User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 812 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 812

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 26, 2012
    6
    I went into the movie expecting a little more of the extraction and a little less of the political workings and preparation leading up to the extraction. Never once did I have the sense of urgency I typically get with a movie like this nor did I form an emotional connection with any of the characters - hostages or those working to get them out alike. I think the story is a great one andI went into the movie expecting a little more of the extraction and a little less of the political workings and preparation leading up to the extraction. Never once did I have the sense of urgency I typically get with a movie like this nor did I form an emotional connection with any of the characters - hostages or those working to get them out alike. I think the story is a great one and lends an insight into the diverse assets at the fingertips of the US's clandestine forces. I enjoyed it once and will surely watch it again when it makes it to my movie channels but not a movie I am thinking of seeing again at the theater or waiting for the DVD to come out. Affleck was very good but The Town is still the best of his directorial efforts in my opinion. Expand
  2. Oct 24, 2012
    8
    Fantastic film. Ben Affleck eye as a director is impressive. Right off the bat we are treated to a old school Warner Brothers logo that sets the stage for a film that time warps you back into the 70's. I'am a huge fan of film's such as "Three Days Of The Condor" & "All The President Men" and the best compliment I can give "Argo" is while you may know the story and how it ends Mr. AffleckFantastic film. Ben Affleck eye as a director is impressive. Right off the bat we are treated to a old school Warner Brothers logo that sets the stage for a film that time warps you back into the 70's. I'am a huge fan of film's such as "Three Days Of The Condor" & "All The President Men" and the best compliment I can give "Argo" is while you may know the story and how it ends Mr. Affleck does a great job in turning the screws on the tension. You felt it in the audience at the theater I was watching the film in. The casting for Argo is outstanding, great performances are turned in by John Goodman, Alan Arkin, Bryan Cranston & Victor Garber. Stay for the closing credits and a word turned in by the President who lived it. Very well done & I highly recommend this film. Expand
  3. Oct 24, 2012
    8
    In 1979, when Iranians stormed our embassy and took 52 people hostage, 6 Americans escaped to the Canadian Ambassador's residence. After months, CIA agent Ben Affleck devised a plan to sneak them out of the country: pretending to be a crew scouting a new film. This historically-based story is told thru involving scenarios, some humor and a quietly tense escape. The characters are uniformlyIn 1979, when Iranians stormed our embassy and took 52 people hostage, 6 Americans escaped to the Canadian Ambassador's residence. After months, CIA agent Ben Affleck devised a plan to sneak them out of the country: pretending to be a crew scouting a new film. This historically-based story is told thru involving scenarios, some humor and a quietly tense escape. The characters are uniformly bland, but the hair and wardrobe were right-on 70s. While this is not a riveting or fast-paced espionage adventure, it is a low-key, well-crafted and fulfilling experience. NOTE: Be sure to sit thru the early credits to see a wonderful montage of photos that inspired the movie. Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2012
    10
    This is a glorious machine of a movie in which everything works. The problem is how to generate suspense when you know the ending from history. They have found a way==it's all performance and superb camera work. This is a big jump from Affleck from the smaller movies he has done so well, and his cast is superb. John Goodman and Alan Arkin should share an Oscar. Irresistible.
  5. Oct 22, 2012
    8
    It seems like a guarantee now; while Ben Afleck probably won't do much in the way of surprising us in the future, we can always look to him to make movies like "Argo". It goes by the numbers mostly and ends up surprisingly anti-climactic, but through the strong performances and great direction remains a terrifically staged, technically sound, captivating piece of filmmaking that I'm sureIt seems like a guarantee now; while Ben Afleck probably won't do much in the way of surprising us in the future, we can always look to him to make movies like "Argo". It goes by the numbers mostly and ends up surprisingly anti-climactic, but through the strong performances and great direction remains a terrifically staged, technically sound, captivating piece of filmmaking that I'm sure will hold up for decades to come. Expand
  6. Oct 20, 2012
    8
    The film is a whopper of a tale, one designed for Oscar nominations, Best Picture and Best Director among them , 'Argo' is one of the best movies of the year. Hollywood stop the remakes http://www.facebook.com/pages/Remake-Movies-is-Killing-Hollywood/361119783969397
  7. Oct 20, 2012
    8
    Is this a good movie? Yes, definitely. The acting is spot on, even from the smaller role or even lesser known actors and the set pieces are breathtaking. However there are certain spots of the movie that drag, an others that transition too quickly from thrilling to calm. I wasnt alive during the Iran Hostage Crisis, so maybe I lose some of the feelings that are attached to this movie. ButIs this a good movie? Yes, definitely. The acting is spot on, even from the smaller role or even lesser known actors and the set pieces are breathtaking. However there are certain spots of the movie that drag, an others that transition too quickly from thrilling to calm. I wasnt alive during the Iran Hostage Crisis, so maybe I lose some of the feelings that are attached to this movie. But in a year of average films, this is at the top. Expand
  8. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    I honestly don't know what to tell you other than that this movie is just flat out great. Argo will have you engaged from the opening credits to the ending credits. Its funny, it's suspenseful (especially if you don't know the whole story behind it), its intriguing, its just flat out genius. I must tip my hat off to Mr. Ben Affleck on another job well done from both sides of the camera. IfI honestly don't know what to tell you other than that this movie is just flat out great. Argo will have you engaged from the opening credits to the ending credits. Its funny, it's suspenseful (especially if you don't know the whole story behind it), its intriguing, its just flat out genius. I must tip my hat off to Mr. Ben Affleck on another job well done from both sides of the camera. If you enjoy great cinema then what are you possibly waiting for? You must see Argo. I must also add that i think this is probably the best and most powerful cast i've EVER seen in a film before. Argo is certainly a must-see! 10/10 Expand
  9. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Out of over 580 films I have seen and reviewed (not all on here, yet!), there have only been 31 films that I have given a 10. "Argo" is the 32nd. I watched it at the Toronto International Film Festival and went into it without actually having a clue what it was about, which was great because I had no expectations. Soon enough, I ended up being completely immersed in the world of theOut of over 580 films I have seen and reviewed (not all on here, yet!), there have only been 31 films that I have given a 10. "Argo" is the 32nd. I watched it at the Toronto International Film Festival and went into it without actually having a clue what it was about, which was great because I had no expectations. Soon enough, I ended up being completely immersed in the world of the American escapees from the Embassy. Ben Affleck has managed a feat that only a few actors have - giving an excellent performance as an actor and excellently directing a film at the same time. The entire cast, actually, is fantastic. There is not a single moment that does not have credible acting, and one must give kudos to John Goodman and Alan Arkin for kind of 'stealing the show'. But in a film with such superb acting, it is a rather hard thing to achieve, so that goes even more to their credit. The cinematography is very subtle and very appropriate, with perfectly chosen lenses that transport the viewer into the actual space that the film portrays. Production-wise, overall, the film is very effective. Great costumes, makeup, solid score, everything works well. The screenplay is very well written and manages a fine balance between suspense, drama and humour, which is a very difficult to achieve. "Argo" is one of the rare films that actually manages to make you sympathise and feel with the characters very fast, and basically transports you there with them. It feels as if we are in that same Canadian Embassy in Tehran, in that market, and on the airport. After leaving the theatre, I found myself looking suspiciously at people on the street, thinking who'd figure out that I'm not one of them. And then I realised - I am one of them. I'm not in the film myself. I've been completely engrossed in the film, and that is noteworthy. This is Ben Affleck's triumph on so many levels, and he is setting an extremely high bar for his follow-up projects. Let us hope they are half as good as "Argo," since that would still provide for some very good films. 10/10! Expand
  10. Oct 16, 2012
    6
    I just don't see what the fuss is about. This is a straight line story with little suspense and no other developed subplots. I found "The Town" much more entertaining. Frankly, this could have been a made for tv film. Riveting is the last word that comes to my mind when I think of this film. Maybe Hollywood just wanted to pat itself on the back for the role it played in a great service toI just don't see what the fuss is about. This is a straight line story with little suspense and no other developed subplots. I found "The Town" much more entertaining. Frankly, this could have been a made for tv film. Riveting is the last word that comes to my mind when I think of this film. Maybe Hollywood just wanted to pat itself on the back for the role it played in a great service to our country. Expand
  11. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Excellent movie. The 1979 Hostage Crisis from a side you never knew. Sets, costuming, music all true to late 70"s. Thrilling. Based on a true story embellished to make an exciting movie. See it.
  12. Oct 15, 2012
    7
    To go or to forgo Argo?
    See what two old-school Hollywood veterans have to say
  13. Oct 15, 2012
    7
    This is not a review just a few stray thoughts........

    - It's a movie movie in the best sense. It keeps you entertained, provides some humor, some thrills, characters to care about but doesn't tax you too much. - Has a couple of simple but thrilling set pieces. The one at the end of the movie had me at edge of my seat, willing the characters to go where I knew they'd end... but
    This is not a review just a few stray thoughts........

    - It's a movie movie in the best sense. It keeps you entertained, provides some humor, some thrills, characters to care about but doesn't tax you too much.

    - Has a couple of simple but thrilling set pieces. The one at the end of the movie had me at edge of my seat, willing the characters to go where I knew they'd end... but still thrilling. It probably didn't happen that way in real life but it's a movie.... dramatic license. I was OK with it.

    - I wish the screenplay developed Affleck's main character beyond the stock ""excellent at his job, trying to spend more time with kid". We've seen that many times. He's based on a real person after all!!

    - Things go too smoothly throughout. Too straightforward and simple. Yes the rescue idea is called out as being bad but everybody gets on board. The Hollywood setting up of the fake movie also goes without a hitch. Is this how it happened in real life? There is no real conflict.

    - My fave line : Ladies and Gentleman alcoholic beverages can be served now as we just crossed out of Iranian air space"". As I used to travel in Middle East that announcement always meant the party can start, has more meaning in the movie; still fun to hear it.

    - Don't understand the Oscar buzz for Alan Arkin. He's very funny but hardly in the movie. Yes he has almost all the funny one liners but that's "best"of year?

    - Chris Messina; when are you going to get a meaty movie role? Nice to see you pop up everywhere and lead on The Mindy Project, though.
    Expand
  14. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Totally blown away by this movie. They really captured the tension during this time in history. Affleck really nails it as a director and actor, showing that he has the chops for this sort of serious work. Though there are some light comedic elements, it's not over wrought or disrespectful to the core material. Characters seem organic and aware of whats going on. Most importantly it reallyTotally blown away by this movie. They really captured the tension during this time in history. Affleck really nails it as a director and actor, showing that he has the chops for this sort of serious work. Though there are some light comedic elements, it's not over wrought or disrespectful to the core material. Characters seem organic and aware of whats going on. Most importantly it really captures the heroism of everyone on both sides of the Canadian and America line. Best thriller of recent years for sure! Expand
  15. Lyn
    Oct 14, 2012
    5
    I remember this period and this incident, and so found the movie interesting. But I'm surprised at how few critics have quibbles with the historical inaccuracies! (See articles in Slate, Wired and elsewhere for details.) Already a thriller low on thrills -- we know how it ends, obviously -- it tries too hard to fabricate them. Enjoyed every performance more than Affleck's, which wasI remember this period and this incident, and so found the movie interesting. But I'm surprised at how few critics have quibbles with the historical inaccuracies! (See articles in Slate, Wired and elsewhere for details.) Already a thriller low on thrills -- we know how it ends, obviously -- it tries too hard to fabricate them. Enjoyed every performance more than Affleck's, which was low-key almost to the point of tedium. Expand
  16. Oct 14, 2012
    7
    not the second coming of the gritty 70's docudrama that many say, but a mostly entertaining well done movie. despite the unique premise, nothing about it feels like something you haven't seen before. see it though if only to experience the great story.
  17. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    I'm sure it was difficult to weave an element of comedy in with the dramatic and the thriller aspects, but Affleck does it well. The movie is not as dramatic or as impactful as The Town, but for a movie based on true events, with its limiting nature, it's one of the best I've seen. They effectively establish 1980 Iran as a truly horrific place, and by doing this, the escape sequence madeI'm sure it was difficult to weave an element of comedy in with the dramatic and the thriller aspects, but Affleck does it well. The movie is not as dramatic or as impactful as The Town, but for a movie based on true events, with its limiting nature, it's one of the best I've seen. They effectively establish 1980 Iran as a truly horrific place, and by doing this, the escape sequence made me feel as if my heart were going to beat out of my chest. For a movie like this, that's a good sign. Goodman and Aarkin are outstanding. As a side note, I wish the trailer had been a bit less comprehensive because most of the best and funniest lines I'd seen before. This is obviously true of many movies - you have to sell the darned thing - but it was glaring here. "If I"m going to make a fake movie, I'm going to make a fake hit!" Yes, it's funny, but I'd seen it 10 times before going in. Finally, the fact that this movie was released within weeks of the Libyan embassy murders made the opening sequence all the more chilling. I don't mean to suggest the movie was better because of the timing visa vis the deaths of civil servants, but it made the film even more relevant. Bottom line: it's not high art, but it's very entertaining. Expand
  18. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Best movie of the year! Amazing casting, amazing representations, amazing ending, and most of all, amazing directing by Ben Affleck. A must see suspense/action of the year!
  19. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    The movie is fantastic. Perhaps one of the best movies I've ever seen by Ben Afleck in quite awhile. For a novice Director he did some outstanding job. The dialogue is great, the suspense is deafening as the audience holds it collective breath; and the comedic lines uttered, especially by Alan Arkin, hit the mark. Definitely OSCAR worthy! Don't miss it.
  20. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    Affleck moves out of Boston and takes on the land of the mullahs. It's a true story which he embellishes for dramatic affect and the last half hour have us on the edge of our seats. At this time of our national elections with all of it's negativism this is a breath of fresh air for Americans. We did something right, with a lot of help from our Canadian friends, and Affleck should beAffleck moves out of Boston and takes on the land of the mullahs. It's a true story which he embellishes for dramatic affect and the last half hour have us on the edge of our seats. At this time of our national elections with all of it's negativism this is a breath of fresh air for Americans. We did something right, with a lot of help from our Canadian friends, and Affleck should be commended for keeping down the jingoism and focusing on the basic heroism of those we'll never know. If you want to have the true story go to CIA site and type in Argo. Expand
  21. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    Really solid film, super suspenseful and has you wondering down to the wire. Although I looked up details after and it is not overly accurate, it is a great film. Also, the similarities in some of the characters to their real counterparts was really awesome to see.
  22. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    Ben Affleck has done it again -- awesome movie. I went in knowing little about what the movie was about. I went because MetaCritic reported that critics praise. And it is an awesome story -- that rare smart thriller. It showed the challenging decisions that government faces... and the feds who have to make them. Sensational acting by Alan Arkin as Lester Siegel. If the rest of the castBen Affleck has done it again -- awesome movie. I went in knowing little about what the movie was about. I went because MetaCritic reported that critics praise. And it is an awesome story -- that rare smart thriller. It showed the challenging decisions that government faces... and the feds who have to make them. Sensational acting by Alan Arkin as Lester Siegel. If the rest of the cast wasn't so good, he would have stolen the show.
    Great acting; great directing; amazing story
    Highly recommend.
    Expand
  23. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    http://www.meetup.com/Long-Island-Film-Feast-Sunday-Funday-Meetup/.I am the organizer of this movie group. I have 219 members and we have seen 268 movies in the last 3 years. We critique and rate each movie, as we have dinner after each movie each week. We are anxiously awaiting seeing this movie tomorrow...Thank you...Dr. Marlene [Organizer]
  24. Oct 13, 2012
    6
    I cannot believe how overrated this film is. Sure it create's the world and clausterphobia the hostages are living in . Another quality of the film is in the riot sequences it takes the camera and puts you in the middle of the madness for this reason it is entirely indicative of it's time and place. Is this enough? Sure some of the humour is funny but it is not enough to carry the film.I cannot believe how overrated this film is. Sure it create's the world and clausterphobia the hostages are living in . Another quality of the film is in the riot sequences it takes the camera and puts you in the middle of the madness for this reason it is entirely indicative of it's time and place. Is this enough? Sure some of the humour is funny but it is not enough to carry the film. The story is so bland and never embellished except at the end when it finally gains momentum and starts to thrill. I know it's a true story and it wanted to stay true, but they needed to tell it in a more interesting way. If you had seen the trailer you basically knew everything about the movie. No twists or turns here most of Argo's runtime is just boring. Expand
  25. Oct 12, 2012
    8
    Thirty-five of the last 40 minutes of the film
  26. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    What can I say about this movie. It's an engaging view into the workings of the CIA, the events during the Iranian hostage crisis, the life inside a foreign counsulate and Hollywood. While we get mainly glimpses, they are so well executed that we come out of this feeling like we have the insider info on how they all work.

    The performances are riveting as well as very real in their
    What can I say about this movie. It's an engaging view into the workings of the CIA, the events during the Iranian hostage crisis, the life inside a foreign counsulate and Hollywood. While we get mainly glimpses, they are so well executed that we come out of this feeling like we have the insider info on how they all work.

    The performances are riveting as well as very real in their delivery. I never felt like I was watching actors in a movie, I was watching things as they transpired almost 40 years ago.

    Ben Affleck has solidified himself as a great actor and director with Argo.
    Expand
  27. Oct 12, 2012
    9
    A good mix of suspense and action. Ben Aflec does a good job in both acting and directing. The movie is done in the Alfred **** style of suspense.
  28. Oct 12, 2012
    9
    Remember the days of Daredevil, Gigli, and Surviving Christmas? The days when Ben Affleck was everywhere, doing many films a year, most of which turned out horrid? Turns out all it took was for him to step behind the camera and start directing his own films to begin a new career as a person actually worth talking about again. With Gone Baby Gone and The Town, he met critical success, andRemember the days of Daredevil, Gigli, and Surviving Christmas? The days when Ben Affleck was everywhere, doing many films a year, most of which turned out horrid? Turns out all it took was for him to step behind the camera and start directing his own films to begin a new career as a person actually worth talking about again. With Gone Baby Gone and The Town, he met critical success, and with Argo his trend of successful films continues. Adapting a true-but-absurd story for Hollywood can be difficult, but its playful nature about it as well as tension-filled moments equate to another milestone in Affleck Expand
  29. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    Argo is a triumph. It has tension, sincerity, mystery, artistic responsibility, entertainment value, technical expertise, a narrative arc and a thrilling respect for the tradition of how to tell a story with minimum frills and maximum impact. It's a great footnote to history, one of the best films of 2012 and a sure-fire contender on Oscar night.
  30. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I think this might just be Mr. Affleck's masterpiece. Gone Baby Gone was great. The Town was Excellent. This is a near flawless film, the kind I cannot watch to look for mistakes because it is so absolutely engrossing start to finish. The performances, the execution, the script, the freshness of an important ingenious story to tell of a historical moment. All involved brought their A gameI think this might just be Mr. Affleck's masterpiece. Gone Baby Gone was great. The Town was Excellent. This is a near flawless film, the kind I cannot watch to look for mistakes because it is so absolutely engrossing start to finish. The performances, the execution, the script, the freshness of an important ingenious story to tell of a historical moment. All involved brought their A game for this one. Just see it and if you walk out without being able to describe how you felt about your experience with Argo, just accept that it just did it's job. It is what Cinema is all about. ANd if you walk out feeling a bit underwhelmed from the experience, that's okay. Give it some time to ingest and think about every detail. Then see it again. Alot of films beg to be seen more than once. Just remember, a film that leaves you thinking about it afterwards just did it's job. See Argo Now!!! Expand
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    Nov 5, 2012
    80
    An old-school espionage thriller with a movie-biz comedy twist, all the better for being (almost) entirely true. It is to Ben Affleck's credit that the tension and laughs complement rather than neutralise each other.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Jordan
    Oct 17, 2012
    80
    Combining laughs and thrills with plenty of verve, Ben Affleck continues his smart directorial career with a stylish, gripping hostage drama.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Oct 12, 2012
    70
    Argo isn't quite on the level of the Sidney Lumet classics to which Affleck pays stylistic homage - smart and taut as it is, it lacks the broader political vision of a film like "Dog Day Afternoon." But Lumet lite still goes down pretty smooth.