Dimension Films | Release Date: September 2, 2011
4.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 144 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
41
Mixed:
58
Negative:
45
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
Andys_ReviewsAug 24, 2012
By the time of the last Apollo mission in 1972, the public had lost interest in spaceflight and, sadly, that
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
joylitSep 2, 2011
Proficiently made, this new addition to the "found footage" horror/science fiction sub-genre has a couple of jump off your seat moments and a very effective sound design; however, the many inconsistencies (do these guys even researched aboutProficiently made, this new addition to the "found footage" horror/science fiction sub-genre has a couple of jump off your seat moments and a very effective sound design; however, the many inconsistencies (do these guys even researched about NASA's protocols?) and the feature of one of the most silly villains since Shyamalan's"The Happening" conspire to dilute the final punch these type of narratives should have. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
5
BrandonBMar 5, 2016
Despite providing a few occasion creepy moments and having an interesting premise, Apollo 18 as a film is rather dull and borrows a little too much from more superior films
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Knicksfan7Sep 7, 2011
Just saw this movie and i must say i liked it but i didnt like it at the same time. The critics rating ruined this movie for me. I expected it to be horrible so i didnt even give it a chance. I know i wouldve liked this movie if i hadnt seenJust saw this movie and i must say i liked it but i didnt like it at the same time. The critics rating ruined this movie for me. I expected it to be horrible so i didnt even give it a chance. I know i wouldve liked this movie if i hadnt seen the reviews. It had its scary points but it did have some slow nonsensical points. I didnt understand the point to the slow motion shots they used and the actors seemed to be trying to hard occasionally, and i wasnt the biggest fan of the villain but it was still a decent film. Dont just listen to the critics, give this movie a chance, you will like it if you enjoy suspenseful films or a horror movie that gets you thinking, dont do what i did, give it a chance. 5/10 would be higher if i didnt ruin it for myself with the critics. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
filmtrashreviewSep 4, 2011
What looks to be a fun mockumentary horror film is nothing more then a lame, dry and boring hour and twenty minutes. Brand new actors, brand new director and no credits. This seems like something that could have worked pre blair witch butWhat looks to be a fun mockumentary horror film is nothing more then a lame, dry and boring hour and twenty minutes. Brand new actors, brand new director and no credits. This seems like something that could have worked pre blair witch but were smarter then that and this film is a lot stupider then that! Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
6
DukeJonAug 5, 2013
This could have been really good... but it wasn't. The premising is intriguing, the acting is decent, the "found footage" style lends itself to the story quite well. The problem for me was that they spent too much time building up the tensionThis could have been really good... but it wasn't. The premising is intriguing, the acting is decent, the "found footage" style lends itself to the story quite well. The problem for me was that they spent too much time building up the tension and in the end it didn't really lead anywhere. Finding the Soviet LK lander and dead cosmonaut was where things started getting interesting but they didn't do enough with it. Above all I found the "alien spider moon rocks" a bit lame, it would have been better with a conventional grey alien, perhaps one that had crashed its spaceship on the moon and was taking over the astronauts in an attempt to get home. Overall by the end I felt a bit cheated and felt that the time I'd invested was not justified by the ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ArarfileSep 2, 2011
This movie is one long trailer. Just drop this "found footage" thing, this movie would be good if it had been a normal movie with narrative and some back story, sort of like Apollo 13 where you see them training for the flight and all theThis movie is one long trailer. Just drop this "found footage" thing, this movie would be good if it had been a normal movie with narrative and some back story, sort of like Apollo 13 where you see them training for the flight and all the good stuff. I had no idea what was going half of the movie, they went from being extremely concerned about certain things to sitting around on moon rocks in one shot! And what's with the paranormal-ish aliens, was it so hard to come up with a realistic enemy/danger? Also, there was almost no contact with the Mission Control Center so it felt like they were stuck in some base in Antarctica. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
4
jfthuecksSep 10, 2011
if you read a review with a positive review or anything over a 5 know these people are either idiots or just want you to watch this movie. just saying. the story is sparse but a good idea, that being said the biggest flaw with this movie isif you read a review with a positive review or anything over a 5 know these people are either idiots or just want you to watch this movie. just saying. the story is sparse but a good idea, that being said the biggest flaw with this movie is that it's BORING!!!! it's watch able and that isn't saying much. the only reason i didn't walk out is because i didn't want the producers to get the satisfaction of getting my money and having me walk away without seeing it. yes i am mentally changed i think. the end. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
grandpajoe6191Sep 13, 2011
There are some scary moments, but all of these moments cannot overcome the boredom and the lethargic pace of "Apollo 18", or should I say "The Paranormal Activity Wannabe".
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
5
RyanPrattSep 12, 2011
Wait-for-it - Since I don't believe we ever actually landed on the moon it's hard to believe this "true" story but it is semi-scary.

Continue reading on Examiner.com See-it, rent-it, skip-it: Top 10 best movies in theaters Friday, September
Wait-for-it - Since I don't believe we ever actually landed on the moon it's hard to believe this "true" story but it is semi-scary.

Continue reading on Examiner.com See-it, rent-it, skip-it: Top 10 best movies in theaters Friday, September 9th - National Movie | Examiner.com http://www.examiner.com/movie-in-national/see-it-rent-it-skip-it-top-10-best-movies-theaters-friday-september-9th#ixzz1XkEs9LgX
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
BrandonBonaseraMar 5, 2016
Despite providing a few occasion creepy moments and having an interesting premise, Apollo 18 as a film is rather dull and borrows a little too much from more superior films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ZilcellJan 2, 2012
Apollo 18 was mildly amusing, but it had quite a few problems. First of all, this movie was short. Simply put, it didn't feel like a lot really happened in the premise. Second, it wasn't even scary. There were a few jump moments but nothingApollo 18 was mildly amusing, but it had quite a few problems. First of all, this movie was short. Simply put, it didn't feel like a lot really happened in the premise. Second, it wasn't even scary. There were a few jump moments but nothing too special. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
katharineclarkJan 4, 2012
I recognized the actors from Sanctuary and Alphas so I knew the movie was fake. The first half of the movie is like most horror movies, building up tension. Unfortunately, like most horror movies once the monster is revealed, everything getsI recognized the actors from Sanctuary and Alphas so I knew the movie was fake. The first half of the movie is like most horror movies, building up tension. Unfortunately, like most horror movies once the monster is revealed, everything gets a little boring and predictable. I did like cutting choices, and the stylized sets and costumes and film; I thought it was convincingly from the late 60s - early 70s. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
DanedadFeb 2, 2012
Kind of dumb, with bland special effects. The actors are okay and the premise was interesting although it was pretty darn predictable. The stock NASA footage was used to good effect although if you were of certain age, you had seen it allKind of dumb, with bland special effects. The actors are okay and the premise was interesting although it was pretty darn predictable. The stock NASA footage was used to good effect although if you were of certain age, you had seen it all before. I felt sorry for the Russian cosmonaut..... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
A_NorthernerSep 1, 2012
Why did I watch it?
Being a bit of a sci-fi and closet horror fan, I was suckered in by the trailer and the interesting premise of a disastrous secret moon landing ending the NASA Apollo missions.
What's it all about? Apollo 18 is a
Why did I watch it?
Being a bit of a sci-fi and closet horror fan, I was suckered in by the trailer and the interesting premise of a disastrous secret moon landing ending the NASA Apollo missions.

What's it all about?
Apollo 18 is a found-footage type film marketed as being made up of footage recovered from a top secret NASA moon landing in 1974. The Apollo 18 mission is cancelled publicly, however the mission secretly still takes place under stewardship of the Department of Defence. One astronaut stays in orbit while the other two land on the moon and begin their mission of deploying detectors to monitor Soviet activity.

Should you watch it?
First of all, Apollo 18 owes a lot to other found-footage films like Blair Witch and Cloverfield. One difference however, is that the events are shown from a variety of cameras, handheld, inside the lunar module and from cameras on the outside of the module. The editing is very choppy and often switches between the various cameras as you imagine a security guard would. While this never gives the audience a chance to rest as you find yourself scoping out all the shots for any movement it becomes tiresome and interrupting. Coupled with the 'interference' to the footage and the grainy nature of some the shots, its all a bit too realistic but difficult to watch. The same applies to majority of the dialogue, radio transmissions are authentic but not employed with the viewer in mind.

The director creates suspense on occasions by using the vast and isolated yet claustrophobic setting of the moon and also the cramped safety of the lunar module coupled with a cabin fever mentality. I won't deny that on occasions the film succeeded in building uneasiness and made me jump a few times. The technique of using intermittent light flashes to illuminate pitch black environments, in Apollo 18's case moon craters, has been used previously in Saw and is not employed anywhere near as well here.

The main thought I had following the film's ending, which I won't spoil, is how on Earth (no pun intended) was the footage found? Based on this it had me thinking, was the found-footage approach really necessary? Did cost negate a traditional approach? Films like Alien prove that suspenseful sci-fi horrors work minus the novelty.

Will appeal far more to horror genre fans than traditional sci-fi fans.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SwitSwatSep 24, 2013
It certainly wasn't the best movie. It certainly wasn't the worst either. It had its moments, but overall it was a pretty simple attempt at a suspense movie. The documentary-style footage added to the mood of the movie and it did a good jobIt certainly wasn't the best movie. It certainly wasn't the worst either. It had its moments, but overall it was a pretty simple attempt at a suspense movie. The documentary-style footage added to the mood of the movie and it did a good job on that, but again, it's nothing something you would want to watch again and again. 6/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Jack97Jan 4, 2014
It's pacing is pretty much unbearable thus making it generally boring but that's partly counter balanced by the found footage style format which is quite impressive to a degree.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
TheGamer31Dec 12, 2012
This movie was a major disappointment. It wasn't bad, but it really wasn't what I was expecting it to be. The ending was bad, the acting was meh, and the script was corny at times. The only "scary" part, and it wasn't scary but more of aThis movie was a major disappointment. It wasn't bad, but it really wasn't what I was expecting it to be. The ending was bad, the acting was meh, and the script was corny at times. The only "scary" part, and it wasn't scary but more of a jump-scare, was when the infected guy randomly came to the window and started pounding on the window with a hammer. Over-all, the movie sucked. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
mds03Mar 7, 2013
It's just so unbelievable how stupefyingly fake this movie is. Not that I would ever think it was real. It's just that that's what they were aiming for. The main problem is that the aliens should have been creepy, not crab rock moon-shinIt's just so unbelievable how stupefyingly fake this movie is. Not that I would ever think it was real. It's just that that's what they were aiming for. The main problem is that the aliens should have been creepy, not crab rock moon-shin aliens instead of Martians!!!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
uselessDMSep 28, 2013
I don't think this movie is nearly as bad as it is made to seem. Obviously the story is far from being real, but it is still interesting and has a nice build up and a few surprises. There is no reason to ever watch it again after the firstI don't think this movie is nearly as bad as it is made to seem. Obviously the story is far from being real, but it is still interesting and has a nice build up and a few surprises. There is no reason to ever watch it again after the first time, but for once it's really not to bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
KrissTolliday14Aug 12, 2016
Riffing off the current hype of found footage movies, Apollo 18 fails to build any of the suspense of tension that earlier instalments, such as The Blair Witch Project and Cloverfield, had in abundance. What we get instead is ninety minutesRiffing off the current hype of found footage movies, Apollo 18 fails to build any of the suspense of tension that earlier instalments, such as The Blair Witch Project and Cloverfield, had in abundance. What we get instead is ninety minutes of not a lot. It takes plenty of time to get going, then nothing really happens, and then it ends. It feels overly drawn out considering it is a short movie but what it should be is a fifteen minute short movie that really nails the premise. There is potential. During one scene the film felt claustrophobic despite being set in the vastness of space. This is a feat that suggested greater things to come and despite the odd jump it doesn't bring anything good let alone great. There is nothing to the characters giving any emotional appeal or empathy to their plight. Maybe this is because their situation is one we will never find ourselves in?! As the film plods on there are no great escapes, no dices with death, no challenge for our characters to overcome, meaning we are left with something rather dull. The story could work however the found footage idea and the lack of depth suggest this shouldn't be a cinema release and instead a short movie watched online. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews