Avatar

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2933 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. JacobL
    Jan 1, 2010
    8
    First off let me make one thing clear, I saw this movie in 2d. Having said that, I thought the movie was still pretty good. Visually the movie looks great and the world of Pandora is gorgeous. Unfortunately, since I wasn't watching it in 3d I wasn't as sucked into the world of Avatar as I would've otherwise. As far as plot goes the movie does a nice job. The characters and First off let me make one thing clear, I saw this movie in 2d. Having said that, I thought the movie was still pretty good. Visually the movie looks great and the world of Pandora is gorgeous. Unfortunately, since I wasn't watching it in 3d I wasn't as sucked into the world of Avatar as I would've otherwise. As far as plot goes the movie does a nice job. The characters and setting are great and the one guy having two identities keeps things interesting as he struggles to find out who he really is. Also, the story in Avatar Humans vs. Navi is different but at the same time very familiar, which I like. My one criticism is where the movie ends. (SPOILIERS ALERT) I really don't like how the Navi defeat the humans because it feels almost forced in there. A more appropriate ending would be when the Navi set off to fight the humans. As a result, of adding on the climactic battle, the movie was too long for my tastes and started to drag. Avatar is the one movie that everyone should see particulary in 3d. You will be amased at the amount of detail in Pandora and find the plot to be very interesting. If you are a parent, bring your kids because to some extent, Avatar will provide them the same joy that a Star Wars movie would. Expand
  2. ChrisB
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Amazing movie. I liked it even more the second time. It will revolutionize the way movies are made from now on.
  3. JoelL
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    I don't understand why some people are down on this movie; I though it was great. The world of Pandora and the Na'vi is impossible not to get sucked into. The visuals are gorgeous. The story, which seems to be the biggest complaint, is there to pull you into this world and it does a pretty fine job. As for the length of the movie, you'll be too captivated to notice how long I don't understand why some people are down on this movie; I though it was great. The world of Pandora and the Na'vi is impossible not to get sucked into. The visuals are gorgeous. The story, which seems to be the biggest complaint, is there to pull you into this world and it does a pretty fine job. As for the length of the movie, you'll be too captivated to notice how long it is. Overall, I think you have to be pretty cynical not to fall in love with this world. Expand
  4. PascalR.
    Jan 30, 2010
    9
    Not someone who gets impressed by much but sat there afterwards thinking I had seen something groundbreaking in 3D and realistic computer graphics. Yeah there are better stories out there, but.......wow!
  5. PeterV
    Dec 18, 2009
    0
    It was a great movie! The visual effects were stunning, the story was a bit longer than it needed to be, but I'd rather have a complete story go a bit beyond than to have a story that has some major holes in it. The message was great and the acting/3D universe was, again, amazing. I rarely go to movies in the theaters any more (because it costs so much) but this one will warrant It was a great movie! The visual effects were stunning, the story was a bit longer than it needed to be, but I'd rather have a complete story go a bit beyond than to have a story that has some major holes in it. The message was great and the acting/3D universe was, again, amazing. I rarely go to movies in the theaters any more (because it costs so much) but this one will warrant another viewing on the big screen. I saw it in the 3D version and it was definitely worth the extra $3.00. Go and enjoy this Action/War/Love/Sci-Fi Movie, you won't regret it. Expand
  6. MaleficarD
    Dec 21, 2009
    0
    Dances with Smurfs, Pocahontas3D: take your pick. Then add in some hypocritical white guilt and you have Avatar. Cameron is a fine film-maker, but this is just dross.
  7. LouisS
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    Astounding movie. You have to like fantasy films. Also you have to like nature saving type films like Final Fantasy or Pocahantus. If you are into all that then definitely see it and see it in 3D!
  8. JoeC
    Dec 21, 2009
    3
    One small step forward for filmmaking technology, one giant leap backward for writing, acting, directing...oh you know.
  9. Oct 16, 2010
    7
    Avatar delievers with the 3D effects and it really did feel like you were in another world from my point of view but the storyline really dissapointed me, I found it generic and very,very obvious. I guess, mostly the film is really about the out-of-this-world effects and the 3D and the storyline will suffer a bit, but,at points, Twilight was more original. I may be sounding a bit harsh butAvatar delievers with the 3D effects and it really did feel like you were in another world from my point of view but the storyline really dissapointed me, I found it generic and very,very obvious. I guess, mostly the film is really about the out-of-this-world effects and the 3D and the storyline will suffer a bit, but,at points, Twilight was more original. I may be sounding a bit harsh but I just expected a bit more. It was good,but not excellent and not a 10/10. Expand
  10. Oct 11, 2010
    9
    The visual effects are breathtaking and the directing is incredible. The only negative thing about it would be the plot, which is simple and common, but all the rest, visuals, sound, directing, actors, are very, very good.
  11. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    Visually speaking Avatar is the greatest creation ever made in cinema history.It has beautifully put together and has the best visual effects ever made. Avatar is a revolution for the genre and is basically the Star Wars of the next generation. This is Cameron's true masterpiece,and is the greatest 3-D film of all time. Many naysayers say the dialouge does not sound real and is justVisually speaking Avatar is the greatest creation ever made in cinema history.It has beautifully put together and has the best visual effects ever made. Avatar is a revolution for the genre and is basically the Star Wars of the next generation. This is Cameron's true masterpiece,and is the greatest 3-D film of all time. Many naysayers say the dialouge does not sound real and is just terribly written,but to me the conversations sounded more realistic than some films. Personally I found the dialouge intresting and very lifelike. The acting is good on the most part,with a few exceptions. The audio is also exceptionally good. The background score is good and backs up exactly what is happening,and thats not all.Explosions sound like explosions,the wind sounds like it is blowing,and embers sound like their burning. All in all this is the most entertaing sci-fi film i have ever seen.It is a must see. Expand
  12. Aug 29, 2010
    0
    It looks great and there is enough here to support video games and theme parks for years to come. Shame they forgot the story, script and acting. Cameron hasn't made a decent movie since Aliens (neither has Weaver). What a tragic waste - no wonder it was completely overlooked at the awards nights
  13. Nov 11, 2010
    0
    A complete waste of good earned money and time. I would have rather watched a racoon cross the street for 3 hours . FINAL: a deliberate piss of trash
  14. Feb 13, 2011
    4
    Save yourself some money. Blow the dust off of your old Pocahontas V.H.S, plug that baby in and TADA! Without all the glamour its the exact same thing, whithout even spending a dime! Don't be fooled people.
  15. Mar 9, 2011
    6
    I honestly don't understand all the hype behind this, the story never really grabbed me and the characters weren't interesting, however I will give them credit for creating a unique alien movie as opposed to every aliens are invading movie that has been done over and over again, but it's still not that great, an ok movie from beginning to end.
  16. Mar 15, 2011
    8
    Avatar may not impress all audiences on a narrative level, however, its breathtaking visuals, lavishing colors, and groundbreaking special effects certainly proves James Cameron's knack for filmmaking.
  17. Mar 5, 2011
    2
    Dances with Wolves meets Fern Gully The Last Rainforest with a dose of white arrogance. Yes, it's pretty to look at sometimes, but past the fluffy eye candy visuals there's very little substance to this movie. I found myself rooting for the supposedly "evil" colonel halfway through the movie and hoping he would just blow away Jake Sully and his tree hugging friends and end the movie. AtDances with Wolves meets Fern Gully The Last Rainforest with a dose of white arrogance. Yes, it's pretty to look at sometimes, but past the fluffy eye candy visuals there's very little substance to this movie. I found myself rooting for the supposedly "evil" colonel halfway through the movie and hoping he would just blow away Jake Sully and his tree hugging friends and end the movie. At least the Colonel is honest and does exactly what he says he's going to do, and isn't a double talking snake in the grass like Jake Sully. This movie does a horrible injustice to fans of James Cameron, serious movie goers and manages to fall short of all the hype and positive reviews that proceeded me seeing it. So badly does it fail at being the cinematic masterpiece that so many people seem to hail it as, that I would consider it to be the most disappointing movie I've ever seen. This isn't a cinematic masterpiece, it's cinematic dreck. Expand
  18. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    Film making technology so much ahead of its time. Now I know how people felt when they watched "King Kong" some 70 years ago. Best movie of all time.
  19. May 1, 2011
    6
    A strange mixture of Dances With Wolves and Aliens makes for a an equally bizarre but visually stunning screen epic that unfortunately falls flat on its face when it comes to plot and characters. A crippled soldier is sent undercover disguised as a blue smurf to convince the natives to move out of their hometown so that the government can obtain a rare and valuable substance known jokinglyA strange mixture of Dances With Wolves and Aliens makes for a an equally bizarre but visually stunning screen epic that unfortunately falls flat on its face when it comes to plot and characters. A crippled soldier is sent undercover disguised as a blue smurf to convince the natives to move out of their hometown so that the government can obtain a rare and valuable substance known jokingly as "unobtainium". Directed by James Cameron, the same man who swept the world with the 1997 epic Titanic. A movie best experienced in 3-D. All in all, good entertainment. Expand
  20. May 25, 2012
    6
    The visual effects are fantastic but there are certain points in the film that the characters are a little over-the-top. The story is original but a little bit boring. The acting is sometimes good and sometimes weird. This is certainly not James Cameron's best, but a solid one though
  21. Jun 5, 2011
    5
    Overrated. Storyline is predictable, I mean the trailer itself showed what is going to happen already. I don't care if its the highest grossing film ever. I am not going to judge the film a high rating because of that..
  22. Dec 14, 2011
    0
    God i hated this movie. it was stupid, boring and stupid. it didnt make sence in so many areas. its only endearing quality was when we left it running at home with the sound down. it makes a pretty screensaver!
  23. Mar 19, 2012
    2
    This score is totally for the visuals and nothing else. I admit they were amazing and groundbreaking. The plot is stupid. The characters are stereotypical. There is way to much 'environment is gud' message shoved in your face. I will never watch this movie again.
  24. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    Simply Amazing!
    In The Top 3 Movies Of 2009!
  25. May 31, 2012
    7
    My first and only time going to see a movie in 3D... it wasn't bad and didn't feel too gimmicky but it just wasn't necessary. As for the movie itself, I liked it for a lot of reasons but it wasn't the ground breaking experience it was made out to be from all the hype. My only real gripes are with the story. If the characters were at least somewhat memorable I could have given it a betterMy first and only time going to see a movie in 3D... it wasn't bad and didn't feel too gimmicky but it just wasn't necessary. As for the movie itself, I liked it for a lot of reasons but it wasn't the ground breaking experience it was made out to be from all the hype. My only real gripes are with the story. If the characters were at least somewhat memorable I could have given it a better score but... I don't know what it is but the vast majority of the characters just seem like actors on a set rather than real people. I've seen better character development in videogames from the 90s. The plot I thought was good but can't deny how similar it is to a number of other movies I've seen. Those things aside though I could find a lot of reasons to defend it too. I remember there was a lot of racial controversy surrounding the movie and I can't help but scratch my head at that. >_> Also the art direction is some of the best I've seen in a movie, I just wish all the cool bells and whistles were backed up by a better plot. I will say that it was probably among the most intriguing movies I saw in 2009. Expand
  26. Aug 1, 2012
    5
    Going to see this in the cinema was the biggest disappointment I ever had with a movie. Lots of amazing graphics they said, they were right, a unique experience they said, they were right. Hey guys, ever wondered what the most **** up hero of all time looked like? The main character of avatar is your answer. Big commando man asks him to politely get the "navi" to move down the road just soGoing to see this in the cinema was the biggest disappointment I ever had with a movie. Lots of amazing graphics they said, they were right, a unique experience they said, they were right. Hey guys, ever wondered what the most **** up hero of all time looked like? The main character of avatar is your answer. Big commando man asks him to politely get the "navi" to move down the road just so the earth can have some more oil. Seems fair. So they turn him into a Navi, great, now he just needs to earn their trust and lead them both to a political understanding. But no, this wanker **** their leaders daughter, attacks humans, starts a **** war, kills all the humans and is presented as some kind of role model. **** **** Something like $7billion spent on this film. Probably spent on tipping of critics so they give it a good score. A **** predictable story with HD slapped on its huge ass. Waste of space. Expand
  27. Jul 3, 2012
    0
    AM I THE ONLY ONE THAT HASN'T BEEN LOBOTAMISED?
    Technically good but other than that it was a cowboys vs Indians movie and you know it, I'm just desperately thankful James Cameron's only working on doco's (which I won't have to care about), or unfortunately the sequal to this....
  28. Oct 30, 2012
    4
    Yes. The visuals were amazing... but that's about it. I seriously don't understand how people can call it the greatest movie of all time, the plot is weak.
    It's like a cardboard cut-out of a chocolate cake.
  29. Nov 5, 2012
    5
    It's the first movie that I saw, who made it perfect with the 3D part. But that's all. Story is boring as hell. I watched Avatar now for the 5th time, the first 3 times I just fall asleep. Sorry, I don't get it!? Why is that movie so great? Story is nothing new, but the effects are ... Yeah, I'll go and watch the visual demo of my Nvidia, it's the same ...
  30. Sep 6, 2013
    0
    I absolutely hated this movie because there was no plot too much romance and the CGI was a little over the top, probably the WORST MOVIE OF THE DECADE
  31. Dec 7, 2014
    5
    This movie has a storyline which is confusing. The special effects used were awesome. The places are imaginative in the way they are designed. There are lots of action in this movie. However, storyline, as stated is confusing, thus storyline is horrible. All these makes it an average movie.
  32. Aug 25, 2010
    10
    My favourite film; of ALL time so far. Perfect effects, and I can honestly say, it was the first film I ever saw at the cinema with which I didn't want to pause and walk out for a couple of hours. The ONLY film. Greatly looking forward to the sequel. There really isnt much I can say about this film apart from, it ticks every box. Just next time, Cameron, jazz the plot up slightly? ThisMy favourite film; of ALL time so far. Perfect effects, and I can honestly say, it was the first film I ever saw at the cinema with which I didn't want to pause and walk out for a couple of hours. The ONLY film. Greatly looking forward to the sequel. There really isnt much I can say about this film apart from, it ticks every box. Just next time, Cameron, jazz the plot up slightly? This film was nominated for an unbelievable 128 awards, which includes 4 Golden Globes. If that isn't enough to convince you to watch it (if you're one of those rare people who hasn't seen it already) then just take (At the time of writing) 1,309 positive Metacritic reviews. Completely epic, and only 40% live action, with the other 60% being made up of the greatest technologically advanced CGE. The highest-grossing film ever made, by a large margin. ( 0.8 Billion US Dollars more than its closest competition, another of James Cameron's films, Titanic. In total, Avatar has so far made $2.6 Billion.) So in-depth was the making, a 1,000 word language for the Na'vi was created. No wonder it took 16 years to make.
    10/10. Why? Because it's a masterpiece.
    Expand
  33. AmandaG.
    Jun 2, 2010
    0
    This movie was straight up god awful. The story was consistently boring throughout the movie and it had a totally unoriginal plotline. The characters got on my nerves to no end (especially Sigourney Weaver's character) and we're supposed to believe that this far in the future, they are still using crappy wheelchairs that look the same from the ones in the 70's? Being a This movie was straight up god awful. The story was consistently boring throughout the movie and it had a totally unoriginal plotline. The characters got on my nerves to no end (especially Sigourney Weaver's character) and we're supposed to believe that this far in the future, they are still using crappy wheelchairs that look the same from the ones in the 70's? Being a person who is not at all impressed by just special effects, I was extremely disappointed in this film and James Cameron. Expand
  34. Nov 27, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is the most overrated piece of politically correct, anti-American garbage I've ever seen. This movie is about a man who betrays his own country! How is that "heroic" or worthy of admiration???So, it has cool special effects. Whoopty-f***ing-do! I can't believe this piece of crap movie was so beloved by everyone. Apparently, pretty colors and cool explosions are all the typical modern consumer cares about. How sad. Expand
  35. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    Most critics have just praised it for its just stunning visual effects and 3D effects, but I find its story to be incredibly powerful and moving with just enough emotional depth added in there. I give this film 93%.
  36. Aug 25, 2010
    5
    Sure, the visuals are distinctive enough but that doesn't excuse the lazy cut-and-paste job done with the script. We've seen this exact story done before numerous times before and done better. A lot of people seem to think that the visuals make up for it but in the end this film is nothing more than a tech demo at best.
    A real shame.
  37. Aug 18, 2010
    0
    the only reason i kind of enjoyed this movie is because my brother was repeating the lines in engrish, yes engrish. i really hated how they portrayed the marines, and when i heard that some people in the theaters clapped when they watched the marines getting killed, i felt like shooting james cameron in the face while saying "yea get some mofo!!!!" seriously i want to enlist in thethe only reason i kind of enjoyed this movie is because my brother was repeating the lines in engrish, yes engrish. i really hated how they portrayed the marines, and when i heard that some people in the theaters clapped when they watched the marines getting killed, i felt like shooting james cameron in the face while saying "yea get some mofo!!!!" seriously i want to enlist in the marines, and i have a friend in training right now, i do take offense to that. this movie also rips off so many different movies such as dances with wolves. unfortunatly my brother bought this movie on blu ray instead of hurt locker which was a much better movie. to all you obsessors, dont get mad at me, because the critics agree with me!!!!! hell yea!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  38. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Words cannot describe the elements in this fabulous motion picture. The director, James Cameron, has set a new standard for CGI (computer-generated imagery) films. With elements such as Sci-Fi, Action, Romance, and Drama, EVERYONE must see this movie. I have seen 400+ films in my life, and never have I seen a film that was so well produced, a film that you couldn't resist cheering at theWords cannot describe the elements in this fabulous motion picture. The director, James Cameron, has set a new standard for CGI (computer-generated imagery) films. With elements such as Sci-Fi, Action, Romance, and Drama, EVERYONE must see this movie. I have seen 400+ films in my life, and never have I seen a film that was so well produced, a film that you couldn't resist cheering at the end, because you didn't want it to end. This film has the best special effects. No other film has used this type of CGI. This movie has broken a new barrier in the American film industry, just as visiting the moon for the first time. Well done Cameron, well done. Expand
  39. DelvinW
    Jun 9, 2010
    10
    Another James Cameron masterpiece, oh and the 2s and the 3s you guys are handing out are to the only movie to ever make 2 billion dollars at the box office.
  40. DionJ.
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    This movie was AWESOME! without a doubt the best movie of 2009 and one of the best movies of all time. Yeah its has similar story lines to "Dances with Wolves" and "Pocahontas" but its different at the same time. The Na'vi are humanoid in appearance but not human as in "Dances with Wolves" and "Pocahontas" which makes it different in that fact. It's a instant classic! I have This movie was AWESOME! without a doubt the best movie of 2009 and one of the best movies of all time. Yeah its has similar story lines to "Dances with Wolves" and "Pocahontas" but its different at the same time. The Na'vi are humanoid in appearance but not human as in "Dances with Wolves" and "Pocahontas" which makes it different in that fact. It's a instant classic! I have seen this movie six times in theaters. Five of which are in IMAX 3D. I notice details that I regularly see other directors miss. *spoiler alert* The part in the main battle scene when Jake and the other Na'vi are trying to bring down the shuttle loaded with bombs. Jake fly's in on his Great Leonopteryx and then jumps off on top of the shuttle at which point he kills some RDA troops manning some machines guns. The scene just before he jumps of his mount onto the ship you can see a Banshee (Flying creature) that got shot, on top of the ship twitching and as it cuts scenes on where Jake jumps off his mount and onto the shuttle you can still see the Banshee twitching and then as Jake jumps over the fortifications where the marines are defending the ship with machine guns and shoots them (marines) you can see the Banshee again still twitching on top of the shuttle. Now I have seen many more details like this in the movie and it excites me to see. You have a director that is willing to pay attention to every detail such as the one I mentioned and a detail that hardly no one if anyone will notice. When I see movies I like to look at these very details to see how much time the spent into making their film look as real as possible and James Cameron did not disappoint! I mean if you are paying attention to details that small then you know the huge details that the director want you to see is going to be even better! This movie delivered everything I expect to see from a movie and then some. James Cameron in an amazing derictor, producer and writer! This Movie is a 10 for sure! Expand
  41. brandons
    Jun 15, 2010
    0
    Very poor story line up,copied action sequences and early buzz that " director took 4 golden years to make so called visually epic and eventually a very very high budget film", its just a shame that a very well known director had to do all above things to gain the #1 spot once again in highest gross all time. I would rather choose to watch the dark knight once again.
  42. Neving
    Jan 2, 2010
    2
    yes, the special effects are amazing in this movie, however the '3d' seemed unnecessary, they are very 'flat' for what they are, nothing flying at your face or dancing around the cinema, would have been better to watch in 2d. the movie uses its visual brilliance as a crutch to support the poor script, plot, acting, and casting that made up the rest of the movie, yes, the special effects are amazing in this movie, however the '3d' seemed unnecessary, they are very 'flat' for what they are, nothing flying at your face or dancing around the cinema, would have been better to watch in 2d. the movie uses its visual brilliance as a crutch to support the poor script, plot, acting, and casting that made up the rest of the movie, unfortunately with no success, the limited script gives the cast nothing to work with. however the fundamental mistake in this film is that because of the terrible script and plot it creates one dimensional characters that the audience dont particularly care about at all, not to mention the poorly disguised 'human-ness' of the alien species. the movie is seeped in irony, pushing themes of environmentalism and anti-technological sentiment, funny then that this is the most expensive movie ever made. Expand
  43. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Avatar is definitely the best film of the year, and one of my favourite films ever.
    Yes, the dialogue can be cheesy at times, but this film isn't about that: it's about visuals and about actions. And yes, a good film can be about those things, too. It definitely has some good ideas behind it (environmentalism, tradition, old ways of living vs modernisation) and those are definitely present
    Avatar is definitely the best film of the year, and one of my favourite films ever.
    Yes, the dialogue can be cheesy at times, but this film isn't about that: it's about visuals and about actions. And yes, a good film can be about those things, too. It definitely has some good ideas behind it (environmentalism, tradition, old ways of living vs modernisation) and those are definitely present in the film. The films biggest strength, though, is definitely its visual power. It is so moving and just makes you want to plant a tree, haha. It is just amazing. I'd highly recommend it to everyone.
    Expand
  44. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    Forget about plot development and storytelling; it's all about the visuals here. I mean sure, the story is somewhat interesting and the characters have redeemable qualities, but this about blowing your eyeballs out of their sockets by using either dazzling beauty or monstrous explosions. If you let it be what it is, "Avatar" is a ton of fun, maybe the best film of 2009.
  45. Feb 5, 2011
    2
    Everything about this movie is cliched and boring other than the half-decent CGI. I actually hated it. I highly advise you never to rent or even skim through this movie on television...it's a pile of ****
  46. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    This is the epitome of pure genius! James Cameron brought to the screen one of the greatest and most ground-breaking movies of all time! Literally, words cannot describe the energy that made this film such a wonder and I would recommend this movie to anyone!
  47. Jul 18, 2011
    7
    Good visual and sound effects, however Avatar has a weak screenplay, which seems to be a mix of Dance with Wolves, Pochahontas and Alien. James Cameron was giving so much attention to the visual and sound that he did totally forget about the artistic part, mainly the script. Received 3 Oscars: Cinematography, Art Direction and Visual Effects, but in Avatar, the Art Direction and theGood visual and sound effects, however Avatar has a weak screenplay, which seems to be a mix of Dance with Wolves, Pochahontas and Alien. James Cameron was giving so much attention to the visual and sound that he did totally forget about the artistic part, mainly the script. Received 3 Oscars: Cinematography, Art Direction and Visual Effects, but in Avatar, the Art Direction and the Cinematography are Visual Effects. So it received 3 Oscars for the same thing: Visual Effects. Expand
  48. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    To simply put it Avatar is the most beautiful movie i have ever seen. the visuals are stunning and the story is good enough. Avatar will not be matched in the techinal world of movies for a very long time. a truly stunning spectacle
  49. Jun 10, 2012
    5
    Four words for this movie: Pocahontas from the future. It's no joke. The visual effects, Pandora, photography, everything is great. But I think James Cameron got so excited by these that he forgot to invest in a good history. No surprise he didn't get th Oscar for Best Movie...
  50. chads
    Jan 2, 2010
    2
    Gets 2 points for some okay graphics. That much of the hype is true. But beyond that this is a TERRIBLE movie. Main problem is the obvious anti-American tree-hugging liberal agenda. The military is bad, the environment is good. Corporate expansion is bad, pagan tree-love is good. Etc and so forth, spitting out one liberal lie after another. Maybe next time they should get a real American Gets 2 points for some okay graphics. That much of the hype is true. But beyond that this is a TERRIBLE movie. Main problem is the obvious anti-American tree-hugging liberal agenda. The military is bad, the environment is good. Corporate expansion is bad, pagan tree-love is good. Etc and so forth, spitting out one liberal lie after another. Maybe next time they should get a real American to write the script and not some atheist French gy. Expand
  51. May 27, 2013
    1
    Everything is horrible. This alien, antagonist, helicopters, both protagonist and antagonist's weapons, arrow, spear, robot, giant knife, story. What a waste of money. What's worst is there will be a sequel.
  52. Nov 3, 2013
    8
    "Avatar", directed by James Cameron, is a magnificent intense sci-fi spectacle. The movie is well-shot, has beautiful landscapes and spectacular use of CGI. Anyone who watched "The Matrix" will find this movie somehow similar.
  53. AnnieW.
    May 22, 2010
    3
    The best movie ever made.
  54. liz
    Jan 22, 2010
    5
    Overrated! The storyline and the characters were grossly underdeveloped. The effects were good but I was under the impression that they would be so good that the plant life and the Na'vi would look realistic. And don't get me started on the look of the Na'vi! They resembled African-Americans (braids with beads in them and wide noses as well as some of the tribe Overrated! The storyline and the characters were grossly underdeveloped. The effects were good but I was under the impression that they would be so good that the plant life and the Na'vi would look realistic. And don't get me started on the look of the Na'vi! They resembled African-Americans (braids with beads in them and wide noses as well as some of the tribe leaders' clothing which looked like a Masai rip-off) and Native-Americans (noses, long hair, tall thin like the Disney version of Pocahontas, and also their clothing) they were too lazy when it came time to designing their look. I did feel at some points like I was watching a cartoon movie and one which I would never touch with a ten foot pole. I felt that more needed to be told as far as the Na'vi were concerned, and I wanted to see more of the beautiful forests. In fact, at one point I did think that it would have been cool if Pandora had no sunlight so that during the whole film we could see the beautiful glow-in-the-dark plant life. That was my favorite part of the movie and I still hope to have a dream in which I'm surrounded by such beauty! The movie really went down-hill for me when the war started, at first it was fine but then it went on for too long and it turned the movie into another action flick. I feel like I'm the only person who thinks that James Cameron isn't very good. Sure he is good with special effects, but he's no artist who can really be innovative (like those filmmakers who don't take 5 years to make a movie that is generic in terms of storyline which is the most important reason to see a movie) and write great stories with great characters and depth. I did enjoy Avatar as a fun popcorn flick and am glad I saw it but i don't understand why so many people are giving it so much high praise! And I am horrified that it's being nominated for some major awards. I just hope it doesn't win an Oscar like Titanic did (another movie I enjoyed as a good popcorn flick and yet even as a 14 year old with crush on Dicaprio, I knew better than to think it deserved the awards it received!) or I'll go crazy. Expand
  55. JoshM
    Jan 20, 2010
    4
    A very pretty, shallow film. It was Ferngully with CGI. It felt like Cameron was trying to cram in every single story cliche he could think of. Extremely generic and boring. Every single thing that happens in the movie can be seen from miles away. Worth a watch to check out the graphics, otherwise, pass.
  56. AlexC.
    Jan 3, 2010
    3
    While Avatar's $238 million budget delivers beautiful visual effects, to be sure, it feels like not a single nickel was spent on creating believable dialogue or likable characters. On these grounds, it may be the most uneven film ever created.
  57. SoroushA
    Jan 3, 2010
    4
    Special effects simply made me more unintrigued in the 3D film as it seemed too much was fed to the graphics that the characters themselves! Questions were not answered especially for a 3 hr movie (how did he lose control of his legs, how did his brother die? etc.) which limited any character building. Special effects: 10, Acting: 4, Storyline: 6, Dialogue: 6, Character development: 5... Special effects simply made me more unintrigued in the 3D film as it seemed too much was fed to the graphics that the characters themselves! Questions were not answered especially for a 3 hr movie (how did he lose control of his legs, how did his brother die? etc.) which limited any character building. Special effects: 10, Acting: 4, Storyline: 6, Dialogue: 6, Character development: 5... please is this movie really in the same league as gladiator?? cos i dont remember crying to this movie at any stage! Expand
  58. ArekK
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Great and Beautiful!
  59. MichaelF.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    Simply Amazing!!!
  60. WiseUp
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    The Real Value of James Cameron's "Avatar" All the reviews of Avatar I�ve read seem to miss the real value of this visually stunning movie set on the fantastically alive planet of Pandora. While aspects of the plot are predictable, Avatar offers some powerful messages for our time once you scratch beneath the surface. For those who are not firmly The Real Value of James Cameron's "Avatar" All the reviews of Avatar I�ve read seem to miss the real value of this visually stunning movie set on the fantastically alive planet of Pandora. While aspects of the plot are predictable, Avatar offers some powerful messages for our time once you scratch beneath the surface. For those who are not firmly entrenched in our mainstream culture�s cynicism and denial the movie, Avatar, is a powerful opportunity to sharply see and feel our current situation as a species that has lost its way. As we experience the lives of Pandora�s indigenous people our own predicament comes into contrast. We become visible as a species that has become trapped within its own culture and system of domination and control... cut off from what really enlivens us. It is surprising that a movie with some of the messages of Avatar could even come out of the corporate dominated �homeland�Expand
  61. pauloa
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    Simple the Best film and gorgeous i can�´t say to you how i feelt when seeing the movie, the movie has just one problem ....IT ENDSSSS
  62. kathrynw
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    An absolutely fantastic movie that wows and entertains. The only thing wrong with it was its rating. It should be rated NFIS, Not for Intellectual Snobs (with superiority complexes).
  63. EllisciaE.
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    I have always been an avid movie watcher and this is the best picture I've ever experienced. I am a 57 yr. old female and I'm loving the three strong feminine roles. The clear message about how "everything is connected" is a good reminder for all of us. We are all connected and all of life is sacred. I hope that this movie speaks to others as profoundly as it has me. I've I have always been an avid movie watcher and this is the best picture I've ever experienced. I am a 57 yr. old female and I'm loving the three strong feminine roles. The clear message about how "everything is connected" is a good reminder for all of us. We are all connected and all of life is sacred. I hope that this movie speaks to others as profoundly as it has me. I've seen it twice and shall go again. Thanks and enjoy!!! Expand
  64. MikeM
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    Wow! I'm still thinking about what I just saw... It's a testament to what we've become... A lot of Native American themes are involved in this film. What a wonderful disposition of how honor, love, integrity and commitment should be exhibited in our daily lives. I see so may truisms in this story... Well done!
  65. PBW
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    AMAZING! There are no words to truely explain the beauty, imagination and grace of this movie! The story line is so very much more than a simple "good vs bad". The visual beauty alone leaves you breathless and anxious to see it again. I have never been motivated by a movie to make the effort to see it in IMAX. Avatar was my virgin voyage into IMAX .. and well ... you have to see it to AMAZING! There are no words to truely explain the beauty, imagination and grace of this movie! The story line is so very much more than a simple "good vs bad". The visual beauty alone leaves you breathless and anxious to see it again. I have never been motivated by a movie to make the effort to see it in IMAX. Avatar was my virgin voyage into IMAX .. and well ... you have to see it to understand that are really are no words!! Expand
  66. KaylaH
    Feb 17, 2010
    10
    It's peculiarity is what makes it an unbelievable movie. The transformation of each individual character throughout the movie is brilliant. Not that the kind of story is so original but the details make it this unimaginable yet so realistic scenario. From the 'halo' with their hair to Jake Sully being able to walk when he's in his Avatar, truly amazing.
  67. EggyG
    Feb 17, 2010
    10
    First the bad part, the story was kinda lame. Now the best part, beside the story all part was groundbreaking. Watch it in 3D really brought new level of immersion experience. The world design was mind boggling & eye popping. The action sequence was breathtaking. Even the music and sound was sublime. Another milestone movie from JC!
  68. JuanC.
    Feb 21, 2010
    10
    James Cameron has done it once again. He impressed my expectations of Avatar. I always thought of Avatar as great, but not something that should be the movie of the year. However, once I saw the movie, it blew me away from the begging to end. After finishing watching Avatar, I thought to myself, this is not only the best movie of 2009 and the best in the decade, this is one of the best James Cameron has done it once again. He impressed my expectations of Avatar. I always thought of Avatar as great, but not something that should be the movie of the year. However, once I saw the movie, it blew me away from the begging to end. After finishing watching Avatar, I thought to myself, this is not only the best movie of 2009 and the best in the decade, this is one of the best movies ever made. I have not seen one part of the movie that was boring or uninteresting to watch. I also like the fact that James keeps focus on every category of the movie: the story, the visuals the actors, every bit of detail is amazing. This is a must watch for everyone. I definitely got to say that it would take years for someone else to top this movie off. Expand
  69. MikeB.
    Feb 4, 2010
    10
    Very well put together, the acting made it very believable.
  70. FabianB
    Feb 7, 2010
    10
    The Movie was still great. I really liked it to watch in 3D. Good Story and great Actors / Effects.
  71. CaseyK.
    Mar 30, 2010
    10
    Highly imaginative, action-packed and with strong emotion from jake and neytiri's love. James Cameron has truly out done himself.
  72. Ryan
    Mar 4, 2010
    10
    Tugs at you. Makes you feel. I'd like people to figure out how to keep the creatures and plants while we continue learning and implementing technology. Wise use of technology instead of irresponsible non holistic use is what is called for. Keep life alive so we can populate the empty planets with life. Otherwise what point is there if we kill all that makes us feel alive?
  73. DeeM
    Mar 5, 2010
    10
    Pure genious!! A truly amazing film which can take your breath away. Has opened a whole new era for film making, setting such a high standard for others. Certainly, without any doubt whatsoever, deserves to (at least) win Best Picture, although should also take Best Director and more... 110% !!!!!!!!
  74. SebA
    Apr 10, 2010
    10
    Amazing movie. Engrossing, emotional, powerful. Everything a movie like this should be. James Cameron is one of the greatest action-adventure Directors of all time, and with Avatar, he proves he still has what it takes. The movie is beautifully shot, no awful out of focus or shaky camera to hide bad action scenes. The story is emotional and makes the action that much more engaging. Easily Amazing movie. Engrossing, emotional, powerful. Everything a movie like this should be. James Cameron is one of the greatest action-adventure Directors of all time, and with Avatar, he proves he still has what it takes. The movie is beautifully shot, no awful out of focus or shaky camera to hide bad action scenes. The story is emotional and makes the action that much more engaging. Easily one of the top 5 Blockbuster movies of the last 10 years. Expand
  75. HeatherG
    May 16, 2010
    8
    The character development was a little lack luster, but over all an awesome movie!
  76. RyderK-B
    Jun 3, 2010
    10
    This movie was insane. Absolutely blew my mind. The movie drew me in from start to finish and left me wanting more. There was not one part of the movie where I lost interest. The world James Cameron has made is outstanding and nothing short of god like. Throughout the entire movie I was fully immersed in Pandora's environment, culture and wildlife and it made me want to be a This movie was insane. Absolutely blew my mind. The movie drew me in from start to finish and left me wanting more. There was not one part of the movie where I lost interest. The world James Cameron has made is outstanding and nothing short of god like. Throughout the entire movie I was fully immersed in Pandora's environment, culture and wildlife and it made me want to be a Na'vi myself, as childish as it may seem, its 100% true! The CGI was just stunning and the 3D just layed the icing on the cake. To all these speds saying how Avatar is a rip from some crap called "pocahontas" and "dance with the wolf" or whatever, I suggest shutting the hell up and embracing the future of movies. If I wanted to watch some gay disney movie that was made during the dawn of man I would, but the thing is,i never will. Maybe you idiots should try enjoying the movie for what it is and actually try embracing the future. If you don't, that's fine by me as I will be happy to see idiots like you fade away into the past along with your retarded filth you call movies. If you were only going to see 1 movie in your lifetime, Avatar would have to be it. Expand
  77. NacorC.
    Dec 19, 2009
    10
    Beautiful, astonishing, emotive... a perfect score hands down. Go watch it now!
  78. NickR
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Worth the money, time, and the standing in line in the cold. Sure could have used an intermission, though.
  79. JD
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    Skeptical going in, but completely liberated within minutes. A magical 2.5 hours that was also surprisingly moving. I'm not sure it was a great movie, but it was undoubtedly an awesome cinematic experience that will stay with me for a long time.
  80. JudyR
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    Wonderfully exciting, adventurous and a sweet love story. Outstanding special effects and the good guys won.
  81. AndresC
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    This movie will ave you glued to your seat!
  82. M.A
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Best movie I've ever seen! Action, romance, EXCELLENT!
  83. gk
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Great Story along with great presentation. Go see it in 3D if you can. I still cannot believe what they did here. As far as some who are critical of the plot, I am guessing that they do not like the negative commentary on Western Expansion against indigenous communities. For me that was what will make this movie a classic.
  84. danielj
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    I can't imagine enjoying a movie more. I've never felt so transported to another place. I'm generally pretty critical of CGI but this movie felt real to me. And the complaints I've heard of clumsy storytelling and bad dialog were unfounded. Cameron's storytelling was flawless. So economical I didn't want it to end. There's a minimalism to some of the I can't imagine enjoying a movie more. I've never felt so transported to another place. I'm generally pretty critical of CGI but this movie felt real to me. And the complaints I've heard of clumsy storytelling and bad dialog were unfounded. Cameron's storytelling was flawless. So economical I didn't want it to end. There's a minimalism to some of the acting and script that I think balances out the sensory overload of the visuals. Perfect movie. Worth way more than the price of admission. Expand
  85. JakeS.
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    It was just terrific, i loved it!
  86. SamS.
    Jan 17, 2010
    10
    Avatar is a brilliant movie. Breathtaking visuals, and a story that really means something. It's not anti-technology, it's pro living with nature. I'm a computer programmer, and I like technology, but like the Na'vi, I also love to go mountain climbing and jumping around on the rocks like a mad goat for fun. Those who approve of their country's habit of making war Avatar is a brilliant movie. Breathtaking visuals, and a story that really means something. It's not anti-technology, it's pro living with nature. I'm a computer programmer, and I like technology, but like the Na'vi, I also love to go mountain climbing and jumping around on the rocks like a mad goat for fun. Those who approve of their country's habit of making war and killing people to take their resources (oil or unobtainium) may not like Avatar, maybe it makes them feel uncomfortable. But for the human beings among us, who value life, nature and people more than money, this is a great movie. Expand
  87. DustinM
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    After watching the movie, i felt pity that the movie isn't real.
  88. Ben
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    James Cameron has once again delivered a masterpiece. The trailers made me feel skeptical, as I just thought "this has all been done before". But I was wrong. It was far better than I expected, I'd even say that this is as good as my favourite James Cameron movie - Terminator 2. James Cameron sure does know how to tell a story, albeit quite a simple one. It has a lot of heart. The James Cameron has once again delivered a masterpiece. The trailers made me feel skeptical, as I just thought "this has all been done before". But I was wrong. It was far better than I expected, I'd even say that this is as good as my favourite James Cameron movie - Terminator 2. James Cameron sure does know how to tell a story, albeit quite a simple one. It has a lot of heart. The less I spoil the better. There wasn't a single boring moment in the movie. The best use of CG I've ever seen (I usually prefer things to be real rather than computer generated, but this is an exception). Also, the 3-D effects are breathtaking, really immerses you into the imaginative world he created. The action scenes thrilled me, one in particular actually made me quite emotional (and if any movie has such a powerful effect on you, you know it's good). I didn't want it to end, despite the long run-time. It's paced so well, with good plot twists and fascinating characters. This movie blew me away, and I might even call it the best movie this decade. It certainly gets in my top 5 favourites of all time. Expand
  89. GloriaE
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    This movie is exceptional. The creative genius that went into this movie is awesome. Can't wait for Part 2.
  90. ToddT
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    This movie will rank up there with 2001, A Space Odyssey as one of the most influential films of all time. Wonderful story and respect for god-in-nature. Along the way , a future General Custer and the imperialist invaders get what they deserve!
  91. DavidJ
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    Stunning and captivating in every way. I was completely enthralled by this film. This deserves to be seen in the finest cinema available to you. Truly, I have never seen anything like it.
  92. chrisb
    Jan 23, 2010
    10
    The fact that it has been out for weeks and still sells out is a testament to how great this movie is, It will hook you with the CGI but will win you over with the great story that everyone on earth can relate to.
  93. KyleA
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    The new bar for animated films.
  94. ArielR
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    "I pray in my heart that this dream never ends..." I've never felt so many emotions during a movie. I was happy, angry, I've cried... and I am not a sensitive person. This film is everything for me! I found there all my dreams comimg true. For the first time. I saw it 4 times and every time end credits are almost pain.
  95. HarryM.
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    Absolutely brilliant in so many ways.
  96. DetlefM
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Great Fantastic Movie. One of my favorite !!!!!
  97. JohnnyR
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    I thought 3D was a gimmick before seeing this movie. I was wrong. Avatar left me totally immersed and I felt like I was on Pandora. By the end I was sad to leave. See this in IMAX, and use the restroom before you go because you won't want to miss a moment.
  98. MaciejB.
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    When 'Avatar' finished the only drawback that appeared to me was that it ended so soon. What you see on screen cannot be put into words. As for the story, it doesn't lack anything that would make it anything less than a greatly composed plot and it fits perfectly into the world created by Cameron. A staggering movie, that for the money you pay for a ticket offersyou in When 'Avatar' finished the only drawback that appeared to me was that it ended so soon. What you see on screen cannot be put into words. As for the story, it doesn't lack anything that would make it anything less than a greatly composed plot and it fits perfectly into the world created by Cameron. A staggering movie, that for the money you pay for a ticket offersyou in return all that you could ever ask from a motion ficture. Expand
  99. joeh.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    This movie is great even though I wacthed it at 10:00 it was worth the wait.Avatar has a lot of action it's a fun family movie.
  100. MaxP.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    Amazing film , i cant forget it , but there are too much parodies to Matrix i think, anyway 10.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. A fully believable, flesh-and-blood (albeit not human flesh and blood) romance is the beating heart of "Avatar." Cameron has never made a movie just to show off visual pyrotechnics: Every bit of technology in "Avatar" serves the greater purpose of a deeply felt love story.
  2. 100
    It's been twelve years since "Titanic," but the King of the World has returned with a flawed but fantastic tour de force that, taken on its merits as a film, especially in two dimensions, warrants four stars. However, if you can wrap a pair of 3D glasses round your peepers, this becomes a transcendent, full-on five-star experience that's the closest we'll ever come to setting foot on a strange new world. Just don't leave it so long next time, eh, Jim?
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Avatar is all-enveloping and transporting, with Cameron & Co.'s years of R&D paying off with a film that, as his work has done before, raises the technical bar and throws down a challenge for the many other filmmakers toiling in the sci-fi/fantasy realm.