Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 198 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Australia is an epic and romantic action adventure, set in that country on the explosive brink of World War II. In it, an English aristocrat travels to the faraway continent, where she meets a rough-hewn local and reluctantly agrees to join forces with him to save the land she inherited.Australia is an epic and romantic action adventure, set in that country on the explosive brink of World War II. In it, an English aristocrat travels to the faraway continent, where she meets a rough-hewn local and reluctantly agrees to join forces with him to save the land she inherited. Together, they embark upon a transforming journey across hundreds of miles of the world's most beautiful yet unforgiving terrain, only to still face the bombing of the city of Darwin by the Japanese forces that attacked Pearl Harbor. [Twentieth Century Fox] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Cammila Albertson
    88
    Australia goes for the absolute limit in terms of scope. And let's not be coy -- size may not matter, but it still helps.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    80
    Australia is a shameless—and shamelessly entertaining--pastiche. It works because Luhrmann, a true believer in movie-movie magic, stamps it all with the force of his own extravagant, generous personality.
  3. A testament to movie love at its most devout, cinematic spectacle at its most extreme, and kitsch as an act of aesthetic communion.
  4. 50
    You know something's amiss when you're in the middle of a picture that runs under three hours and you're tempted to whip out your cellphone and send friends a text message that reads "Send food."
  5. Really should have been made 60 years ago. It would have been timelier, with its tale of life in the remote north of that country during World War II. The juicy overacting, stereotypes and dramatic exaggerations would have been more in keeping with the style of the Golden Age of Hollywood.
  6. All in all, Australia is so damnably eager to please that it feels like being pinned down by a giant overfriendly dingo and having your face licked for about three hours: theoretically endearing but, honestly, kind of gross.
  7. Australia shows all the signs of having been a labor of love for director Baz Luhrmann. One problem: It's his love, and the audience's labor.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 82
  2. Negative: 16 out of 82
  1. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    Unashamedly epic. Unabashedly romantic. Unforgettably touching. Baz Luhrmann delivers THE underrated film of the noughties. Due to theUnashamedly epic. Unabashedly romantic. Unforgettably touching. Baz Luhrmann delivers THE underrated film of the noughties. Due to the enormous hype following the movie-musical extravaganza of Moulin Rouge!, Australia suffered a case of critic tall-poppy syndrome, in which it seemed the film was doomed for universal criticism before anyone had laid eyes on it. However, if one watches this with an openness and emotion availability, they'll find an unforgettable journey. Luhrmann's direction is impeccable and unique, and Nicole Kidman and Hugh Jackman's chemistry is electrifying. The character of Nullah is one of the absolute standouts, rounding out a stellar cast. I can not stop the tears from flowing every time I watch this film - Australia should be up there with the best of them! Expand
  2. AlexK.
    Dec 19, 2008
    10
    The critics have dropped the ball on this one. Australia is epic and beautiful and best of all is fantastically entertaining. Follow your The critics have dropped the ball on this one. Australia is epic and beautiful and best of all is fantastically entertaining. Follow your heart and watch it! Expand
  3. ShammySham
    Mar 19, 2009
    9
    Some people are oblivious to the facts, and while everyone has the right to their own opinions, this movie is far from crap. Sure Nicole Some people are oblivious to the facts, and while everyone has the right to their own opinions, this movie is far from crap. Sure Nicole Kidman, wasn't the best actress for job in some people's eyes, but if the movie isn't your type doesn't matter who filled the role. I think the signs are powerful here, and those who don't know their world history by now, have real thick skulls. This movie can be seen as a slave narrative. So there are to sides of understanding: The indigenous people (aborigines) and the Caucasians, or more clarified, the british prisioners, solders, and thieves of the early centuries. These people were the perfect storm to destroy the native people of the fine land we call Australia. The land maybe different, but the idea remains the same: May ye rape, burn and pillage, until there is nothing left. The white man has truly done a fine job. But as the story goes, in the end....you can't stop fate no matter how hard you try. You can never make what doesn't belong to your people yours. I may never see it in my lifetime, but what belongs to the native people must stay within their grasp. That is how it was meant to be. No man nor religion has the right to erase a culture of people. Expand
  4. MadR.
    Jan 2, 2009
    8
    Walters was simply amazing and the rest of the cast, excluding kidman, were excellent as well. The movie had anough going for it that it kept Walters was simply amazing and the rest of the cast, excluding kidman, were excellent as well. The movie had anough going for it that it kept me interested the whole way and due to the acting of the acters, largely walters, you really did care about what happened. The only propblems, and they werent to big, were kidman and some of the corny parts, which are expected in a romance movie such as this, but dont have to be enjoyed. Expand
  5. Feb 12, 2013
    7
    An overall decent film, but I felt that the film tried to squeeze far too many elements in, and the almost-3-hour-long film left me feelingAn overall decent film, but I felt that the film tried to squeeze far too many elements in, and the almost-3-hour-long film left me feeling like each scene was far too rushed. It was definitely more of a cowboy-type movie that I was expecting, but that didn't detract from the film for me at least. It was not at all what I expected, however, just from seeing a trailer for it--for better and for worse. Expand
  6. Jillbo
    Mar 20, 2009
    5
    A rather average film. Romanticised history of British colonisation and Aboriginal genocide, then becomes even shallower through the love A rather average film. Romanticised history of British colonisation and Aboriginal genocide, then becomes even shallower through the love story! It makes Australia (the place) look good though. Expand
  7. Tricklas
    Nov 29, 2008
    0
    This is tied for worst movie ever with The Aviator. Melodrama in the hands of Tarsem or Darren Aronofsky is refreshing and gorgeous. In the This is tied for worst movie ever with The Aviator. Melodrama in the hands of Tarsem or Darren Aronofsky is refreshing and gorgeous. In the hands of Lurhmann it's a train wreck of epic proportions. Lurhmann essentially wanted to make Gone With the Wind for Australia's stolen generation and failed horribly on all fronts. Why couldn't we just keep Rabbit-Proof Fence as the feather in our collective cap? See The Fall or The Fountain instead. Stay far away from this heaping pile of abnormal, unoriginal kangaroo sh*t. Expand

See all 82 User Reviews

Trailers