User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2556 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 14, 2010
    3
    I legitimately have no idea how this film has been getting so many positive reviews. Someone once said great films were a combination of technical innovation and artistic achievement. While Avatar certainly nails the technical side, it's artistic half leaves a lot to be desired.

    A by-the-numbers cookie-cutter plot with poor writing and awful dialogue.
  2. Oct 17, 2010
    3
    While a beautiful movie to look at, the intense CGI cannot hide the hopelessly derivative story and generally poor acting. While the world of Pandora is nice to look at, it is poorly thought out. All the characters are caricatures of the worst movie stereotypes. We have the badass soldier chick, the angry army commander, the hero who just wants to do the right thing, and the industry crazed maniac.

    It took James Cameron 2h 40m to tell a story that Disney managed to tell in half the time.
    Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2011
    3
    If Pocahontas was a 3D live action film starring blue people, this would be the result.
  4. Nov 25, 2012
    4
    Avatar is no doubt my least favorite film of all time for one simple reason: it is everything wrong with Hollywood. Over-budgeted production cost, the lure of 3D to draw viewers, manipulative characters and political messages, and the complete lack of depth in the characters and story plague this beautiful looking film. To say that this film is bad would be a lie, but I despise this film so much due to it's one-dimensional characters and predictable and unoriginal story. James Cameron has done some great work in his career (The Terminator films, Aliens, [and even] Titanic), but Avatar is not among that prestigious list. Avatar only goes to prove that visual effects and action scenes do not guarantee a good film. For example, 12 Angry Men is one of the greatest films ever and it contains no action, CGI, and lacks multiple locations; the entire appeal of the film lies in its strong characters, dialogue, premise, and confrontations. Avatar lacks all these quintessential elements, and therefore suffers. Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is the most overrated piece of politically correct, anti-American garbage I've ever seen. This movie is about a man who betrays his own country! How is that "heroic" or worthy of admiration???So, it has cool special effects. Whoopty-f***ing-do! I can't believe this piece of crap movie was so beloved by everyone. Apparently, pretty colors and cool explosions are all the typical modern consumer cares about. How sad. Expand
  6. Aug 11, 2010
    4
    Looks good but painfully cliched. I for one would recommend a rent just to see lovely it does really look, but it doesn't take long to find how shallow the charachters truly are
  7. Dec 19, 2010
    3
    Nowhere near as good as people make it out to be. The storyline is average, the characters aren't very well developed and the acting is poor but, apparently, this doesn't matter to anyone because in these modern times a movie seems to be able to get around based on special effects alone and Avatar is a prime example of this. It made a lot of money because it was visually great despite how bad it was a movie. I'm very happy that this crap didn't pick up a Best Picture Oscar, it didn't deserve it. Expand
  8. Aug 13, 2011
    3
    Avatar is an agonizing movie with amazing visuals and incredible use of 3-D and motion capture technology. In the purely technical sense, this film is a masterpiece; however, in terms of story, characters and ability to develop the plot, the film fails miserably. Every single character in this film is not only uninteresting but undeveloped. Think about it... what do you REALLY know about Jake or Nyteri? The dialogue is also horrendous. At times my jaw dropped at how uninspired the lines were. "I see you" in particular feels cheesy and overused. Then there is the awful love story. It is without a doubt one of the worst development of a couple I have ever seen in a film. We go from Nyteri HATING Jake to them occasionally nudging each other and laughing to...well them doing under the tree of souls or whatever it's called. I know months have passed in the story, but only 45 minutes have passed to us, and nothing in the film explained or showed how their feelings grew for each other. Giving someone a meaningful look once doesn't count as developing a couple. To top it off, this movie is excruciatingly long. By the time you see it for the second or third time you will be constantly checking your watch. It just won't end! The film could have easily cut 20-30 minutes. While there are a lot of pretty images, the plot and characters are pretty ugly. Expand
  9. Jan 24, 2012
    2
    Visually, Its extremely impressive and I was shocked that James Cameron didnt win the oscar for best director because of the visual effects in the film and the ground breaking use of CGI as well. However, The film sucks. The acting is terrible, the plot not only sucks but is a complete rip off of Dances With Wolves, and its incredibly boring (I was only entertained in 3 very short parts in the entire film). Sorry but the visuals can only get you so far in my book and this film just doesnt cut it imo. Expand
  10. Mar 18, 2011
    1
    Absolutely hands down, the most over hyped/ over rated movie in history. I saw this movie when it came out in theatres and i hated it so much i had to vent as soon as i became a member of metacritic. sure the special effects are good, but thats not enough to salvage the terrible acting and dreadful script. the entire story is borrowed from other hollywood movies. it disgusts me how much people love this movie. to me this shows just how simple and shallow movie goers are. the aliens were just friggen annoying to listen to and to look at. Ive never fallen asleep in the theater, but this got me pretty close. just a boring, eye candy laced, piece of **** movie. Expand
  11. Apr 9, 2011
    0
    this movie is garbage. and whoever thinks that it is the "Best movie of all time" remove the special effects and see how holds up to the title of "best move of all time". as for the special effects... the 3d was good in some parts but overall unnecessary, it could have got by without it. as for story... could be wrapped up in an hour rather then three hours. the action only showed up at the "big battle" at the end other then that it was useless filler. overall: not worth the money or time



    (on a side note why did it look like all the aircraft look like it was ripped out of Halo?)
    Expand
  12. Jan 4, 2013
    0
    Most overrated movie in history. The only good thing about Avatar is the visuals. The world is pretty to look at but.. well, there's nothing there. The story is horrible, the characters annoying, and the scenarios they find themselves in absolutely ridiculous
  13. Aug 18, 2010
    0
    the only reason i kind of enjoyed this movie is because my brother was repeating the lines in engrish, yes engrish. i really hated how they portrayed the marines, and when i heard that some people in the theaters clapped when they watched the marines getting killed, i felt like shooting james cameron in the face while saying "yea get some mofo!!!!" seriously i want to enlist in the marines, and i have a friend in training right now, i do take offense to that. this movie also rips off so many different movies such as dances with wolves. unfortunatly my brother bought this movie on blu ray instead of hurt locker which was a much better movie. to all you obsessors, dont get mad at me, because the critics agree with me!!!!! hell yea!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  14. Feb 26, 2011
    0
    james cameron, stop trying to shoving life lessons down my throat and wow me with visual effects, make a good movie without sam worthington your boyfriend.
  15. Aug 20, 2010
    3
    When I sit down to watch a movie, I'd appreciate not being beaten over the head with political agenda bull. Storyline was not only thin and shallow but also extremely distasteful, and purely immature. To me it felt like liberals vs. war-mongering conservatives; childish name calling and finger pointing. Again: when I watch a movie, I find it insulting when it's attempting to brainwash me with political agenda whether it be extreme right or left. On to the next point. The distasteful bits would be the fact that we're supposed to cheer for the aliens---While they slaughter human beings. Now this could have worked if say a large portion of the marines rallied together (representing the audience) to protect Pandora, and the bloodthirsty Corporal (and why is he so bloodthirsty? Any reason?) could have his group of evil followers. And at the end, the humans find negotiation with Pandora and 'wisen' up to their ways (because we violent humans are utterly stupid according to the story. Yes, that means you). No, the movie didn't even do that. It gave no room for redemption, and practically insults you on a personal level. Next Point: If the evil business man was really after wealth, he would've stopped the operation to gather ore. He would've gone after the wealth of medical, biological, and sociological knowledge which would have made him insanely more rich than mining would. And finally, there is the point that many people have brought up: It's a total rip-off. Pocahontas, Dances with Wolves, Fern Gully, Aliens, and Storm Troopers have all been brought up which means the storyline is over used. Movie was highly overrated, critics either don't know their sh*t, are politically biased, or are too gutless to truly critique the film. A great big middle finger to the message of the film, and much love to the artists who made such a beautiful world. Shame on those who shallowly rated the film based upon appearances. Expand
  16. Jan 4, 2011
    0
    If I wanted to watch cartoons I most definitely would watch ROBOT CHICKEN. One or two of my in-laws INSISTED that the characters in this were REAL (not computer generated real but REAL!!!) That is the type of intellectual hooraying for this gigantic waste of my time that makes me squirm. OK the effects were decent. But I DO NOT watch movies for their effects. The story was adolescent and the "camera work" was marginal at best. Try watching cinema and not a 3d cartoon, you might find your artistic integrity improved. Expand
  17. Aug 26, 2010
    4
    The special effects, CG, and sound were awesome. Beyond the eye candy there is simply nothing here. As other reviewers have stated the story is cliched, and the director was trying to make an obvious political statement. I thought this detracted from the overall story. My wife was predicting plot lines and actor lines, and she never does that. The only part of the story that was not predictable were the huge plot holes throughout the movie. Expand
  18. Sep 8, 2010
    1
    Man when i first went to the theater i though it was going to be great people told me it was one of the best movies of all time so i went and check it out but in the end of the film it turned out to be **** all that was good of the film was the cgi and i dont care for 3d the story was **** the acting was **** the writing was **** the screenplay was **** everything was **** and sadly to say the directing was **** i love james cameron growing up but he has lost his touch Expand
  19. Nov 6, 2010
    4
    This movie gets a few points in my book for amazing special effects, attempting (ironically) an environmental/anti-corporate message, and a handful of exciting scenes. It is otherwise a trite and pointless exercise in box-office money making. Not only is it a pastiche of many other (better) films, but it is dumbed-down and toothless. The black and white morality, hokey 'spiritualism', and PG romance set to horrible adult contemporary music, screams "Disney!".
    On a purely technical note, some of the 'camera' work is suspect, especially those 'quick-zooms' or whatever they call them.
    I do not recommend this film to anyone above the age of ten.
    Expand
  20. Aug 26, 2011
    4
    Congratulations to the special effects and the graphics and the 3D! But, the movie itself is so ridiculous and cheesy. It's terrible. James Cameron can't write a good script. This could have been done a lot better. And, honestly, I'm not interested in watching sequels.
  21. Dec 8, 2011
    3
    Easily the most overrated film of all time. Visually it loses its impressiveness rather quickly into the film and while it may look great in 3D, In 2D is rathers boring. Not to mention the film's plot is a rip off of Dances With Wolves (Seriously check that out). Also the acting is rather disapointing and sometimes terrible. Overall its visually impressive in 3D but thats it.
  22. Aug 29, 2010
    0
    It looks great and there is enough here to support video games and theme parks for years to come. Shame they forgot the story, script and acting. Cameron hasn't made a decent movie since Aliens (neither has Weaver). What a tragic waste - no wonder it was completely overlooked at the awards nights
  23. Nov 11, 2010
    0
    A complete waste of good earned money and time. I would have rather watched a racoon cross the street for 3 hours . FINAL: a deliberate piss of trash
  24. Nov 11, 2010
    4
    8 is for the graphics
    0 is for the absolute lack of story originality

    It's a all visual and no story.
    Would not recommend this movie, and am glad I got it for free.
  25. Feb 13, 2011
    4
    Save yourself some money. Blow the dust off of your old Pocahontas V.H.S, plug that baby in and TADA! Without all the glamour its the exact same thing, whithout even spending a dime! Don't be fooled people.
  26. Feb 5, 2011
    2
    Everything about this movie is cliched and boring other than the half-decent CGI. I actually hated it. I highly advise you never to rent or even skim through this movie on television...it's a pile of ****
  27. Mar 5, 2011
    2
    Dances with Wolves meets Fern Gully The Last Rainforest with a dose of white arrogance. Yes, it's pretty to look at sometimes, but past the fluffy eye candy visuals there's very little substance to this movie. I found myself rooting for the supposedly "evil" colonel halfway through the movie and hoping he would just blow away Jake Sully and his tree hugging friends and end the movie. At least the Colonel is honest and does exactly what he says he's going to do, and isn't a double talking snake in the grass like Jake Sully. This movie does a horrible injustice to fans of James Cameron, serious movie goers and manages to fall short of all the hype and positive reviews that proceeded me seeing it. So badly does it fail at being the cinematic masterpiece that so many people seem to hail it as, that I would consider it to be the most disappointing movie I've ever seen. This isn't a cinematic masterpiece, it's cinematic dreck. Expand
  28. Jul 18, 2011
    1
    Good visual and sound effects, however Avatar has a weak screenplay, which seems to be a mix of Dance with Wolves, Pochahontas and Alien. James Cameron was giving so much attention to the visual and sound that he did totally forget about the artistic part, mainly the script. Received 3 Oscars: Cinematography, Art Direction and Visual Effects, but in Avatar, the Art Direction and the Cinematography are Visual Effects. So it received 3 Oscars for the same thing: Visual Effects. Expand
  29. Dec 14, 2011
    0
    God i hated this movie. it was stupid, boring and stupid. it didnt make sence in so many areas. its only endearing quality was when we left it running at home with the sound down. it makes a pretty screensaver!
  30. Mar 19, 2012
    2
    This score is totally for the visuals and nothing else. I admit they were amazing and groundbreaking. The plot is stupid. The characters are stereotypical. There is way to much 'environment is gud' message shoved in your face. I will never watch this movie again.
  31. Jul 3, 2012
    0
    AM I THE ONLY ONE THAT HASN'T BEEN LOBOTAMISED?
    Technically good but other than that it was a cowboys vs Indians movie and you know it, I'm just desperately thankful James Cameron's only working on doco's (which I won't have to care about), or unfortunately the sequal to this....
  32. Oct 30, 2012
    4
    Yes. The visuals were amazing... but that's about it. I seriously don't understand how people can call it the greatest movie of all time, the plot is weak.
    It's like a cardboard cut-out of a chocolate cake.
  33. Aug 10, 2013
    0
    This is Pocahontas in space, literally look it up, it's the same plot just with different character names and it's in space. Moreover, it has numerous plot holes and makes the natives out to be perfect, when they are not. The largest and most glaring plot hole was the ending, when the spirit of the plant life or something brought in all the wild animals to attack the humans, even when the entirety of the preceding movie explicitly said on numerous occasions that this does NOT happen ever, for any reason. The second being 'Unobtainium', the stupidest sounding plot device ever and a large deposit just happens to be under a tree that the natives live in. Despite the numerous sub-surface mining techniques available, the CEO or whoever decided to just attack the natives for no reason, just to show the contrast between the 'perfect' natives and the 'evil' humans (white people). This movie is anti-colonialism, clearly, but it's so one-sided it's not even funny.

    Really, this is just James Cameron's attempt to create his own Fursona. The single most expensive piece of self-insert Mary-sue furry fanfiction ever created, and people treat it like it's some sort of iconic movie.

    People think this is good because it's pretty, but once you look past the glamour and see this from an objective perspective, you can see that this is bad. A rip off of Pocahontas. 3-D is a stupid gimmick anyway, they should knock that off.

    0/10
    For reasons so blatantly obvious most people miss it.
    Expand
  34. Jul 18, 2013
    3
    Visually, this film dazzles and amazes. Story- this film is an overly preachy and overly long and an overblown film. I really didn't like it at all. My opinion. There you go. Oh and the 3D, made me sick.
  35. Sep 6, 2013
    0
    I absolutely hated this movie because there was no plot too much romance and the CGI was a little over the top, probably the WORST MOVIE OF THE DECADE
  36. Jun 18, 2011
    4
    The good thing about the film is the technical side of it, good acting and they even got Sigourney Weaver involved. Thats about it really, the bad side is the story. Its obvious what is going to happen, to be fairly honest its Pochahontas that has been altered, and is set in the future
  37. Aug 15, 2011
    3
    It's unfortunate James Cameron is such a delusional hippie. The premise (and funding) of the movie are remarkable; they could have done a lot with it. Instead we are lended to quite possibly the most non-believable plot of the decade. The acting is overdone, and they seemingly spent tens of millions of dollars on scenes where we are watching a bunch of blue idiots pray to a tree instead of using this money/time to further the plot and make it believable. Literally 1/4 of this movie is watching blue people do stupid, tribal crap in a forest. Come on. Expand
  38. Apr 30, 2011
    0
    The huge amount of positive users reviews on here kills all of my hope about humanity. This movie was an ego show by Cameron, and the only good part was the innovative effects. The story was terrible, and tried WAY too hard to send a message. The acting was garbage, and the world had no depth. Everyone I went to see it with was very excited about it....but half fell asleep in the theater and the rest of us were laughing the whole time at how stupid it was. If the money that it took to make this movie was spent on something productive, we'd be on freaking Mars right now. Sit.kip Expand
  39. Dec 10, 2010
    2
    The writing behind James Cameron's AVATAR is so god aweful that half way through the movie the only motavation I had to stay and watch is so that I could compile a list of reasons why I hate this movie. Every character in this movie is a cliche' or a stereotype such as The Austrailian-American Mariene, The Scientist, The War Hardened Badass, The Egotystical Buisinessman, and many more! And what little of a story AVATAR has is covered up by the horendous CGI. The technology behind the CGI is impressive but it is hardly artful often lacking patern and flow, or anything else visually appealing. Instead they overuse CGI in what can only be described as a head-ache indusing high contrast orgy. The movie is way too long as well. It would be nice if it served as a 10 minute tech demo, but the 3 hour embarassment to all things filmlovers truely value is less than nessary. In conclusion If you want to remain brain dead for 3 hours of your life and leave the theatere with no questions, need for thought, or questioning morality, watch avatar. If you truely value films, please skip this movie! Expand
  40. Dec 11, 2010
    1
    One point for phenomenal visual effects and a visual imagination that runs amok. As for the rest, the story line, and more importantly, the message it conveys, it is downright painful. The message being that of an all-powerful imperialistic, capitalistic and militaristic power being defeated by bows and arrows in a completely silly, unbelievable battle. Which in this day and age reminds one too much about the American empire projected into the future to the nth degree of violence and sheer stupidity, with all its arrogance and capitalistic values. A great message to the rest of the non American, non Western world . . . The irony is, it is made by a Canadian who comes from a country that is the opposite of imperialistic. If I didn't think that Cameron takes himself too seriously to do otherwise, I would think that he mocks America by using every cliché there is in American cinematography and serving it up to them as if to say: here, as ugly as that country's culture and values come. Expand
  41. Feb 5, 2011
    0
    Awfully clichedyl, horribly acted and scripted and stupidly over-hyped. Also lead to about two weeks of non-stop mindless gibberish from stupid 12 year-olds who seem to think that making a ridiculously high budget immediately makes a film brilliant.
  42. Jan 31, 2011
    3
    A shamelessly bloated sci-fi "epic" built around a story that manages to slip into a deficit of surprises, characters so cliche you could almost quote them during your first viewing, an alien culture that's as deep as any Native American stereotype, and an environmental message delivered like a sledgehammer to the skull.

    The effects are great, but it's nowhere near enough to salvage this
    mudslide of a film. I'm appalled this was nominated for Best Picture in 2009. Expand
  43. Jul 1, 2011
    0
    Pocahontas, BLUE KITTY VERSION. Honestly, there's not much else too say. The visuals are good, but since when does something shiny make everything else unneeded? Gotta love the fervent anti-human nature of the film as well. Let's all hate our evil greedy selves, right? Blue kitties totally superior.
  44. Jun 11, 2011
    2
    Cameron continues his time honored method of creating films. Swipe the high concepts from a half dozen groundbreaking original works, glue them together with a lowest common denominator script, add money, a lot of money, an extraordinary amount of money, hype thoroughly, make more $$ back, and take credit for everything. Hail to the King. Avatar looks incredible, yadda, but to say the story is derivative would imply the origins of its ideas got their due. They never have in film, and now they won't because Cameron robbed the cradle. Expand
  45. Jul 31, 2011
    4
    Probably one of the most overrated movies of all time. Can't believe people can call it an instant classic. nor that it's ranked in the top with really great movies such as The Godfather and Shawshank Redemption. It doesn't deserve to be among the top 500 movies on IMDB. Read any positive review and all you hear is how cool the visuals are, how the CGI is breathtaking and so on. What they don't tell you is that the plot is basically written by a 5-year old. Avatar is a big, fat, tired old cliché with a dazzling new paint job. Most of the "plot" is derived from old and often better material, basically the whole "Sorry about Colonialism"- and "The Noble Savage"-genres that include movies and books such as Dances with Wolves, A Man Called Horse, The Last Samurai, The Last of the Mohicans, Dune, Lawrence of Arabia, Ferngully, Pocahontas, Robinson Crusoue, The Thin Red Line, Moby Dick and many, many, many others. The acting, while not bad is not memorable either, nor are the many stock character suck as Jake and Grace. In fact, Avatar has none of the hallmarks of a classic: great script, superior acting, memorable characters that you root for or even suspence or immersion. Everyone is so wooed by the visuals, but great visual by itself doesn't make a good movie. I doubt people will look back to this movie in 50 years time and consider it a classic, especially in ten years time when the CGI starts to look really dated. At it's best Avatar is a good popcorn movie, you sit awed for about two hours but after that it's easily forgettable, and it deserves nothing better. Expand
  46. May 10, 2011
    3
    James Cameron has made some of the biggest movies to ever hit the big screen, from Aliens to Titanic, and he's notorious for breaking box office records every time he releases a movie. Avatar is no exception. Here's the important question though: Are his movies any good? In some cases, yes - Terminator 2 is still one of my favorite actions movies, and Aliens was a more-than-worthy successor to Ridley Scott's infamous Alien. But in other cases, as with Avatar, he needs to sit down and really consider if he has any purpose on this earth, or if he should just kill himself so we can remember him as a good director with a few blemishes. Needless to say, I didn't like Avatar. I can't imagine why anyone would; not one thing about the story is original or even clever. I understand that it's pretty and the stupid pink plants stick out in 3-D, but aside from good effects, this movie has absolutely nothing going for it. It has a horribly un-original story, terrible pacing, poor character development, and is just all around a huge waste of time. An example of what I'm talking about would be Trudy Chacon, remember her? No? Neither did I; I had to look her up just now to make sure I got the name right. She's the pilot that is supposedly a primary character. Well, she dies during the battle, and there are a few things wrong with this segment. One, why the **** is her helicopter painted with war paint - let alone the fact that she's wearing it, too, for no reason - but you're going to tell me that they all banded together after their most sacred tree was destroyed to paint this chicks helicopter? Two, why am I supposed to care that a character with absolutely no development dies? Not only could I not remember her name, but I couldn't tell you if she even had any dialogue aside from her tragically terrible final words. I could pick this movie apart scene by scene, but I don't want to implode from anger, and I don't want to bore you, so I'll end it here. Read the rest of the review on my film review site, rocketcrossing.com, and check out our facebook page at facebook.com/rocketcrossing. Expand
  47. Jun 15, 2011
    1
    Before the film was even released, I knew exactly how weak the storyline would be regardless of the profound hype surrounding it. There really isn't much to say, other than 3D is barely as impressive as others make it out to be and that was supposedly the 'saving grace' of the film. The storyline simply borrowed from a platter of other films and even still managed to fail. I also won't bother going into what I expect to be scientific inconsistencies.

    Overall, the film is simply shallow. I don't suggest seeing it unless there is an irritating family member who makes you sit down and endure it.
    Expand
  48. Jan 21, 2012
    2
    Ultimately overrated. Great effects and visuals but the story sucks. The story line is like Pocahontas's and has nothing to say. The characters are rather ridiculous with the hipster navies.
  49. Jul 19, 2011
    2
    I thought that this movie was really bad. It was incredibly long and barely kept my attention. The special effects were cool but that doesn't change the fact that all James Cameron did was make a futuristic remake of Dances With wolves. NOT a good movie.
  50. CRL
    Jul 26, 2011
    2
    This is the most overrated piece of cinema I've ever seen. All flash, no fire, Avatar combines the special effects of Transformers with a story ripped from Pocahontas and recycled a million time over. The only difference is that, instead of Native Americans, they're giant blue people with tails. Sure, Pandora is a pretty cool place, but that and a bunch of 3D-inflated box office records are all this movie has going for it. Expand
  51. Jul 26, 2011
    4
    I've never really heard of a film like this that got so many positive reviews especially seeing the literally dazzling special effects, and that was the furthest it got. Even so, it made the film look cheap, yet overrated, and the 3-D doesn't make it at all better. It looked more like a LSD-induced fairytale, and that is an excuse for such a inadequate plot.
  52. Jul 25, 2011
    4
    Would have liked it better if it wasn't surrounded by an utterly massive and undeserved hype machine. It's story is a hackneyed, childish and sub-par re-telling. VFX and animation were mostly great but it's art and designs were entirely derivative and or directly copied from a variety of sources without the slightest hint of tribute or homage. It's not even a challenge to find nearly identical designs to everything in Avatar that pre-date it's production.

    The acting and voicework are rather horrible in this feature, more-so with the human actors than the cartoon parts. But the biggest problem I found with Avatar is that it takes on the massive, painful, multi-dimensional and complicated subjects of human greed and violence and wraps everything up in under three hours with a clean and nearly happy ending and leaves the audience with no lingering important questions. Completely unrealistic and insane for a public that has become completely unrealistic and entirely insane.

    On a scale of 0 to 10, 5.5 would be an average score (at least mathematically) . I find the VFX and technology to be very high 8-9 (way above average but not unbeatable) -but the actual movie itself, the story, characters, acting, dialog, etc. to be far below average, a 3 or generous 4 perhaps.

    If you are just in it for the FX or some sort amusement park roller-coaster then you are probably in for a treat. Otherwise you will likely be disappointed. It doesn't hold a candle to Cameron's other films and his willing and overt participation in this films disgusting hype/marketing machine really put me off him, although I genuinely loved many of his previous works up to this point.
    Expand
  53. Aug 25, 2011
    3
    Those who love Avatar love it for its effects and visual design, and blame the others for not concentrating on that element like theyre supposed to. Those who hate Avatar hate it for its recycled story, lame characters, and laughable dialogue, and blame the others for not focusing on the elements that truly matter in any film. Well, both of those sides are right, and both of them can be validly argued. But, the latter side has a better point: Story and characters are what makes great cinema, not great looking effects. And, rather than using effects and images to tell a story (Blade Runner) or stir up interesting ideas (2001), Avatar is only interested in looking good. Expand
  54. Dec 26, 2013
    1
    3 hours of absolute drivel. I admire the fantastic visuals and the technology, animation, bright colours and scenery. But this is exactly what a movie SHOULDN'T be. It's the direct equivalent of games like Crysis 2; all about fancy graphics but no real substance behind all the nice coat of paint. Avatar has some good action scenes and looks great as an advert for a HD TV, but as a movie it is a fail. Not only is it the most predictable movie I have ever seen, it's also the most disappointing. It seems like it was made to appeal to people that have no standards and will literally watch anything regardless of its story. If I want nice graphics, I buy a gaming PC and experience them first hand. If I watch a movie, I want to be entertained or engaged in a passive experience. There is no comedy, no moral, no philosophy, no story. The entire plot can be summarised in about 2 sentences. It portrays humans as the bad guys to appeal to people's emotions, but ignores reality. It's completely crap designed for people with low intelligence. Expand
  55. Dec 28, 2011
    2
    This could have been a good movie if it wasn't such a junk food feast of special effects and lacking of plot. This movie could have been great, but it wasn't, as James Cameron is much more interested in plagarising from good plots and sticking a bunch of blue creatures and glittery fairy nonsense in it to make it look pretty. It's a shame the critics were either too confident in that this was going to go somewhere, or too scared to pipe up that it didn't. There are better movies out there that don't particularly seem to be popular with the critics. I am more than confident that this was not even worth the production it deserved, or the paper the tickets were printed on. There were aspects of the movie that I would have enjoyed, there were things I could of happily watched, but sadly it was blindingly obvious to me that the CGI and special effects were just part of the after effects I suffered when I came out of the cinema. Expand
  56. Dec 1, 2011
    4
    Too overrated. A movie with computer design only... nothing interesting... it sucks don't waste your time on this...
  57. Jan 17, 2012
    1
    This film is like a very subtle spoof written by an enemy of James Cameron. His ego and lack of imagination and cliched goo ooze through this awful God awful film. This is seriously made by the same guy who did Terminator 2? Only reason this is even getting a 1 is because some of the non cartoony looking stuff is neat visually once and a while.
  58. Jan 24, 2012
    4
    I give this movie, overall, a 4. If i were to break up the movie, my scores would differ. Visual 10 Sound 8 Storyline 0 Acting 3 Originality 0 The visuals were amazing, of course, anyone could tell you that. However, the plot was disgustingly unoriginal and offensive on some points. The alien race is very clearly representing the Native Americans of Americas past. Not only are they on a very liberal agenda, living off the land, hunting, chanting, no need for technical advancement... etc. they also steal dress and even language and sound of Native Americans which i find extremely disrespectful and distasteful. Second, why are these humans so heartless. I've never encountered a business man so classless and idiotic. The general is all around bloodthirsty for no apparent reason other than the fact that he has a superman complex. While the visuals are amazing, there are no creative creatures throughout the entire film excluding the flying ones. Horses, rhinos, jungle cats, monkeys, lizards... its incredibly unimaginative. The relationship of different departments all under the figurehead of a mining operation is laughable. Science would never take a back seat to pure profit when it came to a world where intelligent life and different species were discovered. I don't care how far into the future this is, the human race has already evolved beyond the point of the barbaric atrocities portrayed in this movie, ESPECIALLY to a new intelligent species. Its insane to think this movie is even plausible, even 20 years ago when the script was being written. It literally makes me sick that all this visual ingenuity is going into a recycled, over hyped peace of garbage like this. Expand
  59. May 9, 2012
    1
    This was not the worst film I have ever seen. It wasn't good, though. As many people have pointed out, the story was predictable and dull, and the script was poor. I could have forgiven it for not having a very original or insightful message, you don't really expect that in a blockbuster, but it insisted on shoving it's completely unoriginal message down my throat for so long that I got pretty sick of it. Overall, I'm at a loss as to why so many people rate this film so highly. Expand
  60. Dec 11, 2012
    4
    Avatar, despite all its hype and adoration, simply fails to deliver a truly satisfying experience. The special effects are easily the best part of this film, though everything else from the stilted writing to the empty, stereotypical characters to the uninspired eye-roller of a dystopian future bereft of any intellectually stimulating rhetoric or substance.
  61. Jul 4, 2012
    3
    Cameron hit on special effects but other than that, unoriginal in story and slightly boring. Too much CGI for my liking. Very well done effects but the story falls short of new and/or exciting.
  62. Dec 22, 2012
    4
    This has to be one of the most overrated films in the history of cinema. The only reason this movie gets any praise is because of the special effects, which I will admit were really good, but everything else is just below average and unoriginal. Avatar is far too long and is something that I would expect Michael Bay to direct.
  63. Mar 1, 2013
    2
    What has Avatar to offer? Graphics and... and nothing else. Only good graphics. The movie is definitely overrated, with a poor story, ridiculous characters and nothing new to offer to the genre. I'm sorry, but I really didn't like it at all.
  64. Mar 9, 2013
    4
    Truly Avatar was a mastermind. Was. Cameron gives the plot too many things to keep up with, not only that but it gives you an unpleasing run time that will leave you bored till the end. Now for the people who disageree with me and say its an all time epic film your wrong. Watch it again and you'll realize how boring and forgettable the last battle of the movie was. So overall, this was a very exhausting film to watch. Expand
  65. Jan 13, 2013
    4
    The movie is nearly fun to watch, but misses that by a thin hair. The story i abominable. Cheese and bore. The effects, while entertaining can't last the length of the movie, which by the first half, is begging you to leave.
  66. Jan 5, 2013
    3
    This movie was a conglomeration of story lines that were boring the first time I saw them in Pocahontas and Titanic. It is a go- green movie that thrives due to its special effects but falls flat on every other aspect. This movie has risen to its predecessors of Push and Transformers.
  67. Feb 9, 2013
    2
    An unoriginal movie that did not recieve even one oscar that it recieved. Also, that only happened because James Franco directed Titanic. Not worth owning, a movie that's easily forgettable.
  68. Mar 8, 2013
    1
    Avatar is the poster child for 3D cinema yet its other qualities are distinctly one dimensional, apparently 200 million dollars can't buy you a good story. Anyone who watches this is in for a headache-inducing three hours that they will never get back.
  69. Mar 13, 2013
    4
    The action was what you'd expect from such a big block buster. And I kinda like the premise of the story but the story turned out fake and emotionless in my opinion. Also I couldn't find it in me to care about a single character. The love of the main characters was poorly developed as well. In the end it's not for me. But those of you that just want to see blue aliens go to battle against mankind because we're invading their planet. Go for it. Expand
  70. Mar 18, 2013
    2
    This is the number one movie of all time????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? Why? Because of the flashy special effects? Cause that was the only memorable thing from this movie other then the long 3 hour experience first time watching it in a theater I feel asleep 1hr and 20 mins in. Next time watched it at home stopped at an hour, next week picked back up then stopped, then again I took me 4 times to watch the entire movie at home over a month long time period. Nothing special and certainly original. Save your money and watch a bootlegged version online or the real thing online. Expand
  71. Apr 11, 2013
    2
    I dont know but I prefer science fiction without all tha eco themes like Rendezvous with Rama form A. C. Clarke http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rendezvous_with_Rama.
    Yes it is in 3D but thats about it, characters are shallow, story one sided, logic flawed and ultimate point of movie wrong.
  72. May 27, 2013
    1
    Everything is horrible. This alien, antagonist, helicopters, both protagonist and antagonist's weapons, arrow, spear, robot, giant knife, story. What a waste of money. What's worst is there will be a sequel.
  73. Jun 20, 2013
    4
    Overrated and shallow, Avatar is one of the enigmas of film making. How could a movie with a tired story line, hilariously one-dimensional characters, and poor script have such good critical reviews? Given, the movie has stylish directing and fantastic visuals, but I could have the exact same entertainment experience on a theme park ride. A good movie is supposed to tell a story and have relatable characters, and Avatar had neither of those things. One thing I will say is that the movie gave me a good laugh, when the stereotypical grunt Marine was in the robot suit and pulled out a comically huge knife, I thought that was the funniest thing ever. If you are looking for a film with some substance, don't see Avatar, but if you just want some eye-candy, you might like it. Expand
  74. Jul 5, 2013
    4
    The special effects were indeed amazing, the direction great, the photography too....but this story has been told a hundred times before, and in much better ways. It's an overly simplistic divide between the good guys (the natives) and the bad guys (the greedy invaders). Any moral conflicts seemed to be redundant; in fact, the film was extremely predictable (like we all didn't know what was going to happen when Jake was told the story about the Toruk....). Overall, not a bad film, but the extensive hype and predictable storyline ruined it for me. Expand
  75. Oct 13, 2013
    3
    I have come to call this movie what it is, a cliche and stock character ridden bucket of pure crap fished from the toilet that is Holywood. no effort whatsoever was made to make this anything but a quick cash grab by one of the most worthless directors out there next to Michael Bay. all this movie is is a bunch of pretty colors with a story ripped from the likes of Ferngully and Pochahontas. now that may enough for some people but not me. if not for the special effects I would give it 1 Expand
  76. Mar 29, 2014
    4
    Where are all these good reviews coming from? I dont get it. The plot is horrifically obvious, the acting banal and the film... boring. I mean ye its kinda pretty but oscars? I just dont get it.
  77. Apr 10, 2014
    4
    I think I'm a minority on my stance towards this movie. I don't have mixed feelings about it just to be edgy and apart from everyone else, it just rubbed me a little differently. I was largely absent from all the hype that surrounded it when it was released: I finally saw the movie towards the end of its theatrical run. With that being said, I had a much clearer perspective on it, seeing it in a theater with maybe 10 other people in it, and I can honestly say after seeing it, it's one of the most overrated movies of all time. For starters, I think the movie takes itself too seriously. At it's core, the plot is essentially an updated version of "Pocahontas" or "Dances With Wolves." I was genuinely entertained for the first half hour, in which you're introduced to the main characters and the setting of Pandora, but then movie started to take another turn. The whole thing was simply overshadowed by this very self-righteous, naturalist message about how we have to take care of the planet. Now don't get me wrong, I care for the environment, but when I feel like I'm watching a $300,000,000 EPA PSA, it kind of ruins the effect of a movie that comes from the director of Terminator 2. Throughout the movie, various other sci-fi elements are taken from movies like the Matrix and Jurassic Park, and subsequently accompanied by video game quality dialogue. In a word -- it's all over the place and just comes off sappy. Rather than a sophisticated narrative geared towards adults, Cameron just decided to go completely Saturday morning cartoon with this one, causing tons of merchandise and distribution out the ass that caters mainly to middle school boys who take garbage like this too seriously. But hey, it has amazing special effects, so I guess the it's saving grace is the familiarity of the director, and that it looks pretty. Expand
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. A fully believable, flesh-and-blood (albeit not human flesh and blood) romance is the beating heart of "Avatar." Cameron has never made a movie just to show off visual pyrotechnics: Every bit of technology in "Avatar" serves the greater purpose of a deeply felt love story.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt
    100
    It's been twelve years since "Titanic," but the King of the World has returned with a flawed but fantastic tour de force that, taken on its merits as a film, especially in two dimensions, warrants four stars. However, if you can wrap a pair of 3D glasses round your peepers, this becomes a transcendent, full-on five-star experience that's the closest we'll ever come to setting foot on a strange new world. Just don't leave it so long next time, eh, Jim?
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Avatar is all-enveloping and transporting, with Cameron & Co.'s years of R&D paying off with a film that, as his work has done before, raises the technical bar and throws down a challenge for the many other filmmakers toiling in the sci-fi/fantasy realm.