Avatar

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2916 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. DJ
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    Literally the best movie I have ever seen. I was completely and totally blown away. This is the first movie in my entire life where I didn't want it to end.
  2. Neving
    Jan 2, 2010
    2
    yes, the special effects are amazing in this movie, however the '3d' seemed unnecessary, they are very 'flat' for what they are, nothing flying at your face or dancing around the cinema, would have been better to watch in 2d. the movie uses its visual brilliance as a crutch to support the poor script, plot, acting, and casting that made up the rest of the movie, yes, the special effects are amazing in this movie, however the '3d' seemed unnecessary, they are very 'flat' for what they are, nothing flying at your face or dancing around the cinema, would have been better to watch in 2d. the movie uses its visual brilliance as a crutch to support the poor script, plot, acting, and casting that made up the rest of the movie, unfortunately with no success, the limited script gives the cast nothing to work with. however the fundamental mistake in this film is that because of the terrible script and plot it creates one dimensional characters that the audience dont particularly care about at all, not to mention the poorly disguised 'human-ness' of the alien species. the movie is seeped in irony, pushing themes of environmentalism and anti-technological sentiment, funny then that this is the most expensive movie ever made. Expand
  3. chads
    Jan 2, 2010
    2
    Gets 2 points for some okay graphics. That much of the hype is true. But beyond that this is a TERRIBLE movie. Main problem is the obvious anti-American tree-hugging liberal agenda. The military is bad, the environment is good. Corporate expansion is bad, pagan tree-love is good. Etc and so forth, spitting out one liberal lie after another. Maybe next time they should get a real American Gets 2 points for some okay graphics. That much of the hype is true. But beyond that this is a TERRIBLE movie. Main problem is the obvious anti-American tree-hugging liberal agenda. The military is bad, the environment is good. Corporate expansion is bad, pagan tree-love is good. Etc and so forth, spitting out one liberal lie after another. Maybe next time they should get a real American to write the script and not some atheist French gy. Expand
  4. liz
    Jan 22, 2010
    5
    Overrated! The storyline and the characters were grossly underdeveloped. The effects were good but I was under the impression that they would be so good that the plant life and the Na'vi would look realistic. And don't get me started on the look of the Na'vi! They resembled African-Americans (braids with beads in them and wide noses as well as some of the tribe Overrated! The storyline and the characters were grossly underdeveloped. The effects were good but I was under the impression that they would be so good that the plant life and the Na'vi would look realistic. And don't get me started on the look of the Na'vi! They resembled African-Americans (braids with beads in them and wide noses as well as some of the tribe leaders' clothing which looked like a Masai rip-off) and Native-Americans (noses, long hair, tall thin like the Disney version of Pocahontas, and also their clothing) they were too lazy when it came time to designing their look. I did feel at some points like I was watching a cartoon movie and one which I would never touch with a ten foot pole. I felt that more needed to be told as far as the Na'vi were concerned, and I wanted to see more of the beautiful forests. In fact, at one point I did think that it would have been cool if Pandora had no sunlight so that during the whole film we could see the beautiful glow-in-the-dark plant life. That was my favorite part of the movie and I still hope to have a dream in which I'm surrounded by such beauty! The movie really went down-hill for me when the war started, at first it was fine but then it went on for too long and it turned the movie into another action flick. I feel like I'm the only person who thinks that James Cameron isn't very good. Sure he is good with special effects, but he's no artist who can really be innovative (like those filmmakers who don't take 5 years to make a movie that is generic in terms of storyline which is the most important reason to see a movie) and write great stories with great characters and depth. I did enjoy Avatar as a fun popcorn flick and am glad I saw it but i don't understand why so many people are giving it so much high praise! And I am horrified that it's being nominated for some major awards. I just hope it doesn't win an Oscar like Titanic did (another movie I enjoyed as a good popcorn flick and yet even as a 14 year old with crush on Dicaprio, I knew better than to think it deserved the awards it received!) or I'll go crazy. Expand
  5. EvinC.
    Jan 2, 2010
    8
    Almost great film. the 3D was too overwhelming. I prefer the the original version of the film. Kudos to Worthington and Cameron.
  6. JoshM
    Jan 20, 2010
    4
    A very pretty, shallow film. It was Ferngully with CGI. It felt like Cameron was trying to cram in every single story cliche he could think of. Extremely generic and boring. Every single thing that happens in the movie can be seen from miles away. Worth a watch to check out the graphics, otherwise, pass.
  7. AlexC.
    Jan 3, 2010
    3
    While Avatar's $238 million budget delivers beautiful visual effects, to be sure, it feels like not a single nickel was spent on creating believable dialogue or likable characters. On these grounds, it may be the most uneven film ever created.
  8. SoroushA
    Jan 3, 2010
    4
    Special effects simply made me more unintrigued in the 3D film as it seemed too much was fed to the graphics that the characters themselves! Questions were not answered especially for a 3 hr movie (how did he lose control of his legs, how did his brother die? etc.) which limited any character building. Special effects: 10, Acting: 4, Storyline: 6, Dialogue: 6, Character development: 5... Special effects simply made me more unintrigued in the 3D film as it seemed too much was fed to the graphics that the characters themselves! Questions were not answered especially for a 3 hr movie (how did he lose control of his legs, how did his brother die? etc.) which limited any character building. Special effects: 10, Acting: 4, Storyline: 6, Dialogue: 6, Character development: 5... please is this movie really in the same league as gladiator?? cos i dont remember crying to this movie at any stage! Expand
  9. DionJ.
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    This movie was AWESOME! without a doubt the best movie of 2009 and one of the best movies of all time. Yeah its has similar story lines to "Dances with Wolves" and "Pocahontas" but its different at the same time. The Na'vi are humanoid in appearance but not human as in "Dances with Wolves" and "Pocahontas" which makes it different in that fact. It's a instant classic! I have This movie was AWESOME! without a doubt the best movie of 2009 and one of the best movies of all time. Yeah its has similar story lines to "Dances with Wolves" and "Pocahontas" but its different at the same time. The Na'vi are humanoid in appearance but not human as in "Dances with Wolves" and "Pocahontas" which makes it different in that fact. It's a instant classic! I have seen this movie six times in theaters. Five of which are in IMAX 3D. I notice details that I regularly see other directors miss. *spoiler alert* The part in the main battle scene when Jake and the other Na'vi are trying to bring down the shuttle loaded with bombs. Jake fly's in on his Great Leonopteryx and then jumps off on top of the shuttle at which point he kills some RDA troops manning some machines guns. The scene just before he jumps of his mount onto the ship you can see a Banshee (Flying creature) that got shot, on top of the ship twitching and as it cuts scenes on where Jake jumps off his mount and onto the shuttle you can still see the Banshee twitching and then as Jake jumps over the fortifications where the marines are defending the ship with machine guns and shoots them (marines) you can see the Banshee again still twitching on top of the shuttle. Now I have seen many more details like this in the movie and it excites me to see. You have a director that is willing to pay attention to every detail such as the one I mentioned and a detail that hardly no one if anyone will notice. When I see movies I like to look at these very details to see how much time the spent into making their film look as real as possible and James Cameron did not disappoint! I mean if you are paying attention to details that small then you know the huge details that the director want you to see is going to be even better! This movie delivered everything I expect to see from a movie and then some. James Cameron in an amazing derictor, producer and writer! This Movie is a 10 for sure! Expand
  10. criticsRmad
    Jan 8, 2010
    7
    The visuals were stunning and the movie was enjoyable. Story had every cliche you can throw in a movie. Could easily name it Dances with Aliens, but hey, sometimes you can still enjoy a cliched story. I recommend seeing it at the theater in 3D and don't expect much from the story.
  11. ChrisN
    Jan 9, 2010
    9
    Incredible movie filled with dazzling effects. The story is amazing, but is dragged on by a bland love story between the main character and a Navi. Also the movie seems to drag on towards the middle hour. Overall it's worth the 2 hours and 30min of time I invested in it.
  12. NeoM
    Apr 2, 2010
    7
    A visual treat. Pandora draws you in and takes your breath away at some moments. But a cliche and rather predictable plot, and some bad lines, leave it wanting.
  13. StevenM
    Jun 6, 2010
    3
    It was fun to watch, but I hated how recycled it is. Great visuals, but James Cameron could have done so much more with the plot line, characters, and general movie. I was disappointed to say the least.
  14. vinnieg
    Jan 1, 2010
    6
    Its Dances with Wolves plus CGI. Incredible CGI, but CGI nontheless. The story was a joke, predictable with childish dialogue. No one can doubt that the effects are wonderful, but we dont go to the movies to see special effects, we go to be told a story. This movie is a spectacle, not a story.)
  15. EmericC
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Avatar is probably the most beautiful film you'll ever see. The visual effects and the story... it's amazing! James Cameron has created a living world, a world that you'll never forget. The film really caught my heart!
  16. Capt.Shiner
    Jan 14, 2010
    2
    Of all the great things this movie does visually and the expense incurred from it, I cannot believe the dialogue and story were not in the budget. There is no charecter that retains any sympathy at the end of the movie. The Na'vi could have been deaf and dumb and the story would have moved along at the exact same pace. The dialogue continually detracted from the Pandora "experience". Of all the great things this movie does visually and the expense incurred from it, I cannot believe the dialogue and story were not in the budget. There is no charecter that retains any sympathy at the end of the movie. The Na'vi could have been deaf and dumb and the story would have moved along at the exact same pace. The dialogue continually detracted from the Pandora "experience". And the story was so tired and cliched, they must have been watching The Wizard of Oz, Dances WIth Wolves and some generic war movie simultaniously while banging on their keyboards like monkeys. I wish big-budget movies didn't have assume that everyone has a fifth grade education to gather the largest audience as possible. Expand
  17. ArekK
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Great and Beautiful!
  18. GlennH.
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    Only thing missing was Mel Gibson and the English (Braveheart). Glad the bad guys were contractors (Blackwater types) and not active duty Marines.
  19. JacobL
    Jan 1, 2010
    8
    First off let me make one thing clear, I saw this movie in 2d. Having said that, I thought the movie was still pretty good. Visually the movie looks great and the world of Pandora is gorgeous. Unfortunately, since I wasn't watching it in 3d I wasn't as sucked into the world of Avatar as I would've otherwise. As far as plot goes the movie does a nice job. The characters and First off let me make one thing clear, I saw this movie in 2d. Having said that, I thought the movie was still pretty good. Visually the movie looks great and the world of Pandora is gorgeous. Unfortunately, since I wasn't watching it in 3d I wasn't as sucked into the world of Avatar as I would've otherwise. As far as plot goes the movie does a nice job. The characters and setting are great and the one guy having two identities keeps things interesting as he struggles to find out who he really is. Also, the story in Avatar Humans vs. Navi is different but at the same time very familiar, which I like. My one criticism is where the movie ends. (SPOILIERS ALERT) I really don't like how the Navi defeat the humans because it feels almost forced in there. A more appropriate ending would be when the Navi set off to fight the humans. As a result, of adding on the climactic battle, the movie was too long for my tastes and started to drag. Avatar is the one movie that everyone should see particulary in 3d. You will be amased at the amount of detail in Pandora and find the plot to be very interesting. If you are a parent, bring your kids because to some extent, Avatar will provide them the same joy that a Star Wars movie would. Expand
  20. MichaelH
    Jan 21, 2010
    9
    I was pleasantly surprised by Avatar. I am usually a pretty good judge of movies from their trailers but the trailer for Avatar is filled with some of the more cliched elements. The CGI effects are marvelous and the realization of the world of Pandora is very detailed and persuasive. Having read cynical accounts of the plot as "Dances with Smurfs" I was also surprised by the story which I was pleasantly surprised by Avatar. I am usually a pretty good judge of movies from their trailers but the trailer for Avatar is filled with some of the more cliched elements. The CGI effects are marvelous and the realization of the world of Pandora is very detailed and persuasive. Having read cynical accounts of the plot as "Dances with Smurfs" I was also surprised by the story which was not exactly the strength of the movie but also didn't detract too much from the movie going experience. I feel a little sorry for people who become deeply attached to this movie and wrapped up in its reality...but on the other hand, I might even consider going to the movie again in the IMAX version. Expand
  21. ChrisB
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Amazing movie. I liked it even more the second time. It will revolutionize the way movies are made from now on.
  22. BrendanW
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    I wanted to be entertained and I was. The story could use some work though.
  23. GC
    Jan 2, 2010
    1
    Avatar is visually stunning. For that I give it a 10. Avatar is also painfully unoriginal with the hackneyed themes of corporate greed and an evil military. For that I give it a (-9). It is little more than a sci fi version of Dances With Wolves. James Cameron spent $300M telling the same story Kevin Costner has already told, but Costner's version was much better and most certainly Avatar is visually stunning. For that I give it a 10. Avatar is also painfully unoriginal with the hackneyed themes of corporate greed and an evil military. For that I give it a (-9). It is little more than a sci fi version of Dances With Wolves. James Cameron spent $300M telling the same story Kevin Costner has already told, but Costner's version was much better and most certainly less expensive to make. You'd think for $300M Cameron could have bought an original story. I guess $300M don't buy what it used to buy. Expand
  24. P.M.
    Jan 24, 2010
    8
    There's more to a movie than a good plot, and I can't think of any movie that demonstrates this better than Avatar. If everything about a movie was amazing except for the story, I feel you can honestly call it a good movie.
  25. AndreaK
    Jan 2, 2010
    4
    Liked the animation. Didn't like the story. Yes, natives need white americans to save them from other white americans. It's inconceivable that natives could come up with some strategy to save themselves. Is it because white americans are the superior race? Well, that must be it. Learning to be a warrior took the natives years of training...white american took 3 months. Whatever. Liked the animation. Didn't like the story. Yes, natives need white americans to save them from other white americans. It's inconceivable that natives could come up with some strategy to save themselves. Is it because white americans are the superior race? Well, that must be it. Learning to be a warrior took the natives years of training...white american took 3 months. Whatever. And we all know the real end of this story. History has taught us again and again ...white americans return with bigger guns and kill/capture everbody. Expand
  26. JoelL
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    I don't understand why some people are down on this movie; I though it was great. The world of Pandora and the Na'vi is impossible not to get sucked into. The visuals are gorgeous. The story, which seems to be the biggest complaint, is there to pull you into this world and it does a pretty fine job. As for the length of the movie, you'll be too captivated to notice how long I don't understand why some people are down on this movie; I though it was great. The world of Pandora and the Na'vi is impossible not to get sucked into. The visuals are gorgeous. The story, which seems to be the biggest complaint, is there to pull you into this world and it does a pretty fine job. As for the length of the movie, you'll be too captivated to notice how long it is. Overall, I think you have to be pretty cynical not to fall in love with this world. Expand
  27. PascalR.
    Jan 30, 2010
    9
    Not someone who gets impressed by much but sat there afterwards thinking I had seen something groundbreaking in 3D and realistic computer graphics. Yeah there are better stories out there, but.......wow!
  28. MichaelF.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    Simply Amazing!!!
  29. WiseUp
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    The Real Value of James Cameron's "Avatar" All the reviews of Avatar I�ve read seem to miss the real value of this visually stunning movie set on the fantastically alive planet of Pandora. While aspects of the plot are predictable, Avatar offers some powerful messages for our time once you scratch beneath the surface. For those who are not firmly The Real Value of James Cameron's "Avatar" All the reviews of Avatar I�ve read seem to miss the real value of this visually stunning movie set on the fantastically alive planet of Pandora. While aspects of the plot are predictable, Avatar offers some powerful messages for our time once you scratch beneath the surface. For those who are not firmly entrenched in our mainstream culture�s cynicism and denial the movie, Avatar, is a powerful opportunity to sharply see and feel our current situation as a species that has lost its way. As we experience the lives of Pandora�s indigenous people our own predicament comes into contrast. We become visible as a species that has become trapped within its own culture and system of domination and control... cut off from what really enlivens us. It is surprising that a movie with some of the messages of Avatar could even come out of the corporate dominated �homeland�Expand
  30. BFG
    Jan 4, 2010
    8
    Fantastic movie. If the ideas seem simple, it is because they are. If the acting seems bad, its because it is supposed to be black and white. The message is as important as the movie to the person that wrote it. Dances with wolves was a good movie. So is this.
  31. pauloa
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    Simple the Best film and gorgeous i can�´t say to you how i feelt when seeing the movie, the movie has just one problem ....IT ENDSSSS
  32. kathrynw
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    An absolutely fantastic movie that wows and entertains. The only thing wrong with it was its rating. It should be rated NFIS, Not for Intellectual Snobs (with superiority complexes).
  33. JohnF.
    Jan 6, 2010
    8
    Much of what you will see in Avatar is not new, so don't expect it to reinvent the wheel outside of the visual effects department. Plus underneath it all, the movie is more or less a vehicle for James Cameron's political views, which you might not care for much if you lean towards the conservative side of the spectrum. However, Avatar gets the most basic thing that a movie Much of what you will see in Avatar is not new, so don't expect it to reinvent the wheel outside of the visual effects department. Plus underneath it all, the movie is more or less a vehicle for James Cameron's political views, which you might not care for much if you lean towards the conservative side of the spectrum. However, Avatar gets the most basic thing that a movie should do right on the money -- it is entertaining. For that reason, it succeeds and should be given a look. Expand
  34. MarcusG.
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    An amazing movie from beginning to end. Yes, the writing was a little predictable and the story has been borrowed from several films, but that does not mean it is not excellent. I entirely expected it to drag at times but was pleasently surprised; I did not look at my watch once in the three hours. I find that this film fully engaged all of my senses and when it was over I wanted more. An amazing movie from beginning to end. Yes, the writing was a little predictable and the story has been borrowed from several films, but that does not mean it is not excellent. I entirely expected it to drag at times but was pleasently surprised; I did not look at my watch once in the three hours. I find that this film fully engaged all of my senses and when it was over I wanted more. Don't expect highly intellectual writing, don't try to be critical, just sit and be told a good story and I think you will find that you will also be pleasently surprised. Expand
  35. LyC.
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    Great visual and sound effects. Good story. Some of you say it's cliche. I don't think so. You think we should stop talking about war and environment issues? And if you want some completely original movies and technology advances in film-making can be ignored, go find some indie, low-budget movies instead of Avatar.
  36. KenG
    Jan 7, 2010
    4
    If all you care about is special effects, and the visual look of a film, you'll probably love this.The movie is superb with these things. But if like me, you also care about plot, script, and characters, you might well be disappointed with this movie, as very little effort went into these things. To give this movie a high grade, would be rewarding James Cameron for being lazy in a If all you care about is special effects, and the visual look of a film, you'll probably love this.The movie is superb with these things. But if like me, you also care about plot, script, and characters, you might well be disappointed with this movie, as very little effort went into these things. To give this movie a high grade, would be rewarding James Cameron for being lazy in a lot of ways. Expand
  37. EllisciaE.
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    I have always been an avid movie watcher and this is the best picture I've ever experienced. I am a 57 yr. old female and I'm loving the three strong feminine roles. The clear message about how "everything is connected" is a good reminder for all of us. We are all connected and all of life is sacred. I hope that this movie speaks to others as profoundly as it has me. I've I have always been an avid movie watcher and this is the best picture I've ever experienced. I am a 57 yr. old female and I'm loving the three strong feminine roles. The clear message about how "everything is connected" is a good reminder for all of us. We are all connected and all of life is sacred. I hope that this movie speaks to others as profoundly as it has me. I've seen it twice and shall go again. Thanks and enjoy!!! Expand
  38. MikeM
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    Wow! I'm still thinking about what I just saw... It's a testament to what we've become... A lot of Native American themes are involved in this film. What a wonderful disposition of how honor, love, integrity and commitment should be exhibited in our daily lives. I see so may truisms in this story... Well done!
  39. JoeM
    Jan 9, 2010
    6
    Beautiful visuals, some good advances in CGI are shown in this flick. But that is about it. It is a 3 hour tech demo. The story is predictable and most of the characters are flat with the exception of the lead as you would expect. This is Fern Gully almost scene for scene but stretched out. It's nice to see state of the art however I am a little tired of how easily people ignore all Beautiful visuals, some good advances in CGI are shown in this flick. But that is about it. It is a 3 hour tech demo. The story is predictable and most of the characters are flat with the exception of the lead as you would expect. This is Fern Gully almost scene for scene but stretched out. It's nice to see state of the art however I am a little tired of how easily people ignore all other aspects of the film as long as it is pretty enough. I look forward to when these new techniques become more affordable so that we can have the technology along with some more in-depth writing/direction. Expand
  40. PBW
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    AMAZING! There are no words to truely explain the beauty, imagination and grace of this movie! The story line is so very much more than a simple "good vs bad". The visual beauty alone leaves you breathless and anxious to see it again. I have never been motivated by a movie to make the effort to see it in IMAX. Avatar was my virgin voyage into IMAX .. and well ... you have to see it to AMAZING! There are no words to truely explain the beauty, imagination and grace of this movie! The story line is so very much more than a simple "good vs bad". The visual beauty alone leaves you breathless and anxious to see it again. I have never been motivated by a movie to make the effort to see it in IMAX. Avatar was my virgin voyage into IMAX .. and well ... you have to see it to understand that are really are no words!! Expand
  41. Piotr
    Feb 1, 2010
    6
    There two aspects to think of regarding Avatar: 1. Picture- amazing, milestone, no words to fully acknowledge this! 2. Story/Message- shallow, dull, target group- 10 to 15 years. One clearly catches 2days political situation dressed up in sci-fi clothing, but again it almost hits you right between eyes, so someone considered general public not to be smart. Worth watching, not worth There two aspects to think of regarding Avatar: 1. Picture- amazing, milestone, no words to fully acknowledge this! 2. Story/Message- shallow, dull, target group- 10 to 15 years. One clearly catches 2days political situation dressed up in sci-fi clothing, but again it almost hits you right between eyes, so someone considered general public not to be smart. Worth watching, not worth thinking about. Expand
  42. KaylaH
    Feb 17, 2010
    10
    It's peculiarity is what makes it an unbelievable movie. The transformation of each individual character throughout the movie is brilliant. Not that the kind of story is so original but the details make it this unimaginable yet so realistic scenario. From the 'halo' with their hair to Jake Sully being able to walk when he's in his Avatar, truly amazing.
  43. NicholasF.
    Feb 1, 2010
    9
    Wow! It's fantastic! The story isn't very original but it's always beautiful.
  44. EggyG
    Feb 17, 2010
    10
    First the bad part, the story was kinda lame. Now the best part, beside the story all part was groundbreaking. Watch it in 3D really brought new level of immersion experience. The world design was mind boggling & eye popping. The action sequence was breathtaking. Even the music and sound was sublime. Another milestone movie from JC!
  45. Kayde
    Feb 18, 2010
    4
    In the love of all that is holy, why does this movie have a score of 88? Yes, it is a visual spectacle, and yes, the technological innovations it employs are nothing short of fantastical, but this is A BAD MOVIE. The story is generic and clunky, in addition to the structure of the script being PAINFULLY obvious as one watches the movie. The characters are flat, and the political overtones In the love of all that is holy, why does this movie have a score of 88? Yes, it is a visual spectacle, and yes, the technological innovations it employs are nothing short of fantastical, but this is A BAD MOVIE. The story is generic and clunky, in addition to the structure of the script being PAINFULLY obvious as one watches the movie. The characters are flat, and the political overtones are a little overdone. It is a visual dazzlement wrapped around an empty shell, and does not deserve to win a Best Picture Oscar. Star Wars was a technological marvel, and it was hugely entertaining, but did it deserve the highest honor possible to bestow upon a film?? No. Neither does Avatar. Expand
  46. JuanC.
    Feb 21, 2010
    10
    James Cameron has done it once again. He impressed my expectations of Avatar. I always thought of Avatar as great, but not something that should be the movie of the year. However, once I saw the movie, it blew me away from the begging to end. After finishing watching Avatar, I thought to myself, this is not only the best movie of 2009 and the best in the decade, this is one of the best James Cameron has done it once again. He impressed my expectations of Avatar. I always thought of Avatar as great, but not something that should be the movie of the year. However, once I saw the movie, it blew me away from the begging to end. After finishing watching Avatar, I thought to myself, this is not only the best movie of 2009 and the best in the decade, this is one of the best movies ever made. I have not seen one part of the movie that was boring or uninteresting to watch. I also like the fact that James keeps focus on every category of the movie: the story, the visuals the actors, every bit of detail is amazing. This is a must watch for everyone. I definitely got to say that it would take years for someone else to top this movie off. Expand
  47. HeywoodJ
    Feb 20, 2010
    7
    First of all, I can't imagine watching Avatar in anything but 3-D IMAX, I would assume that many of the negative takeaways described here are a result of watching it in 2D. Forget characterizations, plot rip-offs, or incredibly inane dialogue for a second; from a simple visual perspective this is a truly extraordinary accomplishment and a feast for the eyes and the imagination. From First of all, I can't imagine watching Avatar in anything but 3-D IMAX, I would assume that many of the negative takeaways described here are a result of watching it in 2D. Forget characterizations, plot rip-offs, or incredibly inane dialogue for a second; from a simple visual perspective this is a truly extraordinary accomplishment and a feast for the eyes and the imagination. From the images of the med tech floating in amongst the freshly awakening pod-soldiers to the multi-nostril snorting of the banshees to the luminescence landscapes of the Pandora forests this is well worth the trip to lose yourself and take in the incredible creations. This is truly a testament to Cameron's maniacal attention to detail and bombastic tree-hugging visions. However, I did say wait a second for the characterizations, plot rip-offs and incredibly inane dialogue. Given the time and the cost of this movie, can you imagine how much better it would have been had there been a marginally equivocal investment in script -writing and casting? As much as I was blown away by the imagery I was equally blown away by the wasted opportunity to develop the Na Expand
  48. KateS.
    Feb 3, 2010
    0
    This is the most overrated film from the decade a mediocre movie with poor history (copy of Mayas) with a Pocahontas romance and copy robots from Terminator and Full Metal Panic, really crap movie a stupid things to make money, congrats Mr Cameron, all the world turn stupid with this sh*tty movie.
  49. MikeB.
    Feb 4, 2010
    10
    Very well put together, the acting made it very believable.
  50. MichaelT.
    Feb 4, 2010
    8
    Criticize its sterile story or its poor acting if you will, but you will love Avatar, and you will get so sucked in to its pull. James Cameron isn't particularly original in how he gets it across; that's because it's a tried and tested formula that works extremely well. There's no doubt that you'll be completely immersed in the lusciousness of the life JC has made.
  51. CharlesK
    Feb 6, 2010
    4
    Had Cameron shot in the Amazon in 3D it would have been just as stunning. Had he written a script that made any sense and didn't have holes to drive trucks through it might have been vaguely memorable, had he seized the opportunity and created a truly alien world instead of Earth with 6 legged horses etc etc and 8 foot lean humans with tails it might have soared but the absurdity of Had Cameron shot in the Amazon in 3D it would have been just as stunning. Had he written a script that made any sense and didn't have holes to drive trucks through it might have been vaguely memorable, had he seized the opportunity and created a truly alien world instead of Earth with 6 legged horses etc etc and 8 foot lean humans with tails it might have soared but the absurdity of all good/all evil, idiot American administrators but sage scientists (not very) and a military using 17th Century techniques just killed it. Too long by 40 mins, too twee by half. Nice 3D. Expand
  52. JoeP
    Feb 7, 2010
    9
    I wouldn't give it the Oscar, but it's clear that this is a new threshold in the movie creation and viewing experience. More than any movie I've seen, this is worth experiencing in 3-D, in a theatre.
  53. FabianB
    Feb 7, 2010
    10
    The Movie was still great. I really liked it to watch in 3D. Good Story and great Actors / Effects.
  54. ConnorC
    Feb 8, 2010
    2
    This movie is boring as hell and basically an expensive mix of pocahontas,aliens,and a few others.Looks good but that does not make a good movie.
  55. NoeC
    Mar 10, 2010
    3
    It is a mediocre movie at best. I got bored and couldn't believe any of the characters. Frankly, the special effects weren't all that much.
  56. J.SS.
    Mar 20, 2010
    7
    The movie had a unique storyline but the characters are the same! Everyone has seen the tough army guy and the hot tough pilot chick. The 3-d was a little disappointing. I enjoyed watching it none the less.
  57. CaseyK.
    Mar 30, 2010
    10
    Highly imaginative, action-packed and with strong emotion from jake and neytiri's love. James Cameron has truly out done himself.
  58. Ryan
    Mar 4, 2010
    10
    Tugs at you. Makes you feel. I'd like people to figure out how to keep the creatures and plants while we continue learning and implementing technology. Wise use of technology instead of irresponsible non holistic use is what is called for. Keep life alive so we can populate the empty planets with life. Otherwise what point is there if we kill all that makes us feel alive?
  59. DeeM
    Mar 5, 2010
    10
    Pure genious!! A truly amazing film which can take your breath away. Has opened a whole new era for film making, setting such a high standard for others. Certainly, without any doubt whatsoever, deserves to (at least) win Best Picture, although should also take Best Director and more... 110% !!!!!!!!
  60. EladioM
    Mar 6, 2010
    4
    This movie is Dineye's Pocahontas on steroids, nothing more. Excelent FX? Hell, yes! But the plot is weak and the story is full of obvius cliches -- most of them came (no surprise) from the above mentioned "source", Pocahontas.
  61. ArielY
    Apr 13, 2010
    3
    This movie had nice animation, but what a waste: the story line felt used. It reminded me of Pocahontas or Fern Gully or something. Also, the characters didn't have enough depth to them.
  62. SebA
    Apr 10, 2010
    10
    Amazing movie. Engrossing, emotional, powerful. Everything a movie like this should be. James Cameron is one of the greatest action-adventure Directors of all time, and with Avatar, he proves he still has what it takes. The movie is beautifully shot, no awful out of focus or shaky camera to hide bad action scenes. The story is emotional and makes the action that much more engaging. Easily Amazing movie. Engrossing, emotional, powerful. Everything a movie like this should be. James Cameron is one of the greatest action-adventure Directors of all time, and with Avatar, he proves he still has what it takes. The movie is beautifully shot, no awful out of focus or shaky camera to hide bad action scenes. The story is emotional and makes the action that much more engaging. Easily one of the top 5 Blockbuster movies of the last 10 years. Expand
  63. DonnieB
    Apr 3, 2010
    2
    First, I must say these graphics where groundbreaking and the best I've seen in many years. However, that is the only good thing I can say about this movie. The acting was atrocious, the storyline was neither original or interesting, and the movie just kept going. I did not care about the giant lemers (Navi) at all. The war was unrealistic. It was just a drag that I hated going along with.
  64. AaronJ
    Apr 4, 2010
    3
    I did not enjoy this that much... I went into this expecting an overated, overadvertised crap fest. It was overrated and it was overadvertised and it did look amazing. But i get enjoyment of a good story libe as well. There was more original plot in an episode of Teletubbies than this. It was way too long, way to gimiky, with an overused and cheesy "save the rainforest" interspieces love crap.
  65. SiH
    Apr 6, 2010
    4
    Would you go see a play that had a great set but poor plot, character development, use of language and/or acting? If you would then you'll love Avatar.
  66. HeatherG
    May 16, 2010
    8
    The character development was a little lack luster, but over all an awesome movie!
  67. AvatarM.
    Jun 3, 2010
    5
    full points for visual prowess but zero points for plot and originality-the whole time i was watching it i was thinking wow this is a return to my childhood-it's the upgraded Pocahontas! I was waiting for the animals to talk..had they spend more time on character development and originality there would have been nothing to criticize. In their defense having an original alien movie full points for visual prowess but zero points for plot and originality-the whole time i was watching it i was thinking wow this is a return to my childhood-it's the upgraded Pocahontas! I was waiting for the animals to talk..had they spend more time on character development and originality there would have been nothing to criticize. In their defense having an original alien movie would be difficult...after all there are so many alien movies out there. Expand
  68. RyderK-B
    Jun 3, 2010
    10
    This movie was insane. Absolutely blew my mind. The movie drew me in from start to finish and left me wanting more. There was not one part of the movie where I lost interest. The world James Cameron has made is outstanding and nothing short of god like. Throughout the entire movie I was fully immersed in Pandora's environment, culture and wildlife and it made me want to be a This movie was insane. Absolutely blew my mind. The movie drew me in from start to finish and left me wanting more. There was not one part of the movie where I lost interest. The world James Cameron has made is outstanding and nothing short of god like. Throughout the entire movie I was fully immersed in Pandora's environment, culture and wildlife and it made me want to be a Na'vi myself, as childish as it may seem, its 100% true! The CGI was just stunning and the 3D just layed the icing on the cake. To all these speds saying how Avatar is a rip from some crap called "pocahontas" and "dance with the wolf" or whatever, I suggest shutting the hell up and embracing the future of movies. If I wanted to watch some gay disney movie that was made during the dawn of man I would, but the thing is,i never will. Maybe you idiots should try enjoying the movie for what it is and actually try embracing the future. If you don't, that's fine by me as I will be happy to see idiots like you fade away into the past along with your retarded filth you call movies. If you were only going to see 1 movie in your lifetime, Avatar would have to be it. Expand
  69. DelvinW
    Jun 9, 2010
    10
    Another James Cameron masterpiece, oh and the 2s and the 3s you guys are handing out are to the only movie to ever make 2 billion dollars at the box office.
  70. NacorC.
    Dec 19, 2009
    10
    Beautiful, astonishing, emotive... a perfect score hands down. Go watch it now!
  71. BertrandG.
    Dec 20, 2009
    3
    Pocahontas in 3D.
  72. MaxL.
    Dec 20, 2009
    6
    Spectacular with emphasize on the spectacles. The visual effects and some of the shots are amazing. The story and dialogues, however, are simple minded with cartoonish characters, making the long runtime unbearable. See it in the big screen but don't expect too much.
  73. NickR
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Worth the money, time, and the standing in line in the cold. Sure could have used an intermission, though.
  74. MM
    Dec 30, 2009
    5
    Overrated. Seriously now, anyone who's read a few books can tell clearly that the storytelling was cheesy and cliche: I literally guessed the entire scope of the plot with all the main "twists" after watching the first 20 minutes of the film. The dialogue was boring and uninventive, sticking straight to the formula. The effects were decent, but I found the 3D to be kind of weak and I Overrated. Seriously now, anyone who's read a few books can tell clearly that the storytelling was cheesy and cliche: I literally guessed the entire scope of the plot with all the main "twists" after watching the first 20 minutes of the film. The dialogue was boring and uninventive, sticking straight to the formula. The effects were decent, but I found the 3D to be kind of weak and I think Cameron should have stuck to normal film. It's not a terrible movie, but don't expect to get your heart wrenched out by the story or be shocked by the conclusion - it's exactly what you expect. Expand
  75. JD
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    Skeptical going in, but completely liberated within minutes. A magical 2.5 hours that was also surprisingly moving. I'm not sure it was a great movie, but it was undoubtedly an awesome cinematic experience that will stay with me for a long time.
  76. NachoC.
    Dec 30, 2009
    6
    Visually, the film is stunning, the special effects are out of this world, but unlike other Cameron films, this film lacks development or originality. Basically it was a. Pocahontas music and b. it is Dances with Wolves with blue aliens with it. It was just not what I expected and not in a good way.
  77. JudyR
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    Wonderfully exciting, adventurous and a sweet love story. Outstanding special effects and the good guys won.
  78. AndresC
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    This movie will ave you glued to your seat!
  79. DebbieS
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    Extraordinary entertainment value, unbelievable graphics and action !!!
  80. HarryP.N.
    Jan 10, 2010
    3
    I saw this in 3D earlier today. I do not understand what all the hype is about....and definitely is overrated. The 3 is a result of the amazingly breathtaking computer generation and animation. The 3d was not very well utilized...most of the time it did not seem like it was in 3d, and could be watched without glasses. Only one part really seemed like 3d, when the sully cripple guy threw I saw this in 3D earlier today. I do not understand what all the hype is about....and definitely is overrated. The 3 is a result of the amazingly breathtaking computer generation and animation. The 3d was not very well utilized...most of the time it did not seem like it was in 3d, and could be watched without glasses. Only one part really seemed like 3d, when the sully cripple guy threw the grenade in the aircraft engine, and it bounced by your face. This was the second longest movie i've ever been to, and the most drawn out. the first 2 hours are soooooo boring i almost fell asleep, if it were not for the bright flashy bioluminescence of the plants i probably would have. These first hours were like watching the animal planet or discovery channel, just sit back and look at a bunch of plants. however, every once and a while, there is a cool plant that catches your attention. the cat na'vi people are very strange, and distracted from the movie. everything else was so different and fairy tale like, then they use blue human people with tails, and cat ears. so unoriginal!!!! there are tons of blue alien races. onto the plot: reminded me of one of those movies on the sci fi channel, your macho army commander gone mad with power, an unethical greedy ceo behind it all, nerdy scientists that try to stop army guy and a marine that wants to save the day. the dialogue was horrendous, i could predict every word that was going to come out of their mouthes...and the dry humor was terrible, the retarded kid in the theater that laughed at the jokes and come-backs did not help either. the plot can be guessed when sully teams up with army commander guy (see how bad this is? i saw the movie today and dont even know their names...) to gather info on the cat people. i will not reveal any spoilers, but the plot was very stereotypical. the last 30 minutes, the epic battle scene, was the best part and saving grace of the movie. i dont think the 2 hours of plants was worth 30 mins of action though. in conclusion this review was not meant to discourage you from seeing it, by all means go see it for the animation and try to help james cameron make some of his investment back, but buy a large tub of popcorn and drink, you will need it and may find it more interesting than the movie. Expand
  81. M.A
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Best movie I've ever seen! Action, romance, EXCELLENT!
  82. KenO
    Jan 1, 2010
    8
    First of all I agree with many of you in saying the film is beautiful. I even mentioned to my wife that it was like watching a moving work of art. However, while sitting through this 2 plus hour epic one thing was bothering me. I've seen this story before. Instantly I was flashed back to the plot of Kevin Costner's Acadamy Award Winning film "Dances with Wolves". Suddenly the First of all I agree with many of you in saying the film is beautiful. I even mentioned to my wife that it was like watching a moving work of art. However, while sitting through this 2 plus hour epic one thing was bothering me. I've seen this story before. Instantly I was flashed back to the plot of Kevin Costner's Acadamy Award Winning film "Dances with Wolves". Suddenly the comparisons came flying back and it was staggering! Maybe it's been too long since anyone had seen "Dances" or maybe many of you weren't even born when that film was released but believe me somewhere Kevin Costner is mad. Expand
  83. gk
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Great Story along with great presentation. Go see it in 3D if you can. I still cannot believe what they did here. As far as some who are critical of the plot, I am guessing that they do not like the negative commentary on Western Expansion against indigenous communities. For me that was what will make this movie a classic.
  84. LeahR
    Jan 1, 2010
    1
    This movie gets a 1 just because it inspired Sam R.'s review.
  85. EamonnS
    Jan 13, 2010
    8
    The the name of the mineral is rather cheesy and the story obvious (from anyone who knows American or African history), albiet with a different ending, the scenery and visual effects are utterly stunning. They are, by far, the best effects I have ever seen. Cameron and the CGI wizards make the characters look as if they are just wearing make-up, very, very good make-up.
  86. gunnarf
    Jan 13, 2010
    0
    This movie sucks so much balls its not even funny. I can't really see anything good about it aside from the visuals. It just proves that most people who vote on this website are f***ing retarded.
  87. AdamR.
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    Incredible experience. Must be seen in a theatre to appreciate.
  88. danielj
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    I can't imagine enjoying a movie more. I've never felt so transported to another place. I'm generally pretty critical of CGI but this movie felt real to me. And the complaints I've heard of clumsy storytelling and bad dialog were unfounded. Cameron's storytelling was flawless. So economical I didn't want it to end. There's a minimalism to some of the I can't imagine enjoying a movie more. I've never felt so transported to another place. I'm generally pretty critical of CGI but this movie felt real to me. And the complaints I've heard of clumsy storytelling and bad dialog were unfounded. Cameron's storytelling was flawless. So economical I didn't want it to end. There's a minimalism to some of the acting and script that I think balances out the sensory overload of the visuals. Perfect movie. Worth way more than the price of admission. Expand
  89. JohnA
    Jan 14, 2010
    2
    Avatar is basically an overly long, expensive B-movie. The plot is not just simplistic and cliche, but lazy even... apparently audiences won't realize it's mean to bomb the holy tree unless a "daisy cutter" is involved. The movie is littered with cheap references like that, presumably to curry favor with left-wing critics who otherwise would admit the story is awful. So far as Avatar is basically an overly long, expensive B-movie. The plot is not just simplistic and cliche, but lazy even... apparently audiences won't realize it's mean to bomb the holy tree unless a "daisy cutter" is involved. The movie is littered with cheap references like that, presumably to curry favor with left-wing critics who otherwise would admit the story is awful. So far as the special effects: it really should not enhance the rating in my view because they are only impressive in comparison to today's standards. In 10 years, Avatar won't look like anything special, and the movie will gradually fade into obscurity. Expand
  90. PabloS.
    Jan 14, 2010
    4
    This hurts. Not ever did I want to say anything negative about a James Cameron film, but that's where this is going. I want to start off by saying that I did not find the effects as everyone else, maybe it's because CGI with detail and human emotion isn't such a big deal anymore. I mean we all knew it was heading this way, but this is not CGI without humans, this was mo-cap This hurts. Not ever did I want to say anything negative about a James Cameron film, but that's where this is going. I want to start off by saying that I did not find the effects as everyone else, maybe it's because CGI with detail and human emotion isn't such a big deal anymore. I mean we all knew it was heading this way, but this is not CGI without humans, this was mo-cap and its obvious and it should be mo-cap to achieve the Uncanny Valley. All in all we all play video games now and this was not that impressive in a world filled with CGI. Enough about the effects however, the 3D was very well done in the use of depth and being tolerable for two and a half hours, although nothing mind blowing like debris flying at you. Movie theaters still have not achieved the theme park 3D that everyone really wants to see. Now this is where the biggest knock comes and I realize that people are suckers for a good love story, but do you remember Fern Gully? Yup the animated Fox film in the '90's about the rainforrest and fairies, now imagine the fairies being 12 foot blue Native Americans and Sam Worthington is the shrunken guy that realizes that teraing doen the rainforrest is bad. Hmm....ok lets take that story and add millions more dollars to it and make it a sci-fi opus (which it isn't) and tell everyone that they've never seen anything like this. I have and I want my money back. Expand
  91. W.Parish
    Jan 15, 2010
    1
    cool images. the movie itself boring in most parts, long and tedious. Lots of social and environmental messages. Did not care for the characters as much as I wanted to.
  92. felipem.
    Jan 1, 2010
    5
    A nivel visual bastante buena,el resto muy irregular.es como pocahontas en el futuro!.muy predecible.guion con ideas y estereotipos muy trillados.
  93. anonymous
    Jan 17, 2010
    9
    Once you accept that the storyline of this movie isn't original you can appreciate the fact that it is one of the most entertaining movies of all, it just sucks you in. I don't care that it's the same story as "Pocahontas" or "Dances With Wolves" It was just really really fun to watch.
  94. JakeS.
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    It was just terrific, i loved it!
  95. SamS.
    Jan 17, 2010
    10
    Avatar is a brilliant movie. Breathtaking visuals, and a story that really means something. It's not anti-technology, it's pro living with nature. I'm a computer programmer, and I like technology, but like the Na'vi, I also love to go mountain climbing and jumping around on the rocks like a mad goat for fun. Those who approve of their country's habit of making war Avatar is a brilliant movie. Breathtaking visuals, and a story that really means something. It's not anti-technology, it's pro living with nature. I'm a computer programmer, and I like technology, but like the Na'vi, I also love to go mountain climbing and jumping around on the rocks like a mad goat for fun. Those who approve of their country's habit of making war and killing people to take their resources (oil or unobtainium) may not like Avatar, maybe it makes them feel uncomfortable. But for the human beings among us, who value life, nature and people more than money, this is a great movie. Expand
  96. BillyO.
    Jan 1, 2010
    8
    If you've ever played Crysis for PC, you'll understand exactly what I'm getting at. The story of Avatar itself isn't all that much to jump up and down about. The film is, however, the prettiest thing you've ever seen in a movie theater. I saw the 3D version of this film, and I can say it's worth it for the 3D version. Too many 3D films destroy their If you've ever played Crysis for PC, you'll understand exactly what I'm getting at. The story of Avatar itself isn't all that much to jump up and down about. The film is, however, the prettiest thing you've ever seen in a movie theater. I saw the 3D version of this film, and I can say it's worth it for the 3D version. Too many 3D films destroy their believability by making things "jump" out of the screen at you -- "WOW it's 3D!". This film does not do that. 3D is used as a tool to make the action more real -- not less. Expect incredible visuals -- but don't expect much on story from Avatar. Expand
  97. DonaldC.
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    Fantastic special effects. Strong, yet contrived story line - closely parallels modern and historical events. Watched it two days in a row - 3D was spectacular.
  98. ml
    Jan 10, 2010
    4
    Watching the media genuflect is really frustrating. I'm a member of the digital generation and this stuff doesn't impress me anymore. You forget about the 3D fifteen minutes in, and there are many movies that put their CGI to better purposes without a $300 price tag or killing the suspension of disbelief. Without the pretty graphics we are left with a predictable, cliched plot, Watching the media genuflect is really frustrating. I'm a member of the digital generation and this stuff doesn't impress me anymore. You forget about the 3D fifteen minutes in, and there are many movies that put their CGI to better purposes without a $300 price tag or killing the suspension of disbelief. Without the pretty graphics we are left with a predictable, cliched plot, terrible characters and dialog, and a blatant political subtext that is insulting to even Sarah Palin's intelligence and left me, a far-left liberal, feeling very annoyed. This movie is like being hit over the head repeatedly with a heavy blunt object. Expand
  99. JosephL.
    Jan 18, 2010
    6
    Been there-done it. Can anyone say "Dances with Wolves albeit in 3D? Am I the only one that is less than wowed with Avatar?
  100. DustinM
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    After watching the movie, i felt pity that the movie isn't real.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. A fully believable, flesh-and-blood (albeit not human flesh and blood) romance is the beating heart of "Avatar." Cameron has never made a movie just to show off visual pyrotechnics: Every bit of technology in "Avatar" serves the greater purpose of a deeply felt love story.
  2. 100
    It's been twelve years since "Titanic," but the King of the World has returned with a flawed but fantastic tour de force that, taken on its merits as a film, especially in two dimensions, warrants four stars. However, if you can wrap a pair of 3D glasses round your peepers, this becomes a transcendent, full-on five-star experience that's the closest we'll ever come to setting foot on a strange new world. Just don't leave it so long next time, eh, Jim?
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Avatar is all-enveloping and transporting, with Cameron & Co.'s years of R&D paying off with a film that, as his work has done before, raises the technical bar and throws down a challenge for the many other filmmakers toiling in the sci-fi/fantasy realm.