Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 812 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on true events, “Argo” chronicles the life-or-death covert operation to rescue six Americans, which unfolded behind the scenes of the Iran hostage crisis—the truth of which was unknown by the public for decades. On November 4, 1979, as the Iranian revolution reaches its boiling point,Based on true events, “Argo” chronicles the life-or-death covert operation to rescue six Americans, which unfolded behind the scenes of the Iran hostage crisis—the truth of which was unknown by the public for decades. On November 4, 1979, as the Iranian revolution reaches its boiling point, militants storm the U.S. embassy in Tehran, taking 52 Americans hostage. But, in the midst of the chaos, six Americans manage to slip away and find refuge in the home of the Canadian ambassador. Knowing it is only a matter of time before the six are found out and likely killed, a CIA “exfiltration” specialist named Tony Mendez comes up with a risky plan to get them safely out of the country. A plan so incredible, it could only happen in the movies. (Warner Bros.) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Oct 9, 2012
    100
    Argo is a triumph. It has tension, sincerity, mystery, artistic responsibility, entertainment value, technical expertise, a narrative arc and a thrilling respect for the tradition of how to tell a story with minimum frills and maximum impact. It's a great footnote to history, one of the best films of 2012 and a sure-fire contender on Oscar night.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Oct 11, 2012
    100
    Argo is movie magic. Ben Affleck's third directorial outing, is an entertaining, real-life, race-the-clock thriller that nabs you at the start and never makes a wrong move.
  3. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Oct 11, 2012
    100
    A blue-chip Oscar contender that's also a rousing popcorn movie, Ben Affleck's Argo offers plenty of nail-biting thrills as well as funnier scenes than you'd ever imagine possible in the grim context of the Iran hostage crisis.
  4. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Oct 11, 2012
    88
    Argo's white-knuckle nail-biter of a climax takes liberties with how events played out in real life. But while Affleck and screenwriter Chris Terrio have opted to go Hollywood, it's high-class Hollywood, not the low-rent and exploitative route that the make-believe movie at the heart of this tale would have taken.
  5. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Oct 10, 2012
    83
    Only the finale threatens to undo all that hard work. Though well-done, the last act leans less on the facts of the case than on Hollywood contrivances, heightening the tension with embellishments that feel at odds with the methodical, deliberate film leading up to them.
  6. 80
    A marvel of cunning, an irresistible blend of cool realism and Hollywood hokum.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Sep 10, 2012
    50
    In terms of quality, though, Argo is just so-so.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 182
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    Argo is a triumph. It has tension, sincerity, mystery, artistic responsibility, entertainment value, technical expertise, a narrative arc andArgo is a triumph. It has tension, sincerity, mystery, artistic responsibility, entertainment value, technical expertise, a narrative arc and a thrilling respect for the tradition of how to tell a story with minimum frills and maximum impact. It's a great footnote to history, one of the best films of 2012 and a sure-fire contender on Oscar night. Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Excellent, understated film. Not that realistic, and as over-simplified as any true story has to be, but the detail and drama are really wellExcellent, understated film. Not that realistic, and as over-simplified as any true story has to be, but the detail and drama are really well done, and the acting is perfectly understated (apart from Arkin, who is just good fun). I don't follow the criticism that the film is pro-US propaganda. It unflinchingly (and accurately) lays the balme for many of Iran's woes at US foreign policy's door, where they belong. And then tells a cracking, terrific story. Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2014
    9
    This is a well done film by Ben Affleck who gives sharp direction and acting to this movie. It's triumphant and thrilling. Great performancesThis is a well done film by Ben Affleck who gives sharp direction and acting to this movie. It's triumphant and thrilling. Great performances from Affleck, Cranston, Alda, Goodman and the supporting cast Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    the script is great, please another Oscar to Affleck. Recommended film with a montage realizadp well, good performances (any very desaclable),the script is great, please another Oscar to Affleck. Recommended film with a montage realizadp well, good performances (any very desaclable), overall the movie takes you back in some dialogues huge, but you do feel the anxiety of freedom of the cast, is a film that conveys the right thing and that is a good point to emphasize in any movie. good job. Expand
  5. May 25, 2014
    8
    So this is my first film that i have watched that Ben Affleck has directed. Though i do own the town i have not watched it yet. But now afterSo this is my first film that i have watched that Ben Affleck has directed. Though i do own the town i have not watched it yet. But now after watching this movie i will now have to find the time to watch that and also gone baby gone. So this film is about the 1979 true story of the rescue of six American's from Iran, while most the film has a really gritty serious tone as it should they do seem to place some dark humor in it... well as much as they could.

    The whole cast sold it from the start Ben Affleck/Alan Arkin/John Goodman/Bryan Cranston all just killed it but for me Alan Arkin stole the show everytime the guy is on the screen he steals it. The last half hour of the movie was so intense it's crazy pulse pounding nail biting tension i have not had that felling while watching a movie in some time well maybe just not to that extent. Now i can see how this film won best picture at the Oscars this year. Also i'm a bit mad at myself for not watching this film while it was still in theaters.

    A great film that everyone should at least take the time to give it a watch i don't regret watching it Overall i give this movie an 8.5

    Oh Yeah Argo F**K Youself =D
    Expand
  6. Jan 27, 2013
    7
    great film! not sure I understand the hype? good storyline and screen play, but nothing extra special? ben Affleck is obviously talented as agreat film! not sure I understand the hype? good storyline and screen play, but nothing extra special? ben Affleck is obviously talented as a director, writer and actor. but for me it falls short of any other critically acclaimed film this year? Alan Arkin is superb and partnered with John Goodman they make a humours, realistic depiction of their characters. A great film, and a must see if you like a tense drama... but isn't the best film of the year? its barely memorable! Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2014
    0
    I don't understand why this has such great reviews. It was a boring as all hell patriotic American BS movie that drags along until the end.I don't understand why this has such great reviews. It was a boring as all hell patriotic American BS movie that drags along until the end. Boring story. Expand

See all 182 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Oscars: Full Winners List + Reviews of the Show

    2013 Oscars: Full Winners List + Reviews of the Show Image
    Published: February 25, 2013
    Find reviews for last night's Oscars broadcast (and host Seth MacFarlane), see which experts were the most accurate in their predictions, and get a full list of this year's winners.
  2. 2013 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2013 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 10, 2013
    Lincoln dominated the nominations for the 85th annual Academy Awards on Thursday morning, while one of its major competitors had a rougher go of it. Inside, get a complete list of all of this year's nominees and a look at the snubs and favorites in each category.
  3. The Best and Worst Movies of 2012

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2012 Image
    Published: January 7, 2013
    Inside, you'll find our final rankings of the best and worst films of the past year, overall and by individual genre.
  4. 2012 Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    2012 Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 13, 2012
    Nominees for the 70th annual Golden Globe Awards were announced Thursday morning, with Lincoln, Argo, and Django Unchained leading the film nominees and Homeland and Modern Family among the TV leaders. Inside, get a full list of this year's nominees, and a look at major snubs and surprises.
  5. 2012 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 11, 2012
    Throughout December and January, we'll be aggregating dozens of year-end top ten lists from a variety of movie critics and publications. Find all of their lists here, as well as our composite standings for best movie of 2012.
  6. 2012 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard

    2012 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 3, 2012
    Track every major movie award and nomination here with our 2012 Film Awards Scorecard. We'll update the standings daily throughout December and January as soon as new awards and nominations are announced.
  7. 2012 Fall Film Festival Roundup: The Verdict on Films Screening at TIFF, Telluride, and Venice

    2012 Fall Film Festival Roundup: The Verdict on Films Screening at TIFF, Telluride, and Venice Image
    Published: September 17, 2012
    Find out what critics are saying about over two dozen key movies that debuted at fall's three major film festivals, including "Silver Linings Playbook," "Argo," "To the Wonder," "Cloud Atlas," "Frances Ha," and more.
  8. Fall 2012 Movie Preview: The Master, Looper, Skyfall, and Other Key Films

    Fall 2012 Movie Preview: The Master, Looper, Skyfall, and Other Key Films Image
    Published: September 6, 2012
    Learn more about two dozen notable fall releases--a group that includes potential Oscar contenders, a new Bond film, a promising time-travel story, and more--and get a full release calendar for movies arriving between now and mid-November.
  9. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.