Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: December 8, 2006
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 474 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
361
Mixed:
43
Negative:
70
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
JohnJan 8, 2007
Inasmuch as the violence shocked me, I was forced to recognize that this was in fact what happened in Maya civilization. They performed ritualistic human sacrifice on a massive scale. We do it too, but as long as the American publicInasmuch as the violence shocked me, I was forced to recognize that this was in fact what happened in Maya civilization. They performed ritualistic human sacrifice on a massive scale. We do it too, but as long as the American public doesn't have to see it, they can digest the reality (not unlike the way we eat packaged meat, just as long as we don't see the chickens being slaughtered). We've become so numbed to death, that the lastest figures of those killed on a daily basis in Iraq is reported alongside the latest rising and falling stock prices. We're no longer shocked. Doesn't that speak volumes about the parallels in our societies? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WetwebworkJan 8, 2007
Great action film. The era and atmosphere are fantastic, and the action relentless. Probably one for the big screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RadiospotsR.Feb 18, 2007
Absolutely a superb work of art. I have been working long hours that last several months, and almost every movie I have dozed off on, but not this. This movie had me from the begining to the very end. Went very fast, absoutely amazing and Absolutely a superb work of art. I have been working long hours that last several months, and almost every movie I have dozed off on, but not this. This movie had me from the begining to the very end. Went very fast, absoutely amazing and proving Mel is definitely a very gifted artist. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrutusO.Mar 11, 2007
A bit of a surprise, and a considerably better film than Braveheart. Above all Apocalypto is a gripping action film, admittedly violent, but well paced and brilliantly shot, with astounding costume design and casting. It is also occasionally A bit of a surprise, and a considerably better film than Braveheart. Above all Apocalypto is a gripping action film, admittedly violent, but well paced and brilliantly shot, with astounding costume design and casting. It is also occasionally humourous, often touching, sometimes romantic and quite a bit more thoughtful than it first appears. The film is not a documentary about Mayan history. It is a parable about the nature of apocalyptic social collapse (hence the title, guys - it isn't called Mayo) and the centrality and importance of family and primary relationships when society crumbles. So it could have been set in any country where society and the environment are in terminal decline. The lesson is that mindless violence and overpopulation and ethnic cleansing and a war economy and religious hysteria will all come to the fore when the elites within any society lose touch with their basic humanitarian and conservationist impulses. So this movie could just as easily have been set at the fall of Ancient Egypt, or Rome, or even in contemporary Iraq, Sudan or Zimbabwe. But despite being like, "a bit heavy and depressing" the film in fact has the directorial chops to be pretty damn entertaining. I suppose linking one's family values to the environment represents something of a conservative viewpoint, but after all conservation and conservative do stem from the same word. Mel's best film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarilenManipulaMay 22, 2007
hey, i hate those who gave 0 ranking for mel gibson's apocalypto, so i give it 10, it's really a good movie, if there's violence which most consider negative, why won't they open their eyes? stop pretending to be sohey, i hate those who gave 0 ranking for mel gibson's apocalypto, so i give it 10, it's really a good movie, if there's violence which most consider negative, why won't they open their eyes? stop pretending to be so inncocent! when i've watched this movie it's really good, you can really feel the intense.. i give it a perfect score ^^- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChristopherW.May 23, 2007
As with Gibson's last three films, if you're looking for historical accuracy, look elsewhere. However, once again, he has made a thoroughly engrossing, beautifully mounted epic. The controversial treatment of Mayan people as brutalAs with Gibson's last three films, if you're looking for historical accuracy, look elsewhere. However, once again, he has made a thoroughly engrossing, beautifully mounted epic. The controversial treatment of Mayan people as brutal savages will, no doubt, be offensive to some history buffs, but the film is remarkably entertaining and well paced, and truly soars in its second half. Gibson may have some serious character flaws, but he has filmmaking in his blood. Extraordinary! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BobCJun 12, 2007
Despite the somewhat hopeful ending, this movie belongs on the dung-heap of movieland for the shamefully unbalanced presentation of the Mayan culture. Mel Gibson's pathologic disdain for this non-Christian civilization is graphically Despite the somewhat hopeful ending, this movie belongs on the dung-heap of movieland for the shamefully unbalanced presentation of the Mayan culture. Mel Gibson's pathologic disdain for this non-Christian civilization is graphically and brutally displayed without any balancing scenes of positive societal attributes except from the "primitives". Shame on you Mel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JackieR.Jun 13, 2007
I found this picture hard to watch at times as the images were so upsetting but I felt it probably portrayed the actual times accurately. Not a big Mel fan, I would recommend this but not to the fainthearted!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EldonJun 17, 2007
I had avoided seeing this film for a number of reasons... but I have to admit I thought it was good. It really did surprise me. Brutus O's review is right there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnM.Jun 22, 2007
I really loved the film regardless of some of the critics own remarks . It might seem that the problem of the films historical vision of the Mayan city at the end of the Maya civilization - seems rather pointless to identity the I really loved the film regardless of some of the critics own remarks . It might seem that the problem of the films historical vision of the Mayan city at the end of the Maya civilization - seems rather pointless to identity the 'city' in the film - My friend who is a Maya-ologist says that the 'pyramid of doom' in the film where the sacrifices took place is one of the pyramids in the city of Tikal which was abandoned in 9 cen AD way after the time that the movie says that Jaguar Paw taken captive- Gibson did use some old National Geographic paintings of the city of Tikal as his Mayan city in the movie ; nevertheless it is a good film and it is close to the new conceptions of the Maya in light of modern archaeological findings. The Maya were more warlike than 'peaceful' as was once thought. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HannahB.Jun 23, 2007
I think this was an amazing movie and it was very suspenseful! Mel Gibson has out done himself once again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JerryJun 30, 2007
Wow, very good movie. Wasn't expecting it at all. I figured with the way the previews made it look it would just be a bunch of random, scenes of a violent history documentary. Yes it is violent but the story is great and its an Wow, very good movie. Wasn't expecting it at all. I figured with the way the previews made it look it would just be a bunch of random, scenes of a violent history documentary. Yes it is violent but the story is great and its an incredible amount of excitement thru out. (P.S. I'm a jew that knows Mel Gibson is a grade A closet anti-semetic but that that bias I held going into the movie says just how good this movie was.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristianV.Jun 8, 2007
Incredible! Kept my heart pounding through out the entire movie! Extremely entertaining. I would definitely watch this movie over and over again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DavidQ.Jun 8, 2007
Only a deeply religious person could do violence this unrelenting, cruel, and perverse. Moving from the blood-spurting-out-of-the-head scene (with the camera right behind the blood spurts, to catch each one) to the underwater birth scene, Only a deeply religious person could do violence this unrelenting, cruel, and perverse. Moving from the blood-spurting-out-of-the-head scene (with the camera right behind the blood spurts, to catch each one) to the underwater birth scene, all of this shortly after the jaguar-ate-my-face-off scene, is, to be blunt, embarrassing. I could forgive all of this if the movie had any "poetry" of violence about it, but it was all pretty standard. There were, in fact, numerous scenes that I swear were shot on video. The actors were uniformly great, the costumes and makeup exceptional as well. But after a while, such pointless and not especially well-crafted sadism wears thin. What was the point? The same story could be told with Kurt Russel escaping a post-apocalyptic New York. I loved Braveheart. What happened to Mel? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AMovieCriticJul 15, 2007
Forget the fact that Mel Gibson made it.....this is a great movie. It literally feels like you're being transported to another world. Extremely immersing experience with music and sound effects that completely bring this world to life. Forget the fact that Mel Gibson made it.....this is a great movie. It literally feels like you're being transported to another world. Extremely immersing experience with music and sound effects that completely bring this world to life. Great chase scenes in the last half hour as well. As much as I hate to admit it (since this movie's directed and co-written by Mel Gibson,) I really liked this movie. It does have a tendency to linger on certain scenes a little too long (an attack on a village in the beginning seems to go on forever, as does a trek to a city,) but overall, it's a satisfying and interesting experience and a worthwhile rental, at least. Obviously it's a violent movie, but it didn't really feel excessive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ReneVJul 9, 2007
Horrible, violent, disgusting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkS.Aug 24, 2007
This is one of those movie that shows how little some people know about making a fantastic movie, including critics especially. People 'getting sick' from watching Apocalypto is pathetic, because it is also one of those films that This is one of those movie that shows how little some people know about making a fantastic movie, including critics especially. People 'getting sick' from watching Apocalypto is pathetic, because it is also one of those films that isn't nearly as violent as it seemed it would be. Makes me wonder if some of these critics and fans voting on here even watched the movie. The voter here named 'A Movie Critic' says it right: it literally feels like you're being transported to another world." And that is Great-with -a-capital-G filmaking. I don't give it a 10 only because that is reserved for films like The Empire Strikes Back, The Wizard of Oz, and Ben Hur. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanS.Aug 4, 2007
One of the best films I have ever seen. What I don't understand is all the critics saying that it was too violent and bloody, especially in the temple scene. Well guess what? This is how it was. Hahaha oh yeah, this one critic even One of the best films I have ever seen. What I don't understand is all the critics saying that it was too violent and bloody, especially in the temple scene. Well guess what? This is how it was. Hahaha oh yeah, this one critic even wrote..."what kind of brutal movie is this....who would watch this....gangbangers"? Mannnnn, this isn't New Jack City or Boys in the Hood you half-wit. What, did u think that the Mayan warriors went to the villages tapping on the inhabitants shoulders telling them..."can you please come with me"? NO! And the temple scene.... actually, there were so many sacrifices that there were pools of blood and fat at the bottom of them so Mel was really giving us a break from how it really was. My god, I wonder what u people would say then. Yeah its gross, yeah its violent as hell but this is how the civilization was. Weapons, tattoos, piercings......everything was accurate except for the arrival of the Spaniards. But who cares! Instead of mentally searching for the arrival time of the Spaniards to make sure its historically correct, I thought to myself...."ha, that's cool....look at that....here they come to end it all....spread/force their language, diseases and religious beliefs on the Mayan people and totally end what I just saw through the movie....forever"! I really enjoyed the movie. Sit back and enjoy it. Let it take u on a wild ride throught the jungle and witness how the Mayans lived for thousands of years. Well not the whole culture of course but the religious aspect of it anyway. The Mayan military REALLY did go out to surrounding villages to get victims for their religious sacrifices. They even actually had wars solely for them. They REALLY did sacrifice the victims in that way up there on top of the temples. There's your "historical accuracy" right there. I mean, the whole film is accurate but those 5 seconds capturing the arrival. Never mind the bad reviews. See it. Trust me! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulF.Sep 12, 2007
What can I say but that Apocalypto felt as near perfect as it could be. Sure it was not the most feel good movie of the year seeing as there is so much violence with its war and sacrificial plot lines. But at times I'm sure this was What can I say but that Apocalypto felt as near perfect as it could be. Sure it was not the most feel good movie of the year seeing as there is so much violence with its war and sacrificial plot lines. But at times I'm sure this was exactly how it was for the Mayan and surrounding peoples. They did have at one point in their history a belief that human sacrifice in reflection of one of their God Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DesmondMNov 24, 2008
You can always tell if a movie's going to be good or bad by reading the user comments in metacritic. After reading apocalypto's comments I knew I had to watch it. All the people who gave it bad ratings were obviously either You can always tell if a movie's going to be good or bad by reading the user comments in metacritic. After reading apocalypto's comments I knew I had to watch it. All the people who gave it bad ratings were obviously either complete idiots, or the sort of feeble, weak people who scream at the sight of mice. Why would you watch a movie rated R for violence and disturbing images if you don't like the sight of blood!? The main reason you can tell that the people who thought badly of 'apocalypto' are idiots is by the fact that the same people who say that they went into the movie expecting it to be about the downfall of the mayans and were surprised that it was not, go on to state that the plot is predictable... Hmm... let's think... How can the storyline be surprising and unexpected, and yet the plot is predictable??? Aren't the storyline and the plot pretty much the same thing!? And I don't get how 'Andrew' can say that the movie was historically inaccurate, even after 'Richard. T' wrote what looked like a novel about the many aspects of the film that related to history and were plausible. Also, I don't think many of us would have left the theatre with a mortal fear of mayans, scared that at any second they're going to come and destroy our houses, tie us up and take us away... In case everyone who said that the mayans were portrayed incorrectly as a violent people don't realise, not only were the people who wrecked the village and stole all the adults (the 'bad guys') mayan, but the good guys were mayans as well. You all choose to look at it from the point of view that everyone will have the wrong idea about the mayans now, even though 'jaguar paw' (who was mayan as well, duh!) was shown as such a kind and loving man who did so much for his wife, son, and unborn child, and only killed or harmed his enemies in self defence... As I mentioned before, immediately after reading the comments on metacritic, and seeing how stupid the people who were cynical of this movie were, I went and watched the movie, for which I am very grateful. It was actually one of the best movies I've ever seen, even though I haven't really liked Mel Gibson in the past. This was one of those movies that I just had to have on DVD. It was a great movie, and I don't even need to criticize the people who didn't like it any more, because their dim-wittedness speaks for itself. Awesome acting. Awesome storyline. Awesome movie!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexS.Jan 28, 2008
The overwhelming majority of people critiquing the movie have two arguments: excessive gore and lack of insight on the Mayan empire. Guess what, the movie was not about that in the first place. You loath blood, open your eyes, see the R The overwhelming majority of people critiquing the movie have two arguments: excessive gore and lack of insight on the Mayan empire. Guess what, the movie was not about that in the first place. You loath blood, open your eyes, see the R rating and than buzz off. You want documentary on Mayan empire Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamS.Dec 8, 2008
Really drawn into it the whole time. Loved it. A+
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AcelleJ.Jan 7, 2008
This is the GREATEST movie I have ever seen! Mel Gibson is the BESTt actor and director! Much RESPECT!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DionK.May 13, 2008
JUST BRILLIANT!!!! Can't get enough of it... Mel Gibson is a genius and for those of you who didn't enjoy it, you should get educated on Mayan culture which was so well pictured. There is brutal violence and it is a hard to watch JUST BRILLIANT!!!! Can't get enough of it... Mel Gibson is a genius and for those of you who didn't enjoy it, you should get educated on Mayan culture which was so well pictured. There is brutal violence and it is a hard to watch movie but it IS The HISTORY, this is real, just thank God you didn't live those days. And if you find Jurassic Park, Spiderman, Star Wars, Matrix or Transformers better done, they you need to grow up! This movie is EXCEPTIONALLY inspiring. It blew my mind for daaays now. Just got back from Mayan Riviera and been studying mayan civilization for awhile. It was great to get an ide of what happened their at the ruin sites. Great job on costumes and make-up, they were almost described to a tee. Thank you for making such a GREAT movie. Would love to see the Incas next. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
sreepriyabsJan 19, 2009
Excellent movie!! was able to watch the movie on tv n i was really moved by the movie... loved the emotions through the movie and a gr8 job by mel gibson!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JennetPrestonSep 9, 2009
Ignore the rants at both extremes of the scale; most of them says more about the reviewer than the film. For once, the professional reviewers are more perceptive than the amateurs: APOCALYPTO offers magnificent spectacle but so littleIgnore the rants at both extremes of the scale; most of them says more about the reviewer than the film. For once, the professional reviewers are more perceptive than the amateurs: APOCALYPTO offers magnificent spectacle but so little complexity of plot , characterization, or theme that it eventually grows boring. Gibson and his artistic staff deserve loud accolades for the astonishing scenes of late Maya civilization, particularly once the film reaches the depraved city at its center. These scenes are consistent with the Maya aesthetic we know from sculpture and artifacts and, at the same time, completely, overwhelmingly alienating. The effect is dazzling, dizzying, and profound; I felt I could watch the middle section of the film ten times more without beginning to exhaust its riches. The last third of the film, however, is an interminable chase scene, relieved only by quick cuts to two people in a hole. Snooze. After 15 minutes or so, I fast-forwarded through the pursuit, and my only regret is that I hadn't started earlier. As for the infamous violence, I had no problem with it, given what the film was about. I simply felt that it occasionally served as a substitute for real plot development (Story starting to drag? Let's chuck some more spears!). On the whole, I would heartily recommend the film to anyone interested in cultural anthropology, anyone who likes big spectacles with lots of extras in costume, and, of course, anyone who likes spear-chucking. Just don't expect ideas more profound than "dominance fosters cruelty." And it's ok to go out for a beer during the last 40 minutes or so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AaronM.Dec 11, 2006
Extremely original, intense, often moving, and unforgettable. I really hope this movie does well at the box office cause it's worth seeing. Mel Gibson has done it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonK.Dec 10, 2006
VERY captivating movie and it seems to be historically plausible! I honestly don't know where these bad reviews are coming from...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewM.Dec 10, 2006
Great Movie, Excellent Presentation of New Camera Technology (The Genesis HD Camera). Honestly. When a Critic critizes a movie because of its Gore Elements. you know they are jus trying to find new ways to Critize a Genius. Kill BIll , Great Movie, Excellent Presentation of New Camera Technology (The Genesis HD Camera). Honestly. When a Critic critizes a movie because of its Gore Elements. you know they are jus trying to find new ways to Critize a Genius. Kill BIll , History of Violence , among other horror films had gore. and were shot for the current era. A movie which captures the life and times of that civilization needs that element. Fend Off those useless Critics. GO SEE IT Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GeorgeC.Dec 10, 2006
After disregarding any personal vendettas with Mel Gibson, you can really begin to engulf yourself in Apocalypto, a new film detailing the downfall of the Mayan civilization. Unlike The Passion of the Christ, this film does not include any After disregarding any personal vendettas with Mel Gibson, you can really begin to engulf yourself in Apocalypto, a new film detailing the downfall of the Mayan civilization. Unlike The Passion of the Christ, this film does not include any Mel propaganda or seemingly fanatic opinions. Though highly entertaining, Apocalypto lacks the intriguing storyline and exciting accents which made Braveheart such a great success and big time Oscar winner. And I can assure you that this film will not be taking home the golden statue. Despite an excellent performance by Rudy Youngblood as the brave Jaguar Paw, the dialogue of Apocalypto can be pretty ridiculous at points (even sticking in the famous Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LukeM.Dec 10, 2006
The movie never lets you go, and the violence is intense, but it is outstanding. If you don't have a high tolerance for on-screen pain and suffering you should pass. Otherwise I think the cinematography is incredible and the entire The movie never lets you go, and the violence is intense, but it is outstanding. If you don't have a high tolerance for on-screen pain and suffering you should pass. Otherwise I think the cinematography is incredible and the entire picture is visually stunning. Most negative reviews seem to be a reaction to Gibson, or to the typical reviewers distaste for the high testosterone style of the picture. And let's face it. Movie critics were not on the football team, and they've never been hunting. They are not the best suited audience to enjoy a picture like this, which is fine. But for those who can revel in raw entertainment which is lacking in subtlety, this is a treat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TedJ.Dec 10, 2006
This movie was great in conception, cleverly marketed, and, ultimately, really disappointing. The previews gave Apocalypto a sense of mystery and grandeur... it seemed to be so much more than the simplistic adventure film it is, where the This movie was great in conception, cleverly marketed, and, ultimately, really disappointing. The previews gave Apocalypto a sense of mystery and grandeur... it seemed to be so much more than the simplistic adventure film it is, where the hero must save his family by outrunning and outwitting the bad guys. The obscure dialogue and historical context are secondary garnishes that add nothing to a film rife with trite plot elements and ridiculously stupid dialogue. (i.e. at one point a character looks upon a poisoned comrade and says "He's f...ed," ostensibly for comic effect.) The cinematography is effective, but not incredible--the best moments were used for the previews. What really annoyed me was the film's overall lack of subtlety. The film seems to blatantly impose an ultra-conservative's perception of modern America--wicked, corrupt, in decline--onto that of the falling Mayan civilization. In the ten minutes we are shown the great Mayan cities, the citizens are portrayed as cariacatures of corruption: you have the rich, idle, apparently drunken, shit-talking debutantes; the fat, spoiled Mayan prince; the sadistic soldiers, the mute, corrupt leaders. The oft-mentioned violence in this film is indeed pervasive, but apart from a few scenes, this film holds nothing to the genuinely compelling carnage evident in a film like "Old Boy." In Apocalypto, the violence comes across as dressing to a sad dish, and it gets boring. Apocalypto certainly has moments, but it's nothing special. It's worth seeing, but for the wrong reasons. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AmyP.Dec 11, 2006
I went into this movie wondering if I would be able to tolerate all the gore and violence I kept reading about in the reviews of this movie. Instead, I was treated to a visually stunning, wonderful story. There were a couple of scenes where I went into this movie wondering if I would be able to tolerate all the gore and violence I kept reading about in the reviews of this movie. Instead, I was treated to a visually stunning, wonderful story. There were a couple of scenes where I had to avert my eyes, however I have had to do more of that in some of those "teenage" horror flicks that keep on getting released. The story will keep you at the edge of your seat, all the way. Never a false or dull moment. I highly recommend this fascinating movie and hope it gets recognized at Awards time as it so rightly deserves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FlorenceR.Dec 10, 2006
Nothing but blood and gore. I don't think the Mayans were that bloodthirsty and I know they weren't that stupid as to not know about an eclipse of the sun. The last half of the movie is nothing but a chase through the jungle with Nothing but blood and gore. I don't think the Mayans were that bloodthirsty and I know they weren't that stupid as to not know about an eclipse of the sun. The last half of the movie is nothing but a chase through the jungle with the occasional scene of more blood and guts along with a guy with a hole through him from a spear that he removed himself. [***SPOILERS***] So he's bleeding and sweating while for what seems like more than a day ( for him I mean ) with no water or food, then he eventually goes over a falls equal to Niagara, survives that and later gets an arrow through the neck and survives that to keep on running. Come oooooooon ! Enough already ! What a complete waste of my money. I wouldn't sit through it again it they paid ME ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GeoffB.Dec 12, 2006
A waste of $8.50 and 2 hrs of my life. There is very little to this movie. Pay only to see it on video if you have nothing else to do. As some have declared this movie to be "Wonderful" and "Amazing", I declare it to be very unwonderful and A waste of $8.50 and 2 hrs of my life. There is very little to this movie. Pay only to see it on video if you have nothing else to do. As some have declared this movie to be "Wonderful" and "Amazing", I declare it to be very unwonderful and definitely unamazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Dec 15, 2006
Very violent, flip your switch into desensitized and you will be moved by the human element.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonA.Dec 16, 2006
Visually fantastic, the story was compelling and emotional and it kept me on the edge of my seat. I'm not a historian so I don't know how much was fact and fiction but I do know that a lot of the negative reviews of this film are Visually fantastic, the story was compelling and emotional and it kept me on the edge of my seat. I'm not a historian so I don't know how much was fact and fiction but I do know that a lot of the negative reviews of this film are biased and based on personal opinions of Mel and not on the merit of this movie. Maybe my favorite film of 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeL.Dec 17, 2006
Highly entertaining and beautifully shot. If you like to cry over the film's historical mistakes why not offer a reference for proper Mayan Civilization learning instead? This is a Hollywood movie, NOT a documentary. And the violence is Highly entertaining and beautifully shot. If you like to cry over the film's historical mistakes why not offer a reference for proper Mayan Civilization learning instead? This is a Hollywood movie, NOT a documentary. And the violence is far worse in other movies than this one. Although there are key scenes with uncensored gore, the violence is no worse than Saving Private Ryan and other blockbusters. People need to quit blowing it out of proportion. This is a great movie. Go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
Rev.R.Dec 18, 2006
I was watching a remake of the "Naked Prey". The photography was sensational, and the suspense outstanding. I felt Gibson could have done everyone a service with a movie revealing the reasons one of the most sophisticated cultures vanished I was watching a remake of the "Naked Prey". The photography was sensational, and the suspense outstanding. I felt Gibson could have done everyone a service with a movie revealing the reasons one of the most sophisticated cultures vanished (yes barbaric, but they must be understood in their historical context) . Instead, the Mayan civilization is portrayed as a blood-thirsty cult, allowing them to be used much as "leather-face's" family is a great backdrop for the violence of "Texas Chainsaw Massacre". The priests even smile when participating in the violence. For centuries primitive religions have offered blood to the gods in hope of appeasing them; the Mayans were no different. To use a primitive religious belief to set up a violent thriller is hard, for me, to watch. This movie will make money because Gibson knows how to keep you on the edge of your seat. But, it is money that violates the contributions of a people and their heritage who did far more than butcher people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeT.Dec 23, 2006
If you cannot seperate a man's words from his art, then DO NOT review his work. You lose alot of credibility as a critic when you give such an incredible piece of work a bad review...too bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
nathaliey.Dec 24, 2006
At first I was a bit dissapointed but now I want to go see it sgain.Mel Gibson should had focused more on their inteligence and discories instead of those bloody scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KimMDec 26, 2006
It's too bad. I could have gone home being amazed with the production, Mel's visionary direction of the actors, and Mel 's decision to explore the topic of the apocalypse (or maybe Mel would prefer I say, 'an' It's too bad. I could have gone home being amazed with the production, Mel's visionary direction of the actors, and Mel 's decision to explore the topic of the apocalypse (or maybe Mel would prefer I say, 'an' apocalypse') via a rich story of the Mayan civilization. Instead, I left the theater thinking about how much gratuitous violence Mel felt was necessary to drive his point home. Now, don't get me wrong, folks. I don't have a problem with seeing violence and gore. I just don't have to see blood pulsing out of yet another man and out of yet another orifice to get the message. Whatever it was, Mel. I actually left the theater with the impression that this movie was possibly inspired by Mel's experience(s) with episodes of alcohol induced delirium tremens. What a waste of an afternoon, Mel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
A.M.Dec 27, 2006
Very realistic rendering Mayan/Aztec life with a story that was exciting and full of action. Costumes were excellent, filming and storyline very believable, overall I really liked this film. I thought it was original and not as violent as Very realistic rendering Mayan/Aztec life with a story that was exciting and full of action. Costumes were excellent, filming and storyline very believable, overall I really liked this film. I thought it was original and not as violent as the critics said. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JerryK.Dec 28, 2006
From beginning to end I was on the edge of my seat. I learned a lot about the Mayan culture and it was a very worthwhile experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DylanC.Dec 4, 2006
This movie was absolutely ridiculous. It is a comedy version of rambo but with mayans. There was a point about half way through the movie at which the whole audience turned on it because of how stupid some of the scenarios are, but at least This movie was absolutely ridiculous. It is a comedy version of rambo but with mayans. There was a point about half way through the movie at which the whole audience turned on it because of how stupid some of the scenarios are, but at least I got a good laugh out of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillyS.Dec 8, 2006
Well, if Emilio Estevez can do a remake of Nashville under the guise of Robert Kennedy's assassination then why not Mel Gibson's remake of The Fugitive under the guise of the fall of the Mayan Empire? Apocolypto fares much better Well, if Emilio Estevez can do a remake of Nashville under the guise of Robert Kennedy's assassination then why not Mel Gibson's remake of The Fugitive under the guise of the fall of the Mayan Empire? Apocolypto fares much better though, especilly the waterfall escape scene, but it's still just amounts to an ambitious chase movie in a extinct language that continues the brutal violence that Gibson has become famous for. The technical credits are all top notch, and the acting is good considering there's nothing much more than suffering to play. It's all pretty evident that Mr. Gibson is just cashing in on the same gimmicks that worked so well for him in Passion Of The Christ. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KorriK.Dec 8, 2006
Easily the best big movie of the year. Visually stunning. Most of what is shown of the Mayan culture is supported by accepted historical assumptions.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ColbyS.Dec 8, 2006
The critics are full of shite on this one, trust me. When a critic criticizes the maker of a movie instead of the movie itself, you know they're no longer credible. Although violent, gory and somewhat boring at parts, this is an The critics are full of shite on this one, trust me. When a critic criticizes the maker of a movie instead of the movie itself, you know they're no longer credible. Although violent, gory and somewhat boring at parts, this is an amazingly executed allegorical indicment of the society that we are headed toward today. As for the "horrific violence" many Mel-detractors are preaching against: These are the same people that loved Kill Bill, a film using disgustingly bloody violence for sheer entertainment. Apocalypto is violent, yes, but so were the Mayans. It's historical. It adds to the tension. If you don't like it (which no one does), then look away or brace yourself. Overall, lush photography, compelling plot and pretty decent acting, especially considering such a rookie cast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarcKronesDec 9, 2006
As someone who liked "Braveheart" and loved "The Passion...", this film was a big disappointment. Lots of violence, but unlike the other two films, the violence shown here was extremely gratuitous and pointless...i.e., violence for violenceAs someone who liked "Braveheart" and loved "The Passion...", this film was a big disappointment. Lots of violence, but unlike the other two films, the violence shown here was extremely gratuitous and pointless...i.e., violence for violence sake. I thought the negative reviews for this movie were primarily driven because of so many people who now dislike Mel Gibson. But then I saw the movie, and realized this film was judged on it's merits. Either a "4" or a "3" rating...I was in a generous mood giving this a "4." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KitchManDec 9, 2006
Just got in from watching this film... It is truly: an Experience, an intense one at that. Technically speaking, (cinematography, editing, sound fx, score), this film is a present day filmic masterpiece. Gibson truly takes you into his Just got in from watching this film... It is truly: an Experience, an intense one at that. Technically speaking, (cinematography, editing, sound fx, score), this film is a present day filmic masterpiece. Gibson truly takes you into his world, makes you care/empathize with the hero and his plight, pushes and pulls you like you're on a daunting rollercoaster ride. The performances (none of which are Hollywood trained actors, thankfully) are all solid, authentic and believable, especially the lead character, "Jaguar Paw." In my mind, Gibson has created, by far, the greatest foot chase sequence ever put onto film. I am thinking fans of Braveheart will truly enjoy this film/ ride; (after they get past the simple fact that it is in sub-titles/ meaning: not in English). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JoeJoeDec 9, 2006
Apocalypto is easily the most disappointing "Oscar Hopeful," so far this year. Instead of focusing on the true demise of the Maya Empire, it spent two hours depicting horrible violence and gore, which served neither to establish the internal Apocalypto is easily the most disappointing "Oscar Hopeful," so far this year. Instead of focusing on the true demise of the Maya Empire, it spent two hours depicting horrible violence and gore, which served neither to establish the internal strife mentioned at the beginning of the film, nor the turmoil in which conquistadors coming to the New World found Maya Civilization. The unnecessary and excessive violence, coupled with a strong lack of true purpose (the movie may as well have been about one Amerindian Man's "Marathon," Run back to his wife, and forgotten the entire "Mayan internecine conflict," bit) make it seem as though Gibson was more concerned with making a movie to regain his good name than to wow both Hollywood and the Public with a great cinematic achievement. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TracyB.Dec 9, 2006
Beautiful film, but overwhelmingly violent. Yet, I must say that it is much better than the numerous slasher films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OAKsideJan 11, 2007
What a film. Never boring, and never before have the Mayans been on screen like this. A must-watch for 2007. Oh, and Ana C., to give this, of all movies, a zero for "blood and gore" is disgusting. Leave and never come back, please.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MIGUELG.Jan 12, 2007
Very Original. Adventure action drama full of thrills, suspense, and a powerful love story. Its environment and civilization apocalypses seems oddly very current.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeH.Jan 13, 2007
Highly coherent and entertaining. Regardless of your opinion on Gibson, his direction in Apocalypto is sensational, often gritty and confronting at times yet offering enough scope to appreciate the Mayan civilization itself. Although Highly coherent and entertaining. Regardless of your opinion on Gibson, his direction in Apocalypto is sensational, often gritty and confronting at times yet offering enough scope to appreciate the Mayan civilization itself. Although violent, it is not exceptionally different from many other violent films released currently. A brilliant release. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
alteregoJan 14, 2007
Isnt Film is a great medium? Where else can you show the brutality of real life in such an artful way? Mel Gibson is a genuine moviemaker who obviously refuses to make the typical 'isnt-life-great' film...I am happy that we finally Isnt Film is a great medium? Where else can you show the brutality of real life in such an artful way? Mel Gibson is a genuine moviemaker who obviously refuses to make the typical 'isnt-life-great' film...I am happy that we finally get to see a movie that makes our adrenalin rush AND seriously think about human nature, it has fascinating faces in it, heartstopping action-scenes and a special atmosphere that definitely makes it one of the most interesting movies of the year...if you cant stand blood and truth, go watch gilmore girls! THANKS MEL. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NiallL.Jan 14, 2007
Stunning - fantastic story telling. A wonderful cinematic experence - visually spectacular. Makes the heart pound relentlessly. Perhaps it lacks only an emphimeral dimension but I don't think that this detracts in the slightest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
K.L.Jan 21, 2007
Nice scenery and some genuine fearful moments when the captives are offered for sacrifice and the scrambled to reach the corn field to freedom. Not entirely sure why some lots of people rated the film with 9 and 10s, it wasn't THAT Nice scenery and some genuine fearful moments when the captives are offered for sacrifice and the scrambled to reach the corn field to freedom. Not entirely sure why some lots of people rated the film with 9 and 10s, it wasn't THAT good. [***SPOILER***]Have you not seen John Rambo in First Blood? That's essential what this movie was, a man being hunted down by the bad guys in the forest and Rambo or Jag Paw, in this case, takes them down one by one, using all his knowledge of the forest to heal his wounds and to make lethal weapons and traps. Another reason I wouldn't over rate the movie were the number of glaringly obvious " that is unlikely to happen" moments. 1) What are the chances that a solar eclipes occurs just as our hero is about to be sacrificed? Several million to one I would guess. 2) What are the chances that our fully fit hero could out run a enraged Jaquar , very slim indeed, so if our hero was injured as he was the chances fall from slim to virtually no chance. 3) For such a skilled and knowledgeable hunter in his own territory how come the location of waterfall came as such a big suprise to him? Surely it wasn't too small for him to have missed before! Even if the waterfall wasn't known to our hero previously then how come he couldn't detect it either from the sound or his previously heightened sense of detection which allows him to sence forest intruders before anyone else? 4) Having survived the waterfall our hero boasts that he is back in his forest now which he knows inside out , then proceeds to walk straight into a pit of quick sand! They must have have put that in whilst he was away! 5) Pits don't fill up THAT quickly with rain water! Even if it did fill up with rain water surely our heroes family would have developed good swimming skills (Living so close to the sea) and would have been able to hold out or even float to the top of the pit. To conclude this movie is worth a watch but has too many farfetched moments to take seriously. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
James.Dec 16, 2007
The lead actor is great. The film is a piece of junk, depicting the Maya as absurd frat boys, is wildly inacurrate, and predictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
hugosanJan 26, 2007
I really cant understand why some ppl qualify this movie with 2's and 3's, its true the movie got gruesome scenes, but if you have a little brain you would realize that thats how reallity its really all about, ppl do loose arms andI really cant understand why some ppl qualify this movie with 2's and 3's, its true the movie got gruesome scenes, but if you have a little brain you would realize that thats how reallity its really all about, ppl do loose arms and legs and during prehispanic mayan and aztec cultures human sacrifices happened, sure its not historically acurrate but thats why its a movie and not a documentary. It transport you in a trip in the anciend Mesoamerica and offers the viewer a glimpse of what life whas all about during those times. Im very pleased as a Mexican with the portrait it delivers cose it neither glorify neither condmemn the society of those days. Its simply feels real. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LuciaV.Feb 12, 2007
This was a terrible movie if you are looking for reliable information regarding the Mayan people and their advanced civilization. If you know that and are looking for a believable action film, it is an awful movie with all its implausible This was a terrible movie if you are looking for reliable information regarding the Mayan people and their advanced civilization. If you know that and are looking for a believable action film, it is an awful movie with all its implausible thrill scenes. Neither the hunters or the hunted behaved as knowledgeable forest dwellers. It made the characters look stupid at best. Those who liked this movie must be as stupid as the director (who could not create a single credible scene) as they wax excitedly over big screen stupidity. I just hope no one uses this film to try to better know our southern neighbors. This film continues in the genre of demeaning, stereotypical racist caricatures of Mexicans or their ancestors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndresA.Feb 13, 2007
How many people are going to actually watch this movie and say: "okay, let's excuse the historic inaccuracies, since this is is just a fiction film" ? The same way people derived a strong anti-semitic message from "the Passion of the How many people are going to actually watch this movie and say: "okay, let's excuse the historic inaccuracies, since this is is just a fiction film" ? The same way people derived a strong anti-semitic message from "the Passion of the Christ", they will believe Gibson's message that this is actually what the Maya culture used to look like a thousand years ago. Sad indeed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinM.Jun 16, 2007
This was a very good show, a real underdog kind of thing. I don't know how it got such a low rating, but I can't see how anyone could find fault with it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshW.Jun 25, 2007
I thought this movie was amazing! A superb story. Gripping and thought provoking from start to finish.Who cares if it might not be historically accurate. There are people who go on... Blah.Blah..Blah about it`s improper depiction of the I thought this movie was amazing! A superb story. Gripping and thought provoking from start to finish.Who cares if it might not be historically accurate. There are people who go on... Blah.Blah..Blah about it`s improper depiction of the Mayan culture and the likelihood of such circumstances arising. Where you there? I think not! So take your conceptions and get back to your TV so you can watch that "real life " drama that your so fond of. This Movie is thrilling and definitely one of the better movies to come out of Hollywood. Mel is a friggin genius! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimQJul 12, 2007
Horrific, and beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
{Anonymous]Sep 19, 2007
I really don't understand why people have such a huge issue with this movie. Yes it is violent, but I have seen people stabbed and if it is anything like being hit with an arrow, then I would say the amount of gore was absolutely I really don't understand why people have such a huge issue with this movie. Yes it is violent, but I have seen people stabbed and if it is anything like being hit with an arrow, then I would say the amount of gore was absolutely accurate! If you get clubbed in the head or shot or stabbed, you're going to effing bleed...profusely. It is actually historically accurate that the Mayans practiced sacrifice and anyone who tries to deny this is the one being ignorant. Yes, the Mayans were also highly advanced in many ways and the movie did not really address this but was there really time to delve into the various achievements of the Mayans? People already complained it was too long! Couldn't we see by their architecture and complex city system in the movie that they weren't just a barbaric people?? The story line had nothing to do with it, so get over it. Also, I would like to point out that everyone commented on the ridiculousness of the eclipse. The high priests could actually predict before hand (using their advanced Mayan knowledge everyone claimed the movie was devoid of...) the exact time of an eclipse and therefore could use these sacrifices more as a way to retain the people's support because they would then think the prest was behind the eclipse. He knew it was coming!! Did everyone miss the subtle nod between the priest and the "king" right when the eclipse occurred??? It was not so ridiculous after all. Also, giving birth in water is one of the easiest ways to give birth. Seriously people, get over it. Just be positive. I mean, it takes a good movie to be sad and disturbing the whole way through and then leave you feeling a sense of some hope in the end. And the ambiguity of the ending leaves so much room for after thought. ps. If you don't like blood and that makes you sick then a)don't see a Mel Gibson movie and b)don't see a rated R movie for gore and violence!! Those warnings are there for a reason!You, not Mel and his movie, are the idiots in this situation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
paulaSep 21, 2007
in general the movie is good, and it's the typical movie, with violence and gore, etc...but if you are looking for historical events or you want to know more about mesoamericans civilizations , better get a book, because this movie isin general the movie is good, and it's the typical movie, with violence and gore, etc...but if you are looking for historical events or you want to know more about mesoamericans civilizations , better get a book, because this movie is completely wrong. "you like gore and violence, go ahead,,,,,, this is the movie.""" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
barbb.Nov 18, 2008
Great mel you are the best i like all of your movies but this one you out did your self i will watch it again also reading up on the mayan tribe now very interesting love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesM.Dec 21, 2008
A movie about pre colonial Mexico with a message for today? Exciting and with a message that takes a little thought to see clearly. Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrennanMJun 15, 2008
Oh gosh......how did so many people like this!?!? This movie was just sick! People are talking about how well it was done, and how powerful it was, yet....I seriously can't see any of that! It wasn't powerful, it was gross! Power Oh gosh......how did so many people like this!?!? This movie was just sick! People are talking about how well it was done, and how powerful it was, yet....I seriously can't see any of that! It wasn't powerful, it was gross! Power and oppression is shown through scenes with characters and their losses, but this movie just replaced good acting with 10 minutes of head chopping! Seriously, I cannot repeat enough: This movie is not powerful, it's just an over dramatic gorefest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
jamesjSep 28, 2008
I don't know--should have given this a 10, because I thought it was absolutely hilarious. I watched the whole movie and then watched it AGAIN, with the commentary on. It was that entertaining. I mean--a lot of people I respect really I don't know--should have given this a 10, because I thought it was absolutely hilarious. I watched the whole movie and then watched it AGAIN, with the commentary on. It was that entertaining. I mean--a lot of people I respect really liked this movie. But I mean, first, there were historical inaccuracies you could drive a semi-truck through. In fact, I'm kind of surprised that wasn't included in the film! Gibson apparently had a hard time separating Maya from Aztec culture, not to mention one century from another. It's interesting that Mr. Cultural Understanding Gibson considered placing the movie's settings among the Aztecs, but dismissed it because of their brutality. (I think we of the 21st century have got to move past our gawking at Aztec brutality to really try and understand their historical cultures. I'm not sure, with our history of crusades and genocides and atomic weaponry and wars carried out based on lies--not sure we are equipped to dismiss any culture based on their "brutality") But, it's interesting that Gibson rejected the Aztecs, but then transferred all the most gory and brutal aspects of the Aztecs to the Mayans! I mean, Mayas did not carry out the mass sacrifices the Aztecs did. What's more, in terms of historical accuracy, urban civilization was hardly in full, or even half, swing when the Spanish arrived. But what's so hilarious about the movie is just how incredibly over the top it is. The ending! (Spoiler alert, I guess--but each time I watch it, it just gets funnier!) I mean, this dazzling foot race is going on while the guy's wife has fallen in a hole that's filling up with water, and then, in a birth sequence that is even more absurd than the sequence in Cronenberg's The Fly, where Gina Davis gives birth to a baby-sized maggot, she pops out a baby standing on tip-toes with the water having risen to her head, with her stretching her nose up for air! And, when I say that baby pops out, I mean, it pops out! Certainly one of the funniest moments of the film! And THEN, to top it all off, Jaguar Paws or whatever his name is, is being pursued by two Urban Maya intent on doing him harm only to suddenly run up on a Spanish ship coming into shore! Hoo boy, what a hoot! Definitely an entertaining film, but not in the way it was meant to be! What I can't believe is that folks like Robert Duvall, Edward James Olmos, and Roger Ebert all were enthusiastic to the point of hyperbole about this film. I mean--I respect all those guys...but maybe a little less than I had before! Maybe I'm just an idiot or something, but this film had me rolling in the floor with laughter! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ThomasB.Dec 11, 2006
Everyone's harping on the gore like this is some kind of Tarantino film. There are scenes with realistic violence, but it's nothing beyond any contemporary action or horror film. The acting and cinematography were beautiful, and I Everyone's harping on the gore like this is some kind of Tarantino film. There are scenes with realistic violence, but it's nothing beyond any contemporary action or horror film. The acting and cinematography were beautiful, and I thought the chase story was really compelling. It was reminescent of an asian vengeance film (maybe sans vengeance). Just one thing nagged at me, kept my rating so low. I was appalled at the use of the Durant quote in the beginning, the suggestion apparently that the indigenous peoples of the Americas were somehow asking to be decimated by Europeans. Pretty irresponsible message from a director who should be watching his image a little more carefully these days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonJacinthoDec 11, 2006
Hoberman and Toppman.... Hmmm, I wonder why they didn' t like this movie. Anyway, the movie is great. Braveheart was awesome and I didn't like The Passion all that much. Apoc is a stunning film. If the scenes depicted were inHoberman and Toppman.... Hmmm, I wonder why they didn' t like this movie. Anyway, the movie is great. Braveheart was awesome and I didn't like The Passion all that much. Apoc is a stunning film. If the scenes depicted were in Mayan hieroglyphics, guess what? It is an accurate historical portayal! Women may not like the portayal of violence because they don't like to live in reality (OK, maybe a few do), so stay home and watch something relevant like Friends. This movie rocks. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because there are a few irrelevant scenes like the tree falling. How did that make the cut? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AaronH.Dec 12, 2006
I find it hard to believe that so many people are giving this movie below a 5. I can understand that it is not everyone's cup of tea, but overall its a well made movie. I liked the story and I really cared about the plight of Jaguar Paw I find it hard to believe that so many people are giving this movie below a 5. I can understand that it is not everyone's cup of tea, but overall its a well made movie. I liked the story and I really cared about the plight of Jaguar Paw and his tribe. It is essentially a different take on the Braveheart and Patriot formulas. If you liked either of these movies (Braveheart is one of my favorites and I thought the Patriot was very good) then I think you would like this movie. It's violent and gory in parts, but this aspect of the film is being exagerated by many. The graphic nature of the violence and suffering is in the ball park of what was in Braveheart, but it is nowhere as bad as The Passion of the Christ or many horror movies. I cant help but think that some people's views of this film are being influenced by Gibson's personal history and ultra graphic The Passion of the Christ. If this had opened before The Passion of the Christ and Mel's drunken incident the reviews would probably be significantly higher. Being that Braveheart was first I can't give it a 10, but it was one of my favorites this year and one I would like to see again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MICHAELA.Dec 14, 2006
Amazing! Hypnotic! Electrifying! Gibson has channeled the anchient Mayans and traveled back through the centuries bringing us a masterpiece. This filmic achievement places Mel Gibsen next to Hitchcock, Bergman, Welles, Coppola and Scorsese. Amazing! Hypnotic! Electrifying! Gibson has channeled the anchient Mayans and traveled back through the centuries bringing us a masterpiece. This filmic achievement places Mel Gibsen next to Hitchcock, Bergman, Welles, Coppola and Scorsese. Apocalypto is a stunning piece of cinematic magic and awe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
UnPCReviewDec 16, 2006
All human civilizations were barbaric even while at the same time creating innovations in art, sciences, and technology. This movie addresses the cost of civilization, you have classes of people. Warriors trained only to kill, peasants only All human civilizations were barbaric even while at the same time creating innovations in art, sciences, and technology. This movie addresses the cost of civilization, you have classes of people. Warriors trained only to kill, peasants only skilled for farming, slaves only skilled for the quarries, greedy mechants putting prices on everything, rulers and priests controlling the masses. In the small village no such class structure existed, everything was a lot simpler. It was not as corruptible an environment as the civilization. Not once did the movie even refer to the civilization as being the Maya and theres no way of knowing for sure whether all sacrificial victims came from willing citizens. It's stupid to give this movie a 3 because you think it didn't represent Mayans fairly. The truth is human sacrifice was first practiced by the Mayans and it was carried out by the empires that succeded the Mayans (Toltecs/Aztecs). Mel used the Mayan civilization as a metaphor for all civilizations. Even with the appearance of the Spanish at the end our protaganist is smart enough to realize they are no different than the Mayans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatrickD.Dec 16, 2006
Mel Gibson's films are heart on sleeve action films, and Apocalypto does not do anyting to persuade otherwise. It's overly sentimental in many ways, but in the end hews closer to Braveheart than it does The Passion of the Christ. Mel Gibson's films are heart on sleeve action films, and Apocalypto does not do anyting to persuade otherwise. It's overly sentimental in many ways, but in the end hews closer to Braveheart than it does The Passion of the Christ. The costumes are beautiful and there are some beautiful shots. The problems that I have with the film is that the plot is light and that the grand pronouncement at the beginning of the film is nowhere to be found later. In the end if you want to watch a solid action film with emotional resonance set in a different world, then I'd watch this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WayneJ.Dec 17, 2006
Absolutely amazing. An epic. Wait 10 years and it will be appreciated for the great film it is. Truly great films are never immediately appreciated by critics or movie fans - it takes time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Dec 18, 2006
"An Occurence at Owl Creek" was atypical of "The Twilight Zone"(it was more like a French short subject film), but "Apocalypto" bears an uncanny resemblance to both. The payoff for this visionary film is executed with Rod Serling-like "An Occurence at Owl Creek" was atypical of "The Twilight Zone"(it was more like a French short subject film), but "Apocalypto" bears an uncanny resemblance to both. The payoff for this visionary film is executed with Rod Serling-like precision. For me, and for others, what the Mayans are confronted with is akin to a twist ending, because some of us thought the cause of the Mayans' demise was greater in scale. All that chasing, and there's a lot of chasing (and blood, there's a lot of blood), seems less monotonous in afterthought. There's a method to this anti-Semite's madness. "Apocalypto" is absolutely brilliant in how the film's genre has fluidity, which would be made possible if a viewer from an isolated part of the world (with a primitive culture) migrated to a technologically-advanced country. If you think "Apocalypto" is simple-minded, think again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ErikN.Dec 19, 2006
Mel Gibson proves once again that he is a terrific director. Action movie making at its best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChrisH.Dec 22, 2006
I voted this movie a 2 in honor of the 2 scenes in the entire movie that were interesting. This movie was made for the lowest common denominator. The action is boring and the plot (what little there is) is predictable. I would recommend I voted this movie a 2 in honor of the 2 scenes in the entire movie that were interesting. This movie was made for the lowest common denominator. The action is boring and the plot (what little there is) is predictable. I would recommend seeing this movie, but only to show how truly untalented Gibson is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaleM.Dec 26, 2006
Excellent. Typical of Gibson in the way he juxtaposes scenes of tremedous violence with scenes of commonplace tenderness. This movie may be too vilolent for some viewers, but filmgoers who enjoy teen-oriented blood and gore movies will be Excellent. Typical of Gibson in the way he juxtaposes scenes of tremedous violence with scenes of commonplace tenderness. This movie may be too vilolent for some viewers, but filmgoers who enjoy teen-oriented blood and gore movies will be disappointed. The point of the movie is not to present violence and to scare you. The movie shows a world where there is both violence and tenderness. It's the same world as in Passion of the Christ and Braveheart. The poet Yeats said it well: when the domestic world of tenderness is violated, "a terrible beauty is born." It is terrible and it is beautiful and it is awe-inspiring. We come away appreciating the commonplace more than ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
seDec 27, 2006
Typical gibson gore-fest for 2/3 of the movie. not worth watching. 2 dimensional characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DirigiblePulpJan 4, 2017
Mel Gibson can direct some real intensity, even through ham-handed moments that would derail lesser films. This film is intense and febrile, using the Gibson-classic near Martyrdom of a main character's suffering to build to an enlightenment.Mel Gibson can direct some real intensity, even through ham-handed moments that would derail lesser films. This film is intense and febrile, using the Gibson-classic near Martyrdom of a main character's suffering to build to an enlightenment. It works, even when his wife is giving birth in a rapidly filling well and he's being saved by a little kid's prophecies and sudden eclipses in the sky (I thought the Mayans could predict these with precision?) that is admittedly awe-inspiring.

There's no need to reiterate in too much detail (it's been done to death) how impressive this film was to make. Shot on location, using the Maya language with a bunch of local, non-professional actors, elaborately re-created sets and mostly stunning camera work.

Though I will say some of the digital hand-held photography hasn't held up, like most digital from that time, and looks "digitized" and lacking in detail and clarity. Some shots are still amazing (I think some of this was shot on film and I read briefly about some crane they used for overhead shots) but others are bafflingly video-like. It creates a disconnect at times.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JennetPApr 20, 2011
A real spectacle! Drawing inspiration from Mayan culture, Gibson creates his own vision of Mesoamerica, aesthetically coherent yet overwhelming to the senses. In it, urban mercenaries attack isolated villages, hoping to reverse their city'sA real spectacle! Drawing inspiration from Mayan culture, Gibson creates his own vision of Mesoamerica, aesthetically coherent yet overwhelming to the senses. In it, urban mercenaries attack isolated villages, hoping to reverse their city's decline by sacrificing captives to an insatiable sun-god. The sacrifice and the frenzy around it are dazzling; everything looks reminiscent of Mayan art yet, at the same, time, marvelously new. Beneath the exotic surface, however, run familiar emotional currents, and the charismatic young actors have no difficulty inspiring sympathy despite speaking entirely in a language most of us have never heard. But, alas, Gibson brought his ideological sledgehammer to the set. As the film opens, we read, in the immortal words of Will Durant, "A great civilization is not conquered from without until it has destroyed itself from within." In other words, what could have been a tale of a village besieged or the birth of a hero or the power of love is also an apology for imperialism. Look here, says Gibson, let me show you why Native Mesoamerica DESERVED Cortes. Those heathens piled up dead bodies like so much firewood, making the theft, betrayal, slaughter, and germ warfare that Europeans practiced a form of justice--pretty much what the conquistadors said at the time, if memory serves. As for the argument that the film is meant as a mirror of contemporary western culture, that does not shut down other lines of interpretation. If there's one thing everyone knows about Gibson, it's that he's a pre-Vatican II Catholic, meaning he was raised with the idea that every story has four levels: the distant past, the recent past, the end of time, and the individual soul. From the title onward, "Apocalypto" announces that it's about Mesoamerica AND the modern west AND the Apocalypse AND a person's family bonds, no one of which cancels out another. Objections aside, I recommend the film but suggest following it with "The Mission." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ace97Sep 20, 2010
This movie is about the fall of the aztec empire and Gibson has done an excellent job portraying the horrifying brutality of this race. Watched again in HD after reading the book Aztec by Gary Jennings and Gibson's movie brought the book toThis movie is about the fall of the aztec empire and Gibson has done an excellent job portraying the horrifying brutality of this race. Watched again in HD after reading the book Aztec by Gary Jennings and Gibson's movie brought the book to life. Previous comments were correct that the Mayans had disappeared long before the time in the movie with the arrival of Cortez the killer. He does use the mayan god Kukulcan instead of aztec Huitzilopochtli - not sure why he didn't get his facts right but still great historical fiction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
asylumspadezNov 19, 2011
Actually pretty good for the most part. The one flaw of the movie is that its far too long and really could have been shortend quite a bit and imo it could have gotten the film a lot better reviews as well. It does get a little dull at timesActually pretty good for the most part. The one flaw of the movie is that its far too long and really could have been shortend quite a bit and imo it could have gotten the film a lot better reviews as well. It does get a little dull at times and doesnt really have much suspense either but still a solid film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
1337cowJan 31, 2011
Fantastic film. I can't really say it was an "accurate portrayal" of the Mayan culture but it sure felt like it. It was intense and visually outstanding, when you see the sacrifice scene and the crowd of people is shown it is amazing how manyFantastic film. I can't really say it was an "accurate portrayal" of the Mayan culture but it sure felt like it. It was intense and visually outstanding, when you see the sacrifice scene and the crowd of people is shown it is amazing how many there are, and if you see pictures of the actors after watching the movie it's incredible how they transformed them completely with the piercings that looked so real and clothing that seemed so authentic. I liked how the movie wasn't in English because it would have ruined the movie like other times I've seen things like world war II movies where the Germans all have American accents. Overall this film just feels like what i would have imagined Mayan culture to be like and the one small complaint that i had was in character development. Besides the main character you didn't really learn much about anyone. Still this movie is not to be missed, unless you have a weak stomach because there is some pretty visual stuff, but again that really just helps capture the feel of the setting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DschlessNov 17, 2010
This is a very good movie. The costumes, the jungle depiction of the natural world. It presents a non-European world view. The action is fantastic. It is brutal, but not gratuitous. It works on many levels. Pre-European native americanThis is a very good movie. The costumes, the jungle depiction of the natural world. It presents a non-European world view. The action is fantastic. It is brutal, but not gratuitous. It works on many levels. Pre-European native american worldviews are sorely needed in the film world. The actors all play great roles. It may not be historically perfect, but really enjoyable. The prophecies are pertinent to our modern world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
tulsytrid1Feb 6, 2011
If one can get past the fact that this movie was meant to entertain and not educate, I think they would enjoy this film. The movie is a bit violent and not recommended for younger viewers. I think that the film does show how violent theIf one can get past the fact that this movie was meant to entertain and not educate, I think they would enjoy this film. The movie is a bit violent and not recommended for younger viewers. I think that the film does show how violent the Mayans probably lived. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SkulbSep 25, 2014
Apocalypto is a beautiful and horrifying movie about a tribe of native Americans which gets raided by the Mayas to be enslaved, painted blue, ritually sacrificed, eaten and who knows what else. It is a virtual descent into hell and back againApocalypto is a beautiful and horrifying movie about a tribe of native Americans which gets raided by the Mayas to be enslaved, painted blue, ritually sacrificed, eaten and who knows what else. It is a virtual descent into hell and back again for the viewer, though nowhere near as persistently hellish as Passion of Christ, as the movie follows the main character while he tries to escape the clutches of the deranged Mayan soldiery. All of it is done using Mayan language, which adds quite a lot of believability to the entire thing. Historically though, the proceedings are a sort of mix between Mayan and Aztec culture, and deliberately so, for reasons I`ll get to.
As always I feel myself compelled to use Metacritic to point out allegories in movies, because nobody else is apparently able to notice them. And particularly the "this isn`t historically accurate" people, who have missed every single point about both Passion of Christ and Apocalypto. The reason Gibson used a composite for the imperial culture in Apocalypto is precisely to make it obvious that the movie is not intended to be a docudrama but an allegory of the conflict between power and empire on one side and freedom and natural humanity on the other. It is expected that the viewer notices these simple things to be able to also notice that the entire religious ceremony through which the Mayan elite exercises its power is a farce, a pantomime and a gigantic fraud, and that they all know it up on top of the pyramid, while the subjects down below do not. The whole thing is nothing more than a staged performance of state organized brutality, intended to frighten the peasants.
This is the main statement Gibson makes in Apocalypto: that power is a fraud, maintained only through terrorizing the people. But because he is not really talking about Mayas, but about our present western power elite, he distorts it by mixing Aztec and Mayan culture. And this is what should tell us that the movie is a political, philosophical allegory about imperialism and oligarchy, which is not intended to be viewed as a period piece or anything of the sort. Otherwise he would not have blended the cultures see? Like Passion of Christ, Apocalypto tries to deal with the hypocrisy and mass murder at the heart of western civilization, with illegitimate power elites suppressing humanity, justice, freedom and truth, by using lies and violence in order to perpetuate their power. It presents a view on the evils of government as organized violence against the inherent good of man in his natural state. Once you truly understand this you`ll figure out that neither of these two movies are strictly about the subject matters, but are far more profound than that. So that`s why these "historical inaccuracies that might confuse people" are in the movie, and not because "Gibson doesn`t know how to read a history book".

Apocalypto is an allegory of contemporary oligarchical nonsense like the "War on Terror", the "War on Drugs", and an endless barrage of equally contrived and fake things. In fact, it is an allegory of any rule by lies, fraud, violence, intimidation and public spectacle and above all it is an allegory of good and evil. But if Mel Gibson had made this movie without allegories, he would probably have been shot by the CIA or been sent off to an insane asylum like Hemingway and Pound were. So much for free speech in the United States, and allegories it is then! Too bad most of the public are deaf dumb and blind to those. Oh well, what can you do, apart from whine about it on Metacritic?

I`m done with my rant now. Go watch Apocalypto at once if you haven`t already. Mass stupidity must be resisted!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cabritaAug 13, 2012
The film builds it's characters themes and setting until it finally breaks out into a gut wrenching thrill ride. Although many are saying this is just an action film and has nothing to say there is a surprising amount of depth in the themes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
spadenxDec 15, 2011
I enjoyed it. Thought it was a decent film but it felt a little too dragged on and it made me lose interest in the film. While it was solid through out, It just wasnt great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
xjamesJan 6, 2012
I thought that this movie, while not comparable to Braveheart, or the Passion, was good in its own way. Though bloody and violent, the plot line was a classic Mel Gibson. I watched an oppressed person rise above insane odds (much like in TheI thought that this movie, while not comparable to Braveheart, or the Passion, was good in its own way. Though bloody and violent, the plot line was a classic Mel Gibson. I watched an oppressed person rise above insane odds (much like in The Passion, and Braveheart). I loved the movie and thought that the native language used throughout only helped create a more realistic movie. This is another great win for Mel Gibson. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobJan 2, 2013
Watching it with my family when it first came out and we all really enjoyed it. What I really liked about it was that it managed to keep you interested from start to finish. Just a solid movie overall imo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AwesomeReviewerMar 26, 2012
First things first, the movie is a chase movie without any cheesy special effects, CGI, or flashy cars. It is the bare bones of survival, a man running for his life. The movie tackles messages about the price for being free and how much weFirst things first, the movie is a chase movie without any cheesy special effects, CGI, or flashy cars. It is the bare bones of survival, a man running for his life. The movie tackles messages about the price for being free and how much we cherish our lives and the lives of the ones we love. It also tells of how a great civilization, that is very smart and advanced can turn to such inhumane and animal like practices in times of great depression.

The first thing I noticed while watching the movie is the cinematography, which is so beautiful. Giving us great shots of the forest and ancient cities. It is especially good in the chase sequences where I felt like I was the character and running for my life. Mel Gibson, one of my favorite directors, directs this movie so well. He has a knack for creating drama and very brutal scenes. My heart was constantly pounding even in slow scenes where nothing was happening. Iâ
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJun 18, 2016
Thrilling, moving, and all-around stunning, Apocalypto is a spell binding tale of survival set during the fall of the Mayan civilization and on the cusp of European discovery. A truly haunting and, at times, scary film Apocalypto thrills withThrilling, moving, and all-around stunning, Apocalypto is a spell binding tale of survival set during the fall of the Mayan civilization and on the cusp of European discovery. A truly haunting and, at times, scary film Apocalypto thrills with ease thanks to the great direction from Mel Gibson. Though it can be historically inaccurate and disrespectful towards the Mayans at times, it does paint a sympathetic portrait of some factions of the civilization, including that which our hero belongs. The film really paints a mysterious picture of the current events plus those to follow, with there being a significant swell of unease amongst the people in the film as they are unsure of what their future will hold. Additionally, the film has incredible mise en scene with great use of lighting and, similar to Gibson's The Passion of the Christ, a film that can be told through the eyes and the visuals. The subtitles are needed, but not required in this relatable table of survival and fear. The costumes and make-up are fantastic, as is the camera work and production design. Gibson really ensures that the beauty of this scenic location is brought to life against this backdrop of sheer horror. Gibson does a great job keeping a hold of this film from going off the rails with the complex situations of the society and with the excessive violence. Overall, Apocalypto is a thrilling and exciting film that really does become moving at times with its portrayal of desperation, but above all, entertains and delivers artistically. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
godlikegirishAug 17, 2012
This movie is probably one of the best movies in the decade, and probably the one of the most underrated ones. Surely deserved an Oscar for Direction. Mel Gibson should be looking forward to direct more movies with some good scripts. As farThis movie is probably one of the best movies in the decade, and probably the one of the most underrated ones. Surely deserved an Oscar for Direction. Mel Gibson should be looking forward to direct more movies with some good scripts. As far as this movie is concerned, you don't see a single moment which bores you as it is intense, deep and thoughtful. Language is no barrier and acting is superb considering relatively unknown cast. For me, this movie is always going to remain on top 10 all time favourite list. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
hardkor33Aug 5, 2013
Apocalypto 8/10.......................................................................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Jul 29, 2013
Thanks to Gibson's self-evident understanding of cinematic scope and an utterly astounding level of detail in the costume and production design departments, "Apocalypto" breathes a richly believable breath of atmosphere into a civilizationThanks to Gibson's self-evident understanding of cinematic scope and an utterly astounding level of detail in the costume and production design departments, "Apocalypto" breathes a richly believable breath of atmosphere into a civilization long gone and a story that's relatable to most. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews