User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 426 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 70 out of 426
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EthanP.
    Dec 16, 2006
    2
    The logic in this crapfest was so half-baked that it's a wonder there were no random cuts to 1970s porn. [***Spoilers***]: Anyone who has played hide and seek should wonder why it's possible to hide in one's best friend's back yard for half an hour without being found, but it's impossible for a forest-wise Mayan to find reasonable cover *anywhere in the entire The logic in this crapfest was so half-baked that it's a wonder there were no random cuts to 1970s porn. [***Spoilers***]: Anyone who has played hide and seek should wonder why it's possible to hide in one's best friend's back yard for half an hour without being found, but it's impossible for a forest-wise Mayan to find reasonable cover *anywhere in the entire Mayan land,* without, of course, letting a single splash of blood fall just as your nemesis runs under your tree-top hiding place so that it may later be discovered and immediately ascertained by one of your cohorts that the blood must be from you and that you must be hiding in the trees. Because even though those cohorts have just been party to bloody sacrifice, any one of them will easily spot a drop of blood and know for sure that it's from you and your tree-hiding. Run in a straight line for 48 hours(!), and only when we do this scene with the arrows pointing directly at you should you run back and forth in an evasive way. But the arrows will still eventually hit you and all your friends. Because these are skilled Mayan bad guys, until certain scenes in which they've decided not to throw any sharp objects in your direction, which coincidentally occur when you've stopped your running to look back and ponder/taunt your rivals and would be putting yourself in imminent danger had the evil Mayans not decided that it would be a good moment to cease fire and just look at you. And, by the way, they all run at the same pace as you, which happens to be the exact pace at which a jaguar runs. And during a downpour so bad that it fills a good-sized pit faster than a swimming pool, European dingies remain fully afloat. Expand
  2. tor
    Jan 15, 2011
    9
    Sure, Gibson ain't my favorite person, but let's be fair to this movie. It's great. Brutal and violent, but I was engrossed in the story from the beginning. Visually stunning. Twists and turns. Probably would have been an Oscar contender had Gibson not been so disliked. If you can get past the director and like action/adventure, you're likely to love it.
  3. May 8, 2011
    10
    The things you see in this movie are heavy, highly detailed, intense, and exist in a realm that most filmmakers can't go-such as using genocide as a plot device in a non-documentary piece. Very real feelings electrify this movie.
  4. RobertH.
    Dec 11, 2006
    3
    Mel's report card: For using indigenous language and "unknown" actors: A. For giving us yet another chop-chop action flick like "King Kong" or any of its pals: a bit fat So What? For cynically and pretentiously disguising the whole thing as some sort of historical meditation: F.
  5. Matt
    May 23, 2007
    1
    I think it is really really important to note that, while Mr. Gibson might have set out to portray the Mayans, he actually portrayed the Aztecs. It frightens me that no one has picked up on this yet. The Mayans fell 500 years before the Spanish came to Mexico. The Mayans did not cut open people's hearts, the Aztecs did. The Mayans did not have a big city. The Aztecs did. The MayansI think it is really really important to note that, while Mr. Gibson might have set out to portray the Mayans, he actually portrayed the Aztecs. It frightens me that no one has picked up on this yet. The Mayans fell 500 years before the Spanish came to Mexico. The Mayans did not cut open people's hearts, the Aztecs did. The Mayans did not have a big city. The Aztecs did. The Mayans did not participate in the Flower Wars (taking prisoners for the purpose of sacrificing them, as depicted in the movie) the Aztecs did. I could go on. Expand
  6. David
    Jun 16, 2009
    10
    I loved this movie!!! Very graphic in certain areas, but one of the few films I could watch over and over.
  7. KristenH.
    Dec 14, 2006
    3
    This film was terrible!!!!! The most historically inaccurate movie I have ever seen! The only good thing about the movie were the costumes. The Mayans were not the barbarians that Mel Gibson made them out to be. Get the facts straight, you anti-mayanist! I want my money back.
  8. Julien
    Jan 12, 2007
    3
    It's so violent that we finish by thinking that Mel Gibson is a sick person. His last movie is not even interesting because of its bad direction, and its stupid story. Hopefully we can save some good moments of action in the jungle for example, but it's not enough to say that "Apocalypto" has to be seen. At least it's not worse than "The Passion".
  9. AnaC.
    Jan 6, 2007
    0
    Blood and gore. Nasty movie.
  10. andy
    May 31, 2007
    5
    The problem I have with this film is this: People not knowing that this movie is fictional will think this is exactly what Mayan civilization was like and conclude that Gibson's film is fact (because people are dumb). Gibson should have researched more extensively to give us more of a historical context of the Mayan world and times instead of focusing on an action-chase adventure.The problem I have with this film is this: People not knowing that this movie is fictional will think this is exactly what Mayan civilization was like and conclude that Gibson's film is fact (because people are dumb). Gibson should have researched more extensively to give us more of a historical context of the Mayan world and times instead of focusing on an action-chase adventure. That being said, it was marginally entertaining but overly long. Expand
  11. askanir
    Jul 21, 2007
    3
    i watched 15mins, where the mayans were sacrificing the last of the other tribe and ended when the young man was up in a tree with a cougar, i literally vomited and was physically sick. i have yet to bring myself to watch the rest.
  12. JimE.
    Jun 15, 2007
    8
    The contradictions of the human condition are understood by Gibson. Unlike his critics (who, based on their ad hominum remarks, are mere children next to him), he is authentic and unapologetic and will therefore be remembered.
  13. KevinB
    Dec 31, 2006
    5
    Unfortunately, I have to agree with other reviews when they say it's basically slight remakes of Braveheart and Passion. The only reason I give this a 5 is because of the chase scene. Very well done. Had me on the edge of my seat. But the rest however was just a dull feeling of watching TV on a Sunday night when nothings on.
  14. Jul 15, 2011
    0
    I know now why the Mayans went extinct. They were nothing but a bunch of wild, bloodthirsty animals. Praise the Lord, or the Spanish, for bringing some civilization to that part of the world. The Arab world with their death cult and suicide bombings and their medieval superstitions is next, the last realm of barbarism.
  15. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Netflix gave this a recommended 4 stars out of 5 so I thought I would watch it. This is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. I have no idea how movie critics gave this pretty good reviews, while other great movies get **** ones. In case it didn't show up already, I've got some mild spoilers here. I've got two huge beefs with this movie, aside from everything else that is wrong with it.Netflix gave this a recommended 4 stars out of 5 so I thought I would watch it. This is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. I have no idea how movie critics gave this pretty good reviews, while other great movies get **** ones. In case it didn't show up already, I've got some mild spoilers here. I've got two huge beefs with this movie, aside from everything else that is wrong with it. Firstly, half of the movie revolves around the main characters being shackled up and just walking around. About as exciting as it sounds. Secondly, the main theme behind the movie is to be unafraid in the face of danger and be courageous. This is all well and good, and the main character realizes this towards the end of the movie and is capable of doing some incredible things. That's great, and would work really well in most movies, but with the situations that the main character was already in, HE WOULD HAVE DIED ABOUT 100 times over earlier in the movie if he didn't have fear as a motivator. If he would've been courageous and stood his ground and fought, like the central theme implied, the movie would end 15 minutes in, 20 minutes in, take your pick. This really destroyed any point of the main theme coming together at the end for me. Aside from this, I was facepalming about once a minute during the last 30 minutes of the movie. Not to say that some of the stuff at that juncture of the movie wasn't well done, but there was so much wrong with it that I only kept watching to see how much more this movie would f*** up. I would not recommend this movie to anyone and have no idea how the hell it was ever justified to be made Expand
  16. ChaiM.
    Feb 2, 2007
    10
    The movie was superbly created. With tons of metaphors and thoughts about courage, I, as an avid movie buff will certainly crave for this movie every once in a while...way to go!
  17. NabeelM.
    Jan 15, 2007
    9
    Awesome piece of work. Truly shows how brutal man can get. There's one thing I need to say before I leave for those who are complaining about this movie being excessively violent. They should either try to understand the meaning of 'Rated - R' before buying a ticket in the theatres or buy a lolly pop and hold mommy's little finger before entering the theatre to watch Pingu.
  18. MattO'S
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    the most intense, nail-biting, seat grabbing flick i have seen all year. i have not left a cinema felling so tense since i saw tarintinos hostel, which by no means was a great film, but very gruesome. the movie has you has you captivated from start to finish. the setting is perfect, its great to see an all hispanic cast of virtual nobodies - who can act, and the ancient mayan language capsthe most intense, nail-biting, seat grabbing flick i have seen all year. i have not left a cinema felling so tense since i saw tarintinos hostel, which by no means was a great film, but very gruesome. the movie has you has you captivated from start to finish. the setting is perfect, its great to see an all hispanic cast of virtual nobodies - who can act, and the ancient mayan language caps it off and adds to the overall sinister tone of the film. not for the light hearted but a must see in my opinion. Expand
  19. JasonL.
    Jan 8, 2007
    9
    Yeah it's violent. Yeah it's not factually 100% correct. Yeah Mel Gibson has lost the plot. But none of those facts make this movie bad. Who cares about the politics of it all when you have the chance to see something like this. It is stunning and really quite fresh. I hope he makes more just like it.
  20. PatE.
    Apr 8, 2007
    9
    Undountedly, the people who no nothing of America's Indians can't help but rate this movie low, for the mind too small to comprehend anything past the violence, I say this movie isn't for you! Go watch an Arnold flick! It wasn't meant to brilliantly potray the mayan's culture. It also wasn't meant to give you a history lesson either. It was meant for you toUndountedly, the people who no nothing of America's Indians can't help but rate this movie low, for the mind too small to comprehend anything past the violence, I say this movie isn't for you! Go watch an Arnold flick! It wasn't meant to brilliantly potray the mayan's culture. It also wasn't meant to give you a history lesson either. It was meant for you to understand the nature of a people. The Mayans had spiritual beliefs, they had societies built by slaves. Yes, this slaves were their own people, stop bashing mel gibson just because this movie isn't for the simple minded. Sure, Mel isn't perfect, and sure he's a bit crazy. Alot of brilliant people have been on the brink of insanity. Stop taking away from a brilliant movie. Brilliant because it still captivates somewhat of a meaningful end. This isn't for you Jackass 2 movie lovers, so go back to your MTV rubbish and save the space for meaningful comment! Expand
  21. MarkD.
    Dec 7, 2006
    0
    This movie was awful. Although the early parts of the film created an excellently crafted vision of a lost world, the film quickly degenerated into pointless torture-porn. The film sacrificed continuity, drama, and plot in the interest of pressing a polished vision of misery that was neither entertaining or educational, and seemed to have less purpose than what you see in a horror movie This movie was awful. Although the early parts of the film created an excellently crafted vision of a lost world, the film quickly degenerated into pointless torture-porn. The film sacrificed continuity, drama, and plot in the interest of pressing a polished vision of misery that was neither entertaining or educational, and seemed to have less purpose than what you see in a horror movie gore-fest. I have no problem with violence in films, and in fact the most distasteful scenes weren't intrinsicly violent, but I couldn't get the image of Mel Gibson masturbating in the back of the theater (I saw an early screening that he personally introduced) to the relentless misery of both the characters on screen and the people in the theater. Expand
  22. BernardB.
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    Undoubtedly the best action film ever shot.100% pure adrenaline.Blood and gore match the Mayan civilization of yore and criticizing Mel Gibson's realistic viewpoint is actually quite laughable.
  23. JavierD.
    Nov 5, 2007
    4
    I expected something more historical, regarding the fall of the great Mayan civilization. Instead I got this Hollywood bloody movie, filled with blood, organs and lots of dead. Yes the cinematography is good, but the plot is just terrible (maybe ok argument for violent 13 year olds, but not a deep movie at all).
  24. SolN.
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    I just came from the movie theater and searched the internet to rate this film. One word, Brilliant!
  25. LlaveO.
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    The film may be subject to negative comments for historical inaccuracies and brutal violences, but as a fiction, without a doubt, it is a masterpiece especially the performances of actors-- collectively, they performed with tribal perfection!
  26. RobertM.
    Jun 11, 2007
    8
    The film shows time and time again that while the main character was intuitive, even lucky, his struggle against merely coping with the superstitious tendencies of his people was more than enough to drive him to save his two children and wife from a pit, slightly inaccurate but all around depicts what life would have been like, great jib Mel, keep em coming
  27. Andrew
    Jun 25, 2007
    2
    I like the guy who said "I can't see how anyone could find fault with it." Maybe you should take some time to read the myriad bad reviews it got, since they all are spot on. This movie is a travesty. I thought I'd learn something about Mayans. Instead, it's like some primitive version of Hostel. Not to mention this film is grounded in as much fact as the Star Wars movies I like the guy who said "I can't see how anyone could find fault with it." Maybe you should take some time to read the myriad bad reviews it got, since they all are spot on. This movie is a travesty. I thought I'd learn something about Mayans. Instead, it's like some primitive version of Hostel. Not to mention this film is grounded in as much fact as the Star Wars movies are. (Anyone saying this movie is historically accurate probably hasn't touched a history book since high school.) If you're naive and enjoy violence and gore, by all means, take in the craptacular train wreck that is Apocalypto. Expand
  28. JohnB.
    Jun 7, 2007
    6
    First I want to say that I really enjoyed this movie. It is exciting, epic, dramatic and even thought provoking. I can't rate this movie much higher however because at times I felt it was clunky and slow moving. Another thing that I have to point out is that this movie is very limited by the fact that it is done in a not so common language. I think the translations were poorly done First I want to say that I really enjoyed this movie. It is exciting, epic, dramatic and even thought provoking. I can't rate this movie much higher however because at times I felt it was clunky and slow moving. Another thing that I have to point out is that this movie is very limited by the fact that it is done in a not so common language. I think the translations were poorly done as if we are to believe the Mayans spoke in a manner like we do today. I could easily see how a completely different meaning could be obtained if it were translated differently. Other than that though, other criticism includes the lack of real cultural substance which would have made this movie more powerful and unique. Expand
  29. SimpleGuy
    Jul 27, 2007
    8
    Good Movie.. Mel presented Westerners as the Saviours at the end of the Movie but in fact they were they real invaders and conquerers.. And he also presented the Mayans as Savages when these people respected each other and also respected nature.. Really disappointed at Mel..
  30. C.Yamashita
    Jan 6, 2008
    9
    A fantastic work of cinema. It left me wanting more, which is a test of any great film. It seems most are missing the main reason for making the movie
  31. ShelbyJ.
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    I loved the movie. I think it was exciting and there was never a dull moment. I think that they should have more movies about this.
  32. ArleneC
    Jul 4, 2008
    0
    I watched this last night on a friends recommendation (I didn't really fancy watching it otherwise) and despite a promising first 5 minutes of the Tapir hunt and the meeting with the refugee tribe, it suddenly went into comedy mode when the hunters went back to the village with the sex-obsessed mother-in-law and the prank played on her daughter and son. From then on it was just I watched this last night on a friends recommendation (I didn't really fancy watching it otherwise) and despite a promising first 5 minutes of the Tapir hunt and the meeting with the refugee tribe, it suddenly went into comedy mode when the hunters went back to the village with the sex-obsessed mother-in-law and the prank played on her daughter and son. From then on it was just downhill. The violence in the film didn't really bother me, I didn't find it gratuitous (like in Passion of the Christ) there was a lot of blood and the sacrificial scenes were a bit too long Expand
  33. SteveR
    Mar 24, 2009
    8
    My opinion is that this was a Great movie!! The scenery the actors, and the story line exceeded my expectations! I haven't bought a DVD for some time but I will definitely buy this one. Action packed and very dramatic. I could visualize myself being there in this time of change for the Mexica Indians.
  34. js
    Dec 10, 2006
    1
    Wow...this movie begins with dialogue and situations that seem more appropriate for an "American Pie" film and believe me, it's all downhill from there. The film tells you NOTHING about the Mayan culture and has zero plot. The last hour is an extended chase scene and anyone who has seen an action film will be able to predict the outcome. If I can prevent just one person from seeing Wow...this movie begins with dialogue and situations that seem more appropriate for an "American Pie" film and believe me, it's all downhill from there. The film tells you NOTHING about the Mayan culture and has zero plot. The last hour is an extended chase scene and anyone who has seen an action film will be able to predict the outcome. If I can prevent just one person from seeing this film, I will have done my job. Collapse
  35. LowellK.
    Dec 10, 2006
    3
    More violence and less story than "Texas Chainsaw Massacre". A complete waste of your time and very disturbing for the faint of heart. This is not a date movie of any kind.
  36. MikeC.
    Dec 10, 2006
    9
    Great movie. We care for the characters, there is plenty of breathtaking action, it's moving, the acting is excellent, photo and direction almost perfect. It would have been a perfect movie without the 3 or 4 really gory, over the top scenes. Mel, we didn't need it. We get the point.
  37. noodlenozzle
    Dec 24, 2006
    2
    For real? A freaking full moon appears on the same night following a total solar eclipse. If you knew anything about astronomy, you would immediately be able to discern that this is impossible. Then, add some more cheesy special effects, no substantial plot, and then to top it off, time traveling Spaniards. Stay away! If you already bought the tickets, don't go chasing bad money For real? A freaking full moon appears on the same night following a total solar eclipse. If you knew anything about astronomy, you would immediately be able to discern that this is impossible. Then, add some more cheesy special effects, no substantial plot, and then to top it off, time traveling Spaniards. Stay away! If you already bought the tickets, don't go chasing bad money with good money by wasting your gas and overpaying for snacks to see this movie. Give those tickets to the shredder. Expand
  38. Enrique
    Dec 6, 2006
    2
    Mayan world is reduced as a kind of S/M, gory Jurassic Park. Silly, bombastic fiasco. Good cinematography and interesting cast though. Gibson, like Tom Cruise, is clever enough to get sorrounded by talentous people to boost his projects, but is too heavy handed, shallow minded and basically dishonest.
  39. MGC.
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    Read Scott Foundas and Todd McCarthy and ignore the looney preachings of dinosaurs like Turan. This is a humanistic masterpiece, but sadly, telling the truth about humanity is, in Turan's weird book of Solemn Movie Rules, verboten.
  40. LolaLorber
    Dec 8, 2006
    0
    A new low in films. It's "Braveheart" without historical significance and "Passion" without spirituality, though it dabbles in both, and it represents as brazen an act of career suicide as I can recall from a star director. If he were a first-timer, he'd never work again. It is a terrible movie.
  41. joez
    Jan 1, 2007
    2
    instead of any context/story, the film's focus is on exhaustingly long scenes of drawn out violence. by the time the movie delivered its punchline almost every theatre goer had already given up on finding any meaning in it. instead of gripping their seats, people were gripping their cell phones and jackets just waiting for the debauchle to end.
  42. Snowy
    Jan 10, 2007
    6
    Violent and cruel movie ??? I ignore if it is the goal of Mel Gibson, but this movie just reminded me of comics or of primitive frescos. It is a childish and ludicrous movie with all the funny excesses of comics (man whose heart was taken away but still alive and shouting and begging for his life; hero running faster than a panther; sun eclipse saving the hero's life at the lastViolent and cruel movie ??? I ignore if it is the goal of Mel Gibson, but this movie just reminded me of comics or of primitive frescos. It is a childish and ludicrous movie with all the funny excesses of comics (man whose heart was taken away but still alive and shouting and begging for his life; hero running faster than a panther; sun eclipse saving the hero's life at the last moment; fountain of blood so caricatural and aritificial that even the most sensitive soul can only laugh in front of this guignol, etc. If you take that as a cinematographic joke, you can have a good time and fun at watching this movie. It would be better to add to the title of this movie "Apocalypto or the New Adventures of Tintin and Snowy in the Land of the Mayas". One thing is clear to me : Mel Gibson is the most childish filmmaker of his generation with a mental level of a 10 year old boy. Expand
  43. JohnV.
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    My wife and I discussed the symbolisms for hours! It really made me think of the world around us and inspired me to make a difference. Thank You Mr. Gibson.
  44. BettyM.
    Jan 14, 2007
    9
    This film was astounding. Lucky I wasn't deterred by the shallow reviews I encountered. I left the movie overwhelmed by thoughts of things like the value of family, simplicity, leadership, community, fear, wealth and our 'civilization' . The violence is intense but I don't agree with those who think it was indulgent (I should admit to watching a few scenes through my This film was astounding. Lucky I wasn't deterred by the shallow reviews I encountered. I left the movie overwhelmed by thoughts of things like the value of family, simplicity, leadership, community, fear, wealth and our 'civilization' . The violence is intense but I don't agree with those who think it was indulgent (I should admit to watching a few scenes through my fingers though). Mel Gibson continues to amaze me with he manages to bring to a screen. Expand
  45. erinb
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    I could not understand why people couldn't believe that part of Maya culture was sacrificing their captives. I don't question opinions on historical accuracy but this is a movie not a documentary. The violence was apt for how the order of things were conducted in those days. I take the movie for what it is...it shows the demise of a decadent culture that has become numb to I could not understand why people couldn't believe that part of Maya culture was sacrificing their captives. I don't question opinions on historical accuracy but this is a movie not a documentary. The violence was apt for how the order of things were conducted in those days. I take the movie for what it is...it shows the demise of a decadent culture that has become numb to violence and has lost its respect for life. If this was directed by somebody else it would have gotten rave reviews for portraying the parallelisms that exist in the world then and what exists in the world now. Expand
  46. VinceUndisclosed
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Graphic, but really gets your attention. Very well thought out, written, and displayed on the screen.
  47. BrianDowdy
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    Should get best picture/director/actor, but it won't. This is an awesome movie that I saw twice last year and the images (eating testicles) stick with me still today. Gibson really knows how to ramp up the violence! This is pure adrenaline, better than any Rocky, fight movie you could consider. This movie is a Rush. Go see it. No other movie this past year gets a 4/4 except this one.Should get best picture/director/actor, but it won't. This is an awesome movie that I saw twice last year and the images (eating testicles) stick with me still today. Gibson really knows how to ramp up the violence! This is pure adrenaline, better than any Rocky, fight movie you could consider. This movie is a Rush. Go see it. No other movie this past year gets a 4/4 except this one. Don't believe the hype about the violence. It's not THAT bad. I've seen worse. Excellent film! Expand
  48. FreddsyD.
    Jan 26, 2007
    10
    Action masterpiece!
  49. MauriceV.
    Jan 29, 2007
    0
    Just a morron would think that the most intelectual and respectful of the prehispanic cultures is as savage as they were depicted... Yup... Mel Gibson is that stupid. But that's what you get when you mix a crappy director who cares nothing about historical facts, and the comercial vibe to create another worthless action unwitful spoil just to fill the producers hands with money fromJust a morron would think that the most intelectual and respectful of the prehispanic cultures is as savage as they were depicted... Yup... Mel Gibson is that stupid. But that's what you get when you mix a crappy director who cares nothing about historical facts, and the comercial vibe to create another worthless action unwitful spoil just to fill the producers hands with money from the usual morbid mob who love the baths of blood and gore for no special reason nor plot....
    Now Mayans and spanish men... well grabing a history book won't hurt anyone, then we can all know that the periods of time don't fit actually...that, and the already mentioned farfetched scenes shown all along this suplex of a film.. But ... hey... it is another fact that Gibson's brain is sort of death... so it was something really predictable. It's not worth watching at all.
    Expand
  50. BillJ.
    Jan 3, 2007
    8
    This movie was absolutely fantastic. It drew me into the film in the beginning with humor and it led to a very adrenaline pumping experience.
  51. MiklosP.
    Jan 5, 2007
    9
    Really excellent. Violent and bloody, may not be for everyone - Mel overdoes it again a little bit, but overall a great achievement and a compelling, entertaining movie.
  52. rostokov
    Jan 6, 2007
    6
    The base elements that give this film its appeal were already in place before this idea was a twinkle in Mel's eyes. The truly exotic immediacy of the Mayan culture; its dress, its architecture and, of course, its brutal sacrifices would appeal to most filmmakers. As it is, Mel comes to the culture obsessed with its brutality, which is no bad thing, but unfortunately he does not The base elements that give this film its appeal were already in place before this idea was a twinkle in Mel's eyes. The truly exotic immediacy of the Mayan culture; its dress, its architecture and, of course, its brutal sacrifices would appeal to most filmmakers. As it is, Mel comes to the culture obsessed with its brutality, which is no bad thing, but unfortunately he does not support this interest with any further insight. How has Mayan civilisation progressed to this level of bloodshed? Is it perhaps a natural eventuality of civilisation? How does the hierarchy function to support it? Does power corrupt all? Only one scene, where a village elder ruminates on man's unquenchable greed, attends to these ideas, and it is never followed up. I would have preferred it if more time was spent in the Mayan city, especially with its leader and his court (maybe the eclipse that blesses our hero could have granted him that power). So Mel has fashioned a basic action film, ok. But unfortunately he has only the stomach for it, not the mind. There is little coherence in his shooting style; the film certainly reaches a base level of visceral excitement through its violent excess, but he does not structure his action in a deliberate and instructive way, like Spielberg or Cuaron would. Instead what we often get is a frenetic impressionistic depiction of action. Despite all these criticisms, I still would recommend this film to viewers interested in Mayan culture or those just seeking pure action entertainment. I just know there's a better film in there. Expand
  53. j
    Jan 6, 2007
    4
    oh. my. what a pile of s**t. visually amusing...but the plot? usual mel stuff. man loses (or is threatened to lose) his family. man goes on rampage and faces great adversity, often dying in the process. the end. please watch The Patriot, Braveheart and now this....wonder if it is even historically accurate - find it hard to believe the Mayan culture was soo primitive.
  54. Hardish
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    This was an intense rollercoaster cinematic experience. How times have changed--20 years ago this would've possibly been classed as a mondo movie (probably with smaller production values and banned) and even 10 years ago in the UK this movie would've seen censor cuts before a cinema release. Yes, it's violent and gory but Gibson is one of them rare directors who is not This was an intense rollercoaster cinematic experience. How times have changed--20 years ago this would've possibly been classed as a mondo movie (probably with smaller production values and banned) and even 10 years ago in the UK this movie would've seen censor cuts before a cinema release. Yes, it's violent and gory but Gibson is one of them rare directors who is not afraid to tell a story so real, that as an audience member, I was pretty much living the experience on the screen. Beautiful, uncomprimising and emotional on many levels. Expand
  55. FrankL.
    Feb 3, 2007
    4
    It is about time that history be treated with respect. This film is one dimensional in its overbearing dependence on violence. It is hard to love nature if we look through Gibson's eyes. He is on a mission of conversion and uses all the tools available to him to convince all of us that his history and observations are true. He has failed to make a balanced and poetic vision of the It is about time that history be treated with respect. This film is one dimensional in its overbearing dependence on violence. It is hard to love nature if we look through Gibson's eyes. He is on a mission of conversion and uses all the tools available to him to convince all of us that his history and observations are true. He has failed to make a balanced and poetic vision of the Maya culture. Expand
  56. AndreaV.
    Feb 9, 2007
    1
    So much violence is just pornographic. There's nothing left after you watch it, just angst. The only positive aspect is the actor Rudy Youngblood (despite the fact he is not even Mayan) who trasmits feelings to the audience in a great way.
  57. TroyMossman
    Apr 14, 2007
    9
    You know what guys? Quit ******** about how inaccurate the movie portrays the Mayans. We are no longer living in those times and they are impossible to completely re-create. Not to mention this movie was never meant to be a scientific study of Mayan life. Go watch a DIscovery special if that's what you're looking for. As it stands, Apocalyto is a great, fast paced action film.You know what guys? Quit ******** about how inaccurate the movie portrays the Mayans. We are no longer living in those times and they are impossible to completely re-create. Not to mention this movie was never meant to be a scientific study of Mayan life. Go watch a DIscovery special if that's what you're looking for. As it stands, Apocalyto is a great, fast paced action film. The story is interesting if not "historically accurate", and the filming is done very well. See it for what it is. Not because you want some boring British lecturer to take you through the life of the Mayan's or some crap like that. Expand
  58. ReneV
    Jun 24, 2007
    0
    Horrible, violent, disgusting.
  59. StoshW.
    Jul 1, 2007
    7
    Not nearly as bad as I expected so it gets points for exceeding expectations. Kind of a fun , though bloody romp , with no real substance at the end but an interesting ride with great scenery and costumes along the way. Wouldn't be worth getting on for another ride , but as they say and totally appropriate here , "better than a sharp stick in the eye."
  60. uzir.
    Jul 16, 2007
    8
    Why is everyone whining about how historically inaccurate this movie is? "blah blah i wanted to learn something about the Mayans" well i wanted to see an awesome movie and my man Mel delivers. the ending wasn't super great, but the movie was totally awesome to look at, not to mention totally brutal.
  61. SimpleGuy
    Jul 27, 2007
    8
    Good Movie.. Mel presented Westerners as the Saviours at the end of the Movie but in fact they were they real invaders and conquerers.. And he also presented the Mayans as Savages when these people respected each other and also respected nature.. Really disappointed at Mel..
  62. RichardT.
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    Apocalypto clearly refers to the practice of human sacrifices in Mesoamerican societies, mainly the Aztec people. I would refer to Michel Graulich work:
  63. Tupac
    Sep 2, 2007
    10
    It's in my top 5 favorite movies of all-time. I usually don't like movies with subtitles in them but this one is different; it doesn't seem like a chore to be reading because it is such a good story.
  64. MartinaC.
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    Brilliant, inspiring, and very bloody. But I couldn't take my eyes of the screen. Gibson is brilliant story teller. The point is that while they are killing each other, bigger beast is coming to wipe them out. It's to remind us to live today for the moment, because there may not be another chance to do or say what we always wanted to.
  65. DanC.
    Mar 29, 2008
    8
    This is an extremely effective and engrossing piece of story telling. Mel Gibson has a real talent for putting action on the screen within a larger and more meaningful context. The design and visuals are stunning, the action is extremely well done, and the acting is quite good as well. The squeamish critics are a mystery to me - the blood here serves a purpose, tells a compelling story, This is an extremely effective and engrossing piece of story telling. Mel Gibson has a real talent for putting action on the screen within a larger and more meaningful context. The design and visuals are stunning, the action is extremely well done, and the acting is quite good as well. The squeamish critics are a mystery to me - the blood here serves a purpose, tells a compelling story, and is realistic, not gratuitous. All in all, a very good movie experience. Very much worth seeing. Expand
  66. bobc.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    Alex S. got it ALL correct..Mel's a great movie maker. I'm sick to death of smarmy so called movie critics who by and large, are self appointed seeing themselves as omnipotent arbiters of our entertainment..I would like to drop them back at the temple altar and see how they'd rate his accuracy. Mel .. love ya work!
  67. AlanK
    Sep 12, 2008
    0
    A racist piece of Catholic propaganda about how the "barbaric" Maya needed to be saved by the Spanish priests bearing crosses that you see at the end. Also utterly predicable from start to finish. One of the very worst films I have ever seen.
  68. jazzman
    May 27, 2009
    10
    Really a great movie. If you haven't seen it check it out. in my top 10 movies all time.
  69. FranklinC.
    Dec 11, 2006
    7
    I know this is an allegory, but I like some historical realism with my allegory, thank you very much. Gibson obviously confused the Triple Alliance, or Aztecs if you will, with the Mayan. Additionally, there are other things that don't fit the historical facts: the contact scene at the film's end feels forced and is surely off in chronological terms as the Mayan civilization I know this is an allegory, but I like some historical realism with my allegory, thank you very much. Gibson obviously confused the Triple Alliance, or Aztecs if you will, with the Mayan. Additionally, there are other things that don't fit the historical facts: the contact scene at the film's end feels forced and is surely off in chronological terms as the Mayan civilization declined in 1000 not 1500. Mayans farmed maize, but never in monoculture as we see at the beginning of the chase scene. Mayans were no more blood thirsty than Europeans at the time, either. The film is entertaining, though. Gibson doesn Expand
  70. AmeronA.
    Dec 11, 2006
    9
    You can hate Mel Gibson, but that doesn't mean his art is bad. In fact, I went in this movie with kind of a chip on my shoulder. When I left, I felt my money was justified. The story is a basic story of human survival in an historic setting. There are some down points, the gore was a bit much, some of the animal animatroinic part looked silly. But it makes up with great acting, You can hate Mel Gibson, but that doesn't mean his art is bad. In fact, I went in this movie with kind of a chip on my shoulder. When I left, I felt my money was justified. The story is a basic story of human survival in an historic setting. There are some down points, the gore was a bit much, some of the animal animatroinic part looked silly. But it makes up with great acting, gorgeous visuals, and a good story. Expand
  71. Chris
    Dec 10, 2006
    9
    This is really an amazing film. I didn't even notice it was subtitled. Another significant accomplishment by Mr. Gibson.
  72. Giterdone
    Dec 11, 2006
    9
    Simply Amazing film. Heart pounding, intense and gripping throughout. Definitely the best of the year. The score should be much higher than what is being reported on Metacritic. Make no mistake, it is a violent film, but all of it is necessary and well done.
  73. JohnAchorn
    Dec 12, 2006
    4
    Beautifully shot, great sound track and acting... relentless violence to what end? Another Euro-centric vision of history, totally inaccurate in historical context; much of the action is predicatable... too much stretches one's believability to create another Gibson super man.
  74. JonathanP.
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    Some of these comments are as asinine as the reviews were. The violence was mostly limited to a handful of scenes and completely overblown. As a film, it's a fantastic portrayal into how life was in that era and proves that Mel Gibson has an unparalleled ability at transporting the audience to another era.
  75. DanteJ.
    Dec 16, 2006
    10
    Very suspenseful and exciting, but too short.
  76. KM.
    Dec 19, 2006
    9
    Gibson has presented us with a remarkable version of Mayan history, focusing in at once on the social fabric of a small village and a complex city. The actors are outrageously authentic, the costumes stupendous and the cinematography drop-dead gorgeous. Having the characters speak in the surviving dialect capped the authenticity of the experience for this viewer. I am no fan of Mr. Gibson Gibson has presented us with a remarkable version of Mayan history, focusing in at once on the social fabric of a small village and a complex city. The actors are outrageously authentic, the costumes stupendous and the cinematography drop-dead gorgeous. Having the characters speak in the surviving dialect capped the authenticity of the experience for this viewer. I am no fan of Mr. Gibson as a person, but he is a dynamic and visionary director. Definitely a big screen must-see! Expand
  77. LucianoS.
    Dec 22, 2006
    2
    Disappointing from beginning to end, If you like action "Blood Diamond" is a much better choice. Historically inaccurate, this movie is nothing more than any action film like Rambo or any of the Steven Seagal movies. The plot was poor, the action predictable, the characters not well developed, and the Sequences at the great Mexican Pyramids where not impressive at all. There are far Disappointing from beginning to end, If you like action "Blood Diamond" is a much better choice. Historically inaccurate, this movie is nothing more than any action film like Rambo or any of the Steven Seagal movies. The plot was poor, the action predictable, the characters not well developed, and the Sequences at the great Mexican Pyramids where not impressive at all. There are far better movies out there today or even at the video store. I have loved other Mel Gibson Expand
  78. Nandi
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    Mel Gibson proves himself again as a true independent in Hollywood. I do not share his religious beliefs and expected this film to be more beholden to his Catholic beliefs but I was amazed at his objective characterization of two sides of a highly "advanced" culture, of course in dramatically and very spell bindingly terse terms. In the end the "righteous" Christians are actually Mel Gibson proves himself again as a true independent in Hollywood. I do not share his religious beliefs and expected this film to be more beholden to his Catholic beliefs but I was amazed at his objective characterization of two sides of a highly "advanced" culture, of course in dramatically and very spell bindingly terse terms. In the end the "righteous" Christians are actually portrayed as the scariest monsters in the film. This film was packed with energy and horrifyingly violent but to this film viewer who is a big fan of Jean Jacgues Rosseau', "noble savage' it hit me as being very realistic, with a solid understanding of the corrupting nature of civilization and struck a deep chord within me. Bravo Mel! Expand
  79. PR
    Dec 22, 2006
    2
    A pukka shell necklace of cliches strung on a formula. I know less about the Maya now having watched it.
  80. MichaelP.
    Dec 23, 2006
    9
    I took this film for what it was--a fast and furious thriller about "primative" people fighting for survival--and loved every minute of it. My pulse was pounding when I left the theater, the violence and well-deserved revenge gave me a much-needed emotional release. There's absolutely nothing politically correct about this movie, Gibson pulls out all the stops. The graphic violence I took this film for what it was--a fast and furious thriller about "primative" people fighting for survival--and loved every minute of it. My pulse was pounding when I left the theater, the violence and well-deserved revenge gave me a much-needed emotional release. There's absolutely nothing politically correct about this movie, Gibson pulls out all the stops. The graphic violence and completely unvarnished view of human nature probably does upset some people--it's not for the faint of heart. However, if you don't mind looking life straight in the face and want to see an exciting, fast-paced thriller in a very unusual setting, you'll enjoy this film. (The only reason I gave it a 9 was that there were a few technical flaws that broke the spell a little bit for me, like having the moon overhead the night after a solar eclipse, and a human heart beating after it's been pulled from a body, etc.) Expand
  81. SteveH
    Dec 26, 2006
    7
    If you are looking for different kind of movie this holiday season, this is it. This movie throws you into a Darwinian world that allows for few mistakes. The main character lives happily in this world until a stronger group enslaves them. The rest of the movie shows him running to survive. My only knock on this movie is that the violence goes a little too far. After the first beheading, If you are looking for different kind of movie this holiday season, this is it. This movie throws you into a Darwinian world that allows for few mistakes. The main character lives happily in this world until a stronger group enslaves them. The rest of the movie shows him running to survive. My only knock on this movie is that the violence goes a little too far. After the first beheading, you get it, "These people are bad" Expand
  82. UliD
    Dec 30, 2006
    9
    A fascinating movie. Unfortunately Mel Gibson does not receive the credit he deserves.
  83. MichaelG.
    Dec 4, 2006
    10
    Audacious, provocative but at the end of the day simply thrilling and startling in its coveyance of a time and place of great beauty and peril. A movie about the triumph of hope over fear. And as all the critics have pointed, there's A LOT to fear in the world Gibson so brilliantly creates.
  84. Jeremy
    Dec 8, 2006
    9
    This movie was absolutely fantastic. it was gory, yes, but the genius of the story much outweighed the violence. what is it with people and wanting such intense historical accuracy? many of the critics disliked it because they expected some answer to the end of the Mayan civilization (including the person i went to see the movie with). yet i thought we were treated with something better:This movie was absolutely fantastic. it was gory, yes, but the genius of the story much outweighed the violence. what is it with people and wanting such intense historical accuracy? many of the critics disliked it because they expected some answer to the end of the Mayan civilization (including the person i went to see the movie with). yet i thought we were treated with something better: the last dying breath of a civilization as seen through the eyes of a man unwillingly brought into it during its last days. Marie Antoinette and Apocolypto shall remain in my memory for quite some time (and in my DVD collection), regardless of the historical accuracy. The story is fantastic in both, the cinematography is better, and best of all, the directors of both movies get the feel right. and that's all that matters to me. if i want a history lesson, i'll pick up an encyclopedia. see this movie. simple as that. Expand
  85. Compo
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    I think this movie is the best film out this year hands down. It is a great story, void of all Hollywood faces, making me care about the character rather than the actor. More movies of this caliber need to be made. Bravo Mr. Gibson. I also feel that a lot of movie critics judged the director rather than the film, letting their own disapproval for Mr.Gibson completely shroud their eyes I think this movie is the best film out this year hands down. It is a great story, void of all Hollywood faces, making me care about the character rather than the actor. More movies of this caliber need to be made. Bravo Mr. Gibson. I also feel that a lot of movie critics judged the director rather than the film, letting their own disapproval for Mr.Gibson completely shroud their eyes from the best film made in the last five years. Expand
  86. CatMeta
    Dec 9, 2006
    0
    An orgy of violence, dead of any real human connection or character, which gets boring quicky. Interesting that the obscenity of killing goes on for two hours, yet there is not one woman's nipple visible among the near-naked people, not one breechclout out of place. (God forbid bodies do anything but kill or be killed.) The whole thing is puerile. The audience laughed for much of the An orgy of violence, dead of any real human connection or character, which gets boring quicky. Interesting that the obscenity of killing goes on for two hours, yet there is not one woman's nipple visible among the near-naked people, not one breechclout out of place. (God forbid bodies do anything but kill or be killed.) The whole thing is puerile. The audience laughed for much of the second half during the supposedly exciting parts; this movie is that soulless, and that silly. Expand
  87. MaxB.
    Dec 9, 2006
    9
    I can't understand how critics can praise this movie for it's ability to transport the audience to another time and place and then slam it for be excessively violent. The violence and blood letting in this movie wasn't that intense or gratuitous for the situations in which central character was depicted in. It's rated R for a reason and it's an adult movie. I I can't understand how critics can praise this movie for it's ability to transport the audience to another time and place and then slam it for be excessively violent. The violence and blood letting in this movie wasn't that intense or gratuitous for the situations in which central character was depicted in. It's rated R for a reason and it's an adult movie. I guess they're just use to the continual spew of PG-13 movies that Hollywood keeps cranking out in hopes of covering as many demographics as possible. It was nice to see an adult film that doesn't hold anything back from it's creators vision. Mel Gibson, you rock dude. Expand
  88. SenZu
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    This movie was great. It added to Mr. Gibson legendary stature in Hollywood as a marquee director. People, and that includes most professional reviewers, are making the big mistake of reviewing Mr. Gibson instead of reviewing the movie. That is wrong. The movie is untouchable. Its a great work of art.
  89. ArielG.
    Jan 12, 2007
    9
    Mel Gibson did it again with this movie! I'll have to admit to being afraid that he may have lost his film-making touch due to the problems in his personal life (alcoholism and racist rants). But I'm glad that I was proved wrong. Apocalypto was easily one of better movies I've seen these past few months. The story grips you right from the very beginning, and doesn't Mel Gibson did it again with this movie! I'll have to admit to being afraid that he may have lost his film-making touch due to the problems in his personal life (alcoholism and racist rants). But I'm glad that I was proved wrong. Apocalypto was easily one of better movies I've seen these past few months. The story grips you right from the very beginning, and doesn't let go until the credits come up at the very end. The intensity is apparent throughout the entire movie, and there is a sense of danger and foreboding in every scene. Visually it was beautiful to watch, and we're given characters that we care about and sympathize with. I would gave it a rating of 10/10 if it weren't for the gratuitous gore and violence in the movie, which made some parts hard to watch. I understand he was trying to convey the sort of brutality at the time, but I don't think it needed to be as graphic as it was. So I took away 1 point from my rating. But still a great movie from a great film-maker! Expand
  90. JamesG.
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    Great film, excellent!!! Well worth a watch; had my girlfriend in tears. One of the best films I have seen in a long time.
  91. MarkB.
    Jan 17, 2007
    8
    Nearly three years ago, while squeamishly preparing myself to see Mel Gibson's now-legendary The Passion of the Christ, I stopped in a favorite sports bar and, learning that the bartender on duty had already seen it, asked her if I should have a courage- fortifying beer beforehand. "Yes," she replied, "and one after, too!" Gibson's followup might well demand a six-pack before Nearly three years ago, while squeamishly preparing myself to see Mel Gibson's now-legendary The Passion of the Christ, I stopped in a favorite sports bar and, learning that the bartender on duty had already seen it, asked her if I should have a courage- fortifying beer beforehand. "Yes," she replied, "and one after, too!" Gibson's followup might well demand a six-pack before viewing by the overly sensitive--any movie that opens with testicle-eating (animal, not human) is one that isn't shy about letting the audience know early on what it's in for--but if you're prepared for where Mel takes you, Apacalypto is one of the purest, most viscerally exciting and visually stunning action movies of the last several years. It helps enormously that the likable hero, Jaguar Paw (Rudy Youngblood) is motivated not by revenge (justifiable though this might be) but by self-defense and preservation of his family...especially when his wife and little boy represent the zenith of noncloying adorableness. Gibson's much-publicized use of the Mayan language throughout turns out to be something of a moot point: after the establishing sequences (which feature lots of tribal male bonding and practical joking, just what you'd expect from the director of Braveheart and a rabid Three Stooges fan), the action becomes so clearly set that Apocalypto would've worked beautifully as a silent film. And while you don't normally expect to use (or read) words like "subtlety", "thoughtfulness" and "nuance" when referring to the cinema of Mel Gibson, Apocalypto's left-field final twist brings the movie's breathless pacing and vivid violence to a surprisingly somber, reflective close. It also forces viewers to redefine again the controversial filmmaker who rather puzzlingly became the darling of the right-wing media with Passion (as though identifying and supporting intensely with Jesus' suffering in his last hours on earth and supporting troop buildups in Iraq and turning a deaf ear to restrictions on torturing prisoners were somehow synonymous) but recently made some anti-Bush statements that confounded the right-wing press while delighting those moviegoers who, like me, found absolutely nothing wrong with loving both Passion AND Fahrenheit 9/11. Being a big fan of Apocalypto as well doesn't prevent me from expressing a few reservations and misgivings, though: as far as certain other, far more heavily-publicized, tequila-fueled utterances made by Mel are concerned, it's hard to completely put them out of one's mind during a sequence in which Jaguar Paw, fleeing from Mayans attempting to sacrifice him to their gods, comes across some examples of their brutal handiwork that unavoidably brought to mind certain Holocaust photos and films I've seen. Equally disturbing is that, as hugely effective and even enjoyable as Apocalypto is during most of its running time, its maker (who reportedly encouraged director Ron Howard to use a lot more ketchup during the shootout scenes in Ransom) seems to be having just a little bit too much Herschell Gordon Lewis-style fun filming the tribal atrocities he's putting up on screen. Remember the junior high school boys' room admonition "Shake it more than twice and you're playing with it"? Put it this way: depicting one human sacrifice qualifies as legitimate plot revelation...but going back and lovingly doing it all over again is masturbation. Expand
  92. MiroDeHoyos
    Jan 21, 2007
    0
    I think the historical background has been modified, there is no such history like that. Mayan civilization was one of the most advanced civilizations in the history of humanity. They were really inteligent, great astronomers, great mathematicians, and very respectful in their sacrifice ceremonies, and this is not shown in this movie.
  93. GabrielaI.
    Jan 25, 2007
    2
    Totally unrespectful of magnificent Mayan civilization. Gibson obviously has no idea about this people.
  94. S.B.
    Jan 25, 2007
    9
    The raw energy and passion of the film is very primal, but it makes you feel alive and very human. It is not a film for audiences whom hang their lives on intellectual hooks. This said, I found the central messages strong and powerful and above all very honest. The violence and brutality served it purpose in revealing the central themes. Fear in life is the killer of all human evolution, The raw energy and passion of the film is very primal, but it makes you feel alive and very human. It is not a film for audiences whom hang their lives on intellectual hooks. This said, I found the central messages strong and powerful and above all very honest. The violence and brutality served it purpose in revealing the central themes. Fear in life is the killer of all human evolution, the individual who can stare it in the face and not sucumb will be at one with nature, and the spirit of the world or the "jungle" will become there ally. Expand
  95. NickX.
    Jan 27, 2007
    10
    I wish I could rate it with 11/10. The film is amazing for every fan of the Mayans..and not!
  96. LARADOE
    Jan 30, 2007
    1
    Having recently been in Mexico I decided to see this film. If it did not have some pretentions to being some comment on life as we know it either now, or in the time of (as Gibson would have it) "some" of our ancestors it might just be mindlesslyand in some ways unprecendently cruel and crude however because it opens with a comment about how societies collapse it sets itself up as havingHaving recently been in Mexico I decided to see this film. If it did not have some pretentions to being some comment on life as we know it either now, or in the time of (as Gibson would have it) "some" of our ancestors it might just be mindlesslyand in some ways unprecendently cruel and crude however because it opens with a comment about how societies collapse it sets itself up as having meaning. It does not have any meaning beyond evoking profounding visceral responses that knock any possible thinking through out from after the first ten minutes. To call it flawed honours it , to me it is a brutal travesty that apparently enobles the hegemony that ruled thereafter.It is more disturbing to think about it because then you realise there is no comprehensible message. Only good for dieters - eating is not to be recommended either before, and out of the question afterwards. Expand
  97. MauriceD.
    Jan 6, 2007
    9
    This is a fantastic movie, Gibson is a true artist.
  98. GavinM.
    Jan 7, 2007
    9
    An absolute must-see. Incredibly convincing and exciting, though the violence is stomach-churning.
  99. John
    Jan 8, 2007
    8
    Inasmuch as the violence shocked me, I was forced to recognize that this was in fact what happened in Maya civilization. They performed ritualistic human sacrifice on a massive scale. We do it too, but as long as the American public doesn't have to see it, they can digest the reality (not unlike the way we eat packaged meat, just as long as we don't see the chickens beingInasmuch as the violence shocked me, I was forced to recognize that this was in fact what happened in Maya civilization. They performed ritualistic human sacrifice on a massive scale. We do it too, but as long as the American public doesn't have to see it, they can digest the reality (not unlike the way we eat packaged meat, just as long as we don't see the chickens being slaughtered). We've become so numbed to death, that the lastest figures of those killed on a daily basis in Iraq is reported alongside the latest rising and falling stock prices. We're no longer shocked. Doesn't that speak volumes about the parallels in our societies? Expand
  100. Wetwebwork
    Jan 8, 2007
    8
    Great action film. The era and atmosphere are fantastic, and the action relentless. Probably one for the big screen.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. 88
    Gibson has made a film of blunt provocation and bruising beauty.
  2. The guy knows how to make a heart-pounding movie; he just happens to be a cinematic sadist.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    Mel Gibson is always good for a surprise, and his latest is that Apocalypto is a remarkable film. Set in the waning days of the Mayan civilization, the picture provides a trip to a place one's never been before, offering hitherto unseen sights of exceptional vividness and power.