Arthur Christmas

Arthur Christmas Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Set on Christmas night, the story of Arthur Christmas at last reveals the incredible, never-before seen answer to every child's question: 'So how does Santa deliver all those presents in one night?' The answer: Santa's exhilarating, ultra-high-tech operation hidden beneath the North Pole.Set on Christmas night, the story of Arthur Christmas at last reveals the incredible, never-before seen answer to every child's question: 'So how does Santa deliver all those presents in one night?' The answer: Santa's exhilarating, ultra-high-tech operation hidden beneath the North Pole. But at the heart of the film is a story with the ingredients of a Christmas classic – a family in a state of comic dysfunction and an unlikely hero, Arthur, with an urgent mission that must be completed before Christmas morning dawns. (Sony Pictures)
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 3, 2011
    91
    The action is swift and witty, and the 3-D effects are imaginative and not simply tacked on as with so many animated movies these days.
  2. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Nov 22, 2011
    83
    Arthur Christmas gets a little sappy toward the end - it is a Christmas movie, after all - but it otherwise strikes just the right combination of naughty and nice, reverent and irrelevant, holiday-sweet and Aardman dry.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Nov 10, 2011
    80
    Arthur Christmas embraces this unconditional faith and rewards it with creative explanations and a brisk computer-animated adventure clever enough to become essential yuletide viewing.
  4. Reviewed by: Jody Mitori
    Nov 22, 2011
    75
    Arthur Christmas stays sweet without becoming overly sentimental and is filled with sly details and smart action sequences.
  5. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Nov 22, 2011
    75
    There's nothing dark about Arthur: It's as bright and twinkling as a Christmas tree, decked with warmth and humor.
  6. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Nov 22, 2011
    63
    Watching Arthur Christmas is like doing your holiday shopping on Dec. 23: fun and frantic, exciting and maddening.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Nov 23, 2011
    12
    Ho-ho-huh? Arthur Christmas is an animated kiddie comedy that delivers all the wonder you'd expect in a movie about a guy delivering one package. Maybe they should have called it "UPS Man: The Movie."

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    The movie is a great family movie for Christmas. It has great animation, good voice casting, fun action and comedy, and a heart-warmingThe movie is a great family movie for Christmas. It has great animation, good voice casting, fun action and comedy, and a heart-warming storyline. They even made Justin Bieber's ":Santa Clause is Coming to Town" song sound O.K. during the end credits. Expand
  2. Dec 12, 2011
    9
    Despite the fact that Aardman haven't done a proper computer animated feature in a while (Flushed Away, 2006) and it almost crippled theDespite the fact that Aardman haven't done a proper computer animated feature in a while (Flushed Away, 2006) and it almost crippled the company financially when it bombed, they seem to have pulled off one of the best animations of the year. Arthur Christmas looks fantastic, its got a great voice cast, it's genuinely funny and it works as both a kids and a grown up film. The story is one of the people that work in the north pole. Its the tale of the clumsy Arthur (James McAvoy) who discovers that ,despite the well oiled nature of his families present delivering operation, a child has been missed. The rest of his family doesn't think it matters so Arthur heads out with the only two people on his side, his grandfather (Bill Nighy) and a wrapping department elf (Ashley Jensen). Because its a kids film they get into the usual highjinks but the film never loses itself with its message being one of optimism while maintaining the fast pace and quick wit with both visual and spoken gags being used to great effect. Its thoroughly enjoyable because it captures the spirit of the season while also making fun of it slightly. It gets you in the mood for the holidays and that's what its supposed to do. Expand
  3. May 13, 2013
    9
    I was surprised, I actually liked it. The reasons I liked it is it gave off a real Christmas feeling, had some silly ideas of how Santa getsI was surprised, I actually liked it. The reasons I liked it is it gave off a real Christmas feeling, had some silly ideas of how Santa gets his job done, plus it was original. Most Christmas stories are about the same. A good movie to add to the Christmas Collection. Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2011
    8
    I was very encouraged to find this site. I wanted to thank you for this special read. I definitely savored every little bit of it.

    carbon
    I was very encouraged to find this site. I wanted to thank you for this special read. I definitely savored every little bit of it.


    carbon handlebars
    Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2013
    8
    Overall this is a really enjoyable film. The characters are likeable, the story is clever, and the film looks nice. It may not be in the styleOverall this is a really enjoyable film. The characters are likeable, the story is clever, and the film looks nice. It may not be in the style of an Aardman film but it is still enjoyable. I hope Sony Pictures Animation appreciates Aardman because they are good studio. While this is may not feel like Aardman’s other work it is still enjoyable and I will take this over Sony Pictures Animation’s own films such as Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs any day. If you are looking for an enjoyable holiday film, a good animated film, or just sort of any enjoyable movie then definitely check this one out. Expand
  6. Jan 11, 2012
    8
    good flick for kids and adults alike, as i guess most animated films are geared toward nowadays. a very technology-driven delivery of goodiesgood flick for kids and adults alike, as i guess most animated films are geared toward nowadays. a very technology-driven delivery of goodies to the good and even bad kiddies. Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2011
    5
    The Aardman animators (best know for Wallace & Gromit) usually infuse their films with deadpan whimsy and eccentric personalities. This is anThe Aardman animators (best know for Wallace & Gromit) usually infuse their films with deadpan whimsy and eccentric personalities. This is an exception. The story takes place on Christmas night when Santa and his team have one last present to deliver. Leave it to the eponymous black-sheep son to come into his own and save the day. While the pacing is frantic and almost every frame is full of activity, the characters aren't especially unique and the writing isn't particularly clever. I really wanted to like it, but found it flat and lacking personality. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.