User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 330 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 330
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TM
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    This is one of my all time favorite films, i just don't get why the critics have a problem with it. Yes it has flaws but that has to be expected as it was made by two different people. It has a great uneasy feel about it that makes it original. I didn't see it expecting a fluffy happy ending and that is not what i got(thank kubrick). A great film.
  2. AdrianneD.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    Challenging, harrowing, brilliantly imagined. the fusion of kubrick and spielberg is often messy but the friction is what generates the interest and depth. kubric chose spielberg to direct it for all the right reasons - in a story that explores the ideas of what constitute love, longing, fear and humanity and their implications, spielberg's emotion gives depth to kubrick's intellect.
  3. SteveF.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    A Brilliant masterpiece! The Citizen Kane of science fiction.
  4. jonnyq
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    What appears to be a good movie, turns out to be disappointing and the production values of Senior Speilbergo cannot hide that. As Sean P said it is "is very meandering and self-indulgent and weird and incoherent" - and it is not an awful watch but not worth paying to see. It is strange because it is not a cult film (like Donnie Darko) but it is not woefully bad. It is very self indulgent What appears to be a good movie, turns out to be disappointing and the production values of Senior Speilbergo cannot hide that. As Sean P said it is "is very meandering and self-indulgent and weird and incoherent" - and it is not an awful watch but not worth paying to see. It is strange because it is not a cult film (like Donnie Darko) but it is not woefully bad. It is very self indulgent and plain weird. You won't find it difficult to understand and it raises some good points about AI but this is like a pretentious version of Pinnochio. I put the score of 10 so you would read this review - I don't know how to score this film - I may as well rate it as 'lemon pie'. Expand
  5. JoshV
    Mar 31, 2009
    10
    This movie is amazing and flawless the people who gave this a bad review are shallow and have no back up for their reasons, this is the most underrated movie of this decade.
  6. JoshR.
    May 1, 2009
    10
    An underrated masterpiece from one of the greatest directors of our time.
  7. KolomanR.
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    Who knew sentimentality could be lifted to such artistic heights? Kubrick was spot on in his choice of director. This film is an unqualified masterpiece.
  8. JimT
    Aug 17, 2009
    10
    The film gets this rating simply because it tackles a subject much deeper than 98% of the dreck in theatres now. The fact that it is flawed, probably because it was conceived and executed by two genius filmmakers, only creates a tension that adds to the rating. Utterly fascinating.
  9. G.M.D.K.
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    A.I. manges to do something that movies now adays dont: It absorbs us into a world of sheer fantasy,mixed with realistic human emotions. Even for the robotic kid.
  10. CharlieW.
    Jul 19, 2005
    10
    An incredible compilation of sadness, fantasy, and downright creepiness. Has some pretty funny moments. The only thing that someone may find wrong with this movie is its incredible length. Note to Lisa H., I'm only thirteen and I understood it just fine. Also, I don't feel the need to say "2" instead of "to" or use "gd" in place of "good."
  11. ShaneS.
    Aug 15, 2006
    10
    I'm a bit surprised, actually, by all the negative ratings this film has gotten. I disagree, though, because this film is great with three things. [***SPOILERS***] It pushes the imagination in a very uncomfortable way. That is, it actually distorts the modern happy ending and hands it an undertone of depressing creepiness, and it does it for a good reason. It speaks volumes of I'm a bit surprised, actually, by all the negative ratings this film has gotten. I disagree, though, because this film is great with three things. [***SPOILERS***] It pushes the imagination in a very uncomfortable way. That is, it actually distorts the modern happy ending and hands it an undertone of depressing creepiness, and it does it for a good reason. It speaks volumes of whether or not love is an exclusively human thing. And lastly, it's a subtle examination of modern evolutionary theory, expecting in its efforts to say "humans' time will eventually end on this planet." The ending scene is necessary for that reason, and without it the film would not really have a point. With these long endings, though, where the first fade-out tricks you into believing it actually ends at a certain point, people get a little angry and flabberghasted that they didn't get to leave the theatres that much earlier. Expand
  12. LisaH.
    Sep 3, 2004
    10
    Very gd film - im only 14 n i understood it fine. I found it a very sad film, but enjoyable 2 watch. suggect you see it if you havent already.
  13. DanW
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    [***PLOT REVELATIONS***] A perfect example of a minority film that is obviously directed at people who can both sympathise and understand at the same time. The performances, especially from Haley Joel Osment and Jude Law, are magnificent to behold The last 30 minutes are sublime genius the likes of which only Spielburg could create (and I cannot believe some people still won't accept [***PLOT REVELATIONS***] A perfect example of a minority film that is obviously directed at people who can both sympathise and understand at the same time. The performances, especially from Haley Joel Osment and Jude Law, are magnificent to behold The last 30 minutes are sublime genius the likes of which only Spielburg could create (and I cannot believe some people still won't accept that the robots at the end were NOT aliens.)People who are likely to not enjoy this film include (but are not limited to): those without even mediocre intelligence and those who watch Big Brother. Expand
  14. EricS.
    Aug 10, 2002
    10
    A highly provocative, constantly watchable, emotionally compelling, and finely crafted film. Better than it's companion piece "Minority Report." Jude Law gives the best supporting performance by an actor of the year. Dare I say it--it's one of the best films Spielberg has ever made. Worth it's weight in gold for sure.
  15. DamienS.
    Jul 10, 2002
    10
    YOU IDIOTS! the "aliens" at the end of the movie were highly advanced mechas, if you actually paid attention to the movie. Ok, now that I got that off my back, this movie was a beautiful and moving cinematic experience. The photography was amazing, the acting was superb, and the effects topped any of the films that were against it in 2001. Kudos to Spielberg, it's trendy not to like YOU IDIOTS! the "aliens" at the end of the movie were highly advanced mechas, if you actually paid attention to the movie. Ok, now that I got that off my back, this movie was a beautiful and moving cinematic experience. The photography was amazing, the acting was superb, and the effects topped any of the films that were against it in 2001. Kudos to Spielberg, it's trendy not to like his movies now anyway. And "BLAH" to all you cynical and nihilistic people that prefer style over substance. Expand
  16. RobertT.
    Jul 28, 2002
    10
    This movie was brilliant. I wish stanley could have been alive to add more input to it , but i think steven did it justice and the acting was superb. the dvd is filled with tons of lush extras for those thirsty for more. the movie itself is a truly touching story and is definently one to own. though you probably wont see yourself watching it everyday but one to own and watch from time toThis movie was brilliant. I wish stanley could have been alive to add more input to it , but i think steven did it justice and the acting was superb. the dvd is filled with tons of lush extras for those thirsty for more. the movie itself is a truly touching story and is definently one to own. though you probably wont see yourself watching it everyday but one to own and watch from time to time for sure. its great artistically, musically, and the story is great . Expand
  17. FrankV.
    Aug 30, 2001
    10
    Brilliant movie with a lot of unexpected surprises!
  18. DorenF.
    Oct 4, 2001
    10
    Absolutely brilliant moviemaking. The people who aren't GETTING IT are most often the EXPLOSIONS/SPECIAL EFFECTS crowd. A.I. requires not only an intellect, but emotional intelligence as well. Let me save you some time- if you liked ARMAGEDDON, don't see A.I.
  19. JordyN.
    Apr 19, 2002
    10
    The best film I've ever seen.
  20. J.ManuelO.
    Oct 6, 2001
    10
    The very best picture since "Dancer in the Dark." I think in the future, A.I. will be a classic movie, like Kubrick's "2001". The story, the direction, the photography, the music and the interpretation of all actors and actress are excellent.
  21. IrvinC.
    Feb 18, 2002
    10
    This is Spielberg's misunderstood masterpiece. An instant, underrated classic of epic proportions. Haley Joel Osment deserves an Oscar.
  22. DavidA.
    Mar 17, 2002
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. Of course Spielberg did not address every big issue involved in 2.5 hours, who could? The people who are attacking this film are shallow and expected another cute ET featuring loveable, throwaway robots.
  23. MichaelH.
    Jul 18, 2002
    10
    One of Spielberg's finest movies. Deeply moving, made with love and compassion, and certainly one that will grow to the stature it deserves. A true masterpiece.
  24. Richard
    Jul 15, 2002
    10
    The deepest and most daring film Spielberg's done.
  25. YoonCho
    Sep 13, 2003
    10
    A surprisingly rich harmonization of Kubrick's intellectuaity and Kubrick's emotional rapture, AI transcends its themes(staples of sci-fi)and becomes a profoundly moving rumination on the meaning of memory and time, of love as a lonely island, and the spiritual core of humanity that is both the source of our greatest virtues and achievements as well as the reason why we often A surprisingly rich harmonization of Kubrick's intellectuaity and Kubrick's emotional rapture, AI transcends its themes(staples of sci-fi)and becomes a profoundly moving rumination on the meaning of memory and time, of love as a lonely island, and the spiritual core of humanity that is both the source of our greatest virtues and achievements as well as the reason why we often favor delusion over truth. Here Spielberg doesn't simply manipulate our emotions but examines the very means and methods of such calculations; remarkably, the film becomes all the more powerful as the audience, like the AI child, will likely realize that we often must believe in, indeed rely on, the beautiful lie than on the naked truth for spiritual peace. AI makes us feel helpless--both as observers and victims--in relation to all the suffering and pain in the world, and demonstrates the therapeutic(and deceptive)uses of art and imagination,not to mention technology to alleviate this aspect of human condition. The central character of the AI representing both everlasting innocence and perversion of technology and intellectualism is one of the memorable in sci-fi genre. Expand
  26. MartinE.
    Nov 20, 2001
    10
    Multidimensional beautiful-strange movie - just speaks with a language not everyone can understand.
  27. ChrisM.
    Jan 3, 2002
    10
    Extraordinary. One of the best science fiction films ever made. Full of haunting images, from the "flesh fair" and "Rouge City" to "Manhattan" and beyond. Check back in about ten years, when the majority of film "scholars" will be hailing this masterpiece as the classic it already is.
  28. ChrisR.
    Feb 9, 2004
    10
    Misunderstood classic which will stand the test of time, like 2001 and Blade Runner before it.
  29. Tom
    Mar 6, 2005
    10
    BTW The film was NOT created by Spielberg. It was conceived and written by Stanley Kubrick before he died...Spielberg merely took it up.
  30. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    One of the best films I have ever seen. They could have cut the end back but what fantastic acting and thoughtful plots... I can't understand why someone
  31. Apr 18, 2015
    10
    A.I. is just as philosophical as 2001 and just as poignant as E.T. David's quest to become a real boy is the most fascinating exploration of the human condition I've ever seen. Through the course of the film, he's governed by irrational love, blind faith, self-delusion and eventual death. The primary question of the Pinocchio fable has always been “What does it mean to be human?” A.I.A.I. is just as philosophical as 2001 and just as poignant as E.T. David's quest to become a real boy is the most fascinating exploration of the human condition I've ever seen. Through the course of the film, he's governed by irrational love, blind faith, self-delusion and eventual death. The primary question of the Pinocchio fable has always been “What does it mean to be human?” A.I. finds dark and sobering answers. Expand
  32. MikeG.
    Dec 7, 2005
    9
    I was blown away by the way this movie was conceived and realized. The best movies about the future are really movies that look at the present and where we're heading, and this movie did that with aplomb, as it never stopped questioning the relationships between robots and humanity, and the "rights" of the AI. Meanwhile, within all this, was a very touching and exciting movie. I I was blown away by the way this movie was conceived and realized. The best movies about the future are really movies that look at the present and where we're heading, and this movie did that with aplomb, as it never stopped questioning the relationships between robots and humanity, and the "rights" of the AI. Meanwhile, within all this, was a very touching and exciting movie. I still give Speilberg more credit for this movie than Kubrick, and think that Speilberg kept in a superb mix of dark and light, making this movie as captivating as it was. Expand
  33. SeanP.
    Feb 24, 2007
    9
    This film is one of my largest personal enigmas. I usually, almost always, find myself agreeing with the critics, and consequently, I use this site constantly and love it to death. But, there are 4 films that have gotten mixed metacritic scores which I totally cannot be without: Fight Club, Requiem for a Dream, The New World, and this one. And it's very weird indeed. I recognize that This film is one of my largest personal enigmas. I usually, almost always, find myself agreeing with the critics, and consequently, I use this site constantly and love it to death. But, there are 4 films that have gotten mixed metacritic scores which I totally cannot be without: Fight Club, Requiem for a Dream, The New World, and this one. And it's very weird indeed. I recognize that this movie is very far from perfect, is very meandering and self-indulgent and weird and incoherent, and yet while I am actually watching it, my eyes can't leave the freaking screen. It's just one of those very imperfect but very vivid and addicting pieces of art. Much of this film, especially the ending, feels much like a dream, maybe because dreams are also meandering and hazy and incoherent, but dreaming is still essential and likable. Much like this. Expand
  34. GustavoH.R.
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    Wonderful. A perfect match: Kubrick's bitterness with Spielberg's heart. This masterpiece was misunderstood, but again, it's too odd and dark for general audiences. Brilliant.
  35. FrankR.
    Apr 19, 2003
    9
    Excellent film. As far as Sci-Fi films go, this one has that same aura that 2001 has. Its slow paced and full of beautiful visuals. It is simplistically sentimental in that Spielberg kind of way but paradoxically is what makes the film beautiful.
  36. MichaelS.
    Oct 9, 2002
    9
    Spielberg is one of the best movie makers ever! He just reviewed our opinion after some 'blown up' movies (Jurrasic Park etc.) But this time he just give us a dark peep into the future. His dreams and believings are so beautiful. Only after 2 hours it's to much. That's the only thing. But I think Spielberg is realising he has to bring more quality and yes, he's Spielberg is one of the best movie makers ever! He just reviewed our opinion after some 'blown up' movies (Jurrasic Park etc.) But this time he just give us a dark peep into the future. His dreams and believings are so beautiful. Only after 2 hours it's to much. That's the only thing. But I think Spielberg is realising he has to bring more quality and yes, he's done it with this masterpiece! Expand
  37. EliA.
    Apr 9, 2002
    9
    This is the kind of movie that is so different, so unhollywood if you guys will, that sets it apart from the others by a mile away. It didn't surprise me to know that it shocked some people. It not only made me feel and rationalize like if I was in that kid's shoes, but also feel pain. GOOD MOVIE.
  38. RyanM.
    Oct 18, 2001
    9
    Great, brilliant, influental film of visul magic and performances from the heavens.
  39. DenisB.
    Nov 30, 2002
    9
    A hauntingly beautiful & reverential modern depiction of Pinnochio. Life is precious.
  40. Michele
    Jan 14, 2004
    9
    Wow. The idiocy of some these people never ceases to astound me. The movie was merely about feeling sorry for robots? Honestly, how stupid can a person be. Anyone with any sort of intelligence can easily see there is far more to the movie than than, unless you sleep through all but two minutes of it. A.I. may very well hold its own in our future. I mean, this movie makes a person ask him Wow. The idiocy of some these people never ceases to astound me. The movie was merely about feeling sorry for robots? Honestly, how stupid can a person be. Anyone with any sort of intelligence can easily see there is far more to the movie than than, unless you sleep through all but two minutes of it. A.I. may very well hold its own in our future. I mean, this movie makes a person ask him or herself what humanity really is. I guess you have to appreciate thought in order to enjoy such movies. Expand
  41. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    Brilliant movie. Kubrick's mind was a special place. And to have Speilberg finish his last project after death, is the combination of two of the most gifted visionaries in cinema. A futuristic tale of a robot boy programmed to love, seeks love and the "blue fairy," that will make him a real live boy.
  42. Dec 29, 2014
    9
    Splendid,Brilliant never thought how great Steven Spielberg can become! A movie beyond time , a master of putting imagination into reality.

    A 2001 Film seriously ? Just in the year 2012 Quantic Dream released a AI engine video based on this concept.Android named Kara (played by Valorie Curry) who presents a dilemma to her operator after discovering the ability to think. AI is not
    Splendid,Brilliant never thought how great Steven Spielberg can become! A movie beyond time , a master of putting imagination into reality.

    A 2001 Film seriously ?

    Just in the year 2012 Quantic Dream released a AI engine video based on this concept.Android named Kara (played by Valorie Curry) who presents a dilemma to her operator after discovering the ability to think.

    AI is not far behind now. A reality ?

    *Speilberg should have directed INTERSTELLAR*
    Expand
  43. SebastianL.
    Mar 16, 2009
    8
    Discount the number. As another critic leaned, this piece is not a movie as much as a rumination; as such, it might be one of the most difficult movies of all time to judge on a quantified scale. For those who decry the ending as overly sappy, perhaps you should try analyzing it. Yes, it's a statement about the human mystery of faith and the power of love to generate (real) life; but Discount the number. As another critic leaned, this piece is not a movie as much as a rumination; as such, it might be one of the most difficult movies of all time to judge on a quantified scale. For those who decry the ending as overly sappy, perhaps you should try analyzing it. Yes, it's a statement about the human mystery of faith and the power of love to generate (real) life; but it's made in the depts of a frozen sea over two thousand years of loneliness and ice. A Slumdog Millionaire bow, this isn't. Expand
  44. JordanK
    Aug 11, 2009
    8
    The movie has all the grand, adventurous, frightening, intelligent, and quirky aspects you'd expect from the Kubrick-Speilberg collaboration. While its occasionally knocked for its almost act-by-act feel, the film succeeds to explore the world they created with it. Excellent and engaging, although the forced cathartic ending is forgettable at best, and somewhat takes away from the The movie has all the grand, adventurous, frightening, intelligent, and quirky aspects you'd expect from the Kubrick-Speilberg collaboration. While its occasionally knocked for its almost act-by-act feel, the film succeeds to explore the world they created with it. Excellent and engaging, although the forced cathartic ending is forgettable at best, and somewhat takes away from the experience. Expand
  45. EnricoB.
    Oct 27, 2001
    8
    Remarkable achievement, surely misunderstood by many. A modern interpretation of Pinocchio story.
  46. JustinM.
    Nov 5, 2001
    8
    The one film ever to stir me emotionally in years. This movie is well concieved, and displays parts of humanity that strike all too familiar tones in modern life.
  47. ColeL.
    Nov 22, 2001
    8
    A deranged tale of mechs wanting to become real. This disturbing chronicle really explains what it must be like for a robot, who feels unwanted and not real. This time Kubrick and Speilberg did a brillant job and the movie is a exceptional masterpiece.
  48. MikeN.
    Aug 9, 2003
    8
    I did not like this at all the first time I saw it. But it remains much more memorable and beautiful than almost any new film I have seen since. It is certainly slow. And it requires an certain suspension of logic. But it has a truly haunting quality that makes it worth seeing.
  49. K.W.
    Jul 27, 2002
    8
    Excellent movie, great ending, thought by the way critics panned it, I was in for a medicore movie, but far exceeded my ....well you know.
  50. RupertM.
    May 6, 2002
    8
    This is a bit too Spielbergy for me (a tad melodramatic), but the acting is superb and if viewed as an allegory, works well.
  51. NedD.
    Sep 13, 2001
    8
    Audacious, awe-inspiring, intelligent, thought-provoking, but ultimately imperfect. The ideas themselves are morally challenging and important, the conceptualization of those ideas, however, is sometimes clunky and heavy-handed. Still definitely worthwhile.
  52. IreneB.
    Aug 18, 2002
    8
    Touching to its fullest.
  53. BenA.
    Mar 14, 2004
    8
    Very good movie. Much better the second time, actually.
  54. Feb 11, 2013
    8
    There has been many topics on various forums debating whether this movie is a good one or not. I think it is! Mr. Spielberg and Mr. Kubrick explored the the possible consequences of humans creating robots, that mainly serve our different needs and desires (child like robots, prostitute or service robots...). We can see this future world through the eyes of a child robot named David, whoThere has been many topics on various forums debating whether this movie is a good one or not. I think it is! Mr. Spielberg and Mr. Kubrick explored the the possible consequences of humans creating robots, that mainly serve our different needs and desires (child like robots, prostitute or service robots...). We can see this future world through the eyes of a child robot named David, who wants to become "real" so that he can regain the love of his human "mother". This is where things get interesting, Many ethical questions arise: What does it mean to be "real" or alive? Does a robot has real feelings, soul, thoughts of his own? How do humans approach these artificial beings. Are they even beings or just objects? I think the director explored these ideas quiet well. The cinematography, and acting is really good. The future world is well thought out, Definitely worth a look, because sooner or later we need to face these questions in reality! Expand
  55. Aug 5, 2013
    8
    A.I. Artificial Intelligence 8/10.....................................................................................................................
  56. NickH
    Oct 7, 2005
    7
    Very much an imperfect movie, but it's one that doesn't leave you disappointed. The driving force behind this movie - which is, of course, Kubrick's genius - shines through the muck of a flawed production. Kubrick's dark, dreary nature has sadly been exchanged for a lighter tone, "Speilberg-ian happiness" if you will. Yes Kubrick wrote it, but it seems to be delivered Very much an imperfect movie, but it's one that doesn't leave you disappointed. The driving force behind this movie - which is, of course, Kubrick's genius - shines through the muck of a flawed production. Kubrick's dark, dreary nature has sadly been exchanged for a lighter tone, "Speilberg-ian happiness" if you will. Yes Kubrick wrote it, but it seems to be delivered to us in a family friendly nature, one with a thick coating of joy smeared across the original sadness. One has to wonder, if Kubrick were still alive would this movie be darker, creepier, more unusual and even more logical? Would he have made it completely his own or would he have worked in unison with Speilberg? We'll never know, but in the meantime, watch this movie again. Give it another chance. RATING: *** / **** Expand
  57. BillyO.
    Jun 28, 2004
    7
    A very weird and different movie! If you want to see something off the wall, see this. It was long and it kind of depressed me. It was a pretty good movie.
  58. DaleM.
    Jul 31, 2001
    7
    Dissatisfied with the ending. Very Kubricesque!
  59. Gilbert
    Nov 20, 2002
    7
    Good God, how many stools can one film fall between? This is a mess. A total mess. What Steven was thinking in writing the screenplay himself I don't know. Didn't Kubrick have anything? Oh BOY is this a mess. ...and yet...and yet. An intriguing one. Soppy and sentimental? Oy, is it ever. But oddly moving, at some points - the Flesh Fair had me in some vague tears. And Teddy is Good God, how many stools can one film fall between? This is a mess. A total mess. What Steven was thinking in writing the screenplay himself I don't know. Didn't Kubrick have anything? Oh BOY is this a mess. ...and yet...and yet. An intriguing one. Soppy and sentimental? Oy, is it ever. But oddly moving, at some points - the Flesh Fair had me in some vague tears. And Teddy is just THE greatest creation! It's not fair to say I liked this movie - I'd be surprised if anyone did, it's so muddled - but I respect it. Do try to see it...but be careful out there. Expand
  60. AaronS.
    Dec 31, 2002
    7
    Brilliantly constructed, terribly ended. This movie wreaks of Kubrickian influence, which is why Stevo had to destroy an otherwise fantastic vision with some of the worst final twenty minutes of any quality film ever.
  61. MarcK.
    Apr 6, 2002
    7
    Didn't think anyone could do justice to the "Kubrick style", but Spielberg certainly did. The problem, as one noted earlier on this board, is that filmgoers were expecting another "ET." When they found out it wasn't that, people stayed away in droves. But, as my rating shows, I very much liked it.
  62. DaleM.
    Jul 31, 2001
    7
    Dissatisfied with the ending. Very Kubricesque!
  63. Jeremy
    Sep 29, 2003
    7
    An alternately brilliant and frustrating hybrid of two of Hollywood's greatest filmakers, who don't necesarily mix real well together. The last 30 minutes, especially fly off the track. Yet, A.I. is worth seeing just for ambitious alone, and of special performances by it's two leads, Haley Joel Osment and Jude Law.
  64. J.W.
    Apr 28, 2002
    7
    Based on the very mixed comments on this movie, I hesitated to pick it up and watch it. But after viewing it, it wasn't that bad. Defintely more Kubrick than Spielberg. The last half-hour was disjointed and a stretch though. [***Potential Spoilers***] Why was the robot company building robots in a half-sunken building in Mahattan? Where did the ice age suddenly come from? Why were Based on the very mixed comments on this movie, I hesitated to pick it up and watch it. But after viewing it, it wasn't that bad. Defintely more Kubrick than Spielberg. The last half-hour was disjointed and a stretch though. [***Potential Spoilers***] Why was the robot company building robots in a half-sunken building in Mahattan? Where did the ice age suddenly come from? Why were aliens visitng Earth, of all places in the universe? And what happened to David, who apparently has an energy source that lasts forever? Expand
  65. DaveC.
    Aug 2, 2003
    7
    As disappointing as it is that Spielberg made this film a no brainer and added a wince inducing speech by the narrator at the end, the arresting style of the film would have made Kubrick proud and though acting like a robot could easily have been done by a lot of other people in Hollywood (namely Keanu Reeves and Arnold Schwartzenegger manage to pull it off in everything they appear in) As disappointing as it is that Spielberg made this film a no brainer and added a wince inducing speech by the narrator at the end, the arresting style of the film would have made Kubrick proud and though acting like a robot could easily have been done by a lot of other people in Hollywood (namely Keanu Reeves and Arnold Schwartzenegger manage to pull it off in everything they appear in) only brilliant actors such as Haley Joel Osmond and co-star Jude Law could have pulled it off with such panache. This is not a perfect film by any stretch of the imagination but its otherworldly feel makes it difficult to believe that this project by Stanley Kubrick underwent its production posthumously with only Spielberg in the directors chair. Give it a go. Sci-fi fans in particular will love it. Expand
  66. Jul 5, 2014
    7
    What a beautiful movie. It's heartbreaking, it's visually fantastic and very curious. The acting is top-notch, the story is interesting and overall, a great film.
  67. Jul 10, 2014
    7
    Superb acting, great visual effects, decent story. It had some fun and dramatic scenes, but overall this was a boring movie to me. Great idea but with less fantasy it would've been much better. 7/10
  68. Aug 8, 2014
    7
    This one took me a bit to get into as the first half is just not that good. It is necessary, but not interesting in the least. However, the second half really knocks it out of the park and leaves you with tears in your eyes for practically the entire final 20 minutes. Now, the ending is a little sentimental, but the film gets points for not going as sentimental as I thought it could have,This one took me a bit to get into as the first half is just not that good. It is necessary, but not interesting in the least. However, the second half really knocks it out of the park and leaves you with tears in your eyes for practically the entire final 20 minutes. Now, the ending is a little sentimental, but the film gets points for not going as sentimental as I thought it could have, so thank God for that. Haley Joel Osment is a revelation in the lead role and absolutely kills it. This film rests on his shoulders and the fact that he, at age 13, handles that burden this well and performs the way he did is stunningly impressive. The direction from Stephen Spielberg is also strong, though I would have loved to see Stanley Kubrick's take on this film, as I do think Kubrick would have done better with the materials he was given, not to say Spielberg did poorly. While the effects are great and the cinematography gorgeous, the real strength of this one is the pathos and pure child-like magic that really touches your heart. Without it, this one would be entirely lackluster. The ending goes on for a bit too long, but is actually filled with a lot more questions than initially meets the eye. At the end of the day, A.I. is an interesting film that is a success due to the emotions it provokes and how it utilizes its fantasy elements. Expand
  69. Aug 16, 2014
    7
    Artificial Intelligence is a pretty great film from Spielberg. It could have been a bit better, though, as it's final act seems flabby and contrived. This is a movie that sorely needed a better ending. Nether-the-less, it's an entertaining ride.
  70. ManveerR.
    Feb 18, 2006
    6
    Palin average one speilbergs half hearted efforts good visuals and not bad acting but movie dragged on way too long it was pathetic.
  71. MichaelC.
    Sep 14, 2001
    6
    I looked at this film in many ways. At the start I found it excellent and intriguing, with full-on intelligence and well-built story. However, in the second half, I really started to dislike this film. I found it harder and harder to take seriously. The Flesh Flame thing was just silly, and some of those fantasy sets, although very impressive visually, were laughable. In the final third, I looked at this film in many ways. At the start I found it excellent and intriguing, with full-on intelligence and well-built story. However, in the second half, I really started to dislike this film. I found it harder and harder to take seriously. The Flesh Flame thing was just silly, and some of those fantasy sets, although very impressive visually, were laughable. In the final third, this movie impressed me just enough to get the score about a 4 or 5/10. The thing that really took me off this movie was its disappointingly uninteresting story. The central character David trying to find ?The Blue Fairy? to make a couple of wishes was dopey and silly and ruined the movie?s potential. However, I found this movie to be visually impressive, nice to look at, with some excellent set designs, a great performance from our little blessing Haley Joel Osment and a neat little teddy bear that steals the show. On the other side, the film was sometimes cheesy, mostly uninteresting through the acts and disappoints from the moment David (Haley Joel Osment) steps away from his family. This was one of the year?s most anticipated cinema events, and although it was average and just bearable, it could?ve been something so much more. Because we definitely don?t want to see another "Hook" do we, Steven Spielberg? Expand
  72. SteveM.
    May 26, 2002
    6
    The beginning of the film is very good. Kubrick displays well his typical darkness. However, the movie degenerates into outlandish sentimentality at the end. I am told Spielberg added this part to the film. Shame on him.
  73. AadhaarV.
    Feb 8, 2003
    6
    It is quite strange, you dont know where it is quite going but you're gripped till the end. The main problem it is very long and one tends to get bored. In all "Weird but Good."
  74. Bayleef14
    Aug 20, 2002
    6
    Steven Spielberg's biggest misstep since "Hook". It has a great cast, great screenwriters, and a great director. It even had a decent story. But when you sit for so long during a movie you expect it to pay off. For "A.I." there is no payoff, just a hokey, sappy ending that really never solves anything. I believe that somewhere in this movie a good story could be told and made into a Steven Spielberg's biggest misstep since "Hook". It has a great cast, great screenwriters, and a great director. It even had a decent story. But when you sit for so long during a movie you expect it to pay off. For "A.I." there is no payoff, just a hokey, sappy ending that really never solves anything. I believe that somewhere in this movie a good story could be told and made into a better movie with a more pleasing ending. But for now all we have is this. Go see "Minority Report", a movie that satisfies much more than this. Expand
  75. Dec 15, 2011
    6
    Stephen Spielberg once again directs an excellent film, at least for the first half. The camera angles are beautifully positioned and the camera movements flow smoothly. Haley Joel Osment and Jude Law give terrific performances and the futuristic setting is entirely believable and well created. But for the majority of the second half, the film becomes tiresome. Every scene is filled withStephen Spielberg once again directs an excellent film, at least for the first half. The camera angles are beautifully positioned and the camera movements flow smoothly. Haley Joel Osment and Jude Law give terrific performances and the futuristic setting is entirely believable and well created. But for the majority of the second half, the film becomes tiresome. Every scene is filled with some implausible and unbelievable circumstance and the final ending almost seems as if Spielberg was attempting to give humanity a pat on the back for our "spirit" while ignoring our blood lust and violent nature. Then comes the resolution, which is simply horrendous. Spielberg introduces a new element to the plot as if trying to give homage to a truly great film from his past. Unfortunately, while the connection is seen, it is unrelatable and fails to enhance this film in any way. In fact, it becomes more of a detriment than anything else. Artificial Intelligence thus ways in as only slightly above average, entirely due to the first half of the film, and pales in comparison to Spielberg's true masterpieces. Expand
  76. Nov 6, 2014
    6
    While not the greatest story line, and it does lack in that department it does show you new aspects. It makes you feel angry and sad for robots at the same time during some points in the movie. It has some nice special effects, and I would have to say the ending is the best part, because it's heart wrenching. It's a good movie to watch if you have the time, nothing spectacular but just aWhile not the greatest story line, and it does lack in that department it does show you new aspects. It makes you feel angry and sad for robots at the same time during some points in the movie. It has some nice special effects, and I would have to say the ending is the best part, because it's heart wrenching. It's a good movie to watch if you have the time, nothing spectacular but just a good movie. Expand
  77. RusB.
    Jul 9, 2002
    5
    Spielberg doing Kubrik is like Tarantino doing Spielberg. It was like watching a two hour long twilight zone episode that i felt i had seen before.
  78. RobertP.
    Apr 29, 2002
    5
    This movie would've been much better if Kubrick was still alive to direct it. Spielberg does a fair enough job, but the child-friendly Disney aspects ruin an otherwise dark and intriguing film.
  79. Jan 5, 2011
    5
    I thought it was a very strange film. I saw it when I was very young and I feel like someone was just trying to make another version of ET. It did however tug on the heart strings a bunch. But the end was just weird.
  80. Nov 18, 2012
    5
    Artificial Intelligence is a miscalculation, and we can probably attribute that because it was Stanley Kubrick's unfinished vision.
  81. JayZ.
    Jun 28, 2004
    4
    One of the worst movie endings of all time. A just plain wierd film...
  82. SayleyR.
    May 28, 2002
    4
    The beginning was great and all the actors very talented but it was obvious they couldn't find any good ending and since Speilberg is such a sappy person and they didn't want to make it too long they just brought in aliens to make it all better. It saddens me that such an interesting and great thought was waisted on such an awful storyline, they never tie up the loose strings The beginning was great and all the actors very talented but it was obvious they couldn't find any good ending and since Speilberg is such a sappy person and they didn't want to make it too long they just brought in aliens to make it all better. It saddens me that such an interesting and great thought was waisted on such an awful storyline, they never tie up the loose strings about gigilo and his "father" and Martin it just ends all sappy. Expand
  83. JeffD.
    Apr 20, 2002
    4
    This movie had great potiental, but went nowhere with it. The actors' performances were good, but the plot was lacking. After the first hour the movie became a chore to watch.
  84. ToriD.
    May 16, 2002
    4
    This movie was a huge disappointment. When you hear a name like Steven Spielberg you expect something good, but this was far from it. It was depressing and, in the end, left you wondering why any of the talented people would commit to such a drab movie.
  85. Layne
    Jul 24, 2003
    4
    Without so much as an esscence of reality in the fictious world of Kubrick, the movie proves to be simply a bizarre failure with one of the most ridiculous endings to any film I've ever seen.
  86. RichardE.
    Feb 11, 2005
    4
    A meandering and unfocused film, with a predictable Spielberg epilog tagged on to give the audience something to feel positive about after two hours of miserable emptiness. Yuck.
  87. Feb 24, 2013
    4
    A.I. is quite possibly the strangest and most disturbing movie I've ever seen. The special effects and the teddy bear were cool as hell, but the whole story was just freaking creepy.
  88. May 24, 2013
    4
    Far from being the complete disaster of a movie that some would have you believe A.I certainly gets many things right. The plot, revolving around the ability to produce life-like artificial children, is certainly an interesting concept and the film does on occasions raise some interesting questions The performances, particularly from Hayley Joel Osment (The Sixth Sense), are also veryFar from being the complete disaster of a movie that some would have you believe A.I certainly gets many things right. The plot, revolving around the ability to produce life-like artificial children, is certainly an interesting concept and the film does on occasions raise some interesting questions The performances, particularly from Hayley Joel Osment (The Sixth Sense), are also very good.

    As a result, despite coming across as a little disjointed in places, A.I is a more than passable piece of sci-fi for the much of its running time. Unfortunately many viewers will remember only the apparently rushed and poorly explained ending and the fact that Spielberg has gone online to help clear it up speaks volumes for how it was received.
    Expand
  89. PatC.
    Dec 19, 2003
    3
    What was that all about? I tried to follow it for awhile, but it wore me out.
  90. PatriciaF.
    Aug 27, 2001
    3
    Am I the only one that noticed this film didn't know which way to go, it was like three or four plots pasted together. My husband covered it well as we walked out: "What was the point of that?"
  91. BruceN.
    Aug 13, 2001
    3
    A somewhat disjointed, strange movie typical of Spielberg! It is another example of Spielberg's "spoiled brat" approach to making movies. If you want a nice quiet place to take a nap, go see A.I.
  92. SimonH.
    Jun 9, 2003
    3
    Although the theme of the movie coukld've spwaned a great movie. The movie harshly kills any interest it has. At the start, the movie seems to head somewhere, but after less than half, A.I. loooses its track. The spectator is made to watch a pointless quest, where one already knows the end. The whole thing goes on for two long. It keeps insiting on a hope that doesn't exist. Although the theme of the movie coukld've spwaned a great movie. The movie harshly kills any interest it has. At the start, the movie seems to head somewhere, but after less than half, A.I. loooses its track. The spectator is made to watch a pointless quest, where one already knows the end. The whole thing goes on for two long. It keeps insiting on a hope that doesn't exist. There are various unnessessary scenes which contradict the idea that has been conditioned to you from the start, so in the end, you have a meaningles movie whose ideas do not make sense. Suddenly, science fiction turns into stupidity when ... [spoiler omitted]. In a last though, the movie is sick trying to make one feel sorry about robots. Expand
  93. JCFrancois
    Apr 7, 2002
    3
    Pinocchio meets Dr. Frankenstein in an futuristic excess of cheap sentimentalism that Spielberg didn't even have the decency to keep short.
  94. BobH.
    Aug 19, 2001
    3
    Spectacular yet boring drivel. The audience at Graumann's here in Hollywood was bored; many walked out after the first two hours. Stylistically, the film's direction seems all Spielberg, and that's not so great here. For where Kubrick filled his frames with nuances left for the viewer to discover, rewarding attention and repeated viewings, Spielberg prefers not to trust his Spectacular yet boring drivel. The audience at Graumann's here in Hollywood was bored; many walked out after the first two hours. Stylistically, the film's direction seems all Spielberg, and that's not so great here. For where Kubrick filled his frames with nuances left for the viewer to discover, rewarding attention and repeated viewings, Spielberg prefers not to trust his viewers, instead thrusting what he wants us to see into center frame. This is hardly as rewarding, although most of Spielberg's films are such ripping yarns that this style is entirely appropriate to keep pace with the story. But not here. For all its splendor, the movie has little new to say about the nature of love other than the sheer unique creepiness of treating infantile narcissism as equivalent to genuine love -- whose ultimate validation, even at great cost to the object of the alleged love, is treated as some sort of satisfying, happy ending. Ewwwwwww. Finally, is it possible for Hollywood to make a boy-who-won't-grow-up movie that *doesn't* include Robin Williams (who appears here in voice-over)? Bicentennial Man, Jack, Toys, Hook, Jumanji... Expand
  95. ShaunT.
    Jul 31, 2003
    3
    This is a fairly interesting, though devastatingly depressing film. The cast is good, but the overall mood of the film is so teary that it is near to impossible to enjoy. It is also overly long in its running time and, overall, it is way too depressing for its own good. Almost miserable to watch, although somewhat interesting to watch.
  96. JasonM.
    Jul 28, 2001
    3
    Absolutely shameful. Anyone who likes this film doesn't know shallow from shinola and can scarcely be considered as having a brain.
  97. OlarnS.
    Dec 11, 2001
    2
    Excruciatingly boring and way overlong, posterity will not remember this film, unlike most of Spielberg's other works. The special effects were distracting from the story the film was trying to tell, and in the end this film failed to say anything worthwhile about its central question of what really distinguish man from machine.
  98. JohnM.
    Feb 10, 2002
    2
    Visually pummelling images and a completely-contrived sense of emotion prevent this film from being anything noteworthy. A mess. Grade: D
  99. EdwardR.
    Aug 2, 2009
    1
    I was very young when I watched this film. I don't remember it very well, which makes me happy. I remember that I didn't care about any of the characters, how self-indulgent the film was, and most of all how the film went on, and on, and on, and on. And then on some more. I actually started crying because I was really desperate for the film to end (not because of the I was very young when I watched this film. I don't remember it very well, which makes me happy. I remember that I didn't care about any of the characters, how self-indulgent the film was, and most of all how the film went on, and on, and on, and on. And then on some more. I actually started crying because I was really desperate for the film to end (not because of the 'emotion' of the film, but because I was bored) around where [massive spoiler] the aliens turn up and bring the robot's mother back for a moment or too. Well, I was in tears, shame about my reasons. I gave it a one rather than a zero because there is some good ideas and passable acting, but really, I *hated* this film. It should be locked in a cupboard so it can make love to itself in peace. (I should point out that being a small child at the time, I may not of had the best perspective on the film, though I stand by my opinion stubbornly, because I was a pretty smart kid). Expand
  100. S.Gold
    Dec 21, 2005
    1
    This movie is a bad creepy, boring, overlong, pointless, and weird among other things avoid if you can. Spielberg's worst!
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. 40
    What we're left with -- Kubrick or no -- is a muddled, messy disaster of a film, something that seems more like a drastically edited miniseries, cut down to incomprehensible levels with whole sections missing.
  2. Pure magic, a three-act movie fantasy that transports us -- as the best films do -- to a world of its own, a place of ambiguous joy and delirious terror.
  3. Audiences may find that the deliberate, Kubrickesque pacing -- without his intellectual rigor -- causes them to tune out.