigh has a knack of making the ordinary extraordinary. Here he deals with themes of class, family and depression over a period of a year, breaking it up into seasonal chapters.
  35. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Dec 28, 2010
    0
    I haven't seen a film this year that so openly invited me to revile each and every one of its characters-and I reviewed "The Human Centipede."
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 5 out of 21
  1. May 24, 2011
    8
    really really enjoyed this film. it is deep, emotional and involving. best watched with low expectations, this film will creep up on you and not let you go. Full Review »
  2. May 17, 2011
    10
    I feel as though there is a several thousand word review in me to discuss the new Mike Leigh film, Another Year, which was nominated for Best Original Screenplay, but I have to admit this is a film that, though I love for many reasons, I feel not many people I know will ever see it, and so I'm going to sum up my thoughts with a brief reflection.

    Mary (Leslie Manville) gives one of the absolute best performances I have seen in film, as an aging alcoholic woman who is alone and depressed and desperate but cannot see what she needs to do to change anything. She frequently visits with a co-worker Gerri (Ruth Sheen) who is happily married to Tom (Jim Broadbent) and they seem to tolerate her because they are basically good people living a healthy life together. This is a British film set in the London area with realistic people playing very realistic roles. The film is told through the 4 seasons and takes us through many emotions, but it is totally in the character of Mary that we lose ourselves as we contemplate her sadness, but as Mike Leigh does so well, we don't just see one side from the other characters around this central figure, we see the entire spectrum of good and bad.

    I would not suggest this film for many people I know, but I would recommend it to anyone who loves a great movie about real life.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 6, 2011
    8
    "Another Year" has a beauty of its own; which could be equally liked and disliked for the same reasons.The main one being: the comfortable and non-judgmental Tom and Gerri could come across as shallow and sadistic as well. Maybe, that's one of the many charms. But I don't really think it is their story.
    Though it is boring, one might find it hard to label it so. For, there is something that is worth wondering and thinking that stays with her or him.
    Full Review »