Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: June 8, 2001
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 114 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
79
Mixed:
27
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
billrullerMay 12, 2012
I'm very surprised that this movie was hated critically and publicly. I saw this when I was about 10, and I thought it was incredible. I mean, it's not the best Disney film but it's not bad at all. The animation, you gotta admit is very cool.I'm very surprised that this movie was hated critically and publicly. I saw this when I was about 10, and I thought it was incredible. I mean, it's not the best Disney film but it's not bad at all. The animation, you gotta admit is very cool. I guess little kids found this movie boring and dark, I was getting older and started to watch serious stuff. This movie did kinda felt a little bit like a grown up movie like "Fantasia", but I loved it. This was probably what Disney wanted to try something new, and sadly it didn't work. But it did work for me, and I enjoyed watching it every time. But come on, when you put this next to something like "Home on the Range", you would wanna watch "Atlantis: The Lost Empire" instead. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
RandomGJul 28, 2009
Excellent effects, voice acting, music, humor, and plot make this in my opinion the best movie to come from Disney yet.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
7
grandpajoe6191Oct 5, 2011
"Atlantis: The Lost Empire" is a great summer blockbuster animation that will keep you entertained for the rest of your time watching it.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
BenMMay 27, 2009
I never paid much attention to this movie to begin with, it seemed like yet another Disney flick that didn't quite make it. But I decided to watch it after reading a bit more on it and finding out that it didn't have singing, which I never paid much attention to this movie to begin with, it seemed like yet another Disney flick that didn't quite make it. But I decided to watch it after reading a bit more on it and finding out that it didn't have singing, which I grew out of long ago. I loved this film! I think that one of the reasons the film didn't to too well was that it may have been a bit on the mature side and not appeal to young children, but the people who would've enjoyed it the most were out of the target demographic and didn't bother because they assumed it was a typical Disney children's film like I did. The film is short, only one and a half hours but it manages to pack in a solid adventure, great visuals and a wonderful musical score. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
GuySAug 24, 2008
I cannot believe that respected reviewers graded such a movie so poorly. It leads me to believe that they simply stamped it with a "mediocre" label and didn't seriously watch it because it wasn't like Disney's other cartoons I cannot believe that respected reviewers graded such a movie so poorly. It leads me to believe that they simply stamped it with a "mediocre" label and didn't seriously watch it because it wasn't like Disney's other cartoons by comparison. The fantasy elements I thought were exceptional, and the story, admittedly is abrupt, has at least more creativity and originality in it than carbon copying and sugar coating old "brothers grimm" tales. It is grossly under-appreciated simply because of its more serious nature. In a time where Disney is making movies with serious elements like Pirates of the Caribbean, you'd think Atlantis would at least do more than collect dust by now. It is funny how a decade ago Disney's seriously oriented movies were never famous, and now their most famous franchises aren't even cartoons anymore. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MovieLonely94Oct 23, 2010
the critics are just being ignorant. this movie was brilliant. though, it has no talking animals, it has adventure, suspense, and romance as well as other disney movies. so, to those who like this are really guided to their opinion.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
speno93Feb 4, 2011
a thoroughly enjoyable, engrossing , funny disney film, can't really understand most of the critics hate for it but it was cool. The comic book artstyle was beautiful, voice acting was brilliant and a round all entertaining movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
CubixreviewsMay 20, 2012
This movie is one of the most underrated movie I've ever seen. It is funny and exiting. I don't know how people can't like it. It haves a great plot, fantastic characters and some funny, great moments. Just, buy it and you will enjoy it,This movie is one of the most underrated movie I've ever seen. It is funny and exiting. I don't know how people can't like it. It haves a great plot, fantastic characters and some funny, great moments. Just, buy it and you will enjoy it, because Atlantis is one of the best Disney animated film, since Lion King. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Rox22Mar 15, 2013
One of my favorite Disney movies. It has everything I look for in a Disney movie. Adventure, romance, action, comedy, and above all else, excellent hand drawn visuals. One drawback is perhaps that most of the side character really don't getOne of my favorite Disney movies. It has everything I look for in a Disney movie. Adventure, romance, action, comedy, and above all else, excellent hand drawn visuals. One drawback is perhaps that most of the side character really don't get enough development as they are clearly well thought out and well voiced. Overall: One of Disneys classics in my opinion. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Goose0616Jan 26, 2014
This is one of the most underrated Disney movies... even by Disney... Take a look around the park and tell me how many Atlantis items you see the next time you go. I will save you the trip little if any. I had always enjoyed this movieThis is one of the most underrated Disney movies... even by Disney... Take a look around the park and tell me how many Atlantis items you see the next time you go. I will save you the trip little if any. I had always enjoyed this movie and it is a shame how poorly it was treated by Disney. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JohnStewartApr 9, 2016
This is one of the most underrated animated movies , them critics are retarded af saying that this movie was **** when it was a masterpiece . it had a good 2D CGI animation , likable characters , humor its a very dark yet lighthearted sci-fiThis is one of the most underrated animated movies , them critics are retarded af saying that this movie was **** when it was a masterpiece . it had a good 2D CGI animation , likable characters , humor its a very dark yet lighthearted sci-fi archaeology adventure type of movie . Def recommended for u to watch Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JudddyApr 22, 2011
'Atlantis' peaks the list of most underrated animated films of all time. Exciting, adventurous and intriguingly mysterious, it features non-stop entertainment, and some energetic and creative characters.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
DrNegativeAug 27, 2011
A good all around action-adventure flick with a little romance on the side. I salute Disney's attempt at trying something different, in spite of the critics longing for another musical at the time. Highly recommend.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
cub317Sep 14, 2011
Atlantis the Lost Empire is one of the most underrated animated Disney movies of all time. The only real problem was that it was confusing from time to time. Other than that, it's a great movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMar 31, 2015
Atlantis has some comic scenes that made me laugh. Other scenes made me sad. And others made me glad. It is a movie any age can enjoy. It was an excellent rendition of an ancient myth. The animation was somewhat odd, but nothing new fromAtlantis has some comic scenes that made me laugh. Other scenes made me sad. And others made me glad. It is a movie any age can enjoy. It was an excellent rendition of an ancient myth. The animation was somewhat odd, but nothing new from Disney. It was definitely better than expected for a Disney movie with no singing. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
SeamoreB.Sep 4, 2001
This movie was pretty well done. I think they could have added a little more, but other movies (pokemon comes to mind) are really lacking. This movie is good compared to some other stuff I've recently seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronD.Oct 4, 2006
The movie is more teen related, yet I thought it was one of the best movies I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelC.Sep 21, 2001
Disney has indeed released a flock of good movies recently. Dinosaur, The Emperor?s New Groove and now Atlantis: The Lost Empire have all been fantastic...I was indeed blown away by this film. The visuals are some of the best in any cartoon; Disney has indeed released a flock of good movies recently. Dinosaur, The Emperor?s New Groove and now Atlantis: The Lost Empire have all been fantastic...I was indeed blown away by this film. The visuals are some of the best in any cartoon; the zoom-back scenes are particularly eye-catching. The script and story are surprisingly intelligent and well explained. The script especially brings out the adventure in the film with humour, suspense and intrigue. I enjoyed the film?s many ideas and thought the direction and animation were both very focused. One scene I particularly liked in this movie was the one where all the characters are about to bunk and they look back on one another?s history. It develops these characters and brings them to life. However, I would?ve liked to have heard the story of the hilarious Mole, but it never came up. I think children will not enjoy this movie as much as adults will. They may not be able to understand the ending very well but adults will no doubt love this movie. It is a lot more complex than some of the recent animated movies and a lot more likeable, but it still doesn?t surpass the 2nd best movie of the year so far, Shrek. But I?ll tell you this, it definitely isn?t far behind. All in all, this animated adventure was stunning and well made with a mysterious story and a wonderfully passionate, romantic, humorous and action-packed story. Highly recommended! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LandFApr 19, 2012
I just don't understand all the bad reviews for this film. Atlantis- The Lost Empire is another wonderful Disney film. Atlantis- The Lost Empire doesn't really break a whole lot of new ground, but it's an exceptionally entertaining animatedI just don't understand all the bad reviews for this film. Atlantis- The Lost Empire is another wonderful Disney film. Atlantis- The Lost Empire doesn't really break a whole lot of new ground, but it's an exceptionally entertaining animated film. The film is about Milo Thatch, a young professor that no one takes seriously who is in search of Atlantis. Once again, Milo's funding proposition is turned down. But all that changes when he's given a package from his long deceased grandfather, and given proper funding by a associate of his. Now Milo goes in search of Atlantis with a crew of colorful characters. The characters are hilarious, to be vague. Dirt experts, explosive enthusiasts, and grease-loving chefs make up a small part of a large and amusing cast. And the voice cast only adds depth to these characters. There are also plenty of genius one liners. The animation boasts impressive visual effects, but there are a lot of flat backgrounds. The score is generally impressive as well. The climatic battle isn't incredible, and it won't raise your pulse, but it's certainly entertaining, and I've seen a lot of action movies with considerably worse final battles than this. Atlantis- The Lost Empire provides a funny and adventurous film that will surely entertain kids and parents alike. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
McgillacuddyOct 28, 2016
I think critics were way too harsh on this film. As a matter of fact, they weren't just harsh, but simply blatant as they bias the film based on how violent it was compared to usual Disney fare, thinking that Disney is just for kids andI think critics were way too harsh on this film. As a matter of fact, they weren't just harsh, but simply blatant as they bias the film based on how violent it was compared to usual Disney fare, thinking that Disney is just for kids and should always stay that way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
yourzsAug 8, 2014
A horribly underrated film that challenges gender roles, the overdone fantasy genre of nearly every Disney animation, and the notion that children can only enjoy cutesy, shallow stories. The characters are quirky without being obnoxious, andA horribly underrated film that challenges gender roles, the overdone fantasy genre of nearly every Disney animation, and the notion that children can only enjoy cutesy, shallow stories. The characters are quirky without being obnoxious, and although the side characters don't get too much development, I don't feel they need it. You get the gist of their personalities right off the bat, and they never gave off the impression of being flat, or static. The animation is gorgeous and expressive, with exciting action scenes, beautiful, detailed backgrounds, and fun, unique character design.

The entire movie came off as progressive, and open-minded, something I value in a Disney movie, and something that the newer films very clearly lack. Why continue adding to the pool of cute, feminine, thin, white girls and handsome, strong, white, and manly young men when you can have strong, curvy girls of color, and dorky, lanky, awkward (although no less brave and passionate) men?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
simpsonsquireSep 1, 2014
THIS MOVIE WAS JUST GREAT TO ME! I don't know why but this movie seems to get attention alot especially with the giant rusty barless A that shows up on posters and some previews where it gets struck by lightning in the middle of the oceanTHIS MOVIE WAS JUST GREAT TO ME! I don't know why but this movie seems to get attention alot especially with the giant rusty barless A that shows up on posters and some previews where it gets struck by lightning in the middle of the ocean during raging weather, and when it's on a rusty gate with writings on the wall, and water ripple lightings.
The idea of the seastorms are really cool especially on the poster,viking prologue, and the beginning of the movie.The lightning mechanics were well done in the movie.
The character development for Milo Thatch was GENIUS. Michael J. Fox did outstanding with his voice. It suited his personality traits so well.I can never get enough of him.
Milo and Kida are my favorite Disney couples PERIOD.
Blue is my favorite color and this happens to have alot of blue on it.
The fact that this movie was the very first Disney animated sci-fi movie to come out on June 15th a very interesting day to release a movie, made me wanna try and see it..And yet i'm really happy I did.
Atlantis may not be may favorite Disney score but James Newton Howard made the music fit so well with the movie itself. Turning it normal life/epic Treasure Planet like music into Deuter like soundscapes music.I love Disney movies without songs.
It's really interesting how they relate other B.C cultures and history to Atlantis and also when they used Plato's quote. I like it's action violence and also it's references like 2012, Day After Tommorow, Avatar, Battleship, and Tron. 2012 and Day After Tommorow because the natural disasters in the beginning.
Avatar because of it's plot, Battleship because of the sci-fi technology and the leviathan scene, and Tron because of it's crystalized circuits on the statues and artistic cracks especially the stone effigies chanting around the Heart of Atlantis. Atlantis was a great Disney movie and it really deserves alot of recognition, love, and gratitude. All thanks to the stupid box-office intake, Atlantis remains a *LOST*, underrated Disney movie along with the other Disney flops. But I'm really happy that this movie was even created and I'm happy that I, my friends on deviantART, some of my subscriptions on YouTube, and other random fans can see the good in it to this very day on 2014. Don Hahn, Gary Trousdale, Kirk Wise, and James Newton Howard, you have made this awesome animated sci-fi movie possible for the first time.( IT REALLY SUCKS THAT I DIDN'T GET A CHANGE TO WALK THE BLUE CARPET.)I give this 10 out of 10. Even if the world was disappointed with this film including the box-office, technicality you guys have donea bang-up job and I'am very very proud that this film was even made. Long Live Λ T L Λ N T I S.;-D
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
russiangamerMar 13, 2017
Рисовка нормальная. Местами выглядит очень даже красиво. Сюжет интересный, есть атмосфера приключения. Экшен довольно бодрый. Юмор детский, я особо не смеялся. Неплохой приключенческий мультфильм, можно посмотреть вечерком.Рисовка нормальная. Местами выглядит очень даже красиво. Сюжет интересный, есть атмосфера приключения. Экшен довольно бодрый. Юмор детский, я особо не смеялся. Неплохой приключенческий мультфильм, можно посмотреть вечерком.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
The_hamurMay 4, 2015
Overlooked by the simple fact that this is not a kids movie, it's a teens/YA movie. Most of it is not wacky comedy or zingers, but a serious movie that wants to be taken seriously with some comedy breaks. And the animation...! For me, is theOverlooked by the simple fact that this is not a kids movie, it's a teens/YA movie. Most of it is not wacky comedy or zingers, but a serious movie that wants to be taken seriously with some comedy breaks. And the animation...! For me, is the best in WDAS. This movie's looks are like: Disney got jealous from Anastasia, decided to mix it with a comic book and gave it a good script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeJan 17, 2016
I don't get all the hate on this. (Ok, sure... there's like 9 from the users plus 4 more from the critics, but the hard reviews from the users though). If you want to know such a bad movie, I'll take you there by going to my profile. For now,I don't get all the hate on this. (Ok, sure... there's like 9 from the users plus 4 more from the critics, but the hard reviews from the users though). If you want to know such a bad movie, I'll take you there by going to my profile. For now, there's no valid reason unless your opinion is.. well... an opinion. The animation is well done though you got to admit it. If you want to go rot an opinion on, I suggest go for my 0's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sjultiDec 7, 2016
Atlantis The Lost Empire is a great animated film much better than the second one the only bad thing about it is that it does drag on a bit at the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CalandriaJul 31, 2016
It's wonderful. I can' t understand how it cans be a forgotten film, the story is a 10, the characters a 10 too, but the worst is that there is a princess and almost Disney film' with princess are success, it's truth that the aftermath isIt's wonderful. I can' t understand how it cans be a forgotten film, the story is a 10, the characters a 10 too, but the worst is that there is a princess and almost Disney film' with princess are success, it's truth that the aftermath is Cancer,but i recommend to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews