Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: May 5, 2006
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 35 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
18
Mixed:
11
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DavidJ.May 27, 2006
I thought this was a candy. Though not as clever as "Ghost World" in my mag, Clowns still manages to put a very unique view on the art school life style. Yes it was. And no it wasn't ophmoric humor (and don't get me right i die for I thought this was a candy. Though not as clever as "Ghost World" in my mag, Clowns still manages to put a very unique view on the art school life style. Yes it was. And no it wasn't ophmoric humor (and don't get me right i die for those), but even so it was like a breath of contaminated air for me : ) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelissaM.May 8, 2006
Another great film from Zwigoff!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamB.Jul 25, 2006
This is a nasty little gem that skewers the grad/art school pretensions that a lot of knucklehead sycophants wrap their heads around, the only reason why it's getting such low scores is because it calls a lot of so called experts on This is a nasty little gem that skewers the grad/art school pretensions that a lot of knucklehead sycophants wrap their heads around, the only reason why it's getting such low scores is because it calls a lot of so called experts on their credentials and they're severly butt-hurt over it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesMay 13, 2006
Very funny stuff. It's lowbrow humor for a highbrow crowd. A T&A film for intellectuals. Anyone who's been to art school will be able to appreciate it all the more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DeelonE.May 21, 2006
I thought this was a treat. Though not as clever as "Ghost World" in my book, Clowes still manages to put a very unique view on the art school life style. Yes it was dark. And no it wasn't sophmoric humor (and don't get me wrong i I thought this was a treat. Though not as clever as "Ghost World" in my book, Clowes still manages to put a very unique view on the art school life style. Yes it was dark. And no it wasn't sophmoric humor (and don't get me wrong i live for those), but even so it was like a breath of fresh air for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SusanS.May 26, 2006
I really enjoyed this movie--and I was a little skepitcal after I'd read reviews of it...but then, when I was watching it, I realized that the whole thing is a parody. A very dark, serious parody. Which is really my bag. Sure, some I really enjoyed this movie--and I was a little skepitcal after I'd read reviews of it...but then, when I was watching it, I realized that the whole thing is a parody. A very dark, serious parody. Which is really my bag. Sure, some things could've been more clever or slightly better written, but on the whole, it was quite worth seeing. But be forewarned: this is not to be taken seriously. It takes itself quite seriously, but if you've ever been to art school or liberal arts college, you'll understand. While the plot pretends to be serious, I found myself laughing out loud at what seemed to be the most serious and intimate parts, which is what I think fooled critics. This movie is not about the profoundness of art. It's about what art drives people to. And sometimes that's homicide. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeteM.Aug 26, 2006
While I would agree that it lacks the emotional weight of Ghost World and doesn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JHJan 23, 2007
This is a terrific movie. It is funny, smart, and the acting and directing are wonderful. Rent this!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MaseMay 16, 2006
Luckily I didnt listen to the critcs and saw this underrated dark comedy from Zwigoff. I understand not everyone will get this movie but I had alot of fun, I'm glad Zwigoff makes movies about themes he obviously knows and cares about. Luckily I didnt listen to the critcs and saw this underrated dark comedy from Zwigoff. I understand not everyone will get this movie but I had alot of fun, I'm glad Zwigoff makes movies about themes he obviously knows and cares about. It's obvious in the strange warmth this movie has for it's characters even as it skewers them. I was smiling throught often laughing out loud. We don't get original comedies like this often. If you like say RV then you probably won't like this.... eveyone else who appriciates smart well done comedy go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyD.Aug 27, 2006
I enjoyed this movie and would definitely watch it again. John Malcovich was quirky-good as usual.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Oct 21, 2006
Jerome's hero is Pablo Picasso, so surely, there is an awareness on his part of the dead white artist's famous observation that "good artists borrow; great artists steal." "Art School Confidential" is such a sour film; even its Jerome's hero is Pablo Picasso, so surely, there is an awareness on his part of the dead white artist's famous observation that "good artists borrow; great artists steal." "Art School Confidential" is such a sour film; even its happy ending is laced with cynicism, as Jerome's deliberate misinterpretation of Picasso's quote brings him both, personal and professional successes. The filmmaker's potshots towards art school and its banalities are screamingly funny, but at the expense of humanity(this film is for misanthropes). Chip Kidd's novel "The Cheese Monkeys: A Novel in Two Semesters" had both, the sling and the arrow, and its concentration was in art. "Art School Confidential", ultimately, is actually about film; more to the point, about genres and context. I wonder if the makers of "Brick" were inspired by this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful