User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 99
  2. Negative: 38 out of 99

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    This film is a testament to those who are struggling to freely exist within this corrosive society of government/corporate alliance which can only lead to the eradication of individual rights. The film does the best it can with so many philosophical ideas to address; but instead just focuses on the storytelling to further the plot. Fans of the nanny state will no doubt dislike it; but those who "smell a rat" and understand that this is not the way for human beings to live will see it for the greatness in all of us that is presented. Expand
  2. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    Excellent! It's funny, I typically use the user reviews to determine whether a movie is good or not. The 'critics' reviews are mostly well-off for my tastes. I appreciate a good movie, with a good message that gets the movie snobs out of their comfort zones. Bravo. Well done!
  3. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    So there are a few considerations to be taken into account with this movie and the negative reviews. First is that the amateurish cgi is directly linked to the paltry budget and hurried schedule. While rushing a film is not forgivable, not having a tremendous budget is. Second, Mardson should have been a smarmier, indeed uglier actor to further enhance his integral role as insidious villain. And third, and perhaps the most obvious, is that professional reviewers are not only afraid of liking this film for fear of inter-office, or internet, dejection, but they are themselves part of the problem the movie seeks to draw light upon. Proprietors of a valueless commodity, opinion journalism, have an easy position with which to hate doers and claim the moral imperative. This movie forces people to ask themselves... What do I actually contribute? Movie reviewers would naturally slink away from such an honest self-appraisal.

    Not a ten, but I will rate it a ten to offset the institutional slant.
    Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2011
    10
    Loved, loved, LOVED that Mouch was played by an actor who looks just like Barney Frank! How appropriate, and what is funnier (sadder) is that people like Barney Frank would most likely watch this movie and not have any idea what was wrong with the bad guys. Honestly, this movie is great. As a gimme to those who either do not have the time or inclination to pick up Ayn's book, this works just fine. And besides some slight flaws (the transition to the whole motor-hunt was abrupt in the book as well) they did a great job with meager funds. Oh, and for the the critics who have blasted this effort as horrible, there is a nice little montage in the film regarding media bias just for you. The Washington Post's review is especially funny ... Funny since readership has gone down and the newspaper industry has sought government largess to remain afloat - don't take too kindly to Ayn calling you out as a philosophical enemy to the human spirit do you? This movie is great - go see it - and support movies that refuse to bow to political correctness. Expand
  5. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    Check out the hostile, uncomprehending "reviews." Ayn Rand's summa - the novel Atlas Shrugged - faced a viciously hostile media, only to sell more afterwards. Anyone want top bet against history repeating itself - AGAIN? Of course it will. As the Arab Uprising shows, people hunger for freedom. See it - learn it - live it. Our forefathathers did, and so can YOU!
  6. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    What a breath of fresh air. The acting is well done and the writing is smart considering that Hollywood was biased against letting anything Ms Rand did get out to the public. I would take any critical review with a grain of salt. They are also biased.
  7. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    I saw the movie today....read the book years ago. I like that it has no major celebrities but great actors who were believable. The movie follows the book closely which I was also pleased with , but of course in a modern setting. I highly recommend to all Fans and people who are trying to understand the current divide in this country between tea party, republican and democrats. Ayn Rand was a great visionary who could see what was coming down the line....incredible that she nailed it so many years in advance. Expand
  8. DC5
    Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Great film considering the low budget, extreme limited time to produce it. Ayn Rand's message comes through and the film leaves you wanting for more. I enjoyed it more the second time. It's worth seeing twice.
  9. Apr 16, 2011
    9
    While I would definitely give the film a 10+ for its brilliant anti-collectivist philosophy, the film still has a few too many flaws to give it an overall ten. That being said, the GOOD: Brilliant casting, good adaptation, fast paced, good update from a mid-20th century novel to a modern era film. Great villains (meaning: the bureaucrats, leftist politicians and their self-loathing enablers). Strong distinction between the makers and the takers. Atlas-1 does a commendable job of showing the despicable motivations of the leeches, liars, loafers and looters, and the thieves and thugs they embrace. Each villain is more hateful than the next. Ms. Wisocky is great as Lillian Rearden, and the two Rearden Metal bracelet scenes (the gift and the swap) were perfectly done. Sharp dialogue. Taylor Schilling as Dagny. Now, for the BAD: an inadequate budget given the material that needed to be portrayed. Nonetheless, the movie was highly enjoyable until the last five minutes. That segment needs work desperately, and a rewrite and reshoot. Other than that, I think even Ayn Rand would approve. The Schumers, Obamas, Kennedys, Reids, Pelosis and their statist ilk have been thoroughly exposed. The villains in Atlas hate the good for being good. As for the so-called 'professional' reviewers, Roger Ebert and Peter Travers are obviously clueless about the ethics of individualism and are fans of statist big government. They seem to be as morally and emotionally bankrupt as Gail Wynand was in The Fountainhead. Expand
  10. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    This movie is better than the reviews would leave you to believe. The problem is it upsets both people who love the book or hate the book and you are seeing that play out in both sides of the reviews. The acting and visuals were both better than expected and the only thing i wanted more of was engaging conversation, most of which in the film was terse and cut and paste.
  11. Apr 16, 2011
    9
    I think it speaks volumes that the negative reviews, both from Critics and Users, start something like I hate Rand but I wanted to look at the movie objectively. They then go on to talk about how the movie, in their view, is about failed ideas and out of date thinking. People have forgotten that a movie does not have to have 10 thousand explosions and cast of animated rodents in it to be worth seeing. I think it is nice that finally there is a movie out that is not a remake of a 1970's TV show starring the latest American Idol winner, but then again I am not part of making America the winner in the race to the bottom that seems to be what we deem as a standard today. Expand
  12. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    A difficult undertaking to produce a film with as many ardent supporters as detractors. I thought it was brilliant. So well did it follow the intent of the book if not the exact chronology. This story belongs to everyone; it's not the bible of the Tea Party nor does it need to be the anathema of the the "left". It is right down the middle. Hank Reardon said it best "these people rely on me". There are those that are strong and the others. The important message is as my mother taught me "if you're going to be a garbage man, be the best damn garbage man you can". Expand
  13. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    I went into this movie expecting an HBO special quality production. Or maybe a really good showtime one...

    I instead was given somewhere in between a HBO special and Quality major Hollywood production!

    If you have ever read Atlas Shrugged and wonder if anyone could pull off doing a faithful adaption of the film look no further! While shorter then I would like (1h-42m) and at times the
    acting and scenes seem a bit rushed the film succeeds at hitting key points in the book and tossing accurate, if somewhat altered, quotes from the book into the mix which helps to push the themes and plot in this chapter.

    The strong rumble of a train often proceeds or ends a scene and the music which follows compliments the texture of each perfectly, often giving you a sense of achievement and purpose in a world which has seemingly gone to hell. The CGI which is used for most of the long train scene and for a few shots of factories was done by "Stargate Studios" who also does the CGI for the TV series..."Stargate". I always liked the show and I think they REALLY kicked it up and notch and did a great job for what was probably a small budget. GREAT JOB guys! The acting, for its price, is glorious! Taylor shilling plays a strong and determined railroad executive who seems to have a passion for what she loves in life while still pursuing other things that she values. They definitely center the plot on her and in every scene her beauty shines bright as she stands up for her passions and interest against purposefully ugly men and women determined to make her their victim.

    Grant Bowler who plays Hank Reardan must have practiced being his character for most of his life. You get the sense that he loves his work life but cannot comprehend why he receives no joy or happiness, not even a slight grin, from his family and home who seems to value. He pulls off confident, physically and mentally powerful property owner like a champ! Fansisco D'Anaconia played by Jsu Garcia doesn't bring the presence I would prefer for the character but does a job which is respectable. I really hope he can get the all important lines off in the next installment, otherwise his character was somewhat minimalism in this chapter. I think we will see MUCH more in P2, I look forward to his "Money speech"! (which people keep thinking was during Lillian wedding anniversary, its not, its during J. Taggarts wedding party!).

    Ellis Wyatt: While I always pictured him as younger Graham Beckel pulls this character off GREAT! Most people I spoke with have been drawn to his acting as some of the best besides maybe Rebecca Wisocky who played Lillian R. He makes you believe that Wyatt is a grumpy Oil tycoon who loves life and only desires to be let alone and to his own devices all while getting a "fatherly" feel from him. Definitely keep close attention on his scenes as they are well performed!

    I could go on about the cast, Rebecca Wisocky was amazing, she played the perfect cold hearted **** one could hope for, she should get some kind of award! Edi Gathegi who played Eddie willers did a great job and I look forward to maybe seeing him discuss some things with a "shadowy character" in future chapters! I can't say I didn't like any actors in this movie; They all did a wonderful job and look forward with horrible anticipation to seeing them all again on April 15, 2012!
    -----


    Now, please...This is not the book which is a certified classic but if you enjoyed that, AT ALL, you will very likely enjoy this. Ayn Rands philosophy is not for everyone (it is for me, I am and have been for 10 years an Objectivist), but the themes and Ideas (which Atlas Shrugged was entirely about) are timeless and will always be relevant. Sure transportation methods become obsolete and energy sources change but promoting to men and women that they ought to live life, act according to their own faculty of reason, not sacrifice for others but reward those whom you value and to not attempt to substitute your whim for what reality provides cannot change. It is in mans nature to seek happiness if he is rational, to desire a productive life if he is consistent and to live amongst each other WITHOUT force if he wants to realize all of this. I highly recommend the book over the movie but don't pass this up, it is a great adaption which is absolutely worth seeing and which will satisfy anyone who can even remotely relate to what I previously wrote.

    When your done look for an Objectivist club in your area. I run one with my brother and have now made lifelong friends who only make my life happier, I am a better person for this. The philosophy she developed doesn't stop in her fiction, she worked for years with many friends clearly stating what it was in easily read philosophic books which are great reading, its fun and will only help you appreciate life more, trust me, real Objectivists do not lie.
    Expand
  14. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    When the dust settles and IF the politics can be pushed to the side, then I think intelligent film reviewers will be able to discuss this film in terms of cinematic effort. I also think that in time - this movie will be closely studied by the film community in terms of how guerrilla film making CAN work. There is no denying that many theaters were SOLD OUT to the premier on Friday night. Now - there were many options available (Hop, Scream 4, etc etc)...but - a film about Capitalism pulled viewers and their $$ in - to see what was essentially a long board-room meeting. Liberals take note: you also have the ability to take Mein Kampf, or the Communist Manifesto - or hell - even "The Audacity of Hope" and turn it into a movie that will make a quick profit. Atlas Shrugged Part 1 was a perfect example of how editing, efficient CGI and low-key (yet fierce) talent can turn what should have been a DOA effort into something that registers in the realm of greatness. Like all great business ventures, Atlas Shrugged Part 1 was efficient, stream lined and developed in terms of maximum viewers (thus profit). Let some time pass...let the intelligentsia move onto more important enemies (Transformers 3??) - those of us in the know - know that this will be one of the most important films made regardless of what side of the fence you are on. Expand
  15. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    Hostility rampant in most of the reviews I've read about this. I personally loved it! Nope, never read the book, though many of my friends have. After seeing the movie this weekend, I feel the need to actually go out this week and buy a copy. The acting was superb, the photography likewise. CGI...well, this was made on a budget, and it looked a little hokey. Hopefully will get better in the next one. I agree that the language was somewhat stifling, but when taken in context, it was ok. I thoroughly enjoyed Fountainhead....and BOY was it true to the dialogue of the book. In this case, they took some liberties I'm sure, but according to the interviews with Ayn Rand that I've seen, kept her philosophy intact. ie..the guy who works hard, sometimes comes out on top. The entitlement mentality will ever work to stifle individual creativity. Looking forward to parts 2 and 3! Expand
  16. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    People have been critical of the acting in this movie. The acting in this movie is no worse than anything else currently on the market. Black Swan had more cardboard characters and unlike Black Swan, at least these actors are saying something that is believable (and relevant). The main problem people have with this movie is that they have been listening to one side of a story for so long that they have forgotten there is another. Atlas Shrugged portrays frank truths of our economic system, and shows how it has failed us. Many of the predictions made by Ayn Rand have come true, and it bothers people of a certain persuasion. It is refreshing to see a movie that interprets the book in such a refreshing way. For those that can stow their critical and biased opinions, it is a powerful movie with a persuasive message. Expand
  17. Apr 16, 2011
    9
    "Who's the idiot responsible for this fiasco? You can't blame the Tea Party, an organization of 9 million that the film's producers are exploiting to get butts into seats. There's an object lesson in objectivism for you." ...Peter Travers-Rolling Stone.
    Thank you Peter...I can now add you to the list of critics that I will use to determine whether or not I go see a movie...That was NOT a
    compliment to you...I am surprised you didn't blame George W. for YOUR unhappiness with the film...For me-Good book?...Yes...Good idea?...Yes...Good acting?...On average, yes...Looking forward to Part II?...Yes...
    And Peter...Keep your liberal movie critiques coming so I can determine ahead of time which movies to spend my Tea Party/Capitalistic world view dollars on...
    Expand
  18. Apr 16, 2011
    9
    Finally, at 7:35 Friday evening, I situated myself in a crowded Charlotte theater with popcorn and a coke, prepared to beâ
  19. Apr 16, 2011
    9
    I went into this movie intending to be a critic. I knew the message and the theme ahead of time, so I was more concerned with the production quality - casting, editing, etc. I only started the movie that way, and by about mid-way I found I had abandoned that critique and had become immersed in what was going on onscreen. That's a hard thing to do with we, and most directors and producers making such clearly "message" movies never do it. Major credit to the makers of the film for a job well done. Trust me, ignore the critics on this one, go see for yourself. Expand
  20. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    For any reviewer to give this movie a negative rating, they must be blinded by their "steal from others to give to others and claim it's giving" mindset. 85% of the 'pros' who watched it for free hated it (take from others) 85% of those who spent their own hard earned money liked it (responsible for their own actions) I look forward to seeing it again when I don't have to drive 80 miles to see this movie. I look forward to buying the DVD and I look forward to buying my own tickets for Parts Two AND Three. Expand
  21. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    It was a competent compaction of a very long first part. The acting was a little wooden in parts but Hank Rearden and Dagny Taggart's characters held it all together well. The people playing his simpering family were a hoot and straight out of the book too. One doesn't have to be a Randian to appreciate the relevance of an out-of-control government destroying prosperity. The reviewers who caterwaul about "unlimited deregulation" are the ones who need to go back to school. Expand
  22. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    I wouldn't expect the professional critics to like this movie as it shows how a society becomes totally crippled by the intrusion of government into people's lives. Who cares if the actors aren't "Hollywood stars" (whatever that means) but are just people depicting the theme of Atlas Shrugged which basically is that you should earn what you get and not get something for nothing. Rand's "objective materialism" simply means being responsible for your actions, carrying your own weight and not looking to any government or other source to take care of you. When I first read this book in 1963, I was shocked as how much it reflected governmental intrusion into our lives in those halcyon days. I re-read the book in 2006 and found it to be even more to point than in earlier years. Today, 2011, it is, unfortunately, a prophecy that is coming true.

    I think John Galt had the right idea.......leave the fools to try to take care of themselves and say to hell with it.

    Can't wait for Parts II and III.
    Expand
  23. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Every rating above 2 that this got was undeserved and due entirely to one's political beliefs. If you like Ayn Rand's egocentric ideals, you'll love this movie, if you like acting, effects, good dialogue, etc. avoid this.
  24. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    This is a really good movie. Don't believe the state run mass media who call Michael Moore movies "masterpieces". Atlas Shrugged is a really good movie.
  25. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Considering the very quick start from writing the script to production, the funds, and so forth, I think this is as good as it will get for a part 1. I think part 2 and part 3 will be much improved as they learn from their mistakes, but a definite A for effort. They did the best with what they had.
  26. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    I amazes me how many people George Soros pays to pan movies that exposes the fascism of the left. just know every 0 rating on this site was by some liar pinko that hasn't seen the film and is paid by fascist billionaires to spread their stupid Ideology
  27. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    I traveled over 200 miles to see this movie, and had anticipated a low budget film, more in the line of a documentary, but was pleasantly surprised. The movie followed the book pretty well, although it thankfully did so without the excessive detail written by Ayn Rand. As usual, I disagree with the "professional reviewers". I guess that's why I liked the movie, and am looking forward to the next installment. There will probably be few Hollywood awards for the fine cast, but this movie and its parts 2 and 3 will be a part of tens of thousands of conservative movie libraries. Expand
  28. May 7, 2011
    10
    enjoyable to those who are a fan of ayn rand and her books.
    i am one of those people.
    decent to good acting.
    the movie kept the spirit of the book, despite the various changes in the setting and plot details.
    i am eager to see part two.
  29. May 28, 2011
    9
    The film despite all of its short comings is entertaining and stays fairly true to the book so far. Watch the movie and judge it yourself. Donâ
  30. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    Not perfection, but a very good portrayal of Ayn Rand's epic novel that has really been prophetic in the United States. Production values are high and the acting solid. You can see the hatred emitting from the American left, as their goal is perpetually to exert control over the economy and individual economic freedom in their pursuit of control and their ethical belief we as individuals must serve the public as a whole.

    What is an inaccurate portrayal is that before the country would, in reality, get to this point, civil war...actual civil war...would be declared by free individuals who refuse to be slaves to the government and refuse to submit to the pseudoreligious ethical beliefs of the American left.

    It is no shock the left state control media gave this movie a low score. It contradicts completely their desires and goals of power and control. As is usually their wont, they cry and whine about corporations while enjoying the benefits of their iPhones...an invention of Apple and a corporation with mega-profits. I hope in part 2 they give John Galt's speech and explanation of Objectivism justice.
    Expand
Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 11 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Carina Chocano
    Apr 28, 2011
    30
    The resulting film, directed by Paul Johansson, feels rushed, amateurish and clumsy. It's not just the ideologies that feel oddly out of step with the present day, but the clothes, hairstyles and interiors.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Miller
    Apr 21, 2011
    40
    The book proves proudly indigestible on film.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Apr 20, 2011
    38
    It's not a bad looking movie, with Deco design touches that remind me of the earlier Rand film adaptation, "The Fountainhead." But the acting's flat and the script is absurdly cluttered with characters whose purpose may only truly become clear if they ever are allowed to make the other two films they have planned.