Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 2, 2005
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 200 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
86
Mixed:
58
Negative:
56
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
3
GrayDec 7, 2005
Terrible dialogue, badly shot action sequences, and mediocre special effects plague this hardly-ambitious sci-fi cash-in. The only reason people will see it is for Theron, and even she is a let-down. The plot has some interesting twists, and Terrible dialogue, badly shot action sequences, and mediocre special effects plague this hardly-ambitious sci-fi cash-in. The only reason people will see it is for Theron, and even she is a let-down. The plot has some interesting twists, and the ideas behind it are intriguing, but these are all Chung's work, not Kusama's. 'Keep off the grass."... I'd rather keep out of the theater. Get the DVD set instead. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
KarenC.Jan 27, 2007
This is the worst of simple eye candy. Very bad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JasonAug 26, 2006
Poorly scripted, poorly plotted, poorly acted and poorly made. In short a real disappointment.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
TravisC.Jan 7, 2006
Wow, this movie was terrible, I still don't know what it was about, horrendous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GrahamDec 6, 2005
Just awful, pointless, there was no need to make this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MINTONmediaDec 9, 2005
This is as unhealthy an entertainment choice as anything at the theater's snack bar. As eye candy, it's marshmallow peanuts compared to the anime shorts' Godiva chocolate. As brain food, it's a brief sugar rush followed This is as unhealthy an entertainment choice as anything at the theater's snack bar. As eye candy, it's marshmallow peanuts compared to the anime shorts' Godiva chocolate. As brain food, it's a brief sugar rush followed by a long, restless sleep where any dream you might have beats what's onscreen. Not good for you even if you HAVE finished your veggies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChadS.Jan 16, 2006
In a library, a book gets shot. Fearing she had a bomb on her hand, perhaps this was an act of subversion, a mea culpa. In "Mystery Men", a possibly embarrased Janeane Garofalo, in what sounds like an ad-lib, says, "I would like to dedicate In a library, a book gets shot. Fearing she had a bomb on her hand, perhaps this was an act of subversion, a mea culpa. In "Mystery Men", a possibly embarrased Janeane Garofalo, in what sounds like an ad-lib, says, "I would like to dedicate my victory to supporters of local music and those who seek out independent film." Seek "Girlfright; run from "Aeon Flux". At some point during the production, Frances McDormand should've asked her boss if she was trying to make her look like Tori Amos' mom. When Ms. Flux and/or Sithandra(Sophie Okonedo) visit "The Handler", a POV shot might've helped the ridiculous way they access her seem less so. There also seems to be a caste system at work here. The black girl gets the silly appendages, the white girl gets the snappy line about, said silly appendages. "Aeon Flux" is a natural for "Mystery Science 3000". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KrisM.Aug 8, 2006
Aeon Flux is, in my opinion, the worst movie of last year. The story is slow and hard to understand, the acting was crap, and the special effects were terrible. I've never seen the original cartoon and can already tell it's been Aeon Flux is, in my opinion, the worst movie of last year. The story is slow and hard to understand, the acting was crap, and the special effects were terrible. I've never seen the original cartoon and can already tell it's been slaughtered by this crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MattC.Dec 4, 2005
So unoriginal, so derivative, Aeon Flux drains your faith in the human race. How many times have we seen a glossy, sexy suit on a heroine lost within an utterly incoherent plot? The movie is ludicrous; the Resident Evil films come to mind, So unoriginal, so derivative, Aeon Flux drains your faith in the human race. How many times have we seen a glossy, sexy suit on a heroine lost within an utterly incoherent plot? The movie is ludicrous; the Resident Evil films come to mind, as does Underworld. That Theron chose this between such actual work as Monster and North is a disgrace; she and Oscar-caliber Halle Berry can choose whichever projects (and paychecks) they want, and they go with Catwoman and Aeon Flux. What discerning taste, ladies. People: please see this dreck for what it is, a shameless attempt by a corporation to repurpose a piece of dead content it owned, and a shameful, thoughtless check-cashing by Theron. Another entry in a year of winners from Hollywood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
thunderlipppsDec 7, 2005
The worst movie I've seen since the matrix. The editing in the action scenes have hamstrung what would have at least been a shoe-in as a cult favorite. I won't even get this on used DVD due to that abominable flaw. Uwe Bol or paul The worst movie I've seen since the matrix. The editing in the action scenes have hamstrung what would have at least been a shoe-in as a cult favorite. I won't even get this on used DVD due to that abominable flaw. Uwe Bol or paul anderson couldn't have done much worse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LomaxH.Dec 8, 2005
You know an action movie is destined to be awful when the main antagonist is shown for a split second and a women doing the splits over blades of grass is the biggest attraction. I've go an idea! They made Alien vesus Predator, why not You know an action movie is destined to be awful when the main antagonist is shown for a split second and a women doing the splits over blades of grass is the biggest attraction. I've go an idea! They made Alien vesus Predator, why not Catwoman versus Aeon Flux? Berry and Theron can each recieve $20 million to wear skin tight leather outfits in the most incoherent stinker of all time! Go Hollywood! Keep pumping out these winners!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FrostboltFeb 4, 2006
Perhaps it was that I was never introduced to Aeon Flux previously that I disliked this movie so, because this flick is particularly bad. From the mediocre acting to the pointless fight sequences, it just is NOT entertaining on any level, Perhaps it was that I was never introduced to Aeon Flux previously that I disliked this movie so, because this flick is particularly bad. From the mediocre acting to the pointless fight sequences, it just is NOT entertaining on any level, which really is a shame because I greatly enjoy science fiction related stories. Ohh well. My opinion is given. I do not reccomend, unless you yourself are an Aeon Flux fan. Aeon Flux sucks, Aeon Flux = Aeon Sux. I literally could think of these all day and still be far more entertained....yes I find this movie that bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MikeDec 20, 2005
This is to offset M. Jones, who wants to offset the scores of everyone else. Nice try, tool. Yes, you've got a right to your opinion. And the other voters (and the critics) have a right to theirs. If their opinion doesn't coincide This is to offset M. Jones, who wants to offset the scores of everyone else. Nice try, tool. Yes, you've got a right to your opinion. And the other voters (and the critics) have a right to theirs. If their opinion doesn't coincide with yours, then you don't try to cancel theirs out. You sit there, and you understand that everyone isn't always going to agree with you. It's called tolerance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BeckyS.Dec 2, 2005
I never thought a movie could be so terrible!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SwordsmanDec 6, 2005
Pathetic attempt to bring a great and intriguing animated series to live-ation. The film mars the original brutally, losing it's heavy bdsm sexual themes and the deviousness of its core characters, while barely justifying it's Pathetic attempt to bring a great and intriguing animated series to live-ation. The film mars the original brutally, losing it's heavy bdsm sexual themes and the deviousness of its core characters, while barely justifying it's action sequences with an extremely predictable plot. This is one intstance where the critics are dead-on correct with their reviews (the negative reviews...) If you have seen the original series or part of it, do yourself a favor and save the money and time you would waste on seeing this anomaly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AnonymousJan 18, 2006
Lame excuse to make another Tomb Raider film... Bad Girl with guns.... Lets not forget that Aeon Flux stars an ugly girl not a bombshell georgeous woman... and that she dies in the most rediculous ways in every episode. Lame excuse to make Lame excuse to make another Tomb Raider film... Bad Girl with guns.... Lets not forget that Aeon Flux stars an ugly girl not a bombshell georgeous woman... and that she dies in the most rediculous ways in every episode. Lame excuse to make money out of a name. As FF Spirits Within is not Final Fantasy... This movie is not Aeon Flux! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RobertM.Jan 23, 2006
There can be no justification for scores above 3 for this movie. I've seen some garbage flicks in my life, but this one is near the top. See what happens when you get an "A" star filming two movies at once - better believe one of the There can be no justification for scores above 3 for this movie. I've seen some garbage flicks in my life, but this one is near the top. See what happens when you get an "A" star filming two movies at once - better believe one of the projects is gonna suffer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BernardP.May 11, 2008
Well id give it at least a 3 if it wasn't for the horrible aftertaste. I'm sorry but I am not sorry because this mediocre movie shows no respect to the trueness of what aeon flux was and still vaguely is. its disrespectful to the Well id give it at least a 3 if it wasn't for the horrible aftertaste. I'm sorry but I am not sorry because this mediocre movie shows no respect to the trueness of what aeon flux was and still vaguely is. its disrespectful to the cartoon. 1/4 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KevinSep 18, 2008
Awful overall. The characters are wooden, the acting uninspired, and the plot decent at best. On the plus side, the special effects are good, and Charlize Theron is extremely hot in skin tight clothing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SteveNov 18, 2006
Boring, poorly directed and poorly made movie. This is garanteed to put all but the most forgiving, or those that have some kind of dvd player that sits on you and forces you to watch this rubbish, to sleep. Aimed clearly at anime geeks that Boring, poorly directed and poorly made movie. This is garanteed to put all but the most forgiving, or those that have some kind of dvd player that sits on you and forces you to watch this rubbish, to sleep. Aimed clearly at anime geeks that are looking for a fix of overly pretencious but utterly shallow and empty movie with no real innovation, talent or thought behind its story. Looks like its designed by some generic cloned art grad student. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KadeemluvmusicApr 2, 2013
I know this is NOT an MTV Films-produced movie, but I was really not into Aeon Flux. My beloved MTV animated series that was short-lived and still one of the greatest cult classic shows of all time turned into a horrendous "Aeon"-like wannabeI know this is NOT an MTV Films-produced movie, but I was really not into Aeon Flux. My beloved MTV animated series that was short-lived and still one of the greatest cult classic shows of all time turned into a horrendous "Aeon"-like wannabe played by Charlize Theron. This film just really alienated the fans of the pop culture classic for good and with an action movie like this, I sorta fell asleep for like 10 minutes. Somewhere down the road in the future, I hope MTV could possibly thinking of a new idea to reboot the series. That would be so awesome! As for the Flux movie, save your money or rent it. I don't care, but this is one of the most ridiculous movies I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
heyitsmegrif4Jan 2, 2012
Aeon Flux is silly, boring, disappointing visually and lacks enough action along with an awful performance from Charlize Theron who at the time just won an Oscar. I give this film 4%.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
NSnake151Jun 26, 2012
I'm not sure if its appropriate to be writing a review for a movie I only watched for 10 minutes, but seeing as how its quality was the defining factor in only managing to last that long, I feel justified. The acting was awkward, dialogueI'm not sure if its appropriate to be writing a review for a movie I only watched for 10 minutes, but seeing as how its quality was the defining factor in only managing to last that long, I feel justified. The acting was awkward, dialogue also so. But primarily, nothing made sense. And I dont mean plot, I mean everything, from 400 years in the future and guards still carry guns and are horrible at guarding anything. That undercover rebels dress to stand out, and draw more attention than less to themselves by making out, then walking away. The premise of 99% of the world having been killed and all those left saved by Goodchild, and yet is more Big Brother than God. And the fact that daily poisons could hope to keep nature at bay. If you are going to take yourself so seriously, make sure you make sense.
The 1 point was for at least trying to have different fashion when compared to the modern day, something which is blatantly ignored far to much.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Iky009Jan 6, 2014
PéssimoPéssimo Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
LoRevisorJan 28, 2015
Péssimo filme com uma péssima história. Tédio nível Hard...
Sem mentira é difícil quase impossível assstir até o final.
Nem Charlize Theron salva essa fraca história,na verdade desperdiça o talento dela.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
raciocinioOct 21, 2015
..................................................................................................................................................................................................The worst movie of carrer of theron
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews