Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Set on Christmas night, the story of Arthur Christmas at last reveals the incredible, never-before seen answer to every child's question: 'So how does Santa deliver all those presents in one night?' The answer: Santa's exhilarating, ultra-high-tech operation hidden beneath the North Pole.Set on Christmas night, the story of Arthur Christmas at last reveals the incredible, never-before seen answer to every child's question: 'So how does Santa deliver all those presents in one night?' The answer: Santa's exhilarating, ultra-high-tech operation hidden beneath the North Pole. But at the heart of the film is a story with the ingredients of a Christmas classic – a family in a state of comic dysfunction and an unlikely hero, Arthur, with an urgent mission that must be completed before Christmas morning dawns. (Sony Pictures)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 3, 2011
    91
    The action is swift and witty, and the 3-D effects are imaginative and not simply tacked on as with so many animated movies these days.
  2. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Nov 22, 2011
    83
    Arthur Christmas gets a little sappy toward the end - it is a Christmas movie, after all - but it otherwise strikes just the right combination of naughty and nice, reverent and irrelevant, holiday-sweet and Aardman dry.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Nov 10, 2011
    80
    Arthur Christmas embraces this unconditional faith and rewards it with creative explanations and a brisk computer-animated adventure clever enough to become essential yuletide viewing.
  4. Reviewed by: Jody Mitori
    Nov 22, 2011
    75
    Arthur Christmas stays sweet without becoming overly sentimental and is filled with sly details and smart action sequences.
  5. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Nov 22, 2011
    75
    There's nothing dark about Arthur: It's as bright and twinkling as a Christmas tree, decked with warmth and humor.
  6. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Nov 22, 2011
    63
    Watching Arthur Christmas is like doing your holiday shopping on Dec. 23: fun and frantic, exciting and maddening.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Nov 23, 2011
    12
    Ho-ho-huh? Arthur Christmas is an animated kiddie comedy that delivers all the wonder you'd expect in a movie about a guy delivering one package. Maybe they should have called it "UPS Man: The Movie."

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    The movie is a great family movie for Christmas. It has great animation, good voice casting, fun action and comedy, and a heart-warmingThe movie is a great family movie for Christmas. It has great animation, good voice casting, fun action and comedy, and a heart-warming storyline. They even made Justin Bieber's ":Santa Clause is Coming to Town" song sound O.K. during the end credits. Expand
  2. May 22, 2012
    9
    Arthur Christmas is a really good movie. It's funny, its got good music (like most films), a good and well thought out plot, good charactersArthur Christmas is a really good movie. It's funny, its got good music (like most films), a good and well thought out plot, good characters and great character building (it lets you know what they're like, properly). It's not as good as other aardman films, except from flushed away, it's better than that. Well done aardman, you've made another great movie! Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    This movie just entered our family's Christmas rotation. Really fun movie that has something for everyone in the family. If you're looking forThis movie just entered our family's Christmas rotation. Really fun movie that has something for everyone in the family. If you're looking for a lighthearted break from the holiday stress, get lost in this hilarious tale of Arthur, a child-at-heart dreamer who wants every child to experience the magic of Christmas. Well done. One of the few movies I'll actually buy when it's released on DVD. Merry Christmas! Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2011
    8
    I was very encouraged to find this site. I wanted to thank you for this special read. I definitely savored every little bit of it.

    carbon
    I was very encouraged to find this site. I wanted to thank you for this special read. I definitely savored every little bit of it.


    carbon handlebars
    Expand
  5. Mar 15, 2013
    8
    This film was a real surprise. I thought this would just be another stale Christmas movie, but I thankfully thought this movie was funny andThis film was a real surprise. I thought this would just be another stale Christmas movie, but I thankfully thought this movie was funny and had a lot of heart. Expand
  6. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    The lone Christmas movie of the year turns out to be one of the best made. Though it may look overly silly Arthur Christmas has quite a lotThe lone Christmas movie of the year turns out to be one of the best made. Though it may look overly silly Arthur Christmas has quite a lot of depth to it that many animated Christmas movies never come close to achieving. The movie takes us into the world of the Clause family where the role of Santa is passed down from generation to generation. When Santa fails to deliver one present to one little girl, Santa's son Arthur sets out to deliver the present with his old and rather looney grandfather, the former Santa. The 3D effect used here is amazing and it helps to immerse the viewer in magical worlds of flying animals and winter wonderlands. Its well worth the surcharge in my opinion. The voice acting is spot on as well lead by James McAvoy as Arthur. However what truly makes this film wonderful is its charm and its wit, and there is plenty of it. Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2011
    5
    The Aardman animators (best know for Wallace & Gromit) usually infuse their films with deadpan whimsy and eccentric personalities. This is anThe Aardman animators (best know for Wallace & Gromit) usually infuse their films with deadpan whimsy and eccentric personalities. This is an exception. The story takes place on Christmas night when Santa and his team have one last present to deliver. Leave it to the eponymous black-sheep son to come into his own and save the day. While the pacing is frantic and almost every frame is full of activity, the characters aren't especially unique and the writing isn't particularly clever. I really wanted to like it, but found it flat and lacking personality. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews

Trailers