Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: December 29, 2010
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 59 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
46
Mixed:
7
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
LynMar 15, 2011
Not quite what I expected: It's less about the happy couple and why their marriage has succeeded, and more about the miserable characters who orbit around the couple's placid, nurturing lifestyle. Excellent acting makes the characters veryNot quite what I expected: It's less about the happy couple and why their marriage has succeeded, and more about the miserable characters who orbit around the couple's placid, nurturing lifestyle. Excellent acting makes the characters very true, however, and the themes linger. (E.g., how does one build a happy life, aside from being, as Gerri admits, "lucky"?) As with other Mike Leigh films, one marvels at the harsh, un-Hollywood look of all the mottled complexions, double chins and bad teeth . . . real people with real problems that one hopes will somehow work out. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
jaward1May 24, 2011
really really enjoyed this film. it is deep, emotional and involving. best watched with low expectations, this film will creep up on you and not let you go.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
AdeeshApr 6, 2011
"Another Year" has a beauty of its own; which could be equally liked and disliked for the same reasons.The main one being: the comfortable and non-judgmental Tom and Gerri could come across as shallow and sadistic as well. Maybe, that's one"Another Year" has a beauty of its own; which could be equally liked and disliked for the same reasons.The main one being: the comfortable and non-judgmental Tom and Gerri could come across as shallow and sadistic as well. Maybe, that's one of the many charms. But I don't really think it is their story.
Though it is boring, one might find it hard to label it so. For, there is something that is worth wondering and thinking that stays with her or him.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
mattscieszkaMay 17, 2011
I feel as though there is a several thousand word review in me to discuss the new Mike Leigh film, Another Year, which was nominated for Best Original Screenplay, but I have to admit this is a film that, though I love for many reasons, I feelI feel as though there is a several thousand word review in me to discuss the new Mike Leigh film, Another Year, which was nominated for Best Original Screenplay, but I have to admit this is a film that, though I love for many reasons, I feel not many people I know will ever see it, and so I'm going to sum up my thoughts with a brief reflection.

Mary (Leslie Manville) gives one of the absolute best performances I have seen in film, as an aging alcoholic woman who is alone and depressed and desperate but cannot see what she needs to do to change anything. She frequently visits with a co-worker Gerri (Ruth Sheen) who is happily married to Tom (Jim Broadbent) and they seem to tolerate her because they are basically good people living a healthy life together. This is a British film set in the London area with realistic people playing very realistic roles. The film is told through the 4 seasons and takes us through many emotions, but it is totally in the character of Mary that we lose ourselves as we contemplate her sadness, but as Mike Leigh does so well, we don't just see one side from the other characters around this central figure, we see the entire spectrum of good and bad.

I would not suggest this film for many people I know, but I would recommend it to anyone who loves a great movie about real life.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MorriBeyApr 7, 2011
Has to be watched more than once to appreciate it. I have not seen a movie which so captures the isolation and despair of loneliness. Its a real movie about real people, those in relationships and those who linger alone.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ShiiraFeb 23, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mary(Leslie Manville) is a "glass half-full kind of girl" living in a glass half-empty world, a diegetic world where problems don't magically resolve themselves before the credits start rolling, as if on cue. In a different film, the coquettish act that the middle-aged woman puts on for Joe(Oliver Maltman), the much-younger son of Gerri(Ruth Sheen), Mary's "friend", wouldn't be so cringe-inducing. At a party, Mary asks the thirty-year-old man out for drinks, and the moviegoer feels so embarrassed on her behalf, because this lush, in spite of the make-up and youthful-looking wardrobe, isn't fooling anybody with her grab for relative youth. Fishing for a compliment, Mary asks Joe to guess her age, and not wanting to encourage any further advances from the old lady, the unmarried man jokingly guesses "sixty...seventy," before falling silent, because a lie(to say that she could pass for her late-thirties or early-forties) would be even more cruel than the truth. She's not aging well; that's the sad truth, but still the woman insists on wearing a flower in her hair, clinging on to the belief that she possesses a vestige of her former sexual allure. And you know it once existed, this sexual allure, just by the way she carries herself. Back in the day, Mary must have been hot, which would account for Tom's patience with this cougar in heat. Somewhere in his adult self lies the who once fancied his mother's sexy friend from work, and Mary seems to know what sort of effect she had on men, young and old alike, in her prime, as she fulfills a possible boyhood fantasy of Tom's when she feigns to enter his treehouse. Quite tellingly, late in "Another Year", Tom remembers that Mary once worked as a **** waitress in Corfu, an island in Greece, which to a boy of ten, must have been exceedingly exotic. At another time, Mary had a job in New York. It's this happier time, years that overlapped with Gerri's knowing of her as the medical group's secretary, which is key to understanding "Another Year", a miserablist film with no exit. Happily married to Tom(Jim Broadbent), thriving professionally as a psychotherapist, the moviegoer has to consider their younger incarnations to make sense of this unlikely association. Twenty years earlier, Mary must have been a lot of fun to be around, a kooky, free-spirit singleton that a married woman with son in-tow might have secretly envied. When Mary makes reference to an old flame, a married man, in, what we gather, another of her frequent drunken spiels, it's Tom, not Gerri, who sides with her. While the husband calls this ex-lover "a duplicitous s*it", the wife ungenerously reminds Mary, at her lowest point, that "it takes two to tango," and that "we all have to make choices," suggestive of an older dynamic to their friendship where this alcoholic old maid was the leader and Gerri, the follower, and now, after all these years, the happily married woman still relishes the moment where the fun-loving office gal lost her agency over the straight-laced doctor. Ever since the fallout from this problematic love affair, Mary has been living vicariously through her "friend from work"(the qualifier belongs to Gerri, whereas they were once simply friends), who as it turns out, is the lucky one. In an earlier scene, Gerri refers to her extra girth as her "middle-aged spread", in front of Mary, whose looks no longer carries any currency. The word "perfect", which Tom uses to describe his wife, is what previously had been applicable to Mary, back in the day. Gerri is nice to her, because she can afford it. Mary is such an obvious trainwreck, the mother never worries about Joe being tempted by her friend from work's feminine wiles. In another diegetic world, Gerri would have to worry, because in most films, doesn't the luck of the lonely and downtrodden change at some point? They always find love, right? If not Joe, then surely it's going to be Ken(Peter Wight), who will rescue Mary from certain spinsterhood, and live happily ever after. But alas, Tom's longtime friend is morbidly obese and greying at the top, and in Mary's eyes, no knight in shining armor. All the good older men, as suggested in a brief scene at the pub, are interested in women half their age. Mary never learned the valuable lesson that "beauty is only skin deep". She's like the character in the Nanci Griffith song "Drive-in Movies and Dashboard Lights", who is "heavy on thigh and light on integrity," who never learns that "when beauty's all you offer, too soon the world discovers that your beauty's gone." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EvanSJan 24, 2011
The night of seeing this movie I was kept for hours by the screech of wheels outside my window where an action/chase flick was being filmed. It's appropriate considering Another Year was the antithesis of the kind of loud crap being madeThe night of seeing this movie I was kept for hours by the screech of wheels outside my window where an action/chase flick was being filmed. It's appropriate considering Another Year was the antithesis of the kind of loud crap being made today and served up every Friday. I haven't stopped thinking about the movie since I walked out of the theater. Ignore the naysayers and go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Andys_ReviewsAug 10, 2013
Really well made with some tremendous performances; I loved the down-to-earth tone of the piece. Mike Leigh does make some great dramas and he really gets great performances from his actors. In this one I loved both Jim Broadbent and RuthReally well made with some tremendous performances; I loved the down-to-earth tone of the piece. Mike Leigh does make some great dramas and he really gets great performances from his actors. In this one I loved both Jim Broadbent and Ruth Sheen, but the star of the show was definitely Lesley Manville. She had to go through the whole gamut of emotions and did it quite brilliantly (IMO). It’s not a film that will be to everyone’s taste; the explosion count is zero; car chases get a similar score and as for deaths, well, there is one, but we only find out about that one when they have to go to the funeral. But I digress; I found it a really engaging film with some real characters that are both believable and well rounded. It’s nice to see British people portrayed as they are for a change, instead of some stereotypical ‘vision’ of what everyone thinks they are. On the down side, I did find it went on just a tad too long at the end, but I’m not going to hold that against it. It’s well worth a look if you get the chance.

SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED

My score: 8.2/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cylixdemasJun 21, 2011
This film employed great acting, cinematography, and an engaging storyline. The film moves on a pace that may be a bit slower for some to really enjoy. But the movie does have a realistic and believable portrayal of life. The actors did aThis film employed great acting, cinematography, and an engaging storyline. The film moves on a pace that may be a bit slower for some to really enjoy. But the movie does have a realistic and believable portrayal of life. The actors did a great job in letting you understand the issues that they are dealing with personally. The married couple (Tom and Gerri), also reverberated a true deep connection that is shared amongst many long term relationships. There were many awkward moments, heart-felt laughs, and serious situations to enjoy in this film. I would recommend this movie to anyone who has a profound sense of enjoying a true motion picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
j30Sep 19, 2011
Laugh, Love, and Live. I always thought that those signs in people's houses were pretty corny, but I think it could describe Tom and Gerri. The movie captures nearly everything about life (birth, death, love, regret, the list goes on) in aLaugh, Love, and Live. I always thought that those signs in people's houses were pretty corny, but I think it could describe Tom and Gerri. The movie captures nearly everything about life (birth, death, love, regret, the list goes on) in a passing of a year. The movie made me reflect on my life and the lives of others around me; and that's why the movie is universal because I think just about anyone could relate to it's characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DiegoSanRoblesDec 16, 2011
Itâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lasttimeisawApr 11, 2012
Mike Leighâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MarkAngelMar 2, 2013
Wonderful, small and sad but enjoyable. These ordinary people may even provide the viewer with self-reflective thoughts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MattBrady99Jul 19, 2015
Another boring year for these guys.

Another year has great acting, a well written script by Mike Leigh and it may not be every ones type of film to watch, but it's still worth a watch to those who are interested in watching the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews