Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: December 18, 2009
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 3033 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,168
Mixed:
450
Negative:
415
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
JohnAJan 14, 2010
Avatar is basically an overly long, expensive B-movie. The plot is not just simplistic and cliche, but lazy even... apparently audiences won't realize it's mean to bomb the holy tree unless a "daisy cutter" is involved. The movie Avatar is basically an overly long, expensive B-movie. The plot is not just simplistic and cliche, but lazy even... apparently audiences won't realize it's mean to bomb the holy tree unless a "daisy cutter" is involved. The movie is littered with cheap references like that, presumably to curry favor with left-wing critics who otherwise would admit the story is awful. So far as the special effects: it really should not enhance the rating in my view because they are only impressive in comparison to today's standards. In 10 years, Avatar won't look like anything special, and the movie will gradually fade into obscurity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PabloS.Jan 14, 2010
This hurts. Not ever did I want to say anything negative about a James Cameron film, but that's where this is going. I want to start off by saying that I did not find the effects as everyone else, maybe it's because CGI with detail This hurts. Not ever did I want to say anything negative about a James Cameron film, but that's where this is going. I want to start off by saying that I did not find the effects as everyone else, maybe it's because CGI with detail and human emotion isn't such a big deal anymore. I mean we all knew it was heading this way, but this is not CGI without humans, this was mo-cap and its obvious and it should be mo-cap to achieve the Uncanny Valley. All in all we all play video games now and this was not that impressive in a world filled with CGI. Enough about the effects however, the 3D was very well done in the use of depth and being tolerable for two and a half hours, although nothing mind blowing like debris flying at you. Movie theaters still have not achieved the theme park 3D that everyone really wants to see. Now this is where the biggest knock comes and I realize that people are suckers for a good love story, but do you remember Fern Gully? Yup the animated Fox film in the '90's about the rainforrest and fairies, now imagine the fairies being 12 foot blue Native Americans and Sam Worthington is the shrunken guy that realizes that teraing doen the rainforrest is bad. Hmm....ok lets take that story and add millions more dollars to it and make it a sci-fi opus (which it isn't) and tell everyone that they've never seen anything like this. I have and I want my money back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
W.ParishJan 15, 2010
cool images. the movie itself boring in most parts, long and tedious. Lots of social and environmental messages. Did not care for the characters as much as I wanted to.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
felipem.Jan 1, 2010
A nivel visual bastante buena,el resto muy irregular.es como pocahontas en el futuro!.muy predecible.guion con ideas y estereotipos muy trillados.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
anonymousJan 17, 2010
Once you accept that the storyline of this movie isn't original you can appreciate the fact that it is one of the most entertaining movies of all, it just sucks you in. I don't care that it's the same story as "Pocahontas" or Once you accept that the storyline of this movie isn't original you can appreciate the fact that it is one of the most entertaining movies of all, it just sucks you in. I don't care that it's the same story as "Pocahontas" or "Dances With Wolves" It was just really really fun to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyO.Jan 1, 2010
If you've ever played Crysis for PC, you'll understand exactly what I'm getting at. The story of Avatar itself isn't all that much to jump up and down about. The film is, however, the prettiest thing you've ever seen If you've ever played Crysis for PC, you'll understand exactly what I'm getting at. The story of Avatar itself isn't all that much to jump up and down about. The film is, however, the prettiest thing you've ever seen in a movie theater. I saw the 3D version of this film, and I can say it's worth it for the 3D version. Too many 3D films destroy their believability by making things "jump" out of the screen at you -- "WOW it's 3D!". This film does not do that. 3D is used as a tool to make the action more real -- not less. Expect incredible visuals -- but don't expect much on story from Avatar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DonaldC.Jan 18, 2010
Fantastic special effects. Strong, yet contrived story line - closely parallels modern and historical events. Watched it two days in a row - 3D was spectacular.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
mlJan 10, 2010
Watching the media genuflect is really frustrating. I'm a member of the digital generation and this stuff doesn't impress me anymore. You forget about the 3D fifteen minutes in, and there are many movies that put their CGI to Watching the media genuflect is really frustrating. I'm a member of the digital generation and this stuff doesn't impress me anymore. You forget about the 3D fifteen minutes in, and there are many movies that put their CGI to better purposes without a $300 price tag or killing the suspension of disbelief. Without the pretty graphics we are left with a predictable, cliched plot, terrible characters and dialog, and a blatant political subtext that is insulting to even Sarah Palin's intelligence and left me, a far-left liberal, feeling very annoyed. This movie is like being hit over the head repeatedly with a heavy blunt object. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JosephL.Jan 18, 2010
Been there-done it. Can anyone say "Dances with Wolves albeit in 3D? Am I the only one that is less than wowed with Avatar?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ToniJ.Jan 19, 2010
The film is too long and gets boring. The graphics and costume creation is good. I did not understand the story being told.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IcemanK.Jan 2, 2010
Great movie. Don't beleive those who gave it the low scores. It was very very well made. This is the kind of movie that was so well put together that it had the ability to make you feel like you were actually on another world for 2.5 Great movie. Don't beleive those who gave it the low scores. It was very very well made. This is the kind of movie that was so well put together that it had the ability to make you feel like you were actually on another world for 2.5 hours. I applaud the creators and all who put this film together as it is a masterpiece of cinema. Yes, there are some cliches that can be traced back to stuff done in other films, but seriously - what "hasn't" been done before ? Yes, there was the age old cowboys/indians type of conflict - but it is still relevant and definitely part of our human nature - so it is absolutely valid as a plot. And, some on here said the acting was terrible, and that there was no character development - I can't understand those comments - as this film had just the right blend of development that was needed to tell the story. One last comment - Zoe Saldana is hot as Uhura and also as a NaVi - I'd do them both. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
IanMJan 20, 2010
The film was flashy. That was it. Don't get me wrong I'm sure the technology driving it was revolutionary, but the story is so drab and run of the mill that in the first five minutes I knew what was going to happen. It has a good The film was flashy. That was it. Don't get me wrong I'm sure the technology driving it was revolutionary, but the story is so drab and run of the mill that in the first five minutes I knew what was going to happen. It has a good message, but I fear that this plight was drowned out by loud explosions and glossed over with fancy computers. Also I did not like how in the first six minutes of the film I could tell who the bad guys were. It would have created a much more interesting conflict had the lines between good and evil been blurred as they so often are in real life. We know off the bat that the humans are selfish pigs who are occupying the planet Pandora for nothing more than a monetary greed. Over all I fear this film's quality has been blown out of proportion and the ratings skewed because James Cameron created some new fancy machine that helps us confuse great CGI with great story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JHJan 2, 2010
Excellent special effects spoiled by a recycled storyline and even worse script. Very predictable, another American/human who saves the entire planet and indigenous people. Full of cheesy unoriginal cliches.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TristramCJan 2, 2010
This is a flawed film but what it does well it does better than any movie in history. Lucus has to be humbled by this kind of world generation. And there is NO POINT to waiting for this on DVD/BlueRay. Please don't let that be the first This is a flawed film but what it does well it does better than any movie in history. Lucus has to be humbled by this kind of world generation. And there is NO POINT to waiting for this on DVD/BlueRay. Please don't let that be the first time you see this film. You need to see this not only 14 feet tall but 14 feet horizontally off the cinema screen. Bite the bullet, find a 3D showing, and go. Trust me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TizioJan 23, 2010
It's Pocahontas with great effects and music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
johndJan 25, 2010
Unlikeable protagonist, thin characterizations, naive metaphorical comments on Iraq/environmentalism/imperialism, over-saturated colour palette and headache inducing 3D. Avatar is a juvenile, gimmick-fest. Sorry, but it's true.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NJJan 2, 2010
Obviously an awesome production all around, story, writing (a bit cliched though), direction, fx, etc. But somehow I kept thinking, "I'm watching a super-slick Saturday morning cartoon." That kinda ruins the moment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChristineKJan 28, 2010
A beautiful and imaginative movie, with a story that has more layers than might seem apparent at first. I saw it in IMAX 3D and was thoroughly drawn into the Pandora / Na'vi world...a feeling which lingered for several hours after I A beautiful and imaginative movie, with a story that has more layers than might seem apparent at first. I saw it in IMAX 3D and was thoroughly drawn into the Pandora / Na'vi world...a feeling which lingered for several hours after I left the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DJP.Jan 29, 2010
The 3D effects were the star of this movie. It is visually beautiful and amazing. The storyline was good but could have been even better. What was severely missing was the debth of personality of the characters. Any great movie always has The 3D effects were the star of this movie. It is visually beautiful and amazing. The storyline was good but could have been even better. What was severely missing was the debth of personality of the characters. Any great movie always has debth to the characters - you learn their personality and their quirks, you even begin to feel emotion. You laugh when they laugh and cry when they cry. I didn't really feel any emotion during Avatar. There were many deaths in the movie and I didn.t feel any real sadness, which is odd for me. Even though the 3D was great it really overtook the characters and got in the way. I wanted to see a great movie but instead saw a great video game. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NicholasSJan 3, 2010
The storyline might be a bit predictable but everything else about this movie is incredible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ArnoldHJan 3, 2010
A total bore!!! After about ten minutes of this, I had to struggle to stay awake. Special effects alone do not make a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KEJan 3, 2010
More than anything, the film is a technological breakthrough in film making. I saw it at an IMAX theater in 3D. Visually it's amazing. The 3D computerized actors are almost perfect. They convincingly convey emotion. The story, however, More than anything, the film is a technological breakthrough in film making. I saw it at an IMAX theater in 3D. Visually it's amazing. The 3D computerized actors are almost perfect. They convincingly convey emotion. The story, however, is somewhat weak. It's basically Dances With Wolves, but modernized and in 3D. Dances With Wolves, however, is a really good story, so they could have done worse. The acting and direction were great. So was the music and sounds. Full use was made of surround sound, for example. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidFJan 3, 2010
Loved it!! The scenes of an alien world are simply breathtaking. Cameron's imagination has to be seen to be believed. To all those who are mad that this might be an allegory to how evil white people are or how we have to save Mother Loved it!! The scenes of an alien world are simply breathtaking. Cameron's imagination has to be seen to be believed. To all those who are mad that this might be an allegory to how evil white people are or how we have to save Mother Earth or how the Na'vi are synonymous with the Iraqis or Afghanis -- well, all I can say is that you're just reading way too much into it. I'm white and very conservative in my political beliefs, but I can separate that from what is meant to be a fantasy alien world entertainment experience. Almost gave it a 10 but the storyline is a little weak in places and it didn't have to be. But still, easily the best movie of the year if not the past several. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
andrewmarkusJan 3, 2010
When 'Home Tree' came down about half way through the film i had an epiphany about the title, the effects,the 3D and Camerons vision.The movie is the avatar for the audience.He Employed 3D to immerse us in this world with the hope When 'Home Tree' came down about half way through the film i had an epiphany about the title, the effects,the 3D and Camerons vision.The movie is the avatar for the audience.He Employed 3D to immerse us in this world with the hope that when that tree crashed down (with the allusion to 911) it would feel like it happened to us.For me,it was mission accomplished. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LillieJan 3, 2010
The story is a string of tired movie plot cliches, the music is a variation on the Titanic theme, and the very long battle at the end becomes tiresome fast, nevertheless, it is visually transporting and entertaining, as long as you're The story is a string of tired movie plot cliches, the music is a variation on the Titanic theme, and the very long battle at the end becomes tiresome fast, nevertheless, it is visually transporting and entertaining, as long as you're not looking for anything more. If you don't mind inwardly rolling your eyes every 15 minutes, you will enjoy the visual spectacle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NandoP.Jan 4, 2010
Masterpiece for our contemporary cynic self-destrictive times. This is the spirit of old amazing Disney on a new supermultiartistic 20th Century Fox. I wonder if this isn't not only a better movie of all other meaningful wannabes out Masterpiece for our contemporary cynic self-destrictive times. This is the spirit of old amazing Disney on a new supermultiartistic 20th Century Fox. I wonder if this isn't not only a better movie of all other meaningful wannabes out there, but also a great and needed piece of genuine good voice in the world of the blockbusters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NateH.Jan 4, 2010
In regards to all of the people that label this movie as a "Fern Gully" knockoff, I don't remember Fern Gully at all. This movie will remain in my memory for a long time. (The fact that I wouldn't mind watching this on a regular In regards to all of the people that label this movie as a "Fern Gully" knockoff, I don't remember Fern Gully at all. This movie will remain in my memory for a long time. (The fact that I wouldn't mind watching this on a regular basis would help keep it fresh in my memory). I have seen this movie twice, the first time being in 2D. I traveled 45 minutes in bad snow to see it in 3D, but was ultimately disappointed. Not due to the movie but the fact that the 3D did not enhance the movie as much as I would have liked. This could be because I didn't drive the extra miles to an IMAX theater. I really don't think that 3D is needed to express the new world that Cameron creates. Even in 2D, I was amazed by the new scenery and visual artistry that was presented. I thought that all actors/actresses in the movie offered solid performances. However, at times Sam Worthington (Jake Sully) was a little hard to understand in his dialogue. As for plot, the movie gives everyone something to enjoy and follow along with. The plot is well developed and even gives the action junkies something to look at with the final battle scene. Even I was enthralled with the elements of romance that were presented. As I put it to a friend, "There is a great plot, great action, and a sprinkling of romance." In conclusion, I feel that it would be likened to a felony to not see this movie. James Cameron creates a beautiful new world as well as a beautiful well-developed plot. This movie deserves the cost of a movie theater ticket, no matter how expensive it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
scottv.Jan 5, 2010
I really enjoyed watching Avatar, it was kind of like spending a couple of hours at Disneyland, it was light fun. I would have given it a higher rating but the story was really weak, and it was a bit too heavy on the tree-hugging aspect I really enjoyed watching Avatar, it was kind of like spending a couple of hours at Disneyland, it was light fun. I would have given it a higher rating but the story was really weak, and it was a bit too heavy on the tree-hugging aspect (Capitalism, man, & the military are evil and nature and the environment are to be untouched). I'm sure all the climate-change (formally global warming) nuts will give this movie a 10, and thats ok, It's visuals and action alone did not merit a 10 for me. There was never any explanation why the material in "Pandora" was so important to the military other than it was worth alot of money so the core of the story was never explained. The action and visuals were great, I really liked all of the action sequence's, stunning special effects, and creativity of the "Pandora" world. The movie was a bit long and the plot as I mentioned was pretty lame, it had alot of similarity to something like Bravehart. I saw the movie in 3D and it was good, however, after the first 30 minutes I did not even notice the 3D anymore so I would imagine that it would be just as good without the 3D. I would reccomend this movie for the visuals and action, if you are an anti-capiltalist or environmentalist you will absolutely love this movie for its tree-hugging message! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NicoleF.Jan 5, 2010
Beautiful film. I immensely enjoyed it and never looked at my watch (or anything else) once. And yes, the story has cheesy bits (especially the overhyped bad guy), but it's impressive how Cameron created this entire world just for the Beautiful film. I immensely enjoyed it and never looked at my watch (or anything else) once. And yes, the story has cheesy bits (especially the overhyped bad guy), but it's impressive how Cameron created this entire world just for the cinema (without ripping off a book). And there's nothing wrong with a familiar fable. Really enjoyed it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DuaneA.Jan 7, 2010
Scrolling down the list of reviews I can see only really 2 types; educated, informed opinions and dumb people. The dumb people win out by sheer masses and will flood this area with comments like "fantastic" "amazing" etc... These are dumb Scrolling down the list of reviews I can see only really 2 types; educated, informed opinions and dumb people. The dumb people win out by sheer masses and will flood this area with comments like "fantastic" "amazing" etc... These are dumb people after all. They cannot possibly give good advice on films (or much else) because they haven't the werewithal to do so. Thus I encourage anyone who considers themselves to be intelligent (the type that would NEVER see a Micheal Bay picture) to read only the reviews that are under 5 stars. I give 3 because I'm a little generous and because I thought some of the action was okay. Avatar is a really big, bright, colorful, noisy and dumb movie. It is 3 parts Dances With Wolves, mixed with 2 parts Pocohontas and add a generous splash of every cliche action film out there. As a picture - it stinks (the script and dialogue could only have been written by a 4th grader). As a 3d spectacle? Yawwwwnnn.... Hardly revolutionary. After 10 minutes you'll barely notice. Anyway, if you're dumb (chances are - yes) you'll probably love it enough to post your idiotic- 1/4 baked ideas up on websites like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
jordic.Jan 7, 2010
Great effects, meticulous mythology. Ultimately a pat and unoriginal story. Like Dances with Wolves meets Terminator.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AntJan 7, 2010
A stunningly beautiful movie that unfortunately doesn't so much have a plot as a checklist of clichés.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveMJan 8, 2010
First of all I would like to say that I have never reviewed a movie on here before but am sick and tired of people thinking that a movie rating is based on how much you can insult a movie or how clever you can make yourself sound. Avatar First of all I would like to say that I have never reviewed a movie on here before but am sick and tired of people thinking that a movie rating is based on how much you can insult a movie or how clever you can make yourself sound. Avatar itself is the first movie that I have ever seen that totally dragged me in. No the story wasnt anything brand new but it certainly is not boring or old. The graphics were groundbreaking and quite often breathtaking but that wasnt overshadowed by a rubbish story. The characters sometimes seemed a little typical but a fantastic performance by Sigourny Weaver at least added one major lead acting role. All in all the movie is well worth watching if you go into this movie expecting too much then thats your fault. Go and enjoy it for what it is a feel good sci fi movie directed by an all round decent director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RFJan 9, 2010
Film was awful on so many levels. District 9 was so much better and cost about $30 million to makev versus $500 million. Dialogue bad, characters cliche, did not care about anybody in this movie. Wanted to see the entire moon blown up in a Film was awful on so many levels. District 9 was so much better and cost about $30 million to makev versus $500 million. Dialogue bad, characters cliche, did not care about anybody in this movie. Wanted to see the entire moon blown up in a Michael Bay or Roland Emmerich style apocalypse, because the characters were so boring. The special effects were great, but that does not make up for awful story telling. Besides, District 9s special effects were great too. And the digital FX with live action sequences was not as good as Lord of the Rings did it 8 years ago. This is the movie equivalent of the Emperor's New Clothes. No one wants to admit how awful this movie is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
scottvJan 9, 2010
Outstanding visuals, good action scenes, bland & weak story line that is way too preachy & long = 7. The most impressive part of this movie was the world of Pandora and the cgi visuals. The story was very shallow without ever really Outstanding visuals, good action scenes, bland & weak story line that is way too preachy & long = 7. The most impressive part of this movie was the world of Pandora and the cgi visuals. The story was very shallow without ever really explaining what was so great about the special mineral found in Pandora other than it was worth alot of $$ to the government/military. The not suprising Hollywood message is preached throughout Man=evil nature=good, which is kinda funny because they are all laughing their way to the bank (already grossed over 1 billion!) using our capitalist way of life that they dislike so much. On the good side, if you are a greenie type you will want to hug a tree after leaving the theater! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichPJan 9, 2010
Avater is just like a good book that you cant put down. It transports you to another place where your imagination can run wild and leaves you thinking about it for days afterwards. I want to see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
HomerSFeb 11, 2010
This would've been freaken amazing if I didn't have some Fat Guy blocking half of my view and giving away the entire ending to me.... Seriously, that guy needs to GET A LIFE!!! anyone who watches this movie SIX TIMES and gives away This would've been freaken amazing if I didn't have some Fat Guy blocking half of my view and giving away the entire ending to me.... Seriously, that guy needs to GET A LIFE!!! anyone who watches this movie SIX TIMES and gives away the entire ending to everyone around him seriously needs to go away to another universe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarhadiashaK.Feb 1, 2010
It's average. The plot is average, acting average. The 3D effects are not satisfying. The only good thing is the Na'vi facial expressions. Overall, mediocre movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
STFeb 1, 2010
Avatar. Avapoo more like. Over-extended toy commercial. Vastly unimaginative and boring. Plot and ideas all derivative. The much-trumpeted special effects looked like all other cgi - would have preferred it if all the aliens were made out of Avatar. Avapoo more like. Over-extended toy commercial. Vastly unimaginative and boring. Plot and ideas all derivative. The much-trumpeted special effects looked like all other cgi - would have preferred it if all the aliens were made out of papier-mache. 3D utterly pointless. The 1 point here is actually for performances - the baddy, who was done with gusto, and the hero, who was mildly intriguing at the beginning when not a ten foot blue cat-thing. Utterly unable to fathom why people think this is great or indeed any different from so many other cgi-driven action movies nowadays. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CSFeb 1, 2010
Awful, formulaic, racist. Tarzan meets Dances with Wolves but come on-its 2010. Can think of 500 mil better uses for the $$ this cost.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NithinMFeb 15, 2010
Liked the movie only for its visual effects. Otherwise, I did not find it engaging or entertaining. The storyline is weak.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
L.M.Feb 16, 2010
Sigh....well I certainly had high hopes for the movie and I'm glad to say it wasn't that disappointing. While it does have an unoriginal story, the new themes of the Navi (indians basically) are interesting enough. A bit too drawn Sigh....well I certainly had high hopes for the movie and I'm glad to say it wasn't that disappointing. While it does have an unoriginal story, the new themes of the Navi (indians basically) are interesting enough. A bit too drawn out but still enjoyable with suprisingly almost no humor. I would probably send my rating down around the 5 area had I not seen it in 3-D, since you had a sense that Cameron wanted to use it for a way to enhance the movie and not just be eye candy I'll give me credit for that. Needless to say the only thing keeping the movie up this high of a rating is the use of 3-D, hopefully we can now see improvements upon dialouge, acting, pacing, and no cheesy love story for the sequel to possibly get the score it deserves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JonSFeb 1, 2010
Is it good entertainment? Yes. Is it a great movie? No, not even close. I walked into the movie expecting a great visual spectacle with an average plot and character development. The plot, acting and character development was so bad, Is it good entertainment? Yes. Is it a great movie? No, not even close. I walked into the movie expecting a great visual spectacle with an average plot and character development. The plot, acting and character development was so bad, however, that it frankly ruined the technological experience. I would recommend seeing it in theaters just for the visuals. This movie is not going to translate well onto the small screen. and after 5-7 years, after the technology is dated, people will look back and think "this is a truly awful movie." There is nothing beyond the visuals to carry this ham-fisted outing. Once the technology is no longer new, this will definitely not stand the test of time. I would think with $250 million, James Cameron would have bought himself a script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DarioPFeb 21, 2010
Unoriginal movie, visuals are not the only thing to weight.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NerijusD.Feb 2, 2010
Good visually, but improbable scenarios and other aspects make the plot suffer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyanG.Feb 5, 2010
I thought it was decent...definitely overrated. It had impressive CGI but a crappy script. I am really surprised by all the attention it is getting. Not terrible, but not the best of the year either.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TomMFeb 6, 2010
Thought this movie was totally overrated and not original at all. The script sucked and the blue people were just annoying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AmyCFeb 6, 2010
All I want to say is that I fell asleep (seriously!) after the 3rd time the guy (I can't even remember his name) went into that time capsule. The whole movie is just a joke, and an insult to human intelligence. I didn't like All I want to say is that I fell asleep (seriously!) after the 3rd time the guy (I can't even remember his name) went into that time capsule. The whole movie is just a joke, and an insult to human intelligence. I didn't like Titanic at all but it was at least better than this one. T2 is my all-time favorite.... but is this the same James Cameron, or a different one? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
OliverSFeb 7, 2010
Okay, so let me get the good stuff out of the way. This film is beautiful, pretty well-executed, a damn good family movie, and really manages to evoke the feelings it wants to. Of course, the problem being that the story is full of cliche, Okay, so let me get the good stuff out of the way. This film is beautiful, pretty well-executed, a damn good family movie, and really manages to evoke the feelings it wants to. Of course, the problem being that the story is full of cliche, and as far as I'm concerned, it didn't tackle any interesting issues enough to warrant it higher than an 8 really. Basically, this is nothing more than a very cliche film formula executed a little better than normal, made very pretty and family friendly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
stevengFeb 7, 2010
Didn't work for me. no emotional connect with the characters. hate the creature design. why do all the animals have six legs? If all the major life forms have six limbs, the blue guys should have too. They wasted the opportunity to use Didn't work for me. no emotional connect with the characters. hate the creature design. why do all the animals have six legs? If all the major life forms have six limbs, the blue guys should have too. They wasted the opportunity to use 3d well. It lost its effect for me 20 min in. lame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnMFeb 8, 2010
The 3 D special effects enabled a good movie to become an excellent movie. The plot was straight forward and not suprising. The acting was good. The 3D effects were stunning!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DylanLFeb 8, 2010
I first wanted to leave after 40 minutes. That's when I was certain that there was nothing that rang true in the world being created. As if James Cameron could conceive of a any alternative form of evolution. It was half-baked ideas, I first wanted to leave after 40 minutes. That's when I was certain that there was nothing that rang true in the world being created. As if James Cameron could conceive of a any alternative form of evolution. It was half-baked ideas, one after another, and characters that were simply cringe worthy. The whole cinema laughed when the aliens started a trance dance to some gaudy Enya music to make the simplistic pantheistic god do some magic. The laugh wasn't as loud as when the aliens has sex. Cameron created a big extravaganza. But the world and characters he created lacked any complexity to the point that you could simply not buy any of it. The graphics were nice. The story, by any measure, was embarrassing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnonY.Mar 1, 2010
Every part was made well exept in the middle where the main character only went on how he was becoming closer to the aliens and the planet it was supposed to be moving, but it ended up being plan boring...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BellaC.Mar 1, 2010
I loved this movie and the graphics were terrific. Altough I thought it got cheezy at some points but they had a good way of wrapping it up. On the down side the story plot was not great. But like I said they did a great job of wrapping it I loved this movie and the graphics were terrific. Altough I thought it got cheezy at some points but they had a good way of wrapping it up. On the down side the story plot was not great. But like I said they did a great job of wrapping it up. Well done! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
VMar 1, 2010
Not very special movie. But in 3D very great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
QembotMar 30, 2010
Not bad, but certainly undeserving of the praise. Yes it looks pretty, very pretty, but its not quite as imaginative & original as many make it out to be. A massive, Evil, greedy Corporation trying to relocate a "primitive" tribe of Natives Not bad, but certainly undeserving of the praise. Yes it looks pretty, very pretty, but its not quite as imaginative & original as many make it out to be. A massive, Evil, greedy Corporation trying to relocate a "primitive" tribe of Natives and using force when negotiations fail. Its Dances with Wolves in space. Attack of the Clones which the critics mauled looked just as good and was more original, but of course that wasn't made by the guy that directed Titanic, was it? It amuses to no end - I have found a new appreciation for psychologists. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SandyMar 5, 2010
Visuals did just enough to keep me engaged most of the time, but not from nodding off in the face of a dull, incoherent story. I'm not sure whether it would have been better with what must have been left on the cutting room floor, but Visuals did just enough to keep me engaged most of the time, but not from nodding off in the face of a dull, incoherent story. I'm not sure whether it would have been better with what must have been left on the cutting room floor, but James Cameron sank with 'Titanic' and this hasn't refloated him (whatever the dollar count may say). Sci-fi/fantasy for kiddies, yet Ferngully was just so much more fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillyOMar 5, 2010
When I first saw the movie, the graphics, the 3D, the visual effects hypnotized me, which I believe happened to most of the people who saw it. It sucks you in, making you believe you saw a good movie as you walk out of the movie theatre. When I first saw the movie, the graphics, the 3D, the visual effects hypnotized me, which I believe happened to most of the people who saw it. It sucks you in, making you believe you saw a good movie as you walk out of the movie theatre. After the dazzle wore off half way through the movie I started realizing how predictable the movie was, how stereotypical every character was. The mercenaries were brutal killers, the protagonist falls in love and switches to the "good side",the corporate exec. was willing to turn his head for profit. Where were the variables. I do see the side of the plot that is trying to make a point on what we have become as a society and what we have done to get here. Overall it felt like a very expensive Pocohantas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
craigsMar 6, 2010
What do James Cameron and George Lucas have in common? They've both spent ridiculous amounts of money on over-hyped and extremely over-rated pieces of garbage. The difference is, at least Lucas didn't steal ideas from at least a What do James Cameron and George Lucas have in common? They've both spent ridiculous amounts of money on over-hyped and extremely over-rated pieces of garbage. The difference is, at least Lucas didn't steal ideas from at least a half dozen other films that tell the same story much better. Pocahontas, FernTree Gully, Last of the Mohicans, The Last Samurai, BraveHeart. I won't bother explaining the plot because if you've seen any of the above mentioned films, then you've seen Avatar. And they didn't require flashy CGI to get their story across. Speaking of which, the CGI is by far the highlight of the movie, but even that was eclipsed by Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within. And that movie is 10 years old now. The characters are one dimentional, the acting is fairly poor and the dialogue would surely make Lucas himself cringe. At least he can sleep peacefully in the knowledge that he didn't create the word "unobtainium". How the hell the actors managed to say that with a straight face I'm buggered if I know. Also, the movie makes such a blunt statement about our environmental woes and war in Iraq (we will fight terror with terror) that it is, quite frankly, an insult to the audiences intelligence. If I want to hear people make political and environmental statements I'll watch the news thanks very much. I go to the movies to escape real world issues, not to be beaten over the head with them. Cameron also stole a couple of sound effects from the dinosaurs in Jurassic Park. Can you pick them? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
EddieMMar 7, 2010
It earned its single star by terminating. A pandering, cliche-ridden, overblown bore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ginoMMar 7, 2010
It escapes me how Avatar is being championed as the standout movie ushering us into a new frontier of film making, when it is nothing more than the next baby step in Cinematography and Cinematography alone. If it were merely a pretty It escapes me how Avatar is being championed as the standout movie ushering us into a new frontier of film making, when it is nothing more than the next baby step in Cinematography and Cinematography alone. If it were merely a pretty picture, inspiring film makers to create new worlds when presented with the plausible impetus to do so, there would be no debate in my mind. But it's not. This movie has been respected by critics and commonplace audience alike. What did it do beyond it's visuals? It was written unwittingly, seemingly with an intent to do just that. The story inspires nothing more than a cheap nostalgic stroll to the over-spun screenplay graveyard of every Hollywood cliche. Pitiful exploits of corny one-liners, narrow characters and predictable plot twists saturate every moment of Aavatar. It is ultimately mundane in every way beyond the visual stimulus. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GNMar 7, 2010
The CGI looks amazing and the world and creatures are awesome and unique. The action scenes are decent. The movie only truly falls flat with the story. The setting and creatures are, as I said, unique, but the general plot (soldier sees the The CGI looks amazing and the world and creatures are awesome and unique. The action scenes are decent. The movie only truly falls flat with the story. The setting and creatures are, as I said, unique, but the general plot (soldier sees the error of his ways, wants to help the other side, etc) is very predictable and boring. Sadly, District 9, a true sci-fi masterpiece that didn't rely on a ridiculously large budget, is going to be pushed aside by this overrated moneymaker, and largely forgotten. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JackS.Apr 11, 2010
What makes a movie immersive? Is it the visuals or is it the plot and believable acting? I find it to be the latter. Avatar is a movie with a story that has a story that's been done before, with adequate acting (and I use adequate very What makes a movie immersive? Is it the visuals or is it the plot and believable acting? I find it to be the latter. Avatar is a movie with a story that has a story that's been done before, with adequate acting (and I use adequate very generously), and poor pacing. The effects were amazing, but thirty years down the line, these effects will be outdated, and what will we be left with? A movie with an overused plot, adequate acting, and poor pacing, with NO AMAZING EFFECTS. This movie set a bad example for movies everywhere, telling moviemakers all over the world that 3D sells, and that originality and creativity does not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChretienM.Apr 2, 2010
This movie was a joyride from start to finish. The 3D really adds the frosting to the cake, and immerses you. I recommend this to everyone who loves action, emotion, and a whole lot of fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HughDApr 30, 2010
I expected Avatar to be a movie about blue, granola eating, vegie long hairs - it's not. It's about long-haired, meat eating Native Americans!! Those big, blue guys are the Lakota Sioux (the Green Berets of the plains) fighting off I expected Avatar to be a movie about blue, granola eating, vegie long hairs - it's not. It's about long-haired, meat eating Native Americans!! Those big, blue guys are the Lakota Sioux (the Green Berets of the plains) fighting off the evil U.S. Cavalry and even eviler General Custer! Our hero is even an homage (or ripp-off) of the Kevin Costner character from Dances with Wolves. You know, white guy goes native then leads the noble savages to victory against his former countrymen!!! There's also characters (the suit working for the mysterious company that's out to rape the planet) and plot devices from the the greatest science fiction movie franchise ever, Alien, Aliens, Alien 3 and Alien Resurrection. And guess who starred in all four - Sigourney Weaver! All is not lost however, because fortunately, sometime in the first three minutes of the film our soon to go blue native hero mentions that back on Earth he and his fellow marines fought for freedom, but now they're actually hired guns working for the Company. Good thing the producers made it clear that these were not U.S. marines on active duty or people like me would of been picketing theaters. In fact, this too is a borrowed motif from Alien and Aliens which also starred former U.S. soldiers now hiring themselves out as mercenaries for the (they learn later) evil Company. Me and boys re-played the WWII dogfight footage inspired gunship vs. Gaia worshipping warriors (with lovely lady shamans too) over and over. Fantastic action and the underdog good guys even win! Wow, talk about tapping into the American sympathies while still condemning America's nature raping, military hardware loving and George Bush inspired mperialistic aspirations. I wish I'd had a chance to invest in the film early on so I could too could of criticized the good ol' U.S. of A. while making a ton of money off its economy too!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JacobTDApr 6, 2010
Great visuals, story/been there done that feeling/acting/script were all a D+ at best. This is a C movie. Nowhere near my top 10 for the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SuperRaterApr 6, 2010
I don't get why so many people hate this movie. It has an amazing plot, awsome special effects, and watching it in 3-D made it even better. People are just to stupid to realize what movies are good and bad. If you give this movie lower I don't get why so many people hate this movie. It has an amazing plot, awsome special effects, and watching it in 3-D made it even better. People are just to stupid to realize what movies are good and bad. If you give this movie lower than a 7 then you really should go back and watch the movie again. Great movie!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DominicDApr 9, 2010
This movie was incredibly over-rated.It used devices which are familiar with too many film clichés.It was largely predictable, I came in expecting something that would blow my mind, but nothing about this was impressive; not so much This movie was incredibly over-rated.It used devices which are familiar with too many film clichés.It was largely predictable, I came in expecting something that would blow my mind, but nothing about this was impressive; not so much as to receive such acclaim.The good aspects were the special effects and the 3D and the plot/script was adequate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanM.Dec 19, 2009
The utter scale of the movie is what makes it great. Is the story great? No but that is beside the point. This movie is all about immersion. Some will see it and think meh big hollywood film but has taken the cinema experience to a different The utter scale of the movie is what makes it great. Is the story great? No but that is beside the point. This movie is all about immersion. Some will see it and think meh big hollywood film but has taken the cinema experience to a different level. Now I don't want to see al film become like this but Avatar was certainly a breakthrough picture Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SSDec 19, 2009
Before I begin my review, I just want to relate my experience, prior to seeing this movie. Friday afternoon, a friend and I had gone to see Avatar in RealD 3D at a theatre that was near her house. We enjoyed about 45 minutes of the film when Before I begin my review, I just want to relate my experience, prior to seeing this movie. Friday afternoon, a friend and I had gone to see Avatar in RealD 3D at a theatre that was near her house. We enjoyed about 45 minutes of the film when it started to skip... it stopped and started about 3-5 times before it finally froze and shut down. The crowd was outraged and we were told to leave and get "Rain Check" passes at customer service because the system had failed and the movie would not play, it would take 3 hours to fix. So with complete disappointed we got out rain check passes and decided to come back the next day after the problem would be fixed. The first 45 minutes that we did see that day was pretty cool so far, so we definitely wanted to give it another go. As we sat in our seats this afternoon (12/19/09) I sensed that something was going to go wrong, and I could tell my friend had similar intuitions. When the movie was finally about to start, they showed the "please silence your cell phones screen" and then... it stopped.... frozen... the manager came in and told us what we had feared.... it froze... again and it would take forever to fix. We left the theatre utterly pissed and completely done with the stupid theatre. Full of outrage, I expressed my anger with one of the employees. I attempted to get my money back, she of course told me it was impossible, and instead gave us rain check passes and a few extras because of our inconvenience. (sweet? bitter sweet) We decided to go to Imax instead, we figured the massive screen would make the experience all the more amazing. After driving the long way there, parking, and then running many blocks to Imax, out of breath, we were met with an enormous line and a sign that said "Avatar 3D, SOLD OUT" Blast! To cut to the chase, after running back to the parking garage, we went to another theatre owned by the same company as the other theatre that screwed up, and were able to use our passes and get in, and yes that time it worked, no screw ups. After all of this complete heck... IT WAS WELL WORTH IT!! After we left the theatre, we cared little about the shenanigans that went down in attempts to see the movie. We had completely forgotten and were only focused on the movie, and still trying to process it. I've heard complaints about the music and that it wasn't very good... it was great. It was what you'd expect of an epic sci-fi. I've also heard complaints about the story; I didn't see any problem with it either. The only problem I saw was with some of the acting, there were a few actors that didn't seem to do as good of a job as you'd expect for a movie of this magnitude. BUT, the actors in questions were not the focus of the movie and weren't shown often enough to interfere with the experience, thus it wasn't a big problem. The visual effects of this movie were completely amazing. It was hard to believe that most of what we were viewing was all visual effects. The landscapes, the creatures, they were all very crisp and clear, and very realistic. Coupled with the 3D glasses, it almost seemed as if you were there. It is almost hard for me to even describe. The concepts of the movie were not 100% original. A lot of it has been done already to some degree. But the way in which they were presented, to me, seemed totally original. There is something said in the movie that will make you understand more fully the Na�vi and their existence. It�s something that Dr. Augustine said to Mr. Selfridge about the way the planet works and its relationship with the life on the planet. It has something to do with the �goddess� that the Na�vi follow. I would say more, but I don�t want to spoil it for anyone. Despite the crap that went down before seeing the movie, I enjoyed the experience. I have no regrets, I am absolutely pleased that I went to see it, and glad that I saw it in 3D. It was amazing. Go see it. Now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JaredH.Dec 19, 2009
The CGI is fabulous and truly takes us to a new dimension in movie making. Having said this the rest of the movie was awful. Mr. Cameron takes us to a far away place called Pandora. In 3D we see a world unlike anything found on Earth. So far The CGI is fabulous and truly takes us to a new dimension in movie making. Having said this the rest of the movie was awful. Mr. Cameron takes us to a far away place called Pandora. In 3D we see a world unlike anything found on Earth. So far so good. Then the movie completely disintegrates when a Marine Corporal crippled in war becomes one of the aliens {Avatar} or should I say natives. It is unfathomable that Mr. Cameron can conceive a world we've never seen but his storyline is totally lame and predictable. Somewhere we've seen all this before. The Aliens are in fact thinly disguised as native Indians. The big bad capitalistic Americans {General Custer} invade their land for greed, make no attempt at negotiations, and destroy all their beauty. The American military fights with weapons in the year 2154 but nothing is NEW. The Aliens have just bows and arrows. If Dances With Wolves comes to mind yu now know the story. And the Marine Corporal {where was Kevin Costner} whose manta is to do and die switches sides for moral justice. And somehow this pawn is so brilliant that he's portrayed as the second coming of General Rommel {WW II}. No matter how great the special effects, and they are truly great, there's no excuse for such a paper thin plot in which the ending is known 5 minutes into the movie. $299.999 million spent on CGI animation and about a buck fifty for the script. Anyone giving this movie a perfect score of 10 for dialogue that could have been written by a five-year old must have had a lobotomy or checked their brains in at the door. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidP.Dec 20, 2009
I just finished watching Avatar in boring old 2D. I expected that without the gimmicky glasses the film would lose most of what people are raving about (see Beowulf) but darned if that wasn't an awesome film. I saw Titanic in '97 I just finished watching Avatar in boring old 2D. I expected that without the gimmicky glasses the film would lose most of what people are raving about (see Beowulf) but darned if that wasn't an awesome film. I saw Titanic in '97 and though the visuals were incredible, probably the best until Avatar, I felt that the story was too hackneyed to ignore just for the sake of special effects. Avatar has come in for some of the same criticism from some viewers, but though there isn't anything really new in this plot, it's surprisingly well written, at least for a big budget action film. But of course the story only needed to not be annoying, because the real reason everyone is going to see this film is the visuals, which even in plain old 2D are enough to make Lucas's last three space operas look like something out of Ed Wood's filmography. Only Lord of the Rings has come close to creating an entire world with this level of detail, and some of the same folks are on board for this film. But they have really outdone themselves. The only negative reviews I've seen from non-critics have been from conservatives who are offended by a movie that says we shouldn't rape and pillage native peoples and pristine environments. I'm not sure that's really a defensible position, so no comment there :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BeatriceDec 20, 2009
Beautiful colors and sounds but as far as a story it was very poor. I'm amazed that everyone seems taken in by the bells and whistles but no one cares about anything else. Quite a commentary on the dumbing down of America.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NormDDec 23, 2009
congrats Cameron! In creating a movie which decries the destruction of primitive societies, you have effectively begun the destruction of the 'primitive' art form of narrative and thematic storytelling. you have gone from congrats Cameron! In creating a movie which decries the destruction of primitive societies, you have effectively begun the destruction of the 'primitive' art form of narrative and thematic storytelling. you have gone from 'king of the world' to shiva the destroyer. say goodbye to hollywood..in 10 years, it'll all be 400 million dollar corporations masquerading as movies. 3d was nice though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeE.Dec 20, 2009
The first half in the best. Amazing (fake) scenery, fantastic effects, I had a smile on my face the entire time. Towards the end it started to drag and became predictable, but holy cow, entirely worth seeing in IIMAX 3D. The childish jabs at The first half in the best. Amazing (fake) scenery, fantastic effects, I had a smile on my face the entire time. Towards the end it started to drag and became predictable, but holy cow, entirely worth seeing in IIMAX 3D. The childish jabs at the war on terror and Iraq were rather silly, and some of the acting was mediocre, but once again, holy cow, that use of IMAX 3D is amazing. Beautiful glowing worlds in 3D. What more do you want? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GregADec 23, 2009
The special effects were quite vertiginous, but I feel like the director did not take a few things into consideration. First of all, does he not understand the insane electricity bill the planet would be receiving every month due to the The special effects were quite vertiginous, but I feel like the director did not take a few things into consideration. First of all, does he not understand the insane electricity bill the planet would be receiving every month due to the lighting sources placed in the ground? I also feel that he left out the Blue Penis demographic, which I believed this would be the only movie of the Winter that could compare to the Blue Penis quota set by Watchmen, which was still quite low. On the whole, the movie was less filled with phosphorescent genitalia than I was hoping for. Four words to describe this movie: NOT ENOUGH BLUE PENIS! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LionelT.Dec 25, 2009
This has to be a joke. Take away the 3D special effects and the move is laughable. Nothing memorable about it. Awful acting and story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkM.Dec 27, 2009
Just visual ecstasy. James Cameron invented a wonderful world. You really want to see Pandora.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
sama.Dec 27, 2009
You people will all be pretty embarrassed in five or ten years when you look back and see just how crummy this movie is. the love story is like glass of lukewarm water with a little sugar in it, the story story is trite and half-cocked and You people will all be pretty embarrassed in five or ten years when you look back and see just how crummy this movie is. the love story is like glass of lukewarm water with a little sugar in it, the story story is trite and half-cocked and the special effects while "good" were just barely up to date. this movie is stupid. the story was the shallowest possible excuse to combine lush natural beauty cgi with big military blow up cgi. to entertain the ladies, cameron throws in some love story which also serves the cgi. the only character development takes place in the video log/voice over. the big blue cgi aliens never really do anything beyond running around the jungle and maybe flying around it. there have been better 3d movies. there will be better 3d movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JomarDDec 28, 2009
It was worth every penny to see it in 3D. From the second the movie started, until the minute it ended you were sucked into this alternate world. The visuals were astounding, and the details that were considered when creating this alien It was worth every penny to see it in 3D. From the second the movie started, until the minute it ended you were sucked into this alternate world. The visuals were astounding, and the details that were considered when creating this alien landscape are mind-blowing. The story-line is not new; but everything else is. I loved the message in the movie too, the premise of how everything is connected, and ultimately, we're all part of a greater 'one'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RossDDec 20, 2009
Amazing CG. I was blown away. The plot is not very original and could've used work, but the setting was amazing. Cameron does a very good job of bringing you into Pandora and getting you attached. Overall, a good movie to see, Amazing CG. I was blown away. The plot is not very original and could've used work, but the setting was amazing. Cameron does a very good job of bringing you into Pandora and getting you attached. Overall, a good movie to see, especially in a theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DylanBDec 30, 2009
Very very good and very well made. A true masterpiece! If you haven't watched it then go see it in 3D. Its so worth the extra money!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PunoDec 30, 2009
Very good, dialogue not the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
UldisBJan 11, 2010
Story is so lacking that trailer tells it almost all. This movie is comic like in its plot and characters. Visuals make up for missing story, but engaged me only for about 1/2 movie. Then i got bored and little logical errors ruined reality Story is so lacking that trailer tells it almost all. This movie is comic like in its plot and characters. Visuals make up for missing story, but engaged me only for about 1/2 movie. Then i got bored and little logical errors ruined reality feeling of the movie - e.g. there exists no real communication link between human and avatar - they are connected by magic in otherwise technoworld, why someone makes giant earthmoving machine with cameras that can be taken off with a rock, why early 21st century technology in a distant future, and so on. Last 20 minutes of fighting, killing and dying got me engaged again. Luckily we do not need to kill anybody for real in Colloseum these days - computer graphics are good enough, but basic joy of seeing bad guy killed are ageless. There are two new 'props' i have not yet seen in the movie - universal man-animal interface the natives use to connect with various living things and biological network storage where navi's upload their deceased for eternal storage :) Unfortunately what these things could mean for humanity does concern Cameron not. These are props to make scene. This is not the movie i will keep at home and watch again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JAJan 11, 2010
Really doesn't live up to the hype. Yes, it is very visually impressive, but the character/creature designs are uninspired, and the plot is bland let call it vanillaish, and all the characters are flat one dementional people you cant Really doesn't live up to the hype. Yes, it is very visually impressive, but the character/creature designs are uninspired, and the plot is bland let call it vanillaish, and all the characters are flat one dementional people you cant help but not care about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
XerxesJan 10, 2010
It was a good film but not a great film, i dont see what all the oscar buzzz is about i hope it doesnt win best film at the golden globes and oscars, cos quite frankly therer were better original movies last year that deserve that and were It was a good film but not a great film, i dont see what all the oscar buzzz is about i hope it doesnt win best film at the golden globes and oscars, cos quite frankly therer were better original movies last year that deserve that and were made on a much smaller budget. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DQSJan 1, 2010
Why do "ground breaking films" so often have scripts that are so stunningly dull and unimaginative. I guess if you only experience life via video games that's the extent of your experience to write from. Wish it had been anything but Why do "ground breaking films" so often have scripts that are so stunningly dull and unimaginative. I guess if you only experience life via video games that's the extent of your experience to write from. Wish it had been anything but predictable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
mauriciolJan 12, 2010
Its nesesary to see this movie in 3D i felt like i was in another world and i did.nt want to the movie to end, well worth it , i recomend it a lot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CurtisSJan 10, 2010
I thought this was going to be an absolute flop after all the hype, but I was very surprised, probably closer to an 8 but i'll give it the benefit of the doubt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
billyjJan 12, 2010
Way too long there is no story please don't see the movie only because of the special effects. don't even go see the movie. if you really want to see it rent it or buy the dumb movie there is no piont of seeing the movie is long, Way too long there is no story please don't see the movie only because of the special effects. don't even go see the movie. if you really want to see it rent it or buy the dumb movie there is no piont of seeing the movie is long, terrible, bad acting, and is nearly three hours along it starts stupid and it ends where their should be a begings so please skip this movie GO SEE YOUTH IN REVOLT. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MiguelGJan 13, 2010
Definition of average. This movie has fantastic visuals and cinematography, and the 3d is a must to experience this movie, however the story, acting, and dialogue is predictable, cliched, cheesy, and a complete copy of Pocahontas, Dances Definition of average. This movie has fantastic visuals and cinematography, and the 3d is a must to experience this movie, however the story, acting, and dialogue is predictable, cliched, cheesy, and a complete copy of Pocahontas, Dances with Wolves, and probably about a 1000 other movies. I saw it for free so I didn't mind so much but I certainly wouldn't have paid to see this movie. The only thing the movie has going for it is the 3d and special effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DarlaWJan 14, 2010
It definitely has a taste of Fern Gully, but other than that, it was a joy to watch. In fact, I found myself wondering (and checking) to see if Cameron had a hand in making that 1990s animation. It wasn't perfect, but I felt the It definitely has a taste of Fern Gully, but other than that, it was a joy to watch. In fact, I found myself wondering (and checking) to see if Cameron had a hand in making that 1990s animation. It wasn't perfect, but I felt the characters were believable and compelling. And for those who get hung up on the Vatican's recommendations to not watch it because the people of Pandora worshiped nature, well, just remember that even in the old testament, humans are told to take care of the earth -- maybe not worship it -- but certainly take care of it. Above all -- groups (and you know who you are) need to remember -- it is fiction! Meant for entertainment! Take it at that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MarcKJan 15, 2010
I saw the movie in 3D, and as a visual experience it's an amazing movie. My wife even swatted at one of the insects during the movie! Unfortunately, the storyline seemed like a clumsy rehashing of "Dances with Wolves". At least Kevin I saw the movie in 3D, and as a visual experience it's an amazing movie. My wife even swatted at one of the insects during the movie! Unfortunately, the storyline seemed like a clumsy rehashing of "Dances with Wolves". At least Kevin Costner wasn't in "Avatar" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveFJan 16, 2010
I wouldn't say that this movie is an action masterpiece like Lords Of The Rings or Star Wars but wowee it sure had some great special effects and action set pieces! Bravo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevTJan 16, 2010
Avatar is stunning to look at, overall the acting is solid, the pace is good, but it is does come up short in the original story front. Let's face it, a truly original idea is nearly impossible to find, so saying Avatar is not that Avatar is stunning to look at, overall the acting is solid, the pace is good, but it is does come up short in the original story front. Let's face it, a truly original idea is nearly impossible to find, so saying Avatar is not that original is not that big of a slam. Another possible flaw is the 3D. It works, as far the effect, but is paying an extra few dollars to see it, there is no sense it added that much to the movie. This dream that 3D will make you feel like you are in the movie is not a reality here. The reality is if you want to feel like you are in the movie is for a technology to be developed the uses virtual reality glasses that allow you to have 360 3D views. Bottom line, if you want to see a good action/sci-fi movie, this is a great choice. Just don't expect the ultimate movie. Expect to see an above average movie. If there is a Avatar 2, hopefully they bring together a strong set of writers to help fix the biggest weakness of the original Avatar movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TaylorHJan 18, 2010
I totally feel as though spending my 15 dollars was justified. This was a terrible movie but worth it to see in 3D.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MattiF.Jan 19, 2010
While this film will be remembered as probably the first film with properly natural looking and animated cgi characters and one of the only films so far that managed to use 3d effects without overusing gratuitous "coming at you" shots While this film will be remembered as probably the first film with properly natural looking and animated cgi characters and one of the only films so far that managed to use 3d effects without overusing gratuitous "coming at you" shots I'm afraid that the actual film underneath the graphics it is very light with all the attention focused on the visual flair and not the plot or characters. A score of 4/10 represents what is now at the start of 2010; a mediocre film which showcases current computer graphics technology at its peak. In a few years this technology will be outdated and it is my belief that the film will be mostly forgotten. It is definitely not so bad that it's unwatchable but the far too long run time and simple story mean that I'd never bother watching it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
nickt.Jan 19, 2010
Overall, a really good movie. Would the storyline have held up without the great special effects? Probably not. But I would definitely say that this film is worth the money to see in theaters (or even better, IMAX) simply because of the Overall, a really good movie. Would the storyline have held up without the great special effects? Probably not. But I would definitely say that this film is worth the money to see in theaters (or even better, IMAX) simply because of the spectacular visuals. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlecBJan 20, 2010
Horrible, cgi is ruining the movie industry. If you want to see an over-rated movie with no plot and terrible acting watch this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ScottBJan 2, 2010
I anticipated clumsy dialog, a boring love story twist, excellent visuals, and some fun 3-D effects. The film did not disappoint on any of my expectations.
0 of 0 users found this helpful