Avatar

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2915 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. NunoV.
    Jun 19, 2010
    2
    Absurdely overrated. cgi masturbation with a lackluster plot and ridiculous neo-hippie fairy-tale.
  2. MattN.
    May 23, 2010
    3
    Great visuals and effects, but thats simply all that Avatar has to offer. No story, viciously bad overacting and dialogue older than Sigourney Weaver herself. Very boring and far too long.
  3. DaltonO
    Jun 14, 2010
    3
    Eh, yeah its all 3D, yeah its got allot of special effects and costs allot, yeah its got blue alien boobs, but other than that there is nothing here. Terrible cliche, hole-filled plot leaves you bored. Its kind of amazing how you can have such a crappy plot and waste 4 hours on it. After you watch it you think its good at first, but that is just an effect from the CGI and 3D. Soon you Eh, yeah its all 3D, yeah its got allot of special effects and costs allot, yeah its got blue alien boobs, but other than that there is nothing here. Terrible cliche, hole-filled plot leaves you bored. Its kind of amazing how you can have such a crappy plot and waste 4 hours on it. After you watch it you think its good at first, but that is just an effect from the CGI and 3D. Soon you will realize how lame it is. "the Eywa sees you!" ugg soooo cheesy. Expand
  4. Sep 14, 2010
    3
    I legitimately have no idea how this film has been getting so many positive reviews. Someone once said great films were a combination of technical innovation and artistic achievement. While Avatar certainly nails the technical side, it's artistic half leaves a lot to be desired.

    A by-the-numbers cookie-cutter plot with poor writing and awful dialogue.
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    3
    Visually, this film dazzles and amazes. Story- this film is an overly preachy and overly long and an overblown film. I really didn't like it at all. My opinion. There you go. Oh and the 3D, made me sick.
  6. Oct 5, 2014
    0
    This is the worst movie i have ever seen. if there was a lower review then 0 then i would have put that. if i got a copy of this movie i would set it on fire and dance on its ashes
  7. juand
    Dec 20, 2009
    0
    Too bad they couldn't afford good writers--the budget was blown on eye candy, but the message is the same old tired anti-Western nihilist propaganda.
  8. MiKE
    Dec 18, 2009
    0
    The special effects, are great. But the movie is nothing more then eye candy, also I found it extermely boring to watch. Small plot with ALOT of filler. See "dances with wolves" and just imagine that being set 200 years into the future and that is exactly what you get! There are numerous silly/dump ideas thought out the whole movie. I really enjoyed Camerons movies from the past, But this The special effects, are great. But the movie is nothing more then eye candy, also I found it extermely boring to watch. Small plot with ALOT of filler. See "dances with wolves" and just imagine that being set 200 years into the future and that is exactly what you get! There are numerous silly/dump ideas thought out the whole movie. I really enjoyed Camerons movies from the past, But this is the worst one. Expand
  9. Bill
    Dec 18, 2009
    0
    I have not yet seen it, but does this smack of Hollywoods' attempt to bash the US military again? The timing of Iraq and the making of this film cannot be a coincidence.
  10. Feb 5, 2011
    0
    Awfully clichedyl, horribly acted and scripted and stupidly over-hyped. Also lead to about two weeks of non-stop mindless gibberish from stupid 12 year-olds who seem to think that making a ridiculously high budget immediately makes a film brilliant.
  11. Dec 26, 2013
    1
    3 hours of absolute drivel. I admire the fantastic visuals and the technology, animation, bright colours and scenery. But this is exactly what a movie SHOULDN'T be. It's the direct equivalent of games like Crysis 2; all about fancy graphics but no real substance behind all the nice coat of paint. Avatar has some good action scenes and looks great as an advert for a HD TV, but as a movie it3 hours of absolute drivel. I admire the fantastic visuals and the technology, animation, bright colours and scenery. But this is exactly what a movie SHOULDN'T be. It's the direct equivalent of games like Crysis 2; all about fancy graphics but no real substance behind all the nice coat of paint. Avatar has some good action scenes and looks great as an advert for a HD TV, but as a movie it is a fail. Not only is it the most predictable movie I have ever seen, it's also the most disappointing. It seems like it was made to appeal to people that have no standards and will literally watch anything regardless of its story. If I want nice graphics, I buy a gaming PC and experience them first hand. If I watch a movie, I want to be entertained or engaged in a passive experience. There is no comedy, no moral, no philosophy, no story. The entire plot can be summarised in about 2 sentences. It portrays humans as the bad guys to appeal to people's emotions, but ignores reality. It's completely crap designed for people with low intelligence. Expand
  12. Aug 10, 2013
    0
    This is Pocahontas in space, literally look it up, it's the same plot just with different character names and it's in space. Moreover, it has numerous plot holes and makes the natives out to be perfect, when they are not. The largest and most glaring plot hole was the ending, when the spirit of the plant life or something brought in all the wild animals to attack the humans, even when theThis is Pocahontas in space, literally look it up, it's the same plot just with different character names and it's in space. Moreover, it has numerous plot holes and makes the natives out to be perfect, when they are not. The largest and most glaring plot hole was the ending, when the spirit of the plant life or something brought in all the wild animals to attack the humans, even when the entirety of the preceding movie explicitly said on numerous occasions that this does NOT happen ever, for any reason. The second being 'Unobtainium', the stupidest sounding plot device ever and a large deposit just happens to be under a tree that the natives live in. Despite the numerous sub-surface mining techniques available, the CEO or whoever decided to just attack the natives for no reason, just to show the contrast between the 'perfect' natives and the 'evil' humans (white people). This movie is anti-colonialism, clearly, but it's so one-sided it's not even funny.

    Really, this is just James Cameron's attempt to create his own Fursona. The single most expensive piece of self-insert Mary-sue furry fanfiction ever created, and people treat it like it's some sort of iconic movie.

    People think this is good because it's pretty, but once you look past the glamour and see this from an objective perspective, you can see that this is bad. A rip off of Pocahontas. 3-D is a stupid gimmick anyway, they should knock that off.

    0/10
    For reasons so blatantly obvious most people miss it.
    Expand
  13. Oct 13, 2013
    3
    I have come to call this movie what it is, a cliche and stock character ridden bucket of pure crap fished from the toilet that is Holywood. no effort whatsoever was made to make this anything but a quick cash grab by one of the most worthless directors out there next to Michael Bay. all this movie is is a bunch of pretty colors with a story ripped from the likes of Ferngully andI have come to call this movie what it is, a cliche and stock character ridden bucket of pure crap fished from the toilet that is Holywood. no effort whatsoever was made to make this anything but a quick cash grab by one of the most worthless directors out there next to Michael Bay. all this movie is is a bunch of pretty colors with a story ripped from the likes of Ferngully and Pochahontas. now that may enough for some people but not me. if not for the special effects I would give it 1 Expand
  14. Sep 7, 2015
    3
    This movie was all gimmicks and no substance. Designed to be a eye candy for the sake of 3D, it is basically a boring adventure about humanity being unpredictable. The problem is that the fancy 3D and CGI cant keep your attention for long once you are accustomed to it and if you take that out of the movie, you are really left with bad sci-fi flick about "duality." "Human duality" isThis movie was all gimmicks and no substance. Designed to be a eye candy for the sake of 3D, it is basically a boring adventure about humanity being unpredictable. The problem is that the fancy 3D and CGI cant keep your attention for long once you are accustomed to it and if you take that out of the movie, you are really left with bad sci-fi flick about "duality." "Human duality" is probably the 2nd most boring subject of a movie behind all the "coming of age" stories. The military and science are once again the bad guys while the aliens are innocent and good. I really dont mind movies that portray humans as bungholes (because frankly, as a society, we are), but its getting old and this movie did not even try to be original. There were no cliffhangers, no interesting characters, dialog was mundane and the plot was predictable. The entire movie could have been done in 15 minutes. Expand
  15. Mar 18, 2011
    1
    Absolutely hands down, the most over hyped/ over rated movie in history. I saw this movie when it came out in theatres and i hated it so much i had to vent as soon as i became a member of metacritic. sure the special effects are good, but thats not enough to salvage the terrible acting and dreadful script. the entire story is borrowed from other hollywood movies. it disgusts me how muchAbsolutely hands down, the most over hyped/ over rated movie in history. I saw this movie when it came out in theatres and i hated it so much i had to vent as soon as i became a member of metacritic. sure the special effects are good, but thats not enough to salvage the terrible acting and dreadful script. the entire story is borrowed from other hollywood movies. it disgusts me how much people love this movie. to me this shows just how simple and shallow movie goers are. the aliens were just friggen annoying to listen to and to look at. Ive never fallen asleep in the theater, but this got me pretty close. just a boring, eye candy laced, piece of **** movie. Expand
  16. JoshuaB.
    May 16, 2010
    2
    The visuals were amazing, but who cares? The story went nowhere. This movie is quite simply nothing more than heavy-handed environmentalism under the guise of a lackluster alien romance. The acting was atrocious, the characters were dull, and the middle three fourths of the movie could have been removed and no plot development would have been lost. These things are the calling cards of The visuals were amazing, but who cares? The story went nowhere. This movie is quite simply nothing more than heavy-handed environmentalism under the guise of a lackluster alien romance. The acting was atrocious, the characters were dull, and the middle three fourths of the movie could have been removed and no plot development would have been lost. These things are the calling cards of terrible movies. Expand
  17. Jan 24, 2012
    2
    Visually, Its extremely impressive and I was shocked that James Cameron didnt win the oscar for best director because of the visual effects in the film and the ground breaking use of CGI as well. However, The film sucks. The acting is terrible, the plot not only sucks but is a complete rip off of Dances With Wolves, and its incredibly boring (I was only entertained in 3 very short parts inVisually, Its extremely impressive and I was shocked that James Cameron didnt win the oscar for best director because of the visual effects in the film and the ground breaking use of CGI as well. However, The film sucks. The acting is terrible, the plot not only sucks but is a complete rip off of Dances With Wolves, and its incredibly boring (I was only entertained in 3 very short parts in the entire film). Sorry but the visuals can only get you so far in my book and this film just doesnt cut it imo. Expand
  18. Jan 4, 2013
    0
    Most overrated movie in history. The only good thing about Avatar is the visuals. The world is pretty to look at but.. well, there's nothing there. The story is horrible, the characters annoying, and the scenarios they find themselves in absolutely ridiculous
  19. Feb 26, 2011
    0
    james cameron, stop trying to shoving life lessons down my throat and wow me with visual effects, make a good movie without sam worthington your boyfriend.
  20. Aug 13, 2011
    3
    Avatar is an agonizing movie with amazing visuals and incredible use of 3-D and motion capture technology. In the purely technical sense, this film is a masterpiece; however, in terms of story, characters and ability to develop the plot, the film fails miserably. Every single character in this film is not only uninteresting but undeveloped. Think about it... what do you REALLY know aboutAvatar is an agonizing movie with amazing visuals and incredible use of 3-D and motion capture technology. In the purely technical sense, this film is a masterpiece; however, in terms of story, characters and ability to develop the plot, the film fails miserably. Every single character in this film is not only uninteresting but undeveloped. Think about it... what do you REALLY know about Jake or Nyteri? The dialogue is also horrendous. At times my jaw dropped at how uninspired the lines were. "I see you" in particular feels cheesy and overused. Then there is the awful love story. It is without a doubt one of the worst development of a couple I have ever seen in a film. We go from Nyteri HATING Jake to them occasionally nudging each other and laughing to...well them doing under the tree of souls or whatever it's called. I know months have passed in the story, but only 45 minutes have passed to us, and nothing in the film explained or showed how their feelings grew for each other. Giving someone a meaningful look once doesn't count as developing a couple. To top it off, this movie is excruciatingly long. By the time you see it for the second or third time you will be constantly checking your watch. It just won't end! The film could have easily cut 20-30 minutes. While there are a lot of pretty images, the plot and characters are pretty ugly. Expand
  21. StevenM
    Jun 6, 2010
    3
    It was fun to watch, but I hated how recycled it is. Great visuals, but James Cameron could have done so much more with the plot line, characters, and general movie. I was disappointed to say the least.
  22. Jun 19, 2011
    3
    If Pocahontas was a 3D live action film starring blue people, this would be the result.
  23. Dec 19, 2010
    3
    Nowhere near as good as people make it out to be. The storyline is average, the characters aren't very well developed and the acting is poor but, apparently, this doesn't matter to anyone because in these modern times a movie seems to be able to get around based on special effects alone and Avatar is a prime example of this. It made a lot of money because it was visually great despite howNowhere near as good as people make it out to be. The storyline is average, the characters aren't very well developed and the acting is poor but, apparently, this doesn't matter to anyone because in these modern times a movie seems to be able to get around based on special effects alone and Avatar is a prime example of this. It made a lot of money because it was visually great despite how bad it was a movie. I'm very happy that this crap didn't pick up a Best Picture Oscar, it didn't deserve it. Expand
  24. Apr 9, 2011
    0
    this movie is garbage. and whoever thinks that it is the "Best movie of all time" remove the special effects and see how holds up to the title of "best move of all time". as for the special effects... the 3d was good in some parts but overall unnecessary, it could have got by without it. as for story... could be wrapped up in an hour rather then three hours. the action only showed up atthis movie is garbage. and whoever thinks that it is the "Best movie of all time" remove the special effects and see how holds up to the title of "best move of all time". as for the special effects... the 3d was good in some parts but overall unnecessary, it could have got by without it. as for story... could be wrapped up in an hour rather then three hours. the action only showed up at the "big battle" at the end other then that it was useless filler. overall: not worth the money or time

    (on a side note why did it look like all the aircraft look like it was ripped out of Halo?)
    Expand
  25. JonathanS
    May 29, 2010
    1
    This movie has terrible dialogue, poor acting, and a plot an 8 year old could write. Go watch Pocahontas if you want to see this movie; same story, better everything.
  26. LarryS
    May 26, 2010
    1
    A typical piece of American shoot up em sensless piece of trash. Cameron has stolen ideas from a range of films and merged them into a silly unbelievably juvenile plot. Lots of violence and a story with nothing to say. Writing and dialogue are amateurish with characters that seem to be taken from comic books. The only thing that makes this film remotely watchable are the special effects. A typical piece of American shoot up em sensless piece of trash. Cameron has stolen ideas from a range of films and merged them into a silly unbelievably juvenile plot. Lots of violence and a story with nothing to say. Writing and dialogue are amateurish with characters that seem to be taken from comic books. The only thing that makes this film remotely watchable are the special effects. Movie making at it's worst. Shame on the critics who didn't have the courage to pan this gross waste of money. Expand
  27. Seamus
    Jun 11, 2010
    0
    Pieac of crap, vidja games have been doing better worlds for years and they don't cost a trillion dollars. Cameron's worst movie to date, totally predictable.
  28. Oct 17, 2010
    3
    While a beautiful movie to look at, the intense CGI cannot hide the hopelessly derivative story and generally poor acting. While the world of Pandora is nice to look at, it is poorly thought out. All the characters are caricatures of the worst movie stereotypes. We have the badass soldier chick, the angry army commander, the hero who just wants to do the right thing, and the industryWhile a beautiful movie to look at, the intense CGI cannot hide the hopelessly derivative story and generally poor acting. While the world of Pandora is nice to look at, it is poorly thought out. All the characters are caricatures of the worst movie stereotypes. We have the badass soldier chick, the angry army commander, the hero who just wants to do the right thing, and the industry crazed maniac.

    It took James Cameron 2h 40m to tell a story that Disney managed to tell in half the time.
    Expand
  29. DerekS
    Jun 17, 2010
    2
    Cameron was reminiscent of Michael Bay's dedication to special effects in this incredibly clichéd and (with regards to plot and characters) lackluster film. The characters all filled positions of clichés, leaving nothing unexpected through the entire plot. I found myself predicting lines and events before they occurred, a feat which never leads to a good feeling about a Cameron was reminiscent of Michael Bay's dedication to special effects in this incredibly clichéd and (with regards to plot and characters) lackluster film. The characters all filled positions of clichés, leaving nothing unexpected through the entire plot. I found myself predicting lines and events before they occurred, a feat which never leads to a good feeling about a movie. The special effects were phenomenal, but everything else seemed less important. Expand
  30. PeteG
    Jun 11, 2010
    2
    I didn't see Avatar at the cinema - something about it just said to me it would be all style no substance. So I waited until it was released on DVD and bought it a couple of days after it was released, and it sat on the shelf for several weeks until one quiet evening when there was nothing on TV worth watching. Well, it was exactly as I feared: a visual spectacle with absolutely no I didn't see Avatar at the cinema - something about it just said to me it would be all style no substance. So I waited until it was released on DVD and bought it a couple of days after it was released, and it sat on the shelf for several weeks until one quiet evening when there was nothing on TV worth watching. Well, it was exactly as I feared: a visual spectacle with absolutely no substance to back it up. The plot is puerile, derivative and overladen with the kind of crass, heavy-handed environmental messages you'd expect if an eight year old had written the script. Characterisation was paper thin and the actors mostly seemed on auto-pilot, either hamming it up or as wooden as the Na'vi's beloved trees. I'm all for no-brainer entertainment, but frankly I felt insulted. Mr Cameron, spend some of your frankly ridiculous budget on a decent script next time please. The score of 2 is for the admittedly great visuals and entertaining final reel battle only - the rest of the film scores a big fat zero. Expand
  31. JasonW
    May 15, 2010
    1
    Cool visuals, but awful acting and a horrendous plot. I couldn't even make it through the entire movie. I walked out of the theater because I was so bored and could predict the entire movie after the first 10 minutes.
  32. phil
    May 15, 2010
    0
    This movie was a piece of crap. A predictable storyline that plays on some of the most racist character archetypes I've ever seen in a modern film. People say, OMG, the film looks so realistic, who cares about the plot? Yea, so did Jurassic Park, and that film came out 17 years ago, but still managed to have a unique story, with great characters, and a good Aesop. Industries give This movie was a piece of crap. A predictable storyline that plays on some of the most racist character archetypes I've ever seen in a modern film. People say, OMG, the film looks so realistic, who cares about the plot? Yea, so did Jurassic Park, and that film came out 17 years ago, but still managed to have a unique story, with great characters, and a good Aesop. Industries give consumers what we demand. If we are complacent with the tripe they give us, that's all we will get. If all we ask is a film look really good, and nothing else, that's all we will get. A film that looks good, and nothing else. I enjoy seeing films with good stories, and if we don't continue to demand such films, we won't get them. Expand
  33. Aug 20, 2010
    3
    When I sit down to watch a movie, I'd appreciate not being beaten over the head with political agenda bull. Storyline was not only thin and shallow but also extremely distasteful, and purely immature. To me it felt like liberals vs. war-mongering conservatives; childish name calling and finger pointing. Again: when I watch a movie, I find it insulting when it's attempting to brainwash meWhen I sit down to watch a movie, I'd appreciate not being beaten over the head with political agenda bull. Storyline was not only thin and shallow but also extremely distasteful, and purely immature. To me it felt like liberals vs. war-mongering conservatives; childish name calling and finger pointing. Again: when I watch a movie, I find it insulting when it's attempting to brainwash me with political agenda whether it be extreme right or left. On to the next point. The distasteful bits would be the fact that we're supposed to cheer for the aliens---While they slaughter human beings. Now this could have worked if say a large portion of the marines rallied together (representing the audience) to protect Pandora, and the bloodthirsty Corporal (and why is he so bloodthirsty? Any reason?) could have his group of evil followers. And at the end, the humans find negotiation with Pandora and 'wisen' up to their ways (because we violent humans are utterly stupid according to the story. Yes, that means you). No, the movie didn't even do that. It gave no room for redemption, and practically insults you on a personal level. Next Point: If the evil business man was really after wealth, he would've stopped the operation to gather ore. He would've gone after the wealth of medical, biological, and sociological knowledge which would have made him insanely more rich than mining would. And finally, there is the point that many people have brought up: It's a total rip-off. Pocahontas, Dances with Wolves, Fern Gully, Aliens, and Storm Troopers have all been brought up which means the storyline is over used. Movie was highly overrated, critics either don't know their sh*t, are politically biased, or are too gutless to truly critique the film. A great big middle finger to the message of the film, and much love to the artists who made such a beautiful world. Shame on those who shallowly rated the film based upon appearances. Expand
  34. Jan 4, 2011
    0
    If I wanted to watch cartoons I most definitely would watch ROBOT CHICKEN. One or two of my in-laws INSISTED that the characters in this were REAL (not computer generated real but REAL!!!) That is the type of intellectual hooraying for this gigantic waste of my time that makes me squirm. OK the effects were decent. But I DO NOT watch movies for their effects. The story was adolescent andIf I wanted to watch cartoons I most definitely would watch ROBOT CHICKEN. One or two of my in-laws INSISTED that the characters in this were REAL (not computer generated real but REAL!!!) That is the type of intellectual hooraying for this gigantic waste of my time that makes me squirm. OK the effects were decent. But I DO NOT watch movies for their effects. The story was adolescent and the "camera work" was marginal at best. Try watching cinema and not a 3d cartoon, you might find your artistic integrity improved. Expand
  35. Sep 8, 2010
    1
    Man when i first went to the theater i though it was going to be great people told me it was one of the best movies of all time so i went and check it out but in the end of the film it turned out to be **** all that was good of the film was the cgi and i dont care for 3d the story was **** the acting was **** the writing was **** the screenplay was **** everything was **** and sadly to sayMan when i first went to the theater i though it was going to be great people told me it was one of the best movies of all time so i went and check it out but in the end of the film it turned out to be **** all that was good of the film was the cgi and i dont care for 3d the story was **** the acting was **** the writing was **** the screenplay was **** everything was **** and sadly to say the directing was **** i love james cameron growing up but he has lost his touch Expand
  36. Dec 8, 2011
    3
    Easily the most overrated film of all time. Visually it loses its impressiveness rather quickly into the film and while it may look great in 3D, In 2D is rathers boring. Not to mention the film's plot is a rip off of Dances With Wolves (Seriously check that out). Also the acting is rather disapointing and sometimes terrible. Overall its visually impressive in 3D but thats it.
  37. PeterV
    Dec 18, 2009
    0
    It was a great movie! The visual effects were stunning, the story was a bit longer than it needed to be, but I'd rather have a complete story go a bit beyond than to have a story that has some major holes in it. The message was great and the acting/3D universe was, again, amazing. I rarely go to movies in the theaters any more (because it costs so much) but this one will warrant It was a great movie! The visual effects were stunning, the story was a bit longer than it needed to be, but I'd rather have a complete story go a bit beyond than to have a story that has some major holes in it. The message was great and the acting/3D universe was, again, amazing. I rarely go to movies in the theaters any more (because it costs so much) but this one will warrant another viewing on the big screen. I saw it in the 3D version and it was definitely worth the extra $3.00. Go and enjoy this Action/War/Love/Sci-Fi Movie, you won't regret it. Expand
  38. MaleficarD
    Dec 21, 2009
    0
    Dances with Smurfs, Pocahontas3D: take your pick. Then add in some hypocritical white guilt and you have Avatar. Cameron is a fine film-maker, but this is just dross.
  39. JoeC
    Dec 21, 2009
    3
    One small step forward for filmmaking technology, one giant leap backward for writing, acting, directing...oh you know.
  40. Aug 29, 2010
    0
    It looks great and there is enough here to support video games and theme parks for years to come. Shame they forgot the story, script and acting. Cameron hasn't made a decent movie since Aliens (neither has Weaver). What a tragic waste - no wonder it was completely overlooked at the awards nights
  41. Nov 11, 2010
    0
    A complete waste of good earned money and time. I would have rather watched a racoon cross the street for 3 hours . FINAL: a deliberate piss of trash
  42. Mar 5, 2011
    2
    Dances with Wolves meets Fern Gully The Last Rainforest with a dose of white arrogance. Yes, it's pretty to look at sometimes, but past the fluffy eye candy visuals there's very little substance to this movie. I found myself rooting for the supposedly "evil" colonel halfway through the movie and hoping he would just blow away Jake Sully and his tree hugging friends and end the movie. AtDances with Wolves meets Fern Gully The Last Rainforest with a dose of white arrogance. Yes, it's pretty to look at sometimes, but past the fluffy eye candy visuals there's very little substance to this movie. I found myself rooting for the supposedly "evil" colonel halfway through the movie and hoping he would just blow away Jake Sully and his tree hugging friends and end the movie. At least the Colonel is honest and does exactly what he says he's going to do, and isn't a double talking snake in the grass like Jake Sully. This movie does a horrible injustice to fans of James Cameron, serious movie goers and manages to fall short of all the hype and positive reviews that proceeded me seeing it. So badly does it fail at being the cinematic masterpiece that so many people seem to hail it as, that I would consider it to be the most disappointing movie I've ever seen. This isn't a cinematic masterpiece, it's cinematic dreck. Expand
  43. Dec 14, 2011
    0
    God i hated this movie. it was stupid, boring and stupid. it didnt make sence in so many areas. its only endearing quality was when we left it running at home with the sound down. it makes a pretty screensaver!
  44. Mar 19, 2012
    2
    This score is totally for the visuals and nothing else. I admit they were amazing and groundbreaking. The plot is stupid. The characters are stereotypical. There is way to much 'environment is gud' message shoved in your face. I will never watch this movie again.
  45. Jul 3, 2012
    0
    AM I THE ONLY ONE THAT HASN'T BEEN LOBOTAMISED?
    Technically good but other than that it was a cowboys vs Indians movie and you know it, I'm just desperately thankful James Cameron's only working on doco's (which I won't have to care about), or unfortunately the sequal to this....
  46. Sep 6, 2013
    0
    I absolutely hated this movie because there was no plot too much romance and the CGI was a little over the top, probably the WORST MOVIE OF THE DECADE
  47. AmandaG.
    Jun 2, 2010
    0
    This movie was straight up god awful. The story was consistently boring throughout the movie and it had a totally unoriginal plotline. The characters got on my nerves to no end (especially Sigourney Weaver's character) and we're supposed to believe that this far in the future, they are still using crappy wheelchairs that look the same from the ones in the 70's? Being a This movie was straight up god awful. The story was consistently boring throughout the movie and it had a totally unoriginal plotline. The characters got on my nerves to no end (especially Sigourney Weaver's character) and we're supposed to believe that this far in the future, they are still using crappy wheelchairs that look the same from the ones in the 70's? Being a person who is not at all impressed by just special effects, I was extremely disappointed in this film and James Cameron. Expand
  48. Nov 27, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is the most overrated piece of politically correct, anti-American garbage I've ever seen. This movie is about a man who betrays his own country! How is that "heroic" or worthy of admiration???So, it has cool special effects. Whoopty-f***ing-do! I can't believe this piece of crap movie was so beloved by everyone. Apparently, pretty colors and cool explosions are all the typical modern consumer cares about. How sad. Expand
  49. Aug 18, 2010
    0
    the only reason i kind of enjoyed this movie is because my brother was repeating the lines in engrish, yes engrish. i really hated how they portrayed the marines, and when i heard that some people in the theaters clapped when they watched the marines getting killed, i felt like shooting james cameron in the face while saying "yea get some mofo!!!!" seriously i want to enlist in thethe only reason i kind of enjoyed this movie is because my brother was repeating the lines in engrish, yes engrish. i really hated how they portrayed the marines, and when i heard that some people in the theaters clapped when they watched the marines getting killed, i felt like shooting james cameron in the face while saying "yea get some mofo!!!!" seriously i want to enlist in the marines, and i have a friend in training right now, i do take offense to that. this movie also rips off so many different movies such as dances with wolves. unfortunatly my brother bought this movie on blu ray instead of hurt locker which was a much better movie. to all you obsessors, dont get mad at me, because the critics agree with me!!!!! hell yea!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  50. brandons
    Jun 15, 2010
    0
    Very poor story line up,copied action sequences and early buzz that " director took 4 golden years to make so called visually epic and eventually a very very high budget film", its just a shame that a very well known director had to do all above things to gain the #1 spot once again in highest gross all time. I would rather choose to watch the dark knight once again.
  51. Neving
    Jan 2, 2010
    2
    yes, the special effects are amazing in this movie, however the '3d' seemed unnecessary, they are very 'flat' for what they are, nothing flying at your face or dancing around the cinema, would have been better to watch in 2d. the movie uses its visual brilliance as a crutch to support the poor script, plot, acting, and casting that made up the rest of the movie, yes, the special effects are amazing in this movie, however the '3d' seemed unnecessary, they are very 'flat' for what they are, nothing flying at your face or dancing around the cinema, would have been better to watch in 2d. the movie uses its visual brilliance as a crutch to support the poor script, plot, acting, and casting that made up the rest of the movie, unfortunately with no success, the limited script gives the cast nothing to work with. however the fundamental mistake in this film is that because of the terrible script and plot it creates one dimensional characters that the audience dont particularly care about at all, not to mention the poorly disguised 'human-ness' of the alien species. the movie is seeped in irony, pushing themes of environmentalism and anti-technological sentiment, funny then that this is the most expensive movie ever made. Expand
  52. Feb 5, 2011
    2
    Everything about this movie is cliched and boring other than the half-decent CGI. I actually hated it. I highly advise you never to rent or even skim through this movie on television...it's a pile of ****
  53. May 27, 2013
    1
    Everything is horrible. This alien, antagonist, helicopters, both protagonist and antagonist's weapons, arrow, spear, robot, giant knife, story. What a waste of money. What's worst is there will be a sequel.
  54. chads
    Jan 2, 2010
    2
    Gets 2 points for some okay graphics. That much of the hype is true. But beyond that this is a TERRIBLE movie. Main problem is the obvious anti-American tree-hugging liberal agenda. The military is bad, the environment is good. Corporate expansion is bad, pagan tree-love is good. Etc and so forth, spitting out one liberal lie after another. Maybe next time they should get a real American Gets 2 points for some okay graphics. That much of the hype is true. But beyond that this is a TERRIBLE movie. Main problem is the obvious anti-American tree-hugging liberal agenda. The military is bad, the environment is good. Corporate expansion is bad, pagan tree-love is good. Etc and so forth, spitting out one liberal lie after another. Maybe next time they should get a real American to write the script and not some atheist French gy. Expand
  55. AnnieW.
    May 22, 2010
    3
    The best movie ever made.
  56. AlexC.
    Jan 3, 2010
    3
    While Avatar's $238 million budget delivers beautiful visual effects, to be sure, it feels like not a single nickel was spent on creating believable dialogue or likable characters. On these grounds, it may be the most uneven film ever created.
  57. Richard
    Dec 21, 2009
    0
    You have to be kidding. The movie was awful and long. No suspense as the acting was bad. All the fancy colors and sounds were for kids with ADD. Much ado about nothing. Overhyped by the professional shills.
  58. Apr 30, 2011
    0
    The huge amount of positive users reviews on here kills all of my hope about humanity. This movie was an ego show by Cameron, and the only good part was the innovative effects. The story was terrible, and tried WAY too hard to send a message. The acting was garbage, and the world had no depth. Everyone I went to see it with was very excited about it....but half fell asleep in theThe huge amount of positive users reviews on here kills all of my hope about humanity. This movie was an ego show by Cameron, and the only good part was the innovative effects. The story was terrible, and tried WAY too hard to send a message. The acting was garbage, and the world had no depth. Everyone I went to see it with was very excited about it....but half fell asleep in the theater and the rest of us were laughing the whole time at how stupid it was. If the money that it took to make this movie was spent on something productive, we'd be on freaking Mars right now. Sit.kip Expand
  59. Jul 19, 2011
    2
    I thought that this movie was really bad. It was incredibly long and barely kept my attention. The special effects were cool but that doesn't change the fact that all James Cameron did was make a futuristic remake of Dances With wolves. NOT a good movie.
  60. Jul 4, 2012
    3
    Cameron hit on special effects but other than that, unoriginal in story and slightly boring. Too much CGI for my liking. Very well done effects but the story falls short of new and/or exciting.
  61. Mar 8, 2013
    1
    Avatar is the poster child for 3D cinema yet its other qualities are distinctly one dimensional, apparently 200 million dollars can't buy you a good story. Anyone who watches this is in for a headache-inducing three hours that they will never get back.
  62. Capt.Shiner
    Jan 14, 2010
    2
    Of all the great things this movie does visually and the expense incurred from it, I cannot believe the dialogue and story were not in the budget. There is no charecter that retains any sympathy at the end of the movie. The Na'vi could have been deaf and dumb and the story would have moved along at the exact same pace. The dialogue continually detracted from the Pandora "experience". Of all the great things this movie does visually and the expense incurred from it, I cannot believe the dialogue and story were not in the budget. There is no charecter that retains any sympathy at the end of the movie. The Na'vi could have been deaf and dumb and the story would have moved along at the exact same pace. The dialogue continually detracted from the Pandora "experience". And the story was so tired and cliched, they must have been watching The Wizard of Oz, Dances WIth Wolves and some generic war movie simultaniously while banging on their keyboards like monkeys. I wish big-budget movies didn't have assume that everyone has a fifth grade education to gather the largest audience as possible. Expand
  63. GC
    Jan 2, 2010
    1
    Avatar is visually stunning. For that I give it a 10. Avatar is also painfully unoriginal with the hackneyed themes of corporate greed and an evil military. For that I give it a (-9). It is little more than a sci fi version of Dances With Wolves. James Cameron spent $300M telling the same story Kevin Costner has already told, but Costner's version was much better and most certainly Avatar is visually stunning. For that I give it a 10. Avatar is also painfully unoriginal with the hackneyed themes of corporate greed and an evil military. For that I give it a (-9). It is little more than a sci fi version of Dances With Wolves. James Cameron spent $300M telling the same story Kevin Costner has already told, but Costner's version was much better and most certainly less expensive to make. You'd think for $300M Cameron could have bought an original story. I guess $300M don't buy what it used to buy. Expand
  64. KateS.
    Feb 3, 2010
    0
    This is the most overrated film from the decade a mediocre movie with poor history (copy of Mayas) with a Pocahontas romance and copy robots from Terminator and Full Metal Panic, really crap movie a stupid things to make money, congrats Mr Cameron, all the world turn stupid with this sh*tty movie.
  65. ConnorC
    Feb 8, 2010
    2
    This movie is boring as hell and basically an expensive mix of pocahontas,aliens,and a few others.Looks good but that does not make a good movie.
  66. NoeC
    Mar 10, 2010
    3
    It is a mediocre movie at best. I got bored and couldn't believe any of the characters. Frankly, the special effects weren't all that much.
  67. ArielY
    Apr 13, 2010
    3
    This movie had nice animation, but what a waste: the story line felt used. It reminded me of Pocahontas or Fern Gully or something. Also, the characters didn't have enough depth to them.
  68. DonnieB
    Apr 3, 2010
    2
    First, I must say these graphics where groundbreaking and the best I've seen in many years. However, that is the only good thing I can say about this movie. The acting was atrocious, the storyline was neither original or interesting, and the movie just kept going. I did not care about the giant lemers (Navi) at all. The war was unrealistic. It was just a drag that I hated going along with.
  69. AaronJ
    Apr 4, 2010
    3
    I did not enjoy this that much... I went into this expecting an overated, overadvertised crap fest. It was overrated and it was overadvertised and it did look amazing. But i get enjoyment of a good story libe as well. There was more original plot in an episode of Teletubbies than this. It was way too long, way to gimiky, with an overused and cheesy "save the rainforest" interspieces love crap.
  70. BertrandG.
    Dec 20, 2009
    3
    Pocahontas in 3D.
  71. HarryP.N.
    Jan 10, 2010
    3
    I saw this in 3D earlier today. I do not understand what all the hype is about....and definitely is overrated. The 3 is a result of the amazingly breathtaking computer generation and animation. The 3d was not very well utilized...most of the time it did not seem like it was in 3d, and could be watched without glasses. Only one part really seemed like 3d, when the sully cripple guy threw I saw this in 3D earlier today. I do not understand what all the hype is about....and definitely is overrated. The 3 is a result of the amazingly breathtaking computer generation and animation. The 3d was not very well utilized...most of the time it did not seem like it was in 3d, and could be watched without glasses. Only one part really seemed like 3d, when the sully cripple guy threw the grenade in the aircraft engine, and it bounced by your face. This was the second longest movie i've ever been to, and the most drawn out. the first 2 hours are soooooo boring i almost fell asleep, if it were not for the bright flashy bioluminescence of the plants i probably would have. These first hours were like watching the animal planet or discovery channel, just sit back and look at a bunch of plants. however, every once and a while, there is a cool plant that catches your attention. the cat na'vi people are very strange, and distracted from the movie. everything else was so different and fairy tale like, then they use blue human people with tails, and cat ears. so unoriginal!!!! there are tons of blue alien races. onto the plot: reminded me of one of those movies on the sci fi channel, your macho army commander gone mad with power, an unethical greedy ceo behind it all, nerdy scientists that try to stop army guy and a marine that wants to save the day. the dialogue was horrendous, i could predict every word that was going to come out of their mouthes...and the dry humor was terrible, the retarded kid in the theater that laughed at the jokes and come-backs did not help either. the plot can be guessed when sully teams up with army commander guy (see how bad this is? i saw the movie today and dont even know their names...) to gather info on the cat people. i will not reveal any spoilers, but the plot was very stereotypical. the last 30 minutes, the epic battle scene, was the best part and saving grace of the movie. i dont think the 2 hours of plants was worth 30 mins of action though. in conclusion this review was not meant to discourage you from seeing it, by all means go see it for the animation and try to help james cameron make some of his investment back, but buy a large tub of popcorn and drink, you will need it and may find it more interesting than the movie. Expand
  72. LeahR
    Jan 1, 2010
    1
    This movie gets a 1 just because it inspired Sam R.'s review.
  73. gunnarf
    Jan 13, 2010
    0
    This movie sucks so much balls its not even funny. I can't really see anything good about it aside from the visuals. It just proves that most people who vote on this website are f***ing retarded.
  74. JohnA
    Jan 14, 2010
    2
    Avatar is basically an overly long, expensive B-movie. The plot is not just simplistic and cliche, but lazy even... apparently audiences won't realize it's mean to bomb the holy tree unless a "daisy cutter" is involved. The movie is littered with cheap references like that, presumably to curry favor with left-wing critics who otherwise would admit the story is awful. So far as Avatar is basically an overly long, expensive B-movie. The plot is not just simplistic and cliche, but lazy even... apparently audiences won't realize it's mean to bomb the holy tree unless a "daisy cutter" is involved. The movie is littered with cheap references like that, presumably to curry favor with left-wing critics who otherwise would admit the story is awful. So far as the special effects: it really should not enhance the rating in my view because they are only impressive in comparison to today's standards. In 10 years, Avatar won't look like anything special, and the movie will gradually fade into obscurity. Expand
  75. W.Parish
    Jan 15, 2010
    1
    cool images. the movie itself boring in most parts, long and tedious. Lots of social and environmental messages. Did not care for the characters as much as I wanted to.
  76. JH
    Jan 2, 2010
    3
    Excellent special effects spoiled by a recycled storyline and even worse script. Very predictable, another American/human who saves the entire planet and indigenous people. Full of cheesy unoriginal cliches.
  77. johnd
    Jan 25, 2010
    2
    Unlikeable protagonist, thin characterizations, naive metaphorical comments on Iraq/environmentalism/imperialism, over-saturated colour palette and headache inducing 3D. Avatar is a juvenile, gimmick-fest. Sorry, but it's true.
  78. DJP.
    Jan 29, 2010
    3
    The 3D effects were the star of this movie. It is visually beautiful and amazing. The storyline was good but could have been even better. What was severely missing was the debth of personality of the characters. Any great movie always has debth to the characters - you learn their personality and their quirks, you even begin to feel emotion. You laugh when they laugh and cry when they cry. The 3D effects were the star of this movie. It is visually beautiful and amazing. The storyline was good but could have been even better. What was severely missing was the debth of personality of the characters. Any great movie always has debth to the characters - you learn their personality and their quirks, you even begin to feel emotion. You laugh when they laugh and cry when they cry. I didn't really feel any emotion during Avatar. There were many deaths in the movie and I didn.t feel any real sadness, which is odd for me. Even though the 3D was great it really overtook the characters and got in the way. I wanted to see a great movie but instead saw a great video game. Expand
  79. ArnoldH
    Jan 3, 2010
    2
    A total bore!!! After about ten minutes of this, I had to struggle to stay awake. Special effects alone do not make a movie.
  80. DuaneA.
    Jan 7, 2010
    3
    Scrolling down the list of reviews I can see only really 2 types; educated, informed opinions and dumb people. The dumb people win out by sheer masses and will flood this area with comments like "fantastic" "amazing" etc... These are dumb people after all. They cannot possibly give good advice on films (or much else) because they haven't the werewithal to do so. Thus I encourage Scrolling down the list of reviews I can see only really 2 types; educated, informed opinions and dumb people. The dumb people win out by sheer masses and will flood this area with comments like "fantastic" "amazing" etc... These are dumb people after all. They cannot possibly give good advice on films (or much else) because they haven't the werewithal to do so. Thus I encourage anyone who considers themselves to be intelligent (the type that would NEVER see a Micheal Bay picture) to read only the reviews that are under 5 stars. I give 3 because I'm a little generous and because I thought some of the action was okay. Avatar is a really big, bright, colorful, noisy and dumb movie. It is 3 parts Dances With Wolves, mixed with 2 parts Pocohontas and add a generous splash of every cliche action film out there. As a picture - it stinks (the script and dialogue could only have been written by a 4th grader). As a 3d spectacle? Yawwwwnnn.... Hardly revolutionary. After 10 minutes you'll barely notice. Anyway, if you're dumb (chances are - yes) you'll probably love it enough to post your idiotic- 1/4 baked ideas up on websites like this. Expand
  81. RF
    Jan 9, 2010
    0
    Film was awful on so many levels. District 9 was so much better and cost about $30 million to makev versus $500 million. Dialogue bad, characters cliche, did not care about anybody in this movie. Wanted to see the entire moon blown up in a Michael Bay or Roland Emmerich style apocalypse, because the characters were so boring. The special effects were great, but that does not make up for Film was awful on so many levels. District 9 was so much better and cost about $30 million to makev versus $500 million. Dialogue bad, characters cliche, did not care about anybody in this movie. Wanted to see the entire moon blown up in a Michael Bay or Roland Emmerich style apocalypse, because the characters were so boring. The special effects were great, but that does not make up for awful story telling. Besides, District 9s special effects were great too. And the digital FX with live action sequences was not as good as Lord of the Rings did it 8 years ago. This is the movie equivalent of the Emperor's New Clothes. No one wants to admit how awful this movie is. Expand
  82. ST
    Feb 1, 2010
    1
    Avatar. Avapoo more like. Over-extended toy commercial. Vastly unimaginative and boring. Plot and ideas all derivative. The much-trumpeted special effects looked like all other cgi - would have preferred it if all the aliens were made out of papier-mache. 3D utterly pointless. The 1 point here is actually for performances - the baddy, who was done with gusto, and the hero, who was mildly Avatar. Avapoo more like. Over-extended toy commercial. Vastly unimaginative and boring. Plot and ideas all derivative. The much-trumpeted special effects looked like all other cgi - would have preferred it if all the aliens were made out of papier-mache. 3D utterly pointless. The 1 point here is actually for performances - the baddy, who was done with gusto, and the hero, who was mildly intriguing at the beginning when not a ten foot blue cat-thing. Utterly unable to fathom why people think this is great or indeed any different from so many other cgi-driven action movies nowadays. Expand
  83. CS
    Feb 1, 2010
    0
    Awful, formulaic, racist. Tarzan meets Dances with Wolves but come on-its 2010. Can think of 500 mil better uses for the $$ this cost.
  84. NithinM
    Feb 15, 2010
    2
    Liked the movie only for its visual effects. Otherwise, I did not find it engaging or entertaining. The storyline is weak.
  85. JonS
    Feb 1, 2010
    3
    Is it good entertainment? Yes. Is it a great movie? No, not even close. I walked into the movie expecting a great visual spectacle with an average plot and character development. The plot, acting and character development was so bad, however, that it frankly ruined the technological experience. I would recommend seeing it in theaters just for the visuals. This movie is not going to Is it good entertainment? Yes. Is it a great movie? No, not even close. I walked into the movie expecting a great visual spectacle with an average plot and character development. The plot, acting and character development was so bad, however, that it frankly ruined the technological experience. I would recommend seeing it in theaters just for the visuals. This movie is not going to translate well onto the small screen. and after 5-7 years, after the technology is dated, people will look back and think "this is a truly awful movie." There is nothing beyond the visuals to carry this ham-fisted outing. Once the technology is no longer new, this will definitely not stand the test of time. I would think with $250 million, James Cameron would have bought himself a script. Expand
  86. DarioP
    Feb 21, 2010
    0
    Unoriginal movie, visuals are not the only thing to weight.
  87. TomM
    Feb 6, 2010
    3
    Thought this movie was totally overrated and not original at all. The script sucked and the blue people were just annoying.
  88. AmyC
    Feb 6, 2010
    2
    All I want to say is that I fell asleep (seriously!) after the 3rd time the guy (I can't even remember his name) went into that time capsule. The whole movie is just a joke, and an insult to human intelligence. I didn't like Titanic at all but it was at least better than this one. T2 is my all-time favorite.... but is this the same James Cameron, or a different one?
  89. steveng
    Feb 7, 2010
    2
    Didn't work for me. no emotional connect with the characters. hate the creature design. why do all the animals have six legs? If all the major life forms have six limbs, the blue guys should have too. They wasted the opportunity to use 3d well. It lost its effect for me 20 min in. lame.
  90. DylanL
    Feb 8, 2010
    3
    I first wanted to leave after 40 minutes. That's when I was certain that there was nothing that rang true in the world being created. As if James Cameron could conceive of a any alternative form of evolution. It was half-baked ideas, one after another, and characters that were simply cringe worthy. The whole cinema laughed when the aliens started a trance dance to some gaudy Enya I first wanted to leave after 40 minutes. That's when I was certain that there was nothing that rang true in the world being created. As if James Cameron could conceive of a any alternative form of evolution. It was half-baked ideas, one after another, and characters that were simply cringe worthy. The whole cinema laughed when the aliens started a trance dance to some gaudy Enya music to make the simplistic pantheistic god do some magic. The laugh wasn't as loud as when the aliens has sex. Cameron created a big extravaganza. But the world and characters he created lacked any complexity to the point that you could simply not buy any of it. The graphics were nice. The story, by any measure, was embarrassing. Expand
  91. craigs
    Mar 6, 2010
    1
    What do James Cameron and George Lucas have in common? They've both spent ridiculous amounts of money on over-hyped and extremely over-rated pieces of garbage. The difference is, at least Lucas didn't steal ideas from at least a half dozen other films that tell the same story much better. Pocahontas, FernTree Gully, Last of the Mohicans, The Last Samurai, BraveHeart. I What do James Cameron and George Lucas have in common? They've both spent ridiculous amounts of money on over-hyped and extremely over-rated pieces of garbage. The difference is, at least Lucas didn't steal ideas from at least a half dozen other films that tell the same story much better. Pocahontas, FernTree Gully, Last of the Mohicans, The Last Samurai, BraveHeart. I won't bother explaining the plot because if you've seen any of the above mentioned films, then you've seen Avatar. And they didn't require flashy CGI to get their story across. Speaking of which, the CGI is by far the highlight of the movie, but even that was eclipsed by Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within. And that movie is 10 years old now. The characters are one dimentional, the acting is fairly poor and the dialogue would surely make Lucas himself cringe. At least he can sleep peacefully in the knowledge that he didn't create the word "unobtainium". How the hell the actors managed to say that with a straight face I'm buggered if I know. Also, the movie makes such a blunt statement about our environmental woes and war in Iraq (we will fight terror with terror) that it is, quite frankly, an insult to the audiences intelligence. If I want to hear people make political and environmental statements I'll watch the news thanks very much. I go to the movies to escape real world issues, not to be beaten over the head with them. Cameron also stole a couple of sound effects from the dinosaurs in Jurassic Park. Can you pick them? Expand
  92. EddieM
    Mar 7, 2010
    1
    It earned its single star by terminating. A pandering, cliche-ridden, overblown bore.
  93. JaredH.
    Dec 19, 2009
    2
    The CGI is fabulous and truly takes us to a new dimension in movie making. Having said this the rest of the movie was awful. Mr. Cameron takes us to a far away place called Pandora. In 3D we see a world unlike anything found on Earth. So far so good. Then the movie completely disintegrates when a Marine Corporal crippled in war becomes one of the aliens {Avatar} or should I say natives. The CGI is fabulous and truly takes us to a new dimension in movie making. Having said this the rest of the movie was awful. Mr. Cameron takes us to a far away place called Pandora. In 3D we see a world unlike anything found on Earth. So far so good. Then the movie completely disintegrates when a Marine Corporal crippled in war becomes one of the aliens {Avatar} or should I say natives. It is unfathomable that Mr. Cameron can conceive a world we've never seen but his storyline is totally lame and predictable. Somewhere we've seen all this before. The Aliens are in fact thinly disguised as native Indians. The big bad capitalistic Americans {General Custer} invade their land for greed, make no attempt at negotiations, and destroy all their beauty. The American military fights with weapons in the year 2154 but nothing is NEW. The Aliens have just bows and arrows. If Dances With Wolves comes to mind yu now know the story. And the Marine Corporal {where was Kevin Costner} whose manta is to do and die switches sides for moral justice. And somehow this pawn is so brilliant that he's portrayed as the second coming of General Rommel {WW II}. No matter how great the special effects, and they are truly great, there's no excuse for such a paper thin plot in which the ending is known 5 minutes into the movie. $299.999 million spent on CGI animation and about a buck fifty for the script. Anyone giving this movie a perfect score of 10 for dialogue that could have been written by a five-year old must have had a lobotomy or checked their brains in at the door. Expand
  94. Beatrice
    Dec 20, 2009
    1
    Beautiful colors and sounds but as far as a story it was very poor. I'm amazed that everyone seems taken in by the bells and whistles but no one cares about anything else. Quite a commentary on the dumbing down of America.
  95. LionelT.
    Dec 25, 2009
    0
    This has to be a joke. Take away the 3D special effects and the move is laughable. Nothing memorable about it. Awful acting and story.
  96. sama.
    Dec 27, 2009
    2
    You people will all be pretty embarrassed in five or ten years when you look back and see just how crummy this movie is. the love story is like glass of lukewarm water with a little sugar in it, the story story is trite and half-cocked and the special effects while "good" were just barely up to date. this movie is stupid. the story was the shallowest possible excuse to combine lush You people will all be pretty embarrassed in five or ten years when you look back and see just how crummy this movie is. the love story is like glass of lukewarm water with a little sugar in it, the story story is trite and half-cocked and the special effects while "good" were just barely up to date. this movie is stupid. the story was the shallowest possible excuse to combine lush natural beauty cgi with big military blow up cgi. to entertain the ladies, cameron throws in some love story which also serves the cgi. the only character development takes place in the video log/voice over. the big blue cgi aliens never really do anything beyond running around the jungle and maybe flying around it. there have been better 3d movies. there will be better 3d movies. Expand
  97. billyj
    Jan 12, 2010
    0
    Way too long there is no story please don't see the movie only because of the special effects. don't even go see the movie. if you really want to see it rent it or buy the dumb movie there is no piont of seeing the movie is long, terrible, bad acting, and is nearly three hours along it starts stupid and it ends where their should be a begings so please skip this movie GO SEE Way too long there is no story please don't see the movie only because of the special effects. don't even go see the movie. if you really want to see it rent it or buy the dumb movie there is no piont of seeing the movie is long, terrible, bad acting, and is nearly three hours along it starts stupid and it ends where their should be a begings so please skip this movie GO SEE YOUTH IN REVOLT. Expand
  98. MarcK
    Jan 15, 2010
    3
    I saw the movie in 3D, and as a visual experience it's an amazing movie. My wife even swatted at one of the insects during the movie! Unfortunately, the storyline seemed like a clumsy rehashing of "Dances with Wolves". At least Kevin Costner wasn't in "Avatar"
  99. TaylorH
    Jan 18, 2010
    2
    I totally feel as though spending my 15 dollars was justified. This was a terrible movie but worth it to see in 3D.
  100. AlecB
    Jan 20, 2010
    0
    Horrible, cgi is ruining the movie industry. If you want to see an over-rated movie with no plot and terrible acting watch this movie.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. A fully believable, flesh-and-blood (albeit not human flesh and blood) romance is the beating heart of "Avatar." Cameron has never made a movie just to show off visual pyrotechnics: Every bit of technology in "Avatar" serves the greater purpose of a deeply felt love story.
  2. 100
    It's been twelve years since "Titanic," but the King of the World has returned with a flawed but fantastic tour de force that, taken on its merits as a film, especially in two dimensions, warrants four stars. However, if you can wrap a pair of 3D glasses round your peepers, this becomes a transcendent, full-on five-star experience that's the closest we'll ever come to setting foot on a strange new world. Just don't leave it so long next time, eh, Jim?
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Avatar is all-enveloping and transporting, with Cameron & Co.'s years of R&D paying off with a film that, as his work has done before, raises the technical bar and throws down a challenge for the many other filmmakers toiling in the sci-fi/fantasy realm.