Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: December 8, 2006
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 475 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
362
Mixed:
43
Negative:
70
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
DirigiblePulpJan 4, 2017
Mel Gibson can direct some real intensity, even through ham-handed moments that would derail lesser films. This film is intense and febrile, using the Gibson-classic near Martyrdom of a main character's suffering to build to an enlightenment.Mel Gibson can direct some real intensity, even through ham-handed moments that would derail lesser films. This film is intense and febrile, using the Gibson-classic near Martyrdom of a main character's suffering to build to an enlightenment. It works, even when his wife is giving birth in a rapidly filling well and he's being saved by a little kid's prophecies and sudden eclipses in the sky (I thought the Mayans could predict these with precision?) that is admittedly awe-inspiring.

There's no need to reiterate in too much detail (it's been done to death) how impressive this film was to make. Shot on location, using the Maya language with a bunch of local, non-professional actors, elaborately re-created sets and mostly stunning camera work.

Though I will say some of the digital hand-held photography hasn't held up, like most digital from that time, and looks "digitized" and lacking in detail and clarity. Some shots are still amazing (I think some of this was shot on film and I read briefly about some crane they used for overhead shots) but others are bafflingly video-like. It creates a disconnect at times.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
coipSep 5, 2016
One of the most underrated films of the 21st Century. Without question, Apocalypto is an all-time classic that deserved more recognition. If only I could buy it digitally, like anywhere...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJun 18, 2016
Thrilling, moving, and all-around stunning, Apocalypto is a spell binding tale of survival set during the fall of the Mayan civilization and on the cusp of European discovery. A truly haunting and, at times, scary film Apocalypto thrills withThrilling, moving, and all-around stunning, Apocalypto is a spell binding tale of survival set during the fall of the Mayan civilization and on the cusp of European discovery. A truly haunting and, at times, scary film Apocalypto thrills with ease thanks to the great direction from Mel Gibson. Though it can be historically inaccurate and disrespectful towards the Mayans at times, it does paint a sympathetic portrait of some factions of the civilization, including that which our hero belongs. The film really paints a mysterious picture of the current events plus those to follow, with there being a significant swell of unease amongst the people in the film as they are unsure of what their future will hold. Additionally, the film has incredible mise en scene with great use of lighting and, similar to Gibson's The Passion of the Christ, a film that can be told through the eyes and the visuals. The subtitles are needed, but not required in this relatable table of survival and fear. The costumes and make-up are fantastic, as is the camera work and production design. Gibson really ensures that the beauty of this scenic location is brought to life against this backdrop of sheer horror. Gibson does a great job keeping a hold of this film from going off the rails with the complex situations of the society and with the excessive violence. Overall, Apocalypto is a thrilling and exciting film that really does become moving at times with its portrayal of desperation, but above all, entertains and delivers artistically. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aadityamudharApr 18, 2016
The contradictions of the human condition are understood by Gibson. Unlike his critics (who, based on their ad hominum remarks, are mere children next to him), he is authentic and unapologetic and will therefore be remembered.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JamesIrish68Mar 8, 2016
Truly tremendous in every sense. Mel Gibson made a beautiful movie that can be watched again and again and again.

It won't be truly honored for the classic it is until after his death when he'll be rehabilitated no doubt but that is the
Truly tremendous in every sense. Mel Gibson made a beautiful movie that can be watched again and again and again.

It won't be truly honored for the classic it is until after his death when he'll be rehabilitated no doubt but that is the way of the world. That aside, this is one of the 10 movies of the century.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
CineAutoctonoJul 21, 2015
Movie as good as some strong scenes but it's only a movie of Maya, and that hurts who do not speak English , but great the movie , either by Mel Gibson film such comoesta also directs another great film like " The Passion of Christ".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
oDjentoJun 6, 2015
A reasonably good effort here from Gibson, the film is set in Central American Mayan culture and offers some impressive visuals at times that can really transport you back to the films time. The film was enjoyable and entertaining to watchA reasonably good effort here from Gibson, the film is set in Central American Mayan culture and offers some impressive visuals at times that can really transport you back to the films time. The film was enjoyable and entertaining to watch but it failed to fully grasp at an engaging story line set in this time period: it felt like Gibson was more interested in having a film showcase some aspects of Mayan culture rather than wrapping a full story line into it. The first section of the film seems to have a lack of focus, and the film also introduces certain elements into the film but refuses to continue with them. Once arriving at the Mayan city the film does focus more on one plot point, but it is not an exceedingly interesting one. The film also brought an odd mixture of realism and stylistically orientated scenes that felt odd but intriguing to watch. Also, well done for Gibson actually making the effort to not make the Mayans some how speak English. The acting is very hit and miss also, with some scenes feeling overly cheesy and others feeling very forced by the actors, yet it does capture the brutality and savagery of the time period. An enjoyable watch mainly for the sight of a fully realised Mayan culture put to screen but not for an engaging plot or acting. 6.5/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnMasterLMar 2, 2015
Mel Gibson es de mis directores favoritos, pues se da tantas libertades que son de lujo, a pesar de que no es el mejor trabajo de Gibson (ese lugar es para su obra maestra -La Pasión De Cristo-) sin duda alguna es un espectáculo visualMel Gibson es de mis directores favoritos, pues se da tantas libertades que son de lujo, a pesar de que no es el mejor trabajo de Gibson (ese lugar es para su obra maestra -La Pasión De Cristo-) sin duda alguna es un espectáculo visual cargado de adrenalina pura, secuencias de acción y suspenso hacen que esta pelicula sea entretenimiento puro. La dirección de Gibson como siempre es increíble y admirable, Gibson siempre le pone hasta el mas mínimo detalle en cada aspecto cinematográfico; la música, la fotografía, el sonido, la ambientación son un triunfo. Vuelvo a mencionar, y esto es una petición; pido que Mel Gibson regrese como director, (Yo lo considero mejor director que actor) estoy ansioso por ver su próxima pelicula. 10/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ba01Jan 16, 2015
A totally different themed movie than others which i was searching and now got
It Showed some real action,adventures & story of the wild from fast to last
I couldn't stop watching until see the end But now i want Apocalypto 2 Hope someone
A totally different themed movie than others which i was searching and now got
It Showed some real action,adventures & story of the wild from fast to last
I couldn't stop watching until see the end
But now i want Apocalypto 2
Hope someone will make it..
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SkulbSep 25, 2014
Apocalypto is a beautiful and horrifying movie about a tribe of native Americans which gets raided by the Mayas to be enslaved, painted blue, ritually sacrificed, eaten and who knows what else. It is a virtual descent into hell and back againApocalypto is a beautiful and horrifying movie about a tribe of native Americans which gets raided by the Mayas to be enslaved, painted blue, ritually sacrificed, eaten and who knows what else. It is a virtual descent into hell and back again for the viewer, though nowhere near as persistently hellish as Passion of Christ, as the movie follows the main character while he tries to escape the clutches of the deranged Mayan soldiery. All of it is done using Mayan language, which adds quite a lot of believability to the entire thing. Historically though, the proceedings are a sort of mix between Mayan and Aztec culture, and deliberately so, for reasons I`ll get to.
As always I feel myself compelled to use Metacritic to point out allegories in movies, because nobody else is apparently able to notice them. And particularly the "this isn`t historically accurate" people, who have missed every single point about both Passion of Christ and Apocalypto. The reason Gibson used a composite for the imperial culture in Apocalypto is precisely to make it obvious that the movie is not intended to be a docudrama but an allegory of the conflict between power and empire on one side and freedom and natural humanity on the other. It is expected that the viewer notices these simple things to be able to also notice that the entire religious ceremony through which the Mayan elite exercises its power is a farce, a pantomime and a gigantic fraud, and that they all know it up on top of the pyramid, while the subjects down below do not. The whole thing is nothing more than a staged performance of state organized brutality, intended to frighten the peasants.
This is the main statement Gibson makes in Apocalypto: that power is a fraud, maintained only through terrorizing the people. But because he is not really talking about Mayas, but about our present western power elite, he distorts it by mixing Aztec and Mayan culture. And this is what should tell us that the movie is a political, philosophical allegory about imperialism and oligarchy, which is not intended to be viewed as a period piece or anything of the sort. Otherwise he would not have blended the cultures see? Like Passion of Christ, Apocalypto tries to deal with the hypocrisy and mass murder at the heart of western civilization, with illegitimate power elites suppressing humanity, justice, freedom and truth, by using lies and violence in order to perpetuate their power. It presents a view on the evils of government as organized violence against the inherent good of man in his natural state. Once you truly understand this you`ll figure out that neither of these two movies are strictly about the subject matters, but are far more profound than that. So that`s why these "historical inaccuracies that might confuse people" are in the movie, and not because "Gibson doesn`t know how to read a history book".

Apocalypto is an allegory of contemporary oligarchical nonsense like the "War on Terror", the "War on Drugs", and an endless barrage of equally contrived and fake things. In fact, it is an allegory of any rule by lies, fraud, violence, intimidation and public spectacle and above all it is an allegory of good and evil. But if Mel Gibson had made this movie without allegories, he would probably have been shot by the CIA or been sent off to an insane asylum like Hemingway and Pound were. So much for free speech in the United States, and allegories it is then! Too bad most of the public are deaf dumb and blind to those. Oh well, what can you do, apart from whine about it on Metacritic?

I`m done with my rant now. Go watch Apocalypto at once if you haven`t already. Mass stupidity must be resisted!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
hardkor33Aug 5, 2013
Apocalypto 8/10.......................................................................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Jul 29, 2013
Thanks to Gibson's self-evident understanding of cinematic scope and an utterly astounding level of detail in the costume and production design departments, "Apocalypto" breathes a richly believable breath of atmosphere into a civilizationThanks to Gibson's self-evident understanding of cinematic scope and an utterly astounding level of detail in the costume and production design departments, "Apocalypto" breathes a richly believable breath of atmosphere into a civilization long gone and a story that's relatable to most. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
worleyjamersJun 2, 2013
Very good film by Mel Gibson. Good story, but even better action. I absolutely loved the fighting scenes and the chase scenes in particular. The last thirty minutes were so intense. A great movie despite the few historical inaccuracies. IVery good film by Mel Gibson. Good story, but even better action. I absolutely loved the fighting scenes and the chase scenes in particular. The last thirty minutes were so intense. A great movie despite the few historical inaccuracies. I really enjoyed it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CeltroApr 28, 2013
Great movie. Original, fast-paced and fiercely violent. When I first saw it at the cinema, it was a random choice as everything else looked toss. I left the cinema drained (in a good way) and I couldn't stop thinking about it for daysGreat movie. Original, fast-paced and fiercely violent. When I first saw it at the cinema, it was a random choice as everything else looked toss. I left the cinema drained (in a good way) and I couldn't stop thinking about it for days afterwards. I now lend my dvd copy to everyone I can, and almost all agree. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobJan 2, 2013
Watching it with my family when it first came out and we all really enjoyed it. What I really liked about it was that it managed to keep you interested from start to finish. Just a solid movie overall imo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
godlikegirishAug 17, 2012
This movie is probably one of the best movies in the decade, and probably the one of the most underrated ones. Surely deserved an Oscar for Direction. Mel Gibson should be looking forward to direct more movies with some good scripts. As farThis movie is probably one of the best movies in the decade, and probably the one of the most underrated ones. Surely deserved an Oscar for Direction. Mel Gibson should be looking forward to direct more movies with some good scripts. As far as this movie is concerned, you don't see a single moment which bores you as it is intense, deep and thoughtful. Language is no barrier and acting is superb considering relatively unknown cast. For me, this movie is always going to remain on top 10 all time favourite list. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cabritaAug 13, 2012
The film builds it's characters themes and setting until it finally breaks out into a gut wrenching thrill ride. Although many are saying this is just an action film and has nothing to say there is a surprising amount of depth in the themes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AwesomeReviewerMar 26, 2012
First things first, the movie is a chase movie without any cheesy special effects, CGI, or flashy cars. It is the bare bones of survival, a man running for his life. The movie tackles messages about the price for being free and how much weFirst things first, the movie is a chase movie without any cheesy special effects, CGI, or flashy cars. It is the bare bones of survival, a man running for his life. The movie tackles messages about the price for being free and how much we cherish our lives and the lives of the ones we love. It also tells of how a great civilization, that is very smart and advanced can turn to such inhumane and animal like practices in times of great depression.

The first thing I noticed while watching the movie is the cinematography, which is so beautiful. Giving us great shots of the forest and ancient cities. It is especially good in the chase sequences where I felt like I was the character and running for my life. Mel Gibson, one of my favorite directors, directs this movie so well. He has a knack for creating drama and very brutal scenes. My heart was constantly pounding even in slow scenes where nothing was happening. Iâ
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
xjamesJan 6, 2012
I thought that this movie, while not comparable to Braveheart, or the Passion, was good in its own way. Though bloody and violent, the plot line was a classic Mel Gibson. I watched an oppressed person rise above insane odds (much like in TheI thought that this movie, while not comparable to Braveheart, or the Passion, was good in its own way. Though bloody and violent, the plot line was a classic Mel Gibson. I watched an oppressed person rise above insane odds (much like in The Passion, and Braveheart). I loved the movie and thought that the native language used throughout only helped create a more realistic movie. This is another great win for Mel Gibson. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
spadenxDec 15, 2011
I enjoyed it. Thought it was a decent film but it felt a little too dragged on and it made me lose interest in the film. While it was solid through out, It just wasnt great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
asylumspadezNov 19, 2011
Actually pretty good for the most part. The one flaw of the movie is that its far too long and really could have been shortend quite a bit and imo it could have gotten the film a lot better reviews as well. It does get a little dull at timesActually pretty good for the most part. The one flaw of the movie is that its far too long and really could have been shortend quite a bit and imo it could have gotten the film a lot better reviews as well. It does get a little dull at times and doesnt really have much suspense either but still a solid film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
musstang62Nov 10, 2011
Netflix gave this a recommended 4 stars out of 5 so I thought I would watch it. This is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. I have no idea how movie critics gave this pretty good reviews, while other great movies get **** ones. In case itNetflix gave this a recommended 4 stars out of 5 so I thought I would watch it. This is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. I have no idea how movie critics gave this pretty good reviews, while other great movies get **** ones. In case it didn't show up already, I've got some mild spoilers here. I've got two huge beefs with this movie, aside from everything else that is wrong with it. Firstly, half of the movie revolves around the main characters being shackled up and just walking around. About as exciting as it sounds. Secondly, the main theme behind the movie is to be unafraid in the face of danger and be courageous. This is all well and good, and the main character realizes this towards the end of the movie and is capable of doing some incredible things. That's great, and would work really well in most movies, but with the situations that the main character was already in, HE WOULD HAVE DIED ABOUT 100 times over earlier in the movie if he didn't have fear as a motivator. If he would've been courageous and stood his ground and fought, like the central theme implied, the movie would end 15 minutes in, 20 minutes in, take your pick. This really destroyed any point of the main theme coming together at the end for me. Aside from this, I was facepalming about once a minute during the last 30 minutes of the movie. Not to say that some of the stuff at that juncture of the movie wasn't well done, but there was so much wrong with it that I only kept watching to see how much more this movie would f*** up. I would not recommend this movie to anyone and have no idea how the hell it was ever justified to be made Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroJul 15, 2011
I know now why the Mayans went extinct. They were nothing but a bunch of wild, bloodthirsty animals. Praise the Lord, or the Spanish, for bringing some civilization to that part of the world. The Arab world with their death cult and suicideI know now why the Mayans went extinct. They were nothing but a bunch of wild, bloodthirsty animals. Praise the Lord, or the Spanish, for bringing some civilization to that part of the world. The Arab world with their death cult and suicide bombings and their medieval superstitions is next, the last realm of barbarism. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
ScraperMay 8, 2011
The things you see in this movie are heavy, highly detailed, intense, and exist in a realm that most filmmakers can't go-such as using genocide as a plot device in a non-documentary piece. Very real feelings electrify this movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
JennetPApr 20, 2011
A real spectacle! Drawing inspiration from Mayan culture, Gibson creates his own vision of Mesoamerica, aesthetically coherent yet overwhelming to the senses. In it, urban mercenaries attack isolated villages, hoping to reverse their city'sA real spectacle! Drawing inspiration from Mayan culture, Gibson creates his own vision of Mesoamerica, aesthetically coherent yet overwhelming to the senses. In it, urban mercenaries attack isolated villages, hoping to reverse their city's decline by sacrificing captives to an insatiable sun-god. The sacrifice and the frenzy around it are dazzling; everything looks reminiscent of Mayan art yet, at the same, time, marvelously new. Beneath the exotic surface, however, run familiar emotional currents, and the charismatic young actors have no difficulty inspiring sympathy despite speaking entirely in a language most of us have never heard. But, alas, Gibson brought his ideological sledgehammer to the set. As the film opens, we read, in the immortal words of Will Durant, "A great civilization is not conquered from without until it has destroyed itself from within." In other words, what could have been a tale of a village besieged or the birth of a hero or the power of love is also an apology for imperialism. Look here, says Gibson, let me show you why Native Mesoamerica DESERVED Cortes. Those heathens piled up dead bodies like so much firewood, making the theft, betrayal, slaughter, and germ warfare that Europeans practiced a form of justice--pretty much what the conquistadors said at the time, if memory serves. As for the argument that the film is meant as a mirror of contemporary western culture, that does not shut down other lines of interpretation. If there's one thing everyone knows about Gibson, it's that he's a pre-Vatican II Catholic, meaning he was raised with the idea that every story has four levels: the distant past, the recent past, the end of time, and the individual soul. From the title onward, "Apocalypto" announces that it's about Mesoamerica AND the modern west AND the Apocalypse AND a person's family bonds, no one of which cancels out another. Objections aside, I recommend the film but suggest following it with "The Mission." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
tulsytrid1Feb 6, 2011
If one can get past the fact that this movie was meant to entertain and not educate, I think they would enjoy this film. The movie is a bit violent and not recommended for younger viewers. I think that the film does show how violent theIf one can get past the fact that this movie was meant to entertain and not educate, I think they would enjoy this film. The movie is a bit violent and not recommended for younger viewers. I think that the film does show how violent the Mayans probably lived. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
1337cowJan 31, 2011
Fantastic film. I can't really say it was an "accurate portrayal" of the Mayan culture but it sure felt like it. It was intense and visually outstanding, when you see the sacrifice scene and the crowd of people is shown it is amazing how manyFantastic film. I can't really say it was an "accurate portrayal" of the Mayan culture but it sure felt like it. It was intense and visually outstanding, when you see the sacrifice scene and the crowd of people is shown it is amazing how many there are, and if you see pictures of the actors after watching the movie it's incredible how they transformed them completely with the piercings that looked so real and clothing that seemed so authentic. I liked how the movie wasn't in English because it would have ruined the movie like other times I've seen things like world war II movies where the Germans all have American accents. Overall this film just feels like what i would have imagined Mayan culture to be like and the one small complaint that i had was in character development. Besides the main character you didn't really learn much about anyone. Still this movie is not to be missed, unless you have a weak stomach because there is some pretty visual stuff, but again that really just helps capture the feel of the setting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
torJan 15, 2011
Sure, Gibson ain't my favorite person, but let's be fair to this movie. It's great. Brutal and violent, but I was engrossed in the story from the beginning. Visually stunning. Twists and turns. Probably would have been an Oscar contender hadSure, Gibson ain't my favorite person, but let's be fair to this movie. It's great. Brutal and violent, but I was engrossed in the story from the beginning. Visually stunning. Twists and turns. Probably would have been an Oscar contender had Gibson not been so disliked. If you can get past the director and like action/adventure, you're likely to love it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
DschlessNov 17, 2010
This is a very good movie. The costumes, the jungle depiction of the natural world. It presents a non-European world view. The action is fantastic. It is brutal, but not gratuitous. It works on many levels. Pre-European native americanThis is a very good movie. The costumes, the jungle depiction of the natural world. It presents a non-European world view. The action is fantastic. It is brutal, but not gratuitous. It works on many levels. Pre-European native american worldviews are sorely needed in the film world. The actors all play great roles. It may not be historically perfect, but really enjoyable. The prophecies are pertinent to our modern world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ace97Sep 20, 2010
This movie is about the fall of the aztec empire and Gibson has done an excellent job portraying the horrifying brutality of this race. Watched again in HD after reading the book Aztec by Gary Jennings and Gibson's movie brought the book toThis movie is about the fall of the aztec empire and Gibson has done an excellent job portraying the horrifying brutality of this race. Watched again in HD after reading the book Aztec by Gary Jennings and Gibson's movie brought the book to life. Previous comments were correct that the Mayans had disappeared long before the time in the movie with the arrival of Cortez the killer. He does use the mayan god Kukulcan instead of aztec Huitzilopochtli - not sure why he didn't get his facts right but still great historical fiction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JennetPrestonSep 9, 2009
Ignore the rants at both extremes of the scale; most of them says more about the reviewer than the film. For once, the professional reviewers are more perceptive than the amateurs: APOCALYPTO offers magnificent spectacle but so littleIgnore the rants at both extremes of the scale; most of them says more about the reviewer than the film. For once, the professional reviewers are more perceptive than the amateurs: APOCALYPTO offers magnificent spectacle but so little complexity of plot , characterization, or theme that it eventually grows boring. Gibson and his artistic staff deserve loud accolades for the astonishing scenes of late Maya civilization, particularly once the film reaches the depraved city at its center. These scenes are consistent with the Maya aesthetic we know from sculpture and artifacts and, at the same time, completely, overwhelmingly alienating. The effect is dazzling, dizzying, and profound; I felt I could watch the middle section of the film ten times more without beginning to exhaust its riches. The last third of the film, however, is an interminable chase scene, relieved only by quick cuts to two people in a hole. Snooze. After 15 minutes or so, I fast-forwarded through the pursuit, and my only regret is that I hadn't started earlier. As for the infamous violence, I had no problem with it, given what the film was about. I simply felt that it occasionally served as a substitute for real plot development (Story starting to drag? Let's chuck some more spears!). On the whole, I would heartily recommend the film to anyone interested in cultural anthropology, anyone who likes big spectacles with lots of extras in costume, and, of course, anyone who likes spear-chucking. Just don't expect ideas more profound than "dominance fosters cruelty." And it's ok to go out for a beer during the last 40 minutes or so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidJun 16, 2009
I loved this movie!!! Very graphic in certain areas, but one of the few films I could watch over and over.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jazzmanMay 27, 2009
Really a great movie. If you haven't seen it check it out. in my top 10 movies all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveRMar 24, 2009
My opinion is that this was a Great movie!! The scenery the actors, and the story line exceeded my expectations! I haven't bought a DVD for some time but I will definitely buy this one. Action packed and very dramatic. I could visualize My opinion is that this was a Great movie!! The scenery the actors, and the story line exceeded my expectations! I haven't bought a DVD for some time but I will definitely buy this one. Action packed and very dramatic. I could visualize myself being there in this time of change for the Mexica Indians. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
sreepriyabsJan 19, 2009
Excellent movie!! was able to watch the movie on tv n i was really moved by the movie... loved the emotions through the movie and a gr8 job by mel gibson!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesM.Dec 21, 2008
A movie about pre colonial Mexico with a message for today? Exciting and with a message that takes a little thought to see clearly. Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamS.Dec 8, 2008
Really drawn into it the whole time. Loved it. A+
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DesmondMNov 24, 2008
You can always tell if a movie's going to be good or bad by reading the user comments in metacritic. After reading apocalypto's comments I knew I had to watch it. All the people who gave it bad ratings were obviously either You can always tell if a movie's going to be good or bad by reading the user comments in metacritic. After reading apocalypto's comments I knew I had to watch it. All the people who gave it bad ratings were obviously either complete idiots, or the sort of feeble, weak people who scream at the sight of mice. Why would you watch a movie rated R for violence and disturbing images if you don't like the sight of blood!? The main reason you can tell that the people who thought badly of 'apocalypto' are idiots is by the fact that the same people who say that they went into the movie expecting it to be about the downfall of the mayans and were surprised that it was not, go on to state that the plot is predictable... Hmm... let's think... How can the storyline be surprising and unexpected, and yet the plot is predictable??? Aren't the storyline and the plot pretty much the same thing!? And I don't get how 'Andrew' can say that the movie was historically inaccurate, even after 'Richard. T' wrote what looked like a novel about the many aspects of the film that related to history and were plausible. Also, I don't think many of us would have left the theatre with a mortal fear of mayans, scared that at any second they're going to come and destroy our houses, tie us up and take us away... In case everyone who said that the mayans were portrayed incorrectly as a violent people don't realise, not only were the people who wrecked the village and stole all the adults (the 'bad guys') mayan, but the good guys were mayans as well. You all choose to look at it from the point of view that everyone will have the wrong idea about the mayans now, even though 'jaguar paw' (who was mayan as well, duh!) was shown as such a kind and loving man who did so much for his wife, son, and unborn child, and only killed or harmed his enemies in self defence... As I mentioned before, immediately after reading the comments on metacritic, and seeing how stupid the people who were cynical of this movie were, I went and watched the movie, for which I am very grateful. It was actually one of the best movies I've ever seen, even though I haven't really liked Mel Gibson in the past. This was one of those movies that I just had to have on DVD. It was a great movie, and I don't even need to criticize the people who didn't like it any more, because their dim-wittedness speaks for itself. Awesome acting. Awesome storyline. Awesome movie!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
barbb.Nov 18, 2008
Great mel you are the best i like all of your movies but this one you out did your self i will watch it again also reading up on the mayan tribe now very interesting love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
jamesjSep 28, 2008
I don't know--should have given this a 10, because I thought it was absolutely hilarious. I watched the whole movie and then watched it AGAIN, with the commentary on. It was that entertaining. I mean--a lot of people I respect really I don't know--should have given this a 10, because I thought it was absolutely hilarious. I watched the whole movie and then watched it AGAIN, with the commentary on. It was that entertaining. I mean--a lot of people I respect really liked this movie. But I mean, first, there were historical inaccuracies you could drive a semi-truck through. In fact, I'm kind of surprised that wasn't included in the film! Gibson apparently had a hard time separating Maya from Aztec culture, not to mention one century from another. It's interesting that Mr. Cultural Understanding Gibson considered placing the movie's settings among the Aztecs, but dismissed it because of their brutality. (I think we of the 21st century have got to move past our gawking at Aztec brutality to really try and understand their historical cultures. I'm not sure, with our history of crusades and genocides and atomic weaponry and wars carried out based on lies--not sure we are equipped to dismiss any culture based on their "brutality") But, it's interesting that Gibson rejected the Aztecs, but then transferred all the most gory and brutal aspects of the Aztecs to the Mayans! I mean, Mayas did not carry out the mass sacrifices the Aztecs did. What's more, in terms of historical accuracy, urban civilization was hardly in full, or even half, swing when the Spanish arrived. But what's so hilarious about the movie is just how incredibly over the top it is. The ending! (Spoiler alert, I guess--but each time I watch it, it just gets funnier!) I mean, this dazzling foot race is going on while the guy's wife has fallen in a hole that's filling up with water, and then, in a birth sequence that is even more absurd than the sequence in Cronenberg's The Fly, where Gina Davis gives birth to a baby-sized maggot, she pops out a baby standing on tip-toes with the water having risen to her head, with her stretching her nose up for air! And, when I say that baby pops out, I mean, it pops out! Certainly one of the funniest moments of the film! And THEN, to top it all off, Jaguar Paws or whatever his name is, is being pursued by two Urban Maya intent on doing him harm only to suddenly run up on a Spanish ship coming into shore! Hoo boy, what a hoot! Definitely an entertaining film, but not in the way it was meant to be! What I can't believe is that folks like Robert Duvall, Edward James Olmos, and Roger Ebert all were enthusiastic to the point of hyperbole about this film. I mean--I respect all those guys...but maybe a little less than I had before! Maybe I'm just an idiot or something, but this film had me rolling in the floor with laughter! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlanKSep 12, 2008
A racist piece of Catholic propaganda about how the "barbaric" Maya needed to be saved by the Spanish priests bearing crosses that you see at the end. Also utterly predicable from start to finish. One of the very worst films I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ArleneCJul 4, 2008
I watched this last night on a friends recommendation (I didn't really fancy watching it otherwise) and despite a promising first 5 minutes of the Tapir hunt and the meeting with the refugee tribe, it suddenly went into comedy mode when I watched this last night on a friends recommendation (I didn't really fancy watching it otherwise) and despite a promising first 5 minutes of the Tapir hunt and the meeting with the refugee tribe, it suddenly went into comedy mode when the hunters went back to the village with the sex-obsessed mother-in-law and the prank played on her daughter and son. From then on it was just downhill. The violence in the film didn't really bother me, I didn't find it gratuitous (like in Passion of the Christ) there was a lot of blood and the sacrificial scenes were a bit too long Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrennanMJun 15, 2008
Oh gosh......how did so many people like this!?!? This movie was just sick! People are talking about how well it was done, and how powerful it was, yet....I seriously can't see any of that! It wasn't powerful, it was gross! Power Oh gosh......how did so many people like this!?!? This movie was just sick! People are talking about how well it was done, and how powerful it was, yet....I seriously can't see any of that! It wasn't powerful, it was gross! Power and oppression is shown through scenes with characters and their losses, but this movie just replaced good acting with 10 minutes of head chopping! Seriously, I cannot repeat enough: This movie is not powerful, it's just an over dramatic gorefest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DionK.May 13, 2008
JUST BRILLIANT!!!! Can't get enough of it... Mel Gibson is a genius and for those of you who didn't enjoy it, you should get educated on Mayan culture which was so well pictured. There is brutal violence and it is a hard to watch JUST BRILLIANT!!!! Can't get enough of it... Mel Gibson is a genius and for those of you who didn't enjoy it, you should get educated on Mayan culture which was so well pictured. There is brutal violence and it is a hard to watch movie but it IS The HISTORY, this is real, just thank God you didn't live those days. And if you find Jurassic Park, Spiderman, Star Wars, Matrix or Transformers better done, they you need to grow up! This movie is EXCEPTIONALLY inspiring. It blew my mind for daaays now. Just got back from Mayan Riviera and been studying mayan civilization for awhile. It was great to get an ide of what happened their at the ruin sites. Great job on costumes and make-up, they were almost described to a tee. Thank you for making such a GREAT movie. Would love to see the Incas next. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bobc.May 10, 2008
Alex S. got it ALL correct..Mel's a great movie maker. I'm sick to death of smarmy so called movie critics who by and large, are self appointed seeing themselves as omnipotent arbiters of our entertainment..I would like to drop Alex S. got it ALL correct..Mel's a great movie maker. I'm sick to death of smarmy so called movie critics who by and large, are self appointed seeing themselves as omnipotent arbiters of our entertainment..I would like to drop them back at the temple altar and see how they'd rate his accuracy. Mel .. love ya work! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShelbyJ.Apr 4, 2008
I loved the movie. I think it was exciting and there was never a dull moment. I think that they should have more movies about this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanC.Mar 29, 2008
This is an extremely effective and engrossing piece of story telling. Mel Gibson has a real talent for putting action on the screen within a larger and more meaningful context. The design and visuals are stunning, the action is extremely This is an extremely effective and engrossing piece of story telling. Mel Gibson has a real talent for putting action on the screen within a larger and more meaningful context. The design and visuals are stunning, the action is extremely well done, and the acting is quite good as well. The squeamish critics are a mystery to me - the blood here serves a purpose, tells a compelling story, and is realistic, not gratuitous. All in all, a very good movie experience. Very much worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartinaC.Feb 7, 2008
Brilliant, inspiring, and very bloody. But I couldn't take my eyes of the screen. Gibson is brilliant story teller. The point is that while they are killing each other, bigger beast is coming to wipe them out. It's to remind us to Brilliant, inspiring, and very bloody. But I couldn't take my eyes of the screen. Gibson is brilliant story teller. The point is that while they are killing each other, bigger beast is coming to wipe them out. It's to remind us to live today for the moment, because there may not be another chance to do or say what we always wanted to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexS.Jan 28, 2008
The overwhelming majority of people critiquing the movie have two arguments: excessive gore and lack of insight on the Mayan empire. Guess what, the movie was not about that in the first place. You loath blood, open your eyes, see the R The overwhelming majority of people critiquing the movie have two arguments: excessive gore and lack of insight on the Mayan empire. Guess what, the movie was not about that in the first place. You loath blood, open your eyes, see the R rating and than buzz off. You want documentary on Mayan empire Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AcelleJ.Jan 7, 2008
This is the GREATEST movie I have ever seen! Mel Gibson is the BESTt actor and director! Much RESPECT!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
C.YamashitaJan 6, 2008
A fantastic work of cinema. It left me wanting more, which is a test of any great film. It seems most are missing the main reason for making the movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
James.Dec 16, 2007
The lead actor is great. The film is a piece of junk, depicting the Maya as absurd frat boys, is wildly inacurrate, and predictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JavierD.Nov 5, 2007
I expected something more historical, regarding the fall of the great Mayan civilization. Instead I got this Hollywood bloody movie, filled with blood, organs and lots of dead. Yes the cinematography is good, but the plot is just terrible I expected something more historical, regarding the fall of the great Mayan civilization. Instead I got this Hollywood bloody movie, filled with blood, organs and lots of dead. Yes the cinematography is good, but the plot is just terrible (maybe ok argument for violent 13 year olds, but not a deep movie at all). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
paulaSep 21, 2007
in general the movie is good, and it's the typical movie, with violence and gore, etc...but if you are looking for historical events or you want to know more about mesoamericans civilizations , better get a book, because this movie isin general the movie is good, and it's the typical movie, with violence and gore, etc...but if you are looking for historical events or you want to know more about mesoamericans civilizations , better get a book, because this movie is completely wrong. "you like gore and violence, go ahead,,,,,, this is the movie.""" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
{Anonymous]Sep 19, 2007
I really don't understand why people have such a huge issue with this movie. Yes it is violent, but I have seen people stabbed and if it is anything like being hit with an arrow, then I would say the amount of gore was absolutely I really don't understand why people have such a huge issue with this movie. Yes it is violent, but I have seen people stabbed and if it is anything like being hit with an arrow, then I would say the amount of gore was absolutely accurate! If you get clubbed in the head or shot or stabbed, you're going to effing bleed...profusely. It is actually historically accurate that the Mayans practiced sacrifice and anyone who tries to deny this is the one being ignorant. Yes, the Mayans were also highly advanced in many ways and the movie did not really address this but was there really time to delve into the various achievements of the Mayans? People already complained it was too long! Couldn't we see by their architecture and complex city system in the movie that they weren't just a barbaric people?? The story line had nothing to do with it, so get over it. Also, I would like to point out that everyone commented on the ridiculousness of the eclipse. The high priests could actually predict before hand (using their advanced Mayan knowledge everyone claimed the movie was devoid of...) the exact time of an eclipse and therefore could use these sacrifices more as a way to retain the people's support because they would then think the prest was behind the eclipse. He knew it was coming!! Did everyone miss the subtle nod between the priest and the "king" right when the eclipse occurred??? It was not so ridiculous after all. Also, giving birth in water is one of the easiest ways to give birth. Seriously people, get over it. Just be positive. I mean, it takes a good movie to be sad and disturbing the whole way through and then leave you feeling a sense of some hope in the end. And the ambiguity of the ending leaves so much room for after thought. ps. If you don't like blood and that makes you sick then a)don't see a Mel Gibson movie and b)don't see a rated R movie for gore and violence!! Those warnings are there for a reason!You, not Mel and his movie, are the idiots in this situation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardT.Sep 14, 2007
Apocalypto clearly refers to the practice of human sacrifices in Mesoamerican societies, mainly the Aztec people. I would refer to Michel Graulich work:
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulF.Sep 12, 2007
What can I say but that Apocalypto felt as near perfect as it could be. Sure it was not the most feel good movie of the year seeing as there is so much violence with its war and sacrificial plot lines. But at times I'm sure this was What can I say but that Apocalypto felt as near perfect as it could be. Sure it was not the most feel good movie of the year seeing as there is so much violence with its war and sacrificial plot lines. But at times I'm sure this was exactly how it was for the Mayan and surrounding peoples. They did have at one point in their history a belief that human sacrifice in reflection of one of their God Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TupacSep 2, 2007
It's in my top 5 favorite movies of all-time. I usually don't like movies with subtitles in them but this one is different; it doesn't seem like a chore to be reading because it is such a good story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkS.Aug 24, 2007
This is one of those movie that shows how little some people know about making a fantastic movie, including critics especially. People 'getting sick' from watching Apocalypto is pathetic, because it is also one of those films that This is one of those movie that shows how little some people know about making a fantastic movie, including critics especially. People 'getting sick' from watching Apocalypto is pathetic, because it is also one of those films that isn't nearly as violent as it seemed it would be. Makes me wonder if some of these critics and fans voting on here even watched the movie. The voter here named 'A Movie Critic' says it right: it literally feels like you're being transported to another world." And that is Great-with -a-capital-G filmaking. I don't give it a 10 only because that is reserved for films like The Empire Strikes Back, The Wizard of Oz, and Ben Hur. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanS.Aug 4, 2007
One of the best films I have ever seen. What I don't understand is all the critics saying that it was too violent and bloody, especially in the temple scene. Well guess what? This is how it was. Hahaha oh yeah, this one critic even One of the best films I have ever seen. What I don't understand is all the critics saying that it was too violent and bloody, especially in the temple scene. Well guess what? This is how it was. Hahaha oh yeah, this one critic even wrote..."what kind of brutal movie is this....who would watch this....gangbangers"? Mannnnn, this isn't New Jack City or Boys in the Hood you half-wit. What, did u think that the Mayan warriors went to the villages tapping on the inhabitants shoulders telling them..."can you please come with me"? NO! And the temple scene.... actually, there were so many sacrifices that there were pools of blood and fat at the bottom of them so Mel was really giving us a break from how it really was. My god, I wonder what u people would say then. Yeah its gross, yeah its violent as hell but this is how the civilization was. Weapons, tattoos, piercings......everything was accurate except for the arrival of the Spaniards. But who cares! Instead of mentally searching for the arrival time of the Spaniards to make sure its historically correct, I thought to myself...."ha, that's cool....look at that....here they come to end it all....spread/force their language, diseases and religious beliefs on the Mayan people and totally end what I just saw through the movie....forever"! I really enjoyed the movie. Sit back and enjoy it. Let it take u on a wild ride throught the jungle and witness how the Mayans lived for thousands of years. Well not the whole culture of course but the religious aspect of it anyway. The Mayan military REALLY did go out to surrounding villages to get victims for their religious sacrifices. They even actually had wars solely for them. They REALLY did sacrifice the victims in that way up there on top of the temples. There's your "historical accuracy" right there. I mean, the whole film is accurate but those 5 seconds capturing the arrival. Never mind the bad reviews. See it. Trust me! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SimpleGuyJul 27, 2007
Good Movie.. Mel presented Westerners as the Saviours at the end of the Movie but in fact they were they real invaders and conquerers.. And he also presented the Mayans as Savages when these people respected each other and also respected Good Movie.. Mel presented Westerners as the Saviours at the end of the Movie but in fact they were they real invaders and conquerers.. And he also presented the Mayans as Savages when these people respected each other and also respected nature.. Really disappointed at Mel.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SimpleGuyJul 27, 2007
Good Movie.. Mel presented Westerners as the Saviours at the end of the Movie but in fact they were they real invaders and conquerers.. And he also presented the Mayans as Savages when these people respected each other and also respected Good Movie.. Mel presented Westerners as the Saviours at the end of the Movie but in fact they were they real invaders and conquerers.. And he also presented the Mayans as Savages when these people respected each other and also respected nature.. Really disappointed at Mel.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
askanirJul 21, 2007
i watched 15mins, where the mayans were sacrificing the last of the other tribe and ended when the young man was up in a tree with a cougar, i literally vomited and was physically sick. i have yet to bring myself to watch the rest.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
uzir.Jul 16, 2007
Why is everyone whining about how historically inaccurate this movie is? "blah blah i wanted to learn something about the Mayans" well i wanted to see an awesome movie and my man Mel delivers. the ending wasn't super great, but the movieWhy is everyone whining about how historically inaccurate this movie is? "blah blah i wanted to learn something about the Mayans" well i wanted to see an awesome movie and my man Mel delivers. the ending wasn't super great, but the movie was totally awesome to look at, not to mention totally brutal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AMovieCriticJul 15, 2007
Forget the fact that Mel Gibson made it.....this is a great movie. It literally feels like you're being transported to another world. Extremely immersing experience with music and sound effects that completely bring this world to life. Forget the fact that Mel Gibson made it.....this is a great movie. It literally feels like you're being transported to another world. Extremely immersing experience with music and sound effects that completely bring this world to life. Great chase scenes in the last half hour as well. As much as I hate to admit it (since this movie's directed and co-written by Mel Gibson,) I really liked this movie. It does have a tendency to linger on certain scenes a little too long (an attack on a village in the beginning seems to go on forever, as does a trek to a city,) but overall, it's a satisfying and interesting experience and a worthwhile rental, at least. Obviously it's a violent movie, but it didn't really feel excessive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimQJul 12, 2007
Horrific, and beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ReneVJul 9, 2007
Horrible, violent, disgusting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
StoshW.Jul 1, 2007
Not nearly as bad as I expected so it gets points for exceeding expectations. Kind of a fun , though bloody romp , with no real substance at the end but an interesting ride with great scenery and costumes along the way. Wouldn't be Not nearly as bad as I expected so it gets points for exceeding expectations. Kind of a fun , though bloody romp , with no real substance at the end but an interesting ride with great scenery and costumes along the way. Wouldn't be worth getting on for another ride , but as they say and totally appropriate here , "better than a sharp stick in the eye." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JerryJun 30, 2007
Wow, very good movie. Wasn't expecting it at all. I figured with the way the previews made it look it would just be a bunch of random, scenes of a violent history documentary. Yes it is violent but the story is great and its an Wow, very good movie. Wasn't expecting it at all. I figured with the way the previews made it look it would just be a bunch of random, scenes of a violent history documentary. Yes it is violent but the story is great and its an incredible amount of excitement thru out. (P.S. I'm a jew that knows Mel Gibson is a grade A closet anti-semetic but that that bias I held going into the movie says just how good this movie was.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshW.Jun 25, 2007
I thought this movie was amazing! A superb story. Gripping and thought provoking from start to finish.Who cares if it might not be historically accurate. There are people who go on... Blah.Blah..Blah about it`s improper depiction of the I thought this movie was amazing! A superb story. Gripping and thought provoking from start to finish.Who cares if it might not be historically accurate. There are people who go on... Blah.Blah..Blah about it`s improper depiction of the Mayan culture and the likelihood of such circumstances arising. Where you there? I think not! So take your conceptions and get back to your TV so you can watch that "real life " drama that your so fond of. This Movie is thrilling and definitely one of the better movies to come out of Hollywood. Mel is a friggin genius! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AndrewJun 25, 2007
I like the guy who said "I can't see how anyone could find fault with it." Maybe you should take some time to read the myriad bad reviews it got, since they all are spot on. This movie is a travesty. I thought I'd learn something I like the guy who said "I can't see how anyone could find fault with it." Maybe you should take some time to read the myriad bad reviews it got, since they all are spot on. This movie is a travesty. I thought I'd learn something about Mayans. Instead, it's like some primitive version of Hostel. Not to mention this film is grounded in as much fact as the Star Wars movies are. (Anyone saying this movie is historically accurate probably hasn't touched a history book since high school.) If you're naive and enjoy violence and gore, by all means, take in the craptacular train wreck that is Apocalypto. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ReneVJun 24, 2007
Horrible, violent, disgusting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HannahB.Jun 23, 2007
I think this was an amazing movie and it was very suspenseful! Mel Gibson has out done himself once again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnM.Jun 22, 2007
I really loved the film regardless of some of the critics own remarks . It might seem that the problem of the films historical vision of the Mayan city at the end of the Maya civilization - seems rather pointless to identity the I really loved the film regardless of some of the critics own remarks . It might seem that the problem of the films historical vision of the Mayan city at the end of the Maya civilization - seems rather pointless to identity the 'city' in the film - My friend who is a Maya-ologist says that the 'pyramid of doom' in the film where the sacrifices took place is one of the pyramids in the city of Tikal which was abandoned in 9 cen AD way after the time that the movie says that Jaguar Paw taken captive- Gibson did use some old National Geographic paintings of the city of Tikal as his Mayan city in the movie ; nevertheless it is a good film and it is close to the new conceptions of the Maya in light of modern archaeological findings. The Maya were more warlike than 'peaceful' as was once thought. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EldonJun 17, 2007
I had avoided seeing this film for a number of reasons... but I have to admit I thought it was good. It really did surprise me. Brutus O's review is right there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinM.Jun 16, 2007
This was a very good show, a real underdog kind of thing. I don't know how it got such a low rating, but I can't see how anyone could find fault with it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimE.Jun 15, 2007
The contradictions of the human condition are understood by Gibson. Unlike his critics (who, based on their ad hominum remarks, are mere children next to him), he is authentic and unapologetic and will therefore be remembered.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JackieR.Jun 13, 2007
I found this picture hard to watch at times as the images were so upsetting but I felt it probably portrayed the actual times accurately. Not a big Mel fan, I would recommend this but not to the fainthearted!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BobCJun 12, 2007
Despite the somewhat hopeful ending, this movie belongs on the dung-heap of movieland for the shamefully unbalanced presentation of the Mayan culture. Mel Gibson's pathologic disdain for this non-Christian civilization is graphically Despite the somewhat hopeful ending, this movie belongs on the dung-heap of movieland for the shamefully unbalanced presentation of the Mayan culture. Mel Gibson's pathologic disdain for this non-Christian civilization is graphically and brutally displayed without any balancing scenes of positive societal attributes except from the "primitives". Shame on you Mel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertM.Jun 11, 2007
The film shows time and time again that while the main character was intuitive, even lucky, his struggle against merely coping with the superstitious tendencies of his people was more than enough to drive him to save his two children and The film shows time and time again that while the main character was intuitive, even lucky, his struggle against merely coping with the superstitious tendencies of his people was more than enough to drive him to save his two children and wife from a pit, slightly inaccurate but all around depicts what life would have been like, great jib Mel, keep em coming Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DavidQ.Jun 8, 2007
Only a deeply religious person could do violence this unrelenting, cruel, and perverse. Moving from the blood-spurting-out-of-the-head scene (with the camera right behind the blood spurts, to catch each one) to the underwater birth scene, Only a deeply religious person could do violence this unrelenting, cruel, and perverse. Moving from the blood-spurting-out-of-the-head scene (with the camera right behind the blood spurts, to catch each one) to the underwater birth scene, all of this shortly after the jaguar-ate-my-face-off scene, is, to be blunt, embarrassing. I could forgive all of this if the movie had any "poetry" of violence about it, but it was all pretty standard. There were, in fact, numerous scenes that I swear were shot on video. The actors were uniformly great, the costumes and makeup exceptional as well. But after a while, such pointless and not especially well-crafted sadism wears thin. What was the point? The same story could be told with Kurt Russel escaping a post-apocalyptic New York. I loved Braveheart. What happened to Mel? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristianV.Jun 8, 2007
Incredible! Kept my heart pounding through out the entire movie! Extremely entertaining. I would definitely watch this movie over and over again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnB.Jun 7, 2007
First I want to say that I really enjoyed this movie. It is exciting, epic, dramatic and even thought provoking. I can't rate this movie much higher however because at times I felt it was clunky and slow moving. Another thing that I First I want to say that I really enjoyed this movie. It is exciting, epic, dramatic and even thought provoking. I can't rate this movie much higher however because at times I felt it was clunky and slow moving. Another thing that I have to point out is that this movie is very limited by the fact that it is done in a not so common language. I think the translations were poorly done as if we are to believe the Mayans spoke in a manner like we do today. I could easily see how a completely different meaning could be obtained if it were translated differently. Other than that though, other criticism includes the lack of real cultural substance which would have made this movie more powerful and unique. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
andyMay 31, 2007
The problem I have with this film is this: People not knowing that this movie is fictional will think this is exactly what Mayan civilization was like and conclude that Gibson's film is fact (because people are dumb). Gibson shouldThe problem I have with this film is this: People not knowing that this movie is fictional will think this is exactly what Mayan civilization was like and conclude that Gibson's film is fact (because people are dumb). Gibson should have researched more extensively to give us more of a historical context of the Mayan world and times instead of focusing on an action-chase adventure. That being said, it was marginally entertaining but overly long. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ChristopherW.May 23, 2007
As with Gibson's last three films, if you're looking for historical accuracy, look elsewhere. However, once again, he has made a thoroughly engrossing, beautifully mounted epic. The controversial treatment of Mayan people as brutalAs with Gibson's last three films, if you're looking for historical accuracy, look elsewhere. However, once again, he has made a thoroughly engrossing, beautifully mounted epic. The controversial treatment of Mayan people as brutal savages will, no doubt, be offensive to some history buffs, but the film is remarkably entertaining and well paced, and truly soars in its second half. Gibson may have some serious character flaws, but he has filmmaking in his blood. Extraordinary! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MattMay 23, 2007
I think it is really really important to note that, while Mr. Gibson might have set out to portray the Mayans, he actually portrayed the Aztecs. It frightens me that no one has picked up on this yet. The Mayans fell 500 years before theI think it is really really important to note that, while Mr. Gibson might have set out to portray the Mayans, he actually portrayed the Aztecs. It frightens me that no one has picked up on this yet. The Mayans fell 500 years before the Spanish came to Mexico. The Mayans did not cut open people's hearts, the Aztecs did. The Mayans did not have a big city. The Aztecs did. The Mayans did not participate in the Flower Wars (taking prisoners for the purpose of sacrificing them, as depicted in the movie) the Aztecs did. I could go on. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarilenManipulaMay 22, 2007
hey, i hate those who gave 0 ranking for mel gibson's apocalypto, so i give it 10, it's really a good movie, if there's violence which most consider negative, why won't they open their eyes? stop pretending to be sohey, i hate those who gave 0 ranking for mel gibson's apocalypto, so i give it 10, it's really a good movie, if there's violence which most consider negative, why won't they open their eyes? stop pretending to be so inncocent! when i've watched this movie it's really good, you can really feel the intense.. i give it a perfect score ^^- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TroyMossmanApr 14, 2007
You know what guys? Quit ******** about how inaccurate the movie portrays the Mayans. We are no longer living in those times and they are impossible to completely re-create. Not to mention this movie was never meant to be a scientific studyYou know what guys? Quit ******** about how inaccurate the movie portrays the Mayans. We are no longer living in those times and they are impossible to completely re-create. Not to mention this movie was never meant to be a scientific study of Mayan life. Go watch a DIscovery special if that's what you're looking for. As it stands, Apocalyto is a great, fast paced action film. The story is interesting if not "historically accurate", and the filming is done very well. See it for what it is. Not because you want some boring British lecturer to take you through the life of the Mayan's or some crap like that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatE.Apr 8, 2007
Undountedly, the people who no nothing of America's Indians can't help but rate this movie low, for the mind too small to comprehend anything past the violence, I say this movie isn't for you! Go watch an Arnold flick! ItUndountedly, the people who no nothing of America's Indians can't help but rate this movie low, for the mind too small to comprehend anything past the violence, I say this movie isn't for you! Go watch an Arnold flick! It wasn't meant to brilliantly potray the mayan's culture. It also wasn't meant to give you a history lesson either. It was meant for you to understand the nature of a people. The Mayans had spiritual beliefs, they had societies built by slaves. Yes, this slaves were their own people, stop bashing mel gibson just because this movie isn't for the simple minded. Sure, Mel isn't perfect, and sure he's a bit crazy. Alot of brilliant people have been on the brink of insanity. Stop taking away from a brilliant movie. Brilliant because it still captivates somewhat of a meaningful end. This isn't for you Jackass 2 movie lovers, so go back to your MTV rubbish and save the space for meaningful comment! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrutusO.Mar 11, 2007
A bit of a surprise, and a considerably better film than Braveheart. Above all Apocalypto is a gripping action film, admittedly violent, but well paced and brilliantly shot, with astounding costume design and casting. It is also occasionally A bit of a surprise, and a considerably better film than Braveheart. Above all Apocalypto is a gripping action film, admittedly violent, but well paced and brilliantly shot, with astounding costume design and casting. It is also occasionally humourous, often touching, sometimes romantic and quite a bit more thoughtful than it first appears. The film is not a documentary about Mayan history. It is a parable about the nature of apocalyptic social collapse (hence the title, guys - it isn't called Mayo) and the centrality and importance of family and primary relationships when society crumbles. So it could have been set in any country where society and the environment are in terminal decline. The lesson is that mindless violence and overpopulation and ethnic cleansing and a war economy and religious hysteria will all come to the fore when the elites within any society lose touch with their basic humanitarian and conservationist impulses. So this movie could just as easily have been set at the fall of Ancient Egypt, or Rome, or even in contemporary Iraq, Sudan or Zimbabwe. But despite being like, "a bit heavy and depressing" the film in fact has the directorial chops to be pretty damn entertaining. I suppose linking one's family values to the environment represents something of a conservative viewpoint, but after all conservation and conservative do stem from the same word. Mel's best film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RadiospotsR.Feb 18, 2007
Absolutely a superb work of art. I have been working long hours that last several months, and almost every movie I have dozed off on, but not this. This movie had me from the begining to the very end. Went very fast, absoutely amazing and Absolutely a superb work of art. I have been working long hours that last several months, and almost every movie I have dozed off on, but not this. This movie had me from the begining to the very end. Went very fast, absoutely amazing and proving Mel is definitely a very gifted artist. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndresA.Feb 13, 2007
How many people are going to actually watch this movie and say: "okay, let's excuse the historic inaccuracies, since this is is just a fiction film" ? The same way people derived a strong anti-semitic message from "the Passion of the How many people are going to actually watch this movie and say: "okay, let's excuse the historic inaccuracies, since this is is just a fiction film" ? The same way people derived a strong anti-semitic message from "the Passion of the Christ", they will believe Gibson's message that this is actually what the Maya culture used to look like a thousand years ago. Sad indeed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LuciaV.Feb 12, 2007
This was a terrible movie if you are looking for reliable information regarding the Mayan people and their advanced civilization. If you know that and are looking for a believable action film, it is an awful movie with all its implausible This was a terrible movie if you are looking for reliable information regarding the Mayan people and their advanced civilization. If you know that and are looking for a believable action film, it is an awful movie with all its implausible thrill scenes. Neither the hunters or the hunted behaved as knowledgeable forest dwellers. It made the characters look stupid at best. Those who liked this movie must be as stupid as the director (who could not create a single credible scene) as they wax excitedly over big screen stupidity. I just hope no one uses this film to try to better know our southern neighbors. This film continues in the genre of demeaning, stereotypical racist caricatures of Mexicans or their ancestors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AndreaV.Feb 9, 2007
So much violence is just pornographic. There's nothing left after you watch it, just angst. The only positive aspect is the actor Rudy Youngblood (despite the fact he is not even Mayan) who trasmits feelings to the audience in a great way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LlaveO.Feb 5, 2007
The film may be subject to negative comments for historical inaccuracies and brutal violences, but as a fiction, without a doubt, it is a masterpiece especially the performances of actors-- collectively, they performed with tribal perfection!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
FrankL.Feb 3, 2007
It is about time that history be treated with respect. This film is one dimensional in its overbearing dependence on violence. It is hard to love nature if we look through Gibson's eyes. He is on a mission of conversion and uses all the It is about time that history be treated with respect. This film is one dimensional in its overbearing dependence on violence. It is hard to love nature if we look through Gibson's eyes. He is on a mission of conversion and uses all the tools available to him to convince all of us that his history and observations are true. He has failed to make a balanced and poetic vision of the Maya culture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChaiM.Feb 2, 2007
The movie was superbly created. With tons of metaphors and thoughts about courage, I, as an avid movie buff will certainly crave for this movie every once in a while...way to go!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LARADOEJan 30, 2007
Having recently been in Mexico I decided to see this film. If it did not have some pretentions to being some comment on life as we know it either now, or in the time of (as Gibson would have it) "some" of our ancestors it might just beHaving recently been in Mexico I decided to see this film. If it did not have some pretentions to being some comment on life as we know it either now, or in the time of (as Gibson would have it) "some" of our ancestors it might just be mindlesslyand in some ways unprecendently cruel and crude however because it opens with a comment about how societies collapse it sets itself up as having meaning. It does not have any meaning beyond evoking profounding visceral responses that knock any possible thinking through out from after the first ten minutes. To call it flawed honours it , to me it is a brutal travesty that apparently enobles the hegemony that ruled thereafter.It is more disturbing to think about it because then you realise there is no comprehensible message. Only good for dieters - eating is not to be recommended either before, and out of the question afterwards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MauriceV.Jan 29, 2007
Just a morron would think that the most intelectual and respectful of the prehispanic cultures is as savage as they were depicted... Yup... Mel Gibson is that stupid. But that's what you get when you mix a crappy director who caresJust a morron would think that the most intelectual and respectful of the prehispanic cultures is as savage as they were depicted... Yup... Mel Gibson is that stupid. But that's what you get when you mix a crappy director who cares nothing about historical facts, and the comercial vibe to create another worthless action unwitful spoil just to fill the producers hands with money from the usual morbid mob who love the baths of blood and gore for no special reason nor plot....
Now Mayans and spanish men... well grabing a history book won't hurt anyone, then we can all know that the periods of time don't fit actually...that, and the already mentioned farfetched scenes shown all along this suplex of a film.. But ... hey... it is another fact that Gibson's brain is sort of death... so it was something really predictable. It's not worth watching at all.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickX.Jan 27, 2007
I wish I could rate it with 11/10. The film is amazing for every fan of the Mayans..and not!
0 of 0 users found this helpful