Apollo 18

Apollo 18 Image
Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 139 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set to be shot documentary style, the film unearths lost footage from Apollo 18's undocumented and covert mission to the moon, revealing disturbing new evidence of other life forms. (The Weinstein Company)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 13 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Sep 2, 2011
    63
    Many will find Apollo 18 silly and derivative. It is. Yet it's also a break from the usual hyperbolic, down-your-throat brand of silly and derivative scare movies.
  2. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Sep 8, 2011
    50
    The real tension of the piece lies in the sound design, with its layering of heavy breaths, inexplicably compromised frequencies, and invasive thwackings of no known origin to the ship hull.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Sep 3, 2011
    40
    Even if Apollo 18 is not exactly as it presents itself to be, it is less of a stunt than a low-key and unassuming film of rising tension rather than big scares or wild shocks.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Sep 3, 2011
    30
    A drab combination of science-fiction horror film and conspiracy thriller, accomplishes something the world wasn't really crying out for: it recreates the tedium of watching the later Apollo missions.
  5. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Sep 3, 2011
    30
    To describe what unfolds as a slow burn is to be awfully generous.
  6. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Sep 6, 2011
    25
    A nasty, cleverly revealed monster might have redeemed some of the monotony of the first (seemingly endless) hour, but the beasty here manages to be ludicrous, dull, and unoriginal somehow all at once, compromising the marginal hope you may have been holding out for the film.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Sep 2, 2011
    0
    Has no thrills, no chills, no scares and contains a villain, or several of them, actually, that will turn you to stone -- from boredom.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 63
  2. Negative: 25 out of 63
  1. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    I want to say that it wasn't the best movie, like it could have went more in depth with it's characters and what not. But then again you haveI want to say that it wasn't the best movie, like it could have went more in depth with it's characters and what not. But then again you have to consider it's made up of a series of tapes that they apparently got. Giving a real sci fi "what if" feel to it. Sure, rock crabs, that's completely stupid. But why are we thinking aliens are going to be not stupid in some sort of way. They won't be our "normal" or our "advanced". So it was a real release to what normal movies are now a days. For example, I'll watch this movie 20 more times before watching one Paranormal Activity. It was cool, the editing was great, the story was pretty good, and most of all it wasn't a clone of everything currently out there. Thinking outside the box for the win guys. Expand
  2. Oct 29, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you want to see a found footage film in space, check out "Apollo 18". This film delivers more chills and some best performances from the actors who play the Astronauts, and a very eerie setting for the film. Expand
  3. Jun 25, 2016
    7
    The acting performances were good and the special effects weren't that bad.The movie was interesting and the last hour was entertaining. EvenThe acting performances were good and the special effects weren't that bad.The movie was interesting and the last hour was entertaining. Even though the end was predictable and the first half hour is as boring as it comes, it's still not a bad movie. Expand
  4. Sep 13, 2011
    4
    There are some scary moments, but all of these moments cannot overcome the boredom and the lethargic pace of "Apollo 18", or should I say "TheThere are some scary moments, but all of these moments cannot overcome the boredom and the lethargic pace of "Apollo 18", or should I say "The Paranormal Activity Wannabe". Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2011
    3
    Seriously!? It's "The Blair Witch Project" on the moon. Not only is it a ripoff, but it's a ripoff over 10 years too late. This movie isSeriously!? It's "The Blair Witch Project" on the moon. Not only is it a ripoff, but it's a ripoff over 10 years too late. This movie is only for the drunk and bored. Collapse
  6. Jun 14, 2012
    3
    Apollo 18 is a boring horror/sci-fi movie that fails to be impressive in any form. The documentary "Blair Witch Project" style of filmingApollo 18 is a boring horror/sci-fi movie that fails to be impressive in any form. The documentary "Blair Witch Project" style of filming hampers what could be a decent flick by using low budget and **** camera effects and angles to produce boredom rather than terror. This movie could have benefited from a few simple rhetorical questions like "if I can't see what i'm supposed to be scared of, how am I supposed to be scared?" or "should I use special effects in a sci-fi/horror movie on the moon?" the answers to these questions are simple. The first answer is no and the second answer is yes. Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    This movie had an interesting premise for the first 10 minutes. The remainder of this movie might as well not have been shot. Combine theThis movie had an interesting premise for the first 10 minutes. The remainder of this movie might as well not have been shot. Combine the 'Blair Witch Project', '2001', and 'Alien' in a blender, and you would have had the same movie. Forget it. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.