ATL

Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 31, 2006
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 38 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
25
Mixed:
7
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TerriT.Apr 3, 2006
I throughly enjoyed the movie! The newcomer Lauren london is a natural and is drop-dead gorgeous! She is definitely the next Halle berry.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
stasMay 10, 2006
This movie barely carries any value. Simply pointless drama.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
WillC.Jul 8, 2006
ATL has decent acting and whatnot, but god was it boring. Their really wasnt much of a plot or anything interesting at all. It's really not worth your time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PiayonK.Apr 3, 2006
Very good movie my boy Jason Weaver play very well and he also was very funny. T.I. and the rest of the cast members play very well too, good acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnApr 2, 2006
When I heard about this movie, I was expecting a cheap film meant to capitalize on the "success" of Roll Bounce and the critical appeal of Hustle and Flow by aimlessly combining both in a mish-mash of a film. Well, I was pleasantly surprised When I heard about this movie, I was expecting a cheap film meant to capitalize on the "success" of Roll Bounce and the critical appeal of Hustle and Flow by aimlessly combining both in a mish-mash of a film. Well, I was pleasantly surprised by the film ATL. It was a refreshing look at teen life, without devolving into a wise-crack fest or a junior Get Rich or Die Tryin', as many films aimed at African-American youth [along with the hip-hop generation] tend to do. Tip Harris, known to most as T.I., actually has screen prescence, showing a wide range of emotions and not falling into the same cliche that most rapper/actors [with the exceptions of LL Cool J, Will Smith, and now, Chris "Ludacris" Bridges] fall into: acting how people want them to act, and not acting as the film desires them to. Harris also adds dashes of bravado needed in his role as Rashad, the main character. Evan Ross, another newcomer, has the whole idea of naivety, insecurity and cockiness downpack. Heck, I would've cast him in Bow Wow's role in Roll Bounce. He seems believable as Ant, Rashad's younger brother, who wants quick money, like most teens, and decides to get involved in "grown man's business". The romances between the characters, while crucial to the advancement of the story, don't seem tacked on and actually begin to take on a life of their own, as does the skating rink. My only gripe with this film? That would be the ending. While it is conclusive, unlike Hustle and Flow, it seems just a bit cliche. To say the least, everything works out by the end. But, for a first outing, Chris Robinson, the director and a Marylander, has shown that he does have the skills to manage such an inventive film with so many different plotlines going on simultaneously, and does it well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlishaApr 5, 2006
I was surprised how good it was. But what I don't get about some critics and viewers is the preception of this being another "rap" movie, just because the cast is black, has two rappers, and a skating rink is involved. There are only I was surprised how good it was. But what I don't get about some critics and viewers is the preception of this being another "rap" movie, just because the cast is black, has two rappers, and a skating rink is involved. There are only two rappers in the movie and they act their part well (Nothing to with rapping throughout the movie). People need to give this movie a chance and not jump to conclusions so quickly. Read what it's about before you think it's another "Get Rich or Die Tryin" movie. And don't go expecting a "Juice" or "Boys in the Hood" or "Roll Bounce" because its a different movie, different director, different title, different cast. ATL has something special about it that makes it stand out and to know what that special something is you have to see the movie and with an open mind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RobMay 7, 2006
This movie was the worst movie i ever saw if i ever wanted to see a worse movie, i couldnt. if you enjoyed this movie your just as bad as the writers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlC.Jul 21, 2006
I enjoyed this movie a lot. Im surprised when I hear people say "wow, these rappers can really act!", when in fact the majority of mainstream actors are acting 24/7. Anyway, fun movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JenayM.Aug 6, 2006
Well the movie overall was up beat and captivating!!I enjoyed it all the way though except for the ending! maybe im a bit too inquizzitive buy i just like to know more and to digg deeper into people's lives but they could have told a Well the movie overall was up beat and captivating!!I enjoyed it all the way though except for the ending! maybe im a bit too inquizzitive buy i just like to know more and to digg deeper into people's lives but they could have told a little bit more. But like i said over all it was a great summer flick-teen movie!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RyanS.Apr 13, 2006
The acting was horrible and the story line had no good plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RyanD.Apr 17, 2006
"This movie reminds us that it's cool to be black", "how great it is to be a BLACK teen". Because every other movie reminds us that it's cool to be white... You're both race-obsorbed idiots, and I bet this movie is a "This movie reminds us that it's cool to be black", "how great it is to be a BLACK teen". Because every other movie reminds us that it's cool to be white... You're both race-obsorbed idiots, and I bet this movie is a race-obsorbed movie- all about skin color, and not at all about substance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JamesB.Apr 18, 2006
My mini-review only covers the first 50-or-so minutes since I walked out. This movie was trying to be different things to different people, I guess; but it was a just stinker. The good reviews got me there--the lack of plot got to leave early.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TedW.Apr 9, 2006
This movie reminds us that its cool to be black.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MartinS.Aug 27, 2006
Nothing new or enlightening. There seems to be a recurring themes in these comming of age movies. Apparently the skating rink is the place to be. I must have missed out on that part of childhood.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BENT.Mar 25, 2007
I think this is a postive movie. It did not show blacks as poor trashy things that hollywood loves to eat up. ATL reflected the live of blacks that are trying to better themselves. You will have good and bad in a community and they looked at I think this is a postive movie. It did not show blacks as poor trashy things that hollywood loves to eat up. ATL reflected the live of blacks that are trying to better themselves. You will have good and bad in a community and they looked at it light heartly. I think it was a cute movie that did not get good advertisment or credit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CiairaMay 17, 2007
I love this movie...I Love T.i. so thats half the point!! but this movie is about aloota stuff but it all make sense in a way tho.but my favorite part is when uncle george is yelling at ant cus he's all like "boy you ain't get no I love this movie...I Love T.i. so thats half the point!! but this movie is about aloota stuff but it all make sense in a way tho.but my favorite part is when uncle george is yelling at ant cus he's all like "boy you ain't get no cutty last night...whitcho scrony ass" hahah cracks me up everytime i see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SpongeeeApr 22, 2006
Consistantly inconsistant. TI hits one flat note the whole movie. And the writing...I think we laughed at them not with them. South West Atlanta is a great part of Atlanta, but this movie did no justice to it...Not enough Big Boi (who should Consistantly inconsistant. TI hits one flat note the whole movie. And the writing...I think we laughed at them not with them. South West Atlanta is a great part of Atlanta, but this movie did no justice to it...Not enough Big Boi (who should shine in Idlewild), not enough Jackie Long (Esquire)...the soundtrack was bumpin tho...figures for a Chris Robinson project. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaolaC.Apr 23, 2006
I think that ATL was a good movie,it shows alot of examples.I wa supprise when T.I. was playing the good one in the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
garciatheeclectMay 27, 2012
Full of mellow drama and overacting, with internal conflicts that never really connect with the audience, this movie is basically modern blaxploitation. The dialouge isn't as corny as you would expect, and all of the actors except for T.I.Full of mellow drama and overacting, with internal conflicts that never really connect with the audience, this movie is basically modern blaxploitation. The dialouge isn't as corny as you would expect, and all of the actors except for T.I. did decently. However, this movie does, by any definition suck. ATL is a sad attempt to harken back to the classic urban movies, such as Menace II Society, Boyz N the Hood, and Juice; but with a twist of setting it in Atlanta. There are some funny moments, Lauren London is pretty hot, but T.I. can't really act well, and the plot isn't very good either. It's not the most terrible movie in the world, and it is possible for some people to sit through the whole thing, but even people in the neighborhood where the movie takes place probably wouldn't even watch it twice. Plus, on top of that, the drama is pointless. It leads nowhere. You never really get invested in the characters and, unlike other hood movies, the moral doesn't matter. They supposedly "grow up" but you don't feel like they actually did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews