Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: July 6, 2018
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 337 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
266
Mixed:
53
Negative:
18
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
GinaKJul 11, 2018
I’ve seen a lot of comic-book franchise films and liked them (years ago, Batman, and more recently, Doctor Strange) so I certainly can enjoy this kind of film, but sadly this one seemed to me very childish and dumb. No style or panache atI’ve seen a lot of comic-book franchise films and liked them (years ago, Batman, and more recently, Doctor Strange) so I certainly can enjoy this kind of film, but sadly this one seemed to me very childish and dumb. No style or panache at all, just a lot of jumping around and shrinking and expanding. I was very disappointed. I also read it was funny, but that meant mostly sight gags and snarky lines and not much wit, if any. I would say this was a movie mainly for small children, but then I’ve seen a lot of movies for that audience that I’ve really enjoyed. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
JohnnyCanuckJul 11, 2018
To start - i generally enjoy all of the MArvel films. However, I found AMATW to be a pale retread of the first film. It felt underwritten, incredibly inconsequential, and the stakes just didn't seem very high for anyone. The GhostTo start - i generally enjoy all of the MArvel films. However, I found AMATW to be a pale retread of the first film. It felt underwritten, incredibly inconsequential, and the stakes just didn't seem very high for anyone. The Ghost character and storyline is completely unecessary and the forced conflict between Scott and the gang at the beginning really doesn't make sense. Wasp is underwritten and dull considering Lillys talents. It was ok, I would still have purchased a ticket - but it did not have the vibrancy and drive of the first film. Luckily the scenes with Rudd and his family and Luis continue to connect. It doesnt have the humour of Ragnarok, the character of Guardians or the heart of Cap Amer - its just sort of the bland, slightly funny middle. Seems more like missed opportunity. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Jul 19, 2018
Once again one of the less strong characters of the MCU but famous enough to have his own franchise must be the follow-up of an Avengers film but now Marvel finally embraced the humor completely and accepts that Paul Rudd is better at that,Once again one of the less strong characters of the MCU but famous enough to have his own franchise must be the follow-up of an Avengers film but now Marvel finally embraced the humor completely and accepts that Paul Rudd is better at that, at being a comedian. It's not bad but the film doesn't offer any surprise.
I think it's the first sequel of the MCU since Iron Man 2 that doesn't feel different from its predecessor.

If you're already inside the world of the MCU obviously you will continue there, otherwise I don't know how a casual viewer can enjoy something that it will not understand at all.

The movie fulfills with the entertainment and the quality of Marvel is still there, but it's only that. There is nothing more worth mentioning, except the mid-credits scene that connects directly with the events of Avengers: Infinity War.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
ABRJul 11, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well, this is good sequel. Because it's like the first movie - empty, with dull super-hero character Ant-Man. Though, Evangeline Lilly is pretty good. Laurence Fishburne and Michael Douglas there just to be in there.

Gags are the only thing that keeps watchers from boredom.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
sscott0829twJul 22, 2018
This is by far one of the worst marvel movie, the structure is bad, the actors did worse than the first movie. There is only one good action scene. And the wasp pretty much stole the show. Ant-man didn't really do anything in the film, andThis is by far one of the worst marvel movie, the structure is bad, the actors did worse than the first movie. There is only one good action scene. And the wasp pretty much stole the show. Ant-man didn't really do anything in the film, and the wasp do everything. The villain looks like a character from Destiny and she can literally just talk to Hank and Hope to figure out a way with her issues instead of fighting them. And about two third of the movie's joke didn't land. The mob characters in the movie and laughable and get their ass whooped by the wasp and ghost, I don't know why they are even in the movie. Overall this is very disappointing to me. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
Astor_Jul 23, 2018
I have not watched the first Ant Man movie. This is a Marvel production. Can't go wrong with, right? I was so wrong on that. I went to watch this, because of the generally favourable reviews. Boy was I in for a great disappointment. ThisI have not watched the first Ant Man movie. This is a Marvel production. Can't go wrong with, right? I was so wrong on that. I went to watch this, because of the generally favourable reviews. Boy was I in for a great disappointment. This doesn't feel like a good Marvel film. It's all mindless action from beginning to the end. Chasing after the miniature of the lab building like a game of soccer. It's so bad that it feels like a 90s grade B movie, eg a little like 'Spy Kids', all actions and no depth.

I do like some of the lines which are genuinely funny and natural. A few lines are rather cheesy. Character development is close to none, meaning you get stereotyped characters which feels like they are only there to fill the roles. It's a very bad thing if you watch a movie and don't feel inclined to care about its characters, unlike the Avengers series. The villains are especially boring and seriously under developed.

I wished I have never gone to watch this.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
StavNeuseJul 8, 2018
Aside from its corny love scenes and cringy moments, the sequel to Ant-Man manages to somewhat entertain you. The CGI was on point, and the editing was good, but the acting was just mediocre. Usually, the sequel is worse than the original,Aside from its corny love scenes and cringy moments, the sequel to Ant-Man manages to somewhat entertain you. The CGI was on point, and the editing was good, but the acting was just mediocre. Usually, the sequel is worse than the original, that unfortunately proved true with Ant-Man. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
6
Minh18121999Jul 6, 2018
Pros:Enjoyable,fun,some scenes made me laugh my ass off,faster paced than the first,Wasp stole the entire film,cool fight scenes,the cast was brilliant,the cgi looked fantastic,the motion capture was mind boggling as hell,it was crazy.
Cons:A
Pros:Enjoyable,fun,some scenes made me laugh my ass off,faster paced than the first,Wasp stole the entire film,cool fight scenes,the cast was brilliant,the cgi looked fantastic,the motion capture was mind boggling as hell,it was crazy.
Cons:A lot,no spoiler but really nothing happened in the film(except the first end credits scene),the plot was so monotonous and sometimes messy that the film had no impact,no tension at all.There was really no real antagonist in the film.Ghost was very intriguing and sympathetic but to me i wouldn't consider her as a villain, her's character development was really poor and rushed,there was one scene that her back story was just retold and it should have been so much better instead of this,it was so lazy,c'mon.Quantum Realm was completely wasted in this film,the first Antman was really good at showing us a glim of Quantum Realm,but in the film,we still knew very little about it,which was so unfortunate cuz it had so much potential.The last 30 minutes completely dropped the balls to me,and many things don't make sense(For example:No major spoil:Why does Michelle Pfeiffer's still have all of those make ups perfectly after all those years."),they didn't explain this,and we have to accept.
Overall:To me Antman and The Waspuel was no where near as good as the first,the first one had a more coherent story,a much better plot,this one was enjoyable and fun but failed in story perspective
Expand
10 of 13 users found this helpful103
All this user's reviews
6
NintendoEverJul 6, 2018
Sinceramente, achei mediano. A vilã é bem sem sal, mas não é por conta das suas motivações, nem da sua origem, e sim por conta da atuação super fraca da atriz. Tem piadas que nem sempre funcionam, na minha sessão quem se rasgaram de rir foramSinceramente, achei mediano. A vilã é bem sem sal, mas não é por conta das suas motivações, nem da sua origem, e sim por conta da atuação super fraca da atriz. Tem piadas que nem sempre funcionam, na minha sessão quem se rasgaram de rir foram os adolescentes. Outra coisa, é que parece que ninguém fica surpreso, os caras vão para o universo quântico, mas agem de maneira como se tudo fosse comum, e fora que a primeira vespa fica presa lá por 30 anos, mas sai como se estivesse ficado presa em um bosque por alguns dias, você não sente o impacto de nada saca? Mas já é de se esperar, visto que os personagens também não sentem. O problema da vilã no final do filme é resolvido da maneira mais inexplicável possível e preguiçosa. Enfim, é um filme legalzinho, pra assistir caso não tenha nada para fazer, quem brilha no longa mesmo é o primeiro homem formiga e a filha dele que é atual vespa, na verdade esse filme deveria se chamar a vespa e o homem formiga, porque é ela que carrega a trama inteira. Mesmo eu que sou fã dos personagens nos quadrinhos não consegui achar o filme acima de mediano. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
KenmeiJul 12, 2018
Easily the worst marvel movie since Thor: Dark World. Ghost could have been a really cool bad guy (or girl in this case), but he character development was awful and she never gave off the bad guy vibe that I was expecting the entire movie.Easily the worst marvel movie since Thor: Dark World. Ghost could have been a really cool bad guy (or girl in this case), but he character development was awful and she never gave off the bad guy vibe that I was expecting the entire movie. Also Ant-Man's no showing for Infinity War for this movie was not a great idea. The events that transpire feel so minor in comparison to that movie and having this release after IW was a bad move on Marvels part. This movie really should have been released prob late last year to flow better with Infinity War. Instead it's just a lackluster sequel and the first miss for Marvel in a few years. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
DefinitelyMaybJul 14, 2018
Sigh another boring paint-by-number Marvel films that sorely lacks any reasons to exist aside from a quick cash grab of its devotees. Its worse than the original Ant-man which at least had a coherent story and was made with enough care givenSigh another boring paint-by-number Marvel films that sorely lacks any reasons to exist aside from a quick cash grab of its devotees. Its worse than the original Ant-man which at least had a coherent story and was made with enough care given its development troubles with Edgar Wright. Peyton Reed shows his limitations in this film where the plot doesn't really matter, the characters dont really have any arcs (or if there are any, its literally the same as the first film). There nothing really to say except its a paint by number Marvel formulaic film meaning: jokes every 2 minutes, convoluted plot, borderline terrible generic CGI, characters that are charming but lack any emotional heft, dumb villains and character you will quickly forget and a wooden plot you can probably write better in an hour. Again, there some good action, some good lines and yeah the same stuff. AMATW doesn't add anything to the ongoing Marvel storyline, in fact you just need to see the end-credit scene for any sort of narrative weight to matter. I wish we could go back to the OG marvel films like Iron Man, Captain America:First Avenger or even Civil War where the films had a good narrative, character interactions and well-made scenes. It seems a long time ago now that those films actually felt like films. Now they all feel like **** episodes of a generic TV show. If Marvel continues this trend, it will be the law of diminishing returns. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
VickimageJul 6, 2018
I was really looking forward to this sequel and was slightly disappointed. There are some fun action sequences (mostly seen in the trailer) but quite a bit of boring exposition. Michael Pena sparks up every scene he is in but isI was really looking forward to this sequel and was slightly disappointed. There are some fun action sequences (mostly seen in the trailer) but quite a bit of boring exposition. Michael Pena sparks up every scene he is in but is under-utilised. After a while it gets repetitive. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
5
JNOTRJul 9, 2018
Intermediate film, does not bring anything new, still with the same formula as always Marvel and the truth that completely forgettable (5 minutes after leaving the movie theater and was thinking of anything else). The trailers already showedIntermediate film, does not bring anything new, still with the same formula as always Marvel and the truth that completely forgettable (5 minutes after leaving the movie theater and was thinking of anything else). The trailers already showed you the whole movie. Entertain but ready, do not expect more than that. The CGI is good and a bit of humor too, just like the movie never bores. But the performances are very wasted (especially Pffeifer) and a villain that does not generate anything. In itself, it is a good movie, but, there is nothing that makes me want to see it again. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
Rebecca31Aug 8, 2018
For those of you who are still traumatized from Infinity War and need something to ease the pain then enjoy Ant-Man and the Wasp.
Ant-Man is back, only this time he's got a partner. Not up there with Marvel's best, and it's not quite as good
For those of you who are still traumatized from Infinity War and need something to ease the pain then enjoy Ant-Man and the Wasp.
Ant-Man is back, only this time he's got a partner. Not up there with Marvel's best, and it's not quite as good as the first Ant-Man. Sure you might start to forget it as soon as you leave the cinema lobby but it's entertaining and enjoyable in the moment. Scott Lang (Paul Rudd) is suffering the consequences from his actions in Civil War. Hope Van Dyne (Evangeline Lilly) and Hank Pym (Michael Douglas) show up, needing his help for an urgent mission.

It's got all the charm of the first Ant-Man but more quantum this and quantum that. Honestly the first half of the movie is a little bland, all the setup eventually pays off but the story felt way too dragged out. Paul Rudd is doing his thing, Michael Peña doing his thing and although not all the jokes land there's enough action to keep you interested. It's fun because it doesn't feature a life threatening city destroying CGI mess of a villain for the last 20 minutes. I loved the miniature car chases, and I loved the addition of The Wasp. Evangeline Lilly holds her own and could have been used a little more to be honest. It's not just Ant-Man, it's Ant-Man and the Wasp. Entertaining in the moment and recommended for the marvel fans.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
AproxxAug 10, 2018
Look. I know. You are a Marvel fanboy. Fine. This doesn't includes you.

But if you are a normal Marvel fan and the rest... Take the Peña's scenes out and this is movie is BAD. Not mediocre. Not quite Bad. BAD. 3 or 2 pts bad. Bad
Look. I know. You are a Marvel fanboy. Fine. This doesn't includes you.

But if you are a normal Marvel fan and the rest...

Take the Peña's scenes out and this is movie is BAD.

Not mediocre. Not quite Bad. BAD. 3 or 2 pts bad. Bad "villain". Bad jokes (remember, without Peña). Bad plot. Plotholes. Good Action. So yeah.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MrsDrStrangeAug 11, 2018
I don't know what I think. This is a great movie. Funny and cute. But too weak for MCU.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews