Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: December 18, 2009
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 2970 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,130
Mixed:
428
Negative:
412
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
imthenoobJan 24, 2012
Visually, Its extremely impressive and I was shocked that James Cameron didnt win the oscar for best director because of the visual effects in the film and the ground breaking use of CGI as well. However, The film sucks. The acting isVisually, Its extremely impressive and I was shocked that James Cameron didnt win the oscar for best director because of the visual effects in the film and the ground breaking use of CGI as well. However, The film sucks. The acting is terrible, the plot not only sucks but is a complete rip off of Dances With Wolves, and its incredibly boring (I was only entertained in 3 very short parts in the entire film). Sorry but the visuals can only get you so far in my book and this film just doesnt cut it imo. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
3
spadenxDec 8, 2011
Easily the most overrated film of all time. Visually it loses its impressiveness rather quickly into the film and while it may look great in 3D, In 2D is rathers boring. Not to mention the film's plot is a rip off of Dances With WolvesEasily the most overrated film of all time. Visually it loses its impressiveness rather quickly into the film and while it may look great in 3D, In 2D is rathers boring. Not to mention the film's plot is a rip off of Dances With Wolves (Seriously check that out). Also the acting is rather disapointing and sometimes terrible. Overall its visually impressive in 3D but thats it. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
Those who love Avatar love it for its effects and visual design, and blame the others for not concentrating on that element like theyre supposed to. Those who hate Avatar hate it for its recycled story, lame characters, and laughableThose who love Avatar love it for its effects and visual design, and blame the others for not concentrating on that element like theyre supposed to. Those who hate Avatar hate it for its recycled story, lame characters, and laughable dialogue, and blame the others for not focusing on the elements that truly matter in any film. Well, both of those sides are right, and both of them can be validly argued. But, the latter side has a better point: Story and characters are what makes great cinema, not great looking effects. And, rather than using effects and images to tell a story (Blade Runner) or stir up interesting ideas (2001), Avatar is only interested in looking good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
EssenceOfSugarDec 28, 2011
This could have been a good movie if it wasn't such a junk food feast of special effects and lacking of plot. This movie could have been great, but it wasn't, as James Cameron is much more interested in plagarising from good plots andThis could have been a good movie if it wasn't such a junk food feast of special effects and lacking of plot. This movie could have been great, but it wasn't, as James Cameron is much more interested in plagarising from good plots and sticking a bunch of blue creatures and glittery fairy nonsense in it to make it look pretty. It's a shame the critics were either too confident in that this was going to go somewhere, or too scared to pipe up that it didn't. There are better movies out there that don't particularly seem to be popular with the critics. I am more than confident that this was not even worth the production it deserved, or the paper the tickets were printed on. There were aspects of the movie that I would have enjoyed, there were things I could of happily watched, but sadly it was blindingly obvious to me that the CGI and special effects were just part of the after effects I suffered when I came out of the cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MarkMusicMar 18, 2013
This is the number one movie of all time????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? Why? Because of the flashy special effects? Cause that was the only memorable thing from this movie other then the long 3This is the number one movie of all time????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? Why? Because of the flashy special effects? Cause that was the only memorable thing from this movie other then the long 3 hour experience first time watching it in a theater I feel asleep 1hr and 20 mins in. Next time watched it at home stopped at an hour, next week picked back up then stopped, then again I took me 4 times to watch the entire movie at home over a month long time period. Nothing special and certainly original. Save your money and watch a bootlegged version online or the real thing online. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
sinadoomDec 26, 2013
3 hours of absolute drivel. I admire the fantastic visuals and the technology, animation, bright colours and scenery. But this is exactly what a movie SHOULDN'T be. It's the direct equivalent of games like Crysis 2; all about fancy graphics3 hours of absolute drivel. I admire the fantastic visuals and the technology, animation, bright colours and scenery. But this is exactly what a movie SHOULDN'T be. It's the direct equivalent of games like Crysis 2; all about fancy graphics but no real substance behind all the nice coat of paint. Avatar has some good action scenes and looks great as an advert for a HD TV, but as a movie it is a fail. Not only is it the most predictable movie I have ever seen, it's also the most disappointing. It seems like it was made to appeal to people that have no standards and will literally watch anything regardless of its story. If I want nice graphics, I buy a gaming PC and experience them first hand. If I watch a movie, I want to be entertained or engaged in a passive experience. There is no comedy, no moral, no philosophy, no story. The entire plot can be summarised in about 2 sentences. It portrays humans as the bad guys to appeal to people's emotions, but ignores reality. It's completely crap designed for people with low intelligence. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
DibbHansenJul 18, 2013
Visually, this film dazzles and amazes. Story- this film is an overly preachy and overly long and an overblown film. I really didn't like it at all. My opinion. There you go. Oh and the 3D, made me sick.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
SummersausageJan 5, 2013
This movie was a conglomeration of story lines that were boring the first time I saw them in Pocahontas and Titanic. It is a go- green movie that thrives due to its special effects but falls flat on every other aspect. This movie has risen toThis movie was a conglomeration of story lines that were boring the first time I saw them in Pocahontas and Titanic. It is a go- green movie that thrives due to its special effects but falls flat on every other aspect. This movie has risen to its predecessors of Push and Transformers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
LaGuertaMar 8, 2013
Avatar is the poster child for 3D cinema yet its other qualities are distinctly one dimensional, apparently 200 million dollars can't buy you a good story. Anyone who watches this is in for a headache-inducing three hours that they will neverAvatar is the poster child for 3D cinema yet its other qualities are distinctly one dimensional, apparently 200 million dollars can't buy you a good story. Anyone who watches this is in for a headache-inducing three hours that they will never get back. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
CRLJul 26, 2011
This is the most overrated piece of cinema I've ever seen. All flash, no fire, Avatar combines the special effects of Transformers with a story ripped from Pocahontas and recycled a million time over. The only difference is that, instead ofThis is the most overrated piece of cinema I've ever seen. All flash, no fire, Avatar combines the special effects of Transformers with a story ripped from Pocahontas and recycled a million time over. The only difference is that, instead of Native Americans, they're giant blue people with tails. Sure, Pandora is a pretty cool place, but that and a bunch of 3D-inflated box office records are all this movie has going for it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Patrick94Jan 4, 2013
Most overrated movie in history. The only good thing about Avatar is the visuals. The world is pretty to look at but.. well, there's nothing there. The story is horrible, the characters annoying, and the scenarios they find themselves inMost overrated movie in history. The only good thing about Avatar is the visuals. The world is pretty to look at but.. well, there's nothing there. The story is horrible, the characters annoying, and the scenarios they find themselves in absolutely ridiculous Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
3
marc5477Sep 7, 2015
This movie was all gimmicks and no substance. Designed to be a eye candy for the sake of 3D, it is basically a boring adventure about humanity being unpredictable. The problem is that the fancy 3D and CGI cant keep your attention for longThis movie was all gimmicks and no substance. Designed to be a eye candy for the sake of 3D, it is basically a boring adventure about humanity being unpredictable. The problem is that the fancy 3D and CGI cant keep your attention for long once you are accustomed to it and if you take that out of the movie, you are really left with bad sci-fi flick about "duality." "Human duality" is probably the 2nd most boring subject of a movie behind all the "coming of age" stories. The military and science are once again the bad guys while the aliens are innocent and good. I really dont mind movies that portray humans as bungholes (because frankly, as a society, we are), but its getting old and this movie did not even try to be original. There were no cliffhangers, no interesting characters, dialog was mundane and the plot was predictable. The entire movie could have been done in 15 minutes. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
2
JAM123Jul 19, 2011
I thought that this movie was really bad. It was incredibly long and barely kept my attention. The special effects were cool but that doesn't change the fact that all James Cameron did was make a futuristic remake of Dances With wolves. NOTI thought that this movie was really bad. It was incredibly long and barely kept my attention. The special effects were cool but that doesn't change the fact that all James Cameron did was make a futuristic remake of Dances With wolves. NOT a good movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
ascoltami86May 27, 2013
Everything is horrible. This alien, antagonist, helicopters, both protagonist and antagonist's weapons, arrow, spear, robot, giant knife, story. What a waste of money. What's worst is there will be a sequel.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
2
spacecaptainJun 11, 2011
Cameron continues his time honored method of creating films. Swipe the high concepts from a half dozen groundbreaking original works, glue them together with a lowest common denominator script, add money, a lot of money, an extraordinaryCameron continues his time honored method of creating films. Swipe the high concepts from a half dozen groundbreaking original works, glue them together with a lowest common denominator script, add money, a lot of money, an extraordinary amount of money, hype thoroughly, make more $$ back, and take credit for everything. Hail to the King. Avatar looks incredible, yadda, but to say the story is derivative would imply the origins of its ideas got their due. They never have in film, and now they won't because Cameron robbed the cradle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
HyperboleJan 17, 2012
This film is like a very subtle spoof written by an enemy of James Cameron. His ego and lack of imagination and cliched goo ooze through this awful God awful film. This is seriously made by the same guy who did Terminator 2? Only reasonThis film is like a very subtle spoof written by an enemy of James Cameron. His ego and lack of imagination and cliched goo ooze through this awful God awful film. This is seriously made by the same guy who did Terminator 2? Only reason this is even getting a 1 is because some of the non cartoony looking stuff is neat visually once and a while. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
OneWhoKnowsJan 4, 2011
If I wanted to watch cartoons I most definitely would watch ROBOT CHICKEN. One or two of my in-laws INSISTED that the characters in this were REAL (not computer generated real but REAL!!!) That is the type of intellectual hooraying for thisIf I wanted to watch cartoons I most definitely would watch ROBOT CHICKEN. One or two of my in-laws INSISTED that the characters in this were REAL (not computer generated real but REAL!!!) That is the type of intellectual hooraying for this gigantic waste of my time that makes me squirm. OK the effects were decent. But I DO NOT watch movies for their effects. The story was adolescent and the "camera work" was marginal at best. Try watching cinema and not a 3d cartoon, you might find your artistic integrity improved. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
islandJan 21, 2012
Ultimately overrated. Great effects and visuals but the story sucks. The story line is like Pocahontas's and has nothing to say. The characters are rather ridiculous with the hipster navies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
GarethCriticDec 19, 2010
Nowhere near as good as people make it out to be. The storyline is average, the characters aren't very well developed and the acting is poor but, apparently, this doesn't matter to anyone because in these modern times a movie seems to be ableNowhere near as good as people make it out to be. The storyline is average, the characters aren't very well developed and the acting is poor but, apparently, this doesn't matter to anyone because in these modern times a movie seems to be able to get around based on special effects alone and Avatar is a prime example of this. It made a lot of money because it was visually great despite how bad it was a movie. I'm very happy that this crap didn't pick up a Best Picture Oscar, it didn't deserve it. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
1
Alexander_NJun 15, 2011
Before the film was even released, I knew exactly how weak the storyline would be regardless of the profound hype surrounding it. There really isn't much to say, other than 3D is barely as impressive as others make it out to be and that wasBefore the film was even released, I knew exactly how weak the storyline would be regardless of the profound hype surrounding it. There really isn't much to say, other than 3D is barely as impressive as others make it out to be and that was supposedly the 'saving grace' of the film. The storyline simply borrowed from a platter of other films and even still managed to fail. I also won't bother going into what I expect to be scientific inconsistencies.

Overall, the film is simply shallow. I don't suggest seeing it unless there is an irritating family member who makes you sit down and endure it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
reviewer2015lolApr 30, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. UHHH. The movie is like a ejaculation of cgi with no story or interessting characters. **** it. James Cameron is eating all the praise and money and we reviewers have to tell the casual audience that this movie is completely soulless and bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
TheWhiteMambaMar 18, 2011
Absolutely hands down, the most over hyped/ over rated movie in history. I saw this movie when it came out in theatres and i hated it so much i had to vent as soon as i became a member of metacritic. sure the special effects are good, butAbsolutely hands down, the most over hyped/ over rated movie in history. I saw this movie when it came out in theatres and i hated it so much i had to vent as soon as i became a member of metacritic. sure the special effects are good, but thats not enough to salvage the terrible acting and dreadful script. the entire story is borrowed from other hollywood movies. it disgusts me how much people love this movie. to me this shows just how simple and shallow movie goers are. the aliens were just friggen annoying to listen to and to look at. Ive never fallen asleep in the theater, but this got me pretty close. just a boring, eye candy laced, piece of **** movie. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
jedijared182Jul 4, 2012
Cameron hit on special effects but other than that, unoriginal in story and slightly boring. Too much CGI for my liking. Very well done effects but the story falls short of new and/or exciting.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
Saggarwal20Sep 6, 2013
I absolutely hated this movie because there was no plot too much romance and the CGI was a little over the top, probably the WORST MOVIE OF THE DECADE
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
scbrotherFeb 26, 2011
james cameron, stop trying to shoving life lessons down my throat and wow me with visual effects, make a good movie without sam worthington your boyfriend.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
CalexicanAug 29, 2010
It looks great and there is enough here to support video games and theme parks for years to come. Shame they forgot the story, script and acting. Cameron hasn't made a decent movie since Aliens (neither has Weaver). What a tragic waste - noIt looks great and there is enough here to support video games and theme parks for years to come. Shame they forgot the story, script and acting. Cameron hasn't made a decent movie since Aliens (neither has Weaver). What a tragic waste - no wonder it was completely overlooked at the awards nights Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
deltapatrickSep 8, 2010
Man when i first went to the theater i though it was going to be great people told me it was one of the best movies of all time so i went and check it out but in the end of the film it turned out to be **** all that was good of the film wasMan when i first went to the theater i though it was going to be great people told me it was one of the best movies of all time so i went and check it out but in the end of the film it turned out to be **** all that was good of the film was the cgi and i dont care for 3d the story was **** the acting was **** the writing was **** the screenplay was **** everything was **** and sadly to say the directing was **** i love james cameron growing up but he has lost his touch Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
RocketcrossingMay 10, 2011
James Cameron has made some of the biggest movies to ever hit the big screen, from Aliens to Titanic, and he's notorious for breaking box office records every time he releases a movie. Avatar is no exception. Here's the important questionJames Cameron has made some of the biggest movies to ever hit the big screen, from Aliens to Titanic, and he's notorious for breaking box office records every time he releases a movie. Avatar is no exception. Here's the important question though: Are his movies any good? In some cases, yes - Terminator 2 is still one of my favorite actions movies, and Aliens was a more-than-worthy successor to Ridley Scott's infamous Alien. But in other cases, as with Avatar, he needs to sit down and really consider if he has any purpose on this earth, or if he should just kill himself so we can remember him as a good director with a few blemishes. Needless to say, I didn't like Avatar. I can't imagine why anyone would; not one thing about the story is original or even clever. I understand that it's pretty and the stupid pink plants stick out in 3-D, but aside from good effects, this movie has absolutely nothing going for it. It has a horribly un-original story, terrible pacing, poor character development, and is just all around a huge waste of time. An example of what I'm talking about would be Trudy Chacon, remember her? No? Neither did I; I had to look her up just now to make sure I got the name right. She's the pilot that is supposedly a primary character. Well, she dies during the battle, and there are a few things wrong with this segment. One, why the **** is her helicopter painted with war paint - let alone the fact that she's wearing it, too, for no reason - but you're going to tell me that they all banded together after their most sacred tree was destroyed to paint this chicks helicopter? Two, why am I supposed to care that a character with absolutely no development dies? Not only could I not remember her name, but I couldn't tell you if she even had any dialogue aside from her tragically terrible final words. I could pick this movie apart scene by scene, but I don't want to implode from anger, and I don't want to bore you, so I'll end it here. Read the rest of the review on my film review site, rocketcrossing.com, and check out our facebook page at facebook.com/rocketcrossing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Josh_47raMar 19, 2012
This score is totally for the visuals and nothing else. I admit they were amazing and groundbreaking. The plot is stupid. The characters are stereotypical. There is way to much 'environment is gud' message shoved in your face. I will neverThis score is totally for the visuals and nothing else. I admit they were amazing and groundbreaking. The plot is stupid. The characters are stereotypical. There is way to much 'environment is gud' message shoved in your face. I will never watch this movie again. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
AI88Nov 27, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is the most overrated piece of politically correct, anti-American garbage I've ever seen. This movie is about a man who betrays his own country! How is that "heroic" or worthy of admiration???So, it has cool special effects. Whoopty-f***ing-do! I can't believe this piece of crap movie was so beloved by everyone. Apparently, pretty colors and cool explosions are all the typical modern consumer cares about. How sad. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
0
SuperTakashiiFeb 5, 2011
Awfully clichedyl, horribly acted and scripted and stupidly over-hyped. Also lead to about two weeks of non-stop mindless gibberish from stupid 12 year-olds who seem to think that making a ridiculously high budget immediately makes a film brilliant.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
IswearimsmartAug 13, 2011
Avatar is an agonizing movie with amazing visuals and incredible use of 3-D and motion capture technology. In the purely technical sense, this film is a masterpiece; however, in terms of story, characters and ability to develop the plot, theAvatar is an agonizing movie with amazing visuals and incredible use of 3-D and motion capture technology. In the purely technical sense, this film is a masterpiece; however, in terms of story, characters and ability to develop the plot, the film fails miserably. Every single character in this film is not only uninteresting but undeveloped. Think about it... what do you REALLY know about Jake or Nyteri? The dialogue is also horrendous. At times my jaw dropped at how uninspired the lines were. "I see you" in particular feels cheesy and overused. Then there is the awful love story. It is without a doubt one of the worst development of a couple I have ever seen in a film. We go from Nyteri HATING Jake to them occasionally nudging each other and laughing to...well them doing under the tree of souls or whatever it's called. I know months have passed in the story, but only 45 minutes have passed to us, and nothing in the film explained or showed how their feelings grew for each other. Giving someone a meaningful look once doesn't count as developing a couple. To top it off, this movie is excruciatingly long. By the time you see it for the second or third time you will be constantly checking your watch. It just won't end! The film could have easily cut 20-30 minutes. While there are a lot of pretty images, the plot and characters are pretty ugly. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
0
charredrelikDec 14, 2011
God i hated this movie. it was stupid, boring and stupid. it didnt make sence in so many areas. its only endearing quality was when we left it running at home with the sound down. it makes a pretty screensaver!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
PeterAug 18, 2010
the only reason i kind of enjoyed this movie is because my brother was repeating the lines in engrish, yes engrish. i really hated how they portrayed the marines, and when i heard that some people in the theaters clapped when they watched thethe only reason i kind of enjoyed this movie is because my brother was repeating the lines in engrish, yes engrish. i really hated how they portrayed the marines, and when i heard that some people in the theaters clapped when they watched the marines getting killed, i felt like shooting james cameron in the face while saying "yea get some mofo!!!!" seriously i want to enlist in the marines, and i have a friend in training right now, i do take offense to that. this movie also rips off so many different movies such as dances with wolves. unfortunatly my brother bought this movie on blu ray instead of hurt locker which was a much better movie. to all you obsessors, dont get mad at me, because the critics agree with me!!!!! hell yea!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
KastianOct 17, 2010
While a beautiful movie to look at, the intense CGI cannot hide the hopelessly derivative story and generally poor acting. While the world of Pandora is nice to look at, it is poorly thought out. All the characters are caricatures of theWhile a beautiful movie to look at, the intense CGI cannot hide the hopelessly derivative story and generally poor acting. While the world of Pandora is nice to look at, it is poorly thought out. All the characters are caricatures of the worst movie stereotypes. We have the badass soldier chick, the angry army commander, the hero who just wants to do the right thing, and the industry crazed maniac.

It took James Cameron 2h 40m to tell a story that Disney managed to tell in half the time.
Expand
12 of 23 users found this helpful1211
All this user's reviews
2
XLR8TERDec 10, 2010
The writing behind James Cameron's AVATAR is so god aweful that half way through the movie the only motavation I had to stay and watch is so that I could compile a list of reasons why I hate this movie. Every character in this movie is aThe writing behind James Cameron's AVATAR is so god aweful that half way through the movie the only motavation I had to stay and watch is so that I could compile a list of reasons why I hate this movie. Every character in this movie is a cliche' or a stereotype such as The Austrailian-American Mariene, The Scientist, The War Hardened Badass, The Egotystical Buisinessman, and many more! And what little of a story AVATAR has is covered up by the horendous CGI. The technology behind the CGI is impressive but it is hardly artful often lacking patern and flow, or anything else visually appealing. Instead they overuse CGI in what can only be described as a head-ache indusing high contrast orgy. The movie is way too long as well. It would be nice if it served as a 10 minute tech demo, but the 3 hour embarassment to all things filmlovers truely value is less than nessary. In conclusion If you want to remain brain dead for 3 hours of your life and leave the theatere with no questions, need for thought, or questioning morality, watch avatar. If you truely value films, please skip this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MrsoandsoApr 9, 2011
this movie is garbage. and whoever thinks that it is the "Best movie of all time" remove the special effects and see how holds up to the title of "best move of all time". as for the special effects... the 3d was good in some parts but overallthis movie is garbage. and whoever thinks that it is the "Best movie of all time" remove the special effects and see how holds up to the title of "best move of all time". as for the special effects... the 3d was good in some parts but overall unnecessary, it could have got by without it. as for story... could be wrapped up in an hour rather then three hours. the action only showed up at the "big battle" at the end other then that it was useless filler. overall: not worth the money or time

(on a side note why did it look like all the aircraft look like it was ripped out of Halo?)
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
Movielover2400Nov 6, 2016
It was not very good. I wouldn't even watch it if i was paid too. The only cool thing about it is the live action vs actual people concept in the story. Its very bad though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MitchC9Aug 15, 2011
It's unfortunate James Cameron is such a delusional hippie. The premise (and funding) of the movie are remarkable; they could have done a lot with it. Instead we are lended to quite possibly the most non-believable plot of the decade. TheIt's unfortunate James Cameron is such a delusional hippie. The premise (and funding) of the movie are remarkable; they could have done a lot with it. Instead we are lended to quite possibly the most non-believable plot of the decade. The acting is overdone, and they seemingly spent tens of millions of dollars on scenes where we are watching a bunch of blue idiots pray to a tree instead of using this money/time to further the plot and make it believable. Literally 1/4 of this movie is watching blue people do stupid, tribal crap in a forest. Come on. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
MarcelloMNov 11, 2010
A complete waste of good earned money and time. I would have rather watched a racoon cross the street for 3 hours . FINAL: a deliberate piss of trash
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
dmaarApr 30, 2011
The huge amount of positive users reviews on here kills all of my hope about humanity. This movie was an ego show by Cameron, and the only good part was the innovative effects. The story was terrible, and tried WAY too hard to send aThe huge amount of positive users reviews on here kills all of my hope about humanity. This movie was an ego show by Cameron, and the only good part was the innovative effects. The story was terrible, and tried WAY too hard to send a message. The acting was garbage, and the world had no depth. Everyone I went to see it with was very excited about it....but half fell asleep in the theater and the rest of us were laughing the whole time at how stupid it was. If the money that it took to make this movie was spent on something productive, we'd be on freaking Mars right now. Sit.kip Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
2
MagicSquidMar 5, 2011
Dances with Wolves meets Fern Gully The Last Rainforest with a dose of white arrogance. Yes, it's pretty to look at sometimes, but past the fluffy eye candy visuals there's very little substance to this movie. I found myself rooting for theDances with Wolves meets Fern Gully The Last Rainforest with a dose of white arrogance. Yes, it's pretty to look at sometimes, but past the fluffy eye candy visuals there's very little substance to this movie. I found myself rooting for the supposedly "evil" colonel halfway through the movie and hoping he would just blow away Jake Sully and his tree hugging friends and end the movie. At least the Colonel is honest and does exactly what he says he's going to do, and isn't a double talking snake in the grass like Jake Sully. This movie does a horrible injustice to fans of James Cameron, serious movie goers and manages to fall short of all the hype and positive reviews that proceeded me seeing it. So badly does it fail at being the cinematic masterpiece that so many people seem to hail it as, that I would consider it to be the most disappointing movie I've ever seen. This isn't a cinematic masterpiece, it's cinematic dreck. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
ParadosiJul 1, 2011
Pocahontas, BLUE KITTY VERSION. Honestly, there's not much else too say. The visuals are good, but since when does something shiny make everything else unneeded? Gotta love the fervent anti-human nature of the film as well. Let's all hate ourPocahontas, BLUE KITTY VERSION. Honestly, there's not much else too say. The visuals are good, but since when does something shiny make everything else unneeded? Gotta love the fervent anti-human nature of the film as well. Let's all hate our evil greedy selves, right? Blue kitties totally superior. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
AlessandroCaliMar 1, 2013
What has Avatar to offer? Graphics and... and nothing else. Only good graphics. The movie is definitely overrated, with a poor story, ridiculous characters and nothing new to offer to the genre. I'm sorry, but I really didn't like it at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
SeaweedWrap002Feb 9, 2013
An unoriginal movie that did not recieve even one oscar that it recieved. Also, that only happened because James Franco directed Titanic. Not worth owning, a movie that's easily forgettable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
someguy8896Oct 13, 2013
I have come to call this movie what it is, a cliche and stock character ridden bucket of pure crap fished from the toilet that is Holywood. no effort whatsoever was made to make this anything but a quick cash grab by one of the most worthlessI have come to call this movie what it is, a cliche and stock character ridden bucket of pure crap fished from the toilet that is Holywood. no effort whatsoever was made to make this anything but a quick cash grab by one of the most worthless directors out there next to Michael Bay. all this movie is is a bunch of pretty colors with a story ripped from the likes of Ferngully and Pochahontas. now that may enough for some people but not me. if not for the special effects I would give it 1 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
HoldenKauslerOct 5, 2014
This is the worst movie i have ever seen. if there was a lower review then 0 then i would have put that. if i got a copy of this movie i would set it on fire and dance on its ashes
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
NevingJan 2, 2010
yes, the special effects are amazing in this movie, however the '3d' seemed unnecessary, they are very 'flat' for what they are, nothing flying at your face or dancing around the cinema, would have been better to watch in yes, the special effects are amazing in this movie, however the '3d' seemed unnecessary, they are very 'flat' for what they are, nothing flying at your face or dancing around the cinema, would have been better to watch in 2d. the movie uses its visual brilliance as a crutch to support the poor script, plot, acting, and casting that made up the rest of the movie, unfortunately with no success, the limited script gives the cast nothing to work with. however the fundamental mistake in this film is that because of the terrible script and plot it creates one dimensional characters that the audience dont particularly care about at all, not to mention the poorly disguised 'human-ness' of the alien species. the movie is seeped in irony, pushing themes of environmentalism and anti-technological sentiment, funny then that this is the most expensive movie ever made. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
chadsJan 2, 2010
Gets 2 points for some okay graphics. That much of the hype is true. But beyond that this is a TERRIBLE movie. Main problem is the obvious anti-American tree-hugging liberal agenda. The military is bad, the environment is good. Corporate Gets 2 points for some okay graphics. That much of the hype is true. But beyond that this is a TERRIBLE movie. Main problem is the obvious anti-American tree-hugging liberal agenda. The military is bad, the environment is good. Corporate expansion is bad, pagan tree-love is good. Etc and so forth, spitting out one liberal lie after another. Maybe next time they should get a real American to write the script and not some atheist French gy. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
3
AlexC.Jan 3, 2010
While Avatar's $238 million budget delivers beautiful visual effects, to be sure, it feels like not a single nickel was spent on creating believable dialogue or likable characters. On these grounds, it may be the most uneven film ever created.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
StevenMJun 6, 2010
It was fun to watch, but I hated how recycled it is. Great visuals, but James Cameron could have done so much more with the plot line, characters, and general movie. I was disappointed to say the least.
11 of 18 users found this helpful
2
Capt.ShinerJan 14, 2010
Of all the great things this movie does visually and the expense incurred from it, I cannot believe the dialogue and story were not in the budget. There is no charecter that retains any sympathy at the end of the movie. The Na'vi could Of all the great things this movie does visually and the expense incurred from it, I cannot believe the dialogue and story were not in the budget. There is no charecter that retains any sympathy at the end of the movie. The Na'vi could have been deaf and dumb and the story would have moved along at the exact same pace. The dialogue continually detracted from the Pandora "experience". And the story was so tired and cliched, they must have been watching The Wizard of Oz, Dances WIth Wolves and some generic war movie simultaniously while banging on their keyboards like monkeys. I wish big-budget movies didn't have assume that everyone has a fifth grade education to gather the largest audience as possible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GCJan 2, 2010
Avatar is visually stunning. For that I give it a 10. Avatar is also painfully unoriginal with the hackneyed themes of corporate greed and an evil military. For that I give it a (-9). It is little more than a sci fi version of Dances With Avatar is visually stunning. For that I give it a 10. Avatar is also painfully unoriginal with the hackneyed themes of corporate greed and an evil military. For that I give it a (-9). It is little more than a sci fi version of Dances With Wolves. James Cameron spent $300M telling the same story Kevin Costner has already told, but Costner's version was much better and most certainly less expensive to make. You'd think for $300M Cameron could have bought an original story. I guess $300M don't buy what it used to buy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KateS.Feb 3, 2010
This is the most overrated film from the decade a mediocre movie with poor history (copy of Mayas) with a Pocahontas romance and copy robots from Terminator and Full Metal Panic, really crap movie a stupid things to make money, congrats Mr This is the most overrated film from the decade a mediocre movie with poor history (copy of Mayas) with a Pocahontas romance and copy robots from Terminator and Full Metal Panic, really crap movie a stupid things to make money, congrats Mr Cameron, all the world turn stupid with this sh*tty movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ConnorCFeb 8, 2010
This movie is boring as hell and basically an expensive mix of pocahontas,aliens,and a few others.Looks good but that does not make a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NoeCMar 10, 2010
It is a mediocre movie at best. I got bored and couldn't believe any of the characters. Frankly, the special effects weren't all that much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ArielYApr 13, 2010
This movie had nice animation, but what a waste: the story line felt used. It reminded me of Pocahontas or Fern Gully or something. Also, the characters didn't have enough depth to them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DonnieBApr 3, 2010
First, I must say these graphics where groundbreaking and the best I've seen in many years. However, that is the only good thing I can say about this movie. The acting was atrocious, the storyline was neither original or interesting, First, I must say these graphics where groundbreaking and the best I've seen in many years. However, that is the only good thing I can say about this movie. The acting was atrocious, the storyline was neither original or interesting, and the movie just kept going. I did not care about the giant lemers (Navi) at all. The war was unrealistic. It was just a drag that I hated going along with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AaronJApr 4, 2010
I did not enjoy this that much... I went into this expecting an overated, overadvertised crap fest. It was overrated and it was overadvertised and it did look amazing. But i get enjoyment of a good story libe as well. There was more original I did not enjoy this that much... I went into this expecting an overated, overadvertised crap fest. It was overrated and it was overadvertised and it did look amazing. But i get enjoyment of a good story libe as well. There was more original plot in an episode of Teletubbies than this. It was way too long, way to gimiky, with an overused and cheesy "save the rainforest" interspieces love crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BertrandG.Dec 20, 2009
Pocahontas in 3D.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
HarryP.N.Jan 10, 2010
I saw this in 3D earlier today. I do not understand what all the hype is about....and definitely is overrated. The 3 is a result of the amazingly breathtaking computer generation and animation. The 3d was not very well utilized...most of the I saw this in 3D earlier today. I do not understand what all the hype is about....and definitely is overrated. The 3 is a result of the amazingly breathtaking computer generation and animation. The 3d was not very well utilized...most of the time it did not seem like it was in 3d, and could be watched without glasses. Only one part really seemed like 3d, when the sully cripple guy threw the grenade in the aircraft engine, and it bounced by your face. This was the second longest movie i've ever been to, and the most drawn out. the first 2 hours are soooooo boring i almost fell asleep, if it were not for the bright flashy bioluminescence of the plants i probably would have. These first hours were like watching the animal planet or discovery channel, just sit back and look at a bunch of plants. however, every once and a while, there is a cool plant that catches your attention. the cat na'vi people are very strange, and distracted from the movie. everything else was so different and fairy tale like, then they use blue human people with tails, and cat ears. so unoriginal!!!! there are tons of blue alien races. onto the plot: reminded me of one of those movies on the sci fi channel, your macho army commander gone mad with power, an unethical greedy ceo behind it all, nerdy scientists that try to stop army guy and a marine that wants to save the day. the dialogue was horrendous, i could predict every word that was going to come out of their mouthes...and the dry humor was terrible, the retarded kid in the theater that laughed at the jokes and come-backs did not help either. the plot can be guessed when sully teams up with army commander guy (see how bad this is? i saw the movie today and dont even know their names...) to gather info on the cat people. i will not reveal any spoilers, but the plot was very stereotypical. the last 30 minutes, the epic battle scene, was the best part and saving grace of the movie. i dont think the 2 hours of plants was worth 30 mins of action though. in conclusion this review was not meant to discourage you from seeing it, by all means go see it for the animation and try to help james cameron make some of his investment back, but buy a large tub of popcorn and drink, you will need it and may find it more interesting than the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LeahRJan 1, 2010
This movie gets a 1 just because it inspired Sam R.'s review.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
gunnarfJan 13, 2010
This movie sucks so much balls its not even funny. I can't really see anything good about it aside from the visuals. It just proves that most people who vote on this website are f***ing retarded.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JohnAJan 14, 2010
Avatar is basically an overly long, expensive B-movie. The plot is not just simplistic and cliche, but lazy even... apparently audiences won't realize it's mean to bomb the holy tree unless a "daisy cutter" is involved. The movie Avatar is basically an overly long, expensive B-movie. The plot is not just simplistic and cliche, but lazy even... apparently audiences won't realize it's mean to bomb the holy tree unless a "daisy cutter" is involved. The movie is littered with cheap references like that, presumably to curry favor with left-wing critics who otherwise would admit the story is awful. So far as the special effects: it really should not enhance the rating in my view because they are only impressive in comparison to today's standards. In 10 years, Avatar won't look like anything special, and the movie will gradually fade into obscurity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
W.ParishJan 15, 2010
cool images. the movie itself boring in most parts, long and tedious. Lots of social and environmental messages. Did not care for the characters as much as I wanted to.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JHJan 2, 2010
Excellent special effects spoiled by a recycled storyline and even worse script. Very predictable, another American/human who saves the entire planet and indigenous people. Full of cheesy unoriginal cliches.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
johndJan 25, 2010
Unlikeable protagonist, thin characterizations, naive metaphorical comments on Iraq/environmentalism/imperialism, over-saturated colour palette and headache inducing 3D. Avatar is a juvenile, gimmick-fest. Sorry, but it's true.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DJP.Jan 29, 2010
The 3D effects were the star of this movie. It is visually beautiful and amazing. The storyline was good but could have been even better. What was severely missing was the debth of personality of the characters. Any great movie always has The 3D effects were the star of this movie. It is visually beautiful and amazing. The storyline was good but could have been even better. What was severely missing was the debth of personality of the characters. Any great movie always has debth to the characters - you learn their personality and their quirks, you even begin to feel emotion. You laugh when they laugh and cry when they cry. I didn't really feel any emotion during Avatar. There were many deaths in the movie and I didn.t feel any real sadness, which is odd for me. Even though the 3D was great it really overtook the characters and got in the way. I wanted to see a great movie but instead saw a great video game. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ArnoldHJan 3, 2010
A total bore!!! After about ten minutes of this, I had to struggle to stay awake. Special effects alone do not make a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DuaneA.Jan 7, 2010
Scrolling down the list of reviews I can see only really 2 types; educated, informed opinions and dumb people. The dumb people win out by sheer masses and will flood this area with comments like "fantastic" "amazing" etc... These are dumb Scrolling down the list of reviews I can see only really 2 types; educated, informed opinions and dumb people. The dumb people win out by sheer masses and will flood this area with comments like "fantastic" "amazing" etc... These are dumb people after all. They cannot possibly give good advice on films (or much else) because they haven't the werewithal to do so. Thus I encourage anyone who considers themselves to be intelligent (the type that would NEVER see a Micheal Bay picture) to read only the reviews that are under 5 stars. I give 3 because I'm a little generous and because I thought some of the action was okay. Avatar is a really big, bright, colorful, noisy and dumb movie. It is 3 parts Dances With Wolves, mixed with 2 parts Pocohontas and add a generous splash of every cliche action film out there. As a picture - it stinks (the script and dialogue could only have been written by a 4th grader). As a 3d spectacle? Yawwwwnnn.... Hardly revolutionary. After 10 minutes you'll barely notice. Anyway, if you're dumb (chances are - yes) you'll probably love it enough to post your idiotic- 1/4 baked ideas up on websites like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RFJan 9, 2010
Film was awful on so many levels. District 9 was so much better and cost about $30 million to makev versus $500 million. Dialogue bad, characters cliche, did not care about anybody in this movie. Wanted to see the entire moon blown up in a Film was awful on so many levels. District 9 was so much better and cost about $30 million to makev versus $500 million. Dialogue bad, characters cliche, did not care about anybody in this movie. Wanted to see the entire moon blown up in a Michael Bay or Roland Emmerich style apocalypse, because the characters were so boring. The special effects were great, but that does not make up for awful story telling. Besides, District 9s special effects were great too. And the digital FX with live action sequences was not as good as Lord of the Rings did it 8 years ago. This is the movie equivalent of the Emperor's New Clothes. No one wants to admit how awful this movie is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
STFeb 1, 2010
Avatar. Avapoo more like. Over-extended toy commercial. Vastly unimaginative and boring. Plot and ideas all derivative. The much-trumpeted special effects looked like all other cgi - would have preferred it if all the aliens were made out of Avatar. Avapoo more like. Over-extended toy commercial. Vastly unimaginative and boring. Plot and ideas all derivative. The much-trumpeted special effects looked like all other cgi - would have preferred it if all the aliens were made out of papier-mache. 3D utterly pointless. The 1 point here is actually for performances - the baddy, who was done with gusto, and the hero, who was mildly intriguing at the beginning when not a ten foot blue cat-thing. Utterly unable to fathom why people think this is great or indeed any different from so many other cgi-driven action movies nowadays. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CSFeb 1, 2010
Awful, formulaic, racist. Tarzan meets Dances with Wolves but come on-its 2010. Can think of 500 mil better uses for the $$ this cost.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NithinMFeb 15, 2010
Liked the movie only for its visual effects. Otherwise, I did not find it engaging or entertaining. The storyline is weak.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JonSFeb 1, 2010
Is it good entertainment? Yes. Is it a great movie? No, not even close. I walked into the movie expecting a great visual spectacle with an average plot and character development. The plot, acting and character development was so bad, Is it good entertainment? Yes. Is it a great movie? No, not even close. I walked into the movie expecting a great visual spectacle with an average plot and character development. The plot, acting and character development was so bad, however, that it frankly ruined the technological experience. I would recommend seeing it in theaters just for the visuals. This movie is not going to translate well onto the small screen. and after 5-7 years, after the technology is dated, people will look back and think "this is a truly awful movie." There is nothing beyond the visuals to carry this ham-fisted outing. Once the technology is no longer new, this will definitely not stand the test of time. I would think with $250 million, James Cameron would have bought himself a script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DarioPFeb 21, 2010
Unoriginal movie, visuals are not the only thing to weight.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TomMFeb 6, 2010
Thought this movie was totally overrated and not original at all. The script sucked and the blue people were just annoying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AmyCFeb 6, 2010
All I want to say is that I fell asleep (seriously!) after the 3rd time the guy (I can't even remember his name) went into that time capsule. The whole movie is just a joke, and an insult to human intelligence. I didn't like All I want to say is that I fell asleep (seriously!) after the 3rd time the guy (I can't even remember his name) went into that time capsule. The whole movie is just a joke, and an insult to human intelligence. I didn't like Titanic at all but it was at least better than this one. T2 is my all-time favorite.... but is this the same James Cameron, or a different one? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
stevengFeb 7, 2010
Didn't work for me. no emotional connect with the characters. hate the creature design. why do all the animals have six legs? If all the major life forms have six limbs, the blue guys should have too. They wasted the opportunity to use Didn't work for me. no emotional connect with the characters. hate the creature design. why do all the animals have six legs? If all the major life forms have six limbs, the blue guys should have too. They wasted the opportunity to use 3d well. It lost its effect for me 20 min in. lame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DylanLFeb 8, 2010
I first wanted to leave after 40 minutes. That's when I was certain that there was nothing that rang true in the world being created. As if James Cameron could conceive of a any alternative form of evolution. It was half-baked ideas, I first wanted to leave after 40 minutes. That's when I was certain that there was nothing that rang true in the world being created. As if James Cameron could conceive of a any alternative form of evolution. It was half-baked ideas, one after another, and characters that were simply cringe worthy. The whole cinema laughed when the aliens started a trance dance to some gaudy Enya music to make the simplistic pantheistic god do some magic. The laugh wasn't as loud as when the aliens has sex. Cameron created a big extravaganza. But the world and characters he created lacked any complexity to the point that you could simply not buy any of it. The graphics were nice. The story, by any measure, was embarrassing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
craigsMar 6, 2010
What do James Cameron and George Lucas have in common? They've both spent ridiculous amounts of money on over-hyped and extremely over-rated pieces of garbage. The difference is, at least Lucas didn't steal ideas from at least a What do James Cameron and George Lucas have in common? They've both spent ridiculous amounts of money on over-hyped and extremely over-rated pieces of garbage. The difference is, at least Lucas didn't steal ideas from at least a half dozen other films that tell the same story much better. Pocahontas, FernTree Gully, Last of the Mohicans, The Last Samurai, BraveHeart. I won't bother explaining the plot because if you've seen any of the above mentioned films, then you've seen Avatar. And they didn't require flashy CGI to get their story across. Speaking of which, the CGI is by far the highlight of the movie, but even that was eclipsed by Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within. And that movie is 10 years old now. The characters are one dimentional, the acting is fairly poor and the dialogue would surely make Lucas himself cringe. At least he can sleep peacefully in the knowledge that he didn't create the word "unobtainium". How the hell the actors managed to say that with a straight face I'm buggered if I know. Also, the movie makes such a blunt statement about our environmental woes and war in Iraq (we will fight terror with terror) that it is, quite frankly, an insult to the audiences intelligence. If I want to hear people make political and environmental statements I'll watch the news thanks very much. I go to the movies to escape real world issues, not to be beaten over the head with them. Cameron also stole a couple of sound effects from the dinosaurs in Jurassic Park. Can you pick them? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
EddieMMar 7, 2010
It earned its single star by terminating. A pandering, cliche-ridden, overblown bore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JasonWMay 15, 2010
Cool visuals, but awful acting and a horrendous plot. I couldn't even make it through the entire movie. I walked out of the theater because I was so bored and could predict the entire movie after the first 10 minutes.
3 of 6 users found this helpful
3
MattN.May 23, 2010
Great visuals and effects, but thats simply all that Avatar has to offer. No story, viciously bad overacting and dialogue older than Sigourney Weaver herself. Very boring and far too long.
28 of 39 users found this helpful
2
DerekSJun 17, 2010
Cameron was reminiscent of Michael Bay's dedication to special effects in this incredibly clichéd and (with regards to plot and characters) lackluster film. The characters all filled positions of clichés, leaving nothing Cameron was reminiscent of Michael Bay's dedication to special effects in this incredibly clichéd and (with regards to plot and characters) lackluster film. The characters all filled positions of clichés, leaving nothing unexpected through the entire plot. I found myself predicting lines and events before they occurred, a feat which never leads to a good feeling about a movie. The special effects were phenomenal, but everything else seemed less important. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful
2
JaredH.Dec 19, 2009
The CGI is fabulous and truly takes us to a new dimension in movie making. Having said this the rest of the movie was awful. Mr. Cameron takes us to a far away place called Pandora. In 3D we see a world unlike anything found on Earth. So far The CGI is fabulous and truly takes us to a new dimension in movie making. Having said this the rest of the movie was awful. Mr. Cameron takes us to a far away place called Pandora. In 3D we see a world unlike anything found on Earth. So far so good. Then the movie completely disintegrates when a Marine Corporal crippled in war becomes one of the aliens {Avatar} or should I say natives. It is unfathomable that Mr. Cameron can conceive a world we've never seen but his storyline is totally lame and predictable. Somewhere we've seen all this before. The Aliens are in fact thinly disguised as native Indians. The big bad capitalistic Americans {General Custer} invade their land for greed, make no attempt at negotiations, and destroy all their beauty. The American military fights with weapons in the year 2154 but nothing is NEW. The Aliens have just bows and arrows. If Dances With Wolves comes to mind yu now know the story. And the Marine Corporal {where was Kevin Costner} whose manta is to do and die switches sides for moral justice. And somehow this pawn is so brilliant that he's portrayed as the second coming of General Rommel {WW II}. No matter how great the special effects, and they are truly great, there's no excuse for such a paper thin plot in which the ending is known 5 minutes into the movie. $299.999 million spent on CGI animation and about a buck fifty for the script. Anyone giving this movie a perfect score of 10 for dialogue that could have been written by a five-year old must have had a lobotomy or checked their brains in at the door. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BeatriceDec 20, 2009
Beautiful colors and sounds but as far as a story it was very poor. I'm amazed that everyone seems taken in by the bells and whistles but no one cares about anything else. Quite a commentary on the dumbing down of America.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LionelT.Dec 25, 2009
This has to be a joke. Take away the 3D special effects and the move is laughable. Nothing memorable about it. Awful acting and story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
sama.Dec 27, 2009
You people will all be pretty embarrassed in five or ten years when you look back and see just how crummy this movie is. the love story is like glass of lukewarm water with a little sugar in it, the story story is trite and half-cocked and You people will all be pretty embarrassed in five or ten years when you look back and see just how crummy this movie is. the love story is like glass of lukewarm water with a little sugar in it, the story story is trite and half-cocked and the special effects while "good" were just barely up to date. this movie is stupid. the story was the shallowest possible excuse to combine lush natural beauty cgi with big military blow up cgi. to entertain the ladies, cameron throws in some love story which also serves the cgi. the only character development takes place in the video log/voice over. the big blue cgi aliens never really do anything beyond running around the jungle and maybe flying around it. there have been better 3d movies. there will be better 3d movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
billyjJan 12, 2010
Way too long there is no story please don't see the movie only because of the special effects. don't even go see the movie. if you really want to see it rent it or buy the dumb movie there is no piont of seeing the movie is long, Way too long there is no story please don't see the movie only because of the special effects. don't even go see the movie. if you really want to see it rent it or buy the dumb movie there is no piont of seeing the movie is long, terrible, bad acting, and is nearly three hours along it starts stupid and it ends where their should be a begings so please skip this movie GO SEE YOUTH IN REVOLT. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MarcKJan 15, 2010
I saw the movie in 3D, and as a visual experience it's an amazing movie. My wife even swatted at one of the insects during the movie! Unfortunately, the storyline seemed like a clumsy rehashing of "Dances with Wolves". At least Kevin I saw the movie in 3D, and as a visual experience it's an amazing movie. My wife even swatted at one of the insects during the movie! Unfortunately, the storyline seemed like a clumsy rehashing of "Dances with Wolves". At least Kevin Costner wasn't in "Avatar" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TaylorHJan 18, 2010
I totally feel as though spending my 15 dollars was justified. This was a terrible movie but worth it to see in 3D.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlecBJan 20, 2010
Horrible, cgi is ruining the movie industry. If you want to see an over-rated movie with no plot and terrible acting watch this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GeorgeB.Jan 20, 2010
DOOM DOOM DOOOOOM! All of these positive comments will soon cause sequel after sequel to blemish our theatres and nothing can stop it ! I didn't like it. One hardly knows where to begin, hmmm... First the positive, uhhm... i liked how DOOM DOOM DOOOOOM! All of these positive comments will soon cause sequel after sequel to blemish our theatres and nothing can stop it ! I didn't like it. One hardly knows where to begin, hmmm... First the positive, uhhm... i liked how the Jenny Craig Iroquois Space Cat Elves used a backhand draw when yanking their bows (I wonder if anybody ever did that?). The negative aspects would be predictable, condescending, rascist, sexist and mislabelled as science fiction. Just because space ships and other planets are involved does not make a movie SciFi ! There is another category known as "Space Opera" that would arguably better label this film. There is little in the way of any SCIENCE as opposed to a whopping slice of FICTION. Unobtainium (snicker) is only valuable because the movie says so alluding to it as an "energy source". (So its coal bloated up with hydrogen to make it float, imaginative but not even vaguely science.) Why would a Mech require a big knife (tip of the hat to Crocodile Dundee?). How can a "floating mountain" discharge a sizable waterfall in a climate where apparently it never rains (perhaps Mother Gaia doesn't let it rain when bigshot liberals are filming movies). Hammerhead rhino's, six legged horse's and cottonwood seeds floating about (does anyone on super wonder planet have allergies?). My girlfriend and I, both SciFi aficiandos just watched a film called "Pandorum" which the critics largely destroyed. While hardly perfect it was a Darfur Tower in stature to "Avatars" small rooming house somewhere in the west eighties. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SteveA.Jan 23, 2010
Just plain silly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DavidG.Jan 27, 2010
Even though the special effects were absolutely amazing, the ending battle sequence, and Sam Worthington's fantastic acting, thats all Avatar really has going for it. The story is a rip off of a bunch of movies most recognizable would Even though the special effects were absolutely amazing, the ending battle sequence, and Sam Worthington's fantastic acting, thats all Avatar really has going for it. The story is a rip off of a bunch of movies most recognizable would be Dances with Wolves. The story doesn't really develop and the just focuses on special effects and nothing else. The movie had a lot of potential, but it was wasted on a half-assed script and special effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ConnorM.Jan 28, 2010
I guess the comments w/ 0 votes R true...Cameron wasted 20 years of his life making this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
IsaacSJan 28, 2010
The plot was one the worst I have seen and the film making barely made up for it. Watch Dances with Wolves again and save your ten bucks. God-awful. Take a lap
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KyleMJan 29, 2010
"Pocahontas In Space 3D!" the entire story was a ripoff of other movies, the characters were all stereotypes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BRichJan 3, 2010
Avatar was OK. It was to me a modern day Cowboys and Indians. You have the poor Indigenous people being taken down by the White Man. Just like most minorities and or Indigenous nations. The White men want what they have so they rise up and Avatar was OK. It was to me a modern day Cowboys and Indians. You have the poor Indigenous people being taken down by the White Man. Just like most minorities and or Indigenous nations. The White men want what they have so they rise up and destroy these people and their nation. Cinematography was fine, but the story line was really sad and the fact that all of this money is being made on this movie I would hope some of the money goes to some underprivileged country, people, or education. Pretty sad to take advantage of a story that has been told in the past and glorify the downfall of races. We have seen this in the past, slavery of blacks, Native Americans land being taken away. Now it is on the big screen and we have paid money to see the degradation of human beings of a different kind. Thanks for exploiting people AGAIN! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful