Army of Darkness

Army of Darkness Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 151 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Bruce Campbell stars as Ash, a hapless housewares clerk time-warped back to the Dark Ages by the demonic power of the Necronomicon. Now armed with only a '73 Oldsmobile, his trusty chainsaw and a 12-gauge double-barreled S-Mart shotgun, our knuckleheaded hero must battle vicious she-bitches,Bruce Campbell stars as Ash, a hapless housewares clerk time-warped back to the Dark Ages by the demonic power of the Necronomicon. Now armed with only a '73 Oldsmobile, his trusty chainsaw and a 12-gauge double-barreled S-Mart shotgun, our knuckleheaded hero must battle vicious she-bitches, a diabolical Evil Ash and the relentless hordes of the medieval dead in the most outrageously spectacular horror comedy every made. (Anchor Bay Entertainment) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Washington Post
    Reviewed by: Desson Thomson
    90
    Raimi offers all the fantasy, camp and hardcore horror you devoured in the comics. You can feel the pen-and-ink drawings coming to life. Dipping wittily into myth, the macabre and the modern, it's an effervescent adventure that's as amusing as it is genuinely gripping. [19 Feb 1993, Weekend, p.n38]
  2. Los Angeles Times
    Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    80
    Ash's dialogue keeps the movie just goofy enough that even audiences that don't go in for schlock-horror phantasmagorias will be tickled. [19 Feb 1993, Calender, p.F-8]
  3. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Dave Kehr
    75
    Much of the movie's charm, in fact, is derived from its sense of its own instant disposability. Raimi has created the cinematic equivalent of fast food-efficient, unassuming and seriously regressive. It may not be much good for you in the end, but consuming it is loads of fun. [19 Feb 1993, Friday, p.C]
  4. By the time Army of Darkness turns into a retread of "Jason and the Argonauts," featuring an army of fighting skeletons, the film has fallen into a ditch between parody and spectacle.
  5. Raimi is a master at pacing this kind of material, however, and never allows it to become redundant.
  6. San Francisco Chronicle
    Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    50
    Army of Darkness has good moments and shows traces of wit right up to the end, though these moments wind up coming fewer and farther between. [19 Feb 1993, Daily Datebook, p.D1]
  7. USA Today
    Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    38
    The movie runs just 80 minutes, but it's enough time for doldrums to set in when nifty special effects and funny verbal exchanges are out grabbing a smoke. [19 Feb 1993, Life, p.5D]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
  1. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    One of the most hilarious movies ever made! Some may not appreciate the slapstick humour and twist on the franchise, but I think it worksOne of the most hilarious movies ever made! Some may not appreciate the slapstick humour and twist on the franchise, but I think it works perfectly. Ash's character is now fully developed and delivers some of films most quotable lines to date. The final fight is my favourite movie scene of all time. I love Army of Darkness. It may be relatively different from it's predecessors, but that doesn't make it a bad film in any way or form. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Army of Darkness is an 80-minute comedy gem filled with witty one-liners, awesome special effects, and a great cast. Though it isn't as groundbreaking as the originals, its still a great and overlooked action movie. Expand
  3. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    Army of Darkness is an 80-minute comedy gem filled with witty one-liners, awesome special effects, and a great cast. Though it isn't asArmy of Darkness is an 80-minute comedy gem filled with witty one-liners, awesome special effects, and a great cast. Though it isn't as groundbreaking as the originals, its still a great and overlooked action movie. Collapse
  4. j30
    Nov 10, 2011
    9
    This was my introduction to the Evil Dead Series, so it holds a special place in my heart. It's flat out hilarious, slap-stick humor withoutThis was my introduction to the Evil Dead Series, so it holds a special place in my heart. It's flat out hilarious, slap-stick humor without the scares. Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2015
    7
    The silliest encounter we've seen with Ash yet and by far the biggest in scope. It seems that Raimi had finally fully established what type ofThe silliest encounter we've seen with Ash yet and by far the biggest in scope. It seems that Raimi had finally fully established what type of character he wanted Ash to be in this trilogy and he seems most developed and involved in this film. The film has majorly switches now from horror to adventure comedy now and provides some ludicrous fun along the way. The film is an absolute blast almost all the way, but towards the last 20 minutes i felt like i kind of lost steam a bit. I can see that Raimi was trying out more unique shots with the battle sequence but it does somehow take away from the rest of the film. It is still good on its own however. I would also like to mention that the theatrical ending is the better one, not the dvd version! This film should've been my favourite in the trilogy but due to the last 20 minutes i'd have to give it to Evil Dead 2 instead. Well done Sam Raimi though for possibly making one of the weirdest but most entertaining trilogies ever conceived. Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2012
    7
    It can get a little repetitive with it's slapstick humor here and there, but it's undeniably well made and Ash from the previous Evil DeadIt can get a little repetitive with it's slapstick humor here and there, but it's undeniably well made and Ash from the previous Evil Dead installments is just as fun to watch here as ever. Expand
  7. Sep 11, 2016
    2
    I am pretty good now, having slept for six hours instead of my four so I feel in a positive mood. So, this particular movie is a completeI am pretty good now, having slept for six hours instead of my four so I feel in a positive mood. So, this particular movie is a complete utter waste of your time unless you like overacting of the obnoxious kind, crappy dialog that borders on the campy, a redundant script and people being put down because that is funny or are seriously intoxicated.
    The movie is carried by Campbell and that is about it. Bruce Campbell will never rank among the best of actors or even among admirable b actors. He overacts, is a buffoon and annoying, but he makes much of it up by sheer utter enthusiasm.
    So there isn't really a good story as the movie is mostly a series of patched together sketches with Campbell as the star. Campbell graces the poster of the movie with a chainsaw for his right hand. It is used for a very short time just so it could be on the poster. The jokes are of the bottom kind: crude, at the expense of others, shaming people and embarrassing. For instance a running joke is that he calls the people of the middleages primitives. There is some slapstick in it that reminds you of Chalie Chaplin or Buster Keaton. Unfortunately, because Campbell is such a crud you never get to like him as you get to like Chaplin and Keaton. Which is the iceberg that sinks this one. Campbell has no redeeming qualities, nothing that makes you like him or even 'get' him.
    In the eighties cgi was unknown hence the army of the undead is made with stop motion. It is admirable to see how that is done, the patience and editing is laudable. Yet it looks totally awful today. Stop motion is still used in animation movies nowadays, with better skill, but never mind.
    What else is there to say?
    I skipped through parts of this brainless boring movie that probably gets pawned off as being cult. Garbage would be a better word.
    Did I give it a five?
    A two is better.
    Make it so.
    Expand

See all 44 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  2. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: September 22, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 21, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The Magnificent Seven, Storks, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.