Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 14, 2008
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 209 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
140
Mixed:
37
Negative:
32
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
curdeyDec 2, 2010
Unashamedly epic. Unabashedly romantic. Unforgettably touching. Baz Luhrmann delivers THE underrated film of the noughties. Due to the enormous hype following the movie-musical extravaganza of Moulin Rouge!, Australia suffered a case ofUnashamedly epic. Unabashedly romantic. Unforgettably touching. Baz Luhrmann delivers THE underrated film of the noughties. Due to the enormous hype following the movie-musical extravaganza of Moulin Rouge!, Australia suffered a case of critic tall-poppy syndrome, in which it seemed the film was doomed for universal criticism before anyone had laid eyes on it. However, if one watches this with an openness and emotion availability, they'll find an unforgettable journey. Luhrmann's direction is impeccable and unique, and Nicole Kidman and Hugh Jackman's chemistry is electrifying. The character of Nullah is one of the absolute standouts, rounding out a stellar cast. I can not stop the tears from flowing every time I watch this film - Australia should be up there with the best of them! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
NickB.Jan 16, 2009
Much better than the reviews I had read, I was really impressed. Excellent cinematography, great music and as usual a quirky approach from Baz Luhrman. Great film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MatthewApr 18, 2009
A fun and entertaining movie that takes you back. You get that old Hollywood feel when watching this movie. It's the way movies used to be and were meant to be....pure entertainment and dazzle. Straightforward, good old fashion story telling.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
LeanneYJul 29, 2009
Good movie. quite interesting throughout however it was slightly long. Hugh and Nicole both acted very well however I think that the young boy who plays Nullah stole the show. worth watching.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
R.L.Dec 22, 2008
Epic!! Australia is one of those rare films that will make you feel like nothing around you matters anymore except what's in front of you on the screen. Australia stars Nicole Kidman as Lady Sarah Ashley, a British social light who come Epic!! Australia is one of those rare films that will make you feel like nothing around you matters anymore except what's in front of you on the screen. Australia stars Nicole Kidman as Lady Sarah Ashley, a British social light who come to the rough and untamed lands of Australia looking for her husband, but what she finds is more disturbing than what she expected. Now Lady Ashley has to run her Husbands cattle ranch with the help of Drover, a mysterious cattle herder and a local boy. Now with nothing to lose the trio sets out to rebuild the ranch, and along the way finds out the true meaning of love, family and most importantly life. Australia is an amazing piece of art that you just want to look at over and over again, it's one of those great films that you can't afford to miss! I very,very highly recommend this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
csw12May 21, 2014
To call Australia an epic is insulting to what makes epics special. Epics aren't corny, empty and have characters that are uninteresting. Just because it looks like an epic doesn't mean it is one. It fails to meet any of these criteriaTo call Australia an epic is insulting to what makes epics special. Epics aren't corny, empty and have characters that are uninteresting. Just because it looks like an epic doesn't mean it is one. It fails to meet any of these criteria because Baz's original flaw of trying to tackle 4 different stories at once leaves each story having zero impact by the end. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
LyleBApr 5, 2009
Unbelievable, and I mean that in terms of storyline. I was waiting for the UFO to invade and save the natives. I was left feeling wasted as the end finally occurred.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
SteveFMar 20, 2009
WOW!!! This is one of the worst movies that I have ever seen. A total piece of garbage...and to think that I put my trust in some people's reviews.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JillboMar 20, 2009
A rather average film. Romanticised history of British colonisation and Aboriginal genocide, then becomes even shallower through the love story! It makes Australia (the place) look good though.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
ConnieWMar 24, 2009
Try this movie if you suffer from insomnia.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
BrandonOMar 9, 2009
I walked out of the theater. This movie is trash.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
diego9901Feb 10, 2013
aunque comienza lentamente Australia lo compensa ya que con una fotografĂ­a impecable y unas actuaciones solidas la pelĂ­cula recobra fuerza y atrapa a l espectador
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
busbfranApr 1, 2014
Australia is considered one of the best Aussie films to date. The excellent acting by Nicole Kidman really brought the movie to life. I was extremely impressed by the cinematographs of this movie, top niche! The story is amazing and opens theAustralia is considered one of the best Aussie films to date. The excellent acting by Nicole Kidman really brought the movie to life. I was extremely impressed by the cinematographs of this movie, top niche! The story is amazing and opens the eyes of foreigners to the Australia outback. Differently worth your time! get some popcorn though because its quite a lengthy movie! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MadR.Jan 2, 2009
Walters was simply amazing and the rest of the cast, excluding kidman, were excellent as well. The movie had anough going for it that it kept me interested the whole way and due to the acting of the acters, largely walters, you really did Walters was simply amazing and the rest of the cast, excluding kidman, were excellent as well. The movie had anough going for it that it kept me interested the whole way and due to the acting of the acters, largely walters, you really did care about what happened. The only propblems, and they werent to big, were kidman and some of the corny parts, which are expected in a romance movie such as this, but dont have to be enjoyed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AksahyB.Jan 3, 2009
The most boring movie I have seen in a long time. It seems like the director lost the script half way through the film and then finished the movie with another shitty script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShammyShamMar 19, 2009
Some people are oblivious to the facts, and while everyone has the right to their own opinions, this movie is far from crap. Sure Nicole Kidman, wasn't the best actress for job in some people's eyes, but if the movie isn't Some people are oblivious to the facts, and while everyone has the right to their own opinions, this movie is far from crap. Sure Nicole Kidman, wasn't the best actress for job in some people's eyes, but if the movie isn't your type doesn't matter who filled the role. I think the signs are powerful here, and those who don't know their world history by now, have real thick skulls. This movie can be seen as a slave narrative. So there are to sides of understanding: The indigenous people (aborigines) and the Caucasians, or more clarified, the british prisioners, solders, and thieves of the early centuries. These people were the perfect storm to destroy the native people of the fine land we call Australia. The land maybe different, but the idea remains the same: May ye rape, burn and pillage, until there is nothing left. The white man has truly done a fine job. But as the story goes, in the end....you can't stop fate no matter how hard you try. You can never make what doesn't belong to your people yours. I may never see it in my lifetime, but what belongs to the native people must stay within their grasp. That is how it was meant to be. No man nor religion has the right to erase a culture of people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LynnMar 2, 2009
Loved every minute, Hugh Jackman is my favorite.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobH.Nov 27, 2008
One of-- IF-- not the best movie of the year. this will kill at the Academy Awards, excellent acting by all --great plot ---excellent cinematography ---excellent location---bring tissue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CoreyH.Nov 29, 2008
An entertaining movie that did not feel anywhere near as long as the 2 and half hour running time. Don't take it all so seriously. Movies are about entertainment, what wasn't entertaining about this movie?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanP.Jan 10, 2009
A masterpiece that proved too ambitious for critics. Baz dazzles us with his marvelous cinematography of a lush location. Nicole Kidman gives one of her finest performances yet and Jackman plays his rugged rider to perfection. It's A masterpiece that proved too ambitious for critics. Baz dazzles us with his marvelous cinematography of a lush location. Nicole Kidman gives one of her finest performances yet and Jackman plays his rugged rider to perfection. It's weird, cheesy and cliche but what more do we expect from Baz. The best film of the year by a mile! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KathyS.Jan 3, 2009
Really enjoyed this! For a long movie, it engages and entertains! Looooove Hugh!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveM.Jan 9, 2009
I have to give this a 10. The people that are giving this move a 1 or 0 must have missed the entire movie. The kid in the movie deserves to share an Oscar with Heath in my humble opinion. He was just outstanding. Great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TerryN.Jan 9, 2009
A musical without any songs - woeful - and the fake kangaroos were pathetic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinMar 15, 2009
Very Enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
LinL.Mar 23, 2009
Gave an extra point for the nice scenery! Despite the talent involved, I could not believe how boring this movie was, and actually fast-forwarded thru parts. And the whole subplot with the little aborigine boy w/ mystical powers was idiotic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ElliotP.Mar 29, 2009
One story folded into another, seemingly without end. Maybe not great cinema, but fascinating just the same. Acting was excellent, and, if that is not enough, then the movie is worth your nickel for the camera work alone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlenaMar 6, 2009
This movie was one of the most boring movies i have ever seen
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MargotNov 27, 2008
Yes, the movie is a tad long and you think it is going to end several times before it actually does, but I still enjoyed watching it the whole time. The movie was engaging and funny and beautiful to watch. It wasn't perfect, but it was Yes, the movie is a tad long and you think it is going to end several times before it actually does, but I still enjoyed watching it the whole time. The movie was engaging and funny and beautiful to watch. It wasn't perfect, but it was enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
syzygyNov 30, 2008
Baz whips together large themes across a classic Hollywood canvas in the tradition of Lean, Ford, and De Mille. The trick is to balance the contradiction between a shallow pop-history narrative and the demands of serious drama. Baz tosses in Baz whips together large themes across a classic Hollywood canvas in the tradition of Lean, Ford, and De Mille. The trick is to balance the contradiction between a shallow pop-history narrative and the demands of serious drama. Baz tosses in one convention after another for a risky ride that succeeds as much as it fails. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
sinclairc.Dec 10, 2008
You know there's a problem when you can get a round of air hockey in the cinema foyer during the first half of the movie... being an Australian what can I say except "Crikey Baz, whats this garbage?"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
FranceL.Dec 23, 2008
A less sophisticated, less poignant, more derivative, more melodramatic, over the top, anything goes, everything goes, overly long 'Out of Africa' wannabe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kevinl.Dec 23, 2008
Loved it! even though im an aussie and was weary of watching this movie after listening to critics reviews.. must see if ur a sucker for titanic love stories.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CatherineH.Dec 2, 2008
Glad I didn't fall under the spell of the critics assessment and went to see it. Thoroughly enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
StanFDec 5, 2008
To sum it up in 3 words, Over indulgent crap. I can see why Baz Luhrmann works often with Nicole Kidman, she is the living embodiment of his movies, heavy on the looks, but no real substance on the inside. Add Hugh Jackman to the mix & the To sum it up in 3 words, Over indulgent crap. I can see why Baz Luhrmann works often with Nicole Kidman, she is the living embodiment of his movies, heavy on the looks, but no real substance on the inside. Add Hugh Jackman to the mix & the collection of the "superficial" is complete. Bland acting aside, the story was cliched and corny at times as well. All that's left are some nice visual shots. A typical Baz Luhrmann piece of fluff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonyO.Dec 8, 2008
Basically the movie is romantic fun, and very scenic, if a little too long. All the pretentious post-modern analysis on show on this site completely misses the point. For Australians, there is all sorts of national iconography to delve into, Basically the movie is romantic fun, and very scenic, if a little too long. All the pretentious post-modern analysis on show on this site completely misses the point. For Australians, there is all sorts of national iconography to delve into, but for the rest of us, this is epic romance in an exotic locale, with hunky men and gorgeous women doing what comes naturally. Baz Luhrmann's use of hyper-realism at the beginning is probably a bit OTT for most viewers, but this is no big deal. At least it is an attempt to stimulate the viewer with something a little different.. The best comparison would be with "Pearl Harbor "(which was a real turkey). By contrast, "Australia" is a masterpiece. As an aside, I am really surprised at the spite and vitriol this movie has generated. Is this some kind of inherent prejudice of many people against Australians? Go figure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.Dec 9, 2008
The grass isn't singing, perhaps the Australian outback is too arid. The grass is tired. Lady Sarah Ashley(Nicole Kidman) seems at complete ease with the Aborigine people at Faraway Downs, even though there's early speculation that The grass isn't singing, perhaps the Australian outback is too arid. The grass is tired. Lady Sarah Ashley(Nicole Kidman) seems at complete ease with the Aborigine people at Faraway Downs, even though there's early speculation that her husband was killed by a native named King George(David Gulpili). Because of the times, you would suspect a British subject to be uncomfortable with Aborigines living under her roof. Lady Ashley doesn't have to be stereotypically colonist(like something out of a Doris Lessing novel), but "Australia" could have benefited from some moral complexity out of the ex-Brit. Saints aren't interesting. "Australia" works best as a western; it should have remained in this milieu instead of genre-hopping: the war epic that follows is not nearly as successful. The Aborigines are cast in "Indian" clothing, at first, when it's believed that King George is responsible for the murder of Lady Ashley's husband. During this interim period, the Australian emigrate seems too contemporary in accepting Nullah(Brandon Walters), a half-breed, as more than her charge. The filmmaker doesn't want to portray the Aborigine people as one-dimensional brutes, like the Indians, as seen through the lenses of Hollywood filmmakers during the studio system heyday. But desperate times call for desperate measures, and the filmmaker neglects to capture the urgency of the Aborigine cause. Since their children are being taken away, nobody would fault them if they responded to the government provocation by vigilant means. The filmmaker renders them impotent. When Nullah and some other Aborigine children are marooned on an island, it's Drover(Hugh Jackman) who comes to their rescue. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AstridI.Feb 23, 2009
A beautifully made film that taps into so much range: romance, action, music, culture, history. The actors give it their all and the story is construed well, as is its telling. It contains a tremendous amount of movie magic though certainly A beautifully made film that taps into so much range: romance, action, music, culture, history. The actors give it their all and the story is construed well, as is its telling. It contains a tremendous amount of movie magic though certainly none that demeans the imagination nor heart. It's a perfect film in my opinion, one of the best from 2008. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayH.Feb 27, 2009
Most definitely fits the term "sprawling epic". Incredible cinematography, art direction, costumes, visual effects etc. It is a beautiful film. The acting is good - especially Nicole Kidman in one of her best performances. It is overlong, Most definitely fits the term "sprawling epic". Incredible cinematography, art direction, costumes, visual effects etc. It is a beautiful film. The acting is good - especially Nicole Kidman in one of her best performances. It is overlong, but rarely boring. Very entertaining. The first half is much better than the second half. What it lacks in originality it makes up for in grandeur. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DanBApr 1, 2009
Shammy Sham, we're discussing the quality of acting and movie entertainment value here. We're not discussing the history of Australia. There are documentaries you can rate if you wish. Having said that, the acting was horrible from Shammy Sham, we're discussing the quality of acting and movie entertainment value here. We're not discussing the history of Australia. There are documentaries you can rate if you wish. Having said that, the acting was horrible from both Hugh and Nicole. Watching the aborigine child was like watching a bad soap opera. From slavery to cattle driving to romance to sexism to WWII scenes. Yes this movie popped them all in, yet each topic was so poorly done, save the cattle drive scene, albeit computer generated. 3 points awarded for entertaining cattle drive. 7 points deducted for long drawn out scenes and/or poorly done scenes. By the way people...beautiful scenery? Hmm, not really. If you care to see how diverse Australia can be, I suggest going yourself. From jungles to desserts to urban sprawls, this country has them all. Watching a dessert/brush land environment intermixed with poor acting is not my idea of a good time. Now go on your 'walkabouts' and contemplate what makes a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlanDApr 18, 2009
Great acting and a good glimpse of the late 19th century Australia's treatment of aboriginals. Loved Nichole Kidman.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Nov 24, 2008
It's melodramatic. It's predictable. It's a little Harlequin Romance. Yes. All true. But did it still pull at my heartstrings and keep me entertained the entire time? Absolutely. Not even the most hardened cynic could fail to It's melodramatic. It's predictable. It's a little Harlequin Romance. Yes. All true. But did it still pull at my heartstrings and keep me entertained the entire time? Absolutely. Not even the most hardened cynic could fail to be moved by the charming young orphan boy who is the narrator. Oh, and the cattle stampede scene is spectacular. See it - despite the flaws. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillyS.Nov 26, 2008
As hard as Australia tries to be that Grand Opulent epic love story/western/war movie/social drama, in twenty years Gone With The Wind, Dr. Zhivago and Reds will still be the ones brought up in conversations. Australia is a little of each- As hard as Australia tries to be that Grand Opulent epic love story/western/war movie/social drama, in twenty years Gone With The Wind, Dr. Zhivago and Reds will still be the ones brought up in conversations. Australia is a little of each- beautiful to look at, good acting, a stampede cliffhager (literally) and a aborigine child with a psychic connection to his all knowing grandfather who is also the films narrator. It's a very good movie that just keeps pushing itself to be a great movie but it won't be mentioned in those conversations 20 years from now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ErichHNov 27, 2008
Luhrmann creates a sentimental, sometimes sappy, engaging epic-big ride, which is great fun and satisfies. Though by no means a masterpiece, I enjoyed myself and got lost up in this Wagnerian length Opera.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TricklasNov 29, 2008
This is tied for worst movie ever with The Aviator. Melodrama in the hands of Tarsem or Darren Aronofsky is refreshing and gorgeous. In the hands of Lurhmann it's a train wreck of epic proportions. Lurhmann essentially wanted to make This is tied for worst movie ever with The Aviator. Melodrama in the hands of Tarsem or Darren Aronofsky is refreshing and gorgeous. In the hands of Lurhmann it's a train wreck of epic proportions. Lurhmann essentially wanted to make Gone With the Wind for Australia's stolen generation and failed horribly on all fronts. Why couldn't we just keep Rabbit-Proof Fence as the feather in our collective cap? See The Fall or The Fountain instead. Stay far away from this heaping pile of abnormal, unoriginal kangaroo sh*t. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisM.Nov 30, 2008
Hugh Jackman is outstanding. The epic scenes (bombing of Darwin, the cattle stampede scene) are breathtaking). That little boy is just amazing. The cinematography, the most gorgeous one I've ever seen. In one word? MASTERPIECE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeFNov 30, 2008
An old-school feel that was ultimately, quite enjoyable...WHYwe go to the movies. Sure there were some occasional moments of cinematic "cheese" but seriously--who doesn't love cheese? It had romance, adventure, comic relief and action. An old-school feel that was ultimately, quite enjoyable...WHYwe go to the movies. Sure there were some occasional moments of cinematic "cheese" but seriously--who doesn't love cheese? It had romance, adventure, comic relief and action. It felt like you could have swapped out John Wayne in the lead and no one would have noticed; Cecil B. DeMille, big screen fun. And as one that JUST watched "Fight Club" on DVD for the first time (a interesting movie but jeez--what a dark story), I can say I like "Australia" even more. Movies are supposed to be fun, eh? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RichardS.Dec 10, 2008
Baz Luhrmann has directed the worst film of all time: Moulin Rouge. So it makes sense that he has now directed what will probably turn out to be the most expensive flop of all time. Jackman is a cool actor and I hope he becomes a big star - Baz Luhrmann has directed the worst film of all time: Moulin Rouge. So it makes sense that he has now directed what will probably turn out to be the most expensive flop of all time. Jackman is a cool actor and I hope he becomes a big star - he's much more likeable than Russell Crowe. Nicole Kidman is beautiful, but she can be too bland as an actress. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SlavisaM.Dec 12, 2008
I thought it was a really good Baz Luhrmann film. I really enjoyed all the technical aspects of the film - beautiful cinematography, excellent sound and music and costumes and art direction. I even like the visual effects. Nicole Kidman did I thought it was a really good Baz Luhrmann film. I really enjoyed all the technical aspects of the film - beautiful cinematography, excellent sound and music and costumes and art direction. I even like the visual effects. Nicole Kidman did a really good performance and so did a few other supporting characters. Definitely a worthy film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidS.Dec 13, 2008
Action, Romance, Beautiful Cinematography. Australian Western with a twist. Hugh Jackman, Nicole, and Brandon Walters are wonderful together.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexK.Dec 19, 2008
The critics have dropped the ball on this one. Australia is epic and beautiful and best of all is fantastically entertaining. Follow your heart and watch it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattC.Dec 23, 2008
This is the best movie of the year! Don't listen to the critics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JobertA.Dec 24, 2008
Old-fashioned Hollywood moving making. Less flashy than Baz Lurhmans's previous film Moulin Rouge!, but more ambitious and epic and scope. The final act falters a bit (and makes this film close to 3 hours), but the first two thirds are Old-fashioned Hollywood moving making. Less flashy than Baz Lurhmans's previous film Moulin Rouge!, but more ambitious and epic and scope. The final act falters a bit (and makes this film close to 3 hours), but the first two thirds are fun, shameless entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigN.Dec 24, 2008
Wow! This is a great movie, beyond the Rainbow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathrynCDec 28, 2008
Bloody fantastic - I have seen it twice - Baz is brilliant. Critics go to blazes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomasK.Dec 30, 2008
I was ready to appreciate this movie, and I wasn't disappointed. It has everything; The scenery leaves a sense of wonder; The characters go beyond the shallow stereotype that is so common today; The story covers all the bases, rich in I was ready to appreciate this movie, and I wasn't disappointed. It has everything; The scenery leaves a sense of wonder; The characters go beyond the shallow stereotype that is so common today; The story covers all the bases, rich in humor, anger, fear, love, adventure, and even a touch of magic. Brandon Walters as a young "Creamy" boy, ( half white-half aboriginal), is worth the price of admission. Hugh Jackman and Nicole Kidman are wonderful together. If you allow yourself, this movie will sweep you away, and leave you craving for more just like it. I would give it a 10, but there are no such things as 10's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyDec 4, 2008
I saw this movie in a packed theater. Word of mouth seems to trump the poor reviews by the professional critics. There will not be a dry eye in the house at the conclusion. Australia is almost like 2 movies in one. When you think it is over, I saw this movie in a packed theater. Word of mouth seems to trump the poor reviews by the professional critics. There will not be a dry eye in the house at the conclusion. Australia is almost like 2 movies in one. When you think it is over, it only just begins. The chemistry between Nicole and Hugh was tremendous. The scenery was breathtakingly beautiful as was the Outback countryside. Don't miss this movie or you will be sorry you did. Enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonG.Dec 7, 2008
I've seen plenty of epics and feel very comfortable saying this rates with the best of em.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanC.Dec 8, 2008
Best movie I've seen in many a year. This is what movies should be! It had everything, suspense, romance, a cultural component, an arch-villian and a stunning leading man. What's not to like!!?? Will see again in a couple of weeks Best movie I've seen in many a year. This is what movies should be! It had everything, suspense, romance, a cultural component, an arch-villian and a stunning leading man. What's not to like!!?? Will see again in a couple of weeks and probably buy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarolA.Dec 8, 2008
One of the most enjoyable movies I've seen in a long time. Don't understand the negativity in nitpicking. Just go and enjoy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveC.Jan 21, 2009
Long but not drawn out, with beautiful cinematography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
HyperSJan 26, 2009
Hollywood drivel. The beginning was fine [kind of a Western theme], but the last 30-45 minutes was just the director throwing every Hollywood movie cliche he could at the audience. The Japanese attack was out of place and obviously used to Hollywood drivel. The beginning was fine [kind of a Western theme], but the last 30-45 minutes was just the director throwing every Hollywood movie cliche he could at the audience. The Japanese attack was out of place and obviously used to simply facilitate the director's "Happy Ever After Ending" that we've seen a hundred times before. And forcing the villain scenes on us at the end was just a pathetic piece of film making. Lazy, unimaginative, and extremely predictable is the only way to describe the ending. But, ladies out there don't worry as I'm a guy reviewing this movie... if you're a girl out there just ignore my score and go watch the movie as its the classic formula for a successful chick flick. You'll love the young kid and the love story and Hugh Jackman and of course the predictable happy ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RichR.Mar 12, 2009
I read only bad reviews of this before I saw it, and while I was watching it, at first, I was thinking Wow, this is dumb (even though I kind of like the kid). But slowly I realized this is a children's movie, and after that I started I read only bad reviews of this before I saw it, and while I was watching it, at first, I was thinking Wow, this is dumb (even though I kind of like the kid). But slowly I realized this is a children's movie, and after that I started liking it better and better. 8 is a weird score for me. When I comment on something, it's usually a 10 or a 0. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomS.Mar 16, 2009
As my wife told me, "it's a World War II western romance, what more could you ask for?" I loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NeilKNov 21, 2008
Eh... a little better than average. It tries to be three different types of movies shot in two different styles. Sometimes Baz Luhrman is just too "smart" for his own good. This is a decent date movies... the gals will swoon over Huge Ackman Eh... a little better than average. It tries to be three different types of movies shot in two different styles. Sometimes Baz Luhrman is just too "smart" for his own good. This is a decent date movies... the gals will swoon over Huge Ackman as well as the story of the child. Guys? Well, it is not completely boring... but, be warned, after seeing Huge with his shirt off, you will be looked at as sloppy seconds when the lights come back up. Sorry folks, the CGI looks ridiculous, the story tries to do way too many things with overly cardboard characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KenB.Nov 27, 2008
Stunning visually, moving and heartelt. So clever and so many links to other films. Some critics just don't get it. Amazing film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DarleneR.Nov 28, 2008
I really liked this movie...Jackman was great...especially with his shirt off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeW.Nov 29, 2008
Perfect Holiday Movie. Not nearly as politically courageous as "Rabbit Proof Fence" but still a movie of great landscapes with enjoyable acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BonnieL.Nov 29, 2008
Beautiful movie that starts slow, but improves dramatically. I would see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TDKinDallasNov 29, 2008
Absolutely great time at the movies. Took my Mom and we both thought it was great. Do not pass this up because of the crappy previews ("There was a great sound like whoosh!"). Those original previews were taken out of context and made me not Absolutely great time at the movies. Took my Mom and we both thought it was great. Do not pass this up because of the crappy previews ("There was a great sound like whoosh!"). Those original previews were taken out of context and made me not want to go see it. I only went because I thought it would be the kind of movie she would enjoy and I was totally wrong. There were a few things that I would have liked different, but I also think it should have been rated R and had a woman to equal Huge's hotness factor. That would be very different, this is a "family" movie. Check it out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BradCNov 29, 2008
Loved it! Thoroughly engaging movie that is well worth the price of admission.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JasonM.Nov 29, 2008
One of the most unbearable movies I have seen this year. Formulaic and predictable from start to finish. The acting is pedestrian and painfully campy, not because of a lack of acting talent, but an ATROCIOUSLY written screenplay and sinfully One of the most unbearable movies I have seen this year. Formulaic and predictable from start to finish. The acting is pedestrian and painfully campy, not because of a lack of acting talent, but an ATROCIOUSLY written screenplay and sinfully poor directing. Every possible hollywood cliche is found somewhere in this film, from the completely gratuitious Hugh-Jackman-Soaps-Up-His-Muscular-Upper-Body scene, to the ever trite "Let's get outta here" line... I implore you to save your money. The only reason I give this movie a 2 instead of a 1 is because the little kid was cute. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MadalenaL.Dec 12, 2008
Enchanting!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PhilM.Dec 25, 2008
Australia is the most boring country in the world, so good luck trying to make a good film of that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanielS.Dec 25, 2008
An ok film, nowhere near the best, but it should be a one time watch for all Australians.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MattP.Dec 27, 2008
Horrendous. Big budget crap.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
smijatovJan 9, 2012
I had very high expectations from Luhrmann, being that "Australia" came as his next project after "Moulin Rouge," which is my favourite film of all times. However, "Australia" is far from deserving that honour. The critics got right the factI had very high expectations from Luhrmann, being that "Australia" came as his next project after "Moulin Rouge," which is my favourite film of all times. However, "Australia" is far from deserving that honour. The critics got right the fact that the film is epic. Yes, it clearly is. Almost 3 hours of glorification of Australia - how could it not be? But grandeur alone does not make for a great film. Don't get me wrong - I did enjoy the film, and thought it was good. However, it had a bunch of things wrong with it. First of, it is not one story, it is a dozen of stories mixed into one overly-long film. Seriously, this could have been his next trilogy or something, since Luhrmann squeezed so much material into the film, that it's bursting out of its seems. Technically, though, "Australia" is amazing. With breathtaking cinematography, the usually spectacular art & production design, as well as costumes, and a good soundtrack, technically the film is superb. Acting is pretty good, too. Kidman is very good in comedic moments, but her lips indeed are too distracting from her acting. Jackman is his usual action-her self, so good, but nothing spectacular. The outstanding performances came from David Wenham as the arch-nemesis and the boy Brandon Walters, who stole the show. The screenplay is the weakest link of the film, along with its editing. Overall, "Australia" is a good film, but the story is too long, too stretched out, improbable and just not credible. At the end of the film you are visually amazed and in awe, but you are annoyed with the story. A nice try from Luhrmann, but he should have definitely cut at least 20-30 minutes from the film and worked more on the screenplay. Still, entertaining to watch for the visuals! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ImUnavailableJul 19, 2011
As beautiful as this movie looks, it seems split over the story it wants to tell. Is it discussing the lives of cattle ranchers or the plight of the aborigines or the impact of WW2 on Australia or the romance between an unlikely couple? YouAs beautiful as this movie looks, it seems split over the story it wants to tell. Is it discussing the lives of cattle ranchers or the plight of the aborigines or the impact of WW2 on Australia or the romance between an unlikely couple? You can't fault the movie for lacking ambition but the movie cannot possibly tackle all of these stories effectively, even with its lengthy running time. Each of these story threads feels undercooked as they are systematically left behind after each act. Australia is an overlong, overstuffed test of the viewer's patience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bclover94Jun 17, 2012
I love this movie!! Only downside is its a little too long...................................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SpangleFeb 20, 2017
Australia is a film with a sweeping vision and epic ambitions, but it simply does not live up to its own expectations. It is hardly a bad film as it has many beautiful and tremendous elements that do justify its efforts. Unfortunately, it isAustralia is a film with a sweeping vision and epic ambitions, but it simply does not live up to its own expectations. It is hardly a bad film as it has many beautiful and tremendous elements that do justify its efforts. Unfortunately, it is simply maligned by a bevy of issues that hold it back from being a great modern epic. Thinly written, predictable, and tonally jumbled, Australia is a film with an important message and the hope that sum up Australia and its most important pieces - cattle herding, World War II, the wet season, the dry season, aboriginals, and love of theland - in just under three hours. Unfortunately, the end result is a film that simply feels too unfocused and lacking conviction.

This grand scope leads Australia to feeling like two films shoved into being one film. The first half focuses on Lady Ashley (Nicole Kidman) arriving in Australia to find her husband dead and Neil Fletcher (David Wenham) scheming to steal their cattle away. With the help of The Drover (Hugh Jackman), she embarks on a journey to bring 1,500 cattle to Darwin to be used as meat for the Australian troops. Along the way, she falls in love with The Drover and half-aboriginal, half-white boy Nullah (Brandon Walters). In this film, Australia most closely aligns with being a western and is gritty and unafraid to show the dirty and dangerous work entailed by cattle driving. However, the film turns on a dime and becomes a war film in the second half with the bombing of Darwin conducted by the Japanese. Hinted at in the first half with war footage, two years pass from 1939 to 1941 between the first and second halves. The end result is a film that feels too unfocused and split. Both films could reasonably stand on their own, but wind up being part of one overlong film, out of the necessity of scope. While director Baz Luhrmann's ambition is admirable, it simply is a film that never justifies its runtime and could have been either shorter and more focused or split into two separate films that celebrate the various elements of Australia. Together, the two halves simply do not gel with one another.

The film tries to string these two halves together, however, with the love between Lady Ashley and The Drover. From two different worlds, it is a cliched romance but it works incredibly well. The characters are pretty cookie cutter and indistinguishable from a variety of characters in other films, but the romance is the element that comes closest to meeting the grand scope of the film. It feels triumphant and authentic, even if maligned by elements that are clearly scripted and cliched, such as The Drover rejecting an invitation to the ball only to then show up unexpectedly. It is cute, but it is hardly unpredictable or original.

Yet, the writing's greatest fault is Neil Fletcher. A rival cattle herder working for King Carney (Bryan Brown), the head honcho in the meat business in Darwin, he is an unnecessary bad guy. In both halves of the film, he shows up randomly to make the film take longer to get the end. Both the herding and the war are thrilling enough with enough entertainment to work without a villain, so adding in an antagonist merely feels excessive and a useless addition to a film that simply did not need another character. At no point during the film does Luhrmann justify his addition to the film and he merely exists to add turmoil and strife to the point that existed without his presence. Even worse, just as with the romance, each moment with the villain is predictable and easy to see. The expected side characters die and the expected routes are taken to save our heroes in the face of this man who hates them for very little reason.

That said, Australia has a resounding plus that almost makes the whole thing come together: the visuals. Gorgeously dreamy landscapes in the Australian outback, breathtaking aerial shots of the desert, the bombing, the contrast of the black/orange fire with the blues and greens of Darwin, and the absolutely astounding shot of all orange and black overtaking Darwin after the bombing. All of the shots are brilliantly framed and a gorgeous mash-up of color. The end result is an awe-striking beauty that matches the ambitions of Luhrmann and makes the film pure eye candy. For those that love Australia, the visuals have to be the reason why and it is the reason why the film is one that is disappointing. In spite of its great visuals, it offers very little else that matches the quality of the sights to be seen in the film.

For a film seeking to sum up Australia, it is simply unable to reach the grand scope. From hamfistedly bringing forth the nameless drover as a representation of the heroism and strength of the nation to thinly written characters and a predictable and cliched plot to the far-too-long runtime, Australia is an ambitious film but exceeds the grasp of Baz Luhrmann. It is boisterous and at times dream-like film with a heart-wrenching romance and brilliant visuals.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Sh4rk82Dec 3, 2013
Certainly you can not say that is a masterpiece but is a good movie well drafted. It is enough long but rarely the storytelling is heavy to follow. In my opinion it must have at least the sufficiency. I am not agree with the generalCertainly you can not say that is a masterpiece but is a good movie well drafted. It is enough long but rarely the storytelling is heavy to follow. In my opinion it must have at least the sufficiency. I am not agree with the general metacritic score. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FireOccatorJun 25, 2016
The visuals are the best part of this movie. It delivers Australia, sadly or luckily, without the bugs and snakes. The story is great, most of the time, however there are a couple of moments that make it dive. The characters are unique. TheThe visuals are the best part of this movie. It delivers Australia, sadly or luckily, without the bugs and snakes. The story is great, most of the time, however there are a couple of moments that make it dive. The characters are unique. The soundtrack sometimes is atmospheric and sometimes it's bland and boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
notsolittlejonFeb 12, 2013
An overall decent film, but I felt that the film tried to squeeze far too many elements in, and the almost-3-hour-long film left me feeling like each scene was far too rushed. It was definitely more of a cowboy-type movie that I wasAn overall decent film, but I felt that the film tried to squeeze far too many elements in, and the almost-3-hour-long film left me feeling like each scene was far too rushed. It was definitely more of a cowboy-type movie that I was expecting, but that didn't detract from the film for me at least. It was not at all what I expected, however, just from seeing a trailer for it--for better and for worse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyStephensAug 30, 2013
Epic!! Nicole Kidman and Hugh Jackman were absolutely perfect for these roles. Another highly underrated movie. It's stunning, enjoyable, funny, epic!!! I am impressed! Baz Luhrmann is a talent!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SimpleReviewzApr 29, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To start out, this movie didn't deserve a 7. It's more like a 6.5 to 6.9 area. That being said, it means that overall I did kinda enjoy this flick, but alot of things about it bothered and frustrated me. By the way, I saw this movie in school without even knowing about it! Moving on, Australia seems like it's got it all, right? Amazing actors, beautiful country/scenery, touching story at times,long running time, sounds great eh? That's the thing. Australia is a little too ambitious at times, and that's what kept it from being great or better. I love to talk about the actors and actresses in my movies, and like I said, they're almost perfect. Hugh Jackman couldn't be better. Only one that wasn't incredibly good was Nullah, but we'll talk about HIM later. Now we move on the core, the story....which...isn't very good. The main conflict is that all the "good guys" are trying to get all their cattle over to this place to get wealth. This lasts about a little more than half of the flick. Then, it moves on to romance, and WWII fighting. It's so jumbled and jumps from 1 thing to the next. Most of the themes are pretty generic, too. Now we move on to the things that are VERY frustrating about this movie. Another big theme of the story is "good guy vs evil guy". No, it's not a bloody war. It's in that "cattle" part of the movie. Also, this movie has one of those endings like, "oh no we can't let this character die because he's so lovable". GENERIC, LAME, come on! We're in the 21st century and seeing this stuff in movies just makes people feel kinda sick. That being said, Australia isn't a total trainwreck. Some parts of the movie I really did enjoy and so will you. It's just that the rest isn't up to par, and like I said, it's a little too ambitious for its own good. Go see it if you're interested, but don't spend more than 5 dollars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews