User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 334 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 334
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    8
    There has been many topics on various forums debating whether this movie is a good one or not. I think it is! Mr. Spielberg and Mr. Kubrick explored the the possible consequences of humans creating robots, that mainly serve our different needs and desires (child like robots, prostitute or service robots...). We can see this future world through the eyes of a child robot named David, whoThere has been many topics on various forums debating whether this movie is a good one or not. I think it is! Mr. Spielberg and Mr. Kubrick explored the the possible consequences of humans creating robots, that mainly serve our different needs and desires (child like robots, prostitute or service robots...). We can see this future world through the eyes of a child robot named David, who wants to become "real" so that he can regain the love of his human "mother". This is where things get interesting, Many ethical questions arise: What does it mean to be "real" or alive? Does a robot has real feelings, soul, thoughts of his own? How do humans approach these artificial beings. Are they even beings or just objects? I think the director explored these ideas quiet well. The cinematography, and acting is really good. The future world is well thought out, Definitely worth a look, because sooner or later we need to face these questions in reality! Expand
  2. DorenF.
    Oct 4, 2001
    10
    Absolutely brilliant moviemaking. The people who aren't GETTING IT are most often the EXPLOSIONS/SPECIAL EFFECTS crowd. A.I. requires not only an intellect, but emotional intelligence as well. Let me save you some time- if you liked ARMAGEDDON, don't see A.I.
  3. DenisB.
    Nov 30, 2002
    9
    A hauntingly beautiful & reverential modern depiction of Pinnochio. Life is precious.
  4. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    Brilliant movie. Kubrick's mind was a special place. And to have Speilberg finish his last project after death, is the combination of two of the most gifted visionaries in cinema. A futuristic tale of a robot boy programmed to love, seeks love and the "blue fairy," that will make him a real live boy.
  5. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    One of the best films I have ever seen. They could have cut the end back but what fantastic acting and thoughtful plots... I can't understand why someone
  6. TM
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    This is one of my all time favorite films, i just don't get why the critics have a problem with it. Yes it has flaws but that has to be expected as it was made by two different people. It has a great uneasy feel about it that makes it original. I didn't see it expecting a fluffy happy ending and that is not what i got(thank kubrick). A great film.
  7. AdrianneD.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    Challenging, harrowing, brilliantly imagined. the fusion of kubrick and spielberg is often messy but the friction is what generates the interest and depth. kubric chose spielberg to direct it for all the right reasons - in a story that explores the ideas of what constitute love, longing, fear and humanity and their implications, spielberg's emotion gives depth to kubrick's intellect.
  8. SteveF.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    A Brilliant masterpiece! The Citizen Kane of science fiction.
  9. jonnyq
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    What appears to be a good movie, turns out to be disappointing and the production values of Senior Speilbergo cannot hide that. As Sean P said it is "is very meandering and self-indulgent and weird and incoherent" - and it is not an awful watch but not worth paying to see. It is strange because it is not a cult film (like Donnie Darko) but it is not woefully bad. It is very self indulgent What appears to be a good movie, turns out to be disappointing and the production values of Senior Speilbergo cannot hide that. As Sean P said it is "is very meandering and self-indulgent and weird and incoherent" - and it is not an awful watch but not worth paying to see. It is strange because it is not a cult film (like Donnie Darko) but it is not woefully bad. It is very self indulgent and plain weird. You won't find it difficult to understand and it raises some good points about AI but this is like a pretentious version of Pinnochio. I put the score of 10 so you would read this review - I don't know how to score this film - I may as well rate it as 'lemon pie'. Expand
  10. SebastianL.
    Mar 16, 2009
    8
    Discount the number. As another critic leaned, this piece is not a movie as much as a rumination; as such, it might be one of the most difficult movies of all time to judge on a quantified scale. For those who decry the ending as overly sappy, perhaps you should try analyzing it. Yes, it's a statement about the human mystery of faith and the power of love to generate (real) life; but Discount the number. As another critic leaned, this piece is not a movie as much as a rumination; as such, it might be one of the most difficult movies of all time to judge on a quantified scale. For those who decry the ending as overly sappy, perhaps you should try analyzing it. Yes, it's a statement about the human mystery of faith and the power of love to generate (real) life; but it's made in the depts of a frozen sea over two thousand years of loneliness and ice. A Slumdog Millionaire bow, this isn't. Expand
  11. JoshV
    Mar 31, 2009
    10
    This movie is amazing and flawless the people who gave this a bad review are shallow and have no back up for their reasons, this is the most underrated movie of this decade.
  12. JoshR.
    May 1, 2009
    10
    An underrated masterpiece from one of the greatest directors of our time.
  13. KolomanR.
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    Who knew sentimentality could be lifted to such artistic heights? Kubrick was spot on in his choice of director. This film is an unqualified masterpiece.
  14. JordanK
    Aug 11, 2009
    8
    The movie has all the grand, adventurous, frightening, intelligent, and quirky aspects you'd expect from the Kubrick-Speilberg collaboration. While its occasionally knocked for its almost act-by-act feel, the film succeeds to explore the world they created with it. Excellent and engaging, although the forced cathartic ending is forgettable at best, and somewhat takes away from the The movie has all the grand, adventurous, frightening, intelligent, and quirky aspects you'd expect from the Kubrick-Speilberg collaboration. While its occasionally knocked for its almost act-by-act feel, the film succeeds to explore the world they created with it. Excellent and engaging, although the forced cathartic ending is forgettable at best, and somewhat takes away from the experience. Expand
  15. JimT
    Aug 17, 2009
    10
    The film gets this rating simply because it tackles a subject much deeper than 98% of the dreck in theatres now. The fact that it is flawed, probably because it was conceived and executed by two genius filmmakers, only creates a tension that adds to the rating. Utterly fascinating.
  16. G.M.D.K.
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    A.I. manges to do something that movies now adays dont: It absorbs us into a world of sheer fantasy,mixed with realistic human emotions. Even for the robotic kid.
  17. CharlieW.
    Jul 19, 2005
    10
    An incredible compilation of sadness, fantasy, and downright creepiness. Has some pretty funny moments. The only thing that someone may find wrong with this movie is its incredible length. Note to Lisa H., I'm only thirteen and I understood it just fine. Also, I don't feel the need to say "2" instead of "to" or use "gd" in place of "good."
  18. NickH
    Oct 7, 2005
    7
    Very much an imperfect movie, but it's one that doesn't leave you disappointed. The driving force behind this movie - which is, of course, Kubrick's genius - shines through the muck of a flawed production. Kubrick's dark, dreary nature has sadly been exchanged for a lighter tone, "Speilberg-ian happiness" if you will. Yes Kubrick wrote it, but it seems to be delivered Very much an imperfect movie, but it's one that doesn't leave you disappointed. The driving force behind this movie - which is, of course, Kubrick's genius - shines through the muck of a flawed production. Kubrick's dark, dreary nature has sadly been exchanged for a lighter tone, "Speilberg-ian happiness" if you will. Yes Kubrick wrote it, but it seems to be delivered to us in a family friendly nature, one with a thick coating of joy smeared across the original sadness. One has to wonder, if Kubrick were still alive would this movie be darker, creepier, more unusual and even more logical? Would he have made it completely his own or would he have worked in unison with Speilberg? We'll never know, but in the meantime, watch this movie again. Give it another chance. RATING: *** / **** Expand
  19. MikeG.
    Dec 7, 2005
    9
    I was blown away by the way this movie was conceived and realized. The best movies about the future are really movies that look at the present and where we're heading, and this movie did that with aplomb, as it never stopped questioning the relationships between robots and humanity, and the "rights" of the AI. Meanwhile, within all this, was a very touching and exciting movie. I I was blown away by the way this movie was conceived and realized. The best movies about the future are really movies that look at the present and where we're heading, and this movie did that with aplomb, as it never stopped questioning the relationships between robots and humanity, and the "rights" of the AI. Meanwhile, within all this, was a very touching and exciting movie. I still give Speilberg more credit for this movie than Kubrick, and think that Speilberg kept in a superb mix of dark and light, making this movie as captivating as it was. Expand
  20. ShaneS.
    Aug 15, 2006
    10
    I'm a bit surprised, actually, by all the negative ratings this film has gotten. I disagree, though, because this film is great with three things. [***SPOILERS***] It pushes the imagination in a very uncomfortable way. That is, it actually distorts the modern happy ending and hands it an undertone of depressing creepiness, and it does it for a good reason. It speaks volumes of I'm a bit surprised, actually, by all the negative ratings this film has gotten. I disagree, though, because this film is great with three things. [***SPOILERS***] It pushes the imagination in a very uncomfortable way. That is, it actually distorts the modern happy ending and hands it an undertone of depressing creepiness, and it does it for a good reason. It speaks volumes of whether or not love is an exclusively human thing. And lastly, it's a subtle examination of modern evolutionary theory, expecting in its efforts to say "humans' time will eventually end on this planet." The ending scene is necessary for that reason, and without it the film would not really have a point. With these long endings, though, where the first fade-out tricks you into believing it actually ends at a certain point, people get a little angry and flabberghasted that they didn't get to leave the theatres that much earlier. Expand
  21. SeanP.
    Feb 24, 2007
    9
    This film is one of my largest personal enigmas. I usually, almost always, find myself agreeing with the critics, and consequently, I use this site constantly and love it to death. But, there are 4 films that have gotten mixed metacritic scores which I totally cannot be without: Fight Club, Requiem for a Dream, The New World, and this one. And it's very weird indeed. I recognize that This film is one of my largest personal enigmas. I usually, almost always, find myself agreeing with the critics, and consequently, I use this site constantly and love it to death. But, there are 4 films that have gotten mixed metacritic scores which I totally cannot be without: Fight Club, Requiem for a Dream, The New World, and this one. And it's very weird indeed. I recognize that this movie is very far from perfect, is very meandering and self-indulgent and weird and incoherent, and yet while I am actually watching it, my eyes can't leave the freaking screen. It's just one of those very imperfect but very vivid and addicting pieces of art. Much of this film, especially the ending, feels much like a dream, maybe because dreams are also meandering and hazy and incoherent, but dreaming is still essential and likable. Much like this. Expand
  22. GustavoH.R.
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    Wonderful. A perfect match: Kubrick's bitterness with Spielberg's heart. This masterpiece was misunderstood, but again, it's too odd and dark for general audiences. Brilliant.
  23. LisaH.
    Sep 3, 2004
    10
    Very gd film - im only 14 n i understood it fine. I found it a very sad film, but enjoyable 2 watch. suggect you see it if you havent already.
  24. DanW
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    [***PLOT REVELATIONS***] A perfect example of a minority film that is obviously directed at people who can both sympathise and understand at the same time. The performances, especially from Haley Joel Osment and Jude Law, are magnificent to behold The last 30 minutes are sublime genius the likes of which only Spielburg could create (and I cannot believe some people still won't accept [***PLOT REVELATIONS***] A perfect example of a minority film that is obviously directed at people who can both sympathise and understand at the same time. The performances, especially from Haley Joel Osment and Jude Law, are magnificent to behold The last 30 minutes are sublime genius the likes of which only Spielburg could create (and I cannot believe some people still won't accept that the robots at the end were NOT aliens.)People who are likely to not enjoy this film include (but are not limited to): those without even mediocre intelligence and those who watch Big Brother. Expand
  25. BillyO.
    Jun 28, 2004
    7
    A very weird and different movie! If you want to see something off the wall, see this. It was long and it kind of depressed me. It was a pretty good movie.
  26. EricS.
    Aug 10, 2002
    10
    A highly provocative, constantly watchable, emotionally compelling, and finely crafted film. Better than it's companion piece "Minority Report." Jude Law gives the best supporting performance by an actor of the year. Dare I say it--it's one of the best films Spielberg has ever made. Worth it's weight in gold for sure.
  27. DamienS.
    Jul 10, 2002
    10
    YOU IDIOTS! the "aliens" at the end of the movie were highly advanced mechas, if you actually paid attention to the movie. Ok, now that I got that off my back, this movie was a beautiful and moving cinematic experience. The photography was amazing, the acting was superb, and the effects topped any of the films that were against it in 2001. Kudos to Spielberg, it's trendy not to like YOU IDIOTS! the "aliens" at the end of the movie were highly advanced mechas, if you actually paid attention to the movie. Ok, now that I got that off my back, this movie was a beautiful and moving cinematic experience. The photography was amazing, the acting was superb, and the effects topped any of the films that were against it in 2001. Kudos to Spielberg, it's trendy not to like his movies now anyway. And "BLAH" to all you cynical and nihilistic people that prefer style over substance. Expand
  28. DaleM.
    Jul 31, 2001
    7
    Dissatisfied with the ending. Very Kubricesque!
  29. RobertT.
    Jul 28, 2002
    10
    This movie was brilliant. I wish stanley could have been alive to add more input to it , but i think steven did it justice and the acting was superb. the dvd is filled with tons of lush extras for those thirsty for more. the movie itself is a truly touching story and is definently one to own. though you probably wont see yourself watching it everyday but one to own and watch from time toThis movie was brilliant. I wish stanley could have been alive to add more input to it , but i think steven did it justice and the acting was superb. the dvd is filled with tons of lush extras for those thirsty for more. the movie itself is a truly touching story and is definently one to own. though you probably wont see yourself watching it everyday but one to own and watch from time to time for sure. its great artistically, musically, and the story is great . Expand
  30. FrankR.
    Apr 19, 2003
    9
    Excellent film. As far as Sci-Fi films go, this one has that same aura that 2001 has. Its slow paced and full of beautiful visuals. It is simplistically sentimental in that Spielberg kind of way but paradoxically is what makes the film beautiful.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. 40
    What we're left with -- Kubrick or no -- is a muddled, messy disaster of a film, something that seems more like a drastically edited miniseries, cut down to incomprehensible levels with whole sections missing.
  2. Pure magic, a three-act movie fantasy that transports us -- as the best films do -- to a world of its own, a place of ambiguous joy and delirious terror.
  3. Audiences may find that the deliberate, Kubrickesque pacing -- without his intellectual rigor -- causes them to tune out.