Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 11 out of 19
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Apr 16, 2011
    50
    As a cinematic effort, Atlas Shrugged: Part I is competent; in service to Ayn Rand's epic novel, it's less so.
  2. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Apr 15, 2011
    50
    Speechy and preachy and just a teeny-weeny bit naughty.
  3. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Apr 14, 2011
    50
    The story, a dystopian tale with heroes and villains and lots of triumphs and reversals, is so busy and so inherently interesting that the movie is entertaining until the finish - or the sort of finish. As only the first part of the story, Atlas Shrugged doesn't end, it stops.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Miller
    Apr 21, 2011
    40
    The book proves proudly indigestible on film.
  5. Reviewed by: Ben Kenigsberg
    Apr 12, 2011
    40
    Campy but never dull, this first of three installments ends on a fiery cliffhanger. The completion of parts two and three would represent a victory for irrationality.
  6. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Apr 10, 2011
    40
    The central battle between fearsomely independent corporate mavericks and hostile big government has been updated in a half-baked, unconvincing way that's exacerbated by button-pushing TV-style direction, threadbare production values and blah performances except for that of Taylor Schilling in the central role.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Apr 10, 2011
    40
    Part one of a trilogy that may never see completion, this hasty, low-budget adaptation would have Ayn Rand spinning in her grave, considering how it violates the author's philosophy by allowing opportunists to exploit another's creative achievement -- in this case, hers.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 67
  2. Negative: 24 out of 67
  1. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    This film is a testament to those who are struggling to freely exist within this corrosive society of government/corporate alliance which canThis film is a testament to those who are struggling to freely exist within this corrosive society of government/corporate alliance which can only lead to the eradication of individual rights. The film does the best it can with so many philosophical ideas to address; but instead just focuses on the storytelling to further the plot. Fans of the nanny state will no doubt dislike it; but those who "smell a rat" and understand that this is not the way for human beings to live will see it for the greatness in all of us that is presented. Full Review »
  2. Apr 15, 2011
    5
    Jehkul, I'm gonna say this in as few words as possible: No.

    If this movie were about World War 2, it would be bad. If this movie were
    Jehkul, I'm gonna say this in as few words as possible: No.

    If this movie were about World War 2, it would be bad.
    If this movie were about the moon landings, it would be bad.
    If this movie were about the life of Moses, it would be bad.
    If this movie were an adaptation of any other piece of literature from any other time or place, it would be bad.

    That's at least what the critics are saying, especially Roger Ebert's review. Never mind the political ideology, this movie is so bad that the philosophical underpinnings are irrelevant and don't need to be brought up to give this movie a negative review.

    The irony is that this movie is a perfect exercise of self appraisal, as a critic does not need to ask what he is she is contributing: they are all saying "don't waste money on cinematic crap" and frankly that is a good service to society by telling them to go see something else. I appreciate that contribution to society, and anyone else who says otherwise probably takes such things for granted or are just being obtuse for the sake of salvaging their own beliefs.

    If you want to talk about institutional bias, rating a movie a 10 because of its message is pretty high on the list of examples, especially when you admit it doesn't deserve that rating.

    Don't care about personally rating this movie, but I have to, so I'm gonna say 5 to be neutral.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    Excellent! It's funny, I typically use the user reviews to determine whether a movie is good or not. The 'critics' reviews are mostly well-offExcellent! It's funny, I typically use the user reviews to determine whether a movie is good or not. The 'critics' reviews are mostly well-off for my tastes. I appreciate a good movie, with a good message that gets the movie snobs out of their comfort zones. Bravo. Well done! Full Review »