Metascore
25

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 9 out of 11
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Sep 30, 2013
    38
    The film is dispiriting because there's virtually no sign of Dario Argento in it, nor of any novel motivation to mount yet another version of an oft-told tale.
  2. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Oct 2, 2013
    30
    It isn’t just sub-par for Argento, it’s sub-par for virtually any director. It’s a stain on Dracula’s good name, and a waste of time for even those looking for the cheapest of vampiric thrills.
  3. Reviewed by: Zachary Wigon
    Oct 1, 2013
    30
    Unfortunately, Argento never acknowledges he's in on the joke, nor is the film quite ridiculous enough for us to coast enjoyably on derision. When it comes to B-movies, sometimes anything less than way too much isn't nearly enough.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    Sep 30, 2013
    30
    Director Argento half-heartedly mixes schlocky 3D f/x with one-dimensional characters for a near-two-hour joke that ought to have been funnier.
  5. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Oct 2, 2013
    25
    No amount of intentional stabs at humor can offset the hilarious awfulness of Dario Argento’s Dracula.
  6. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Oct 3, 2013
    20
    When insects are the best thing in your movie, it’s probably time to retire.
  7. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Oct 1, 2013
    20
    Where, exactly, is Dario Argento? He’s up there in the title, but none of the horror maestro’s former genius (Suspiria) is evident in this silly, Stoker-by-numbers slog, rife with cheesy digital blood spurts but not a single moment of deep-red gorgeousness.
  8. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Oct 2, 2013
    16
    This is the sort of movie that should be playing in the background on an episode of “Tim And Eric,” and yet instead it’s being released by IFC Films. Bring alcohol.
  9. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Sep 30, 2013
    10
    Utterly lacking in imagination or suspense, this inane effort is strictly for hardcore Argento cultists.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. May 23, 2015
    5
    “Dracula 3D” offers a blended story that seems part classic Dracula lore mixed with Hammer’s own mythos for the Prince of Darkness. There is“Dracula 3D” offers a blended story that seems part classic Dracula lore mixed with Hammer’s own mythos for the Prince of Darkness. There is an obvious lackadaisical approach to Dracula story that begins almost in the middle, forcing the viewer to stay focused on this particular retelling of Bram’s story. There isn’t much that is recognizable and I found myself having to remind myself that I was watching “Dracula” because there is almost nothing other than the names that resembles the classic tale and the film shows more of a Hammer Film’s influence than Bram Stoker. It is a bit cumbersome in creating an instant connection with the characters, but I found myself very captivated by this story that it almost made for an original piece. The characters fall short of actualizing into multifaceted personas but I have always found that to be the case with Argento’s characters. The emotion and interactions to the situations his characters often face have always seemed sterile and robotic. It does very little to disconnect me completely from “Dracula 3D”, much as the characters in his previous material have not keep me from getting into the films. To me this is one component that makes Dario Argento’s style so Dario Argento. Either you like his film and style or you don’t.

    The 3D gimmick in “Dracula 3D” has no baring in my review of this film. The special effects though is another matter. It was far too cheap to overlook. The sound effects and musical score for the film seems pretty cool, offering an expected creepy, haunting feeling that you would expect in a Dracula or films like this. For me, “Dracuala 3D” is standard Argento level story telling, take that as good or bad. This film is plenty bad, but at a cult / bad movie level with plenty material that will make the film good, at least for those of us who have no "decades built delusion" that Dario Argento’s work has been anything but bad. His films are tacky, fun, cinema-wasteland viewing. “Dracula 3D” is a film that, if you are only looking for some tongue-in-cheek, WTF film fun, you may enjoy- I did. However if you only have room for serious horror films that take the Dracula material straight forward then definitely skip this film, because it is more laughable than entertaining by that measure-but then why would you really be watching a Dario Argento film anyway?!
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 29, 2014
    0
    I once said that House at the End of the Street was the worst film of the century. I changed my mind. This movieI once said that House at the End of the Street was the worst film of the century. I changed my mind. This movie SUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This isn't just the worst film of the entire century. It's one of the worst films EVER!! Full Review »