Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 22, 1999
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 57 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
37
Mixed:
12
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
RyanM.Jan 13, 2002
The first time I saw it, I didn't get it. Now, after seeing it a second time, I get it, and it has emerged as one of the best movies I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeH.Jul 13, 2002
I don't like Oliver Stone but his film techniques simply enhance the brilliance of this movie. I'm from Australia and may not know much about American football but I don't think that matters in a movie like this. You I don't like Oliver Stone but his film techniques simply enhance the brilliance of this movie. I'm from Australia and may not know much about American football but I don't think that matters in a movie like this. You can't watch it for the football scenes. You have to watch it for the intense story and ridiculously good acting. This movie is incredible and if you don't like you're a fool. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexanderM.May 12, 2002
No comment, it's a football. If you not play football you can't understand...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LevS.Jul 16, 2008
Great movie. Just lags a bit towards the end. I'm from Australia so I know nothing about NFL. But that doesn't matter, the story is remarkably poignant. Wonderful editing. Watch this movie. You may learn something.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MaxwellS.Oct 5, 2003
Incredibly complex with a dozen real characters who's emotion and depth smashes from the screen just as much as the hard hitting music and bone crushing football scenes. This is a true movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CySep 21, 2001
I loved this movie. If it wasn't so long I would give it a 10. An All Star cast, with good acting. It also shows what the inside of sports is like.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KalMay 26, 2005
This is a great movie, it keeps you infront of the screen till the end of it..it's a good story and great actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
smiyamotNov 29, 2015
At the time, this movie was way out there. A combination of rap music, cut throat business decisions, the player's personal problems, the coach's relationship to the owner, all wrapped up in a pro football team. The usual sports "behind theAt the time, this movie was way out there. A combination of rap music, cut throat business decisions, the player's personal problems, the coach's relationship to the owner, all wrapped up in a pro football team. The usual sports "behind the scenes" type movie but with comic twists to keep it from getting to tedious. The biggest claim to fame would be the camera being right on top of the players, rather than being way back showing the whole formation. The Arena Football League did this to try and capture the close up excitement. Life imitates art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JeremySep 29, 2003
Like many of the recent Oliver Stone films, his self-indulgence and tendancy to throw everything and the kitchen sick, when just the kitchen sink is needed, doesn't overshadow the strong material that provides the forefront.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NedD.Sep 14, 2001
Football in the only way Oliver Stone could deliver it. Technically amazing with a well-thought out story and surprisingly effective performance by Foxx. But it becomes all too much, and Stone seemed to be repeating himself and spinning his Football in the only way Oliver Stone could deliver it. Technically amazing with a well-thought out story and surprisingly effective performance by Foxx. But it becomes all too much, and Stone seemed to be repeating himself and spinning his wheels a little too much this time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
YoonC.Sep 13, 2003
An over-the-top Stone film about football that's notable for exploring the politics as well as the athletics of the sport. Stone exposes the professional sports world as one of excess, rage, delirium, and stampeding egos. It's a An over-the-top Stone film about football that's notable for exploring the politics as well as the athletics of the sport. Stone exposes the professional sports world as one of excess, rage, delirium, and stampeding egos. It's a hormone pumped empire of tycoons and well-fed and groomed, overpriveleged stable beasts who however face annihilation thru self-destructive excess, the violent ruthlessness of the sport itself, and exploitation based on dog-eat-dog competition and racial bias. Often ugly and putrid, but always fascinating, on occasion even eloquent as satire and celebration of the American past-time. A classic? Maybe, maybe not but a victory of sorts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PigBenisJun 8, 2011
Al Pacino is the highlight, but it rises about the majority of American Football movies. Some of the Oliver Stone overwork is present, but overall a very enjoyable movie. Stay around for the credits.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sammieteeMay 1, 2013
Very good sports movie! I like the struggle between new and old players. Al Pacino and Jamie Foxx did an amazing job. This movie is definitely worth watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AndyB.Apr 3, 2001
Better than I thought it would be, but it's certainly no "North Dallas Forty."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KingF.Aug 4, 2006
The movie starts out with a bang, but falls apart toward the end due to too many plot threads, which leaves you with a lack of understanding of most, if not all, of the characters. It doesn't help that the football action plays more The movie starts out with a bang, but falls apart toward the end due to too many plot threads, which leaves you with a lack of understanding of most, if not all, of the characters. It doesn't help that the football action plays more like Madden '06 than a real football game. And this is yet another Pacino performance that he just seems to be mailing in. That still means capability, but you expect more from Pacino than "capable". Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
LokathorDec 28, 2014
I watched the director's cut version of this film, and it was pretty solid most of the way through. For a while near the end it slows down a bit and doesn't seem to have any sort of focus, but then in the final segment it comes back togetherI watched the director's cut version of this film, and it was pretty solid most of the way through. For a while near the end it slows down a bit and doesn't seem to have any sort of focus, but then in the final segment it comes back together nicely enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
RickR.Jul 10, 2001
Walked out on it in the theater. Horrible movie. Overacted by Pacino, badly acted by Diaz, just plain lousy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
jefff.Aug 25, 2005
The MTV style of editing made me sick. Even the football scenes were badly done.If not for the Blair Witch project this would be the worst movie of 99.
0 of 0 users found this helpful