Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 90
    A charmer, complete with cute critters voiced by the ultrafamous.
  2. Reviewed by: David Kehr
    88
    A bug-eyed marvel. [2 October 1998, p. 56]
  3. 75
    Think "Animal Farm" redone as Ant Farm. [2 October 1998, p. 11E]
  4. 70
    The story is well-told, but so familiar that it renders the surrounding film a bright, shiny, dispensible bauble, an amusing diversion but not much more.
  5. 70
    The latest showpiece for computer animation, with all the contoured, suspiciously gleaming perfection that this entails.
  6. I suspect an account of all the complex business transactions would be more fun than anything in the movie, where you can't see a blue sky that isn't made up to resemble the Dreamworks logo.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    Alright, if you all really think this is not for youngsters, well that depends on what they think. I first saw this when I was 8 and this was the type of animated entertainment of action and violence I looked forward to. Besides, you have to find Antz sense of humor and language entertaining and the story is 83 minutes of amusingly menacing action! Expand
  2. Guy!
    May 24, 2007
    9
    For a dreamworks animation production, there is a lot of profanity, but incredibly funny nonetheless.
  3. May 24, 2013
    8
    Overall I really like Antz. For a first film this is really good. What makes this film stand out is the fact that the film takes its audience seriously and does not dumb itself down for the sake of appealing to kiddies. The film is gritty and has interesting message. Plus, it has likeable, interesting, and realistic characters who while insects are human in their personality. This film showed the world what Dreamworks could do that Disney and Pixar did not at the time. They were not afraid to make something edgy and was more for kids than adults. This film has great writing and sophistication that puts it above a lot of animated films both at the time and even today, including some of Dreamworks’ recent films. As a result, Antz is a great flick that I highly recommend checking out. As you get older and older you develop a greater appreciation for it and I am definitely going to see it again in the future. Expand
  4. May 29, 2014
    7
    Antz is a bit overrated, but it's nevertheless good-hearted family fun with some surprisingly mature themes so that adults won't find it too boring. As a kids movie, it works, as entertainment in general, it's pretty good. Expand
  5. Dec 9, 2011
    7
    Simple yet astonishing...
  6. Jul 26, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers. In 1995, the very first computer-animated film came out: Toy Story. It got universal acclaim, and was the highest-grossing film of the year. Worldwide. Then in 1998, there's this. In terms of style, Antz is a huge departure from Toy Story. There is an astounding amount of profanity for a CGI film, there's a lot of violence, and it is implied that one of the soilder ants r**** another ant (so says imdb). Toy Story is a fun film for the whole family. This is not.
    This idea is not original. A former Disney employee, during production of A Bug's Life, left and took the story with him. His name was Jeff Katzenburg. I think that's the guy who almost led Toy Story into ruins. See the Black Friday Reel of Toy Story. Then you'll know what I'm talking about . So the guy who I THINK almost made Toy Story a horrible film went to Dreamworks and created "Antz" a more violent, less family-friendly "A Bug's Life" with termites instead of grasshoppers. And I really think kids should not be hearing the swear words said in the movie , especially the b word. Well, at least the producers knew better then to put the f-bomb. There are good things about this movie. It made CGI water possible. And Woody Allen's in it. That's a good thing. And the ants look more realistic than they do in "A Bug's Life". There are several other good things about this movie, but I don't feel like saying them. This movie is uneven yet watchable. Luckily, Dreamworks redeemed itself in 2001, with the hilarious film called "Shrek".
    Collapse
  7. Sep 1, 2014
    5
    I cannot say I preferred it to A Bug's Life at all, but it does have something special to it--perhaps it is rooted in the incredible voice cast and pop standards. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?