Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: December 18, 2009
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 3011 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,155
Mixed:
443
Negative:
413
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
NevingJan 2, 2010
yes, the special effects are amazing in this movie, however the '3d' seemed unnecessary, they are very 'flat' for what they are, nothing flying at your face or dancing around the cinema, would have been better to watch in yes, the special effects are amazing in this movie, however the '3d' seemed unnecessary, they are very 'flat' for what they are, nothing flying at your face or dancing around the cinema, would have been better to watch in 2d. the movie uses its visual brilliance as a crutch to support the poor script, plot, acting, and casting that made up the rest of the movie, unfortunately with no success, the limited script gives the cast nothing to work with. however the fundamental mistake in this film is that because of the terrible script and plot it creates one dimensional characters that the audience dont particularly care about at all, not to mention the poorly disguised 'human-ness' of the alien species. the movie is seeped in irony, pushing themes of environmentalism and anti-technological sentiment, funny then that this is the most expensive movie ever made. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
chadsJan 2, 2010
Gets 2 points for some okay graphics. That much of the hype is true. But beyond that this is a TERRIBLE movie. Main problem is the obvious anti-American tree-hugging liberal agenda. The military is bad, the environment is good. Corporate Gets 2 points for some okay graphics. That much of the hype is true. But beyond that this is a TERRIBLE movie. Main problem is the obvious anti-American tree-hugging liberal agenda. The military is bad, the environment is good. Corporate expansion is bad, pagan tree-love is good. Etc and so forth, spitting out one liberal lie after another. Maybe next time they should get a real American to write the script and not some atheist French gy. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
3
AlexC.Jan 3, 2010
While Avatar's $238 million budget delivers beautiful visual effects, to be sure, it feels like not a single nickel was spent on creating believable dialogue or likable characters. On these grounds, it may be the most uneven film ever created.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
StevenMJun 6, 2010
It was fun to watch, but I hated how recycled it is. Great visuals, but James Cameron could have done so much more with the plot line, characters, and general movie. I was disappointed to say the least.
11 of 18 users found this helpful
2
Capt.ShinerJan 14, 2010
Of all the great things this movie does visually and the expense incurred from it, I cannot believe the dialogue and story were not in the budget. There is no charecter that retains any sympathy at the end of the movie. The Na'vi could Of all the great things this movie does visually and the expense incurred from it, I cannot believe the dialogue and story were not in the budget. There is no charecter that retains any sympathy at the end of the movie. The Na'vi could have been deaf and dumb and the story would have moved along at the exact same pace. The dialogue continually detracted from the Pandora "experience". And the story was so tired and cliched, they must have been watching The Wizard of Oz, Dances WIth Wolves and some generic war movie simultaniously while banging on their keyboards like monkeys. I wish big-budget movies didn't have assume that everyone has a fifth grade education to gather the largest audience as possible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GCJan 2, 2010
Avatar is visually stunning. For that I give it a 10. Avatar is also painfully unoriginal with the hackneyed themes of corporate greed and an evil military. For that I give it a (-9). It is little more than a sci fi version of Dances With Avatar is visually stunning. For that I give it a 10. Avatar is also painfully unoriginal with the hackneyed themes of corporate greed and an evil military. For that I give it a (-9). It is little more than a sci fi version of Dances With Wolves. James Cameron spent $300M telling the same story Kevin Costner has already told, but Costner's version was much better and most certainly less expensive to make. You'd think for $300M Cameron could have bought an original story. I guess $300M don't buy what it used to buy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KateS.Feb 3, 2010
This is the most overrated film from the decade a mediocre movie with poor history (copy of Mayas) with a Pocahontas romance and copy robots from Terminator and Full Metal Panic, really crap movie a stupid things to make money, congrats Mr This is the most overrated film from the decade a mediocre movie with poor history (copy of Mayas) with a Pocahontas romance and copy robots from Terminator and Full Metal Panic, really crap movie a stupid things to make money, congrats Mr Cameron, all the world turn stupid with this sh*tty movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ConnorCFeb 8, 2010
This movie is boring as hell and basically an expensive mix of pocahontas,aliens,and a few others.Looks good but that does not make a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NoeCMar 10, 2010
It is a mediocre movie at best. I got bored and couldn't believe any of the characters. Frankly, the special effects weren't all that much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ArielYApr 13, 2010
This movie had nice animation, but what a waste: the story line felt used. It reminded me of Pocahontas or Fern Gully or something. Also, the characters didn't have enough depth to them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DonnieBApr 3, 2010
First, I must say these graphics where groundbreaking and the best I've seen in many years. However, that is the only good thing I can say about this movie. The acting was atrocious, the storyline was neither original or interesting, First, I must say these graphics where groundbreaking and the best I've seen in many years. However, that is the only good thing I can say about this movie. The acting was atrocious, the storyline was neither original or interesting, and the movie just kept going. I did not care about the giant lemers (Navi) at all. The war was unrealistic. It was just a drag that I hated going along with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AaronJApr 4, 2010
I did not enjoy this that much... I went into this expecting an overated, overadvertised crap fest. It was overrated and it was overadvertised and it did look amazing. But i get enjoyment of a good story libe as well. There was more original I did not enjoy this that much... I went into this expecting an overated, overadvertised crap fest. It was overrated and it was overadvertised and it did look amazing. But i get enjoyment of a good story libe as well. There was more original plot in an episode of Teletubbies than this. It was way too long, way to gimiky, with an overused and cheesy "save the rainforest" interspieces love crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BertrandG.Dec 20, 2009
Pocahontas in 3D.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
HarryP.N.Jan 10, 2010
I saw this in 3D earlier today. I do not understand what all the hype is about....and definitely is overrated. The 3 is a result of the amazingly breathtaking computer generation and animation. The 3d was not very well utilized...most of the I saw this in 3D earlier today. I do not understand what all the hype is about....and definitely is overrated. The 3 is a result of the amazingly breathtaking computer generation and animation. The 3d was not very well utilized...most of the time it did not seem like it was in 3d, and could be watched without glasses. Only one part really seemed like 3d, when the sully cripple guy threw the grenade in the aircraft engine, and it bounced by your face. This was the second longest movie i've ever been to, and the most drawn out. the first 2 hours are soooooo boring i almost fell asleep, if it were not for the bright flashy bioluminescence of the plants i probably would have. These first hours were like watching the animal planet or discovery channel, just sit back and look at a bunch of plants. however, every once and a while, there is a cool plant that catches your attention. the cat na'vi people are very strange, and distracted from the movie. everything else was so different and fairy tale like, then they use blue human people with tails, and cat ears. so unoriginal!!!! there are tons of blue alien races. onto the plot: reminded me of one of those movies on the sci fi channel, your macho army commander gone mad with power, an unethical greedy ceo behind it all, nerdy scientists that try to stop army guy and a marine that wants to save the day. the dialogue was horrendous, i could predict every word that was going to come out of their mouthes...and the dry humor was terrible, the retarded kid in the theater that laughed at the jokes and come-backs did not help either. the plot can be guessed when sully teams up with army commander guy (see how bad this is? i saw the movie today and dont even know their names...) to gather info on the cat people. i will not reveal any spoilers, but the plot was very stereotypical. the last 30 minutes, the epic battle scene, was the best part and saving grace of the movie. i dont think the 2 hours of plants was worth 30 mins of action though. in conclusion this review was not meant to discourage you from seeing it, by all means go see it for the animation and try to help james cameron make some of his investment back, but buy a large tub of popcorn and drink, you will need it and may find it more interesting than the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LeahRJan 1, 2010
This movie gets a 1 just because it inspired Sam R.'s review.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
gunnarfJan 13, 2010
This movie sucks so much balls its not even funny. I can't really see anything good about it aside from the visuals. It just proves that most people who vote on this website are f***ing retarded.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JohnAJan 14, 2010
Avatar is basically an overly long, expensive B-movie. The plot is not just simplistic and cliche, but lazy even... apparently audiences won't realize it's mean to bomb the holy tree unless a "daisy cutter" is involved. The movie Avatar is basically an overly long, expensive B-movie. The plot is not just simplistic and cliche, but lazy even... apparently audiences won't realize it's mean to bomb the holy tree unless a "daisy cutter" is involved. The movie is littered with cheap references like that, presumably to curry favor with left-wing critics who otherwise would admit the story is awful. So far as the special effects: it really should not enhance the rating in my view because they are only impressive in comparison to today's standards. In 10 years, Avatar won't look like anything special, and the movie will gradually fade into obscurity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
W.ParishJan 15, 2010
cool images. the movie itself boring in most parts, long and tedious. Lots of social and environmental messages. Did not care for the characters as much as I wanted to.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JHJan 2, 2010
Excellent special effects spoiled by a recycled storyline and even worse script. Very predictable, another American/human who saves the entire planet and indigenous people. Full of cheesy unoriginal cliches.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
johndJan 25, 2010
Unlikeable protagonist, thin characterizations, naive metaphorical comments on Iraq/environmentalism/imperialism, over-saturated colour palette and headache inducing 3D. Avatar is a juvenile, gimmick-fest. Sorry, but it's true.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DJP.Jan 29, 2010
The 3D effects were the star of this movie. It is visually beautiful and amazing. The storyline was good but could have been even better. What was severely missing was the debth of personality of the characters. Any great movie always has The 3D effects were the star of this movie. It is visually beautiful and amazing. The storyline was good but could have been even better. What was severely missing was the debth of personality of the characters. Any great movie always has debth to the characters - you learn their personality and their quirks, you even begin to feel emotion. You laugh when they laugh and cry when they cry. I didn't really feel any emotion during Avatar. There were many deaths in the movie and I didn.t feel any real sadness, which is odd for me. Even though the 3D was great it really overtook the characters and got in the way. I wanted to see a great movie but instead saw a great video game. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ArnoldHJan 3, 2010
A total bore!!! After about ten minutes of this, I had to struggle to stay awake. Special effects alone do not make a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DuaneA.Jan 7, 2010
Scrolling down the list of reviews I can see only really 2 types; educated, informed opinions and dumb people. The dumb people win out by sheer masses and will flood this area with comments like "fantastic" "amazing" etc... These are dumb Scrolling down the list of reviews I can see only really 2 types; educated, informed opinions and dumb people. The dumb people win out by sheer masses and will flood this area with comments like "fantastic" "amazing" etc... These are dumb people after all. They cannot possibly give good advice on films (or much else) because they haven't the werewithal to do so. Thus I encourage anyone who considers themselves to be intelligent (the type that would NEVER see a Micheal Bay picture) to read only the reviews that are under 5 stars. I give 3 because I'm a little generous and because I thought some of the action was okay. Avatar is a really big, bright, colorful, noisy and dumb movie. It is 3 parts Dances With Wolves, mixed with 2 parts Pocohontas and add a generous splash of every cliche action film out there. As a picture - it stinks (the script and dialogue could only have been written by a 4th grader). As a 3d spectacle? Yawwwwnnn.... Hardly revolutionary. After 10 minutes you'll barely notice. Anyway, if you're dumb (chances are - yes) you'll probably love it enough to post your idiotic- 1/4 baked ideas up on websites like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RFJan 9, 2010
Film was awful on so many levels. District 9 was so much better and cost about $30 million to makev versus $500 million. Dialogue bad, characters cliche, did not care about anybody in this movie. Wanted to see the entire moon blown up in a Film was awful on so many levels. District 9 was so much better and cost about $30 million to makev versus $500 million. Dialogue bad, characters cliche, did not care about anybody in this movie. Wanted to see the entire moon blown up in a Michael Bay or Roland Emmerich style apocalypse, because the characters were so boring. The special effects were great, but that does not make up for awful story telling. Besides, District 9s special effects were great too. And the digital FX with live action sequences was not as good as Lord of the Rings did it 8 years ago. This is the movie equivalent of the Emperor's New Clothes. No one wants to admit how awful this movie is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
STFeb 1, 2010
Avatar. Avapoo more like. Over-extended toy commercial. Vastly unimaginative and boring. Plot and ideas all derivative. The much-trumpeted special effects looked like all other cgi - would have preferred it if all the aliens were made out of Avatar. Avapoo more like. Over-extended toy commercial. Vastly unimaginative and boring. Plot and ideas all derivative. The much-trumpeted special effects looked like all other cgi - would have preferred it if all the aliens were made out of papier-mache. 3D utterly pointless. The 1 point here is actually for performances - the baddy, who was done with gusto, and the hero, who was mildly intriguing at the beginning when not a ten foot blue cat-thing. Utterly unable to fathom why people think this is great or indeed any different from so many other cgi-driven action movies nowadays. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CSFeb 1, 2010
Awful, formulaic, racist. Tarzan meets Dances with Wolves but come on-its 2010. Can think of 500 mil better uses for the $$ this cost.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NithinMFeb 15, 2010
Liked the movie only for its visual effects. Otherwise, I did not find it engaging or entertaining. The storyline is weak.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JonSFeb 1, 2010
Is it good entertainment? Yes. Is it a great movie? No, not even close. I walked into the movie expecting a great visual spectacle with an average plot and character development. The plot, acting and character development was so bad, Is it good entertainment? Yes. Is it a great movie? No, not even close. I walked into the movie expecting a great visual spectacle with an average plot and character development. The plot, acting and character development was so bad, however, that it frankly ruined the technological experience. I would recommend seeing it in theaters just for the visuals. This movie is not going to translate well onto the small screen. and after 5-7 years, after the technology is dated, people will look back and think "this is a truly awful movie." There is nothing beyond the visuals to carry this ham-fisted outing. Once the technology is no longer new, this will definitely not stand the test of time. I would think with $250 million, James Cameron would have bought himself a script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DarioPFeb 21, 2010
Unoriginal movie, visuals are not the only thing to weight.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TomMFeb 6, 2010
Thought this movie was totally overrated and not original at all. The script sucked and the blue people were just annoying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AmyCFeb 6, 2010
All I want to say is that I fell asleep (seriously!) after the 3rd time the guy (I can't even remember his name) went into that time capsule. The whole movie is just a joke, and an insult to human intelligence. I didn't like All I want to say is that I fell asleep (seriously!) after the 3rd time the guy (I can't even remember his name) went into that time capsule. The whole movie is just a joke, and an insult to human intelligence. I didn't like Titanic at all but it was at least better than this one. T2 is my all-time favorite.... but is this the same James Cameron, or a different one? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
stevengFeb 7, 2010
Didn't work for me. no emotional connect with the characters. hate the creature design. why do all the animals have six legs? If all the major life forms have six limbs, the blue guys should have too. They wasted the opportunity to use Didn't work for me. no emotional connect with the characters. hate the creature design. why do all the animals have six legs? If all the major life forms have six limbs, the blue guys should have too. They wasted the opportunity to use 3d well. It lost its effect for me 20 min in. lame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DylanLFeb 8, 2010
I first wanted to leave after 40 minutes. That's when I was certain that there was nothing that rang true in the world being created. As if James Cameron could conceive of a any alternative form of evolution. It was half-baked ideas, I first wanted to leave after 40 minutes. That's when I was certain that there was nothing that rang true in the world being created. As if James Cameron could conceive of a any alternative form of evolution. It was half-baked ideas, one after another, and characters that were simply cringe worthy. The whole cinema laughed when the aliens started a trance dance to some gaudy Enya music to make the simplistic pantheistic god do some magic. The laugh wasn't as loud as when the aliens has sex. Cameron created a big extravaganza. But the world and characters he created lacked any complexity to the point that you could simply not buy any of it. The graphics were nice. The story, by any measure, was embarrassing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
craigsMar 6, 2010
What do James Cameron and George Lucas have in common? They've both spent ridiculous amounts of money on over-hyped and extremely over-rated pieces of garbage. The difference is, at least Lucas didn't steal ideas from at least a What do James Cameron and George Lucas have in common? They've both spent ridiculous amounts of money on over-hyped and extremely over-rated pieces of garbage. The difference is, at least Lucas didn't steal ideas from at least a half dozen other films that tell the same story much better. Pocahontas, FernTree Gully, Last of the Mohicans, The Last Samurai, BraveHeart. I won't bother explaining the plot because if you've seen any of the above mentioned films, then you've seen Avatar. And they didn't require flashy CGI to get their story across. Speaking of which, the CGI is by far the highlight of the movie, but even that was eclipsed by Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within. And that movie is 10 years old now. The characters are one dimentional, the acting is fairly poor and the dialogue would surely make Lucas himself cringe. At least he can sleep peacefully in the knowledge that he didn't create the word "unobtainium". How the hell the actors managed to say that with a straight face I'm buggered if I know. Also, the movie makes such a blunt statement about our environmental woes and war in Iraq (we will fight terror with terror) that it is, quite frankly, an insult to the audiences intelligence. If I want to hear people make political and environmental statements I'll watch the news thanks very much. I go to the movies to escape real world issues, not to be beaten over the head with them. Cameron also stole a couple of sound effects from the dinosaurs in Jurassic Park. Can you pick them? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
EddieMMar 7, 2010
It earned its single star by terminating. A pandering, cliche-ridden, overblown bore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JasonWMay 15, 2010
Cool visuals, but awful acting and a horrendous plot. I couldn't even make it through the entire movie. I walked out of the theater because I was so bored and could predict the entire movie after the first 10 minutes.
3 of 6 users found this helpful
3
MattN.May 23, 2010
Great visuals and effects, but thats simply all that Avatar has to offer. No story, viciously bad overacting and dialogue older than Sigourney Weaver herself. Very boring and far too long.
28 of 39 users found this helpful
2
DerekSJun 17, 2010
Cameron was reminiscent of Michael Bay's dedication to special effects in this incredibly clichéd and (with regards to plot and characters) lackluster film. The characters all filled positions of clichés, leaving nothing Cameron was reminiscent of Michael Bay's dedication to special effects in this incredibly clichéd and (with regards to plot and characters) lackluster film. The characters all filled positions of clichés, leaving nothing unexpected through the entire plot. I found myself predicting lines and events before they occurred, a feat which never leads to a good feeling about a movie. The special effects were phenomenal, but everything else seemed less important. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful
2
JaredH.Dec 19, 2009
The CGI is fabulous and truly takes us to a new dimension in movie making. Having said this the rest of the movie was awful. Mr. Cameron takes us to a far away place called Pandora. In 3D we see a world unlike anything found on Earth. So far The CGI is fabulous and truly takes us to a new dimension in movie making. Having said this the rest of the movie was awful. Mr. Cameron takes us to a far away place called Pandora. In 3D we see a world unlike anything found on Earth. So far so good. Then the movie completely disintegrates when a Marine Corporal crippled in war becomes one of the aliens {Avatar} or should I say natives. It is unfathomable that Mr. Cameron can conceive a world we've never seen but his storyline is totally lame and predictable. Somewhere we've seen all this before. The Aliens are in fact thinly disguised as native Indians. The big bad capitalistic Americans {General Custer} invade their land for greed, make no attempt at negotiations, and destroy all their beauty. The American military fights with weapons in the year 2154 but nothing is NEW. The Aliens have just bows and arrows. If Dances With Wolves comes to mind yu now know the story. And the Marine Corporal {where was Kevin Costner} whose manta is to do and die switches sides for moral justice. And somehow this pawn is so brilliant that he's portrayed as the second coming of General Rommel {WW II}. No matter how great the special effects, and they are truly great, there's no excuse for such a paper thin plot in which the ending is known 5 minutes into the movie. $299.999 million spent on CGI animation and about a buck fifty for the script. Anyone giving this movie a perfect score of 10 for dialogue that could have been written by a five-year old must have had a lobotomy or checked their brains in at the door. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BeatriceDec 20, 2009
Beautiful colors and sounds but as far as a story it was very poor. I'm amazed that everyone seems taken in by the bells and whistles but no one cares about anything else. Quite a commentary on the dumbing down of America.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LionelT.Dec 25, 2009
This has to be a joke. Take away the 3D special effects and the move is laughable. Nothing memorable about it. Awful acting and story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
sama.Dec 27, 2009
You people will all be pretty embarrassed in five or ten years when you look back and see just how crummy this movie is. the love story is like glass of lukewarm water with a little sugar in it, the story story is trite and half-cocked and You people will all be pretty embarrassed in five or ten years when you look back and see just how crummy this movie is. the love story is like glass of lukewarm water with a little sugar in it, the story story is trite and half-cocked and the special effects while "good" were just barely up to date. this movie is stupid. the story was the shallowest possible excuse to combine lush natural beauty cgi with big military blow up cgi. to entertain the ladies, cameron throws in some love story which also serves the cgi. the only character development takes place in the video log/voice over. the big blue cgi aliens never really do anything beyond running around the jungle and maybe flying around it. there have been better 3d movies. there will be better 3d movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
billyjJan 12, 2010
Way too long there is no story please don't see the movie only because of the special effects. don't even go see the movie. if you really want to see it rent it or buy the dumb movie there is no piont of seeing the movie is long, Way too long there is no story please don't see the movie only because of the special effects. don't even go see the movie. if you really want to see it rent it or buy the dumb movie there is no piont of seeing the movie is long, terrible, bad acting, and is nearly three hours along it starts stupid and it ends where their should be a begings so please skip this movie GO SEE YOUTH IN REVOLT. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MarcKJan 15, 2010
I saw the movie in 3D, and as a visual experience it's an amazing movie. My wife even swatted at one of the insects during the movie! Unfortunately, the storyline seemed like a clumsy rehashing of "Dances with Wolves". At least Kevin I saw the movie in 3D, and as a visual experience it's an amazing movie. My wife even swatted at one of the insects during the movie! Unfortunately, the storyline seemed like a clumsy rehashing of "Dances with Wolves". At least Kevin Costner wasn't in "Avatar" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TaylorHJan 18, 2010
I totally feel as though spending my 15 dollars was justified. This was a terrible movie but worth it to see in 3D.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlecBJan 20, 2010
Horrible, cgi is ruining the movie industry. If you want to see an over-rated movie with no plot and terrible acting watch this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GeorgeB.Jan 20, 2010
DOOM DOOM DOOOOOM! All of these positive comments will soon cause sequel after sequel to blemish our theatres and nothing can stop it ! I didn't like it. One hardly knows where to begin, hmmm... First the positive, uhhm... i liked how DOOM DOOM DOOOOOM! All of these positive comments will soon cause sequel after sequel to blemish our theatres and nothing can stop it ! I didn't like it. One hardly knows where to begin, hmmm... First the positive, uhhm... i liked how the Jenny Craig Iroquois Space Cat Elves used a backhand draw when yanking their bows (I wonder if anybody ever did that?). The negative aspects would be predictable, condescending, rascist, sexist and mislabelled as science fiction. Just because space ships and other planets are involved does not make a movie SciFi ! There is another category known as "Space Opera" that would arguably better label this film. There is little in the way of any SCIENCE as opposed to a whopping slice of FICTION. Unobtainium (snicker) is only valuable because the movie says so alluding to it as an "energy source". (So its coal bloated up with hydrogen to make it float, imaginative but not even vaguely science.) Why would a Mech require a big knife (tip of the hat to Crocodile Dundee?). How can a "floating mountain" discharge a sizable waterfall in a climate where apparently it never rains (perhaps Mother Gaia doesn't let it rain when bigshot liberals are filming movies). Hammerhead rhino's, six legged horse's and cottonwood seeds floating about (does anyone on super wonder planet have allergies?). My girlfriend and I, both SciFi aficiandos just watched a film called "Pandorum" which the critics largely destroyed. While hardly perfect it was a Darfur Tower in stature to "Avatars" small rooming house somewhere in the west eighties. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SteveA.Jan 23, 2010
Just plain silly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DavidG.Jan 27, 2010
Even though the special effects were absolutely amazing, the ending battle sequence, and Sam Worthington's fantastic acting, thats all Avatar really has going for it. The story is a rip off of a bunch of movies most recognizable would Even though the special effects were absolutely amazing, the ending battle sequence, and Sam Worthington's fantastic acting, thats all Avatar really has going for it. The story is a rip off of a bunch of movies most recognizable would be Dances with Wolves. The story doesn't really develop and the just focuses on special effects and nothing else. The movie had a lot of potential, but it was wasted on a half-assed script and special effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ConnorM.Jan 28, 2010
I guess the comments w/ 0 votes R true...Cameron wasted 20 years of his life making this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
IsaacSJan 28, 2010
The plot was one the worst I have seen and the film making barely made up for it. Watch Dances with Wolves again and save your ten bucks. God-awful. Take a lap
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KyleMJan 29, 2010
"Pocahontas In Space 3D!" the entire story was a ripoff of other movies, the characters were all stereotypes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BRichJan 3, 2010
Avatar was OK. It was to me a modern day Cowboys and Indians. You have the poor Indigenous people being taken down by the White Man. Just like most minorities and or Indigenous nations. The White men want what they have so they rise up and Avatar was OK. It was to me a modern day Cowboys and Indians. You have the poor Indigenous people being taken down by the White Man. Just like most minorities and or Indigenous nations. The White men want what they have so they rise up and destroy these people and their nation. Cinematography was fine, but the story line was really sad and the fact that all of this money is being made on this movie I would hope some of the money goes to some underprivileged country, people, or education. Pretty sad to take advantage of a story that has been told in the past and glorify the downfall of races. We have seen this in the past, slavery of blacks, Native Americans land being taken away. Now it is on the big screen and we have paid money to see the degradation of human beings of a different kind. Thanks for exploiting people AGAIN! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AllisterMJan 4, 2010
I've always been able to enjoy crap movies, so this isn't a total failure, for me. But for anybody else, except Titanic Lovers: This is to be avoided as it is one of the worst movies this century.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ElizabethS.Jan 5, 2010
Great graphics, amazing visuals. However, I already saw Dances with Wolves. In addition, there was one joke in the whole movie. Can Cameron take himself more seriously? Terrible and predictable story every minute of the way. No twists, no Great graphics, amazing visuals. However, I already saw Dances with Wolves. In addition, there was one joke in the whole movie. Can Cameron take himself more seriously? Terrible and predictable story every minute of the way. No twists, no depth to characters, and be prepared to be hit very bluntly and repeatedly with the agenda. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LarryR.Jan 6, 2010
Obviously Cameron saw and was affect by Dune, which was a much better movie. I cannot understand why the critics love this move. The plot rips off Dune, the acting is mediocre and the plot is insipid. There is little imagination here, just Obviously Cameron saw and was affect by Dune, which was a much better movie. I cannot understand why the critics love this move. The plot rips off Dune, the acting is mediocre and the plot is insipid. There is little imagination here, just effects. When will Hollywood that story always trumps effects? Containing such irksome lines as "I see you," the movie never fails to make you cringe. Nothing to remember here, at all. Why do i have to pat $4 more to see 3d? #d does not improve this movie even one bit. In fact, the 3d will give you a headache. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
hamounr.Jan 7, 2010
What a load of hippy crap.. yes, yes, the visuals are very impressive, but i'd go to an art gallery to just see pretty pictures, not the cinema. the story's a ridiculous, as-subtle-as-a-mallet-to-the-head load of lazy rubbish that What a load of hippy crap.. yes, yes, the visuals are very impressive, but i'd go to an art gallery to just see pretty pictures, not the cinema. the story's a ridiculous, as-subtle-as-a-mallet-to-the-head load of lazy rubbish that wouldn't be any more of a blatant anti-war tirade if they just got michael moore to come to your house and slap you. that's £8 i'll never see again.. thanks a lot james cameron! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BR.Jan 7, 2010
Where to start? There is so much to say about this movie--little of it good, unless one is a 13-year old boy. (I'm not.) But it includes: Bad acting, stupid plot cliches, unsympathetic characters, stupid plot cliches, stupid dialog, Where to start? There is so much to say about this movie--little of it good, unless one is a 13-year old boy. (I'm not.) But it includes: Bad acting, stupid plot cliches, unsympathetic characters, stupid plot cliches, stupid dialog, poor choice in artistic palette, theme and direction, stupid plot and dialog, $13 to see with the .42 cent glasses. But, impressive animation techniques, I'm sure. Ugly, stupid, banal, predictable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GaryTFeb 11, 2010
It has taken me some time since viewing the movie to write a comment, I have read the reviews (10, 10 10, 0, 2, 9, 10....) and Avatar is obviously polarizing. Even the so called professional critics are love it or hate it. The most astute It has taken me some time since viewing the movie to write a comment, I have read the reviews (10, 10 10, 0, 2, 9, 10....) and Avatar is obviously polarizing. Even the so called professional critics are love it or hate it. The most astute comment I read was (to paraphrase) "all you who have voted this movie a "10" will look back on it in 5 years will wonder what they ever saw in it." Our world (EARTH to you reviewers who are a little caught up in the box of Pandora) is so much more complex than Corporations = Bad, Natives =Good, Military = Bad, Environmentalists = Good. This movie had no depth of story or character, and nary a degree of deviation in the Disneyish plot from start to finish. As for the people commenting that they wish to live on Pandora I am truly speechless. After 2.5 hrs of staring at it in dark glasses, in all it's 3D glory, I was pretty bored. There are just so many flaws from a scientific point of vew, from a military strategy point of view, from a linguistic point of view. I can't believe Mr. Cameron thinks so little of the intelligence of his audience that he has floating mountains and named things "home tree", "tree of souls", and "UNOBTAINIUM". My brain started to bleed on that one, and no one even snickered in the theater I was in...I was shocked!!!. My other fear is that it seems in our current world, if you criticize this movie and it's "story" or "message", it must mean that you are against environmentalism and must be some war monger or corporate fat cat. There is simply no humour, no story and fairly bad acting..... (Was I the only one who wondered why the tough parapalegic marine became Australian during some voice overs? ) Only later I looked up who Sam W. was and found out he was Australian. Maybe a late overdub or two was done and the vocal coach was unavailable. You would think the director of the 2 highest grossing movies of all time would catch something like that!!!...He was probably too busy adding a few more vines or lumenescent plants to a scene. Double checking the dialogue and quality of acting just gets in the way when you are busy! The reason I gave a 2 rating over a zero is to recognize all the hard work of the CGI people who made a beautiful visual and who will never see 1/100,000th of the money that Mr. Cameron will take home. So they get a 2/2 for their part and Mr. Cameron gets 0 for 8 for his contribution to filmaking. Thank you for reading Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChrisTheAWESOMEFeb 12, 2010
Overrated, terrible and a kind of copycat film. Not really stunning 3D visual effects or good acting. Somehow it still was horrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
aasFeb 26, 2010
HUGE waste of time. although pretty and innovative, i found myself laughing more than intrigued. if anything Avatar had provided my friends and i w/many inside jokes and some new dance moves. please don't buy into the hype that is this HUGE waste of time. although pretty and innovative, i found myself laughing more than intrigued. if anything Avatar had provided my friends and i w/many inside jokes and some new dance moves. please don't buy into the hype that is this holy grail of giant, blue, chernobyl lizards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MattFFeb 7, 2010
The effects were impressive, but boy was it dull.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoseAFeb 9, 2010
I write from Spain. It's a very boring story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JaceN.Mar 12, 2010
James Camerons's "James Cameron's Avatar"...by James Cameron...is a shining example of why try to do anything properly when you can print money pandering to the lowest common denominator. He smooshed together Surrogates with James Camerons's "James Cameron's Avatar"...by James Cameron...is a shining example of why try to do anything properly when you can print money pandering to the lowest common denominator. He smooshed together Surrogates with Pocohontas, dressed it up with some blue-you paint, snagged the attention of mid 40's dweeb dads who've never seen visual effects before and made the most infuriating film ever! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChrisCMar 19, 2010
This is a poor remake of dances with wolves with abit of the matrix (protoganist moving between 2 realities) and aliens (moronic incompetent military and nasty nasty corporations)movies bolted on. Visually it looked animated and false, at no This is a poor remake of dances with wolves with abit of the matrix (protoganist moving between 2 realities) and aliens (moronic incompetent military and nasty nasty corporations)movies bolted on. Visually it looked animated and false, at no point was i suckered into feeling it was real. CGI when its done right is seemless and un-noticedable Unfortunately Avatar just drowns you in it, never giving your mind a chance to accept it as real. Riddled with movie cliches (I actually found myself shouting at sigourney weaver as she calmly proclaims that a bullet in her stomach will ruin her day) poor characters and a story thats been done far better (dances with wolves) this film just left me feeling like I'd wasted 3hrs watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RossMar 3, 2010
This movie was rubbish. How can people rate it 8 while admitting the story was terrible? The visuals are overrated, even if you didn't buy the hype. The characters are terrible. Any movie as predictable as this cannot break a 6, even if This movie was rubbish. How can people rate it 8 while admitting the story was terrible? The visuals are overrated, even if you didn't buy the hype. The characters are terrible. Any movie as predictable as this cannot break a 6, even if it looked good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
StephenM.Mar 4, 2010
Seriously people, this was garbage, spectacular garbage but garbage nonetheless. It was pocahontas with dances with wolves with last of the mohicans mixed with the smurfs in space with a terrible script. If this wins best film at the Oscars, Seriously people, this was garbage, spectacular garbage but garbage nonetheless. It was pocahontas with dances with wolves with last of the mohicans mixed with the smurfs in space with a terrible script. If this wins best film at the Oscars, it will finally nail the integrity of the oscars into the pigs muck where this film lives. I enjoyed the spectacle first time around, second time it was a comedy. Oh my God. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrunopMar 4, 2010
This could be the worst movie of all times. If you laugh when you see a poo on the street, you will love and this would be your new god.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BennyG.Mar 7, 2010
There was only 1 movie I found even more boring - The Lord of the Rings. Wasted time and wasted money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CarlosSMar 7, 2010
Predictable, Anti-American, boring. Good special effects, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JohnJApr 11, 2010
Sigh. I expected a decent film that was over-hyped when i went in. What i got was a pretty terrible film with good effects. Yes the effects were good, but in my honest oppinion, the 3D was pretty little and way too spreadout and other films Sigh. I expected a decent film that was over-hyped when i went in. What i got was a pretty terrible film with good effects. Yes the effects were good, but in my honest oppinion, the 3D was pretty little and way too spreadout and other films had effects that aren't noticeably worse. As far as story and acting... well... there was none. Throughout the whole film i couldn't help but feel that if this were true, the humans would have done something completely different... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
hersheldApr 15, 2010
Technically amazing but thats the only positive thing about Avatar. The storytelling is terrible, the characterization is terrible, the dialogue is PAINFULLY BAD. For gods sakes, the point of the plot is to 'obtain' an element Technically amazing but thats the only positive thing about Avatar. The storytelling is terrible, the characterization is terrible, the dialogue is PAINFULLY BAD. For gods sakes, the point of the plot is to 'obtain' an element called "unobtainium". seriously mr. cameron, could you be less imaginative? a monkey in front of a typewriter could have punched something smarter out in an hour. It seems that the storytelling was put on the backburner compared to the special effects and 3d technology that nobody but the people in the center of the movie theatre can fully experience. It is a waste of money to pay for the 3d romp, and is even less of a value to see it in 2d. I seems that avatar failed to give justice to the 11 year old script treatment, which i found to be on the level of lord of the rings book series compared to the abomination that was made of the final script. This was one of the two the instances that mr. cameron's vision could not be fufilled in the movie next to the abomination that was True Lies. My closing thoughts are that i hope that the sequel could be given more priority on story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
brandrApr 25, 2010
worst film of 2009, quite honestly the shallowest rip off film i've ever seen. do yourself a favor and check out pocahontas or dances with wolves if you want to see this idea done well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
philMay 15, 2010
This movie was a piece of crap. A predictable storyline that plays on some of the most racist character archetypes I've ever seen in a modern film. People say, OMG, the film looks so realistic, who cares about the plot? Yea, so did This movie was a piece of crap. A predictable storyline that plays on some of the most racist character archetypes I've ever seen in a modern film. People say, OMG, the film looks so realistic, who cares about the plot? Yea, so did Jurassic Park, and that film came out 17 years ago, but still managed to have a unique story, with great characters, and a good Aesop. Industries give consumers what we demand. If we are complacent with the tripe they give us, that's all we will get. If all we ask is a film look really good, and nothing else, that's all we will get. A film that looks good, and nothing else. I enjoy seeing films with good stories, and if we don't continue to demand such films, we won't get them. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
1
LarrySMay 26, 2010
A typical piece of American shoot up em sensless piece of trash. Cameron has stolen ideas from a range of films and merged them into a silly unbelievably juvenile plot. Lots of violence and a story with nothing to say. Writing and dialogue A typical piece of American shoot up em sensless piece of trash. Cameron has stolen ideas from a range of films and merged them into a silly unbelievably juvenile plot. Lots of violence and a story with nothing to say. Writing and dialogue are amateurish with characters that seem to be taken from comic books. The only thing that makes this film remotely watchable are the special effects. Movie making at it's worst. Shame on the critics who didn't have the courage to pan this gross waste of money. Expand
9 of 16 users found this helpful
1
JonathanSMay 29, 2010
This movie has terrible dialogue, poor acting, and a plot an 8 year old could write. Go watch Pocahontas if you want to see this movie; same story, better everything.
10 of 17 users found this helpful
0
brandonsJun 15, 2010
Very poor story line up,copied action sequences and early buzz that " director took 4 golden years to make so called visually epic and eventually a very very high budget film", its just a shame that a very well known director had to do all Very poor story line up,copied action sequences and early buzz that " director took 4 golden years to make so called visually epic and eventually a very very high budget film", its just a shame that a very well known director had to do all above things to gain the #1 spot once again in highest gross all time. I would rather choose to watch the dark knight once again. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
2
NunoV.Jun 19, 2010
Absurdely overrated. cgi masturbation with a lackluster plot and ridiculous neo-hippie fairy-tale.
23 of 32 users found this helpful
0
AmandaG.Jun 2, 2010
This movie was straight up god awful. The story was consistently boring throughout the movie and it had a totally unoriginal plotline. The characters got on my nerves to no end (especially Sigourney Weaver's character) and we're This movie was straight up god awful. The story was consistently boring throughout the movie and it had a totally unoriginal plotline. The characters got on my nerves to no end (especially Sigourney Weaver's character) and we're supposed to believe that this far in the future, they are still using crappy wheelchairs that look the same from the ones in the 70's? Being a person who is not at all impressed by just special effects, I was extremely disappointed in this film and James Cameron. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful
3
jS.Dec 18, 2009
3 D was good but seemed to drag on to me,won't go see the sequel as will be more of the same.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GoffyDec 19, 2009
Computer Graphics in 3D is amazing. The storyline is just the opposite as it is plagiarized from other movies especially Dances With Wolves. The Colonel is General Custer and Jake Scully is Kevin Costner's character. The bells and Computer Graphics in 3D is amazing. The storyline is just the opposite as it is plagiarized from other movies especially Dances With Wolves. The Colonel is General Custer and Jake Scully is Kevin Costner's character. The bells and whistles of the Pandora are eye candy for the audience, something we have never seen before. But it would have been nice to have a story with some memorable acting or dialogue. Unfortunately there is none. The technology is new but everything else is stolen from another movie even down to the music from Titanic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
sarakDec 20, 2009
Terrible acting, S. Weaver was astonishingly bad. Cringe-worthy dialogue, sarcastic little one-liners thrown in at regular intervals. One-dimensional characters, every cliche in the book. Ripped off themes and music. Felt like I was watching Terrible acting, S. Weaver was astonishingly bad. Cringe-worthy dialogue, sarcastic little one-liners thrown in at regular intervals. One-dimensional characters, every cliche in the book. Ripped off themes and music. Felt like I was watching some kind of video game. J. Cameron should be embarrassed. He should cut the movie down to 90 minutes market it to kiddies and try to cut his losses now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GaryDec 21, 2009
Specials were great but the acting and dialogue were terrible. I really can't believe these rave reviews because of 3D animation? The story was as old as the hills and totally predictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BeanDec 21, 2009
A Chessy fantasy movie, with a bad plot. Actually a thinly disguised lecture on the evils of technology, capatlism, corporations and "white men", and the virtues of tribal living and tree hugging. Utter crap.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AndrewDec 22, 2009
Bloody awful and as predictable as can be. Where is the story? CGI does not a movie make.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
Tfactor22SDec 22, 2009
Cameron, in the only way he knows how, turns a very interesting, visually stunning science fiction film into a Michael Bay "blow-sh!t-up" fest that is rife with cheesy dialogue and bad acting. This guy needs to stick to cinematography and Cameron, in the only way he knows how, turns a very interesting, visually stunning science fiction film into a Michael Bay "blow-sh!t-up" fest that is rife with cheesy dialogue and bad acting. This guy needs to stick to cinematography and let someone who knows how to write do just that - write! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JanetDec 25, 2009
I had to pay $3 extra for my Real 3D glasses! You have to be kidding as after 10 minutes the novelty 3D act wears off and what you are left with is a dull, lifeless script without any real suspense. Everyone knew where this movie was going 5 I had to pay $3 extra for my Real 3D glasses! You have to be kidding as after 10 minutes the novelty 3D act wears off and what you are left with is a dull, lifeless script without any real suspense. Everyone knew where this movie was going 5 minutes into it. Long and almost laughable. Dances With Wolves redux. Indians good. General Custer American's bad. Bows and Arrows conquer Nuclear Weapons. Sure and I have a bridge I want to sell you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PeteNDec 27, 2009
This was just another political rant from the left. Corporations Bad, white people bad, white men destroying another planet. All you needed was Katie Curic and Susan Serandon to help explaine to those too stupid to recognize this for what it This was just another political rant from the left. Corporations Bad, white people bad, white men destroying another planet. All you needed was Katie Curic and Susan Serandon to help explaine to those too stupid to recognize this for what it is. Indians good Cowboys bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JacobDec 27, 2009
I liked it better when it was called Dances with Wolves.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
juandDec 20, 2009
Too bad they couldn't afford good writers--the budget was blown on eye candy, but the message is the same old tired anti-Western nihilist propaganda.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
WillRDec 27, 2009
For the first ten minutes of Avatar I was completely astonished at what I was viewing. During the next two and a half hours I was trying to craft a story to get my money back. If Cameron took as much time writing as I did thinking about For the first ten minutes of Avatar I was completely astonished at what I was viewing. During the next two and a half hours I was trying to craft a story to get my money back. If Cameron took as much time writing as I did thinking about getting my money back maybe this film would have been great. It is a film that people will look back on and think �why exactly did I enjoy this film?�Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
timz.Dec 27, 2009
Dumb, stupid, annoying, boring., there is more to an interesting movie then special effects, like plot, characters, acting etc... this pos didnt even bother to attempt to add any of those elements.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LordVDec 28, 2009
I simply can't believe how overrated this movie is. Basically, it is "Dances with Wolves" meets "Starship Troopers". The movie is really dumb and the only thing that differs it from other sci-fi movies with no plot and lots of CGI, is I simply can't believe how overrated this movie is. Basically, it is "Dances with Wolves" meets "Starship Troopers". The movie is really dumb and the only thing that differs it from other sci-fi movies with no plot and lots of CGI, is the quantity and quality of CGI (motion capture and what not). Yes, Pandora looks awesome and real at the same time, it feels like a breathing, living world. However, all this magic is pointless as everything else is just too obvious and one-dimensional. Pandora could easily be the Amazon jungle, the big bad corporation could use Caterpillars instead of their mechs and it would still be the same simplistic story. The CGI serve no purpose apart from adding the oooh factor. "Avatar" is nowhere near "King Kong" or "The Jurassic Park", as in those movies the special effects were justified - to a degree they are what MADE the plot. Oh, and the last thing. There's no point watching the movie in the so-called 3D. Perhaps in a digital Imax cinema it looks spectacular, but in a "regular" cinema, the 3D version looks same as the 2D, only darker (due to glasses). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ML.Dec 28, 2009
The fact that I, a fairly rabid environmental activist, managed to detest this movie with every fibre of my being speaks volumes. I cannot understand how so many reviewers here freely admitted its lack of proper story and yet still sang its The fact that I, a fairly rabid environmental activist, managed to detest this movie with every fibre of my being speaks volumes. I cannot understand how so many reviewers here freely admitted its lack of proper story and yet still sang its praises astounds me. Is this honestly the future of cinema? If so, I am deeply disappointed. You simply cannot have a good movie with a cliche, simple, lifeless story- not even a plot twist! You cannot have a movie designed to be heavily moralistic where one can't even muster up sympathy of the protagonists! This is the worst part of the movie. The blue people are simply unlikable- stupid and arrogant. The fact that Cameron is playing theses people up as heavily superior doesn't help at all. Visual effects are nice and all - no denying that. But while effects alone can make for a nice short viewing experience, but not for a movie. The worst part of this is that inevitably, people disliking this movie will be labeled as anti-environmentalists, being scared of the film's heavy-handed message because it 'scares them' or 'hits too close to home'. Having a good message is not enough to make a good movie. Especially if delivered in such a bland way as Cameron does. He's a joke of a director, and 'Avatar' is terrible. I sincerely hope that it does not influence all movies to come, and that great cinema will not be dead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KingCDec 29, 2009
CGI tremendous. The rest of the movie is very cheesy. No story to go with special effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JodyDec 30, 2009
Looked great, writing and acting sucked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
OlmosE.Dec 30, 2009
Jar Jar Binks is cast in the remake of Red Dawn. No wait, it's Dances With Flora. The movie looks great, but the story is derivative at best and drivel regardless, the violence is out-of-hand and the writing is horrendous. Is it a love Jar Jar Binks is cast in the remake of Red Dawn. No wait, it's Dances With Flora. The movie looks great, but the story is derivative at best and drivel regardless, the violence is out-of-hand and the writing is horrendous. Is it a love story, or an action shoot-em-up? Is it an allegory on environmental stewardship or a revisionist Native American revenge fantasy? Does it frown on might-makes-right/kill 'em all diplomacy, or does it ogle futuristic weaponry to a near indecent state of arousal? It encompasses all of these, for three hours. In 3D. Sure, go see it if you dig fantasy and sci-fi, but keep your expectations low. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BenjBJan 11, 2010
I can't understand how this movie got its high ratings. With any movie experience, the Story is completely predictable and dull. But it deserves 3 points for the great visuals.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DevarreaGJan 16, 2010
This movie is crap if you don't compare it to any other movie by James. But if you do compare it to his other movies you won't be able to find a word to describe how bad it truly is. It's pretty and that is the only good thing This movie is crap if you don't compare it to any other movie by James. But if you do compare it to his other movies you won't be able to find a word to describe how bad it truly is. It's pretty and that is the only good thing it has going for it. Every thing else is below average and just plane predictable. This is one of the most overhyped and underwhelming movies i have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NickGJan 16, 2010
$300 Million (or whatever crazy amount it cost) would have made "Battlefield Earth" look just as visually good. But a poor story, ripped of from Dances with Wolves, makes it a bit weak.
0 of 0 users found this helpful