User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2751 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LenP.
    Dec 19, 2009
    10
    We saw this in 3-D and the special effects were fantastic. It was worth the wait as my wife had wanted to see it since she saw the 1st trailer. 2.5 hours was non-stop; never slowing down - hard to do for an epic. Finally a movie worth the money paid to see it. Len Pribish
  2. JasonA
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Without a doubt this was one of the if not the most memorable movie experiences of my lifetime!! I saw it at the IMAX and recomend the experience to everybody.
  3. MoisesA
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Beautiful. The movie made me feel alive, away from the everyday world.
  4. StefanZ
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Undescribable. Keep an open mind and a closed mouth and it should surpass all expectations.
  5. BrentA
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Simply spectacular from start to finish. One of the most enjoyable movies I have ever seen in a theatre. The 3D effects were very good as well.
  6. VictorM
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Very well paced experience.
  7. WillowK
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    A stupendous three hours in each and every way -- whether it be the technology, or the ingenuity of the Na'vi, or the sheer brilliance of the smooth 3-D animation blended with a sci-fi tale of epic proportions. It had me crying and laughing and sitting, fists clenched, on the edge of my seat in all the right places, so much that I can't help but have to see it again. Imax. Truly A stupendous three hours in each and every way -- whether it be the technology, or the ingenuity of the Na'vi, or the sheer brilliance of the smooth 3-D animation blended with a sci-fi tale of epic proportions. It had me crying and laughing and sitting, fists clenched, on the edge of my seat in all the right places, so much that I can't help but have to see it again. Imax. Truly -- if you have any modern sensibility, or a heart for fantasy, science fiction, or action of any type, this is a movie to see. Expand
  8. RubenS
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    It was an amazing movie , an instant favorite. 3D looked so great; I had one of the best cinematic experiences I've ever had.
  9. BillyS
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Avatar is the closest thing most people will ever have to an "out-of-body" experience in their lives. The last time I was so totally enraptured in a film was watching 2001: A space Odyssey on acid in 1968. Avatar is the real deal without any mind enhancing substances! James Cameron has delivered on all his promises and then some, especially to all those fans of the Yes album covers of the Avatar is the closest thing most people will ever have to an "out-of-body" experience in their lives. The last time I was so totally enraptured in a film was watching 2001: A space Odyssey on acid in 1968. Avatar is the real deal without any mind enhancing substances! James Cameron has delivered on all his promises and then some, especially to all those fans of the Yes album covers of the 70's, in Avatar they become extraordinarily real places, with exactly the peace-loving, enviromentally connected inhabitants you'd expect. Cameron strives for perfection in his work and in Avatar, he achieves it!! A Masterpiece. Expand
  10. LindaP.
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    A fantastic visual feast--especially in 3-D. Great story, Sam Worthington and Sigourney Weaver were great. Exceeded my expectations!
  11. Greg
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Absolutely stunning! I've never felt so fully engulfed in a move, it grabs you both emotionally and physically. At times, you feel as if you're right there with the characters. Unfortunately, I will never watch it in 2D, it will never have the same effect, and therein lies its only fault.
  12. IamheA
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    This film had elements of Pocohantas, The Matrix, Jurassic Park and Apocalypse Now, woven together to create something truly different that now joins the ranks of those great breakthrough film predecessors. Regarding the plot, nobody else has used this term, so let me now say that this is an anti-imperialist film. A rapacious Terran culture visits an ecologically diverse and cooperative This film had elements of Pocohantas, The Matrix, Jurassic Park and Apocalypse Now, woven together to create something truly different that now joins the ranks of those great breakthrough film predecessors. Regarding the plot, nobody else has used this term, so let me now say that this is an anti-imperialist film. A rapacious Terran culture visits an ecologically diverse and cooperative foreign world on an exploitative mission, and there is a conflict of cultures in which the film clearly takes the side of the natives. That is not a cliche because mainstream films have usually come down on the side of the people with the guns, and even when they have not they have usually failed to project a positive image of cooperatively based matriarchal societies. Yes, everything is writ large rather than subtly, but look at the rest of these comments and you can see why; not a very subtle bunch, we moviegoers, are we? Expand
  13. TylerT
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Absolutely incredible, from start to finish - you don't even realize you've been sitting there for 3 hours until you check your watch. The story has been done before, but it only serves to emphasize the best visuals and environment ever seen in a film. My mouth was gaping open for the entire movie, and there were scenes of such epic proportions that I felt like crying out in amazement.
  14. ZacsM
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    James Cameron has somehow created a world so pure and real, so stunning, that it actually makes the world we live in look like an embarassment. Get off work, park your car and go see this. Go stare in awe not only at the spectacle, that which is an absolute feast for our depraved eyes, but be in awe of a reality so evolved and connected and powerful. So beyond Kate Winslets breasts, and James Cameron has somehow created a world so pure and real, so stunning, that it actually makes the world we live in look like an embarassment. Get off work, park your car and go see this. Go stare in awe not only at the spectacle, that which is an absolute feast for our depraved eyes, but be in awe of a reality so evolved and connected and powerful. So beyond Kate Winslets breasts, and KFC, and the price of gas. So enlightening, you almost for a minute there look at the car keys and the car and the car park in disgust. For a minute there you feel like you're suffocating in a superficial and stupid society. Then you get in and drive off. Expand
  15. DennisD
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    The best cinematic experience I've ever had. Somehow, this film becomes far more than simply the sum of its part, thanks in part to the jawdroppingly beautiful world and culture presented, but also in part to the real beating heart that exists in the character arc. A fantastic experience.
  16. AllStar
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Watching this film in 3D brought back to me the spine tingling feeling last felt when I saw the Dinosaurs in Jurrassic Park. I left really feeling I had watched something groundbreaking in ambition and execution. The failure to suspend disbelief amongst some is either wilful dislike of 'block-busters' or jaded and shrivelled imaginations.
  17. Aaron
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    This movie is without a doubt amazing. Like everybody I was just so extremely impressed with the visuals and the amount of detail that went into them. The story, familiar as it may be, is still really good and I deeply enjoyed the characters especially the evil colonel played by Stephen Lang. He says really stupid things sometimes but they were extremely funny if you look at it from the This movie is without a doubt amazing. Like everybody I was just so extremely impressed with the visuals and the amount of detail that went into them. The story, familiar as it may be, is still really good and I deeply enjoyed the characters especially the evil colonel played by Stephen Lang. He says really stupid things sometimes but they were extremely funny if you look at it from the perspective that they were said to make you laugh and weren't just bits of cheesy dialogue. It doesn't matter if you are an enviromentalist or a warhawk I strongly encourage everyone to see this movie. Expand
  18. camh
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    This movie was really well done the first 30 min or so were a little slow but it ended up adding to the movie overall. i recommend that you all go and see it. i say it in Imax 3D which was excellent. there also wasn't any of the usual stupid tricks they use in other 3D movies like purposefully having things fall or fly to towards the audience to show off the 3D.
  19. BobM
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    This movie will revolutionize all movie making, as long as you see it in 3-D. Watching this movie is unlike any other movie you have ever seen, it takes you on an experience that immerses you in the world of pandora.
  20. JoelC
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    WOW... I could not imagine a better way to end a decade of great movies (I realize there was a gap in between, but still some great movies were made). We kicked it off with the amazing Lord of the Rings trilogy, and now we end it with one of the most visually stunning experiences of our lifetime. If you have not seen Avatar yet, I recommend you take 3 hours to say hello to the future of WOW... I could not imagine a better way to end a decade of great movies (I realize there was a gap in between, but still some great movies were made). We kicked it off with the amazing Lord of the Rings trilogy, and now we end it with one of the most visually stunning experiences of our lifetime. If you have not seen Avatar yet, I recommend you take 3 hours to say hello to the future of cinematography. Expand
  21. BenF
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    One of the best movies I've seen in a long time. It might have helped some that I went in expecting it to be visually stunning with a mediocre story, and it turned out to be visually stunning with a complex and thoughtful story to boot. I have to admit I was really surprised by the depth of thought and creativity and rationality within the world. The only thing that didn't make One of the best movies I've seen in a long time. It might have helped some that I went in expecting it to be visually stunning with a mediocre story, and it turned out to be visually stunning with a complex and thoughtful story to boot. I have to admit I was really surprised by the depth of thought and creativity and rationality within the world. The only thing that didn't make sense for me were the floating islands...Can't figure that out so far. Otherwise, amazing. Thrilling. Thought-provoking. Expand
  22. Taman
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    Amazing movie, so what if its similar to 'Dances with Wolves' it's for your entertainment. Stupid critic's.
  23. KeithP
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    This is a very good movie. At first, I thought the movie was going to be bad, but it turned out I was wrong. This movie was good. I'm very impressed. I give this film an A+.
  24. CerenE
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    Okay where to start? Visuals out of this world, story beautiful, message heavenly. Good for the eye and the soul.
  25. MichaelF.
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    Simply Amazing!!!
  26. AHett
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    Absolutely EPIC! If you fail to see this in 3d before theatres stop showing it, I truly pity you... RealD is the technology I saw it in and you simply can't recreate the experience at home (nor would I think in the next couple years at minimum), so if you are thinking of waiting for blu-ray/dvd, DON'T DO IT! Simply amazing in every possible respect.
  27. WillD
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    Is it like Pocahontas , Fern Gully, Peter Pan and whatever the hell else has someone in unfamiliar territory meeting a love interest / saving the natives habitat &or way of life. Well Yes (a bit) but has the habitat ever looked this good and have the characters been so well drawn & emote so realistically (Its easy forget they are CG ). And the fact that it works well on many levels: as a Is it like Pocahontas , Fern Gully, Peter Pan and whatever the hell else has someone in unfamiliar territory meeting a love interest / saving the natives habitat &or way of life. Well Yes (a bit) but has the habitat ever looked this good and have the characters been so well drawn & emote so realistically (Its easy forget they are CG ). And the fact that it works well on many levels: as a love story, action movie and as the best episode of "Lost Tribes" they never made . I don't like to be entertained cheaply (usually no art house flicks for me) and money & quality oozes out of this film. It is a testament to James Cameron's ability as one of the worlds premier film-makers. Loved it Expand
  28. PeterN
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    Fantastic. It was entertaining, the plot was great, it made you think, and the special effects were convincing. Absolute must-see. Most importantly, the 3D effects weren't overdone and gimmicky. The 3D is mostly to provide depth rather than have things come out at you, and this provided a new dimension to seeing a movie. It's funny how the few people who rate this negatively Fantastic. It was entertaining, the plot was great, it made you think, and the special effects were convincing. Absolute must-see. Most importantly, the 3D effects weren't overdone and gimmicky. The 3D is mostly to provide depth rather than have things come out at you, and this provided a new dimension to seeing a movie. It's funny how the few people who rate this negatively mostly complain about the moral message, that's against the military, or against capitalism. One person even rated it a zero despite admittedly not even having seen the movie! Clearly, the moral message of movies does get through to even the most closed-minded people out there... This movie is outstanding, and I didn't want it to end! It was so immersive and emotional... James Cameron is back!!! Expand
  29. KieranP
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    Easily the most visually stunning movie ever created.
  30. BrettB
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    Wow this movie was great. My buddys who had seen the movie first hyped it up so much that I thought it might spoil it for me but far from it I saw this movie two days in a row (once in a regular theater once in IMAX) and both viewings where well worth the money the story is great and holds you for the 3 hour run time and the 3D effects and visuals are the best I have ever seen anyone who Wow this movie was great. My buddys who had seen the movie first hyped it up so much that I thought it might spoil it for me but far from it I saw this movie two days in a row (once in a regular theater once in IMAX) and both viewings where well worth the money the story is great and holds you for the 3 hour run time and the 3D effects and visuals are the best I have ever seen anyone who has not seen this movie needs to drop what there doing and go see it. Expand
  31. NicholasG
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    This film is so visually incredible that any flaws in the plot are inconsequential. This is an innovative leap in movie making that really soars above its high-tech contemporaries. The visual awe of Pandora and the visceral connection to the story and its characters make it an unforgettable film.
  32. TroelsS.
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    As an experience Avatar simply can't receive anything less than a 10. Visually you won't find any movie as incredible as Avatar. Story-wise you might not find any other movie as filled with klich�©s. But don't watch Avatar to get a rewarding story but watch it because you might not ever see anything as visually stunning for a while! As a visual As an experience Avatar simply can't receive anything less than a 10. Visually you won't find any movie as incredible as Avatar. Story-wise you might not find any other movie as filled with klich�©s. But don't watch Avatar to get a rewarding story but watch it because you might not ever see anything as visually stunning for a while! As a visual experience, Avatar is simply perfect and worth every penny. Expand
  33. SamR.
    Dec 24, 2009
    10
    More than half the people have dissed James Cameron whilst commenting on how 'bad' this movie was. He is an amazing director and has made amazing movies before but this one tops it. For all you stupid people out there who think he's a bad director and think this movie was so bad, then why arent you out there making something better than this? You know seeing as this movie More than half the people have dissed James Cameron whilst commenting on how 'bad' this movie was. He is an amazing director and has made amazing movies before but this one tops it. For all you stupid people out there who think he's a bad director and think this movie was so bad, then why arent you out there making something better than this? You know seeing as this movie was 'sooo stupid'.. its obviously SO EASY in your eyes to make something better right? WRONG... theres a reason your all not making brilliant movies like this one... because you know absolutely nothing. All those people who disagree with me and the millions of other people, critics and so on, are stupid. Lets face the facts, the movie has done brilliantly at the awards and is predicted to get even MORE awards. Theres a reason for that.... because it was an amazing movie. I think it's the best and it is personally my favourite. It has action, romance, sci-fi, comedy, adventure.... everything I would want in a movie and more. The graphics were the best I've ever seen... it's mind blowing what people can do nowadays with technology and anybody else who says otherwise about these graphics is just a sad sad person trying to be different and difficult. As for everyone slamming the political side of the movie.. it ISNT about the american government! The army in this movie is a private group hired by the mining company so your all stupid patriots who are trying to stand up for your government because your upset James Cameron makes the idea of an army look bad, when actually most of his themes are correct and if only our world could learn a thing or two from the ideas in this movie... My advice, don't listen to these fools and defiantly watch this movie, Ive seen it 3 times now and will go back another 100 times if I could. Expand
  34. AdamS
    Dec 24, 2009
    10
    Best effects ive ever seen. The Plot isn't flawless but it doesnt matter with the scale of the battles and brilliant 3D sfx!
  35. DaveG
    Dec 24, 2009
    10
    See this. You won't believe your eyes!
  36. kwill
    Dec 24, 2009
    10
    Tough call on rating,the movie stand alone is an 8 in my opinion,but the C.G. makes this a 10. I watched this on Imax so I might be biased,But was probably the best theatre experience I ever had.
  37. YT
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    This movie brought back the fun, wonder and breeziness of heroic adventure stories to Hollywood. It has great cinematography, an entertaining story, excellent cast, and of course, it's amazing in 3D.
  38. ChrisW.
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    Best movie I've seen in a long time. I believe that many people did not like the movie because it hits so close to home. Even today, certain topics tend to make people squirm in their chairs.
  39. Joey
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    Phenomenal. Powerful. It's a masterpiece of a film.
  40. Richard
    Dec 21, 2009
    0
    You have to be kidding. The movie was awful and long. No suspense as the acting was bad. All the fancy colors and sounds were for kids with ADD. Much ado about nothing. Overhyped by the professional shills.
  41. JohnW.
    Dec 24, 2009
    9
    Come on people it's impossible by ANY standard for this movie to be a zero, quit tanking the average on purpose. I thought it was a very cool movie experience, the 3D is awesome. See this movie, only the big screen will display the full scope of this movie.
  42. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    An absolute revolution in film making. James Cameron and his team have crafted the most detailed, involving world in movie history. Yes, the plot is a little recycled and thin, but it still proves to be timely and moving. Fascinating and completely mesmerizing. Overrated? Absolutely not.
  43. Aug 11, 2010
    8
    Not quite as ambitious as I had hoped it would be when I first heard of it, but still an excellent movie. It's a great film less for the story itself than for the way it celebrates all the things people love about the space-western genre.
  44. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Obviously one of the best ever movie seen in my life.Cameron is a genious who proved he can make a movie with extreme CGI.Cameron's talent is just as big as his dreams
  45. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    extraordinary film of james cameron, this film was imposible, but now, we see that we are wrong
    i don't more things for this incredible film
    very very very advisable
  46. Aug 14, 2010
    8
    Good movie but not the best i have ever seen. The plot was ok but the graphics were the thing i watched for. james cameron kudos on this one pal. not as good as titanic
  47. Aug 13, 2010
    9
    This movie was great, and even better in 3D. James Cameron has worked really hard on this film. This is 1 of the future-set films you would want to see.
  48. Aug 13, 2010
    8
    A nice and entertaining movie that however sets its priorities on visuals rather than characters and storyline.

    I remember pre-release talk about Avatar. People already called it a colossal failure. The idea of "blue-cat people" and a $200 million budget was probably convincing. But James Cameron delivers yet again. Avatar is visually the most beautiful film ever made. Every piece of
    A nice and entertaining movie that however sets its priorities on visuals rather than characters and storyline.

    I remember pre-release talk about Avatar. People already called it a colossal failure. The idea of "blue-cat people" and a $200 million budget was probably convincing. But James Cameron delivers yet again.

    Avatar is visually the most beautiful film ever made. Every piece of background is striking. The forests and mountains are created to give a unique and enchanting atmosphere rather than something earthly. The various beasts that roam are given such detail and life-like movement that even the scariest are a beauty on the outlook. Even the labs feel bright. The technology displayed leaves one in awe. It is so amazing that the idea of avatars becomes immediately delightful. And 3D? Avatar was built to look that way. Realistic fiction at its height.

    The soundtrack sounds tribal and classical with the drum pounds and the orchestra pieces. And it adds to the breathtaking experience visualized in Avatar.

    The storyline is pretty basic, which is a gift and a curse. It's a gift because there are no complex details to focus on. It's a curse because it is cliched. But the real reason the story falls a bit is because of a lack of full character development. Cameron unfortunately has not given enough time for the characters to grow instead he shows off the dazzling visuals. Jake Sully's transformation of character feels flawed and incomplete. At the end, it did not quite feel as though he had grown into the avatar. And the military is shown more as sadistic and greedy, something very anti-American. Sigourney Weaver's character is at first harsh and then suddenly sympathetic towards the Na'vi. That change isn't calculated well enough.

    James Cameron's previous blockbuster, Titanic, was similarly criticized before and eventually acclaimed. Whereas Titanic had good story and developed characters and stunning visuals, Avatar succeeds because of the visuals solely. However, it is still a worthy movie to watch.
    Expand
  49. Oct 6, 2010
    7
    This movie is a slighty overrated but it's still very entertaining. This isn't the kind of movie you could really watch at home though and be very entertained. This is very much a theater movie to watch in 3D if you could IMAX 3D but at home it would seem kind of boring.
  50. Oct 1, 2010
    9
    Re-watching Avatar on Blu-Ray (minus the 3D) proved to me that it can stand on it's own story. While the CG is breath-taking and far more advanced than ANYTHING that's come before in cinema history, the story itself is interesting (it's copied, but adds a spin or two) enough and the characters and acting just deep enough to hold the film up.

    It's recommended if just so you can say you've
    Re-watching Avatar on Blu-Ray (minus the 3D) proved to me that it can stand on it's own story. While the CG is breath-taking and far more advanced than ANYTHING that's come before in cinema history, the story itself is interesting (it's copied, but adds a spin or two) enough and the characters and acting just deep enough to hold the film up.

    It's recommended if just so you can say you've seen it, but it is a great movie anyway.
    Expand
  51. Aug 17, 2010
    6
    Truly I disliked this movie.... A lot. I'm giving it a six for special effects which were amazing. But as for the actual story it really wasn't very original. John Smith goes to the "New World" and saves the girl he loves. Doesn't this sound like Avatar? I think it was too close to Pocahontas, but some of you may think otherwise. Still, this movie was entertaining but I don't likeTruly I disliked this movie.... A lot. I'm giving it a six for special effects which were amazing. But as for the actual story it really wasn't very original. John Smith goes to the "New World" and saves the girl he loves. Doesn't this sound like Avatar? I think it was too close to Pocahontas, but some of you may think otherwise. Still, this movie was entertaining but I don't like movies with the "earth god" thing or fantasy.... It's worth seeing though, rent it for sure. Expand
  52. Aug 19, 2010
    7
    Mining Corporation after deposits on alien planet, team are sent down to inhibit the planet in native form via Avatar program, things go wrong, man befriends tribe, learns their ways, fights the evil corporate machine.
    Competent yet cliched sci-fi action fest which has plenty of thrills & spills over its 2 and a half hours.
    The CGI is very well done, as are the action sequences with the
    Mining Corporation after deposits on alien planet, team are sent down to inhibit the planet in native form via Avatar program, things go wrong, man befriends tribe, learns their ways, fights the evil corporate machine.
    Competent yet cliched sci-fi action fest which has plenty of thrills & spills over its 2 and a half hours.
    The CGI is very well done, as are the action sequences with the big fight at the end the standout.
    Where it does fall down is the awful dialogue, the ridiculous stereotypical militia & the story isn't exactly a new concept & pretty predictable.
    Expand
  53. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    You have to see this film in 3-d to apprecciate it. That being said, Best movie I have ever seen. The visuals make you feel as if you are in that world. The storylines having some political meaning about todays wars. The story of love between two completely different beings. Yeah its pretty mind blowing.
  54. Oct 28, 2010
    7
    Not totally blown away, but i was thoroughly entertained by it. But the film's strongest point is definitely the visuals. Pandora is beautiful and looks realistic. The story, though unoriginal, is still effective for this film. The dialogue, is bad sometimes, and decent in others. Definitely not a strong point. But if this film needs people to root for, its easy to tell who. If you want 3Not totally blown away, but i was thoroughly entertained by it. But the film's strongest point is definitely the visuals. Pandora is beautiful and looks realistic. The story, though unoriginal, is still effective for this film. The dialogue, is bad sometimes, and decent in others. Definitely not a strong point. But if this film needs people to root for, its easy to tell who. If you want 3 hours of great visuals and nothing else, this is your movie. Expand
  55. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    In my top 5 movies of all time. I'll start with the obvious. Visually stunning. I have never felt so submerged into the movies environment. I literally felt like I was flying with Jake and Neytiri on my own Banshee. I didn't even care that the story was unoriginal. The Lion King wasn't an original story but its still fantastic. Everything James Cameron touches turns to gold. The onlyIn my top 5 movies of all time. I'll start with the obvious. Visually stunning. I have never felt so submerged into the movies environment. I literally felt like I was flying with Jake and Neytiri on my own Banshee. I didn't even care that the story was unoriginal. The Lion King wasn't an original story but its still fantastic. Everything James Cameron touches turns to gold. The only reason people don't like this movie is because of it's anti war message and because they think it makes the USMC look bad. Get over it, its a movie. Shouldn't have lost the Best Picture Oscar to The Hurt Locker. Expand
  56. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    Awsome, Alien, Star Wars, Heavy Metal, and Jurassic Park all wrapped into one spectacular sci-fi thriller!
    The battle scenes alone should satisfy any sci-fi nut!
  57. Sep 16, 2010
    8
    While I don't think it's the masterpiece everybody's talking about, I still liked it, despite Neytiri being annoying and Sam Wothington's mediocre acting. In fact, I actually saw it in 2d, not 3d!
  58. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    I'm sorry, folks. Say what you want about the special effects, #D technology or artwork, but Avatar's story being one used over and over is incredibly annoying and definitely preachy. If I wanted to see a movie about environmentalist propaganda, I'd see An Inconvenient Truth. If you looked back at Dances with Wolves or Ferngully, you'd see this movie. Trust me.
  59. Nov 2, 2010
    6
    If you didn't get the chance to watch this in theaters, I feel sorry for you. The non 3D version simply isn't as good. Even on a 1080p screen it shows that this movie was more about the experience of watching 3D well done and not the story in the movie itself.
  60. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    Visually mindblowing and irresistibly exciting, James Cameron has created a masterpiece that is a revolution to the film industry. The story may not be new, but carries a strong moral message and has an emotional love story in the background. It must be seen in 3D for the visual splendour to be at its prime effectiveness. I sincerely hope that its sequels do not ruin such a fabulous movie,Visually mindblowing and irresistibly exciting, James Cameron has created a masterpiece that is a revolution to the film industry. The story may not be new, but carries a strong moral message and has an emotional love story in the background. It must be seen in 3D for the visual splendour to be at its prime effectiveness. I sincerely hope that its sequels do not ruin such a fabulous movie, one which (despite 'The Hurt Locker's brilliance) should have won the Oscar for 'Best Picture'. Expand
  61. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    Visualy, I thought the special effects were spot on, even the motion capture animation was brilliant.

    James Cameron did a spot on job making this movie.

    I loved the animation and the action sequences.

    Probably my 3rd favourite film of all time.
  62. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A young man named Jake Sully takes his late brother's place in a mission on a distant world of Pandora. There he learns that Parker Selfridge wants to drive the native humanoid Na'vi in order collect all the material throughout. In exchange for his legs, Jake helps his new friends use their avatar identities find the Na'vi, but he gets lost along the way and finally finds the tribe. As he begins to bond with the tribe and falls in love with the beautiful blue alien, Neytiri, little does he know that Colonel Quaritch determines the destroy the Na'vi as he rallys up the tribe for an epic war for the fate of Pandora.

    I caught this in the same month it came out in 3D and was really amazed by it. Then a few months later, I saw it again in 2D that time and enjoyed it again.

    I've been told by a lot of people that this movie plagerized Dances with Wolves, Pocahontas, The Last Samurai, and Ferngully: The Last Rainforest, but that doesn't apply the fact that this is different from the others. IMO, for a action/science fiction and a love movie, I liked it and I called it "One of the best movies ever made" and if some of you hate it for its plagerism, that's fine.

    As for the rest of this movie, I liked a lot about it. The acting was excellent, the storyline was well-pace and put together, the visuals were very awesome to look at even though its not from Industrial Light and Magic and Sony Imageworks, the science was very interesting, the action scenes were unique and epic, and the James Horner music score (pop song "I See You" included) was memorable and had a lot of emotion to it which makes it even more memorable. Oh, and James Cameron's directing was very neat and creative, so that's worth saying much.

    Avatar is James Cameron's highest grossing movie and it is in no doubt one of the best action/science fiction movies ever made. Can't wait for the sequels. Keep up the good work, James.

    9/10
    Expand
  63. Oct 18, 2010
    8
    I know it was overhyped an'all but i really enjoyed avatar, i must say. But i preferred it without the 3D. I don't think the film's only qualities are 3D and great CGI; i thought it was full of solid acting performances and James Horner did the film credit with a solid, iconic soundtrack. I thought the plot was good and didn't mind the script too much, but obviously nothing couldI know it was overhyped an'all but i really enjoyed avatar, i must say. But i preferred it without the 3D. I don't think the film's only qualities are 3D and great CGI; i thought it was full of solid acting performances and James Horner did the film credit with a solid, iconic soundtrack. I thought the plot was good and didn't mind the script too much, but obviously nothing could completely live up to this amount of hype! Expand
  64. Apr 30, 2011
    0
    The huge amount of positive users reviews on here kills all of my hope about humanity. This movie was an ego show by Cameron, and the only good part was the innovative effects. The story was terrible, and tried WAY too hard to send a message. The acting was garbage, and the world had no depth. Everyone I went to see it with was very excited about it....but half fell asleep in theThe huge amount of positive users reviews on here kills all of my hope about humanity. This movie was an ego show by Cameron, and the only good part was the innovative effects. The story was terrible, and tried WAY too hard to send a message. The acting was garbage, and the world had no depth. Everyone I went to see it with was very excited about it....but half fell asleep in the theater and the rest of us were laughing the whole time at how stupid it was. If the money that it took to make this movie was spent on something productive, we'd be on freaking Mars right now. Sit.kip Expand
  65. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    YAY! What an awesome movie, it really had everything it needed. Intense battles, deep moments and some slightly scarey themes tied this Sci-Fi in a neat little blue bow, that also glows in the dark and is environmentally friendly.
  66. Dec 31, 2010
    6
    The pinnacle of the "think with your eyes not with your mind" movement that is currently ruining the fields of cinema, music, and video games. This movie looks astounding in IMAX and 1080p and the special effects are ground breaking. The sound quality is also phenomenal and I can see how it is really easy to get sucked into the eye candy that is being offered up. The script and actingThe pinnacle of the "think with your eyes not with your mind" movement that is currently ruining the fields of cinema, music, and video games. This movie looks astounding in IMAX and 1080p and the special effects are ground breaking. The sound quality is also phenomenal and I can see how it is really easy to get sucked into the eye candy that is being offered up. The script and acting however leave much to be desired and you need to be able to look beyond the pretty pictures. Once you get past the shiny solar panels on the space ships and glowing lights on the alien planet the movie doesn't have much substance. This is without a doubt one of the most overrated movies of all time. I wouldn't go as far as to give it a 1 or a 0 but this movie had immense potential and ultimately turned out to be a giant heap of eye candy. Expand
  67. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    Lives up to all the hype, a must watch for everyone. James Cameron is a genius and Avatar proves it. It's a long film but it's one of the best I've ever seen.
  68. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    As the highest grossing film of all time, Avatar is the must-see science fiction movie that is definetely one of the greatest films I've ever seen. James Cameron is absolutely a terrific director for this awesome movie. The special effects and the production design are also wicked phenomenal. Avatar is not only one of the best films of 2009 and the 2000s, it is also one of the best filmsAs the highest grossing film of all time, Avatar is the must-see science fiction movie that is definetely one of the greatest films I've ever seen. James Cameron is absolutely a terrific director for this awesome movie. The special effects and the production design are also wicked phenomenal. Avatar is not only one of the best films of 2009 and the 2000s, it is also one of the best films of all time since Jurassic Park. Expand
  69. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    Avatar is one greatest filming masterpieces of the modern age out striping it's competitors in all areas. The pure originality is mind blowing, the graphics stunning and the characters credible and flawless. The plot apart from being brilliant explores themes and circumstances not unknown to our world, enough to make American politicians and military to squirm in their seats. David CameronAvatar is one greatest filming masterpieces of the modern age out striping it's competitors in all areas. The pure originality is mind blowing, the graphics stunning and the characters credible and flawless. The plot apart from being brilliant explores themes and circumstances not unknown to our world, enough to make American politicians and military to squirm in their seats. David Cameron reminds us of the capabilities of modern film-making and the the crew that make them happen. Avatar has set the standard and will be remembered as the film that truly made film-making an art form. Expand
  70. Jul 21, 2011
    8
    If this movie actually cared for other stuff than the art, the designs and the SFX (which are all fabulous); I would give it a perfect 10. Unfortunately, the story is incredibly average, not bad, but average. I truly expected more from the director of Titanic, The Terminator, Aliens, The Abyss, True Lies... etc; but hey, congrats to the man: Avatar is the highest grossing movie of all timeIf this movie actually cared for other stuff than the art, the designs and the SFX (which are all fabulous); I would give it a perfect 10. Unfortunately, the story is incredibly average, not bad, but average. I truly expected more from the director of Titanic, The Terminator, Aliens, The Abyss, True Lies... etc; but hey, congrats to the man: Avatar is the highest grossing movie of all time ($2,782,275,172), and Titanic is second. So hat off to James Cameron. But if only they had spent so much money ($237 million) for a script that was at least worth it. Expand
  71. Jan 2, 2011
    8
    "Avatar" is as visually intriguing as its impression on the viewer is enjoyable. Its contents make for a recipe that appeals, in atleast one respect, to critics of all facets of interest.
  72. Jan 7, 2011
    7
    The story is a Science Fiction adaption of Pocahontas. The movie shows that colonialism leads to the destruction of nature due to excessive exploitation of the land, and further to suffering of the native people due to the accompanying displacement of them. Moreover, the movie supports a holistic world view, describing a harmonic interconnection between the indigenous people, flora andThe story is a Science Fiction adaption of Pocahontas. The movie shows that colonialism leads to the destruction of nature due to excessive exploitation of the land, and further to suffering of the native people due to the accompanying displacement of them. Moreover, the movie supports a holistic world view, describing a harmonic interconnection between the indigenous people, flora and fauna. The natives live in harmony with animals and nature. At one point the War on Terror mentality is criticized, when the humans explain their attack as a means of protection from the "savages". However, they were the ones who stole natural resources from foreign soil and threatened the natives in the first place. Fascinating pictures, dramatic showdown. Expand
  73. Jun 27, 2011
    9
    I've had mixed feelings through the months regarding this film. The day I watched it for the first time, I thought it was the most amazing sci-fi movie ever, with outstanding visuals, music and design. The day after, I realized that the plot was way too predictable, corny and cliche, and that some acting was borderline B-movie. Now, I've watched the film for the third time, and I haveI've had mixed feelings through the months regarding this film. The day I watched it for the first time, I thought it was the most amazing sci-fi movie ever, with outstanding visuals, music and design. The day after, I realized that the plot was way too predictable, corny and cliche, and that some acting was borderline B-movie. Now, I've watched the film for the third time, and I have reached the conclussion it is one of the best films of the decade. Yes, the plot is nothing new or original, but James Cameron manages, just like he did in Titanic, to give it just enough emotional impact and even provide a good message about racism, enviromentalism, imperialism, the dangerous potential of capitalism, and the treatment of Native Americans and other "uncivilized" cultures through history. In the end, Avatar is trully a great film and an instant classic. Expand
  74. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    A film that has captured a global audience, Avatar is nothing short of amazing. The effects are unbelievable, the story is arguably original enough, and the performances are good with Saldana giving the best. The film lacks in the score department. While effective, I believe the score could have packed more of an emotional punch. While this film did not capture Best Picture, I think it isA film that has captured a global audience, Avatar is nothing short of amazing. The effects are unbelievable, the story is arguably original enough, and the performances are good with Saldana giving the best. The film lacks in the score department. While effective, I believe the score could have packed more of an emotional punch. While this film did not capture Best Picture, I think it is all the better for it. Avatar will be remembered far longer than The Hurt Locker. Cameron knows how to make movies that have widespread appeal and that's what making movies is all about. Expand
  75. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    This movie, is in my opinion, the best film of 2009. This movie shows how great James Cameron is at making movies. Great special effects, awesome fight scene and it has the perfect blend of action, sci fi, romance and fantasy.
  76. Jul 19, 2011
    2
    I thought that this movie was really bad. It was incredibly long and barely kept my attention. The special effects were cool but that doesn't change the fact that all James Cameron did was make a futuristic remake of Dances With wolves. NOT a good movie.
  77. Sep 28, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. James Cameron has succeeded where George Lucas failed.

    That was the one phrase that went through my head on the drive back from the theater. What I mean is, the promise of the CGI technology that Lucas sought in the prequels and failed to achieve, Cameron has gone and fulfilled it. The visuals are a hair away from being photorealistic. It never felt terrible to look at. The 3D is the best I've ever seen and really added to the experience. Absolutely worthwhile for the extra 5 dollars on the ticket, I thought.

    Story and dialogue... there's some issues. It's not quite up to par with the visual technology. I'm not gonna go and say it's my favorite Cameron film, Aliens is still there. But it's not so far from that level of quality. Certainly closer then Titanic ever was. As a pure cinematic experience, it delivers.

    That was the general overview. Now for the in depth stuff:

    Ya know, what's most impressive might just be how Cameron's subverted his entire legacy. What do I mean by that? Well, let's see... in Aliens, he made us root for the space marines as they desperately fought against getting eaten and horribly mutilated by giant aliens. In Avatar, he's actually made us root for the giant aliens as they desperately fought to eat and horribly mutilate the space marines. A much greater feat, I think. (In case you were wondering, I was referring to the scene of the Banshees biting marines and throwing em out of the helos.)

    The delivery of the story is pretty damn close to the Cameron we've all known and love. The final huge battle scene... just beautiful action setpieces and payoff. It all clicks together. We don't quite have to suffer all summer under a bunch of hacks and one guy named Michael Bay. You could call this whole December tale The Return of the King. Cameron's returned and god bless him, he's still the king of action. I know my action, Aliens is one of my 5 favorite films of all time, and he has not let us down.

    That was the delivery of the story. The actual story itself... ugh. This is problematic for me. Maybe it would have helped if I'd been some sorta tree hugging hippie liberal, but despite living in San Francisco, I am not. So the story really uh... didn't work that well for me. I've never watched Dances with Wolves, but I can completely understand what they mean when they say this film is Dances with Wolves in Space. It basically is just this tale about the white man moving in and trying to take the land of the poor Indians. And how we have to fight back. Jake's whole speech before the battle there kinda nailed it. Though I found it funny how he said "They will not take our land!" Our land, Jake? Last time I checked, you were a human. You're not a native. It's not quite your land. But uh... yea, this whole story was just so cliched and predictable and the overall themes were so bluntly put... it did begin to nag at me. It was bothersome. The Naavi themselves seem to be a hybrid of Indians and Africans. When it's about taking their land, it's obviously an Indian reference. But they also have dreadlocks and they do the weird chanting and the music gives us these shrieks and moans... those remind me more of African influences. But yea, the story's about the white man being greedy and taking the land of Indian/Africans. And they have to fight back while riding horses and using bows and arrows. It's just so heavy handed and obvious.

    And the **** lame Bush references... oh my god. It's just Cameron hitting us over the **** head over and over again. It's just not good. Lines like "We will fight terror with terror" and "Jake, they're planning some sort of shock and awe campaign." I mean, jesus christ. What were you thinking? Aliens was clearly about Vietnam in some manner, but it wasn't that obnoxious about it, was it? Those lines just killed the scenes for me. You could hear the snarky laughter in the audience. Just... ugh, cut it out. We get it dude, you didn't like Bush. We also know you don't like destroying the environment. Thanks for the hints. We should probably also save the whales, right? That's what you're about too, right? Subtlety... more subtlety please.

    Okay, let's talk about that one scene... ya know, the uh, the iffy scene. I was totally with the story, going with it up to that point quite well... it was working on me, and I was along for the ride but man... that SCENE. You know the one. Where Jake and the blue cat princess finally... bump uglies. Now, I'd been going along with Cameron but that scene made me feel very very uncomfortable. Like I was watching something a furry would be getting off on. And yea, I know the Naavi don't have any fur. But still... it felt very wrong and disturbing. One of those times where you just manage to let out some nervous laughter.
    Expand
  78. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    I thought it was a great movie. good story, good acting, amazing special effects. I understand the plot is just not good enough for some of the experts, but this is a really good film.
  79. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first time I heard about avatar it made me think about a flying monk with a stick to wack guys with. But when I saw the trailer then I got more interested in it. Turns out its all about a disabled ex-marine who fills in for his twin brother (because he was shot by a robber), to go to a distant planet. In order to become part of the avatar program (the DNA of the user and the indiginous natives, that was fused together in order to befriend them). He has to befriend them so that the other humans can get a rare element that happens to be under their home tree.it turns out that the real bad guys are us. Well thats all I'm going to say exeppt that it is one of my favourite movie. And the best movie ewer made. Can't wait till avatar 2. Expand
  80. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    This movie is really stunning. The effects and CGI are amazing, and it has a great storyline. Years of planning put into this payed off. Pandora was designed really well, and the battle scenes couldn't have been better. The "avatars" were played by real actors and filmed on a motion capture studio, and they done really well. the film was really well made, and I can't think of many ways inThis movie is really stunning. The effects and CGI are amazing, and it has a great storyline. Years of planning put into this payed off. Pandora was designed really well, and the battle scenes couldn't have been better. The "avatars" were played by real actors and filmed on a motion capture studio, and they done really well. the film was really well made, and I can't think of many ways in which it could be improved upon. Expand
  81. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Amazing special effects! Some people don't like the story of this film but I do. It is very fun and it was worth it to see this movie. The large budget really shows that a lot of work was put into this movie
  82. Dec 22, 2011
    8
    This movie actually shows the real history of humans that how we where and then what happend to us after a perfect golden age and how we all were one and closed to each other and the nature.
  83. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    People bashed it cause it was a big budget film and the focus of the previews and reviews were on the special effects, however this is one of the best sci-fi movies ever made, filled with hidden messages and real implications for our future. If you refuse to see it because it was a highly publicized blockbuster, than you are an idiot!
  84. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    La mejor pelicula de ciencia ficcion desde The Matrix. Avatar es simplemente extraordinaria. Un filme romantico e visualmente fantastico que nos presenta problemas reales. La historia puede que sea poco creativa, pero la trama, los elmentos que Avatar posee la hacen ser perfecta. La verdad es que fue sorprendente, no solo visualmente, sino ademas que presenta problemas causados porLa mejor pelicula de ciencia ficcion desde The Matrix. Avatar es simplemente extraordinaria. Un filme romantico e visualmente fantastico que nos presenta problemas reales. La historia puede que sea poco creativa, pero la trama, los elmentos que Avatar posee la hacen ser perfecta. La verdad es que fue sorprendente, no solo visualmente, sino ademas que presenta problemas causados por humanos. Cameron lo hace nuevemante, esta es definitivamente su mejor pelicula. No es solo un filme, sino la razon por la que vamos al cine. Expand
  85. Jun 10, 2012
    5
    Four words for this movie: Pocahontas from the future. It's no joke. The visual effects, Pandora, photography, everything is great. But I think James Cameron got so excited by these that he forgot to invest in a good history. No surprise he didn't get th Oscar for Best Movie...
  86. Jul 4, 2012
    3
    Cameron hit on special effects but other than that, unoriginal in story and slightly boring. Too much CGI for my liking. Very well done effects but the story falls short of new and/or exciting.
  87. Nov 8, 2012
    6
    A great vision, with more than excellent visual effects, some of the best I've ever seen in fact. Despite this, the film drones on for the last hour with battle sequences. If you're not a hardcore sci-fi action fan, it'll put you to sleep.
  88. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    Avatar 10/10..........................................................................................................................................
  89. Mar 9, 2013
    4
    Truly Avatar was a mastermind. Was. Cameron gives the plot too many things to keep up with, not only that but it gives you an unpleasing run time that will leave you bored till the end. Now for the people who disageree with me and say its an all time epic film your wrong. Watch it again and you'll realize how boring and forgettable the last battle of the movie was. So overall, this was aTruly Avatar was a mastermind. Was. Cameron gives the plot too many things to keep up with, not only that but it gives you an unpleasing run time that will leave you bored till the end. Now for the people who disageree with me and say its an all time epic film your wrong. Watch it again and you'll realize how boring and forgettable the last battle of the movie was. So overall, this was a very exhausting film to watch. Expand
  90. Mar 8, 2013
    1
    Avatar is the poster child for 3D cinema yet its other qualities are distinctly one dimensional, apparently 200 million dollars can't buy you a good story. Anyone who watches this is in for a headache-inducing three hours that they will never get back.
  91. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    James Cameron's thrilling film starring talented actors like Sam Worthington, Zoe Saldana and Sigourney Weaver will always remain a favorite to many of its viewers. Special effects were jaw-dropping and unbelievable.
  92. Sep 8, 2013
    10
    Definitely the best movie i've ever seen in many years!!! Great effects, great acting. great music and everything is PERFECT!!!! I'm into this movie, and i'll never forget!
  93. May 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What an amazing movie and the ability to bring the viewer deeper into the realm of new belief is not comparable. James Cameron was able to strongly voice opinions through the characters and situations presented in Avatar. From the story line all the way down to the visual effects, the movie was spot on for its delivery point.

    I don't believe that this movie set out to push its belief and logic on the viewer, but set out to prove a point in society; that is, that our world loses sight of essentials when we are in need of any resource. The beauty and character of Pandora is easily forgotten by the drive to gain substance. We have a long line of character personalities from the general who at any expense will not be stopped in his need for what seems is payback, to the scientist who wishes to gain knowledge from the indigenous peoples.

    I think there is a stronger presence in this movie for a world in search of answers, or unwilling to see whats in front of us. In modern world we struggle to see that there is a God, much like on Pandora. The beauty of the creation is hard to enjoy when you see it as a mere object. The creation, just like on earth, was created to prove a maker! Losing sight of this turns us into mere objects for pure progression, nothing less nothing more, but we are caught wondering what is this life for? The answer lays on the lines more deeply of is there more than this life or is this it? Pandora, it seems, attempts to answer this question through its deity. There is a higher power that brings life and beauty but the inability to come to that realization creates what seems is a monster in the characters seeking their riches.

    I think the deeper questions are not along the lines of, what was the point of this movie? But, more along the lines of what can we learn from this movie. There is a bold statement made about culture today, do we see that ourselves, or are we blinded by progress much like from the humans in this movie?

    I think many dislike this movie because of its bold undertones so we flee or become stand offish. There is a constant critique about controversial movies, but what about sitting back in learning rather than being so critical?
    Expand
  94. May 27, 2013
    1
    Everything is horrible. This alien, antagonist, helicopters, both protagonist and antagonist's weapons, arrow, spear, robot, giant knife, story. What a waste of money. What's worst is there will be a sequel.
  95. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Epic. I really liked it!! James Cameron is the best film director ever. The 3D was amazing and the special effects too!! Do not miss it! Simply amazing!!
  96. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Masterpiece!

    I think many many years down the line this film will be looked back on as one of the greatest films of all time, It's already the #1 grossing film of all time so it just goes to show how successful this film really was! Avatar was extremely unique. With a very detailed, emotional and grabbing story combined with some of the best, if not the actual best visual effects
    Masterpiece!

    I think many many years down the line this film will be looked back on as one of the greatest films of all time, It's already the #1 grossing film of all time so it just goes to show how successful this film really was!

    Avatar was extremely unique. With a very detailed, emotional and grabbing story combined with some of the best, if not the actual best visual effects ever come to a cinema screen. I would have to say this is one of the greatest films I have ever seen in my life, and rightly so!

    Highly recommended!
    Expand
  97. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    James did a awesome job making this movie. I saw the trailer, asking my parents badly to let me see it. Luckily they said yes. I walked out of the movies thinking "This is my favourite movie of all time". It still is. I got the blu-ray and never regretted it.
  98. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    This is one of the most amazing movies i┬┤ve ever seen. The special effects are astounding, and i think it is also an artistic masterpiece. The landscape, plants and animals were brilliantly designed, the characters┬┤development in the movie is correctly achieved and the story is interesting. It is a very good movie filled with beauty, majesty and lot of creativity. I highly recommend it.
  99. Mar 24, 2014
    7
    Avatar is an amazing visual spectacle to look at, and is pretty much the definition of eye candy. But, the movie distracts you with the beautiful scenery while it lacks enough story to fill its own shoes.
  100. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    This movie is the complete in-theater experience. Watching it at home, it still holds up well, but in theaters, especially IMAX, the movie was absolutely stunning. It was an engrossing ride, that uses its atmosphere to draw you into the world and apart of the story.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. A fully believable, flesh-and-blood (albeit not human flesh and blood) romance is the beating heart of "Avatar." Cameron has never made a movie just to show off visual pyrotechnics: Every bit of technology in "Avatar" serves the greater purpose of a deeply felt love story.
  2. 100
    It's been twelve years since "Titanic," but the King of the World has returned with a flawed but fantastic tour de force that, taken on its merits as a film, especially in two dimensions, warrants four stars. However, if you can wrap a pair of 3D glasses round your peepers, this becomes a transcendent, full-on five-star experience that's the closest we'll ever come to setting foot on a strange new world. Just don't leave it so long next time, eh, Jim?
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Avatar is all-enveloping and transporting, with Cameron & Co.'s years of R&D paying off with a film that, as his work has done before, raises the technical bar and throws down a challenge for the many other filmmakers toiling in the sci-fi/fantasy realm.