Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 14, 2008
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 211 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
141
Mixed:
38
Negative:
32
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
curdeyDec 2, 2010
Unashamedly epic. Unabashedly romantic. Unforgettably touching. Baz Luhrmann delivers THE underrated film of the noughties. Due to the enormous hype following the movie-musical extravaganza of Moulin Rouge!, Australia suffered a case ofUnashamedly epic. Unabashedly romantic. Unforgettably touching. Baz Luhrmann delivers THE underrated film of the noughties. Due to the enormous hype following the movie-musical extravaganza of Moulin Rouge!, Australia suffered a case of critic tall-poppy syndrome, in which it seemed the film was doomed for universal criticism before anyone had laid eyes on it. However, if one watches this with an openness and emotion availability, they'll find an unforgettable journey. Luhrmann's direction is impeccable and unique, and Nicole Kidman and Hugh Jackman's chemistry is electrifying. The character of Nullah is one of the absolute standouts, rounding out a stellar cast. I can not stop the tears from flowing every time I watch this film - Australia should be up there with the best of them! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
NickB.Jan 16, 2009
Much better than the reviews I had read, I was really impressed. Excellent cinematography, great music and as usual a quirky approach from Baz Luhrman. Great film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MatthewApr 18, 2009
A fun and entertaining movie that takes you back. You get that old Hollywood feel when watching this movie. It's the way movies used to be and were meant to be....pure entertainment and dazzle. Straightforward, good old fashion story telling.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
LeanneYJul 29, 2009
Good movie. quite interesting throughout however it was slightly long. Hugh and Nicole both acted very well however I think that the young boy who plays Nullah stole the show. worth watching.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
R.L.Dec 22, 2008
Epic!! Australia is one of those rare films that will make you feel like nothing around you matters anymore except what's in front of you on the screen. Australia stars Nicole Kidman as Lady Sarah Ashley, a British social light who come Epic!! Australia is one of those rare films that will make you feel like nothing around you matters anymore except what's in front of you on the screen. Australia stars Nicole Kidman as Lady Sarah Ashley, a British social light who come to the rough and untamed lands of Australia looking for her husband, but what she finds is more disturbing than what she expected. Now Lady Ashley has to run her Husbands cattle ranch with the help of Drover, a mysterious cattle herder and a local boy. Now with nothing to lose the trio sets out to rebuild the ranch, and along the way finds out the true meaning of love, family and most importantly life. Australia is an amazing piece of art that you just want to look at over and over again, it's one of those great films that you can't afford to miss! I very,very highly recommend this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
diego9901Feb 10, 2013
aunque comienza lentamente Australia lo compensa ya que con una fotografĂ­a impecable y unas actuaciones solidas la pelĂ­cula recobra fuerza y atrapa a l espectador
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
busbfranApr 1, 2014
Australia is considered one of the best Aussie films to date. The excellent acting by Nicole Kidman really brought the movie to life. I was extremely impressed by the cinematographs of this movie, top niche! The story is amazing and opens theAustralia is considered one of the best Aussie films to date. The excellent acting by Nicole Kidman really brought the movie to life. I was extremely impressed by the cinematographs of this movie, top niche! The story is amazing and opens the eyes of foreigners to the Australia outback. Differently worth your time! get some popcorn though because its quite a lengthy movie! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MadR.Jan 2, 2009
Walters was simply amazing and the rest of the cast, excluding kidman, were excellent as well. The movie had anough going for it that it kept me interested the whole way and due to the acting of the acters, largely walters, you really did Walters was simply amazing and the rest of the cast, excluding kidman, were excellent as well. The movie had anough going for it that it kept me interested the whole way and due to the acting of the acters, largely walters, you really did care about what happened. The only propblems, and they werent to big, were kidman and some of the corny parts, which are expected in a romance movie such as this, but dont have to be enjoyed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShammyShamMar 19, 2009
Some people are oblivious to the facts, and while everyone has the right to their own opinions, this movie is far from crap. Sure Nicole Kidman, wasn't the best actress for job in some people's eyes, but if the movie isn't Some people are oblivious to the facts, and while everyone has the right to their own opinions, this movie is far from crap. Sure Nicole Kidman, wasn't the best actress for job in some people's eyes, but if the movie isn't your type doesn't matter who filled the role. I think the signs are powerful here, and those who don't know their world history by now, have real thick skulls. This movie can be seen as a slave narrative. So there are to sides of understanding: The indigenous people (aborigines) and the Caucasians, or more clarified, the british prisioners, solders, and thieves of the early centuries. These people were the perfect storm to destroy the native people of the fine land we call Australia. The land maybe different, but the idea remains the same: May ye rape, burn and pillage, until there is nothing left. The white man has truly done a fine job. But as the story goes, in the end....you can't stop fate no matter how hard you try. You can never make what doesn't belong to your people yours. I may never see it in my lifetime, but what belongs to the native people must stay within their grasp. That is how it was meant to be. No man nor religion has the right to erase a culture of people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LynnMar 2, 2009
Loved every minute, Hugh Jackman is my favorite.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobH.Nov 27, 2008
One of-- IF-- not the best movie of the year. this will kill at the Academy Awards, excellent acting by all --great plot ---excellent cinematography ---excellent location---bring tissue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CoreyH.Nov 29, 2008
An entertaining movie that did not feel anywhere near as long as the 2 and half hour running time. Don't take it all so seriously. Movies are about entertainment, what wasn't entertaining about this movie?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanP.Jan 10, 2009
A masterpiece that proved too ambitious for critics. Baz dazzles us with his marvelous cinematography of a lush location. Nicole Kidman gives one of her finest performances yet and Jackman plays his rugged rider to perfection. It's A masterpiece that proved too ambitious for critics. Baz dazzles us with his marvelous cinematography of a lush location. Nicole Kidman gives one of her finest performances yet and Jackman plays his rugged rider to perfection. It's weird, cheesy and cliche but what more do we expect from Baz. The best film of the year by a mile! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KathyS.Jan 3, 2009
Really enjoyed this! For a long movie, it engages and entertains! Looooove Hugh!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveM.Jan 9, 2009
I have to give this a 10. The people that are giving this move a 1 or 0 must have missed the entire movie. The kid in the movie deserves to share an Oscar with Heath in my humble opinion. He was just outstanding. Great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinMar 15, 2009
Very Enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ElliotP.Mar 29, 2009
One story folded into another, seemingly without end. Maybe not great cinema, but fascinating just the same. Acting was excellent, and, if that is not enough, then the movie is worth your nickel for the camera work alone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MargotNov 27, 2008
Yes, the movie is a tad long and you think it is going to end several times before it actually does, but I still enjoyed watching it the whole time. The movie was engaging and funny and beautiful to watch. It wasn't perfect, but it was Yes, the movie is a tad long and you think it is going to end several times before it actually does, but I still enjoyed watching it the whole time. The movie was engaging and funny and beautiful to watch. It wasn't perfect, but it was enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kevinl.Dec 23, 2008
Loved it! even though im an aussie and was weary of watching this movie after listening to critics reviews.. must see if ur a sucker for titanic love stories.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CatherineH.Dec 2, 2008
Glad I didn't fall under the spell of the critics assessment and went to see it. Thoroughly enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonyO.Dec 8, 2008
Basically the movie is romantic fun, and very scenic, if a little too long. All the pretentious post-modern analysis on show on this site completely misses the point. For Australians, there is all sorts of national iconography to delve into, Basically the movie is romantic fun, and very scenic, if a little too long. All the pretentious post-modern analysis on show on this site completely misses the point. For Australians, there is all sorts of national iconography to delve into, but for the rest of us, this is epic romance in an exotic locale, with hunky men and gorgeous women doing what comes naturally. Baz Luhrmann's use of hyper-realism at the beginning is probably a bit OTT for most viewers, but this is no big deal. At least it is an attempt to stimulate the viewer with something a little different.. The best comparison would be with "Pearl Harbor "(which was a real turkey). By contrast, "Australia" is a masterpiece. As an aside, I am really surprised at the spite and vitriol this movie has generated. Is this some kind of inherent prejudice of many people against Australians? Go figure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AstridI.Feb 23, 2009
A beautifully made film that taps into so much range: romance, action, music, culture, history. The actors give it their all and the story is construed well, as is its telling. It contains a tremendous amount of movie magic though certainly A beautifully made film that taps into so much range: romance, action, music, culture, history. The actors give it their all and the story is construed well, as is its telling. It contains a tremendous amount of movie magic though certainly none that demeans the imagination nor heart. It's a perfect film in my opinion, one of the best from 2008. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayH.Feb 27, 2009
Most definitely fits the term "sprawling epic". Incredible cinematography, art direction, costumes, visual effects etc. It is a beautiful film. The acting is good - especially Nicole Kidman in one of her best performances. It is overlong, Most definitely fits the term "sprawling epic". Incredible cinematography, art direction, costumes, visual effects etc. It is a beautiful film. The acting is good - especially Nicole Kidman in one of her best performances. It is overlong, but rarely boring. Very entertaining. The first half is much better than the second half. What it lacks in originality it makes up for in grandeur. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlanDApr 18, 2009
Great acting and a good glimpse of the late 19th century Australia's treatment of aboriginals. Loved Nichole Kidman.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Nov 24, 2008
It's melodramatic. It's predictable. It's a little Harlequin Romance. Yes. All true. But did it still pull at my heartstrings and keep me entertained the entire time? Absolutely. Not even the most hardened cynic could fail to It's melodramatic. It's predictable. It's a little Harlequin Romance. Yes. All true. But did it still pull at my heartstrings and keep me entertained the entire time? Absolutely. Not even the most hardened cynic could fail to be moved by the charming young orphan boy who is the narrator. Oh, and the cattle stampede scene is spectacular. See it - despite the flaws. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillyS.Nov 26, 2008
As hard as Australia tries to be that Grand Opulent epic love story/western/war movie/social drama, in twenty years Gone With The Wind, Dr. Zhivago and Reds will still be the ones brought up in conversations. Australia is a little of each- As hard as Australia tries to be that Grand Opulent epic love story/western/war movie/social drama, in twenty years Gone With The Wind, Dr. Zhivago and Reds will still be the ones brought up in conversations. Australia is a little of each- beautiful to look at, good acting, a stampede cliffhager (literally) and a aborigine child with a psychic connection to his all knowing grandfather who is also the films narrator. It's a very good movie that just keeps pushing itself to be a great movie but it won't be mentioned in those conversations 20 years from now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ErichHNov 27, 2008
Luhrmann creates a sentimental, sometimes sappy, engaging epic-big ride, which is great fun and satisfies. Though by no means a masterpiece, I enjoyed myself and got lost up in this Wagnerian length Opera.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisM.Nov 30, 2008
Hugh Jackman is outstanding. The epic scenes (bombing of Darwin, the cattle stampede scene) are breathtaking). That little boy is just amazing. The cinematography, the most gorgeous one I've ever seen. In one word? MASTERPIECE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeFNov 30, 2008
An old-school feel that was ultimately, quite enjoyable...WHYwe go to the movies. Sure there were some occasional moments of cinematic "cheese" but seriously--who doesn't love cheese? It had romance, adventure, comic relief and action. An old-school feel that was ultimately, quite enjoyable...WHYwe go to the movies. Sure there were some occasional moments of cinematic "cheese" but seriously--who doesn't love cheese? It had romance, adventure, comic relief and action. It felt like you could have swapped out John Wayne in the lead and no one would have noticed; Cecil B. DeMille, big screen fun. And as one that JUST watched "Fight Club" on DVD for the first time (a interesting movie but jeez--what a dark story), I can say I like "Australia" even more. Movies are supposed to be fun, eh? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SlavisaM.Dec 12, 2008
I thought it was a really good Baz Luhrmann film. I really enjoyed all the technical aspects of the film - beautiful cinematography, excellent sound and music and costumes and art direction. I even like the visual effects. Nicole Kidman did I thought it was a really good Baz Luhrmann film. I really enjoyed all the technical aspects of the film - beautiful cinematography, excellent sound and music and costumes and art direction. I even like the visual effects. Nicole Kidman did a really good performance and so did a few other supporting characters. Definitely a worthy film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidS.Dec 13, 2008
Action, Romance, Beautiful Cinematography. Australian Western with a twist. Hugh Jackman, Nicole, and Brandon Walters are wonderful together.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexK.Dec 19, 2008
The critics have dropped the ball on this one. Australia is epic and beautiful and best of all is fantastically entertaining. Follow your heart and watch it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattC.Dec 23, 2008
This is the best movie of the year! Don't listen to the critics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JobertA.Dec 24, 2008
Old-fashioned Hollywood moving making. Less flashy than Baz Lurhmans's previous film Moulin Rouge!, but more ambitious and epic and scope. The final act falters a bit (and makes this film close to 3 hours), but the first two thirds are Old-fashioned Hollywood moving making. Less flashy than Baz Lurhmans's previous film Moulin Rouge!, but more ambitious and epic and scope. The final act falters a bit (and makes this film close to 3 hours), but the first two thirds are fun, shameless entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigN.Dec 24, 2008
Wow! This is a great movie, beyond the Rainbow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathrynCDec 28, 2008
Bloody fantastic - I have seen it twice - Baz is brilliant. Critics go to blazes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomasK.Dec 30, 2008
I was ready to appreciate this movie, and I wasn't disappointed. It has everything; The scenery leaves a sense of wonder; The characters go beyond the shallow stereotype that is so common today; The story covers all the bases, rich in I was ready to appreciate this movie, and I wasn't disappointed. It has everything; The scenery leaves a sense of wonder; The characters go beyond the shallow stereotype that is so common today; The story covers all the bases, rich in humor, anger, fear, love, adventure, and even a touch of magic. Brandon Walters as a young "Creamy" boy, ( half white-half aboriginal), is worth the price of admission. Hugh Jackman and Nicole Kidman are wonderful together. If you allow yourself, this movie will sweep you away, and leave you craving for more just like it. I would give it a 10, but there are no such things as 10's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyDec 4, 2008
I saw this movie in a packed theater. Word of mouth seems to trump the poor reviews by the professional critics. There will not be a dry eye in the house at the conclusion. Australia is almost like 2 movies in one. When you think it is over, I saw this movie in a packed theater. Word of mouth seems to trump the poor reviews by the professional critics. There will not be a dry eye in the house at the conclusion. Australia is almost like 2 movies in one. When you think it is over, it only just begins. The chemistry between Nicole and Hugh was tremendous. The scenery was breathtakingly beautiful as was the Outback countryside. Don't miss this movie or you will be sorry you did. Enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonG.Dec 7, 2008
I've seen plenty of epics and feel very comfortable saying this rates with the best of em.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanC.Dec 8, 2008
Best movie I've seen in many a year. This is what movies should be! It had everything, suspense, romance, a cultural component, an arch-villian and a stunning leading man. What's not to like!!?? Will see again in a couple of weeks Best movie I've seen in many a year. This is what movies should be! It had everything, suspense, romance, a cultural component, an arch-villian and a stunning leading man. What's not to like!!?? Will see again in a couple of weeks and probably buy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarolA.Dec 8, 2008
One of the most enjoyable movies I've seen in a long time. Don't understand the negativity in nitpicking. Just go and enjoy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveC.Jan 21, 2009
Long but not drawn out, with beautiful cinematography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RichR.Mar 12, 2009
I read only bad reviews of this before I saw it, and while I was watching it, at first, I was thinking Wow, this is dumb (even though I kind of like the kid). But slowly I realized this is a children's movie, and after that I started I read only bad reviews of this before I saw it, and while I was watching it, at first, I was thinking Wow, this is dumb (even though I kind of like the kid). But slowly I realized this is a children's movie, and after that I started liking it better and better. 8 is a weird score for me. When I comment on something, it's usually a 10 or a 0. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomS.Mar 16, 2009
As my wife told me, "it's a World War II western romance, what more could you ask for?" I loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KenB.Nov 27, 2008
Stunning visually, moving and heartelt. So clever and so many links to other films. Some critics just don't get it. Amazing film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DarleneR.Nov 28, 2008
I really liked this movie...Jackman was great...especially with his shirt off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeW.Nov 29, 2008
Perfect Holiday Movie. Not nearly as politically courageous as "Rabbit Proof Fence" but still a movie of great landscapes with enjoyable acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BonnieL.Nov 29, 2008
Beautiful movie that starts slow, but improves dramatically. I would see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TDKinDallasNov 29, 2008
Absolutely great time at the movies. Took my Mom and we both thought it was great. Do not pass this up because of the crappy previews ("There was a great sound like whoosh!"). Those original previews were taken out of context and made me not Absolutely great time at the movies. Took my Mom and we both thought it was great. Do not pass this up because of the crappy previews ("There was a great sound like whoosh!"). Those original previews were taken out of context and made me not want to go see it. I only went because I thought it would be the kind of movie she would enjoy and I was totally wrong. There were a few things that I would have liked different, but I also think it should have been rated R and had a woman to equal Huge's hotness factor. That would be very different, this is a "family" movie. Check it out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BradCNov 29, 2008
Loved it! Thoroughly engaging movie that is well worth the price of admission.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MadalenaL.Dec 12, 2008
Enchanting!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanielS.Dec 25, 2008
An ok film, nowhere near the best, but it should be a one time watch for all Australians.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
bclover94Jun 17, 2012
I love this movie!! Only downside is its a little too long...................................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Sh4rk82Dec 3, 2013
Certainly you can not say that is a masterpiece but is a good movie well drafted. It is enough long but rarely the storytelling is heavy to follow. In my opinion it must have at least the sufficiency. I am not agree with the generalCertainly you can not say that is a masterpiece but is a good movie well drafted. It is enough long but rarely the storytelling is heavy to follow. In my opinion it must have at least the sufficiency. I am not agree with the general metacritic score. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FireOccatorJun 25, 2016
The visuals are the best part of this movie. It delivers Australia, sadly or luckily, without the bugs and snakes. The story is great, most of the time, however there are a couple of moments that make it dive. The characters are unique. TheThe visuals are the best part of this movie. It delivers Australia, sadly or luckily, without the bugs and snakes. The story is great, most of the time, however there are a couple of moments that make it dive. The characters are unique. The soundtrack sometimes is atmospheric and sometimes it's bland and boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
notsolittlejonFeb 12, 2013
An overall decent film, but I felt that the film tried to squeeze far too many elements in, and the almost-3-hour-long film left me feeling like each scene was far too rushed. It was definitely more of a cowboy-type movie that I wasAn overall decent film, but I felt that the film tried to squeeze far too many elements in, and the almost-3-hour-long film left me feeling like each scene was far too rushed. It was definitely more of a cowboy-type movie that I was expecting, but that didn't detract from the film for me at least. It was not at all what I expected, however, just from seeing a trailer for it--for better and for worse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyStephensAug 30, 2013
Epic!! Nicole Kidman and Hugh Jackman were absolutely perfect for these roles. Another highly underrated movie. It's stunning, enjoyable, funny, epic!!! I am impressed! Baz Luhrmann is a talent!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SimpleReviewzApr 29, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To start out, this movie didn't deserve a 7. It's more like a 6.5 to 6.9 area. That being said, it means that overall I did kinda enjoy this flick, but alot of things about it bothered and frustrated me. By the way, I saw this movie in school without even knowing about it! Moving on, Australia seems like it's got it all, right? Amazing actors, beautiful country/scenery, touching story at times,long running time, sounds great eh? That's the thing. Australia is a little too ambitious at times, and that's what kept it from being great or better. I love to talk about the actors and actresses in my movies, and like I said, they're almost perfect. Hugh Jackman couldn't be better. Only one that wasn't incredibly good was Nullah, but we'll talk about HIM later. Now we move on the core, the story....which...isn't very good. The main conflict is that all the "good guys" are trying to get all their cattle over to this place to get wealth. This lasts about a little more than half of the flick. Then, it moves on to romance, and WWII fighting. It's so jumbled and jumps from 1 thing to the next. Most of the themes are pretty generic, too. Now we move on to the things that are VERY frustrating about this movie. Another big theme of the story is "good guy vs evil guy". No, it's not a bloody war. It's in that "cattle" part of the movie. Also, this movie has one of those endings like, "oh no we can't let this character die because he's so lovable". GENERIC, LAME, come on! We're in the 21st century and seeing this stuff in movies just makes people feel kinda sick. That being said, Australia isn't a total trainwreck. Some parts of the movie I really did enjoy and so will you. It's just that the rest isn't up to par, and like I said, it's a little too ambitious for its own good. Go see it if you're interested, but don't spend more than 5 dollars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews