Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: December 8, 2006
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 481 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
367
Mixed:
44
Negative:
70
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ChaiM.Feb 2, 2007
The movie was superbly created. With tons of metaphors and thoughts about courage, I, as an avid movie buff will certainly crave for this movie every once in a while...way to go!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattO'SJan 7, 2007
the most intense, nail-biting, seat grabbing flick i have seen all year. i have not left a cinema felling so tense since i saw tarintinos hostel, which by no means was a great film, but very gruesome. the movie has you has you captivated fromthe most intense, nail-biting, seat grabbing flick i have seen all year. i have not left a cinema felling so tense since i saw tarintinos hostel, which by no means was a great film, but very gruesome. the movie has you has you captivated from start to finish. the setting is perfect, its great to see an all hispanic cast of virtual nobodies - who can act, and the ancient mayan language caps it off and adds to the overall sinister tone of the film. not for the light hearted but a must see in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BernardB.Jan 10, 2007
Undoubtedly the best action film ever shot.100% pure adrenaline.Blood and gore match the Mayan civilization of yore and criticizing Mel Gibson's realistic viewpoint is actually quite laughable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SolN.Jan 6, 2007
I just came from the movie theater and searched the internet to rate this film. One word, Brilliant!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LlaveO.Feb 5, 2007
The film may be subject to negative comments for historical inaccuracies and brutal violences, but as a fiction, without a doubt, it is a masterpiece especially the performances of actors-- collectively, they performed with tribal perfection!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShelbyJ.Apr 4, 2008
I loved the movie. I think it was exciting and there was never a dull moment. I think that they should have more movies about this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MGC.Dec 7, 2006
Read Scott Foundas and Todd McCarthy and ignore the looney preachings of dinosaurs like Turan. This is a humanistic masterpiece, but sadly, telling the truth about humanity is, in Turan's weird book of Solemn Movie Rules, verboten.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnV.Jan 14, 2007
My wife and I discussed the symbolisms for hours! It really made me think of the world around us and inspired me to make a difference. Thank You Mr. Gibson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
erinbJan 2, 2007
I could not understand why people couldn't believe that part of Maya culture was sacrificing their captives. I don't question opinions on historical accuracy but this is a movie not a documentary. The violence was apt for how the I could not understand why people couldn't believe that part of Maya culture was sacrificing their captives. I don't question opinions on historical accuracy but this is a movie not a documentary. The violence was apt for how the order of things were conducted in those days. I take the movie for what it is...it shows the demise of a decadent culture that has become numb to violence and has lost its respect for life. If this was directed by somebody else it would have gotten rave reviews for portraying the parallelisms that exist in the world then and what exists in the world now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VinceUndisclosedJan 2, 2007
Absolutely amazing. Graphic, but really gets your attention. Very well thought out, written, and displayed on the screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianDowdyJan 20, 2007
Should get best picture/director/actor, but it won't. This is an awesome movie that I saw twice last year and the images (eating testicles) stick with me still today. Gibson really knows how to ramp up the violence! This is pureShould get best picture/director/actor, but it won't. This is an awesome movie that I saw twice last year and the images (eating testicles) stick with me still today. Gibson really knows how to ramp up the violence! This is pure adrenaline, better than any Rocky, fight movie you could consider. This movie is a Rush. Go see it. No other movie this past year gets a 4/4 except this one. Don't believe the hype about the violence. It's not THAT bad. I've seen worse. Excellent film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FreddsyD.Jan 26, 2007
Action masterpiece!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HardishJan 6, 2007
This was an intense rollercoaster cinematic experience. How times have changed--20 years ago this would've possibly been classed as a mondo movie (probably with smaller production values and banned) and even 10 years ago in the UK this This was an intense rollercoaster cinematic experience. How times have changed--20 years ago this would've possibly been classed as a mondo movie (probably with smaller production values and banned) and even 10 years ago in the UK this movie would've seen censor cuts before a cinema release. Yes, it's violent and gory but Gibson is one of them rare directors who is not afraid to tell a story so real, that as an audience member, I was pretty much living the experience on the screen. Beautiful, uncomprimising and emotional on many levels. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardT.Sep 14, 2007
Apocalypto clearly refers to the practice of human sacrifices in Mesoamerican societies, mainly the Aztec people. I would refer to Michel Graulich work:
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TupacSep 2, 2007
It's in my top 5 favorite movies of all-time. I usually don't like movies with subtitles in them but this one is different; it doesn't seem like a chore to be reading because it is such a good story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartinaC.Feb 7, 2008
Brilliant, inspiring, and very bloody. But I couldn't take my eyes of the screen. Gibson is brilliant story teller. The point is that while they are killing each other, bigger beast is coming to wipe them out. It's to remind us to Brilliant, inspiring, and very bloody. But I couldn't take my eyes of the screen. Gibson is brilliant story teller. The point is that while they are killing each other, bigger beast is coming to wipe them out. It's to remind us to live today for the moment, because there may not be another chance to do or say what we always wanted to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bobc.May 10, 2008
Alex S. got it ALL correct..Mel's a great movie maker. I'm sick to death of smarmy so called movie critics who by and large, are self appointed seeing themselves as omnipotent arbiters of our entertainment..I would like to drop Alex S. got it ALL correct..Mel's a great movie maker. I'm sick to death of smarmy so called movie critics who by and large, are self appointed seeing themselves as omnipotent arbiters of our entertainment..I would like to drop them back at the temple altar and see how they'd rate his accuracy. Mel .. love ya work! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jazzmanMay 27, 2009
Really a great movie. If you haven't seen it check it out. in my top 10 movies all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidJun 16, 2009
I loved this movie!!! Very graphic in certain areas, but one of the few films I could watch over and over.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JonathanP.Dec 13, 2006
Some of these comments are as asinine as the reviews were. The violence was mostly limited to a handful of scenes and completely overblown. As a film, it's a fantastic portrayal into how life was in that era and proves that Mel Gibson Some of these comments are as asinine as the reviews were. The violence was mostly limited to a handful of scenes and completely overblown. As a film, it's a fantastic portrayal into how life was in that era and proves that Mel Gibson has an unparalleled ability at transporting the audience to another era. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanteJ.Dec 16, 2006
Very suspenseful and exciting, but too short.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NandiDec 20, 2006
Mel Gibson proves himself again as a true independent in Hollywood. I do not share his religious beliefs and expected this film to be more beholden to his Catholic beliefs but I was amazed at his objective characterization of two sides of a Mel Gibson proves himself again as a true independent in Hollywood. I do not share his religious beliefs and expected this film to be more beholden to his Catholic beliefs but I was amazed at his objective characterization of two sides of a highly "advanced" culture, of course in dramatically and very spell bindingly terse terms. In the end the "righteous" Christians are actually portrayed as the scariest monsters in the film. This film was packed with energy and horrifyingly violent but to this film viewer who is a big fan of Jean Jacgues Rosseau', "noble savage' it hit me as being very realistic, with a solid understanding of the corrupting nature of civilization and struck a deep chord within me. Bravo Mel! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelG.Dec 4, 2006
Audacious, provocative but at the end of the day simply thrilling and startling in its coveyance of a time and place of great beauty and peril. A movie about the triumph of hope over fear. And as all the critics have pointed, there's A Audacious, provocative but at the end of the day simply thrilling and startling in its coveyance of a time and place of great beauty and peril. A movie about the triumph of hope over fear. And as all the critics have pointed, there's A LOT to fear in the world Gibson so brilliantly creates. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CompoDec 8, 2006
I think this movie is the best film out this year hands down. It is a great story, void of all Hollywood faces, making me care about the character rather than the actor. More movies of this caliber need to be made. Bravo Mr. Gibson. I also I think this movie is the best film out this year hands down. It is a great story, void of all Hollywood faces, making me care about the character rather than the actor. More movies of this caliber need to be made. Bravo Mr. Gibson. I also feel that a lot of movie critics judged the director rather than the film, letting their own disapproval for Mr.Gibson completely shroud their eyes from the best film made in the last five years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SenZuDec 9, 2006
This movie was great. It added to Mr. Gibson legendary stature in Hollywood as a marquee director. People, and that includes most professional reviewers, are making the big mistake of reviewing Mr. Gibson instead of reviewing the movie.This movie was great. It added to Mr. Gibson legendary stature in Hollywood as a marquee director. People, and that includes most professional reviewers, are making the big mistake of reviewing Mr. Gibson instead of reviewing the movie. That is wrong. The movie is untouchable. Its a great work of art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesG.Jan 15, 2007
Great film, excellent!!! Well worth a watch; had my girlfriend in tears. One of the best films I have seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickX.Jan 27, 2007
I wish I could rate it with 11/10. The film is amazing for every fan of the Mayans..and not!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RadiospotsR.Feb 18, 2007
Absolutely a superb work of art. I have been working long hours that last several months, and almost every movie I have dozed off on, but not this. This movie had me from the begining to the very end. Went very fast, absoutely amazing and Absolutely a superb work of art. I have been working long hours that last several months, and almost every movie I have dozed off on, but not this. This movie had me from the begining to the very end. Went very fast, absoutely amazing and proving Mel is definitely a very gifted artist. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarilenManipulaMay 22, 2007
hey, i hate those who gave 0 ranking for mel gibson's apocalypto, so i give it 10, it's really a good movie, if there's violence which most consider negative, why won't they open their eyes? stop pretending to be sohey, i hate those who gave 0 ranking for mel gibson's apocalypto, so i give it 10, it's really a good movie, if there's violence which most consider negative, why won't they open their eyes? stop pretending to be so inncocent! when i've watched this movie it's really good, you can really feel the intense.. i give it a perfect score ^^- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnM.Jun 22, 2007
I really loved the film regardless of some of the critics own remarks . It might seem that the problem of the films historical vision of the Mayan city at the end of the Maya civilization - seems rather pointless to identity the I really loved the film regardless of some of the critics own remarks . It might seem that the problem of the films historical vision of the Mayan city at the end of the Maya civilization - seems rather pointless to identity the 'city' in the film - My friend who is a Maya-ologist says that the 'pyramid of doom' in the film where the sacrifices took place is one of the pyramids in the city of Tikal which was abandoned in 9 cen AD way after the time that the movie says that Jaguar Paw taken captive- Gibson did use some old National Geographic paintings of the city of Tikal as his Mayan city in the movie ; nevertheless it is a good film and it is close to the new conceptions of the Maya in light of modern archaeological findings. The Maya were more warlike than 'peaceful' as was once thought. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HannahB.Jun 23, 2007
I think this was an amazing movie and it was very suspenseful! Mel Gibson has out done himself once again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JerryJun 30, 2007
Wow, very good movie. Wasn't expecting it at all. I figured with the way the previews made it look it would just be a bunch of random, scenes of a violent history documentary. Yes it is violent but the story is great and its an Wow, very good movie. Wasn't expecting it at all. I figured with the way the previews made it look it would just be a bunch of random, scenes of a violent history documentary. Yes it is violent but the story is great and its an incredible amount of excitement thru out. (P.S. I'm a jew that knows Mel Gibson is a grade A closet anti-semetic but that that bias I held going into the movie says just how good this movie was.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristianV.Jun 8, 2007
Incredible! Kept my heart pounding through out the entire movie! Extremely entertaining. I would definitely watch this movie over and over again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanS.Aug 4, 2007
One of the best films I have ever seen. What I don't understand is all the critics saying that it was too violent and bloody, especially in the temple scene. Well guess what? This is how it was. Hahaha oh yeah, this one critic even One of the best films I have ever seen. What I don't understand is all the critics saying that it was too violent and bloody, especially in the temple scene. Well guess what? This is how it was. Hahaha oh yeah, this one critic even wrote..."what kind of brutal movie is this....who would watch this....gangbangers"? Mannnnn, this isn't New Jack City or Boys in the Hood you half-wit. What, did u think that the Mayan warriors went to the villages tapping on the inhabitants shoulders telling them..."can you please come with me"? NO! And the temple scene.... actually, there were so many sacrifices that there were pools of blood and fat at the bottom of them so Mel was really giving us a break from how it really was. My god, I wonder what u people would say then. Yeah its gross, yeah its violent as hell but this is how the civilization was. Weapons, tattoos, piercings......everything was accurate except for the arrival of the Spaniards. But who cares! Instead of mentally searching for the arrival time of the Spaniards to make sure its historically correct, I thought to myself...."ha, that's cool....look at that....here they come to end it all....spread/force their language, diseases and religious beliefs on the Mayan people and totally end what I just saw through the movie....forever"! I really enjoyed the movie. Sit back and enjoy it. Let it take u on a wild ride throught the jungle and witness how the Mayans lived for thousands of years. Well not the whole culture of course but the religious aspect of it anyway. The Mayan military REALLY did go out to surrounding villages to get victims for their religious sacrifices. They even actually had wars solely for them. They REALLY did sacrifice the victims in that way up there on top of the temples. There's your "historical accuracy" right there. I mean, the whole film is accurate but those 5 seconds capturing the arrival. Never mind the bad reviews. See it. Trust me! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulF.Sep 12, 2007
What can I say but that Apocalypto felt as near perfect as it could be. Sure it was not the most feel good movie of the year seeing as there is so much violence with its war and sacrificial plot lines. But at times I'm sure this was What can I say but that Apocalypto felt as near perfect as it could be. Sure it was not the most feel good movie of the year seeing as there is so much violence with its war and sacrificial plot lines. But at times I'm sure this was exactly how it was for the Mayan and surrounding peoples. They did have at one point in their history a belief that human sacrifice in reflection of one of their God Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DesmondMNov 24, 2008
You can always tell if a movie's going to be good or bad by reading the user comments in metacritic. After reading apocalypto's comments I knew I had to watch it. All the people who gave it bad ratings were obviously either You can always tell if a movie's going to be good or bad by reading the user comments in metacritic. After reading apocalypto's comments I knew I had to watch it. All the people who gave it bad ratings were obviously either complete idiots, or the sort of feeble, weak people who scream at the sight of mice. Why would you watch a movie rated R for violence and disturbing images if you don't like the sight of blood!? The main reason you can tell that the people who thought badly of 'apocalypto' are idiots is by the fact that the same people who say that they went into the movie expecting it to be about the downfall of the mayans and were surprised that it was not, go on to state that the plot is predictable... Hmm... let's think... How can the storyline be surprising and unexpected, and yet the plot is predictable??? Aren't the storyline and the plot pretty much the same thing!? And I don't get how 'Andrew' can say that the movie was historically inaccurate, even after 'Richard. T' wrote what looked like a novel about the many aspects of the film that related to history and were plausible. Also, I don't think many of us would have left the theatre with a mortal fear of mayans, scared that at any second they're going to come and destroy our houses, tie us up and take us away... In case everyone who said that the mayans were portrayed incorrectly as a violent people don't realise, not only were the people who wrecked the village and stole all the adults (the 'bad guys') mayan, but the good guys were mayans as well. You all choose to look at it from the point of view that everyone will have the wrong idea about the mayans now, even though 'jaguar paw' (who was mayan as well, duh!) was shown as such a kind and loving man who did so much for his wife, son, and unborn child, and only killed or harmed his enemies in self defence... As I mentioned before, immediately after reading the comments on metacritic, and seeing how stupid the people who were cynical of this movie were, I went and watched the movie, for which I am very grateful. It was actually one of the best movies I've ever seen, even though I haven't really liked Mel Gibson in the past. This was one of those movies that I just had to have on DVD. It was a great movie, and I don't even need to criticize the people who didn't like it any more, because their dim-wittedness speaks for itself. Awesome acting. Awesome storyline. Awesome movie!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexS.Jan 28, 2008
The overwhelming majority of people critiquing the movie have two arguments: excessive gore and lack of insight on the Mayan empire. Guess what, the movie was not about that in the first place. You loath blood, open your eyes, see the R The overwhelming majority of people critiquing the movie have two arguments: excessive gore and lack of insight on the Mayan empire. Guess what, the movie was not about that in the first place. You loath blood, open your eyes, see the R rating and than buzz off. You want documentary on Mayan empire Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamS.Dec 8, 2008
Really drawn into it the whole time. Loved it. A+
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AcelleJ.Jan 7, 2008
This is the GREATEST movie I have ever seen! Mel Gibson is the BESTt actor and director! Much RESPECT!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DionK.May 13, 2008
JUST BRILLIANT!!!! Can't get enough of it... Mel Gibson is a genius and for those of you who didn't enjoy it, you should get educated on Mayan culture which was so well pictured. There is brutal violence and it is a hard to watch JUST BRILLIANT!!!! Can't get enough of it... Mel Gibson is a genius and for those of you who didn't enjoy it, you should get educated on Mayan culture which was so well pictured. There is brutal violence and it is a hard to watch movie but it IS The HISTORY, this is real, just thank God you didn't live those days. And if you find Jurassic Park, Spiderman, Star Wars, Matrix or Transformers better done, they you need to grow up! This movie is EXCEPTIONALLY inspiring. It blew my mind for daaays now. Just got back from Mayan Riviera and been studying mayan civilization for awhile. It was great to get an ide of what happened their at the ruin sites. Great job on costumes and make-up, they were almost described to a tee. Thank you for making such a GREAT movie. Would love to see the Incas next. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
sreepriyabsJan 19, 2009
Excellent movie!! was able to watch the movie on tv n i was really moved by the movie... loved the emotions through the movie and a gr8 job by mel gibson!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonK.Dec 10, 2006
VERY captivating movie and it seems to be historically plausible! I honestly don't know where these bad reviews are coming from...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewM.Dec 10, 2006
Great Movie, Excellent Presentation of New Camera Technology (The Genesis HD Camera). Honestly. When a Critic critizes a movie because of its Gore Elements. you know they are jus trying to find new ways to Critize a Genius. Kill BIll , Great Movie, Excellent Presentation of New Camera Technology (The Genesis HD Camera). Honestly. When a Critic critizes a movie because of its Gore Elements. you know they are jus trying to find new ways to Critize a Genius. Kill BIll , History of Violence , among other horror films had gore. and were shot for the current era. A movie which captures the life and times of that civilization needs that element. Fend Off those useless Critics. GO SEE IT Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeL.Dec 17, 2006
Highly entertaining and beautifully shot. If you like to cry over the film's historical mistakes why not offer a reference for proper Mayan Civilization learning instead? This is a Hollywood movie, NOT a documentary. And the violence is Highly entertaining and beautifully shot. If you like to cry over the film's historical mistakes why not offer a reference for proper Mayan Civilization learning instead? This is a Hollywood movie, NOT a documentary. And the violence is far worse in other movies than this one. Although there are key scenes with uncensored gore, the violence is no worse than Saving Private Ryan and other blockbusters. People need to quit blowing it out of proportion. This is a great movie. Go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeT.Dec 23, 2006
If you cannot seperate a man's words from his art, then DO NOT review his work. You lose alot of credibility as a critic when you give such an incredible piece of work a bad review...too bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JerryK.Dec 28, 2006
From beginning to end I was on the edge of my seat. I learned a lot about the Mayan culture and it was a very worthwhile experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KorriK.Dec 8, 2006
Easily the best big movie of the year. Visually stunning. Most of what is shown of the Mayan culture is supported by accepted historical assumptions.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
alteregoJan 14, 2007
Isnt Film is a great medium? Where else can you show the brutality of real life in such an artful way? Mel Gibson is a genuine moviemaker who obviously refuses to make the typical 'isnt-life-great' film...I am happy that we finally Isnt Film is a great medium? Where else can you show the brutality of real life in such an artful way? Mel Gibson is a genuine moviemaker who obviously refuses to make the typical 'isnt-life-great' film...I am happy that we finally get to see a movie that makes our adrenalin rush AND seriously think about human nature, it has fascinating faces in it, heartstopping action-scenes and a special atmosphere that definitely makes it one of the most interesting movies of the year...if you cant stand blood and truth, go watch gilmore girls! THANKS MEL. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NiallL.Jan 14, 2007
Stunning - fantastic story telling. A wonderful cinematic experence - visually spectacular. Makes the heart pound relentlessly. Perhaps it lacks only an emphimeral dimension but I don't think that this detracts in the slightest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
hugosanJan 26, 2007
I really cant understand why some ppl qualify this movie with 2's and 3's, its true the movie got gruesome scenes, but if you have a little brain you would realize that thats how reallity its really all about, ppl do loose arms andI really cant understand why some ppl qualify this movie with 2's and 3's, its true the movie got gruesome scenes, but if you have a little brain you would realize that thats how reallity its really all about, ppl do loose arms and legs and during prehispanic mayan and aztec cultures human sacrifices happened, sure its not historically acurrate but thats why its a movie and not a documentary. It transport you in a trip in the anciend Mesoamerica and offers the viewer a glimpse of what life whas all about during those times. Im very pleased as a Mexican with the portrait it delivers cose it neither glorify neither condmemn the society of those days. Its simply feels real. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshW.Jun 25, 2007
I thought this movie was amazing! A superb story. Gripping and thought provoking from start to finish.Who cares if it might not be historically accurate. There are people who go on... Blah.Blah..Blah about it`s improper depiction of the I thought this movie was amazing! A superb story. Gripping and thought provoking from start to finish.Who cares if it might not be historically accurate. There are people who go on... Blah.Blah..Blah about it`s improper depiction of the Mayan culture and the likelihood of such circumstances arising. Where you there? I think not! So take your conceptions and get back to your TV so you can watch that "real life " drama that your so fond of. This Movie is thrilling and definitely one of the better movies to come out of Hollywood. Mel is a friggin genius! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimQJul 12, 2007
Horrific, and beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
barbb.Nov 18, 2008
Great mel you are the best i like all of your movies but this one you out did your self i will watch it again also reading up on the mayan tribe now very interesting love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesM.Dec 21, 2008
A movie about pre colonial Mexico with a message for today? Exciting and with a message that takes a little thought to see clearly. Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MICHAELA.Dec 14, 2006
Amazing! Hypnotic! Electrifying! Gibson has channeled the anchient Mayans and traveled back through the centuries bringing us a masterpiece. This filmic achievement places Mel Gibsen next to Hitchcock, Bergman, Welles, Coppola and Scorsese. Amazing! Hypnotic! Electrifying! Gibson has channeled the anchient Mayans and traveled back through the centuries bringing us a masterpiece. This filmic achievement places Mel Gibsen next to Hitchcock, Bergman, Welles, Coppola and Scorsese. Apocalypto is a stunning piece of cinematic magic and awe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
UnPCReviewDec 16, 2006
All human civilizations were barbaric even while at the same time creating innovations in art, sciences, and technology. This movie addresses the cost of civilization, you have classes of people. Warriors trained only to kill, peasants only All human civilizations were barbaric even while at the same time creating innovations in art, sciences, and technology. This movie addresses the cost of civilization, you have classes of people. Warriors trained only to kill, peasants only skilled for farming, slaves only skilled for the quarries, greedy mechants putting prices on everything, rulers and priests controlling the masses. In the small village no such class structure existed, everything was a lot simpler. It was not as corruptible an environment as the civilization. Not once did the movie even refer to the civilization as being the Maya and theres no way of knowing for sure whether all sacrificial victims came from willing citizens. It's stupid to give this movie a 3 because you think it didn't represent Mayans fairly. The truth is human sacrifice was first practiced by the Mayans and it was carried out by the empires that succeded the Mayans (Toltecs/Aztecs). Mel used the Mayan civilization as a metaphor for all civilizations. Even with the appearance of the Spanish at the end our protaganist is smart enough to realize they are no different than the Mayans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WayneJ.Dec 17, 2006
Absolutely amazing. An epic. Wait 10 years and it will be appreciated for the great film it is. Truly great films are never immediately appreciated by critics or movie fans - it takes time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScraperMay 8, 2011
The things you see in this movie are heavy, highly detailed, intense, and exist in a realm that most filmmakers can't go-such as using genocide as a plot device in a non-documentary piece. Very real feelings electrify this movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
SkulbSep 25, 2014
Apocalypto is a beautiful and horrifying movie about a tribe of native Americans which gets raided by the Mayas to be enslaved, painted blue, ritually sacrificed, eaten and who knows what else. It is a virtual descent into hell and back againApocalypto is a beautiful and horrifying movie about a tribe of native Americans which gets raided by the Mayas to be enslaved, painted blue, ritually sacrificed, eaten and who knows what else. It is a virtual descent into hell and back again for the viewer, though nowhere near as persistently hellish as Passion of Christ, as the movie follows the main character while he tries to escape the clutches of the deranged Mayan soldiery. All of it is done using Mayan language, which adds quite a lot of believability to the entire thing. Historically though, the proceedings are a sort of mix between Mayan and Aztec culture, and deliberately so, for reasons I`ll get to.
As always I feel myself compelled to use Metacritic to point out allegories in movies, because nobody else is apparently able to notice them. And particularly the "this isn`t historically accurate" people, who have missed every single point about both Passion of Christ and Apocalypto. The reason Gibson used a composite for the imperial culture in Apocalypto is precisely to make it obvious that the movie is not intended to be a docudrama but an allegory of the conflict between power and empire on one side and freedom and natural humanity on the other. It is expected that the viewer notices these simple things to be able to also notice that the entire religious ceremony through which the Mayan elite exercises its power is a farce, a pantomime and a gigantic fraud, and that they all know it up on top of the pyramid, while the subjects down below do not. The whole thing is nothing more than a staged performance of state organized brutality, intended to frighten the peasants.
This is the main statement Gibson makes in Apocalypto: that power is a fraud, maintained only through terrorizing the people. But because he is not really talking about Mayas, but about our present western power elite, he distorts it by mixing Aztec and Mayan culture. And this is what should tell us that the movie is a political, philosophical allegory about imperialism and oligarchy, which is not intended to be viewed as a period piece or anything of the sort. Otherwise he would not have blended the cultures see? Like Passion of Christ, Apocalypto tries to deal with the hypocrisy and mass murder at the heart of western civilization, with illegitimate power elites suppressing humanity, justice, freedom and truth, by using lies and violence in order to perpetuate their power. It presents a view on the evils of government as organized violence against the inherent good of man in his natural state. Once you truly understand this you`ll figure out that neither of these two movies are strictly about the subject matters, but are far more profound than that. So that`s why these "historical inaccuracies that might confuse people" are in the movie, and not because "Gibson doesn`t know how to read a history book".

Apocalypto is an allegory of contemporary oligarchical nonsense like the "War on Terror", the "War on Drugs", and an endless barrage of equally contrived and fake things. In fact, it is an allegory of any rule by lies, fraud, violence, intimidation and public spectacle and above all it is an allegory of good and evil. But if Mel Gibson had made this movie without allegories, he would probably have been shot by the CIA or been sent off to an insane asylum like Hemingway and Pound were. So much for free speech in the United States, and allegories it is then! Too bad most of the public are deaf dumb and blind to those. Oh well, what can you do, apart from whine about it on Metacritic?

I`m done with my rant now. Go watch Apocalypto at once if you haven`t already. Mass stupidity must be resisted!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
godlikegirishAug 17, 2012
This movie is probably one of the best movies in the decade, and probably the one of the most underrated ones. Surely deserved an Oscar for Direction. Mel Gibson should be looking forward to direct more movies with some good scripts. As farThis movie is probably one of the best movies in the decade, and probably the one of the most underrated ones. Surely deserved an Oscar for Direction. Mel Gibson should be looking forward to direct more movies with some good scripts. As far as this movie is concerned, you don't see a single moment which bores you as it is intense, deep and thoughtful. Language is no barrier and acting is superb considering relatively unknown cast. For me, this movie is always going to remain on top 10 all time favourite list. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JamesIrish68Mar 8, 2016
Truly tremendous in every sense. Mel Gibson made a beautiful movie that can be watched again and again and again.

It won't be truly honored for the classic it is until after his death when he'll be rehabilitated no doubt but that is the
Truly tremendous in every sense. Mel Gibson made a beautiful movie that can be watched again and again and again.

It won't be truly honored for the classic it is until after his death when he'll be rehabilitated no doubt but that is the way of the world. That aside, this is one of the 10 movies of the century.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JohnMasterLMar 2, 2015
Mel Gibson es de mis directores favoritos, pues se da tantas libertades que son de lujo, a pesar de que no es el mejor trabajo de Gibson (ese lugar es para su obra maestra -La Pasión De Cristo-) sin duda alguna es un espectáculo visualMel Gibson es de mis directores favoritos, pues se da tantas libertades que son de lujo, a pesar de que no es el mejor trabajo de Gibson (ese lugar es para su obra maestra -La Pasión De Cristo-) sin duda alguna es un espectáculo visual cargado de adrenalina pura, secuencias de acción y suspenso hacen que esta pelicula sea entretenimiento puro. La dirección de Gibson como siempre es increíble y admirable, Gibson siempre le pone hasta el mas mínimo detalle en cada aspecto cinematográfico; la música, la fotografía, el sonido, la ambientación son un triunfo. Vuelvo a mencionar, y esto es una petición; pido que Mel Gibson regrese como director, (Yo lo considero mejor director que actor) estoy ansioso por ver su próxima pelicula. 10/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
coipSep 5, 2016
One of the most underrated films of the 21st Century. Without question, Apocalypto is an all-time classic that deserved more recognition. If only I could buy it digitally, like anywhere...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NabeelM.Jan 15, 2007
Awesome piece of work. Truly shows how brutal man can get. There's one thing I need to say before I leave for those who are complaining about this movie being excessively violent. They should either try to understand the meaning of Awesome piece of work. Truly shows how brutal man can get. There's one thing I need to say before I leave for those who are complaining about this movie being excessively violent. They should either try to understand the meaning of 'Rated - R' before buying a ticket in the theatres or buy a lolly pop and hold mommy's little finger before entering the theatre to watch Pingu. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonL.Jan 8, 2007
Yeah it's violent. Yeah it's not factually 100% correct. Yeah Mel Gibson has lost the plot. But none of those facts make this movie bad. Who cares about the politics of it all when you have the chance to see something like this. It Yeah it's violent. Yeah it's not factually 100% correct. Yeah Mel Gibson has lost the plot. But none of those facts make this movie bad. Who cares about the politics of it all when you have the chance to see something like this. It is stunning and really quite fresh. I hope he makes more just like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatE.Apr 8, 2007
Undountedly, the people who no nothing of America's Indians can't help but rate this movie low, for the mind too small to comprehend anything past the violence, I say this movie isn't for you! Go watch an Arnold flick! ItUndountedly, the people who no nothing of America's Indians can't help but rate this movie low, for the mind too small to comprehend anything past the violence, I say this movie isn't for you! Go watch an Arnold flick! It wasn't meant to brilliantly potray the mayan's culture. It also wasn't meant to give you a history lesson either. It was meant for you to understand the nature of a people. The Mayans had spiritual beliefs, they had societies built by slaves. Yes, this slaves were their own people, stop bashing mel gibson just because this movie isn't for the simple minded. Sure, Mel isn't perfect, and sure he's a bit crazy. Alot of brilliant people have been on the brink of insanity. Stop taking away from a brilliant movie. Brilliant because it still captivates somewhat of a meaningful end. This isn't for you Jackass 2 movie lovers, so go back to your MTV rubbish and save the space for meaningful comment! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
C.YamashitaJan 6, 2008
A fantastic work of cinema. It left me wanting more, which is a test of any great film. It seems most are missing the main reason for making the movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeC.Dec 10, 2006
Great movie. We care for the characters, there is plenty of breathtaking action, it's moving, the acting is excellent, photo and direction almost perfect. It would have been a perfect movie without the 3 or 4 really gory, over the top Great movie. We care for the characters, there is plenty of breathtaking action, it's moving, the acting is excellent, photo and direction almost perfect. It would have been a perfect movie without the 3 or 4 really gory, over the top scenes. Mel, we didn't need it. We get the point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BettyM.Jan 14, 2007
This film was astounding. Lucky I wasn't deterred by the shallow reviews I encountered. I left the movie overwhelmed by thoughts of things like the value of family, simplicity, leadership, community, fear, wealth and our This film was astounding. Lucky I wasn't deterred by the shallow reviews I encountered. I left the movie overwhelmed by thoughts of things like the value of family, simplicity, leadership, community, fear, wealth and our 'civilization' . The violence is intense but I don't agree with those who think it was indulgent (I should admit to watching a few scenes through my fingers though). Mel Gibson continues to amaze me with he manages to bring to a screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MiklosP.Jan 5, 2007
Really excellent. Violent and bloody, may not be for everyone - Mel overdoes it again a little bit, but overall a great achievement and a compelling, entertaining movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TroyMossmanApr 14, 2007
You know what guys? Quit ******** about how inaccurate the movie portrays the Mayans. We are no longer living in those times and they are impossible to completely re-create. Not to mention this movie was never meant to be a scientific studyYou know what guys? Quit ******** about how inaccurate the movie portrays the Mayans. We are no longer living in those times and they are impossible to completely re-create. Not to mention this movie was never meant to be a scientific study of Mayan life. Go watch a DIscovery special if that's what you're looking for. As it stands, Apocalyto is a great, fast paced action film. The story is interesting if not "historically accurate", and the filming is done very well. See it for what it is. Not because you want some boring British lecturer to take you through the life of the Mayan's or some crap like that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AmeronA.Dec 11, 2006
You can hate Mel Gibson, but that doesn't mean his art is bad. In fact, I went in this movie with kind of a chip on my shoulder. When I left, I felt my money was justified. The story is a basic story of human survival in an historic You can hate Mel Gibson, but that doesn't mean his art is bad. In fact, I went in this movie with kind of a chip on my shoulder. When I left, I felt my money was justified. The story is a basic story of human survival in an historic setting. There are some down points, the gore was a bit much, some of the animal animatroinic part looked silly. But it makes up with great acting, gorgeous visuals, and a good story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisDec 10, 2006
This is really an amazing film. I didn't even notice it was subtitled. Another significant accomplishment by Mr. Gibson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GiterdoneDec 11, 2006
Simply Amazing film. Heart pounding, intense and gripping throughout. Definitely the best of the year. The score should be much higher than what is being reported on Metacritic. Make no mistake, it is a violent film, but all of it is Simply Amazing film. Heart pounding, intense and gripping throughout. Definitely the best of the year. The score should be much higher than what is being reported on Metacritic. Make no mistake, it is a violent film, but all of it is necessary and well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KM.Dec 19, 2006
Gibson has presented us with a remarkable version of Mayan history, focusing in at once on the social fabric of a small village and a complex city. The actors are outrageously authentic, the costumes stupendous and the cinematography Gibson has presented us with a remarkable version of Mayan history, focusing in at once on the social fabric of a small village and a complex city. The actors are outrageously authentic, the costumes stupendous and the cinematography drop-dead gorgeous. Having the characters speak in the surviving dialect capped the authenticity of the experience for this viewer. I am no fan of Mr. Gibson as a person, but he is a dynamic and visionary director. Definitely a big screen must-see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelP.Dec 23, 2006
I took this film for what it was--a fast and furious thriller about "primative" people fighting for survival--and loved every minute of it. My pulse was pounding when I left the theater, the violence and well-deserved revenge gave me a I took this film for what it was--a fast and furious thriller about "primative" people fighting for survival--and loved every minute of it. My pulse was pounding when I left the theater, the violence and well-deserved revenge gave me a much-needed emotional release. There's absolutely nothing politically correct about this movie, Gibson pulls out all the stops. The graphic violence and completely unvarnished view of human nature probably does upset some people--it's not for the faint of heart. However, if you don't mind looking life straight in the face and want to see an exciting, fast-paced thriller in a very unusual setting, you'll enjoy this film. (The only reason I gave it a 9 was that there were a few technical flaws that broke the spell a little bit for me, like having the moon overhead the night after a solar eclipse, and a human heart beating after it's been pulled from a body, etc.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
UliDDec 30, 2006
A fascinating movie. Unfortunately Mel Gibson does not receive the credit he deserves.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyDec 8, 2006
This movie was absolutely fantastic. it was gory, yes, but the genius of the story much outweighed the violence. what is it with people and wanting such intense historical accuracy? many of the critics disliked it because they expected someThis movie was absolutely fantastic. it was gory, yes, but the genius of the story much outweighed the violence. what is it with people and wanting such intense historical accuracy? many of the critics disliked it because they expected some answer to the end of the Mayan civilization (including the person i went to see the movie with). yet i thought we were treated with something better: the last dying breath of a civilization as seen through the eyes of a man unwillingly brought into it during its last days. Marie Antoinette and Apocolypto shall remain in my memory for quite some time (and in my DVD collection), regardless of the historical accuracy. The story is fantastic in both, the cinematography is better, and best of all, the directors of both movies get the feel right. and that's all that matters to me. if i want a history lesson, i'll pick up an encyclopedia. see this movie. simple as that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaxB.Dec 9, 2006
I can't understand how critics can praise this movie for it's ability to transport the audience to another time and place and then slam it for be excessively violent. The violence and blood letting in this movie wasn't that I can't understand how critics can praise this movie for it's ability to transport the audience to another time and place and then slam it for be excessively violent. The violence and blood letting in this movie wasn't that intense or gratuitous for the situations in which central character was depicted in. It's rated R for a reason and it's an adult movie. I guess they're just use to the continual spew of PG-13 movies that Hollywood keeps cranking out in hopes of covering as many demographics as possible. It was nice to see an adult film that doesn't hold anything back from it's creators vision. Mel Gibson, you rock dude. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArielG.Jan 12, 2007
Mel Gibson did it again with this movie! I'll have to admit to being afraid that he may have lost his film-making touch due to the problems in his personal life (alcoholism and racist rants). But I'm glad that I was proved wrong. Mel Gibson did it again with this movie! I'll have to admit to being afraid that he may have lost his film-making touch due to the problems in his personal life (alcoholism and racist rants). But I'm glad that I was proved wrong. Apocalypto was easily one of better movies I've seen these past few months. The story grips you right from the very beginning, and doesn't let go until the credits come up at the very end. The intensity is apparent throughout the entire movie, and there is a sense of danger and foreboding in every scene. Visually it was beautiful to watch, and we're given characters that we care about and sympathize with. I would gave it a rating of 10/10 if it weren't for the gratuitous gore and violence in the movie, which made some parts hard to watch. I understand he was trying to convey the sort of brutality at the time, but I don't think it needed to be as graphic as it was. So I took away 1 point from my rating. But still a great movie from a great film-maker! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
S.B.Jan 25, 2007
The raw energy and passion of the film is very primal, but it makes you feel alive and very human. It is not a film for audiences whom hang their lives on intellectual hooks. This said, I found the central messages strong and powerful and The raw energy and passion of the film is very primal, but it makes you feel alive and very human. It is not a film for audiences whom hang their lives on intellectual hooks. This said, I found the central messages strong and powerful and above all very honest. The violence and brutality served it purpose in revealing the central themes. Fear in life is the killer of all human evolution, the individual who can stare it in the face and not sucumb will be at one with nature, and the spirit of the world or the "jungle" will become there ally. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MauriceD.Jan 6, 2007
This is a fantastic movie, Gibson is a true artist.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GavinM.Jan 7, 2007
An absolute must-see. Incredibly convincing and exciting, though the violence is stomach-churning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrutusO.Mar 11, 2007
A bit of a surprise, and a considerably better film than Braveheart. Above all Apocalypto is a gripping action film, admittedly violent, but well paced and brilliantly shot, with astounding costume design and casting. It is also occasionally A bit of a surprise, and a considerably better film than Braveheart. Above all Apocalypto is a gripping action film, admittedly violent, but well paced and brilliantly shot, with astounding costume design and casting. It is also occasionally humourous, often touching, sometimes romantic and quite a bit more thoughtful than it first appears. The film is not a documentary about Mayan history. It is a parable about the nature of apocalyptic social collapse (hence the title, guys - it isn't called Mayo) and the centrality and importance of family and primary relationships when society crumbles. So it could have been set in any country where society and the environment are in terminal decline. The lesson is that mindless violence and overpopulation and ethnic cleansing and a war economy and religious hysteria will all come to the fore when the elites within any society lose touch with their basic humanitarian and conservationist impulses. So this movie could just as easily have been set at the fall of Ancient Egypt, or Rome, or even in contemporary Iraq, Sudan or Zimbabwe. But despite being like, "a bit heavy and depressing" the film in fact has the directorial chops to be pretty damn entertaining. I suppose linking one's family values to the environment represents something of a conservative viewpoint, but after all conservation and conservative do stem from the same word. Mel's best film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChristopherW.May 23, 2007
As with Gibson's last three films, if you're looking for historical accuracy, look elsewhere. However, once again, he has made a thoroughly engrossing, beautifully mounted epic. The controversial treatment of Mayan people as brutalAs with Gibson's last three films, if you're looking for historical accuracy, look elsewhere. However, once again, he has made a thoroughly engrossing, beautifully mounted epic. The controversial treatment of Mayan people as brutal savages will, no doubt, be offensive to some history buffs, but the film is remarkably entertaining and well paced, and truly soars in its second half. Gibson may have some serious character flaws, but he has filmmaking in his blood. Extraordinary! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ReneVJul 9, 2007
Horrible, violent, disgusting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkS.Aug 24, 2007
This is one of those movie that shows how little some people know about making a fantastic movie, including critics especially. People 'getting sick' from watching Apocalypto is pathetic, because it is also one of those films that This is one of those movie that shows how little some people know about making a fantastic movie, including critics especially. People 'getting sick' from watching Apocalypto is pathetic, because it is also one of those films that isn't nearly as violent as it seemed it would be. Makes me wonder if some of these critics and fans voting on here even watched the movie. The voter here named 'A Movie Critic' says it right: it literally feels like you're being transported to another world." And that is Great-with -a-capital-G filmaking. I don't give it a 10 only because that is reserved for films like The Empire Strikes Back, The Wizard of Oz, and Ben Hur. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AaronM.Dec 11, 2006
Extremely original, intense, often moving, and unforgettable. I really hope this movie does well at the box office cause it's worth seeing. Mel Gibson has done it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LukeM.Dec 10, 2006
The movie never lets you go, and the violence is intense, but it is outstanding. If you don't have a high tolerance for on-screen pain and suffering you should pass. Otherwise I think the cinematography is incredible and the entire The movie never lets you go, and the violence is intense, but it is outstanding. If you don't have a high tolerance for on-screen pain and suffering you should pass. Otherwise I think the cinematography is incredible and the entire picture is visually stunning. Most negative reviews seem to be a reaction to Gibson, or to the typical reviewers distaste for the high testosterone style of the picture. And let's face it. Movie critics were not on the football team, and they've never been hunting. They are not the best suited audience to enjoy a picture like this, which is fine. But for those who can revel in raw entertainment which is lacking in subtlety, this is a treat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AmyP.Dec 11, 2006
I went into this movie wondering if I would be able to tolerate all the gore and violence I kept reading about in the reviews of this movie. Instead, I was treated to a visually stunning, wonderful story. There were a couple of scenes where I went into this movie wondering if I would be able to tolerate all the gore and violence I kept reading about in the reviews of this movie. Instead, I was treated to a visually stunning, wonderful story. There were a couple of scenes where I had to avert my eyes, however I have had to do more of that in some of those "teenage" horror flicks that keep on getting released. The story will keep you at the edge of your seat, all the way. Never a false or dull moment. I highly recommend this fascinating movie and hope it gets recognized at Awards time as it so rightly deserves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Dec 15, 2006
Very violent, flip your switch into desensitized and you will be moved by the human element.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonA.Dec 16, 2006
Visually fantastic, the story was compelling and emotional and it kept me on the edge of my seat. I'm not a historian so I don't know how much was fact and fiction but I do know that a lot of the negative reviews of this film are Visually fantastic, the story was compelling and emotional and it kept me on the edge of my seat. I'm not a historian so I don't know how much was fact and fiction but I do know that a lot of the negative reviews of this film are biased and based on personal opinions of Mel and not on the merit of this movie. Maybe my favorite film of 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
A.M.Dec 27, 2006
Very realistic rendering Mayan/Aztec life with a story that was exciting and full of action. Costumes were excellent, filming and storyline very believable, overall I really liked this film. I thought it was original and not as violent as Very realistic rendering Mayan/Aztec life with a story that was exciting and full of action. Costumes were excellent, filming and storyline very believable, overall I really liked this film. I thought it was original and not as violent as the critics said. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ColbyS.Dec 8, 2006
The critics are full of shite on this one, trust me. When a critic criticizes the maker of a movie instead of the movie itself, you know they're no longer credible. Although violent, gory and somewhat boring at parts, this is an The critics are full of shite on this one, trust me. When a critic criticizes the maker of a movie instead of the movie itself, you know they're no longer credible. Although violent, gory and somewhat boring at parts, this is an amazingly executed allegorical indicment of the society that we are headed toward today. As for the "horrific violence" many Mel-detractors are preaching against: These are the same people that loved Kill Bill, a film using disgustingly bloody violence for sheer entertainment. Apocalypto is violent, yes, but so were the Mayans. It's historical. It adds to the tension. If you don't like it (which no one does), then look away or brace yourself. Overall, lush photography, compelling plot and pretty decent acting, especially considering such a rookie cast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KitchManDec 9, 2006
Just got in from watching this film... It is truly: an Experience, an intense one at that. Technically speaking, (cinematography, editing, sound fx, score), this film is a present day filmic masterpiece. Gibson truly takes you into his Just got in from watching this film... It is truly: an Experience, an intense one at that. Technically speaking, (cinematography, editing, sound fx, score), this film is a present day filmic masterpiece. Gibson truly takes you into his world, makes you care/empathize with the hero and his plight, pushes and pulls you like you're on a daunting rollercoaster ride. The performances (none of which are Hollywood trained actors, thankfully) are all solid, authentic and believable, especially the lead character, "Jaguar Paw." In my mind, Gibson has created, by far, the greatest foot chase sequence ever put onto film. I am thinking fans of Braveheart will truly enjoy this film/ ride; (after they get past the simple fact that it is in sub-titles/ meaning: not in English). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OAKsideJan 11, 2007
What a film. Never boring, and never before have the Mayans been on screen like this. A must-watch for 2007. Oh, and Ana C., to give this, of all movies, a zero for "blood and gore" is disgusting. Leave and never come back, please.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MIGUELG.Jan 12, 2007
Very Original. Adventure action drama full of thrills, suspense, and a powerful love story. Its environment and civilization apocalypses seems oddly very current.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeH.Jan 13, 2007
Highly coherent and entertaining. Regardless of your opinion on Gibson, his direction in Apocalypto is sensational, often gritty and confronting at times yet offering enough scope to appreciate the Mayan civilization itself. Although Highly coherent and entertaining. Regardless of your opinion on Gibson, his direction in Apocalypto is sensational, often gritty and confronting at times yet offering enough scope to appreciate the Mayan civilization itself. Although violent, it is not exceptionally different from many other violent films released currently. A brilliant release. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinM.Jun 16, 2007
This was a very good show, a real underdog kind of thing. I don't know how it got such a low rating, but I can't see how anyone could find fault with it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
{Anonymous]Sep 19, 2007
I really don't understand why people have such a huge issue with this movie. Yes it is violent, but I have seen people stabbed and if it is anything like being hit with an arrow, then I would say the amount of gore was absolutely I really don't understand why people have such a huge issue with this movie. Yes it is violent, but I have seen people stabbed and if it is anything like being hit with an arrow, then I would say the amount of gore was absolutely accurate! If you get clubbed in the head or shot or stabbed, you're going to effing bleed...profusely. It is actually historically accurate that the Mayans practiced sacrifice and anyone who tries to deny this is the one being ignorant. Yes, the Mayans were also highly advanced in many ways and the movie did not really address this but was there really time to delve into the various achievements of the Mayans? People already complained it was too long! Couldn't we see by their architecture and complex city system in the movie that they weren't just a barbaric people?? The story line had nothing to do with it, so get over it. Also, I would like to point out that everyone commented on the ridiculousness of the eclipse. The high priests could actually predict before hand (using their advanced Mayan knowledge everyone claimed the movie was devoid of...) the exact time of an eclipse and therefore could use these sacrifices more as a way to retain the people's support because they would then think the prest was behind the eclipse. He knew it was coming!! Did everyone miss the subtle nod between the priest and the "king" right when the eclipse occurred??? It was not so ridiculous after all. Also, giving birth in water is one of the easiest ways to give birth. Seriously people, get over it. Just be positive. I mean, it takes a good movie to be sad and disturbing the whole way through and then leave you feeling a sense of some hope in the end. And the ambiguity of the ending leaves so much room for after thought. ps. If you don't like blood and that makes you sick then a)don't see a Mel Gibson movie and b)don't see a rated R movie for gore and violence!! Those warnings are there for a reason!You, not Mel and his movie, are the idiots in this situation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful