User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 194 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 194

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    Unashamedly epic. Unabashedly romantic. Unforgettably touching. Baz Luhrmann delivers THE underrated film of the noughties. Due to the enormous hype following the movie-musical extravaganza of Moulin Rouge!, Australia suffered a case of critic tall-poppy syndrome, in which it seemed the film was doomed for universal criticism before anyone had laid eyes on it. However, if one watchesUnashamedly epic. Unabashedly romantic. Unforgettably touching. Baz Luhrmann delivers THE underrated film of the noughties. Due to the enormous hype following the movie-musical extravaganza of Moulin Rouge!, Australia suffered a case of critic tall-poppy syndrome, in which it seemed the film was doomed for universal criticism before anyone had laid eyes on it. However, if one watches this with an openness and emotion availability, they'll find an unforgettable journey. Luhrmann's direction is impeccable and unique, and Nicole Kidman and Hugh Jackman's chemistry is electrifying. The character of Nullah is one of the absolute standouts, rounding out a stellar cast. I can not stop the tears from flowing every time I watch this film - Australia should be up there with the best of them! Expand
  2. May 21, 2014
    4
    To call Australia an epic is insulting to what makes epics special. Epics aren't corny, empty and have characters that are uninteresting. Just because it looks like an epic doesn't mean it is one. It fails to meet any of these criteria because Baz's original flaw of trying to tackle 4 different stories at once leaves each story having zero impact by the end.
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    6
    I had very high expectations from Luhrmann, being that "Australia" came as his next project after "Moulin Rouge," which is my favourite film of all times. However, "Australia" is far from deserving that honour. The critics got right the fact that the film is epic. Yes, it clearly is. Almost 3 hours of glorification of Australia - how could it not be? But grandeur alone does not make for aI had very high expectations from Luhrmann, being that "Australia" came as his next project after "Moulin Rouge," which is my favourite film of all times. However, "Australia" is far from deserving that honour. The critics got right the fact that the film is epic. Yes, it clearly is. Almost 3 hours of glorification of Australia - how could it not be? But grandeur alone does not make for a great film. Don't get me wrong - I did enjoy the film, and thought it was good. However, it had a bunch of things wrong with it. First of, it is not one story, it is a dozen of stories mixed into one overly-long film. Seriously, this could have been his next trilogy or something, since Luhrmann squeezed so much material into the film, that it's bursting out of its seems. Technically, though, "Australia" is amazing. With breathtaking cinematography, the usually spectacular art & production design, as well as costumes, and a good soundtrack, technically the film is superb. Acting is pretty good, too. Kidman is very good in comedic moments, but her lips indeed are too distracting from her acting. Jackman is his usual action-her self, so good, but nothing spectacular. The outstanding performances came from David Wenham as the arch-nemesis and the boy Brandon Walters, who stole the show. The screenplay is the weakest link of the film, along with its editing. Overall, "Australia" is a good film, but the story is too long, too stretched out, improbable and just not credible. At the end of the film you are visually amazed and in awe, but you are annoyed with the story. A nice try from Luhrmann, but he should have definitely cut at least 20-30 minutes from the film and worked more on the screenplay. Still, entertaining to watch for the visuals! Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    5
    As beautiful as this movie looks, it seems split over the story it wants to tell. Is it discussing the lives of cattle ranchers or the plight of the aborigines or the impact of WW2 on Australia or the romance between an unlikely couple? You can't fault the movie for lacking ambition but the movie cannot possibly tackle all of these stories effectively, even with its lengthy running time.As beautiful as this movie looks, it seems split over the story it wants to tell. Is it discussing the lives of cattle ranchers or the plight of the aborigines or the impact of WW2 on Australia or the romance between an unlikely couple? You can't fault the movie for lacking ambition but the movie cannot possibly tackle all of these stories effectively, even with its lengthy running time. Each of these story threads feels undercooked as they are systematically left behind after each act. Australia is an overlong, overstuffed test of the viewer's patience. Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2012
    8
    I love this movie!! Only downside is its a little too long...................................................................................................
  6. Dec 3, 2013
    7
    Certainly you can not say that is a masterpiece but is a good movie well drafted. It is enough long but rarely the storytelling is heavy to follow. In my opinion it must have at least the sufficiency. I am not agree with the general metacritic score.
  7. Feb 12, 2013
    7
    An overall decent film, but I felt that the film tried to squeeze far too many elements in, and the almost-3-hour-long film left me feeling like each scene was far too rushed. It was definitely more of a cowboy-type movie that I was expecting, but that didn't detract from the film for me at least. It was not at all what I expected, however, just from seeing a trailer for it--for better andAn overall decent film, but I felt that the film tried to squeeze far too many elements in, and the almost-3-hour-long film left me feeling like each scene was far too rushed. It was definitely more of a cowboy-type movie that I was expecting, but that didn't detract from the film for me at least. It was not at all what I expected, however, just from seeing a trailer for it--for better and for worse. Expand
  8. Feb 10, 2013
    8
    aunque comienza lentamente Australia lo compensa ya que con una fotografĂ­a impecable y unas actuaciones solidas la pelĂ­cula recobra fuerza y atrapa a l espectador
  9. Apr 1, 2014
    8
    Australia is considered one of the best Aussie films to date. The excellent acting by Nicole Kidman really brought the movie to life. I was extremely impressed by the cinematographs of this movie, top niche! The story is amazing and opens the eyes of foreigners to the Australia outback. Differently worth your time! get some popcorn though because its quite a lengthy movie!
  10. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Epic!! Nicole Kidman and Hugh Jackman were absolutely perfect for these roles. Another highly underrated movie. It's stunning, enjoyable, funny, epic!!! I am impressed! Baz Luhrmann is a talent!
  11. Apr 29, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To start out, this movie didn't deserve a 7. It's more like a 6.5 to 6.9 area. That being said, it means that overall I did kinda enjoy this flick, but alot of things about it bothered and frustrated me. By the way, I saw this movie in school without even knowing about it! Moving on, Australia seems like it's got it all, right? Amazing actors, beautiful country/scenery, touching story at times,long running time, sounds great eh? That's the thing. Australia is a little too ambitious at times, and that's what kept it from being great or better. I love to talk about the actors and actresses in my movies, and like I said, they're almost perfect. Hugh Jackman couldn't be better. Only one that wasn't incredibly good was Nullah, but we'll talk about HIM later. Now we move on the core, the story....which...isn't very good. The main conflict is that all the "good guys" are trying to get all their cattle over to this place to get wealth. This lasts about a little more than half of the flick. Then, it moves on to romance, and WWII fighting. It's so jumbled and jumps from 1 thing to the next. Most of the themes are pretty generic, too. Now we move on to the things that are VERY frustrating about this movie. Another big theme of the story is "good guy vs evil guy". No, it's not a bloody war. It's in that "cattle" part of the movie. Also, this movie has one of those endings like, "oh no we can't let this character die because he's so lovable". GENERIC, LAME, come on! We're in the 21st century and seeing this stuff in movies just makes people feel kinda sick. That being said, Australia isn't a total trainwreck. Some parts of the movie I really did enjoy and so will you. It's just that the rest isn't up to par, and like I said, it's a little too ambitious for its own good. Go see it if you're interested, but don't spend more than 5 dollars. Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Megan Lehmann
    80
    Defies all but the most cynical not to get carried away by the force of its grandiose imagery and storytelling.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Deliberately anachronistic in its heightened style of romance, villainy and destiny, the epic lays an Aussie accent on colorful motifs drawn from Hollywood Westerns, war films, love stories and socially conscious dramas. Some of it plays, some doesn't, and it is long.
  3. Jackman has musical-theater chops and knows how to sell material this ham-handed; Kidman isn't quite as deft. I've always admired her gumption in working so hard to overcome a certain temperamental tightness--but that tightness has now spread to her skin.