Antiviral

Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Apr 5, 2013
    60
    A smart, subversive but rather cold debut from Brandon Cronenberg that's short of the dark wit that lit up his father's early work. Then again, comparisons are hardly fair, especially when Cronenberg Jr. clearly has plenty of ideas of his own.
  2. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    Apr 11, 2013
    50
    The debut film of Brandon Cronenberg deals out shivers and flinches in little hypodermic jabs.
  3. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Apr 7, 2013
    50
    A one-joke movie--a good joke, yes, but Brandon Cronenberg's agenda clouds the clarity that's needed to fully deliver the punchline.
  4. 50
    For his feature film debut, Brandon Cronenberg has taken the decidedly uneasy route in more ways than one. First of all, Antiviral is a virtual panoply of high wooziness, replete with sweating, shakes, vomiting, rot-infected food and more needles piercing skin than rush hour at a free flu clinic.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Apr 11, 2013
    40
    At a certain point, Antiviral doesn’t know where to go or how to break out of its vacuum-sealed sepulcher, and Syd, even when vomiting blood, remains as incorporeal and creepy as a ghost. This is a movie that drinks its own tainted blood.
  6. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Apr 9, 2013
    40
    The whole movie feels like a case of the sweats, putting you in desperate need of the chicken soup of recognizable human behavior.
  7. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Apr 6, 2013
    40
    Icky though it is, Antiviral never builds the sort of character investment or narrative momentum that would allow its visceral horrors to seriously disturb, rather than seeming like choice gross-out moments lovingly designed for maximum viewer recoil.
  8. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 5, 2013
    40
    Brandon Cronenberg's movie is made with some technical skill and focus, but it is agonisingly self-regarding and tiresome.
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Feb 8, 2016
    1
    Viruses that cannot reproduce aren't viruses at all... They are used to actually immunize people to the disease without any chance of a realViruses that cannot reproduce aren't viruses at all... They are used to actually immunize people to the disease without any chance of a real infection. At this story the "science" behind this SciFi doesn't make sense. The celebrity cult with cannibalism doesn't make much sense. And besides this we see a pretty mediocre story... Full Review »
  2. Sep 27, 2015
    6
    Antiviral is not easy to characterize or rate. After the first half hour, I thought I would be rating it up. It begins more sci-fi than horrorAntiviral is not easy to characterize or rate. After the first half hour, I thought I would be rating it up. It begins more sci-fi than horror with look into a concept world (a kind of dystopia that people living in consider normal). From there it becomes less about the ideas and more a typical corporate thriller. The plot falls off and does not hold attention. Still, it is an interesting film that can be recommended to both fans of sci-fi and art house, though be warned that it has a fair amount of non-violent / psychological horror. Full Review »
  3. Aug 25, 2013
    7
    Antiviral is an impressive debut by son of David Chronenberg, Brandon Chronenberg that features an intelligent and satirical plot that is bothAntiviral is an impressive debut by son of David Chronenberg, Brandon Chronenberg that features an intelligent and satirical plot that is both original and creative and is filmed beautifully with visually striking use of lighting and setting and the acting seems to be fine, Malcolm McDowell being the best actor in the film of course. My major problem with the film is that it is a chore to watch; it is very slow and quite boring at times and is even a little dull. Antiviral is definitely a good film, I can't doubt it, and I probably would recommend it to people, but it is not for everyone and I definitely cannot see myself watching it again out of pleasure. Full Review »