Dimension Films | Release Date: September 2, 2011
4.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 142 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
41
Mixed:
57
Negative:
44
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
scrieciuSep 4, 2011
A wannabe '' Cloverfield '' set out in space. Sounds interesting right ? Not really, especially after seeing how bad it turned out to be. No matter how short the movie was, I wanted it to end. I don't remember turning my head away from theA wannabe '' Cloverfield '' set out in space. Sounds interesting right ? Not really, especially after seeing how bad it turned out to be. No matter how short the movie was, I wanted it to end. I don't remember turning my head away from the screen multiple times before. It was boring, completely forgettable and I didn't really cared about anything in the film. By the look of the story and the idea, I wanted it to be good, but it's not the case. After a promising trailer, this movie offers nothing. Don't waste your time and money. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
Orlynao1131Sep 25, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don't you just love those shaky cam movies where they say everything here is true and at the end everyone dies!?!?!?!?!?!?1/!?1/1/1/1?!?1/1/!/!?!//slash!!?!??!/!??!/!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!/one/!!//??1/?!??!!!eleven11???? Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
x0laniDec 19, 2011
Seriously!? It's "The Blair Witch Project" on the moon. Not only is it a ripoff, but it's a ripoff over 10 years too late. This movie is only for the drunk and bored.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
ArkonBladeJan 4, 2012
if i had to sum up the film in one word it would be "Pointless" mainly because in the end it makes zero sense. nothing is learned about what is going on . its 90 min of mostly pointless dribble. the creatures literally have 3 seconds ofif i had to sum up the film in one word it would be "Pointless" mainly because in the end it makes zero sense. nothing is learned about what is going on . its 90 min of mostly pointless dribble. the creatures literally have 3 seconds of screen time LITERALLY. you never get a good look at them. the film is shot in 4.3 aspect ratio in the documentory style with a very crappy frame rate to give it that 70s feel .listen film makers most of us theee days have high def HD tvs ... we prefer not to have are movies look like crap even if you are tryin to mkake it look like its from the 70s... screw that crap. it sucked it the blair witch project and it sucked in cloverfiled and it sucks in this film. its suppose to be i guess a cover up conspiercy thing thats trying to prove its self as fact... id find it more believeable looking under my bed and finding a alien that bleeds acid and wants to plant a egg in my chest over this film. the only good thing i can say is the cast is pretty good and they can act pretty well. other then that forget this film . Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
MegWhiteleyMar 27, 2012
The movie have an interesting plot, interesting title, interesting front, but is really boring, Im feeling excited when I watch Apollo 18, all the movie have a big suspense and finally, a monster stone? okay, this can be scare, but the bigThe movie have an interesting plot, interesting title, interesting front, but is really boring, Im feeling excited when I watch Apollo 18, all the movie have a big suspense and finally, a monster stone? okay, this can be scare, but the big problem is that all the movie is completely BORING, this found footage is really terrible. Apollo 18 is bad. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Bullfrog1983Jun 14, 2012
Apollo 18 is a boring horror/sci-fi movie that fails to be impressive in any form. The documentary "Blair Witch Project" style of filming hampers what could be a decent flick by using low budget and **** camera effects and angles to produceApollo 18 is a boring horror/sci-fi movie that fails to be impressive in any form. The documentary "Blair Witch Project" style of filming hampers what could be a decent flick by using low budget and **** camera effects and angles to produce boredom rather than terror. This movie could have benefited from a few simple rhetorical questions like "if I can't see what i'm supposed to be scared of, how am I supposed to be scared?" or "should I use special effects in a sci-fi/horror movie on the moon?" the answers to these questions are simple. The first answer is no and the second answer is yes. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
Bruce722Nov 29, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's yet another one of these docufiction movies but this is one of the worst ones I've seen. The story has some potential which is the only reason I didn't give the movie the lowest rating possible. Unfortunately, the movie is incredibly boring, the acting is mediocre, the effort to make it "edited clips" was overdone which gave it too much of a gimmicky feel, and there was no part in the movie that was remotely scary, thrilling, or horrifying. Also, it felt like the creators were lazy in the way they failed to ever show for sure what the "extraterrestrial life" was exactly. Obviously I didn't expect answers but I at least expected a good shot of them. Instead, the viewers are left to assume it to be some sort of transfiguring arachnid or something. Bottom line, the entertainment value was next to nothing. The only reason I watched the entire thing was to see how they decided to end it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Tss5078Feb 23, 2013
This film is shot on old cameras, in a 70s style documentary, that someone would have made on an old camcorder. Someone uncovers the tapes of this secret, classified, NASA mission, that was buried and turns it into this film. Apollo 18 showsThis film is shot on old cameras, in a 70s style documentary, that someone would have made on an old camcorder. Someone uncovers the tapes of this secret, classified, NASA mission, that was buried and turns it into this film. Apollo 18 shows how the astronauts came into contact with extra terrestrial life. I was expecting this to be a trippy Sci-Fi movie, it wasn't. I also thought maybe the aliens would be hostile and it would be an action packed horror flick, not really. The truth is, it's hard to say what this was besides bad! First of all, the look they use for effect, hampered the viewers, the constant interruption and flashes were just annoying! The actors really have no dialogue outside of their work, meaning we know basically nothing about them, so there is no connection with the audience. The dialogue is bland, the effects are cheap, and the cinematography makes you want to vomit. It's not Paranormal Activity, nor is it the Blair Witch, it's a cheap rip off of both, that's not worth one minute of your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
cabritaSep 2, 2011
One of the worst movies I have ever seen. Extremely boring throughout and they try and make a cheep thrill like a pop up to last for 20 minutes. They think your freaked out so they bore you for another 20 minutes. If cheap thrilled boringOne of the worst movies I have ever seen. Extremely boring throughout and they try and make a cheep thrill like a pop up to last for 20 minutes. They think your freaked out so they bore you for another 20 minutes. If cheap thrilled boring movies are you thing Apollo 18 is all yours definitely not mine. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
OdinJan 21, 2012
Completely and utterly boring. Claiming they used "real" footage and built a movie around it is akin to me taking a picture of a tree and then making a movie about them eating your house pets. 20 minutes in and I had to check the timerCompletely and utterly boring. Claiming they used "real" footage and built a movie around it is akin to me taking a picture of a tree and then making a movie about them eating your house pets. 20 minutes in and I had to check the timer because it felt like I had been watching for 3 hours. There was no connection with the characters, you didn't care whether they got off the moon and I really didn't care how it ended. I just wanted it to end. The only thing that kept this movie rolling was the feeling that I spent $4 renting it so I better just finish it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
XavierBlaqDec 28, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Though the majority of Apollo 18 is just an average suspense movie done in Blair Witch Project and Paranormal Activity style that has nothing apart from its somewhat silly premise to separate it from the pack, it is the end that really pours on the stupid (and not good stupid either). When Anderson and the Liberty go floating towards Grey and the Freedom, the screen shots become so obviously contrived that they ruin any vibe of reality the film hoped to have, not to mention the terrible acting of the two actors that completely takes one out of the scene. In thirty seconds, these things manage to ruin the entire movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
clive2014Mar 30, 2014
Not impressed. About the only good thing about the movie was the effects to make the footage look dated and of the quality for the time of the moon shots. The idea was too outlandish. They made it look real and as such not believable. I knowNot impressed. About the only good thing about the movie was the effects to make the footage look dated and of the quality for the time of the moon shots. The idea was too outlandish. They made it look real and as such not believable. I know that's the point of sci-fi but too many real world bounds were crossed to make the idea of et life on moon to be credible. If all personnel perished in this supposed moon shot, then why spend x billions to retrieve the footage and not the bodies, makes no sense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
horcrux2007Jun 16, 2015
The idea that aliens are the reason that we've never gone back to the Moon is a relatively interesting one to me, and it seems like it would make a rather unique and effective horror movie. Apollo 18 attempts to put this conspiracy theory toThe idea that aliens are the reason that we've never gone back to the Moon is a relatively interesting one to me, and it seems like it would make a rather unique and effective horror movie. Apollo 18 attempts to put this conspiracy theory to film to disappointingly pitiful results. Apollo 18 suggests that the canceled Apollo 18 mission did actually land on the Moon, but it never returned for unknown reasons. The film is shot in the found-footage style, which is supposedly the lost footage from that mission. The crew of the Apollo 18 find evidence of extraterrestrial life on the moon and realize the real reason they were sent to the Moon. The Moon setting certainly makes this movie unique and makes the film rather unsettling, but that is the only creepy or memorable about this lazy and dull found footage schlock. Apollo 18 is actually rather entertaining for the first 20 or so minutes, as we hear strange, otherworldly sounds coming from outside the ship. It's very reminiscent of The Blair Witch Project, until the reveal of the aliens. They don't have much screen time, but when you do see them, it completely ruins the sense of mystery and becomes just another alien horror flick. The first sighting of the extraterrestrials ruined a potentially creepy and memorable scene in which one of the astronauts is screaming that something is "moving around in his helmet." That's also where the movie takes a huge nose-dive and transforms into a generic body-horror film. What makes the movie even more insufferable is the incredibly bland writing. None of the characters have an sort of personality, and the dialog couldn't be any more uninteresting unless Ben Stein was delivering the lines. Apollo 18 could have been the science-fiction equivalent to The Blair Witch Project or Paranormal Activity, but instead is just another tedious and uninspired shaky-cam headache. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
yourfavcomedionSep 23, 2016
For as much as I love it when a movie like this tries to get away from the usual hack and slash horror, it was a really anticlimactic movie, and nothing really EVER happened within the whole thing.

So the plot is that there was a secret
For as much as I love it when a movie like this tries to get away from the usual hack and slash horror, it was a really anticlimactic movie, and nothing really EVER happened within the whole thing.

So the plot is that there was a secret Apollo mission that the government kept secret... for... reasons I guess. I read something about how they government was so paranoid that they confiscated telescopes to cover up this mission. Sounds just as reliable as today's government. Anyways, apparently the mission was just go up, collect data, gather rocks etc. Basically just do what the other Apollo missions have already done. Yet they suspect that the government is hiding something from them and so on and so on. I'd like to give more details, but I don't want to give any spoilers in case someone is bored enough to watch this.

Like I said, I like the idea of a horror movie taking place on the moon like this. You're alone, can't get help and you don't actually know what enemy you're actually facing. It's a cool concept and definitely is a better idea than most horror movies has came out with in the past decade. You see the problem is, the tension can break new heights in atmosphere and suspense in the first couple of minutes because it has a nice build up. But you see, some things actually have to happen in order for the tension to finally deliver in scaring the audience, there are a few brief seconds that the movie does come alive but it kills the pacing when we have to go back to the boring scenes of the astronauts trying to figure out what's going on. It totally killed the movie for me, and when it seemed like the movie MIGHT have delivered with some "scary scenes" at the end, I was just to bored to actually care what was going on, I just wanted the movie to end.

The characters are not really explained at all, there is hardly any back story for any of the characters. From what I remember from off the top of my head, there was only one scene that talked about the astronauts past, and that was about a party and them having a conversation how they might of had "to many beers." Other then that only for one character, it explains that he has a wife and a daughter to get back home to. It would be forgivable if I didn't summarize the whole back story in this one paragraph. Not to mention one of the nit picks I'd like to say before I sum this up, is the cameras in here were awful. It was such a poor design choice to make the movie like this, I can understand that it's scarier if you don't know what exactly is chasing you, but I feel like I got motion sickness from watching this movie.

So overall, a really cool idea, and the movie does come alive for a FEW seconds, before it goes back towards the boring atmosphere that never really delivers. At the end it would seem a little scary but the movie has so much build up of what is actually going to happen, that you just end up sleepy in your seat when the event does happen later in the movie. You want to fix it, have more interesting characters with better back stories so that way we can relate to them. Deliver better with your scary moments instead of just building up the tension again, again and again so that your audience doesn't fall asleep by the screaming. Please, please fix the stupid camera, it's one of the worst recorded movies I've ever seen.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
alzslo08Sep 2, 2011
The best approach is to begin with the characters, because they are the most annoying part of the movie. Of course, I didn't feel their humanity and feelings so even archive footage at the end wasn't touching - it was just the obvious andThe best approach is to begin with the characters, because they are the most annoying part of the movie. Of course, I didn't feel their humanity and feelings so even archive footage at the end wasn't touching - it was just the obvious and untalented trying to call our empathy. Though there's a sense of threat, director resorts on simple famous horror tricks which are not able to scare most of us. There's no originality actually in screenplay: the plot is absent. The final twist finally throws the viewer through the screen with its insensitivity. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
1
tmetcalfe89Sep 21, 2011
About the worst movie I've ever seen. I give it a one for the few brief spooky moments, but other than that everything was predictable and shoddily made. If you want to convince somebody that it's real (or at least try), get somebody who canAbout the worst movie I've ever seen. I give it a one for the few brief spooky moments, but other than that everything was predictable and shoddily made. If you want to convince somebody that it's real (or at least try), get somebody who can act the part. Both of the main actors made me want to stand up and walk out whenever they said something. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
DoctorWhoNov 29, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Descibe Apolo 18 in one word? Easy. Absolute rubbish. Unenjoyable, silly, scareless horror that tries to be different and ends up as Paranormal Activity... in space. An example scene;
Astronaut 1: Oh look, a Russian spaceship!
Astronaut 2: How did that get there?
Astroanut 1: Umm, Oh Look Rocks!
Astronaut 2: Aaaah! The Rocks are aliens! AND.. they want to kill us and invade earth!
Astronaut 1: This Plot makes no sense! Let's try and end on a cliffhanger to see if we get a sequel!
Yep, that's pretty much how dialogue goes in the movie. Acting is wooden. At least 50% of the audience left in the first 30 minutes. I'm ashamed that I didn't go with them.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
critic1915May 24, 2012
I gave this movie a 2, and that is me being very much generous. I'll be honest, I don't know too much about this movie, but I will explain to you what I felt for the first 30 minutes before I quit and turned the movie off- I probably expectedI gave this movie a 2, and that is me being very much generous. I'll be honest, I don't know too much about this movie, but I will explain to you what I felt for the first 30 minutes before I quit and turned the movie off- I probably expected too much out of this film, so at the beginning of it, I was very excited to see what this was about. First of all, this whole film takes place on the moon (besides the beginning). It is dark, the dialogue is boring, and the "action" parts of the movie were not exciting. I was deeply disappointed with everything this film gave and I really consider myself to not even be too picky with movies. This however, was terribly boring. I would not recommend it, unless if you are a huge sci fi "thriller" fan. If you are, maybe you can appreciate this film a little bit more than me. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
sil3nt_nickMar 24, 2013
Lacking creativity, having a less than decent story line and bad effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
KadeemluvmusicSep 8, 2011
Is this really a documentary? I've heard of Apollo 13 and now Apollo 18? This is one of the worst documentaries since last year when Jaquin Phoenix played a now-hoax rapper in "I'm Still Here." None of this are real and so does the clumsyIs this really a documentary? I've heard of Apollo 13 and now Apollo 18? This is one of the worst documentaries since last year when Jaquin Phoenix played a now-hoax rapper in "I'm Still Here." None of this are real and so does the clumsy dialogue. 2012 was the only movie that hit rock bottom. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
Nick5414Oct 1, 2011
Dumbest for a long time..
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
VRossiOct 13, 2011
Wow, total disappointment. I love astronomy and had been so yearn to watch this. The found footage kind of movie is supposed to be one of the easiest way to make the audience feel connected to the story. But compared to Paranormal Activity,Wow, total disappointment. I love astronomy and had been so yearn to watch this. The found footage kind of movie is supposed to be one of the easiest way to make the audience feel connected to the story. But compared to Paranormal Activity, Apollo 18 is such a joke. Silly way to scare the audience. The plot is no way near sophisticated and beautifully written. Not to mention that it's kinda confusing. Even after the movie ended my friend and I were still confused about how many characters there were. Not impressed, seriously. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
pyromcrNov 8, 2011
This is the worst movie I have seen in my life. The Human Centipede movies are more fun to watch than this crap. Very boring, and just plain stupid. A zero is almost to good for this piece of crap.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
jtk6204Dec 27, 2013
This movie had an interesting premise for the first 10 minutes. The remainder of this movie might as well not have been shot. Combine the 'Blair Witch Project', '2001', and 'Alien' in a blender, and you would have had the same movie. Forget it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
FuturedirectorMay 22, 2016
Apollo 18 is a stupid, boring and bloody audience full of lies and cheap action film dedicated to the ignorant audience that doesn't care about real astronomy and serious history.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews