Æon Flux

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 198 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 198
  2. Negative: 56 out of 198

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. ThomasS.
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    I really enjoyed this movie. I don't know what the critics are whining about. My own memory of the original animated series was as a plotless though visually stunning series of shorts. I was thrilled that the picture itself was indeed visually stunning and that in addition they'd seen fit to add a plot! Yep it had a twist and everything! I may even go see it again.
  2. MacT.
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    Rating this flick 10 just to offset the nonsense scores of zero. As scifi flicks go, I found this one to be very entertaining. Great concept, good execution, and a fine-looking film overall. A right-straight voodoo curse on all those who either cannot appreciate a good action pic or are so hung up on a specific comic concept that they can't enjoy an inexact adaptation.
  3. MatthewK.
    Dec 4, 2005
    10
    I must say, I loved this movie. Yah you could say it was so fictional and all that stuff but come on it was based on a japanese show or animation. Bottom line it had good twist in the movie crazy action fighting scenes and I think what they did was great. I also think it had an ok storyline like lets face it there are some movies with bad bad storylines but this one was good, the whole I must say, I loved this movie. Yah you could say it was so fictional and all that stuff but come on it was based on a japanese show or animation. Bottom line it had good twist in the movie crazy action fighting scenes and I think what they did was great. I also think it had an ok storyline like lets face it there are some movies with bad bad storylines but this one was good, the whole idea about this virus and how it wiped out the whole human raise other then few millions and then the whole thing with the cloneing was cool and sweet. But thats just me I love fiction future movies. Expand
  4. TerrenceS.
    Apr 26, 2006
    7
    This movie wasn't half as bad as these so called expert critics said it would be. I must agree that the unimaginative and mainstream movie goers may not be able to grasp the concept of the story. A fan of Anime or young Science Fiction will definitely find this movie worth a look.
  5. JoeH.
    Dec 3, 2005
    9
    The critics obviously did not watch or care for the MTV series. I thought the mood and feel of the film were very true to the animated form back in the 90's. I remember stumbling on to the first Aeon Flux short late one night. I did not know what to make of it, but I could not get it out of my mind. That look... the strange, brooding feel of the characters. The dreamlink and never The critics obviously did not watch or care for the MTV series. I thought the mood and feel of the film were very true to the animated form back in the 90's. I remember stumbling on to the first Aeon Flux short late one night. I did not know what to make of it, but I could not get it out of my mind. That look... the strange, brooding feel of the characters. The dreamlink and never completely understood mission without definition of success. Aeon Flux the movie captures all this and more. If you were captivated by the series, you will no doubt love the movie, and continue thinking and talking about it for a long time thereafter. Expand
  6. KellyS.
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    Great film - fun and sexy.
  7. EricJ.
    Dec 3, 2005
    8
    A fun movie with a clever story bogs down a little and the end.
  8. AviK.
    Dec 9, 2005
    8
    Not nearly as bad as the critics said.
  9. MichaelH.
    Jan 12, 2006
    7
    Good movie! I don't understand why there is such negative press on this. Theron does a good job in transforming herself into a fit, svelte, sexy Aeon flux. I agree it could have used more of the dark elements of the original (masterful and provoking), and the sets did seem a bit bland, but the story and action were well done... It kept me interested and entertained. It just needed Good movie! I don't understand why there is such negative press on this. Theron does a good job in transforming herself into a fit, svelte, sexy Aeon flux. I agree it could have used more of the dark elements of the original (masterful and provoking), and the sets did seem a bit bland, but the story and action were well done... It kept me interested and entertained. It just needed more of the mystery, suspense and violence (cmon..this series combined both parts disturbing, and sereal, as well as a palpatble sence of emotion and passion ) especially the deviousness of the main charcters...that was missing.. Maybe the sequel will be give this too timid film the darker makeover it deserved. Expand
  10. KlevainW.
    Mar 12, 2006
    8
    I don't understand all the critics that say "the narrative lapses in and out of incoherence"-The Globe & Mail and many others. I thought it was perfectly clear. Had the story been told even slightly more transparently, those same critics would be complaining about it's spoon feeding a simple archetypal story. Aside from lacking the trippy opaque-ness of the no-dialog original I don't understand all the critics that say "the narrative lapses in and out of incoherence"-The Globe & Mail and many others. I thought it was perfectly clear. Had the story been told even slightly more transparently, those same critics would be complaining about it's spoon feeding a simple archetypal story. Aside from lacking the trippy opaque-ness of the no-dialog original animations, what doomed this movie is that Aeon is essentially a terrorist whose actions just may doom what is left of humanity. I liked this movie because it made me wonder if her cause was worth the risk of human extinction. I'm surprised no critic has advanced the sympathetic terrorist aspect. Maybe I'm reading to much into it, but this movie isn't the shallow fluff it's been written off as. Nick B. is right, this is reminisent of classic trippy sci-fi. Expand
  11. NathanS.
    May 14, 2006
    7
    When I saw the preview I thought "This movie looks cool." And it did look cool, however, the reviews weren't exactly phenominal so I thought my $7.75 was better spent elsewhere. It finally came out on DVD so I rented it. Maybe when a movie's a rental you expect less from it (because you haven't invested almost $15 from ticket + popcorn/drink, not to mention so did your When I saw the preview I thought "This movie looks cool." And it did look cool, however, the reviews weren't exactly phenominal so I thought my $7.75 was better spent elsewhere. It finally came out on DVD so I rented it. Maybe when a movie's a rental you expect less from it (because you haven't invested almost $15 from ticket + popcorn/drink, not to mention so did your friends, so that adds up to a lot), but I enjoyed watching it. I thought that the actual message and storyline was a lot better than how it was actually executed. It's a deep movie - about life, death, and how in our current state after Adam's we live but only a short time and die. No matter how hard we try we really can't beat it, not at all. We need to accept it. At least that's what I got from this movie. Had some fun action, and good storyline and message. Worth seeing first-run, probably not. Worth renting? Absolutely. Expand
  12. CherylB.
    Jun 11, 2006
    8
    This is why I can't take critics seriously. This is a fine movie that should have done well at the box office. Instead of giving this film a chance, they turned to audience away. This was a good, solid movie for this genre of film. The story was clear and not too heady as some critics have complained. Instead of comparing it to the animation series (which has no constraints), judge This is why I can't take critics seriously. This is a fine movie that should have done well at the box office. Instead of giving this film a chance, they turned to audience away. This was a good, solid movie for this genre of film. The story was clear and not too heady as some critics have complained. Instead of comparing it to the animation series (which has no constraints), judge it as is. A good story, great costumes, amazing sets and a world that we may be experiencing soon than we think. I highly recommend AEON FLUX! Expand
  13. Czar
    Jun 8, 2006
    8
    I expected a pretty poor movie. Instead I was entertained and enjoyed watching it. I was never a follower of the animated series so that probably helps. The concept was well done. If you like sci fi then a pretty good nights viewing.
  14. AaronR
    Dec 10, 2005
    7
    It really wasn't all that bad. It was more just fun than anything. Hip for hipness' sake.
  15. jamess.
    Dec 16, 2005
    7
    Thought the main girl was annoying from the start and though most of it was quite obvious; thought the costumes and graphics were great! [the machine guns used by the enemy; aren't (Nazi Designs)?
  16. KalinN.
    Dec 26, 2005
    9
    After hearing lots (and lots... and lots...) of negative comments, I finally overcame my revulsion toward the grotesque that has recently been parading under the "SF" label and made myself watch AE. (Ms Theron's participation helped, too. After Devil's Advocate, Sweet November and The Monster, how would it not?) I was, at first, pleasantly surprised. Passable choreography, After hearing lots (and lots... and lots...) of negative comments, I finally overcame my revulsion toward the grotesque that has recently been parading under the "SF" label and made myself watch AE. (Ms Theron's participation helped, too. After Devil's Advocate, Sweet November and The Monster, how would it not?) I was, at first, pleasantly surprised. Passable choreography, delicate human touches (in addition to the futuristic gadgets, none too original, but often presented in a memorable manner...think Aeon with two contrasting eyes), Ms Theron and Mr Czokas moving me in a way that has little to do with 13, excuse me American friends :), 15-year-olds, some ecological/genetic/ethical food for thought even, gee, the stuff's getting into cinematic SF too, at last... But it really hit me as I was pondering over the story - and everyone's disparaging reviews - tonight: a phrase I'd almost missed, half-deafened by the crash of machine guns; something that I had never, ever expected to hear in a Hollywood movie, perhaps because I've heard it only in such unorthodox tales like Peter Beagle's _Last Unicorn_ (the book, not the animated adaptation), or just any SF movie, with the usual technological bias of SF - something that makes, to me at least, Aeon Flux the mightiest revolution in film SF thought since The Matrix. (A very silent revolution, prone to remain unnoticed, obviously.) I'm not going to give it away. Heck, you've been irking me with your insensitive readings for a week already; you deserve some teasing in turn. :) Try to listen for it yourselves, probe its boldness and humanity on your own. It's not that _subtle_; as some critic said, it has to get across to the popcorn-munchers, too. (Hee-hee...funny it hasn't got across to _you_, is it not?) The 9, rather than a 10, is because of a personal grudge against the omnipresent use of violence for resolving conflict, and the annoying "We're not anarchists" explanation near the end - that one is a subtle offense, too, if you are inclined to look at the characters in a particular PC way. These are minor flaws compared to the film's strengths, so my rating is 9.5, really. I am not the most astute and observant of film critics - I mostly watch movies for their emotional and thought-provoking impact. Which makes me wonder: Why do all the folks who saw nothing in the Flux watch movies? And is that a problem of the film, or of personal perceptions? Expand
  17. TomB.
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    I was drunk while watching this movie, and therefore slept through parts of it. The parts I did see, I enjoyed.
  18. JohnJ.
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    This was a very fun movie to watch. It all came together in the end which made it really exciting.
  19. [Anonymous]
    Dec 3, 2005
    7
    Not a bad movie. Story a bit lame when it came at 3/4 way in the show. Great effect and futuristic background.
  20. DanielL.
    Dec 4, 2005
    8
    An intelligent science-fiction film, wich may be part of its problem with critics.
  21. BryanR.
    Dec 4, 2005
    8
    I think it was very subtle in certain parts and so for many people they won't get it. What some people call watered down, I call minimalist. I really liked it.
  22. andrew
    Dec 6, 2005
    8
    Entertaining good looking faithfull to the original cartoon( to some extent). its not going to win any oscars but at least the studios tried to be original to some degree. art house sci fi films are a strange breed and this one is ok. if your into your sci-fi and know how to open your mind to these type of films then it wont be a complete dissapointment. at least its better than doom and Entertaining good looking faithfull to the original cartoon( to some extent). its not going to win any oscars but at least the studios tried to be original to some degree. art house sci fi films are a strange breed and this one is ok. if your into your sci-fi and know how to open your mind to these type of films then it wont be a complete dissapointment. at least its better than doom and fantastic 4. Expand
  23. MohammedR.
    Jan 27, 2006
    9
    This is a very good movie and remained very true to the original cartoon. It had the same feel. Many people would complain about the lack of character development and so on. But, just like the cartoon, the focus is on the action. On that, the movie did dilver well.
  24. RaineS.
    May 5, 2006
    8
    I don't understand how this film got such bad reviews. There are sooooo many other really bad films that got a much higher score. I thought it was a clever film, the locations were solid and interesting, the fashion made sense and wasn't stupid like a lot of sci fi can be, the story was original. More action is what the critics wanted, there are too many just action no story I don't understand how this film got such bad reviews. There are sooooo many other really bad films that got a much higher score. I thought it was a clever film, the locations were solid and interesting, the fashion made sense and wasn't stupid like a lot of sci fi can be, the story was original. More action is what the critics wanted, there are too many just action no story films already. Much better than the Island or Paycheck. Expand
  25. Katie
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    A terrific movie with non-stop action and an in-depth and imaginative story. Theron makes a great action hero and she makes it immediately clear that no one could have done the job better. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie even though it's tough to find a good review. I can rest assured, though, because those who review movies professionally are notoriously misguided and often miss the A terrific movie with non-stop action and an in-depth and imaginative story. Theron makes a great action hero and she makes it immediately clear that no one could have done the job better. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie even though it's tough to find a good review. I can rest assured, though, because those who review movies professionally are notoriously misguided and often miss the whole point. I certainly hope no one takes you too seriously; I certainly don't. Expand
  26. MattT.
    Dec 17, 2005
    9
    Good movie, followed the original Aeon Flux stories well including the clunky comic dialogue. Visually excellent and the story moved along pretty well. Too bad the hack movie critics at the papers panned it; this head & shoulders above Peter Jackson's King Kong.
  27. M.Jones
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    I would give this movie a 8.5 or 9, but am giving it a 10 to offset all the idiots who are influenced by what the critics are saying. They must not have been watching the same movie because I thought it was pretty good. Action, style, interesting look at futuristic comments, morality, and a twist. Anyone who gives this anything below a 6 (lou lumenick of the new york post) is obviously I would give this movie a 8.5 or 9, but am giving it a 10 to offset all the idiots who are influenced by what the critics are saying. They must not have been watching the same movie because I thought it was pretty good. Action, style, interesting look at futuristic comments, morality, and a twist. Anyone who gives this anything below a 6 (lou lumenick of the new york post) is obviously lacking severe brain function. Expand
  28. AlexA.
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    I loved this movie. It was mesmerizing from the very start. I thought that the plot was very cohesive and moved the audience along in a very intelligent and dynamic way. The cinematography was wonderful, as well as the scene layouts and the vantage points that the camera provided were amazing.
  29. KenG
    Dec 22, 2005
    7
    The action is well done, and movie has an effective moody atmophere. It is also dealing with more ideas that most Hollywood action movies. Some have called it incoherent, but I didn't find it diffecult to follow. Film really never raises above the level of an action-comic book, but it works on that level.
  30. BrianB.
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    Listen the critics are all wrong. For fans of sci fi action it gives you everything you want. Charlize is great, I liked the plot. I will be going again.
  31. DotD.
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    I loved this movie! i thought it was a gorgeous, feminine, organic representation of a future society...and it's worth seeing for that alone! i remember each scene of the movie as having something that made my eyebrows go up (while thinking, "that's cool.")
  32. DavidM.
    Dec 3, 2005
    7
    It's nothing that will go down in history, but the actors all did a good job, the story was thoughtful, the sets and art direction were excellent, and I was entirely satisfied with the movie. As long as you don't walk into the room expecting something legendary, you should walk out happy.
  33. GregoryF.
    Dec 3, 2005
    9
    The movie was very entertaining and I thought they did a good job with the material and stayed truthful to the story of the cartoons. I really liked it and recommend you see it in the theatres. Not the best movie of the year but a very good and entertaining movie.
  34. Dennis
    Dec 4, 2005
    7
    It's not THAT bad a movie... It's supposed to be an action sci-fi movie, and it was fun... The first half is a little confusing, but it answers those questions in the second half. Definitely a lot of professional critics out there that are bashing this movie solely to protect their image.
  35. L.Woodward
    Dec 4, 2005
    8
    Charlize Theron is a heck of a lot better than Halle was in Catwoman ...good show...entertaining...fun...good sci fi. Deserves better critic rating...but what do they know????
  36. Tab
    Dec 4, 2005
    8
    A great looking sci fi movie that brings new life to the genre using a whole different approach to the traditional future (a new Stanley Kubrick-look) using an innovative approach to sci fi technology. This whole movie is than wrapped up in a more sophisticated, convoluted plot with heart and emotion that still manages to keep its action and thrills at the same time. While the ending is a A great looking sci fi movie that brings new life to the genre using a whole different approach to the traditional future (a new Stanley Kubrick-look) using an innovative approach to sci fi technology. This whole movie is than wrapped up in a more sophisticated, convoluted plot with heart and emotion that still manages to keep its action and thrills at the same time. While the ending is a little too conventional and some loose ends were never tied up, this movie sets a new bar for science fiction much like Alien did for monster sci fi movies. Expand
  37. RaulJ.
    Dec 5, 2005
    7
    I liked it. The critics really are lost on this one (most of them). Don't believe THEIR hype!
  38. MarcD
    Dec 5, 2005
    9
    The best movie I've seen since The Matrix!
  39. NickK.
    Dec 12, 2005
    7
    This film covers the same themes as The Island and I think its a much more enjoyable film (although thats not saying much :) The film has some good twists to the plot and is entertaining as a sci-fi action movie. Its not great, but certainly not as bad as some of the reviews.
  40. Dec 2, 2010
    7
    I watched this film on DVD the other night and quite enjoyed it. It's certainly no masterpiece, but it's definitely fun to watch. Just don't expect too much when you're going to watch it. ;-) Production design, costumes, sets etc. are very nice.
  41. Jun 21, 2016
    9
    A SciFi masterpiece, interesting story, with amazing action sequences. What is especially enjoyable is seeing the high tech bio enhanced weaponry.

    Slight downside in soft acting, that could have been a little better.
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 23
  2. Negative: 9 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    60
    Aeon Flux is not that terrible. It's certainly more fun than a lot of films that get lovingly showcased.
  2. 63
    The ideas underlying Aeon Flux's plot are the film's strength, and the filmmakers deserve some credit for doing more than paying lip service to them.
  3. With the exception of a few enjoyable action scenes, such as when Aeon and fellow operative Sithandra (Sophie Okonedo) flip and backflip their way across a lethal garden of bullet-spewing trees and spikes disguised as blades of grass, Aeon Flux is surprisingly draggy.